Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Dorset 28 minutes ago

10 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 19 View Image Gallery
  • Ocean Wave - Dorset - 994451 - photo 1

Ocean Wave

(Ref. 994451)

Greenhill, Dorset Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • property (26)
  • stay (24)
  • lovely (22)
  • our (19)
  • sea (16)
  • garden (16)

52 Customer Reviews

  • "Excellent property."

    The view is amazing. The weather in October was fantastic. Ocean Wave is a real gem and completely understand why people revisit. Accommodates everything you need - home from home. Couldn’t fault it and again the view is a must see.

    Reviewed by JuliaOct 2023

  • "The property was perfect for us."

    Our minimum criteria are dog friendly, 2 bedrooms (because the lounge / diner are a bit bigger), parking & an enclosed garden. Ocean Wave is in a perfect position; right on the beach for Eric (our dog) to go chasing his ball on the beach and in the sea, a 10- minute walk to the town centre and many restaurants, and comfortable seating outside for me to sit in the sun and read, with a morning coffee or an evening glass of wine / beer. We will be back!

    Reviewed by MartinSep 2023

  • "There were so many positives too many to mention (watching the horses walk on the beach in the sea), the only real negative is, if you had any mobility issues or bad knees the front steps down to the property would be a problem."

    The key safe could do with illuminated for when its dark. We were very happy with the property & have booked for next year.

    Reviewed by KarenSep 2023

  • "We really enjoyed are stay the property was in a perfect persision with a lovely view."

    We came 2adults, 2 children and a dog the garden was completely enclosed then opened the gate straight out to beach. Property really clean, just the table outside was dirty and the entrance getting into the property could have done with a tidy up. The kichen was well equipped, beds comfy, everything you needed. I would definitely stay again but unfortunately already booked up July and August next year.

    Reviewed by LauraAug 2023

  • "A wonderful place to stay - an amazing view with easy access to the beach and promenade."

    Reviewed by ChristineJun 2023

  • "We have stayed at the property 3 or 4 times now and always enjoy our stay."

    We have also stayed the Ocean Retreat upstairs but what we hadn't bargained for was the noise from upstairs, just the sound of people walking across the room was bad especially in the main bedroom you could even hear the snoring. Apart from the above we have booked to go back next year because we love this apartment so much, it is in a fantastic position and a garden our dog.

    Reviewed by GrahamJun 2023

  • "Lovely location, couldn’t be better."

    Lovely and clean and very well equipped. Only two faults, one being parking- space has a lamppost in middle - bad enough that you have to reverse in or out onto main road but you also have to navigate lamppost. Secondly the insulation from flat above not good. Elderly couple there during our stay, got up 2-3 times every night and were up by 7 every morning - very noisy only walking about not their fault but we’ve come home to get some sleep!

    Reviewed by ClareApr 2023

  • "Had a problem with electric on first day."

    Faulty toaster cut power off. Tried to get to meter via white door with 30 on but this is now locked and don't have a key although visitor book tells you to. We had to wait for someone to exit flats above before we could enter. Phone call to Sykes and a electrician came found fault was with toaster which he removed and promptly returned with a new one. Can't fault property. We are regular visitors have been returning for many years. Will be back in August.

    Reviewed by JanetApr 2023

  • "Lovely property in a fantastic location."

    Private garden a few metres from the beach.. what more can you ask for? Welcome pack with tea/coffee etc a nice touch. Plenty of good quality towels, so no need to take your own and beds are super comfortable. A real home from home. No complaints at all and hope to return next year.

    Reviewed by CatherineMar 2023

  • "Lovely holiday home been coming here for years now perfect for me and my Cocker spaniel"

    Reviewed by DMar 2023

  • "Such a beautiful place ,we wanted to go back in august for our ruby wedding but it is fully booked all year !"

    . Very dog friendly too . Location / views stunning you could not get better if you travelled abroad ❤️

    Reviewed by ChristinaJan 2023

  • "Lovely property with beautiful views of the sea Great walks to lovely dog ..."

    Lovely property with beautiful views of the sea Great walks to lovely dog friendly pubs Train station also in walking distance Highly recommend

    Reviewed by TinaDec 2022

  • "Had our third Christmas stay at Ocean Wave and it was as good as ever."

    Since our 14 night stay in September 2022 a few minor repairs had been carried out so property was in a tip top condition, very clean and tidy. We only stayed 5 of the 7 nights booked due to work commitments so we were disappointed to not stay the full week. Christmas Tree was decorated to perfection adding to the Christmas atmosphere we felt there and the hamper was lovely and unexpected but certainly appreciated. Our Yorkshire Terrier loves the garden to run and play in and he was quite depressed when we left as he has been on each occasion we have stayed at Ocean Wave. Can’t wait to return with 3 holidays booked here in 2023 including a longer stay next Christmas to include the new year as well. As usual great to go out the back gate onto the promenade and walk along the beach to the town. On returning the property heated up very quickly as this was our first stay in cold weather so this was a bonus too. The only downside and this is quite a minor issue is that the TV is limited channel wise as there could be a better free view choice available - not such an issue in Summertime but was a bit over Christmas time. Used the apps available but this was hit and miss as seemed to buffer quite a bit which was disappointing especially when watching a film we had got into. All in all had a fantastic Christmas at Ocean Wave which really does feel like a second home to us and our Yorkie Toby. Can’t wait to return. Colin and Nicola and Toby of course

    Reviewed by ColinDec 2022

  • "Second stay at Ocean Wave a really comfortable apartment the views are stunning and access to the esplande through the garden short walk along the seafront and into Weymouth Town."

    On arrival we received a welcome hamper and a Christmas Tree in the living area was a lovely touch. Thankyou

    Reviewed by LindaDec 2022

  • "We had a short stay for our 20 th wedding anniversary & the property was nicely positioned close to the sea well maintained & nicely furnished."

    Thank you to everyone at Sykes & the Landlord.. David & Tarina Bennett.

    Reviewed by TarinnaNov 2022

  • "Lovely apartment."

    Fantastic views. Perfect setting for walk into town. Cleanliness was disappointing as front window looked like it hadn’t been dusted in weeks, full of cobwebs inside window! Also quite a bit of flaking paint in corners. Bathroom hot tap could not be turned off completely, constant drip. Heating seemed to have a mind of it own. We enjoyed the week though.

    Thank you for your feedback. The hand basin taps in the bathroom have now been replaced as replacing the washer in the hot tap didn't work. The property was fully redecorated in early December although due to the number of bookings we (thankfully) get doing any redecoration is hard to fit in but we do it when we can. We have also had the property spring cleaned but will flag the need the keep on top of the items you mentioned to the agency who organises the cleaning for us. If you have trouble with the heating we suggest you just leave the boiler on constant heating and use the thermostat on the kitchen wall to control the room temperature. Property Owner

    Reviewed by DoreenOct 2022

  • "Had our 4th stay at Ocean Wave in September 2022 and had a wonderful fortnight helped by sunshine virtually every day."

    Great to walk out of the rear garden straight onto the promenade with a lovely beach so close. Can’t wait to return again at Christmas as it feels light a second home. For the second year running we were there when the iron man triathlon was on and this was great to watch. We are also returning September and Christmas 2023 and booked early as gets booked very quickly which is not surprising and when last looked it was fully booked from May to October in 2023. Our Yorkshire Terrier absolutely loved the garden running up and down the steps and onto the 2 grassed areas and he remembered being there before and looked depressed when we packed to leave. Did find the front door lock fiddly to lock and unlock and patio door lock a bit stiff to lock although easier to unlock. Had to clear ice from Freezer filter/drain behind freezer draws to get freezer working to keep food frozen but these were minor issues and loved our time there and did not want to leave. Once again can’t wait for Christmas to return again to Ocean Wave.

    Reviewed by ColinSep 2022

  • "Amazing property with fantastic views over the sea, in a central location which is accessible to all the local attractions."

    Very comfortable beds and plush furnishings. We loved it! Would highly recommend to others and would love to come back and stay again. Thank you for making our family holiday a memorable one.

    Reviewed by SamanthaAug 2022

  • "Really enjoyed our stay."

    The location worked perfectly for us: near enough to Weymouth to enjoy the restaurants but far enough away that it felt peaceful. Accommodation was clean and comfortable. The garden area was a huge bonus; we were able to watch the firework display in Weymouth from the lower tier. We would definitely book this apartment again.

    Reviewed by NicolaJul 2022

  • "The week flew past which always indicates a happy and enjoyable stay."

    The property was excellent in all respects which we thank you for. The only negative side, although we were aware of prior due to Web reports, was the noise that can be heard from the above flat. To a degree whereby we could actually hear a person snoring in the night. However we certainly do not want to detract from a great stay. May we add just another couple of other minor points which may help future guests.. The locks on the doors are becoming a little worn and are difficult to operate at times and I'm not sure if it's company policy but a guest experience book would certainly help, advising of local experiences and general tips...Only a thought. Ps. Tried to book accommodation for next year..Fully booked? Is that actually the case? Again many thanks, will definitely be using your services again..

    Reviewed by BarryMay 2022

  • "Great place to stay ,fantastic outside space"

    Reviewed by AndrewApr 2022

  • "Lovely place loved being by the sea Windows in small room and front door rattled ..."

    Lovely place loved being by the sea Windows in small room and front door rattled quite a lot and at night when windy Smoke alarm went of every time we made toast not burnt by the way

    Reviewed by JayneApr 2022

  • "This is our second visit to Ocean Wave Apartment."

    Again we had such a wonderful stay , it really is a home from home , there is nothing that isn’t provided in terms of furnishings, kitchen facilities, garden provisions and to step right out on to the beach is a massive bonus , especially with our little dog. A short stroll one way to Weymouth & the other towards Preston with loads of cafes to stop at whilst taking in the calmness of the beach . The view alone from sunrise to sunset is worth going for its breathtaking . We love it so much and can’t wait to return.. many thanks Tara

    Reviewed by TaraJan 2022

  • "Our Christmas Break started 23rd December 2021 and finished on 2nd January 2022 and we can confirm we had a wonderful Christmas and New Year at Ocean Wave as we did there the previous Christmas in 2020."

    Upon arrival we noticed the owners had bought us a Hamper, Chocolates and Champagne, this was not expected and was a lovely gesture. We can confirm that the contents of the Hamper, Chocolates and Champagne were thoroughly enjoyed while we were there. Property was clean tidy and well presented and the off street parking is a big plus. During our stay at Ocean Wave in September 2021 our Yorkshire Terrier managed to escape into the neighbouring garden and we would like to thank the owners for arranging for extra large rocks/boulders being placed at the end of the garden thus cutting off his escape route and he made no attempt to do so but he clearly loved playing in the garden and this was great for us not having to worry about him. Each day walked along the beach (trying to walk off the extra calories consumed Christmas Day)and to exercise the dog. As with previous visits this was great fun as the dog met and played with many other dogs on the beautiful Sandy beach and we got to meet many other dog owners. The location just can’t be beaten when going out the rear garden gate onto the promenade and beach. The weather was not quite as good as last Christmas but this made no difference as we still had a great time. Prior to arriving we had already booked a fortnight in September 2022 at Ocean Wave and whilst there we were there we booked next Christmas there as well showing there is no doubt how much we enjoy and love staying at Ocean Wave. Only one small issue was that we could constantly hear the residents of the property above walking around in their property and can only assume that it has laminate floor covering that may not have good underlay/soundproofing .This was mentioned in a review earlier this year but clearly this has not deterred us from booking again and did so while we were there as we did not want to miss out staying at Ocean Wave during Christmas 2022. In summing up, we had a superb Christmas and New Year at Ocean Wave and look forward to returning later in the year. Nicola and Colin Hill.

    Reviewed by ColinDec 2021

  • "Our stay at Ocean Wave was very peaceful and relaxing."

    I chose this apartment for its location overlooking the sea, and the large garden for my Jack Russell, with easy access to the Esplanade for her walks. Our first two days were spent in the garden as we had mild and sunny weather. What a delight to be lying on the sun lounger in early December drinking coffee, and eating porridge. It felt calming to sit at the dining table or on the sofa in the evenings, listening to the sounds of the waves. The double bed was extremely comfortable, and I loved the ‘sparkly’ lights in the bathroom mirror at night. Our favourite place to eat out during our stay was Nautico Lounge, St Thomas Street, in Weymouth town. They welcome dogs inside, the staff are very friendly, and they have an excellent vegan menu. We would definitely stay at Ocean Wave again! Anna & Josie (woof!)

    Reviewed by AnnaDec 2021

  • "The property was beautifully clean on arrival."

    The facilities were great and the view lovely. Being able to walk out of the garden onto the promenade was great.

    Reviewed by SusanNov 2021

  • "We had a lovely stay in the apartment."

    The location and the view are stunning. Unfortunately it was let down by some snagging issues. There are issues in the twin room with regards to chips in the wall and ceiling, as well as some damp. The apartment was not very well cleaned either. We found a lot of dog hairs on the floor, as well as on the blankets on the bed, which suggests they had not been cleaned at all. Considering we were told we could not enter until 5pm, we would have expected it to be a lot better than it was. The flat is also not very well soundproofed as we could hear the upstairs tenants most of the time. Overall a lovely apartment but needed more attention with regards to cleanliness.

    Ocean Wave has been marked out at the start of the New Year for redecoration. Unfortunately it has been more popular than ever this year so we have not been able to this earlier due to the volume of bookings. We do ask guests not to let dogs onto furniture or into bedrooms and hope that those who do perhaps bring their own dog basket/blankets to protect the flat from excessive dog hairs. We are very aware that guests pay extra for their dogs to come and stay so we do pay the cleaner extra each time a dog has been so that dog hairs can be attended to however sometimes this can be a daunting task if a dog sheds heavily (through no fault of their own of course). Property Owner

    Reviewed by KirstenNov 2021

  • "We were so lucky to have a 5 night stay at Ocean Wave at the end of October ."

    It is a beautifully appointed apartment with direct access to the beach, The apartment itself it very well facilitated in terms of comfortable furniture, very comfy beds with first class linen , well stocked kitchen , immaculately clean and the garden area is first class too, sunloungers and other garden furniture a plenty . We enjoyed our stay very much aa did our dog . We will definitely be back in the near future . Thankyou Tara

    Reviewed by TaraOct 2021

  • "We had a lovely stay at the apartment, the setting is perfect."

    Facilities in the apartment were really good, plenty of outside seating and really comfortable inside. There were just a couple of bits that let it down, we lost an earring and when looking for it could see the carpets weren’t hoovered well. Also with some of the decor the paint is starting to peel a little around one of the beds. The final point, not sure how this can be helped, the flat isn’t very well soundproofed, we could here the people above walking around their apartment, which they tended to do all night, also the pipes from the heating above made allot of noise, again through the night.

    Reviewed by TerriOct 2021

  • "Loved the week here just as we did at Christmas 2020."

    Everything perfect about the property and facilities were as we hoped for. Only one thing was a worry that our Yorkshire Terrier managed to get in to the neighbouring garden as there was a gap in the fencing at the end of the garden between fence post and rear wall spikes. We did mention this to a neighbour who knew the owner and to the gardener so hopefully when we return at Christmas this will be resolved. This did not spoil the holiday but was a concern though. Had lovely weather which helped but lovely view over the sea even if not sunny. Would have been useful if there was a hand rail in bath to help get in and out of the bath as wife has medical conditions but Ocean Wave feels like our second home as not only returning at Christmas this year but also September 2022 so this confirms our positive thoughts on the property. Colin and Nicola.

    Reviewed by ColinSep 2021

  • "Another great week see you next year"

    Reviewed by AntonyJul 2021

  • "We both felt at home with the accommodation and did not have any regrets about the choice of accommodation."

    Facilities were excellent and in the entire weeks stay, I cannot recollect anything that could have been improved. Both my wife and myself found that the holiday was totally relaxing and we felt the benefits of the holiday were enhanced because we felt so relaxed with the accommodation. Thank you from the both of us. Mr D.W.Partridge

    Reviewed by BarbaraJul 2021

  • "Absolutely brilliant apartment."

    Great views. Prime spot. Have been coming to the apartment for approx 12yr, this year has upgraded, exceeded all expectations. No negatives at all.

    Reviewed by AmandaMay 2021

  • "Fabulous location and lovely property very spacious for two of us and our Westie."

    The only thing I would say is the matresses on the single beds are a bit uncomfortable but unfortunately its an issue I have wherever I stay. Would recommend this property to anyone and we would definitely come back - we had a lovely time

    Reviewed by LesleySep 2020

  • "The apartment was perfect for our needs, wonderful view and garden to enjoy it from."

    Highly recommended for anyone looking for a nice get away to the coast.

    Reviewed by ChrisSep 2020

  • "Brilliant location."

    The apartment was very comfortable and well equipped. We loved that we could sunbathe on the terrace and we felt we were on the beach. Definitely would book again. And Definitely recommend.

    Reviewed by PaulineJul 2020

  • "We really loved every second of this holiday and having this cottage as a base is so nice."

    The walk along the promenade is lovely and it’s super easy to get into town. We love the fact that you’re basically on the beach so swimming in the sea is super fun! We had an issue with the fridge not closing properly but someone came to look at it quickly and this was sorted for us. We have made a lot of great memories here over the past two years of visiting and although it is booked out for next year already we will definitely be back to this one! I couldn’t recommend it enough. We had the best time!

    Aug 2019

  • "We last holidayed at this property 15 years ago and had completely forgotten how special it is."

    The sea view was really good for the soul. It is a quieter area of the resort but you are still close to the amenities. We had a lovely relaxing holiday. It was so good that we didn't even go out in the evenings, preferring to eat al fresco, listening to and observing the sea. We will be back.

    Reviewed by JulieJul 2019

  • "Wonderful place to stay, so easy with the children and barely had to use the car!"

    Reviewed by CarlaMay 2019

  • "Beautiful holiday let, have stayed here for the past few years and wouldn’t dream of staying anywhere else."

    Have never been disappointed by the property or the service from the team. Look forward to staying again.

    Reviewed by NatalieApr 2019

  • "We have just returned from a lovely stay at Ocean Wave, the location was amazing, so close to the sea, we all loved waking up to sea views every day!"

    The property was perfect for us (2 adults 2 children) and the dog, bedrooms had lots of storage space, beds clean and comfortable and the kitchen was really well equipped. Overall it’s a great property and we’d definitely go back.

    Reviewed by PhilippaApr 2019

  • "Absolutely amazing stay!"

    The view was beautiful, it was so nice to wake up every morning and just watch the waves. The location is excellent, you're just a short walk away from town and the cleanliness of the property was A+!! I can't fault our visit. Thank you so much! Stayed August 2018

    Ms LovatAug 2018

  • "This property suits our late season holiday in being close to the amenities (particularly the town), is usually quiet when we are resting and has a place to park the car off road."

    Mr SheppardNov 2017

  • "This was our first visit to Weymouth,the accommodation was excellent and the sea view wonderful, great holiday highly recommendable."

    Stayed June 2017

    Mr John HallJul 2017

  • "A wonderful property, clean and fresh with plenty of space."

    The views from the back are beautiful and it was fabulous to be able to step out of the back gate onto the seafront and a lovely walk into town - Stayed October 2016

    Ms Mel DelaneyNov 2016

  • "Fantastic apartment."

    Exactly as described - stayed August 2016 Exactly as described - stayed August 2016

    Mrs Clare EarleySep 2016

  • "Great property with fantastic views."

    Stayed June 2016

    Mrs ParkerJul 2016

  • "Excellent location no issues would revisit again!"

    Stayed April 2016

    Mr WagstaffMay 2016

  • "Superb property In superb location."

    Handy for the beach and the shops. Some small issues found on the first day but, these were efficiently put right very quickly by Dream Cottages staff which was appreciated. Thank you. Bryn Sheppard. Stayed September 2015

    Mr SheppardSep 2015

  • "The property was just what we had hoped it would be, as your advertisement stated it would be."

    We would totally recommend it as a place to stay. We would hope to return again soon.

    Mrs Alison WhittingtonJun 2015

  • "We love this property."

    It is comfortable and clean, the garden is lovely, and the access to the beach is great.

    Mrs ParkerMay 2015

  • "Lovely apartment spotless"

    Mrs LyonsAug 2014

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Dream Cottages collection.
Over 350 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • Down a flight of steps from parking area to courtyard: Kitchen
  • Bedroom 1x twin single beds, sea views
  • Large step down to hallway
  • Large sitting room/diner with feature open fire 'for decorative purposes only - no open fires
  • French style patio doors to garden
  • 1x king size double bed and second TV
  • Bathroom with bath, separate shower, basin and WC.
  • Gas central heating
  • Oven, Gas hob, Microwave, Fridge/Freezer, washing machine
  • DVD and CD player
  • Wifi
  • Fuel and power inc.in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc.in rent
  • Cot
  • Double length parking space for two small to medium size cars
  • Sorry no smoking
  • Welcomes one well behaved dog, charge of £21 per pet per week

The property

Ocean Wave is a high standard, contemporary apartment backing onto Weymouth’s Esplanade boasting one of the finest uninterrupted sea views in Weymouth.

The apartment is tastefully furnished and very comfortable throughout.

The contemporary, fully equipped kitchen suits all needs and perfect for preparing family meals.

The sitting room/ diner is a comfortable setting in which to enjoy your meal, after eating, put up your feet and unwind after a day exploring or walking along the esplanade.

The patio doors light up the room letting in the summer sun.

Both bedrooms are tranquil places to sleep well, preparing you for another full and exciting day.

Ocean Wave has its own personal, private enclosed garden with a gate leading onto the promenade and shingle beach.

The garden is terraced and laid to patio and lawn with a separate BBQ area. An early morning brisk promenade walk will set you up for the day.

Enjoy alfresco breakfast on the patio while watching the rising of the sun admiring the various sailing activities going on in the bay.

Listen to the gentle lapping of the waves on the beach and gaze at the twinkling lights around Weymouth Bay in the evening while enjoying a glass of wine.

Weymouth caters for all ages offering a holiday for all tastes including sailing, windsurfing, cliff walks, bird watching, golden sandy beaches and a magical harbour.

The town and harbour have numerous places to eat ranging from gourmet restaurants, coffeehouses and pubs to traditional fish and chips on the harbour wall.

Ocean Wave is located close to Greenhill Gardens in the sought-after quieter side of Weymouth; only a 15 minutes level walk along the sea front to the town centre.

View on map

About the location


Greenhill, is a pretty region of Weymouth notorious for it’s pretty pastel beach huts, beautiful gardens and pebbly beach. The beach at Greenhill is the perfect option for those seeking a quieter beach day away from the hustle and bustle of the traditional sandy beach day activities. There are a choice of beach side cafés as well as a pitch & putt that is adjacent to tennis courts. There are many Georgian houses which front onto the seafront and esplanade, along with many other historic buildings, enjoy the variety and extensive sea views as you stroll along the seafront. It’s a short 10-15-minute stroll from Greenhill into Weymouth main town centre, where you can find local independent shops tucked away in the side streets, surrounded by many high street favourites. Greenhill is the ideal location for people who want to be close to the centre without being in it.

Note: Down a flight of steps from parking area to courtyard. Note: Three flights of steps some double sized down garden to rear gate from patio. Note; Fireplace in sitting room not in use, just a feature.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute