Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

11 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 33 View Image Gallery
  • Amaranta - Dorset - 1094065 - photo 1


(Ref. 1094065)

Brewers Quay Harbour, Dorset Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 5 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • great (8)
  • location (8)
  • out (7)
  • house (7)
  • garden (7)
  • beautiful (5)

14 Customer Reviews

  • "A beautiful house in a quiet location but needs some TLC."

    Judging by the amount of cobwebs and spiders webs on every ceiling says that either no one has been in the house for months or the cleaner isn't doing a good job. The bathroom had lots of mildew on tiles around the shower and the downstairs toilet really smells bad. We had to trim back the rose bush so that we could enter the front door in a safe manner but everything else was great. If these small problems were sorted then we'd definitely return.

    Reviewed by Janette3.1Sep 2023

  • "A great find, a well located cottage, brilliantly equipped, so close to the harbour and beach and a dog walking area with beautiful views."

    Very comfortable overall, we loved our stay. It could do with a good deep clean, there were lots of cobwebs and dust; it is a shame the main garden is still out of use and the outdoor chairs are a bit mouldy. Also there was an unpleasant smell indoors when we arrived and a huge load of bin bags stacked up against the house. But overall this was a lovely place to stay and we thoroughly enjoyed our time at Amaranta!

    Reviewed by Rob3.4Sep 2023

  • "Lovely property and great location."

    Would definitely stay again and recommend. Some very nice, thoughtful touches that made us feel at home. Minor points would be the television freeview would not tune, so the aerial may need looking at, and the wifi is very poor.

    Reviewed by Daniel4.1Aug 2023

  • "Comfy beds and great to find fans available, nice to be close to Newton's Cove and a short walk into Weymouth."

    House could do with a good clean, it's rather grubby in places. Wifi is not good, particularly in the lounge. Need a proper grill pan and rack in the oven.

    Reviewed by Caroline3.1Jul 2023

  • "Heartily recommend this."

    Ideally located. Can recommend a visit to Noethe fort. Only a 10 min walk away, through magnificent gardens.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon… Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dennis5.0Jun 2023

  • "Cottage in a fab location and parking a bonus."

    Hairs in the bedroom drawers and have to say that the sofa had a dirty smell so we bought some fabreeze to try and make the room smell nicer . When we got home we realised we had left my dog’s grooming stuff in one of the kitchen cupboards, when we rang nothing had been handed in but we were also told that chances were that the cupboard may not have been checked??!! Surely all cupboards should be checked and given a wipe over? The most annoying thing , which is an issue with dream cottages, is that a day before we were due to arrive I read the review about bees in the garden. We had specifically booked this place as it had an outside area to sit in. I contacted Dream Cottages by online chat , told my concerns- travelling with a dog and my elderly parents & I felt we should have been told of this issue( thank goodness none of us suffers from anaphylaxis ) I have to say that we didn’t see the swarms of bees mentioned by a previous review but could see a steady stream of bees going to one area of the wall in particular ( into a pipe) So , we didn’t use the outside space at all and didn’t let our dog go out either . Kept the windows shut and made use of the fans. I’m annoyed that I requested that someone from Dream Cottages should contact me and no one has. Not the owners fault but badly managed by Dream Cottages and poor communication.

    Reviewed by Gary3.8Jun 2023

  • "We absolutely loved our stay at Amaranta and would definetely return."

    Only down side was there was a huge bee nest in the tree in garden and swarms of bees so it wasn't safe we contacted dreams left a message and no one returned our call. Everything about the house was perfect and it has everything you needed for a week stay. Beautiful location and house we would love to visit again.

    Reviewed by Sophie4.4Jun 2023

  • "We have enjoyed our first visit to Dorset and Amaranta very much."

    The house has everything that we needed. It’s a shame that the upper garden is out of use but everything else was excellent. It’s so conveniently located for the fabulous old harbour. It’s a shame that the Brewers Quay building is permanently shut and derelict, we look forward to seeing what happens to it. It could be absolutely stunning. The old harbour was where we mostly spent our time and couldn’t have asked for more. One of our favourite pubs was The Kings Arms (try the hot pork scratchings) and Quayside Bar and kitchen. Both very dog friendly. We visited Lulworth Cove, Osmington Mills and Lyme Regis. They were all beautiful and well worth a visit. We did visit Portland Bill but found it to be neglected and wild. So wouldn’t recommend it. We can’t wait to return to Dorset.

    Thank you for your feedback and we are happy you had a great visit to Weymouth. We wonder how we could have improved your stay at Amaranta? The usual feedback is top rated and as you have scored the property 75 out of 100, we wondered if anything we could do to improve the property itself? We work hard to keep our ratings high and we would love the chance to refine the experience for our future guests. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sally3.8Apr 2023

  • "We had a fantastic first holiday in Weymouth."

    The house was perfect, great location for walking into Weymouth, and exploring the surrounding areas. The house was comfortable, a lovely home from home feel, it has everything you need. Would definitely stay there again, it’s was perfect.

    Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rachael5.0Apr 2023

  • "It's a wonderful cottage and hopefully we will be back"

    Thanks for your great feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Debra5.0Mar 2023

  • "Shower difficult to turn on."

    Couldn’t actually do it myself, my husband had to turn it on for me. Would have liked to have been able to close the kitchen curtains fully but they were not wide enough. Great parking out front. The home is Beautiful and excellent location would love to return in future,

    Thank you for your kind feedback. The shower has now been replaced. The curtains in the kitchen are for aesthetic purposes only as it was deemed the kitchen window height provided enough privacy. However we take note of your comment and we hope you return soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michelle4.7Nov 2022

  • "Lovely, well equipped property in a good location a few minute’s walk from harbour and town the only disappointment was that the top garden was out of bounds and shower needed maintenance as the controls were stiff to operate but these are minor things and would not deter us from visiting again."

    Thank you for your kind feedback. The shower has now been replaced with a brand new unit. We have temporarily spruced up the courtyard area but have big plans for the top garden in the near future. In the meantime we hope you took advantage of the beautiful North gardens which is only a few minutes walk from the property. We hope to welcome you back to Amaranta soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Loretta4.7Aug 2022

  • "Lovely clean property and beautifully decorated in a nautical theme."

    Just a short walk from the harbour and beach which made it ideal staying with 2 young children. Also the parking space was definitely a reason for choosing this property. Parking in Weymouth can be tricky! There were a few games supplied too which the kids enjoyed in the evenings. A bit disappointed that the upper garden area was out of bounds and completely overgrown as it was shown on the listing when we booked. There was a small courtyard area with table and chairs but we didn’t spend much time in the garden anyway as we were out and about, The outside lighting didn’t seem to work which I think would have been really pretty (fairy lights). None of this would put me off going back though it is a really comfortable property in a great quiet location. Thank-you.

    Thank you for your kind feedback. Great to hear you liked the games we aim to add to these over time. We have temporarily spruced up the courtyard area but have big plans for the top garden in the near future. As you mentioned being so close to Weymouth centre there are many options available to explore. The outside lighting is now fixed and looks amazing. We hope you welcome you back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lisa4.4Jul 2022

  • "It would have been nice to know the car access was 100yards from the front door."

    The steps into the house are marginally too high. There was no information about activating the outside rear lights. The pier light above the door we found worked from a switch in the rear bedroom. We never managed to switch on the string of 40 solar powered bulbs. The rear patio is inadequate and gets minimal sun. We did not expect to have to remove bedding. This we expect to be carried out by the house staff. We just about managed the bath but a handrail would have been a great help. Good kitchen but the gas range was uneven which almost caused some toppling of pans.

    Reviewed by Michael3.8May 2022

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Dream Cottages collection.
Over 350 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • Three bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x twin, 1 x single
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room
  • Gas central heating
  • Oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washing machine, dishwasher
  • TV, PlayStation 4, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot, highchair and stairgate available
  • Allocated off-road parking for 1 car
  • Enclosed patio with furniture
  • Two well-behaved pets welcome, charge of £21 per pet per week
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 0.4 miles, beach 0.9 miles.

The property

Amaranta, a charming, newly renovated three-bedroom end-terrace property in Weymouth, Dorset, is tucked away on the peaceful Maltings Development on the site of the former Devenish Brewery.

Amaranta is the ideal base for a group or family of five, plus their two four-legged friends, who are embarking on their next adventure to Dorset.

Park-up in the allocated off-road parking space for one, before unloading your bags and making your way into your new home-from-home.

The budding chef of the group will delight at the fully-equipped kitchen, where they will have all they need to conjure up delicious feasts, including a handy washing machine and dishwasher for keeping the space tidy!

Settle down to tuck-in to a tasty meal at the dining table for five, as the wine is poured, and plans are made for the days ahead.

After dinner, why not savour your favourite tipple out on the private, enclosed patio?

Retire to the sitting room as the evening cools and curl up on the sofa in front of a much-loved TV show or pop on a DVD to enjoy.

Finally, on the ground-floor you will find a cloakroom, perfect for those quick freshen-ups before heading out for the day.

As your eyes grow heavy, retreat to the first floor where you can choose from three well-appointed bedrooms to catch your rest in, a double, a twin and a single, all of which are served by a bathroom, where you can look forward to indulgent soaks and refreshing rinses ahead of a day of adventure.

Explore the local town where you will find yourself just a short walk away from Brewers Quay with its excellent selection of eateries and pubs, where you and your loved ones can sample the local delights, before enjoying a leisurely stroll around the picturesque harbour.

The budding historians in your party will delight at the close proximity of the Victorian Nothe Fort, where you can explore the harbourside fortress which houses a museum, followed by a picnic in the beautiful Nothe Gardens.

Walkers are well-catered for with the scenic 630-mile South West Coast Path right on your doorstep, where you can soak up the incomparable views and stop off at a wealth of charming towns and villages along the way.

For a day at the beach, Castle Cove is nearby, where you can bathe on the sands, take to the waters on a paddleboard or canoe or build sandcastles with the little ones.

Be sure to check out the imposing ruins of the 16th-century Sandsfoot Castle which offers lush gardens and stunning sea views.

Venture further into the towns centre, where you will discover the Alexandra Gardens amusement park promising a fun-filled family day out, the glorious Weymouth Beach, which is speckled with attractions, miniature golf and the sea life centre, there is also the expansive RSPB Radipole Lake, sure to entice any keen twitchers.

From here, you can easily access Portland, where you can explore the historic delights of Portland Castle and the Castletown D-Day Centre and Museum.

Continue onto Dorchester, where you can tour the National Trust site and former home of Thomas Hardy, delve into history at the Roman Town House, Dorset Museum and The Keep Military Museum or wander the grounds of the magnificent Kingston Maurward Animal Park and Gardens.

For a getaway to Dorset like no other, choose Amaranta.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location


Dorchester 8.7 miles; West Lulworth 15.8 miles

Brewers Quay is the old Victorian brewery situated at the heart of the harbour, in Weymouth, Dorset. Much of the grade II listed complex and surrounding brewery buildings date from the late 1800 early 1900’s and many have stones inlaid commemorating their construction year. This area is now a popular destination with many restaurants, café and bars, creating a vibrant culture, where you can relax with a drink and watch the world go by. Tucked away down the harbourside streets, you will find original Tudor harbour buildings, estimated to have been built in 1600 and well worth a visit, with a very interesting history to share. You will also find the Weymouth Museum, with some incredible exhibitions, and the harbour is also home to the lifting bridge, where you can watch the luxury yachts head out to sea, and then walk over the bridge to the town's winding streets of boutique shops and the seafront esplanade and beach. There is more to this seaside town than meets the eye; Brewers Quay is a much-loved holiday destination in Weymouth!

Please note: There are two steps at the front door of the property.
Please note: The parking area is approximately 100 yds from the property (there is a sloping path and a flight of 5 steps)
End of season 2022 - garden works to be carried out (more details to be confirmed)

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas