Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

4 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 35 View Image Gallery
  • Number Twenty - Lake District - 1041868 - photo 1

Number Twenty

(Ref. 1041868)

Keswick, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 10 Guests

  • 5 Bedrooms

  • 5 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Electric vehicle charging
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • house (20)
  • parking (18)
  • location (17)
  • no (15)
  • great (15)
  • bed (14)

29 Customer Reviews

  • "Perfect base for a large group to enjoy everything the Lake District has to offer."

    The house is well equipped and having ensuite bathroom to all bedrooms was fab. Outside area to sit is perfect and enclosed so dogs safe and off road parking fitted all five cars. Wi-Fi clunky but we weren't in long enough to worry about that much. Had a great time and were very lucky with the weather!

    Reviewed by Louisa5.0May 2024

  • "The positives: A good sized house with space that suited our group."

    The parking spaces were a definite advantage. It was good to be able to sit together around the dining table. The doors between the two sitting rooms allowed us to make two rooms or one. The location was good being close to the town and within easy walking distance of our chosen walks in the hills. The negatives: the mattresses on the beds were uncomfortable and need toppers or replacing. Some of the quilts/duvets were stained and passed their best. The heating system needs maintenance; the towel radiator in the en-suite to the first floor front bedroom only heated one third up from the bottom; the radiators on the second floor did not heat at all. The shower tray drains need cleaning as they did not drain well, drained very slowly. Sink plug in the front first floor bedroom did not fit, it was useless.The tumble dryer did not rotate/turn. The rugs, particularly in the sitting rooms were trip hazards with badly curled corners and should be removed or replaced. Although we did not use the electric car charging point it was a plus and the cost of use seemed included in the rental charge. In comparison the cost of providing a few extra 'J' clothes and bin liners for the guests appeared to be outside the rent charge! As always holiday homes do not include a hand towel in the kitchen. For a property which sleeps up to 10 people it would have been good to have at least 4 tea towels. Kitchen knives were blunt. There were several chipped plates and glasses. Garden furniture was not as shown in the on-line details.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the location. We do find that mattresses are down to personal preference. We do ensure that they are kept as well we can. The rugs are provided to enhance the rooms, and are not placed where they can cause a hazard but we will ask our Housekeeping Team to ensure that they are looked at. We take all comments on board, and will ask our Property Services Team to look at the heating, towel rails and sink plug. Thank you The Lakelovers Owner Relations Team. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gregory3.4May 2024

  • "We loved the house and the excellent location and parking."

    Everything was comfortable, showers were good, nice big kitchen table for group meals, loads of crockery, glassware, cutlery & utensils. Plenty of games, videos, etc, for rainy days! The only niggle for us was that a fence panel had fallen down and had been like that for at least a month without repair - our dog tried to climb over it and injured her leg and it would also be dangerous if you have small children (nails sticking out, etc).

    Reviewed by Karin4.4Mar 2024

  • "Unfortunately the back fence had blown down, not a great problem, house clean, ..."

    Unfortunately the back fence had blown down, not a great problem, house clean, warm and in a great location to the amenities

    Reviewed by Alison5.0Feb 2024

  • "Great property for two families."

    Brilliant all the bedrooms being ensuite. Kitchen diner is great too. Location and parking couldn't be better - will definitely return.

    Reviewed by Dawn5.0Jan 2024

  • "The towel rails in the first and second floor bedroom bathrooms to the front of the house were not working, there was mould on the bathroom wall of the first floor middle bedroom, other than these issues the house was comfortable and great for a large party."

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to read of the issues you had at the property. Unfortunately, as we were not made aware of these during your stay we were unable to come and rectify to make your stay more comfortable. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay. Lakelovers Owner Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Clifford3.1Jan 2024

  • "Nothing but good things to say: spacious, clean, comfortable, all what is needed is provided."

    And with Keswich being soooo busy, the house is located in a quiet street. Onsite parking is a bonus. As it is usually the case with holiday homes, the wifi sucked. Somehow holiday property owners don't seem to bother too much about getting a decent wifi. Unfortunately, one of us forget a jacket in her room. We contacted the maintenance manager by email but got no reply whatsoever. Not good.

    Reviewed by JURGEN3.8Sep 2023

  • "The house is perfect for us and we have been staying here every year since 2018."

    Great location and the 4 parking spaces are priceless in the busy streets of Keswick. Already booked for next year!

    Reviewed by Derek5.0Jun 2023

  • "Very happy overall a lovely clean property."

    My only comments are that the back door sticks (we had a couple of 80 year olds with us and they struggled to get it open). The large front bedroom on the first floor the shower does not drain away very quickly and gets to the point of overflowing and finally the knob for the right hand fan oven is not accurate and is was hard to turn the oven off - only way was to turn off at the mains. But that is being picky. We were very happy and comfortable in the house - we stayed there before about 5 years ago.

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Jun 2023

  • "A wonderful house in a great location with parking as a bonus."

    A fantastic family holiday week .

    Reviewed by Nick5.0Apr 2023

  • "We were initially delighted with the property and found it to be extremely suitable for all the family."

    However the Kingsize bedroom’s cleanliness, including the en-suite could definitely have been better. The house next door was being refurbished and the workers were there all week and on more than one occasion it was extremely noisy. A skip was situated on the road outside the property. We couldn’t sit in the kitchen area. We were not made aware of this work prior to arriving. This did put a bit of a damper on our week. I have contacted Sykes Cottages about this but together with the owners it apparently is not something we need to be compensated for. In general the house was lovely, in a great location and had a car charging point as well as parking.

    Reviewed by Jessie4.4Apr 2023

  • "Lovely, lovely house & ideal for what we needed it for."

    Ideal, Beautiful spacey townhouse with everything we needed. The central location & bonus of private car parking was fabulous. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Reviewed by Wendy5.0Mar 2023

  • "The house was fantastic enough room for eight people that went would recommend it if anybody wants to visit Keswick."

    Great location couple of minutes walking to the town centre. If you’ve got a dog to park cross the road is fantastic

    Reviewed by Mark4.1Jan 2023

  • "The house is great for getting a group of friends together, being so close to the centre of Keswick is really good."

    The bathroom of the room on the first floor directly in front of you at the top of the stairs doesn't have a towel rail, which would be very useful. The skylight in the kitchen had cobwebs hanging down

    Thank you for your kind feedback. We will pass your comments on. We hope to welcome you back again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Clifford3.1Jan 2023

  • "Great property for location and parking."

    Everything was as expected from property description.Well equipped kitchen and cleanliness was good.Great to have all en-suite rooms for our three families.Only one grumble,no Christmas tree for our grandson which didn’t go down well!,Also a bath mat for bath/shower in back bedroom,very slippy bath surface,but no worries we used alternative shower.Overall very pleased and good value for price!

    Reviewed by Clare4.7Dec 2022

  • "Very good property in an excellent location."

    Perfect for 10 people. Well equipped with additional extras. Good to have off road parking for 4 cars and a secure garden for the children and dog. Would benefit from clear signs to state “private parking for number 20”. Small repairs needed i.e. some drawer fronts loose, bottom shelf in dining room fridge door is broken and lounge curtain attachments loose. Overall a perfect location for a great family holiday. Thanks.

    Reviewed by Janet4.1Oct 2022

  • "Good place to stay; amazing location."

    Dedicated off-street parking a major advantage. Would happily return,

    Reviewed by Colin4.4Sep 2022

  • "Lovely, well kept house."

    Very well equipped, I had a problem finding the high chair but this was sorted out by the highly confessional team running the property.

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Sep 2022

  • "5 of us shared this lovely house for the week end enjoyed pretty much everything about it."

    To have a house with its own parking in a quiet area of central Keswick made it special from arrival! Very clean and well equipped, lovely bedrooms and bathrooms - everyone liked the showers. Easy walk to the shops, pubs and lake. The only slight grumble we had was the pretty slow broadband (usually about 10Mb) which made using the smart tv a bit of a struggle at times, but we coped!

    Reviewed by Keith4.7Sep 2022

  • "A perfect house for a family holiday."

    Thanks. It is really well appointed so cooking was made easy. Just a few tiny issues that might be useful to know. The hinge on the small standalone fridge is loose and needs tightening - we had to keep pushing it in to ensure a seal. The kitchen tap is loose at its base. One of the cafetieres has a crack in it so not useable. All very minor things. Thanks again.

    Reviewed by Alison5.0Jul 2022

  • "Overall, this a good property that we would probably use again."

    Great location, reasonably spacious with the added benefit of off street parking.

    Reviewed by Andrew3.8Jun 2022

  • "Firstly let me say that I shall never book any property through Lakelovers again if I can possibly avoid it!"

    They make promises which they don’t deliver on and have no idea of how to communicate with their customers on issues that need their attention. The property itself was very well located and well presented although the skip which was in the parking area and which we were told would be removed “at the beginning of the week” was in fact there all week! Having five en-suite bedrooms was excellent and the accommodation generally for our family gathering of 10 was good. Attention to detail however was lacking and I suspect that the owner probably doesn’t live nearby, leaving these things to the hapless Lakelovers. For example, and as directed by the home manual, we separated all our rubbish only to find that No 20 has no recycling bins. The neighbour confirmed this and asked us not to fill up her bins! There were no bin liners provided or any dishwasher tablets and it would have been nice to have some kindling and a few logs left to get started with one of the log burners. One of the blind pulleys in the upstairs bedroom was broken and there were other small items that if the owner visited or, better still, stayed for a day or two occasionally I’m sure they would pick up. The TV’s could do with an upgrade to the smart variety as well. The garden/courtyard was unkempt and uncared for too. Although as a family we had a great time, at just short of £3000 for the week it didn’t, I’m afraid, represent good value.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review further to your stay with us at Number Twenty; although your comments were disappointing to read. We do apologise that the skip hadn't been removed as we had advised, unfortunately this was out of our hands as the skip belonged to a company responsible themselves for picking this up. The property is managed by an external property management company so your comments have been shared with them to ensure that going forward the expected standards are met for all holiday makers. We would expect guests to supply their own firewood as the property is centrally heated and the wood burners are not the only source of heating. Two members of our team have been to the property since your stay to check everything over and ensure the correct information guests needs is in the property and this is now the case here. We do feel that your comment about the property not being good value for money is unfair as this holiday worked out at £42.80 per person per night and this is exceptional value as there were 10 people staying on this occasion and there are very few places you can stay in Keswick at this price per night. The owner has taken your feedback on board and is going to install a smart TV to the property to ensure the comfort of guests during future stays. Thank you again for your comments and we do hope to welcome you to stay with us again in the future. Kind Regards, The Owners Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Drew3.4Apr 2022

  • "Lovely big property perfect for our family within walking distance of all the shops restaurants in Keswick."

    It was helpful having all the bedrooms en-suite and a large kitchen table to seat us all. We will return!

    Thank you for your lovely feedback after your stay at Number Twenty. We're ever so pleased you enjoyed this lovely large property and its capacity to give everyone a great holiday! Kind Regards, The Owners Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Joanne5.0Feb 2022

  • "We were quite disturbed by the standard of cleanliness of the house, especially in the current climate, this has slipped compared to our previous stays in this property, ( I can provide photos if you wish)."

    Also one of our party left a coat behind and despite several calls has not had the issue resolved as yet. Also the lack of the same style of drinking glasses for a 10 person house was a pain

    Thank you for your constructive comments further to your stay at Number Twenty. I'm ever so sorry that the standard of cleanliness was not as Lakelovers or our guests would expect. We have made the property management company aware of this and the cleaner will be informed. I do apologise that your lost property took some time to get to you; there is sometimes a delay with this as there are ever so many lost property reports to get through, in light of this though I am glad to see that this got returned to its rightful owner. We hope to see you again! Thanks, The Lakelovers Owners Team. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Clifford3.1Jan 2022

  • "Fantastic property which is well equipped and great location."

    Perfect for families or adult groups to share.

    Reviewed by Samantha5.0Nov 2021

  • "However good location, good parking and the facilities/ comfort of the house was very good."

    Sash windows need looking at as unable to open/keep them open on the very hot days . Towel rail in large bedroom at the front wasn’t working and the shower tray drained very slowly. Garden could do with some maintenance.

    Thank you for taking the time to feedback after your recent stay. We are sorry to hear the sash windows would not open during your stay. These have since been looked at and rectified. The towel rail has also been looked at and seems to be working as normal now and drain blocker has been used to overcome the slow drainage in the shower. Sorry these issues arose during your stay but we would have been happy to attend if you had made us aware during your stay. We hope you otherwise had a wonderful week at Number Twenty. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan4.4Sep 2021

  • "The radiators did not come on when boosted so towels did not dry from day to day."

    Hot water from showers were not independent of each other. Shower drain in main bedroom was restricted from day 1.

    Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay at Number Twenty. Sorry that the towel rail was not working during your stay. Since the feedback comments this has been fixed, we wish you had raised this during your stay so we could have had them working for your stay. The Shower drain has also had some drain unblocker added which has resolved the situation. We hope you otherwise had a great stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew4.4Aug 2021

  • "The house itself is lovely and the facilities are perfect."

    It is in a very convenient location in the town centre and the parking alongside is really useful. We have been there many times before and have always had a lovely holiday. However we had a few small issues which needed attention in the house and which will cause problems for the owners in the future and we tried unsuccessfully to find the new Lakelovers office in Keswick to let you know about them and then tried to telephone and email you but received no reply. The future price rise is prohibitive.

    Thank you for taking the time to feedback after your stay at Number Twenty in Keswick. We are glad to hear you are repeat bookers and enjoy returning. We have recently moved into an office on Lake Road which is with our sister brand. We have a notice in our Lakelovers office on Station Street explaining this but sorry if you missed this. With the price rises this is across the board with the company but the owner is looking at more fixed prices to accommodate more to repeat bookers like yourself. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Jun 2021

  • "Lovely house in perfect location within walking distance into town."

    Off street parking for several cars is fantastic benefit. Lovely secure courtyard, great if you are staying with dogs or young children. The house is very well equipped with everything you need for comfortable stay. There were few things which we felt uneasy about as paying guests: instructions to clean all surfaces of the kitchen, clean the bathrooms, strip down the beds, take away rubbish if the bins are full. As the owners of the 5 star holiday cottage in Derbyshire, we felt that was a lot of expectation from us. We would never put such instructions on our guests as we like them to feel relaxed and not burdened with domestic duties on their leave. Also, as we were staying in double room on the top floor, the toilet tank needs some attention. The water kept running continuously. I had to lift the lid and adjust the floater(not sure of the technical name) to stop the water running. The power shower wasn't working properly (very low water pressure), we ended up using the bathroom in the bedroom next to us. We also felt that having one key for the house which is designed to accommodate 10 people was not sufficient. TV could do with an upgrade to smart one as there were no facilities to pick up the programs on iPlayer.

    Reviewed by Milda4.4Jun 2021

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.


  • Sleeps 10 and across three floors: 1 Superking bedroom & daybed with ensuite, 1 Double bedroom with ensuite, 1 Double bedroom & additional daybed with ensuite, 2 Twin Bedrooms both with ensuite, Large living space with 2 logburners
  • Large kitchen diner, Large patio, First floor toilet
  • The large kitchen diner has character pews around a large farmhouse table and opens onto the large patio with outdoor dining furniture and gated access to the parking area (for 4 cars)
  • The contemporary fitted kitchen with range cooker and all amenities
  • The first floor has 3 bedrooms; one double bedroom, one twin, and one super-king with extra single bed
  • All are ensuite
  • The 2nd floor has two further bedrooms: large double bedroom with extra day bed and a twin – again both with their own ensuite
  • Ample Parking
  • Garden with garden furniture
  • Electric Car Charging Point.

The property

A traditional large Victorian Lakeland slate terraced house walking distance from Keswick town centre and all the pubs, bars and restaurants.

Situated in the residential area, just a few minutes' walk from the centre of Keswick, Number Twenty is tastefully refurbished with ample parking for four cars, five en-suite bedrooms, two log burning stoves and a large patio.

It offers comfortable and classic accommodation for a large family or friends getting together for a catch up.

You’ll arrive into the small front garden and then into a large Victorian Hallway complete with original tiled floor, period features, coat hooks and boot rack.

The two reception rooms now form one large dual aspect open plan lounge but can still be divided in order to make two smaller lounges each with its own TV and log burning stove.

Perhaps separate adults and kids spaces ?!

Please note we cannot accept bookings for Hen or Stag parties.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Bassenthwaite 7 miles, Ullswater 16.6 miles; Cockermouth 13 miles.

The popular town of Keswick is the holiday centre of the North of the Lake District and has plenty to offer the visitor at any time of year. The town boasts numerous shops and restaurants to suit all tastes, as well as offering miniature golf, excellent parks, the famous Theatre by the Lake, a charming cinema, the Pencil Museum, a climbing wall, fishing and great mountain biking opportunities, whilst the beautiful lake of Derwentwater at the head of the stunning Borrowdale Valley is only a few minutes walk from the town centre. Nearby, between Braithwaite and Buttermere is the beautiful Newlands Valley, while picturesque Bassenthwaite Lake is well worth a visit. From a gentle countryside ramble to a challenging hike up Skiddaw or the famous Catbells, there really is something for everyone. Visit Castlerigg Stone Circle, the Jennings Brewery and Mirehouse, a grand house and gardens on the shores of the Bassenthwaite Lake, or take a fabulous boat trip around Derwentwater. With plenty of attractions for the kids, lovely parks and the nearby Lake District Wildlife Park this is a great Lakeland destination whatever the time of year.

View more holiday cottages in Keswick

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Last minute