Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Isle of Wight & Hampshire 52 minutes ago

1 of 18 View Image Gallery
  • Sail Loft Annexe - Isle of Wight & Hampshire - 4222 - photo 1
close

Sail Loft Annexe

(Ref. 4222)

Yarmouth, Isle of Wight Show on map

4.4

Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • next (13)
  • door (13)
  • great (11)
  • cafe (11)
  • good (9)
  • beach (9)

37 Customer Reviews

  • "It was a nice quiet area, we liked sitting on the beach watching the boats and doing some fishing."

    The people we met were very friendly. The adjacent cafe was very good with a good selection of food on offer.

    Reviewed by Derek5.0Sep 2023

  • "Great accommodation, quiet, clean and ideal for a break and right on the beach."

    Next door is a cafe/bar serving great food till around 4:30, you would not know it was there. Highly recommend this property

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Jul 2023

  • "It’s a great place if you are staying in rooms1-5 but I spent nearly a£1000 to be shafted in a room at the back of the building, couldn’t have windows open at night as all the bugs would fly in , having one of the 1-5 apartments would have made the stay so much better & for 2 weeks had to listen to thumping footsteps above me because some people just don’t realise how footed they are when walking , the bangs were so loud the dog would bark!"

    But I envisioned sitting out on my patio watching the sun go down with a glass of wine but in room 7 you can’t do that !! But if I booked again I’d need assurances that a better room was available, I’d never book to stay in that room again

    Reviewed by Darren3.8Jul 2023

  • "Our sixth time staying here."

    It is positioned at the back, but as we are out everyday it suits us. The annexe is cosy with everything that is needed. A lovely bistro next door. Would thoroughly recommend it.

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Jul 2023

  • "The location of the building is spot on, unfortunately there was a couple of issues."

    1/ The shower cubical is to small. 2/ The bathroom door only opens half way as the basin is behind the door ?? there's more then enough room to move it further along the wall. 3/ The bed all be it comfy as 2 mattress's and a topper ?? great till you turn over and roll off the edge. 4/ The place inside and out could do with a lick of paint and up date the single wardrobe to something for two. 5/ That tv which it would seem is in most apartments is to small from the bed you need binoculars to see it. 6/ Walking past the edge to get to the door full of bees is not very nice of fear of been stung. Other then that the host was very accommodating and polite there was no can opener, a call to him and next day it was on the side. Would we recommend no 7 yes even though not a sea view but a wall, the food next door at the Boat House which is prepared by the sisters is well worth a visit.

    Reviewed by Philip3.8Jun 2023

  • "We were disappointed that we only had a view of a brick wall and hedge (which is deceiving at first glance on the website as this shows a sea view)."

    I probably wouldn't recommend staying in No 7 for this reason. Also, as the cafe is adjacent to No 7, strong smells of frying were evident when it was open, which is not always what you want.

    Reviewed by Deborah3.1Sep 2022

  • "Excellent accommodation, clean and comfortable and quiet the Jewel in Britain's Treasure Island."

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Jul 2022

  • "Fifth time staying at the Loft Annex."

    It is small but has everything you need. Very peaceful. The cafe next door is really good. Thoroughly recommend staying here

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Jul 2022

  • "Just needed a little bit of TLC."

    Bin needs replacing and the shower was only just warm and we had to boil kettle to wash up. But I noticed in visitors book there had been a problem with water getting too hot and now it doesn't get hot at all.

    Reviewed by Dawn4.7Jun 2022

  • "We had a super holiday in the sail loft annexe."

    The beach was great for us and our dog and the cafe really handy. A new mattress would have helped enormously as it wasn’t too comfy, apart from that would highly recommend this lovely little boat house.

    Reviewed by Jo4.4May 2022

  • "Very cosy and compact, perfectly adequate for two and a doggy."

    Front one would be better for the view. Needs a, Caution Hot Water sticker in the kitchen and the bathroom because the water gets blisteringly hot very quickly. Light fittings and under the bed needs a good dusting but that's being picky I guess!! Lovely and quiet, we would definitely return.

    Reviewed by Martin3.8Nov 2021

  • "A great place to stay and will definitely go back and recommend it to family and friends."

    We will also certainly use Sykes Cottages again.

    Reviewed by Jeannette4.7Oct 2021

  • "Very handy for walking into Yarmouth."

    Owner met us at the agreed time with the keys. Very pleasant accommodation but parking can be a problem during the day if you return before 4.30pm Good value for money.

    Reviewed by Harry4.7Aug 2021

  • "Our fourth time staying here."

    It is small and cosy with a lovely cafe next door. The beach is round the other side. Fort Victoria is a short walk away and Yarmouth is a short ride. Mr Brady is very helpful. I would thoroughly recommend it. We will most definitely be going back again next year.

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Jul 2021

  • "Great little holiday cottage in a superb location."

    Could do with a little maintenance and updating here and there but comfortable and excellent value for money. Superb cafe next door, just wished it opened a little later into the evening as the location on the beach was out of this world.

    Reviewed by Keith4.1Jun 2021

  • "Plenty of places to dine!"

    Great base for walking in the area!

    Reviewed by Lynda5.0Jun 2021

  • "This is a really nice location."

    There's a brilliant beach café next door; and they close at 5ish so there no night noise. it's straight on to the beach and the owner is very helpful. 4 things, the sink tap needs new valve washers, the tap it self needs fixing down and the shower mixer has no thermostatic control and it is on a hair trigger from scalding to cold. The electric radiator in the bathroom is always on, and swithing off the bathroom "isolator" doesn't turn it off. Having said that those are all minor faults and we would happily go back. If you or Mr. Brady could book the ferries from the Island it would be very much cheaper to get there (£350)

    Reviewed by Jon4.7May 2021

  • "The annexe is very damp There is no ventilation in the bathroom, ie a window or ..."

    The annexe is very damp There is no ventilation in the bathroom, ie a window or fan Clothes felt damp in the wardrobe No battery in clock Cobwebs on ceiling

    Reviewed by Sue2.8Oct 2020

  • "Peace and quiet clean comfortable we really enjoyed it"

    Reviewed by Robert5.0Sep 2020

  • "This is our third time visiting this property ."

    It is small but suits our needs. The owner is very friendly and is contactable if anything should be amiss, there wasn't. The bistro next door is run by two very friendly sisters, food is delicious.

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Sep 2020

  • "A great place very close to the sea ."

    About a 20 minit walk to bus stop good for getting a round the island with an weekly ticket did not use the bech it was to stony for the dog to walk on. will stay there again very clean and inviting with a cafe rite next door :-)

    Reviewed by Adrian4.4Aug 2020

  • "Property is in a lovely location but could do with updating would have been happy to have paid more for this."

    John ( the person to contact for the key) was very accommodating and friendly Had a lovely break

    Reviewed by Wendy3.8Aug 2020

  • "Perfect location for my last minute holiday, being so close to the beach, well ..."

    Perfect location for my last minute holiday, being so close to the beach, well equipped apartment, bonus of very friendly cafe next door will definitely book again

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Jul 2020

  • "It was everything and more what I expected loved every minute there"

    Reviewed by Robert5.0Feb 2020

  • "We loved the location of this accommodation."

    A few things would have made our stay even better such as- 1) mattress needs replacing as its really soft and uncomfortable. 2) a few more item of cutlery- it has the bare minimum, plus a decent knife for vegetables would be good. 3) a bigger wardrobe to be able to hang clothes up.

    Reviewed by Karen3.8Oct 2019

  • "The owner was really friendly and was extremely welcoming."

    Facilities are of a good standard and the bed was soooooo comfy. If you want to escape a busy life then location is perfect. It is away from the main road do very quiet at night.

    Reviewed by Kirsten4.7Aug 2019

  • "A lovely place to stay, very peaceful, everything you need in the apartment, great place to recharge as there is no light or noise at night."

    Reviewed by Pete4.7Jul 2019

  • "Y es your paperwork stated towels would be provided no towels at all owner does ..."

    Y es your paperwork stated towels would be provided no towels at all owner does not provide them you as a company should sort this out yes he does or no he does not and you should up date your paper work it cost us 25 pounds to go out and buy them not a happy bunny

    Reviewed by Gordon4.1Jul 2019

  • "Whilst the facilities were great the two things that I would think would improve the facility are 1) a better shower."

    2) a fridge with a freezer compartment

    Reviewed by Ian4.1May 2019

  • "I was pleased that there was an outside light and a torch provided as the steps and lane were very dark otherwise and I had to take my dog on a short walk late evening."

    A small freezer box in the fridge would have been useful. Otherwise it’s a convenient, comfortable bedsit and ideal as a base. Lovely morning walk along the beach in to Yarmouth.

    Reviewed by Pamela3.8May 2019

  • "Agreed time of key collection 4pm."

    I had to text owner at 4 as he wasn't there. He arrived about 20 minutes later. Bearing in mind the size of the island, he likely hadn't remembered we were due. On entering the property, he gave a brief overview of fire equipment and fuse box, which was helpful. Listing photo showed a small sofa - what was there were 2 armchairs, not comfortable or relaxing. There was a large, sticky stain on the floor of the apartment - clearly not cleaned thoroughly after last use. On opening the fridge, we discovered a packet of two ready made burgers, expiry 3 December 2018 (Arrived 23 December) When throwing them away, we discovered that the bin liner already had someone else's rubbish in it. The bedding was atrocious- it felt really old. There was a memory foam mattress placed on top of another mattress, which made it feel like you would fall out of bed. The pillows were lumpy and flat and clearly very well used. The sheet on the bed was bobbled and pilled and it was horrible to sleep on. Considering the rubbish that was left in the apartment, I was unsure if the bedding had even been washed. After the first night in the bed, I had to go out and buy a complete new bedding set including pillows, in order to sleep.

    Many thanks for your feedback, which we greatly appreciate. I can see that you contacted the office regarding this and we have now resolved the situation - many thanks Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sam2.2Dec 2018

  • "The Loft Annexe was perfect for our stay."

    It's very quiet, but everywhere is accessible. It is a studio but that was all we needed. Although it is at the back of the property it didn't matter as we walked round to the front. It's a short walk along the beach into Yarmouth. Mr Brady was very friendly. The cafe next door is run by two sisters who took the time to get to know people. The food was wonderful. Our only complaint was the size of the wardrobe, it only had hanging space on one side. We are already planning on going back there.

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Jul 2018

  • "Nice little place for 2 (and a dog)."

    .. clean and owner was happy with our late arrival. Annexe is right on a country park so great for walking and with the IOW being small could access everywhere. 25 minute drive from Cowes. 45 minute drive to Ryde Well equipped place considering small size.

    Reviewed by Jen3.8Apr 2018

  • "Perfect location for anyone travelling with a dog- loads of excellent walks close by, and indeed whole island was dogfriendly."

    Cafe next door was both friendly and served excellent food so we didn't cook at all- apart from toast for breakfast.. We drove all over the island, but much preferred the area close by : Yarmouth itself is a delightful little place. Shalfleet has the New Inn- super food and dogfriendly as well. Weather was not particularly good- lots of cloudy days but we were cosy and warm at home, and the scenery was still lovely out and about. We would happily revisit the island- not a hundred miles from home but another place to explore.

    Reviewed by Alison4.7Apr 2018

  • "The only thing I would say, which is only an observation."

    The mattress was a bit clunky indicating it needed renewal. Overall we both loved the accommodation. Mr Brady was very friendly and helpful.

    Reviewed by Andy4.8Jan 2018

  • "Door lock was difficult to lock from inside, dud torch and mattress needs replacing."

    Generally a very good time was had. Convenient excellent café next door. Only 5 minutes from ferry. Good place to start exploring the island

    Reviewed by Michael4.2Sep 2017

  • "Very painless experience."

    Thank you

    Reviewed by Ronald4.8Aug 2017

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • All ground floor
  • Open plan studio accommodation with double bed, kitchen, dining area and sitting area
  • Shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Note: Steps lead down to the door from the parking area.
  • Electric convector heaters
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, TV with Freeview and WIFI
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen inc. in rent
  • Off road parking for 1 car
  • Communal use of private shingle beach and slipway at the front of the boathouse
  • One well-behaved dog welcome at £10 per week
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Licensed cafe next door
  • Shop and pub 10 mins walk
  • Note: Property is very close to the beach; children and pets should be supervised
  • Note: Swimming is discouraged outside the apartment due to the strong tide and currents
  • Note: This apartment does not offer a sea view.

The property

This delightful ground floor Yarmouth self-catering apartment provides cosy studio accommodation, with an open plan living area including sleeping area, and a separate shower room.

This Yarmouth self-catering apartment is only seconds from the beach, coastal path, and a private slipway, and is perfect for a romantic retreat.

Note: This apartment can be booked with Refs. 4220, 4221, 905105, 905106, 905107 and 906577, together they sleep 20.

Boathouse Apartments

Yarmouth 0.75 miles. Constructed on the site of a former boathouse, these seven Yarmouth self-catering apartments are in an enviable, idyllic location, situated on the shingle beach and coastal path, close to Fort Victoria Country Park, just to the west of the attractive harbour town of Yarmouth on the Isle of Wight. Renovated to a good standard, many of these Yarmouth self-catering apartments have sensational sea views, plus all have access to a private slipway for launching your own boat. Adjacent to these Yarmouth self-catering apartments is a licensed cafe, where you can sit out and eat alfresco. Yarmouth has lovely narrow streets to explore, and many shops and inns to enjoy, plus a visit to Henry VIII’s castle is essential. The highlights of the rest of the island, such as Tennyson Down, the beaches at Colwell and Totland bays and the towns of Newport and Ryde are all easily accessible. A great Yarmouth self-catering base looking out to an ever-changing seascape.

View on map

About the location

YARMOUTH

Newport 12 miles; Ryde 18 miles.

The attractive seaside town of Yarmouth is the oldest town on the Isle of Wight, and its busy harbour is a haven for all kinds of watercraft, with the terminal used for regular mainland ferry crossings to Lymington. Yarmouth’s narrow streets are home to an attractive array of shops and inns, whilst a visit to Henry VIII’s castle is not to be missed. There's great cycling (and a cycle hire shop) and walking to be had along the coastal path. Why not take an energetic stroll at the nearby Tennyson Down and Headon Warren. Sandhard beach is 15 minutes' walk away, with Colwell Bay with its sandy beach and amenities for the family 7 minutes away by car. Yarmouth's pier and sailing club jetty is another good spot for crabbing. Four miles away is Compton Bay, famous for dinosaur remains; head there at low tide and see if you can find the two enormous three-toed feet. West Wight is an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and Yarmouth is an ideal base from which to explore this wonderful island.

View more holiday cottages in Yarmouth

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas