Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 15 View Image Gallery
  • Fairfell - Lake District - 1016813 - photo 1
close

Fairfell

(Ref. 1016813)

Keswick, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map

4.5

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • clean (16)
  • comfortable (15)
  • lovely (14)
  • property (13)
  • town (12)
  • stay (11)

33 Customer Reviews

  • "Had a lovely few days here."

    Cold and frosty at night but bright and sunny all day. Always warm and cosy. Everything we needed. Perfect location, minutes from town. Some old food left in freezer compartment a bit smelly but easily disposed of. Next door gentleman very friendly. Many thanks to owner. Rob & Tina

    Many thanks for your feedback. Sorry about the freezer food - thats shouldn't happen so will ask Sykes to make sure that is checked more thoroughly. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will welcome you back next time you are in the Lakes. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robert4.4Nov 2023

  • "Really nice stay, weather was a bit of a damp squib, but we still enjoyed the stay."

    Could do with some hooks on bathroom door, also there is mould in the large bedroom in the corner near the window, I suspect it is down to the extension next door.

    Many thanks for your feedback - it's always appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your stay at Fairfell despite the weather. Hope to welcome you back when you are next in the Lakes. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Roy4.4Nov 2023

  • "The property was fine but the main reason ruining our stay at Fairfell was the vile neighbour who half an hour after our arrival threatening to smash our car up and said he would make our stay terrible as he wanted to use our drive to turn his car into his own drive."

    He said he was sick of F/ing tourists staying there.Had to leave on the Tuesday.

    Reviewed by Carl3.8Oct 2023

  • "The property is well furnished and is great for accessing the town."

    It was well equipped. The furnishings are lovely and the style is modern. However, the porch has large damp patches with a strong smell. We have had to wash everything we had with us due to the smell throughout the house. The house itself smells musty. I was particularly concerned about the dampness as I have asthma and our daughter is just 2 years old. The kitchen was cleaned to a reasonable standard but when looking behind or under things there was often mildew or dust. The hoover had not been emptied. There were cobwebs throughout the property. Much of the paintwork needs updating. The corners and skirting boards were dirty. In the smaller bedroom, the door does not shut without moving the bed. Cleaning materials were kept in one of the under bed drawers - this is unsafe for children. Luckily our toddler did not find this. The radiator leaked and marked the bed covers. The white grout on the bathroom floor was brown, yellow and dirty. The shower wall was covered in mildew and the fittings needed a good clean. The toilet was leaking at the base. In the main bedroom, there was a damp patch in the top corner and mould on the carpet below. We let Sykes know about this and they offered to send a cleaner but, having arrived and realised we had no other option (we have a toddler so not all properties are ideal for us) I cleaned a lot of it myself to make it liveable. I have taken photos of all of this so that we can follow this up. Having stayed in a four tick rated Sykes property in the summer, we were shocked at the difference in standards, particularly cleaning.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you weren't satisfied with the level of cleanliness at Fairfell, this is something that we take seriously and we will pass all your comments on to the relevant departments. Unfortunately as you said that you did not wish for a cleaner to go back, we didn't have opportunity to investigate nor resolve the issues. We would like to reassure you that the problems you had have been investigated and action taken where necessary. The owner relations team - Lakelovers Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sara1.9Oct 2023

  • "Fair fell is a lovely bungalow in a peaceful area , nice and clean."

    15 minute walk into the town of Keswick. We did a lot of walking but lots of rain, but the bungalow is very comfy so we chilled.

    Reviewed by Elaine5.0Sep 2023

  • "A year has past since we last stayed ."

    We are happy with the property and it’s great location and only suggest the following points as improvements. The bathroom door sticks and is noisy esp if anyone goes to the loo during the night when it’s quiet . It’s enough to wake everyone else up ! The shower door still leaks from our last visit . As we also had a baby with us and did some washing, a few more pegs would be handy.

    Thank you for your feedback, it is much appreciated and we will look into the issues you have raised. We hope to welcome you back to Fairfell when you next visit the Lakes. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mark3.8Aug 2023

  • "Very comfortable bungalow in a quite area near all amenities."

    Bungalow very clean and well decorated a few maintenance issues like cracked tiles and sink both in bathroom.bath needs a handrail.

    Reviewed by Elizabeth4.7Jun 2023

  • "We had a lovely stay, the bungalow was just a short walk from the town centre, parks and lake."

    Many thanks for your feedback and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back to Fairfell when you are back in the Lakes. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Adele4.4May 2023

  • "We returned to Fairfell for a second time as we loved it so much last year."

    The location is fantastic and the bungalow is well equipped, comfortable and fairly well maintained. The only thing it really could do with is an extractor fan in the bathroom as it never seems to dry out in there and towels stay damp if you don’t take them out and put them on the clothes airer or radiators each day. A few times we put the heating on so we could use the heated towel rail but it was too warm for that really and seemed a waste of energy. The rest of it is lovely though and we would happily stay there again.

    Thank you for your feedback and it's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to welcome you back when you are next in the Lakes. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lisa4.4May 2023

  • "We had a very wet week but it was a cosy property and very well appointed."

    The bed was particularly comfortable. The porch was very useful to take off boots and outdoor gear. It was well situated and we appreciated being able to walk into the town very easily and it wasn't much further to walk to the lake. We were a couple staying and so there was plenty of room.

    Great to hear you had a good stay despite the weather and thank you for your lovely feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairfell when you are next in the Lakes. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jennifer5.0Nov 2022

  • "A lovely stay in a clean well equipped and comfortable bungalow."

    Location is perfect for walking or getting into Keswick. No issues with parking on the driveway . All in all we had a perfect holiday.....thank you owner and Sykes..

    Thank you for your lovely feedback. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stayed and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fairfell when you are next in the Lakes. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Marilyn5.0Sep 2022

  • "We enjoyed our stay very much."

    Parking on the drive is a problem - we noticed that other residents who rented this property wrote that they parked on the road, though this too has its problems. A dishwasher would have been great, but we realise space is limited. The lounge/dining area was smaller than we had expected, but everything was fine. Thanks for having us! For Sykes, we were frustrated by the number of marketing emails you kept sending us - we would recommend you reduce these considerably. We didn't want to unsubscribe because we feared missing something about our booking.

    Thank you for your feedback. Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay but sorry that you found the parking a little difficult. We have highlighted this in Fairfell’s information which details that parking can be tight for some cars on the driveway, but the road immediately outside the property is generally available to park on. Thank you for choosing Fairfell and we hope to welcome you back when you are next in the Lakes. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jonathan4.1Jul 2022

  • "Lovely clean smartly furnished house."

    Quiet location but only 10 minutes walk to restaurants and lake . A view of Skidaw from the garden is a bonus.

    So glad you enjoyed your stay at Fairfell. Thank you for the lovely feedback and hope to welcome you back next time you are in the Lakes. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jenny5.0Jul 2022

  • "We found the property ideal for our needs."

    The location was just right, quiet with lovely views with just a 10 minute walk into town.

    So glad you found Fairfell ideal for you. It is in a great location for sure. Thank you for your lovely feedback and hopefully you will stay again next time you are in the Lakes. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anne5.0Jun 2022

  • "EXCELLENT"

    Thanks so much for your “Excellent” feedback. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay at Fairfell and hope to welcome you back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0May 2022

  • "Great cottage."

    Very clean and comfortable. Ten minute walk to centre. Second bedroom very small but otherwise very nice. Loved the porch with lots of rooms for coats and boots.

    Thanks for your lovely feedback. Great to hear you enjoyed your time at Fairfell and hope to welcome you back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Beverley4.4May 2022

  • "Perfect place for a lakes holiday with a toddler."

    Great location for walking into/around Keswick and for short day trips out. Fairfell was very clean, comfortable and quiet (which was a surprise being so close to Keswick!) There was a lot provided with the property, but it would have been helpful to have a few more kitchen essentials, e.g salt and pepper, oil and kitchen roll.

    Thank you for your positive and helpful feedback on Fairfell. Really pleased you and your toddler enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the Lakes. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Apr 2022

  • "Fairfell is a lovely, comfortable bungalow in a quiet setting within a few minutes walk of the centre of Keswick."

    It had everything we needed to enjoy our stay in The Lake District.

    Thank you for your great feedback. It’s lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fairfell next time you are in the Lakes. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jill5.0Mar 2022

  • "Clean and bright property, comfortable bed, situated a 10 minute walk from town centre, would stay again"

    Thanks for your great feedback. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tim4.7Mar 2022

  • "Really great bungalow, clean comfortable and warm with everything we needed for our stay."

    Close enough to walk to town centre in 10 mins and plenty of walks to do from the door. Garden will also be lovely to sit in when wether is better. Genuinely can't fault it.

    Thank you ever so much for your fantastic feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Fairfell and hope to welcome you back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Natalie5.0Feb 2022

  • "Lovely stay in a lovely cottage, walking distance to the centre of Keswick so very convenient."

    Well equipped, clean and nicely decorated and made for an easy stay for our family of 4. Fantastic views from the good sized garden, weather was poor for our stay but in better weather this is a real asset. Drive is cosy but our C-max fitted fine.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Fairfell and hope to welcome you back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Claire5.0Feb 2022

  • "We have previously stayed in this bungalow and it is perfect but I’m not sure I understand the extensive cleaning, there were grease marks on the side of the extractor fan and one of your previous guests kindly left a pair of socks under the sofa!"

    Obviously the carpet under the sofa doesn’t get vacuumed?The vacuum cleaner looks like it hasn’t been emptied for weeks. I also emailed your office twice asking for a 10 am checkout, I know that you say you can’t accommodate this but every other company we have stayed with in Keswick has asked the cleaner if this is ok as we normally do the park run at 9am , if it wasn’t possible that wouldn’t have been a problem but to not even answer my emails is bad customer service especially as I received a text at 03.41 and also an email telling us how to checkout?.

    Thank you for your feedback. I am really pleased to hear that you find Fairfell perfect but sorry to hear of the issues you experienced with the cleaning and check out time. I have spoken to Sykes/Lakes Cottage Holidays and understand that they are liaising with you directly regarding this. I do hope you will consider staying at Fairfell again next time you are up in the Lakes. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Angela4.4Jan 2022

  • "Lovely bungalow, very clean, warm, comfortable beds, high quality wardrobes, drawers etc."

    Very quiet location, close to town & great for walks from the doorstep. Everything you need.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Fairfell and hope to welcome you back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Janice5.0Nov 2021

  • "Like other holidaymeker we were also unable to park in the drive ."

    This made it quite difficult for my disabled husbans as he had to negotiate the steps. This needs to be included i the property discription.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you found the parking at Fairfell difficult. We have updated the property description as you suggested to outline that the driveway is more suited to smaller / medium sized vehicles as it can be a tight fit for larger vehicles. However, as you found, it is generally possible to park directly outside the house on-street as Fairfell is in a quiet residential area. We trust you found the rest of your stay at Fairfell enjoyable. Kind regards. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sheila4.1Oct 2021

  • "Very nice bungalow in a fantastic location."

    Quiet but also close to the centre of town. Bungalow fairly well equipped and well presented. Quite small for 4 people (we have 2 grown up children) but perfect adequate. Service from the agent excellent - there was a leak in the boiler that was fixed the same day. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would be happy to stay at Fairfell again.

    Reviewed by Iain4.4Aug 2021

  • "Our car wouldn't fit down the drive at the bottom as requested, so we had to park on the road."

    This was fine, but I feel it should be made clear on the info that larger cars may not fit. We specifically chose this property as it had parking.

    Reviewed by Alison4.7Aug 2021

  • "This property is advertised as sleeping four, with the twin beds in the configuration shown in the website photos this would be correct, however, in this configuration the bedroom door cannot be closed, the beds have to be pushed together and the bedside table moved to enable the door to close, this is not an acceptable situation."

    The garden furniture is child size and would be better if replaced with adult size seats and table. The lawn has not been cut in weeks and the climbing plant next to the garage is blocking the path.

    Firstly, thank you for your feedback. We are really sorry to hear that you found the configuration of the twin room unacceptable; when the room is set up for guests, the beds should be configured as per the web photos but with the bed moved a small distance away from the wall - this allows for the door to shut. With regards to the garden furniture, it is standard adult sized furniture, and this is the first time that we have received this feedback. I am sorry that it did not meet your expectations. The lawn has now been cut and it had not been maintained to the standards expected. Arrangements are being put in place to prevent this in the future Once again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to feedback and help us make improvements for future guests. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kenneth3.4Jun 2021

  • "Very clean comfortable bungalow."

    Once inside Mam with walk was free to move around. Seating fantastic. Near to Keswick Main Street. Will definitely consider it for another holiday.

    Reviewed by Jacqueline5.0May 2021

  • "Loved the location and felt we had everything we needed."

    Liked that we could stream Netflix, Amazon etc. Only criticism is that the toaster did not work.

    Reviewed by Louise4.4Apr 2021

  • "The property was extremely clean."

    Beds very comfortable. Lovely furnishings. Walking distance to town. Lovely views.

    Reviewed by Gail4.4Sep 2020

  • "Property was clean and comfortable in a nice area with lovely views."

    Only negatives tv and phone line disappear when weather is bad, and we feel we should of been told about the renovations at the adjoining property.

    Reviewed by Janette4.1Sep 2020

  • "Booking process and communication very good."

    Accommodation and location also very good. Clean, very comfortable and in excellent decorative order. Would have liked a summer duvet provided, or sheet and blanket. 13 tog duvet is too warm in August.

    Reviewed by Peter4.4Aug 2020

  • "Very comfortable, warm, clean and cosy accommodation."

    Very handy for the town and walking on the fells

    Reviewed by Mike5.0Feb 2020

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.

Summary

  • All-ground floor
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x king size, 1 x small twin room ideal for families
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Living/dining room with electric wood burning-effect stove
  • Kitchen
  • Electric oven and gas hob, microwave, fridge with ice box and washing machine
  • Gas central heating
  • Smart TV, DVD player and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Travel cot available
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road private parking for small/medium size cars
  • On-street parking for large vehicles is normally available directly in front of the property
  • Garage available for storage
  • Enclosed lawned garden and gravelled area with furniture
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Sorry no pets
  • Shop 0.1 miles and pub 0.1 miles
  • Check in at 3pm and Check out at 10am

The property

Situated in a peaceful, elevated position with super views and only a few minutes walk into the centre of Keswick, is this delightful bungalow.

Fairfell is an idyllic base for friends or families seeking to explore the delights of the town, as well as the surrounding countryside of the Lake District National Park.

Be welcomed into an open-plan lounge diner perfect for relaxation after a long day sightseeing put your feet up and unwind in front of the TV or settle down at the dining table for a delicious evening meal whilst planning the day ahead with your loved ones.

Walk through to the homely kitchen, equipped with a range of contemporary appliances.

As the evening draws to a close, retire to either the king size or twin bedroom.

A family bathroom provides a bath so you can enjoy a warm soak at the end of a tiring day.

To the rear of the property is an enclosed garden area, complete with seating perfect to enjoy the view of Latrigg with your morning coffee whilst watching the sun rise.

A stone's throw away from the property you will find a superb selection of pubs and restaurants to suit all tastes, as well as many independent shops full of souvenirs for your loved ones back home.

Keswick is also home to a delightful museum and art gallery dedicated to showcasing the history, landscape and culture of the region.

If it's some adventure you're seeking, nearby Derwentwater is the perfect place for getting involved you could enjoy a family trip on the launch or take out a rowing boat.

Whilst the high peaks of Scafell Pike and Helvellyn will challenge even the sportiest types there are also low level walking routes for the less energetic.

Fairfell is an excellent cottage for a family break to the heart of the Lake District.

View on map

About the location

KESWICK

Bassenthwaite 7 miles, Ullswater 16.6 miles; Cockermouth 13 miles.

The popular town of Keswick is the holiday centre of the North of the Lake District and has plenty to offer the visitor at any time of year. The town boasts numerous shops and restaurants to suit all tastes, as well as offering miniature golf, excellent parks, the famous Theatre by the Lake, a charming cinema, the Pencil Museum, a climbing wall, fishing and great mountain biking opportunities, whilst the beautiful lake of Derwentwater at the head of the stunning Borrowdale Valley is only a few minutes walk from the town centre. Nearby, between Braithwaite and Buttermere is the beautiful Newlands Valley, while picturesque Bassenthwaite Lake is well worth a visit. From a gentle countryside ramble to a challenging hike up Skiddaw or the famous Catbells, there really is something for everyone. Visit Castlerigg Stone Circle, the Jennings Brewery and Mirehouse, a grand house and gardens on the shores of the Bassenthwaite Lake, or take a fabulous boat trip around Derwentwater. With plenty of attractions for the kids, lovely parks and the nearby Lake District Wildlife Park this is a great Lakeland destination whatever the time of year.

View more holiday cottages in Keswick

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas