Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

7 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 26 View Image Gallery
  • The Coach House - Isle of Wight & Hampshire - 20405 - photo 1
close

The Coach House

(Ref. 20405)

Chale, Isle of Wight Show on map

4.6

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • views (25)
  • house (23)
  • our (18)
  • cottage (18)
  • stay (18)
  • location (17)

50 Customer Reviews

  • "We loved the Coach House."

    Fantastic place to stay, great location & views were gorgeous, despite the rain & wind! The wood burner & open fire were a great asset. Beds are particularly comfortable, we had a very good night’s sleep. Thank you, would definitely book this house again.

    Reviewed by Sally-ann5.0Mar 2024

  • "The cottage was perfect."

    Everything you need is there and more. The location is also amazing! A walk to the local pub and a nice drive just about everywhere. The Chinese in Ventnor even delivers. Their food was fresh and delicious. We fancy ourselves as food connoisseurs so you have to try it. The weather unfortunately wasn’t during great during our stay so that put a little bit of a damper on our visit. However we saw quite a bit and walked to the Needles in the driving rain. Very beautiful indeed. The one time we needed help John was absolutely spot on. Might want to improve the Wi-Fi a little. It was a tad intermittent. Overall it was a GREAT stay and we would like to visit when the weather is a little better. Thank you so much!

    Reviewed by Andre5.0Dec 2023

  • "We had a wonderful few days of weather, a second summer!"

    The location is absolutely excellent for walking, we did some fantastic hikes in different directions from the house. Some good places to eat within 2-15 mins drive. Stunning views from the sitting room window, we had great sunsets during our stay. Would absolutely come back for another visit. Thank you for a lovely few days!

    Reviewed by Catherine4.1Oct 2023

  • "A great well equipped place to stay in peace apart from a little road noise, wonderful views ( when weather allows !"

    ) Always a pleasure to be there with a warm welcome from the hoist's. Leaving at the end of the stay is always sad but the comfort being that next years visit is already booked. This will be the eighth - long may it continue. Neil & Heather West Sussex.

    Reviewed by Neil4.7Sep 2023

  • "Lovely house, very nicely finished and furnished."

    Great location with outstanding views.

    Reviewed by Alex5.0Aug 2023

  • "Excellent property, very comfortable and beautifully furnished."

    Amazing views, we really enjoyed our stay, the owner and the dog were lovely and friendly.

    Reviewed by John4.7Jun 2023

  • "Lovely house, lovely location, beautiful views, very peaceful and relaxing, privacy superb."

    Having said this I did not expect to have to clean a dirty toilet on entering the house, a little attention to cleanliness in the kitchen wouldn’t go amiss either. But overall we had an excellent stay.

    Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. I am so sorry that you had cleanliness issues when you arrived. We do advise our guests to report any issues as soon as possible after arrival so that a situation can be rectified immediately. We began work with a new management company in April 2022 and we have rarely, if ever, received any complaints about the cleanliness of the Coach House. Your complaints were passed on to them as soon as we were made aware of them. They were mortified and informed us that the team in charge of the clean for your stay had already left their employment. I am fully confident that we will not be receiving similar complaints in the future. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Norma3.4Jun 2023

  • "We enjoyed the holiday tremendously."

    The Coach House was as described and therefore met our expectations as regards the facilities and comfort. We had everything we needed and more beside. The Coach House is situated in a beautiful location with wonderful views, wildlife and amazing sunsets. Furthermore it's location is ideal for seeing the many beautiful attractions the Island has to offer. We would certainly stay here again on future visits to the Isle of Wight

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will be back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Janet5.0Jun 2023

  • "We really liked The Coach House."

    It is very tastefully and comfortably furnished. The view across the sea to the Needles is breathtaking. It is particularly nice to enjoy the sunset from the garden bench. Walks right from the doorstep on the Coastal Path around the island and inland are extraordinary beautiful. A circular hike up to the medieval "Pepperpot" via Niton and St. Catherine's Lighthouse is also fascinating. We saw a seal there. We met very nice people at the Evensong at the Church in Chale and at English Country Dancing in Niton. A really incredibly beautiful place in the world.

    Reviewed by Axel5.0May 2023

  • "A well appointed cottage with its setting and views earning our 5 star rating."

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We are glad you had a good stay and hope to see you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John5.0May 2023

  • "A very well appointed and peaceful upside down property."

    The kitchen is on the ground floor and has everything you could need. The living area and bedrooms are on the first floor giving you teriffic views towards the Needles. Gas central heating keeps you toasty warm when the weather turns against you, and an open fire in the living room creates a homely atmosphere. (Not a suitable cottage for those who cannot manage stairs).

    Reviewed by Trevor5.0Mar 2023

  • "Amazing property, great location to explore the island."

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Feb 2023

  • "Great property, really spacious, clean and warm."

    Photos and descriptions on site accurate. Lovely spot for a walk out and real clarity from the owner about where you should and shouldn’t go. We enjoyed the spacious and very well provisioned kitchen which was great for self catering. Beds were warm and comfortable and stunning views. Would love to revisit and definitely worth the premium price. The only very minor wrinkles were: 1 having to phone the week before to get the key safe (other properties just email you the details which is easier if you’re v. Busy before hols) 2 parking is on a slope 3 front door needs both hands to open - hard with heavy bags!

    Reviewed by John5.0Oct 2022

  • "Another good return visit to the coach house."

    Always a pleasure and always too short a stay. Owner's refurbishments had gone well with previous minor problems resolved and closer oversite ensuring any matters notified being addresses as soon as posable. Owner could not be more helpful and always welcoming ( as is the dog ) Great location and views of the coast and sea. Will be back next year hopefully with better weather. Neil.

    Reviewed by Neil4.7Sep 2022

  • "The Coach House lived up to description and photographs on website."

    We had a great stay and would say the beds were the most comfortable we have ever had in rental properties. The open fire was also a very welcome addition when the weather changed.

    Reviewed by Pauline4.7Sep 2022

  • "We stayed here the last week of August."

    Lovely cottage with amazing sunsets. The kitchen is well equipped and it was nice to have milk and bread on our arrival. The property is on a busy road but it didn’t impact on us either in the evenings or mornings. There is a small store for essentials but it is a few minutes drive away. Would stay again.

    Reviewed by Karen4.1Aug 2022

  • "Our stay at the Coach House was really lovely and our only down side was that we could not always operate the electric hob when required ,but this only affected my own breakfast meal as we ate out during the rest of each day during our stay."

    We would certainly stay here again and will tell our friends about the great location and comfort of the Coach House. Please pass on our thanks to the owners and thanks to all at Sykes Cottages .

    Reviewed by Roy5.0Jul 2022

  • "We really enjoyed our stay in the Coach House and would happily return or recommend to others."

    The situation and views are marvellous, and the set up and decor was very much to our taste.

    Reviewed by Jan5.0Jun 2022

  • "The Coach House was amazing."

    Superb location, incredible views. We felt privileged to be able to use the route to the coast road after admiring the view from the seat at the top of the hill. The property was clean, very well equipped, we loved the soft towels! Plenty of crockery, cutlery and cooking equipment. The manuals for appliances were really helpful as well as the Island guide and suggestions for eateries and things to do. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will recommend the property to others.

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Apr 2022

  • "Some previous critical comments were a bit concerning but we found nothing to criticise and cannot see why those comments were made- unless owners had already addressed them."

    A very relaxing and comfortable stay in a lovely part of the country.

    Reviewed by Jonathan4.4Mar 2022

  • "Comfortable stay ."

    .small details that could have made it even more so very clean bedding but quilts were very heavy ...toaster worked on one side only ...no proper wine glasses ...bottom step a trip hazzard due to the angular shape having said all that we would come back if only to see Sorrel the dog

    Thank you for your valuable feedback. We replaced the toaster as soon as we were made aware that it was broken. Many thanks. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julian4.1Mar 2022

  • "Comfortable and well equipped in a great rural location with views as far as Dorset."

    The only negative was the WiFi which was good when working but often had no server contact. But WiFi issues, this is a great holiday let. We appreciate the owners informing us of slight damp issues marking one wall, which will be sorted as will the stair carpet. A really cosy apartment, happy to return.

    We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. Apologies for the WiFi connection. It is working well at the moment. The Coach House has now been redecorated and damp proofed as necessary. It has also been re-carpeted throughout, ready for the 2022 season. We do hope you will return. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David4.7Oct 2021

  • "Wonderful stay as always."

    Fantastic views in beautiful surroundings. Comfortable, spacious and well equipped house - the owner has the repairs to the damp wall in hand. Have already booked to return again next year.

    As always, we are looking forward to your return and hope you will be pleased with the re-decoration, damp proofing and re-carpeting that has taken place since you were last here. See you later in the year! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Neil5.0Sep 2021

  • "This is the second year we have stayed at the coach house."

    Last year being the first during lockdown. We had a lovely time but the cottage was getting tired and needed some updating. However it had beautiful views and perfectly located. So we booked again for this year thinking that now restrictions had been lifted the TLC it needed may have been done. However there is now more damp on the walls. The stairs carpet is coming away, there is rust all along the radiator in the bathroom and the bathroom needs a really good clean. The dishwasher, top rail is broken so everything you try to fill it comes out and I'm glad I took my own dishwasher tablets because the ones they provided were moulding. My daughter lost a small toy while playing so we took the blankets off the sofa to look for it and the state of the sofa under the cushions was awful, definitely not been vacuumed for a good while. We stayed for 2 weeks and our mid holiday clean consisted of clean bedding and bath towels (not tea towels) No new toilet roll which meant we had to go and buy. Yes only a little thing but as I had paid the same amount for the second week I expected the same amount of cleanliness and set up. We are really disappointed, we thought we had found our perfect spot in our favourite place. Definitely not 5 stars and we won't be returning again. However very comfy beds and beautiful views.

    Reviewed by Sarah2.8Jul 2021

  • "We loved the house however there were a few issues that we feel should be raised."

    1) the photos were misleading, it looked like we would have access to a garden that had a sea view. We didn’t. The small enclosed garden had a large hedgerow around it that prevented you seeing the view. 2) the view from the house was stunning however the window were absolutely filthy both inside and out. 3) the owners dog repeatedly entered our garden and the house. 4) the standard of cleanliness (especially in covid times) was under par. Sticky handles on kitchen cupboard, dirty door handles etc. The decor was very tired. 5) clothes aired was very flimsy and couldn’t withstand the sea breeze. 6) undoubtedly the biggest issue is that this house sits yards from a very busy road. The road is used as a bike route and as such there is a constant stream of VERY noisy bikes. This makes it impossible to sit outside and enjoy the garden. The house would need to deliver more in terms of cleanliness etc to compensate. Positives! The grounds were immaculate and very pleasing. The house was well furnished and kitchen well stocked. The views from upstairs were stunning. We loved this location of Chale, such a shame about the road noise.

    Many thanks for your valuable feedback. Due to Covid related issues, we had some lapses in our gardening support. The hedge that surrounds the cottage is usually kept to a medium height to protect that garden from the wind and to allow a view of the surrounding countryside. We apologise that it had not been trimmed for your visit. The garden is also rabbit fenced to prevent rabbits, badgers and the owner’s dog being able to access the garden. In this instance, the rabbits had chewed through the fence and allowed the dog to get in. Apologies for any distress this may have caused. There is no excuse for cleanliness standards not being reached. This has been addressed. Whilst we try to keep the windows cleaned from the outside regularly, the cottage sits on the top of the cliffs and, as such, is exposed to the salt-laden wind and rain so it is not always possible to have them looking immaculate, as we would wish as we have to wait for the storms to pass before they can be cleaned. Since your stay, a path has been mowed through the field (previously private) giving access to the bench on top of the hill, from which you are welcome to enjoy the coastal views and sundowners and, via a pretty scenic route, to the public footpath giving easy access to the Wight Mouse Inn, without having to go down the main road. The road was unusually busy last year. We hope this will not be the case in 2022. We apologise again that our cottage did not meet your expectations. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Amy2.5Jul 2021

  • "Lovely welcoming cottage."

    Fully equipped, warm and comfortable. Very private, tucked away from general view, with splendid views along the southern coast down to the Needles. All facilities needed for a home from home feel, heating and hot water amply supplied when needed. Bedding, towels and beds spotless, beds comfortable and king sized. All in all a lovely relaxing holiday on a lovely island. .

    Reviewed by Frederick J5.0Jul 2021

  • "What a wonderful house, we greatly enjoyed our time there."

    Thank you for your excellent feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Chris5.0Jun 2021

  • "Overall we had a nice stay, the cottage is very comfortable and well appointed, but a few things are worth mentioning… There is one pub in walking distance, any other shop or pub/cafe is a drive away."

    The cottage is very close to a main road which is part of an upcoming motorcycle road-race. So at weekends the road is very busy with noisy tuned motorbikes and cars constantly passing, making sitting in the garden a little unpleasant. The Wi-fi is so slow as to be almost unusable. You cannot stream iPlayer for example, we contacted the representative about this on day 2 but received no response. The photos on the listing are very old, there is now a high bush around the cottage garden and you cannot see the sea without standing on the chairs. You cannot access the other garden areas or the coastal views from the property. There is no parasol that we could find (as pictured) which is essential in the sun-trap garden. The owners (or their children) held a drunken all night party in the main house, culminating in raucous tennis at 4:30am keeping us awake. The cottage was clean. Ish. We had to clean any plates and cutlery before using and the kitchen in particular felt like it had not recently been deep-cleaned. While the cottage is lovely it feels like it is starting to need some love. The blinds in the bedroom, despite appearances, keep out little light meaning in mid summer your room is very bright by 4:30 am. But at least you can enjoy the tennis… All in all, we enjoyed our stay but probably would not return due to the above. I also need to say that we saw some absolutely stunning sunsets from the upstairs lounge window. A real treat…

    Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you found the cottage comfortable and managed to take in the stunning sunsets across the bay. The cottage is in a very remote location. The nearest shops, as described, are a 5 minute drive away. The road was unusually busy in summer 2021 and, as such, a pathway has been mowed through the field so that the public footpath and route to the pub can now be accessed on a very pretty, scenic route (previously private). Guests also now have the facility to sit on the bench at the top of of the field to take in the stunning coastal views and from where to enjoy their sundowners. The WiFi issues are being addressed. Since your stay the cottage has been redecorated, damp proofed and re-carpeted throughout. The hedge is usually trimmed regularly and kept at a medium height so that it protects the garden from the wind. We are sorry that it was not so during your stay. Due to Covid we had some issues with our regular gardening support, which were beyond our control. Likewise, with our cleaning support. These issues have been addressed and the cottage has been deep cleaned and is ready for the 2022 season. We have replaced the parasol. Please accept sincere apologies on behalf of the owner’s sons for their spontaneous and noisy night. Best wishes Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ian3.4Jun 2021

  • "Sadly we had to leave early to get home before the lockdown."

    Very relaxing.

    Reviewed by John5.0Oct 2020

  • "Many years we have stayed in holiday let’s with wood burning stove with the first fire ready to light and some logs so was very disappointed to find no fire laid no logs also no box of matches."

    Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are sorry that you were disappointed not to find fire laid and logs available. We have tried to make it clear in the details that we can no longer supply logs to our customers and have pointed out that they can be purchased locally. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Brenda3.4Sep 2020

  • "We had a fantastic time, we found everything we needed and more."

    The sunsets were spectacular!! The property looks more attractive than the listing photograph suggests and I would suggest an updated picture of the front of house.

    Thank you for your positive and helpful feedback. The cottage has recently been re-decorated, damp proofed and re-carpeted throughout, ready for the 2022 season and updated photographs will be appearing on the website shortly. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Hayley4.7Jul 2020

  • "The cottage was amazing - beautifully decorated, well equipped and absolutely perfect for our holiday away."

    The area was quiet, beautiful sunsets and well located for beaches. The hosts were great with communication and as a family we have agreed was one of our best holidays. We hope to return

    Thank you for your extremely positive feedback. It is lovely to hear that you had a great holiday. Since your stay there have been some refurbishments done to the cottage and so we hope it is looking better than ever. We hope you will return one day and send best wishes. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Katy5.0Jul 2020

  • "Lovely cottage."

    Cosy, clean, spacious and excellent quiet and beautiful location. Our second visit and we've booked again for next year!

    Reviewed by Kenneth5.0Oct 2019

  • "The Isle of Wight is always a pleasure to visit and, regardless of the weather, never lets you down."

    The Coach House was an exceptional place to stay with a view of the sea below the cliff and a distant view of the Needles from the upstairs. sitting room window. Whether you want a quiet "chilling out" break or an exciting "let's do it all" holiday, I would recommend the Coach House at Chale as the place to stay.

    Reviewed by Maurice5.0Jul 2019

  • "The Coach House is a beautiful cottage with fantastic views across the hills and also the bay towards The Needles - we enjoyed a couple of amazing sunsets."

    The cottage is spacious and very tastefully decorated with beautiful furnishings. The kitchen is large with a lovely stone fireplace and wood burner, and it is very well-equipped. There is a nice garden to sit in with garden furniture and a parasol, plus a shed to store bikes etc. The shower is hot and powerful. The sitting room is large with great views and a lovely log-burning fire. We found plenty of fun activities for children - Osborne House, Carisbrooke Castle, the botanical gardens at Ventnor, The Donkey Sanctuary, Tapnell Farm Park and the Steam Railway. However we were very disappointed by the quality of the mattresses and this cast a shadow over our holiday. We paid £960 for a two bedroom cottage and we therefore expected comfortable beds. We slept badly and finally on the last night I slept on the sofa in desperation. This was a great shame as it was, otherwise, a perfect week away. We would definitely like to book The Coach House again next year but only if the mattresses have been replaced.

    Reviewed by Maryrose4.4May 2019

  • "We had a fabulous holiday in this wonderful, comfortable, private house."

    The surrounding countryside and beaches are glorious and the house is a superb base to visit the rest of the Island. Highly recommended

    Reviewed by Margaret5.0May 2019

  • "An excellent property with great facilities."

    The view from the lounge stretched across to the Needles and the fit out is of great quality. Lovely walks from the front door up or down the coastal path, pub very close and good food and ales (The Wight Mouse). Highly Recommend.

    Reviewed by Gary5.0May 2019

  • "It was a wonderful cottage."

    Beautifully decorated, with all facilities you could ask for and fabulous views.

    Reviewed by Nora5.0Apr 2019

  • "We had a fantastic holiday."

    Loved the cottage and the surroundings. Have booked again.

    Reviewed by Kenneth5.0Oct 2018

  • "Most of the places that we rented with you have been fabulous cake and wine welcoming gesture unfortunately the coach house was sadly lacking somewhat odd as it was a expensive rental no frills in the coach house ."

    Many thanks for your feedback, we have fed your comments back to the owner in order to maintain our property standards. Your views are as valued as your initial booking so that we can keep providing the best UK holiday experience. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carl3.4Oct 2018

  • "I found the gates very difficult to cope with."

    I'm not short but the heavy metal bar across the top was very hard for me to handle. It needs mentioning in the brochure as a "little old couple" would probably not manage to open or close the gates. The pub/restaurant 3 minutes walk away is much further than that - though it is worth the drive! It a superbly equipped cottage with a stunning outlook and very well positioned for covering the island.

    Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and apologise that you had problems with the gate. Because the cottage is located on the top of the cliff, the heavy metal bar is necessary for when the wind is blowing at its strongest. However, we have now provided a hockey stick which you can use to life the bar, making life much easier. We have also noted your comments about the proximity of The Wight Mouse Inn and changed our summary to read that it is a 5 minute walk or a 1 minute drive! Thank you again for your helpful feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Keith4.7Sep 2018

  • "Absolutely beautiful cottage and even exceeded my expectations."

    I 100% will use Sykes again, and confident will go back to the same cottage again. Thank you for a perfect holiday x

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Aug 2018

  • "Generally we liked the cottage and were very comfortable there."

    Upstairs was spotless but the kitchen lacked a bit of attention to details. For instance there were bread crumbs in the bread bin and scattered granola in one of the cupboards, so we did not use those and we left the debris there. The fridge kept icing up and had spiders living in it and the floor was sticky, so I think a bit more cleaning in the kitchen would have been nice. It was a perfect size and the facilities were good for three of us including a 5 year old. One bit of feedback for advertising, and we admit we did not check before booking, was that the photos on the website show the beautiful views of the trees, a field and the sea, so we thought we had access to go running on the field or see the sea from a cliff edge, but this was not to be. The photo, we felt, was misleading as you had no access to that garden and on the Friday night, our first night there, we had to close the windows when hot as there were a load of lads shouting and playing rugby till 8pm ish. We also found it hard to locate as there is no sign on the gate saying Coach House, only 'Chale House'.

    Thank you for your valuable feedback. We apologise for cleaning issues which you raised. These have been addressed. Whilst our guests do not have access to the lawn with the trees, access has now been opened to the outer field and the bench on the top, from where to enjoy the views. There is also access from there, via steps to the public footpath, offering an alternative route to the Wight Mouse Inn or access to the coastal path which runs the length of the South Coast of the island. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emma3.4Aug 2018

  • "A comfortable, well-equipped cottage in an ideal location."

    Reviewed by Raymond5.0Jun 2018

  • "Beautiful cottage with everything you would require to make yourself feel at ..."

    Beautiful cottage with everything you would require to make yourself feel at home Well equipped and everything clean and tidy Sensational views of the cliffs and sea Easy to walk to the pub but far enough away to feel as if your by yourself Will be going back in February

    Reviewed by Simon5.0Dec 2017

  • "A very peaceful place with a great vista."

    Reviewed by Alison5.0Nov 2017

  • "Cottage was very comfortable, amazing views,good location for visiting the ..."

    Cottage was very comfortable, amazing views,good location for visiting the island, there are no pathways around the village of Chale so can be difficult to walk due to busy road however this did not stop us from enjoying the island

    Reviewed by A5.0May 2017

  • "The setting is spectacular."

    We thought it was a bit overpriced until we saw the sun setting over the Needles. After that we struggled to leave.

    Reviewed by Thomas4.4Apr 2017

  • "Wi Fi failed three days into our holiday, and even after phoning our contact number, the problem was not corrected."

    The tv reception ,due to the location of the cottage(the most southerly tip ot the Isle of Wight) was poor and the BBC channels were very difficult to watch. But that did not spoil the enjoyment of the fantastic location and views.

    Reviewed by Richard3.8Sep 2016

  • "A truly fantastic coach house of high std."

    Very comfortable and a great location for explori g the island with the family.

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Aug 2016

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Redecorated for 2022 including damp-proofing and re-carpeting
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x super-king-size (zip/link, can be twin on request), 1 x twin (zip/link, can be super-king-size on request)
  • Bathroom with bath, rain shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner with woodburning stove
  • First-floor sitting room with open fire
  • Gas central heating with woodburning stove and open fire
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher
  • TV with Freeview, DVD, WiFi
  • Gas and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent, please bring own beach towels
  • Off-road parking for 2 cars
  • Small, enclosed, lawned garden with furniture and lockable shed, containing sun loungers and barbecue
  • There is also an outside tap with hosepipe
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Note: Children aged 5 and over only
  • Note: Logs for fire and stove are NOT PROVIDED but can be purchased locally Note: There is no car charging facilities at this property
  • Charging is strictly forbidden.

The property

This tastefully decorated, detached cottage, originally a coach house, has outstanding coastal views and is located a couple of miles from the most southern point on the Isle of Wight.

Recently redecorated, this Chale cottage is ideal for couples, friends or families who wish to relax and enjoy some special time together in one of the most unspoiled parts of the Isle of Wight.

You'll find your well-equipped kitchen with dining area and woodburning stove on the ground floor of this welcoming Chale cottage.

Upstairs, you'll enjoy panoramic views across the sea to The Needles and surrounding countryside from your sitting room, which offers comfortable seating and an open fire.

This is the perfect environment in which to relax at the end of your active day and to watch the stunning sunsets across the bay.

Outside your Isle of Wight cottage you'll find a small, enclosed, lawned garden with table and chairs and a lockable shed, containing sun loungers and a barbecue.

The farming community of Chale offers some amazing downland and coastal walks, all within an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, which can be directly accessed from your front door.

Chale also offers an award-winning pub/restaurant, The Wight Mouse Inn.

A short drive takes you into Niton which has a village store and is also home to Tregear Pottery.

It is a short journey from the Coach House to Compton Bay with its long sandy beach, popular for surfing, swimming, fossil finding and, at low tide, spotting the odd dinosaur footprint!

The Coach House is a charming retreat after your winter walks or day at the beach.

Whether you're a walker, cyclist or beachcomber, this Isle of Wight cottage is perfect for year-round enjoyment.

View on map

About the location

CHALE

Ventnor 6.5 miles; Newport 9.5 miles; Yarmouth 13.5 miles; Fishbourne 14.2 miles; Cowes 14.5 miles.

Ideal for those seeking a mix of coast and country, Chale is a picturesque farming village, nestled at the foot of St Catherine’s Down on the south coast of the Isle of Wight. The village itself offers an award-winning pub/restaurant with an excellent children’s play area, and breathtaking coastal and downland walks, especially to the 35ft-tall octagonal tower ‘St Catherine's Oratory’, locally known as the Pepper Pot. This medieval lighthouse was built in 1312 and is believed to be one of the oldest in Britain. The area of National Trust land around the Pepper Pot is a walker's and birdwatcher’s paradise, as the birds can be observed at eye level. Outstanding sunsets looking towards The Needles are quite a sight. Nearby you'll discover some of the island’s best sandy beaches, perfect for swimming, surfing and of course fossil collecting, where you might even discover the odd dinosaur footprint or two. Close by is Blackgang Chine, the island's premier family attraction and to the north is Osborne House, the former royal residence of Queen Victoria. Experience royal family life as you tour the nursery and private rooms of Victoria and Albert and their children. Wonder at the magnificence of the Royal Apartments including the sumptuous drawing and dining rooms, and the Indian-inspired Dubar Room. Stunning grounds looking out onto The Solent can be explored via a horse-drawn carriage or on foot.

Logs for fire and stove are not provided but can be purchased locally.
Note: There is no car charging facilities at this property. Charging is strictly forbidden.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter