Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

2 customers booked Derwentwater Apartment in the last 24 hours

1 of 23 View Image Gallery
  • Derwentwater  Apartment - Lake District - 972606 - photo 1
close

Derwentwater Apartment

(Ref. 972606)

Keswick, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map

4.5

Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 3 Bathrooms

  • Pets No

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • apartment (27)
  • great (15)
  • location (13)
  • stay (13)
  • only (11)
  • bed (11)

40 Customer Reviews

  • "Fantastic rental."

    Everything was in great condition. Location to everything was perfect. Thanks so much.

    Reviewed by Jason5.0Jun 2024

  • "Once again a great stay inn Derwentwater apartment, having 3 En-suits a must."

    This time with family for my husbands extra special Birthday celebrations.

    Reviewed by Donna4.7May 2024

  • "Generally, the apartment was great."

    . thank goodness the lift was working as I had just come out of hospital with a broken pelvis. We had a couple of suggestions, which we aired in the comments book... 1. The parking space was not wide enough, as we had a Transit van parked in number 12 for most of the week. 2. The central heating controls were not explained.. the bedrooms got very cold in the evening/night and the electric fire only worked on the 2kW setting (very noisy). 3. There were no blankets etc. that we could use at night, when it got really cold in the bedrooms. 4. On one of the beds, the fitted sheet was not deep enough, and kept coming off. Apart from those things, we had a wonderful stay and would definitely come back again.

    Reviewed by Brian4.7Mar 2024

  • "This was mine and my wife’s 12th time staying in Apartment 11 (8 times with friends and 4times with family)."

    We love the location and all of the facilities within the apartment. There were a couple of maintenance issues i.e. the ball valve in the medium sized rooms toilet was broken and there were a couple of lightbulbs that needed replacing, but this did not distract from us having a wonderful time. We are already planning on returning in November for the Keswick Christmas Light switch on.

    Reviewed by Robert4.7Mar 2024

  • "On arrival at apartment we discovered it had not been cleaned."

    Beds we not made and there was a great load of dirty laundry through the apartment. Having called back into the office it was discovered that the cleaner had missed the clean. Due to not being able to check in until after 4pm and it being a Saturday it didn’t leave the staff with many options. After call with head office I was offered unacceptable alternative accommodation. I was then promised a call on the next day to confirm the attendance of a cleaner. This call didn’t happen and the apartment was not cleaned on day 2 (Sunday). After attending the office again on Monday I was assured that a cleaner would attend that day. This did happen but sadly it had already spoilt our experience.

    Reviewed by Rachel1.9Feb 2024

  • "Approx a week before our stay we were told the lift was out of action, we were asked if it would cause problems."

    We replied yes as we have elderly parents with mobility issues and we were depending on the lift we informed the letting agent if the lift was not working we required alternative accommodation. Later on we received another email stating the lift had been repaired so we continued with our booking. We were horrified that the lift did not work correctly.. someone had to go downstairs to send the lift up to level 2 So when we were around they could they could get out of the building. If we weren't around they were prisoners in the apartment My parents are very independent and live in there own home We went to the letting agents 3 times to report this issue Nothing was done about it It completely spoiled our holiday

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to read of the inconvenience caused by the lift not working effectively. We were informed by the building management company that the lift was in working order prior to your arrival and do apologise that this was incorrect. I can see that we contacted the building management company and they had engineers inspect the lift and confirm it was working during your stay. Lakelovers Owner Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Georgina1.9Dec 2023

  • "The only thing was that the lift was not working, we did know a couple of days before we arrived so we were prepared."

    The property is lovely and has everything you need for a great time.

    Reviewed by Helen4.7Nov 2023

  • "Very comfortable property."

    Well appointed. Everything we needed was provided. Fridge door needs attention and plug in wash hand basin in second bedroom doesn’t fit properly. Other people who have stayed at the property have mentioned the lift being out of order and the main front door lock to the building is faulty. This is still the case. We had no problem using the stairs during our stay but getting our luggage to and from the apartment was difficult without the lift. Walking round to the back door of the building not a problem either but just inconvenient. The apartment is ideal for access to the town and we didn’t use our car all week. The parking space provided is tight but we managed to find a parking space on the road nearby which allowed us to unload and load our car on arrival and departure much easier. The only complaint is having to leave the property by 09.00. This doesn’t give time for us to pack and leave the property clean and tidy. We are requested to strip all beds and place the bedding in laundry bags provided but to do this takes time. Departure by 10.00 would be a better option

    Reviewed by Peter3.4Nov 2023

  • "Unfortunately the lift is out of order."

    I realise this happens in properties but I would have liked to know before I came because I have difficulty walking up the stairs and there is 43 of them. I might have cancelled.My husband and I are 80 years old. He had to carry all our bags up on Saturday and he was exhausted. When we got into the flat there was nothing to make coffee in, one dishwasher tablet ,in a little dish looking so sad. The fire lights need replacing and a new bulb in the hall. Kitchen bin with no bin liners. These minor things were sorted out quickly by the Keswick office. A new cafetière etc . Not the fire. The 4 keys we were given do NOT open the front door therefore you have to walk round the block to the back with an extra flight of stairs. The next thing in this sorry saga was an electrical fault with the TV in the bedroom. It tripped the sockets . That was sorted but my husband had to climb up to the fuse box in the corner of the room. May I suggest a new smart TV. Most places we book I can sign into my Amazon tv and Netflix. The car parking place is so small we both had to use the passenger door. Sorry not luxurious accommodation.

    Thank you for your comments and we are really sorry to hear of the issues you experienced during your stay. The specific part required for the lift repair had been promised on several occasions and hadn't arrived, meaning the lift was out of action for much longer than we expected, however this is now working again and was repaired on the Monday following your stay. The maintenance company are working on the issues with the front door which appear to be irregular but I understand are annoying and hope to have this resolved soon. Thank you again for staying and for your suggestions. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Monica2.8Sep 2023

  • "Lovely apartment, clean, comfortable and spacious there were however a few issues that it resolved would make it perfect."

    The lift was not working for the entire week we didn’t mind using the stairs day to day but it was a bit a struggle with our luggage on arrival and departure days. The TV remote didn’t work nor did the dvd player, we could not get any hot water from the shower in the smallest bedroom and the door to the master bedroom does not close. There was a continual beeping coming from the built in storage cupboard in the master bedroom which was very annoying at night we think it was probably a spare smoke alarm buried somewhere amongst the spare linen which unfortunately we were unable to locate. The apartment is fairly well equipped however a large saucepan and casserole dish would be useful when cooking for six peopl, finally a spare bin bag would have been useful despite recycling we filled the one provided and had to buy out own.

    Reviewed by Alison4.1Sep 2023

  • "Great location close to the town centre and Lake."

    Lots of cutlery, crockery, and ok selection of cookware. Nice that hand soap, dishwashing equipment and toilet roll provided at all appropriate locations. Luckily we visited during the beautifully sunny but unusually hot week in September 2023. Unluckily this meant the apartment was stiflingly hot because one cannot open any of the windows bar one more than a very few inches. The bottom sashes are limited by security/safety bolts, understood, but the top sashes are fixed shut. Made for a very uncomfortable stay especially as there is nowhere to sit outside. The front bedroom is subject to a lot of street noise (traffic and noisy passers by returning from an evening out - take ear plugs). Showers in the two other bathrooms have poor/random temperature control. The lift door was not working properly, very quick to open/close and slamming shut with real force. And while the car parking space for this apartment is easy enough to reverse into (if you drive in forward a wall prevents the driver’s door opening) you then can’t get to the boot!

    Reviewed by Graham3.4Sep 2023

  • "Derwentwater Apartment is superb."

    First impression when we arrived was "this is brilliant" .It has everything you need for a great stay and the large master bedroom is lovely with a good bed. The other two bedrooms are good too both with good walk in showers en suite.Living area with kitchen very comfortable with good quality easy to use appliances. Only very minor issue is that while it is easy to exit through the front door onto the street , the lock is tricky so not easy to get back in the same way. However, just use the back door from the car park - not a problem. Location is excellent. 5 mins walk into centre of Keswick . Would have no hesitation in recommending and will return next time we are holiday in The Lakes.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We will pass on your comments regarding the door. We hope to see you again soon. The owner relations team - Lakes Cottage Holidays Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Jun 2023

  • "This is the 11th time we have stayed in Apartment 11 and we wouldn’t stay anywhere else in Keswick."

    The Apartment has all the facilities you need and is always spotlessly clean. The fact that you are no more than a 5 minute walk into the town centre means it is perfectly positioned. We already plan and are looking forward to returning in November for the Christmas Lights switch on.

    Reviewed by Robert5.0Mar 2023

  • "When we arrived there was a problem with the heating and wi-fi."

    We called the Lakes Cottage Holidays rep at 9 Station Street in Keswick and also the main Sykes office reps. The local rep came to the flat within an hour and attempted to solve the problem for us. She was unable to do so but said she would sort it through the main office and the owner. True to her word, the next morning a heating engineer turned up and sorted it all out immediately , and there was a follow up call by the local rep and the main office rep to check that we were happy. The apartment was totally perfect for the week and we would be very happy to book it again. I also had contact with the owner via e mail and he was also tremendously helpful. Loads of useful information, books, dvd’s etc. Full marks for the apartment and full marks for Lakes Cottage Holiday and Sykes staff.

    Reviewed by Barbara5.0Jan 2023

  • "We arrived in the dark with a rainstorm going on, I collected the key and we parked in the designated slot."

    I went in and as the door was on a spring I had to try and keep it open to unload the rest of the bags, trying to not get soaking wet. I went to the room and attempted to unlock it, it had a Mortis and a yale lock! after 10 minutes I gave up and returned to the Lakes shop to ask for assistance, where I had the reply " well the cleaner doesn't have a problem " She wouldn't if she unlocked it week after week! They gave me another key and I returned trying to remain calm in the rain. I found that the Mortis lock key had to be put in at an angle, so they were correct it is easy when you know how. Inside it was a lovely flat, very comfortable and clean. It was only when we looked around you could see it had a few usage issues and it seemed to us that it had not been checked correctly. As 3 lights had bulbs out and where someone had made a quick fix on the main bathroom sink plug, which was rather poorly replaced with a rubber ill-fitting dirty bung. Also in the second en suite bathroom, the shower head was loose on the wall. Then we attempted to open a window in the lounge area, oh dear both sash window catches were broken leaving the windows unable to lock. As the flat is on the third floor, no problem, but it is attention to detail that was sorely missing. It did not stop us from having a good week, but when you spend the amount of money on a holiday property that I had, you do expect a bit better. I would have thought that it would be advisable to have a sort of crib sheet on the kitchen table letting new customers the placements and usage of the remote controls, heater controls, etc

    Reviewed by Keith4.4Nov 2022

  • "Property is lovely, however it would be helpful if we did not have to leave the property at 9am on our departure, even 10am would be much better, it doesn’t give us much time to tidy up, pack and have breakfast."

    We do visit this property every year so maybe this can be amended next year. Thank you

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Nov 2022

  • "This was our third visit to the apartment."

    It is comfortable and well equipped. It is in a great location convenient for all of Keswick’s amenities.

    Reviewed by Wendy4.7Sep 2022

  • "The apartment is well maintained, is only a short walk form the centre of Keswick and has it's own parking space, which is a real bonus."

    The property is roomy and well equipped, although the dishwasher is beginning to show its age. That aside it's a really great place to stay and highly recommended -we are looking forward to returning again soon.

    Reviewed by Roger5.0Sep 2022

  • "An extra set of keys would have been useful."

    Also it was so very hot inside the property and a fan would have made it more bearable.

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Aug 2022

  • "A very functional and comfortable apartment."

    Nicely decorated. Spacious. A quiet and convenient location.

    Reviewed by Bill5.0May 2022

  • "* Lovely layout."

    *Very much appreciated carspace. *Excellent for shops, Quality and quantity. *No issues with retrieving key after hours. *An extra set of keys would have been appreciated. * Special offer code for theatre was an old one (checked out with theatre) so couldn't use. * Couldn't find any laundry bags for bedding, towels etc at end of stay. * More advice on waste disposal would be helpful - found the general waste bins, but couldn't find any for recycled items. *Damp smell in second bedroom/bathroom. Overall, an enjoyable stay.

    Reviewed by Susan4.4Apr 2022

  • "Very satisfied with the cottage, comfortable, clean, well furnished and central to town."

    The only issue was the lack of keys, the apartment is for six people but there was only two sets of keys, this restricted our movements outside.

    Reviewed by David4.7Mar 2022

  • "Lovely property in a good location."

    Well equipped and very clean. Would definitely recommend to friends and family. Thank you for a great week away.

    Reviewed by Gordon5.0Jan 2022

  • "Shower compartment in smallest room was NOT clean."

    Various light bulbs were inoperative. This was rectified immediately upon complaint. The washing machine did not work and at the end of our stay had still not been replaced , although we were granted £50 compensation, but still made things a little awkward with our party of 7 people.

    Reviewed by Christine3.8Sep 2021

  • "The main fixtures and fittings were acceptably clean although the carpets obviously needed an end-of-season deep clean."

    Unfortunately the cutlery, cooking equipment and China needed washing before use. Also the T-towels had an offensive odour.

    Reviewed by Stephanie4.1Sep 2021

  • "We were a little disappointed in the damp smell from the kitchen floor, where the dishwasher had leaked and the wooden floor was raised and lifted."

    Also, didn’t think this was safe as the floor was loose. With regard to the extra cleaning involved to reassure us during these COVID times, I was not expecting to see a dirty cup mark on my bed side cabinet.

    Reviewed by Richard4.4Oct 2020

  • "There was only one problem but with the building not the apartment."

    We did report this using the telephone no. you provide. The lights in the small hall exiting the lift flickered the whole time and had the effect of leaving you in pitch black once stepping out of the lift. True I could use the stairs but having been walking most days and being over 80, I preferred the lift. My solution was for my 10 yr old granddaughter to come with me and she made a dash for the connecting door!!!

    Reviewed by Brenda5.0Aug 2020

  • "Standard of the apartment was very good with comfortable beds, there was nothing lacking and to top it all it was so close to all the shops,restaurants and bars but more importantly the lakes and mountains."

    Would highly recommend and would rebook in a instant.

    Reviewed by Vince5.0Jan 2020

  • "Fantastic apartment, great location."

    Reviewed by Kevin5.0Nov 2019

  • "The only negative is parking we had 3 cars and only one space and two days we had a very difficult time parking ,but we know that parking is limited but there were other parking spaces empty all week ,but not complaining at all we would still return."

    Reviewed by Derek5.0Oct 2019

  • "Fabulous apartment in a great central location."

    We really enjoyed our stay and will be back.

    Reviewed by David5.0Sep 2019

  • "Easy to book, fab location in the middle of Keswick with first class facilities."

    Reviewed by Angela4.4Aug 2019

  • "The apartment is very conveniently located for all of Keswick's amenities."

    It benefits from three double en suite bedrooms and is very comfortable.

    Reviewed by Wendy3.8May 2019

  • "Second stay at this apartment and both visits have been excellent."

    Only issue was with the heating - previous visit was during summer so no problem then. Struggled to get balance right and was either cool or very warm. System did not appear to heat apartment very quickly. No real issue and would stay again without question.

    Reviewed by Paul4.7Mar 2019

  • "Excellent holiday, very nice apartment."

    Clean and comfortable, well equipped for 6 of us, couldn't think of anything lacking. Excellent WiFi, instant hot water and heating.

    Reviewed by Maureen5.0Feb 2019

  • "Ideally situated apartment to walk into Keswick with many lovely independent shops and cafes."

    Walking distance to the lake. The apartment is well equipped and very comfortable. We had a lovely stay. Be aware that designated parking at the rear of the building is very tight (for apartment 11) I drive a Kuga and once parked there was only room to get out of the car at the drivers side as there is a little wall at the other side.

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Nov 2018

  • "Really lovely apartment in a great location."

    Reviewed by Patricia4.4Nov 2018

  • "No, everything about our accommodation at the Derwentwater apartment was excellent and I would certainly recommend the property to others."

    Reviewed by Roger5.0Sep 2018

  • "The apartment was spacious, in a great location, beautifully furnished and spotless."

    We couldn't fault it.

    Reviewed by Jacqueline5.0May 2018

  • "This was a fantastic apartment in a great location we will deffinatly use again."

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Apr 2018

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.

Summary

  • Second floor apartment with lift
  • 3 bedrooms: 1 x super king-size double with en-suite bathroom with bathtub and overhead shower, hand basin, WC and heated towel rail; 1 x king size double with en-suite shower room with basin, WC and heated towel rail; 1 x double with en-suite shower room with basin, WC and heated towel rail
  • Open plan living and dining area with kitchen
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher and washer/dryer
  • Gas central heating with wall mounted electric fire
  • TV, DVD, CD, books and maps
  • Wi-Fi
  • Gas and electricity included
  • Bed linen provided
  • Towels are provided
  • Sorry no cot and highchair available
  • Off-road parking for 1 car
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • All amenities 5 mins walk
  • Note: This property has lift access

The property

A modern and luxurious apartment in one of the most sought after destinations in the Lake District, the Derwentwater Apartment in Keswick is a fabulous holiday home for family or friends who want to explore the Lakes in style.

Converted from the Chaucer House Hotel and located just a step away from the town centre, these handsome apartments are decorated in a contemporary style with every modern comfort.

Whatever time of year you want to visit Lakeland, the Derwentwater Apartment will assure you of a warm welcome.

This second floor apartment has been beautifully designed and finished, to provide light and airy accommodation with stunning views.

The spacious open plan living area has a lounge area with comfortable leather sofas, a feature wall-mounted electric fire and flatscreen TV.

There's also a selection of books and maps of the area to help you plan your walking and cycling.

The kitchen and dining area is stylish and fully equipped and this large room has beautiful, original picture windows that make the most of the views.

The three bedrooms are all doubles, with the master having a super king-size bed and en-suite bathroom with bathtub and overhead shower, hand basin, WC and heated towel rail.

The other doubles both have an en-suite shower room with basin, WC and heated towel rail plus incredible views over magnificent Skiddaw.

Take the lift to the ground floor and everything that Keswick has to offer is on the doorstep, so you're sure to find a favourite bar or cafe to relax in after a busy day's sightseeing.

The Derwentwater Apartment also has off-road parking for one car.

Keswick is one of the most popular destinations in the Lake District, and no wonder.

With its busy shopping streets, galleries, museums and swimming pool virtually on your doorstep you'll never need to use your car.

The Theatre by the Lake and the shores of stunning Derwentwater are just a short walk from the apartment.

Although there's plenty to see and explore on foot in the town and countryside beyond Keswick, a scenic drive over the Kirkstone Pass will bring you to Ambleside and Lake Windermere with its famous steamers and wide range of family attractions including Go Ape and the Aquarium of the Lakes.

Ideally located for a fun break in lovely Lakeland at any time of year, the Derwentwater Apartment is the perfect luxury holiday destination for friends and family.

View on map

About the location

KESWICK

Bassenthwaite 7 miles, Ullswater 16.6 miles; Cockermouth 13 miles.

The popular town of Keswick is the holiday centre of the North of the Lake District and has plenty to offer the visitor at any time of year. The town boasts numerous shops and restaurants to suit all tastes, as well as offering miniature golf, excellent parks, the famous Theatre by the Lake, a charming cinema, the Pencil Museum, a climbing wall, fishing and great mountain biking opportunities, whilst the beautiful lake of Derwentwater at the head of the stunning Borrowdale Valley is only a few minutes walk from the town centre. Nearby, between Braithwaite and Buttermere is the beautiful Newlands Valley, while picturesque Bassenthwaite Lake is well worth a visit. From a gentle countryside ramble to a challenging hike up Skiddaw or the famous Catbells, there really is something for everyone. Visit Castlerigg Stone Circle, the Jennings Brewery and Mirehouse, a grand house and gardens on the shores of the Bassenthwaite Lake, or take a fabulous boat trip around Derwentwater. With plenty of attractions for the kids, lovely parks and the nearby Lake District Wildlife Park this is a great Lakeland destination whatever the time of year.

View more holiday cottages in Keswick

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas