Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 26 View Image Gallery
  • Beech View - Lake District - 1041256 - photo 1
close

Beech View

(Ref. 1041256)

Ambleside, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map

4.8

Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 5 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No

Features

  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lovely (15)
  • property (15)
  • stay (14)
  • great (13)
  • well (13)
  • location (11)

35 Customer Reviews

  • "Great location, very well equipped, peaceful and comfortable."

    Thank you. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you return. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Mar 2024

  • "This was our second stay at Beech view, such a wonderful experience, everything you could need for a comfortable stay, a home from home."

    A Great place in Ambleside to base yourself for a trip to the Lake District, lovely quiet spot with the sound of the river to lull you to a peaceful sleep on a night, with Amazing walks from the door,,there's no need to drive, Thanks ks for letting us share your holiday home. Terry.

    Thanks for your review. We're delighted you enjoy your time at Beech View and hope to see you return for a third stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Terry5.0Feb 2024

  • "A lovely comfortable, spotlessly clean property a real home from home."

    Everything thing you could possibly need has been thought of. Can't wait to return.

    Thanks for taking time to review your stay. We're delighted to read your comments and hope to see you return. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Keith5.0Jan 2024

  • "We have been coming to the lakes for 40 years, beech view is the best place we have been to thankyou"

    Thanks Paul We're so pleased you enjoyed your time at Beech View - we hope to see you return. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Dec 2023

  • "Fantastic property, well appointed and presented and in a great quiet location but just 5 minutes walk away from the middle of Ambleside."

    Have stayed in 5 Lakelovers properties in Ambleside and this is definitely in the top 2! Would have no problem staying here again. One slight grumble but not related to the property; Lakelovers now being incorporated into Sykes appear to have lost that very personal touch and knowledge on the phone lines that the Lakelovers staff had..... But that is progress and efficiency I suppose.

    Thanks for your great review of our property. We're delighted to hear it's one of your favourites in Ambleside and hope to see you return. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kevin5.0Oct 2023

  • "This is an amazing property that we are booking again for next year."

    Everything was well thought out especially those with a young family. We loved making family memories around the dining room table playing games…we especially enjoyed a game of The Lakes Monopoly! The whole place was spotless and loved the extra touches like using local Bath House products (my favourite products!) My children were obsessed with the garden and rolling down the hill but were well aware about what was at the bottom! It was so nice to hear them play and have fun while we sat out on the decking watching them. The fact the owner popped along on day of arrival to check everything was ok was also a nice touch. I really don’t want to share how good this property is because I don’t want everyone booking it :-) Thanks for a great stay!

    Thanks for your fantastic review. We're so pleased you and your family enjoyed your week at Beech View and look forward to you returning next year. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Clare5.0Aug 2023

  • "A lovely property with decking and rattan furniture to the rear overlooking a very large grassed garden and due to the weather being so good, we spent a lot of time relaxing there."

    The bedrooms were very nice and comfortable, bathroom upstairs was well laid out and shower room downstairs was good. The large living room has very comfortable furniture. The large kitchen had all the equipment required for our stay and with the American style fridge freezer that supplied ice and water was ideal. On entering the house at the rear was a large room which was an ideal place to take off outdoor footwear and hang jackets, all in all a lovely property and would love to return again in the near future

    Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you return. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Terry5.0Jun 2023

  • "This cottage was certainly thought about inside to an extent."

    It was quality how it had been done. All the white towels of every size for each person, the bathrooms the upstairs bedroom looking out to the trees with chairs, it was lovely. The downstairs bedroom window looks out onto the drive which is shared with the house next door. To get to the downstairs bathroom from the downstairs bedroom you have to go by the front door, which is half glass, which I didn't care for too much. I can understand there is no one usually there to see in, but we did see an older man walking by and coming from the garden way, I don't know who he was, so you do have to think if you like privacy there could possibly be someone who might see you if you weren't quite dressed and nipping to the toilet etc from that bedroom. Maybe it needs a net or blind that could be pulled if people like privacy. You are also not allowed to use the front door, no key available, we did ask, its because of the cream carpets. Maybe it's just us but I would have liked the choice of if we use the front door could we possibly take our shoes off at the door. (basically as we have bad knees it would have been easier than go down steps outside to go around the back.) But that's just our honest opinion and feedback, everyone to their own. This cottage is very convenient for Ambleside village, you can walk there if you wanted and this garden backs onto the road to the waterfall. PLEASE NOTE. When arriving you come to a road that says PRIVATE ROAD. You do need to go down this private road.

    Hi Mandy, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay. I'm sorry to hear you didn't appreciate having to use the back door to enter the house because of the four steps outside and your bad knees. The back/rear door leads straight into a utility/cloak room with a hard floor to allows guests to remove any dirty footwear before entering the carpeted area. There are also coat hooks for your outdoor coats and plenty of space for wet umbrellas. There are also four steps inside the house from the lounge to the toilet and downstairs bedroom and further stairs to the upstairs bedrooms. The front door can be locked/unlocked from inside to allow you to access the bins or garden and in case of an emergency. I'm also sorry to hear about the 'older man' coming from the garden - the garden is for the private use of the guests staying at Beech View so I can only assume he was lost or may have been a guest from the next door property which is also a holiday let. I'm really pleased you enjoyed the many other things about the inside of the house and the quality of the products we provide. Thanks for your feedback and I hope this helps explain. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mandy3.8Jun 2023

  • "I think some of mattress could do with an update to something more comfortable but other than that we had a great stay"

    Thanks for your feedback - I'm sorry the mattresses weren't to your liking but pleased you had a great stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jason4.4Jun 2023

  • "The property was excellent."

    Very convenient for shops, and the main sights in the Lake District. The property is furnished to a high standard, very clean, and comfortable. The garden is huge, so lots of space for kids to run around in. That said, do not leave them unnattended as there is a huge drop into the river. I would happily stay again. My only criticism is the wifi is very poor - I tend to research places to go via the internet, and there is no connection upstairs which is a very easy fix. Also, it would be good to have some cleaning materials handy. However, i would happily stay again.

    Thanks for taking the time to review your stay and feedback on the WiFi and cleaning products. We've checked the WiFi and it is working fine. The router is in the cupboard in the utility room and there is a WiFi access point in the lounge which provides the internet access upstairs. Ambleside is classed as rural and doesn't at the time of writing have the upgraded infrastructure for fast broadband. The house has the fastest broadband that is available. With regards to cleaning products, we don't supply these due to the fact we allow children and babies which could potentially be a health and safety issue. We hope this helps explain and hopefully see you return. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew4.7Apr 2023

  • "Our stay at Beach View was fine, a couple of things could have made it even better, there was no cleaning materials, i."

    E. spray for the kitchen worktops, no toilet gel, not enough cleaning cloths, basically not enough cleaning materials to keep everything as clean as we would like. The shower head needs a good clean, the water was not coming out as powerful as it possibly should due to a build up of mill scale or general grime.

    Thanks for your feedback about cleaning products and the downstairs shower head. We don't provide cleaning products due to the fact we allow children and babies at the property which could potentially lead to a health and safety issue. Ambleside has plenty of convenience stores if a guest wants to purchase these for themselves during the stay. We've also checked the shower head and found this to be working as it should - no build up of limescale or grim! It is not a power shower and the head is a rainfall type which is a more gentle flow of water. I hope this helps explain. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David3.4Apr 2023

  • "1st class excellent couldn't ask for more would recommend 100% will definitely book again next year"

    Thank you Property Owner

    Reviewed by Chris5.0Apr 2023

  • "We had the most wonderful stay at Beech view."

    The location and the house were absolutely perfect! The location was ideal to visit lots of the lovely nearby towns and villages and just a short walk to Ambleside itself was so handy. The house had everything we needed and the view from the upstairs bedrooms, lounge and kitchen were wonderful, so relaxing even on a rainy day. Thank you for a great stay, we’ll look forward to coming back!

    Thanks for your great review - we're delighted you enjoyed your time at Beech View and look forward to seeing you return. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lisa5.0Mar 2023

  • "A lovely and comfortable property in a peaceful but central location with everything you need to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable."

    The property was very clean and well equipped and it was thoughtful of the owner to check in and see that everything was as it should be. It is ideally located for exploring and we would definitely like to return

    Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gretchen5.0Mar 2023

  • "High standard of accommodation."

    Lovely and comfortable- second visit so felt like a home from home. Slept well. Warm inside even though very cold outside. Will come back again.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your return visit and hope to welcome you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Margaret5.0Mar 2023

  • "Beech View was a really lovely holiday cottage."

    It was clean, warm, comfortable and well-equipped. The boot room worked very well, with drying racks for both boots and clothes after wet walks. We thank the owners very much for sharing their fantastic cottage. We had a marvellous time and would happily come again.

    Thanks for your feedback - we're delighted you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the facilities. We look forward to seeing you return. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Jan 2023

  • "A lovely house in a great location."

    The owners have included many little ‘extras’ as well as thoughtful touches throughout to make any stay wonderful. We had a thoroughly enjoyable trip (despite the outside temperatures plummeting to -5 degrees!) and we would highly recommend Beech View So much to do straight from the door. We happily our car and didn’t move it again for 3 days :)

    Thanks for taking the time to review your stay - we're delighted you enjoyed your time here and hope to see you return. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Angela5.0Dec 2022

  • "We had a really lovely stay at Beech View, its a great location just a short walk to Ambleside."

    The house is homely, cosy and has everything you need. It has a great view. Plenty of space for parking. We didn't use the outside space as it was raining most of the week, but I would imagine in summer it would be great to sit outside and enjoy the scenery. Directions to the property could do with being better, we found Oaksfield but struggled to find the property, as you go through a private road, which we didn't realise at first (as it said private road) but once going through the private road, the property is easy to find on the right hand side.

    Really pleased you enjoyed your time at Beech View and hope to see you return. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lesley5.0Nov 2022

  • "A lovely house."

    Comfortable beds. Great kitchen. Living room comfortable and cosy with a gas fire if you needed it- but house warm. Loved the waterfall at the edge of the garden- just a bit too cool to sit out on balcony in October. My daughter liked the fancy bath! Good of the owner to pop over first evening, and fixed reception on main TV after wild evening weather. Good to have additional TV’s too. Want to return to this property!

    Really pleased you enjoyed your stay - we hope to see you return. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Margaret5.0Oct 2022

  • "What a lovely facility this property is, it is really well situated and with a lot of facilities."

    It’s just one of those houses that you would want to call your own, not like many lets we have stayed in previously. 10/10 well done

    Thanks so much for your comments. The house was our family home for over 20yrs so it's lovely to hear how much you enjoyed your time there - we hope to see you return in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Sep 2022

  • "We had a very enjoyable stay at Beech View."

    The property was well equipped and comfortable. Just far enough away from the hussle and bussle of the town with an enjoyable walk down through the lanes of old Ambleside to the shops and an invigorating walk back up!

    Thank you - so pleased you enjoyed your visit. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jeffrey4.7Aug 2022

  • "Great cottage, had a lovely time."

    A very small point. Unless I didn’t look hard enough, there are no Pyrex bowls in the house for making sauces, dressings etc. I said it was a small point otherwise all very good. Would definitely go back.

    Thanks for your feedback and perfect score - we'll definitely look into getting some pyrex bowls. We're delighted you enjoyed your week and hope too see you return. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Leslie5.0May 2022

  • "Fantastic property and location."

    Our second visit. Hope to be back again.

    Thanks Steve, so pleased to hear you enjoy your time at Beech View. We hope to see you return for your third visit. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Steve5.0Apr 2022

  • "Great cottage (as described) with a lot of nice touches, good communication about holiday, logistics etc."

    making everything very easy. Great holiday and we will definitely use lakelovers again.

    Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Beech View - we're delighted you enjoyed your time here and hope to see you return. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Mar 2022

  • "I suggest you remove en-suite bathroom from the details, as it's a seperate room which is actually better."

    The directions refer to cars parked on the left, whereas they are on the right. Probably why a previous occupant got lost. No idea how the shower head in the bath is activated. The shower head in the shower room is not so good. We all found the pillows too hard. Otherwise excellent. Would stay again!

    Reviewed by Ian4.1Dec 2021

  • "Beautiful cottage in a fabulous location."

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Nov 2021

  • "The property was as described and well located for Ambleside access."

    The garden was fab and the running stream was a welcome audio effect. The house was a little sterlile and cold in character but this didnt affect our stay. Two items for attention: Directions to find the property were incorrect and the signage from the street was impossible to see. We wasted an hour on that. Giving no spare towels was poor Apart from that all was well and it was good value

    Reviewed by Steve4.7Nov 2021

  • "Loved the place booked twice for next year."

    I have to work while on holiday and would love if we could get a faster internet connection. Thanks

    Reviewed by David5.0Oct 2021

  • "Excellent cottage, a bonus was plenty of board games to keep us entertained during the rainy times, that were unfortunately often."

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Sep 2021

  • "We booked a two week stay, and arrived to find one set of towels for the duration."

    Given the overall standard of the property, I'd expect clean towels to be provided for week two. Similar with bedclothes. As it happens , the owner lives locally and owns a B&B, so provided new towels.

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Jul 2021

  • "Location Quality Garden Comfort Cleanliness Attention to detail Equipment Level Trainset in the garage!"

    All fantastic

    Reviewed by Tony5.0Jul 2021

  • "Lovely cottage, had a great time, weather was great so spent a day sitting outside on nice decking."

    Would definitely recommend it, easy to walk into Ambleside so didn't need to find parking which can be difficult. Would definitely go back.

    Reviewed by Janet5.0Jun 2021

  • "Beech View was everything we could have hoped for, spacious, very clean, well equipped and the Christmas decorations made it feel even more homely."

    The position was excellent being only a very short walk into Ambleside with all its amenities. We would recommend this property without hesitation.

    P KnightDec 2019

  • "From beginning to end we had a fabulous holiday in this lovely property."

    The house was very spacious for our all adult party. Location perfect as your in the village in a minute yet when you're in the house the view makes you feel like you're more remote than you are. We loved the variety of games provided and the large jacuzzi bath was a great treat after a cold day on the hills. We would recommend this property as it has everything you could need while on holiday plus more. We can only imagine how nice and relaxing it would be in summer. Hope we can return in the future.

    Mrs EdwardsDec 2019

  • "The location was excellent!"

    Close to the city center but still located in a quiet area. Kitchen equipment was excellent. Best we have ever encountered.

    Peter AndriessenNov -0001

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x ground floor king-size double, separate shower room and WC, 1 x first floor king-size double, 1 x first floor double (suitable for one person)
  • Bathroom with spa bath, basin, WC, TV and under floor heating
  • Kitchen
  • Open plan living area with dining and sitting area with fireplace, TV and patio doors onto balcony
  • Utility room.
  • Gas central heating, gas log effect fire
  • Electric oven and hob, combination oven/microwave, fridge, freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher, TV, WiFi
  • Private parking for 4 cars
  • Patio with outdoor dining furniture
  • Large lawned garden
  • Sorry, no pets
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Secure mountain bike/canoe storage
  • Shop and pub are 10 minutes stroll
  • Note: Due to water at the bottom of the garden and the dangers it may present to adventurous children, parents are advised to remain vigilant.

The property

Nestled in a peaceful location just a short stroll from the heart of Ambleside.

Beech View offers relaxing accommodation for a family or group of friends. Enter through the rear door into a utility room where outdoor clothing can be stored.

Beyond the utility you’ll find a spacious kitchen with everything you need for your self catering holiday.

A welcoming open plan lounge / dining room offers comfortable social space around a cosy fireplace.

A few steps lead to a ground floor king size bedroom with the convenience of a shower room across the hall.

Head to the first floor for a spacious second king size bedroom and third smaller double bedroom, which is suitable for one person.

The bedrooms are complemented by a luxurious bathroom complete with spa bath and underfloor heating. From the living area, patio doors provide access onto a delightful balcony overlooking a pretty garden.

Relax in the garden listening to the peaceful sounds of the nearby Stock Ghyll Waterfall. Parking is available for 4 cars and guests can store mountain bikes in a lockable shed. Located a short stroll from Ambleside, Beech View offers the perfect base from which to enjoy all the village has to offer including vibrant shops, Lakeland pubs, fine eateries and two cinemas.

A leisurely stroll will bring you to the shores of Lake Windermere where Steamers and Launches cruise daily throughout the year with connections for the Lakeside Steam Railway, Aquarium of the Lakes and Lakeland Motor Museum.

For breathtaking views across Lake Windermere, head up Loughrigg Fell from the centre of Ambleside.

For great day trips, Rydal, Grasmere, Langdale and Windermere all in close proximity of Ambleside.

Beech View is the perfect getaway if you’re looking for quality accommodation in the heart of of the Lake District.

View on map

About the location

AMBLESIDE

Grasmere 4.4 miles; Windermere 4.7 miles; Keswick 16.7 miles.

Lying at the northern tip of Lake Windermere, England’s largest lake, Ambleside makes a superb base for touring the central Lakes, with Grasmere and the Langdale Valley just a short drive away. There is plenty to do here - cruises, boat trips and watersports on Lake Windermere itself and numerous shops, restaurants and pubs in the village to suit all tastes. On the lakeside at Waterhead, the parkland offers lovely views down the lake and a short stretch of beach, whilst a walk in the other direction, following Stock Ghyll through woodland, will bring you to the entrancing waterfall of Stock Ghyll Force. Along with the Lake and the great walking on offer, Ambleside is also famous for its annual rushbearing ceremony and the diminutive 17th century “Bridge House” - one of the most photographed buildings in the Lake District and now the National Trust Information Centre.

View more holiday cottages in Ambleside