Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Lake District 4 minutes ago

1 customer booked End Cottage in the last 24 hours

1 of 15 View Image Gallery
  • End Cottage - Lake District - 1042183 - photo 1

End Cottage

(Ref. 1042183)

Ambleside, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No


  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (21)
  • no (19)
  • all (14)
  • stay (12)
  • our (12)
  • ambleside (12)

30 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely comfortable cottage."

    Great base to explore (parked the car on Saturday and its not moved all week). Thanks for the welcome gift, will definitely stay here again.

    Julie & RayFeb 2024

  • "I cannot fault this place as its the perfect place to stay for a base to explore the Lakes."

    Lovely and comfortable, many thanks.

    Mr FeneleyJan 2024

  • "Nice cottage, parking was a bonus, but unloading information needs updating as the area stated to unload was signed strictly no parking at anytime."

    Thank you for your feedback. It is true that you cannot park outside the house, however, unloading/loading a vehicle does not come under the same constraints, unless there are specific signs up to state otherwise and the vehicle is never left unattended. We are glad that you enjoyed your time at the cottage. Lakelovers Owner Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kenneth4.1Dec 2023

  • "Hopefully you already have my feedback as I have sent it directly on the Lakelovers account."

    The property was really good, the only thing to mention is a constant tapping from the heating pipes - needs attention before something fails. The service from Lakelovers was appalling-mouldy sheets, not vacuumed (vacuum bag bursting full), bathroom growing mould on towel rail and mirror, neither of which have been cleaned for weeks - pictures already sent. We had to buy cleaning materials and spend several hours cleaning ourselves before we could comfortably stay. The debacle continued with our request to stay for one more night. This involved 5 phone calls, never once did we get a call back, even on the day of departure, I had to call to confirm we could stay. In the end it took Heather (many thanks Heather) 5 minutes to get hold of the owners and confirm that we could indeed stay, something that was obvious from the start as you told me it was free for that day. So, why had it previously taken 5 days and 5 phone calls, text messages and WhatsApp’s to get nowhere except to waste more of our holiday. We have booked at least once a year with Lakelovers for the last 6 years and part of the reason is that they have always been really good and on the ball. The last two years they have lost the plot. There are all these lovely processes in place with new case numbers issued each time a problem is raised, but the human intervention has gone. When I walked in to the office in Windermere there were 6 people sat behind screens but they couldn’t help, I had to call Sykes cottages myself, what is going on ? I really hope this is taken constructively and you get back on track. I would say in closing that although I couldn’t get any action to be taken, I believe because they have to follow such strict operational procedures and can’t take a decision, all the people I dealt with were extremely pleasant on the phone and this is no criticism of them. Thank you.

    Thank you for your feedback, our customer service team asked you to provide the photographs and we did not receive a response from yourself. When you came into the Windermere office, we offered housekeeping to go out to the property and rectify any issues and you declined our offer. Your main reason for coming into our office was to ask if you could add on another night, as we are owner relations we do not have access to that part of the system so we advised you we are unable to add extra nights onto bookings and offered to ring our customer service team in Chester who deal with such requests but again you declined the offer and left the office, sorry you felt we were unhelpful - The Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Marshall4.1Dec 2023

  • "Our 2nd visit to this very warm and comfortable cottage."

    Weather was so warm so no frosty mornings this tine, but beautiful scenery all around nevertheless. We enjoyed cinema & meal at Zefferelli's and fantastic pizza at Dodd's. Enjoyed the 'Coffin Route' to Grasmere, via a stop at Rydal Hall (where we saw a red squirrel and deer).

    Audrey And MartinNov 2023

  • "The cottage is perfect for a couple or a couple with a child and it’s really well located at only a stone’s throw from central Ambleside."

    Clean, comfortable and warm so we couldn’t have asked for more thank you.

    Reviewed by Ian5.0Oct 2023

  • "Our first week in the Lakes since the kids left home."

    Lovely to be able to get up some of the big tops again. The cottage suited us very well and we felt at home here. We hope to return!

    Pauline & AndyOct 2023

  • "We love the Lake District in Autumn and it was a beautiful as ever."

    First time to this lovely cottage and we loved it. Location and facilities are fabulous. We always feel Ambleside is an ideal location to get to all the walks we love. We will be back to this cottage.

    Emma & ChrisOct 2023

  • "The cottage and facilities were great and it provided a great base to explore the southern lakes."

    Two small grumbles, no spare loo paper and no kitchen paper and there was a prevailing mustiness even with windows open for ventilation.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. We take all comments on board. As the property is self catering, the toilet roll provided is meant as a starter. Thank you- The Lakelovers Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robert4.7Sep 2023

  • "Very comfortable and clean - handy for walking to all Ambleside amenities"

    Reviewed by Sue5.0Jul 2023

  • "The washing machine is dirty in the soap dispenser, the mattress under cover is badly stained, kitchen utensils were dirty."

    You could not open the bedroom windows fully in this very hot weather. There was a lot of noise from the main road.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear of the issues that you experienced with the cleanliness of the property, had we been made aware during your stay, we would have attended to help. We will ask our Housekeeping Team to ensure that our high standards continue to be met. Further to the comment regarding the road noise, the property is the heart of Ambleside, some road noise is to be expected. Thank you- The Lakelovers Owner Relations Team. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Terence3.4Jun 2023

  • "Great property - loved our stay been to Ambleside lots of times and will be coming back all being well."

    just a quick note for owners: 1. the key box on wall is set too high as could not quite reach it and see the numbers very well. 2. Light in bathroom above mirror did not work. 3. The full length glass door into kitchen was a bit confusing especially at dusk because nearly walked into it a few times as thought door was open. Maybe half and half would be better. 4. TV in lounge controls very confusing switched one off and kept coming back on etc. But other than that great time. David Brailey

    Thank you for your feedback. The owner will receive this and can review the suggestions you have made. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Lakelovers Owner Relations Expert Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Jun 2023

  • "On arrival my heart sank as the external photos makes the building appear better than it is and have cleverly avoided showing the drab uni accommodation next door , the main road outside and the view from the rear bedroom is as far away from romantic as you could possibly get ."

    On entering the property it didn’t get much better, it looked like it hadn’t been cleaned, there was a coffee pod on the floor downstairs next to the log basket which by the way had no logs in it, very generous, up stairs in the bedroom on the floor next to the bed was a receipt from a restaurant from the night before our stay. There was nothing welcoming about the place, even basics like washing up liquid, and while we are on the subject one of the two green and white cups was full of tea stains probably down to there being no basic cleaning products. On the evening I switched on the reading light which is full of dead flies, my wife got the green blanket of the sofa and food fell out of it, it was also covered in food stains so needs a good wash. The parking was very confusing would have been easier to simply say parking is in the car park of the uni accommodation instead of SLDC because when you read where you can actually park it suggests you park in kings street car park. There were plenty of signs telling you to Be careful of the gate gate latch as it may break if it’s not closed correctly. Be careful of the toilet as it sometimes becomes loose. Be careful of the shower as it can overflow quickly Be careful of how you lock the door as it may affect the flood defence of it. All things I don’t want to have to consider when I go away for a long weekend, just fix the issues. The only saving grace was the weather was good and we had come to do some walking and visit Ambleside and didn’t have to spend all day in the property listening to the traffic passing by. We love Ambleside and have stayed there many times in the past. Would we book this property again No. Would we use your company again, questionable and will be based on your response to this complaint. I have taken photos of the issues raised and can forward them to the owner as this is not acceptable when you advertise the property as a perfect romantic getaway, I did not leave a review in the guest book and have not yet left a review on line with pictures as wanted to see what the response will be from you as an agent and the owner. Yours disappointingly Mr S Twort.

    Reviewed by Shaun1.9Apr 2023

  • "We couldn't fault the cottage at all it was warm and cosy furnished to a high standard in a quiet location and only a 5 min walk into Ambleside."

    The shower was fabulous and the parking permit a welcome bonus. The owners welcome pack and notes were spot on. We have stayed in Ambleside many times but this was our first at End Cottage. We will certainly book again.

    We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the cottage. Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nicola5.0Mar 2023

  • "Delightful cottage with everything you could need."

    The light and airy interior and the clean lines of the decor eased us into our stay, and I must say that the bed and pillows were so comfortable. Everything was right, I cannot think of a negative thing to say about the property. We shall be back!

    Reviewed by Barbara5.0Sep 2022

  • "Beautiful cottage has all you need and very good location."

    Reviewed by Mairead5.0Aug 2022

  • "We had a very nice stay and the cottage was very comfortable and clean."

    Reviewed by Penny4.4Jul 2022

  • "Brilliant few days staying here."

    Really comfortable house with everything you might need in a top location. Very close to all the pubs and shops, roughly 1.3mile walk down to the lake and boats which can get you around. Great walks from the cottage too, especially to Grasmere. Car parking idea was great, but as it was a school holiday it was very busy and did struggle to get a space one of the days but in general wasn’t really a problem for us. Would love to stay again.

    Reviewed by Hannah5.0May 2022

  • "We enjoyed our stay at End Cottage and will hopefully return in the not too distant future."

    Reviewed by David4.4Jan 2022

  • "Had a great time at End Cottage."

    It was a perfect walking distance to the town of Ambleside and was within driving distance to all of the other local towns. The noise from the road was minor and did not hinder our stay. The cottage was so homely, clean and had great facilities. Thanks for a great stay.

    Reviewed by Claire5.0Nov 2021

  • "Great Location and Lovely Cottage"

    Reviewed by Jonathan5.0Nov 2021

  • "This is a beautiful cottage in an ideal location."

    2 minute walk into Ambleside centre, and easy to drive to lots of other beautiful walking points. Parking was in a car park just down the road, which was not an issue and the added benefit was that the parking permit could be used in other car parks around the Lake District. The cottage is on a busy road, but it wasn't too noisy at night and the main bedroom is at the back so you couldn't hear the traffic anyway. This wasn't a problem for us. Would recommend this cottage

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Oct 2021

  • "Fabulous cottage!"

    The weather wasn’t great, so this was a really comfortable and cosy base for us. We both felt really relaxed by the end of our stay. It is, as others mentioned, on a busy main road, but we didn’t really notice the noise and it didn’t bother us at all, with the lounge and bedroom being situated at the rear of the cottage. The parking permit was really useful - not only in Ambleside, but also in Windermere, Bowness and Grasmere! The cottage is near a great real ale pub, The Golden Rule, and only a 5 minute walk into the centre of Ambleside which has several eateries and shops. We don’t often return to the same cottage, but this ticked all the boxes (luxury towels, powerful shower, comfortable bed and sofas), and we are more than likely to return!

    Reviewed by Lynne4.7Oct 2021

  • "Couldn’t keep gate closed from the outside plus no lock/extremely busy road/unfortunately electricity works taking place outside of property which included temporary traffic lights and working as late as 10 o’clock at night/potty mouthed neighbour next door could be heard all hours of day and night!"

    Reviewed by Linda3.8Sep 2021

  • "Although me and partner didn’t mind the traffic noise l feel future guests ..."

    Although me and partner didn’t mind the traffic noise l feel future guests should be advised that it is situated on a busy main road

    Reviewed by R4.7Aug 2021

  • "Lovely cottage!"

    Reviewed by William5.0Aug 2021

  • "The cottage was ideally located to the main town of Ambleside."

    Cottage had everything you needed for a vacation stay. The only negative I would say is in relation to the parking and although a parking permit was provided, we sometimes found it difficult to find a parking space in the nearest car park to the cottage. We had an excellent stay and will be coming back.

    Reviewed by Stephen4.7Jul 2021

  • "The bus services from Ambleside make it the best Lake District holiday base for anyone not driving."

    We had a great time and the cottage is lovely - and the bus stop is just outside!

    Reviewed by Victor5.0Jun 2021

  • "One of the best cottages we have stayed in."

    Spotless, lovely decor , good quality furnishings and well equipped. Yes it’s on the main road but wasn’t an issue for us as bedroom at the back and we were out all day. We appreciated a very short, flat stroll into town after a day walking on the fells. Also very near our favourite pub, The Golden Rule. Highly recommend this cottage.

    Reviewed by Pauline5.0May 2021

  • "If we had been aware that the property frontage was right onto the main road out of Ambleside (Rydal road?"

    ) we would not have selected it. This was not exactly clear in how the location was described. The traffic noise impacted on our enjoyment especially sitting in the small yard at the back.

    Reviewed by Susan3.4Apr 2021

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.


  • 1 king size bedroom, dressing room and shower room with power shower
  • Kitchen
  • Sitting room
  • Dining area.
  • Gas central heating
  • Wood-burning stove (wood not provided)
  • Electric oven with induction hob, Nespresso coffee machine, microwave, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, washer/dryer, TVs, DVDs, CD, iPod docking station, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Parking permit for nearby car park
  • Secure bike storage
  • Small patio with furniture
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking.

The property

Not far from the centre of Ambleside, this adorable cottage is the ultimate romantic hideaway for couples looking to make the most of their time in the Lake District.

A traditional, stone-built cottage on the outside, super stylish and chic on the inside.

End Cottage is, quite simply, fabulous. Just down the road from the ‘Little Bridge House’, the cottage comes with a parking permit for the nearby car park.

Enter into the well-equipped kitchen, complete with Nespresso coffee machine and wine cooler and from where there is access to a small patio area, a real sun trap on a summer’s day.

Through to the cosiest of sitting rooms with its comfortable furnishings, modern décor and wood-burning stove.

No better place to snuggle down with your favourite person, kick off your shoes and enjoy your favourite film.

The staircase separates the sitting room from a charming dining area.

Up the stairs to the pretty bedroom, offering plenty of storage space, a separate dressing room and modern shower room with exhilarating power shower.

There is an outhouse which houses the washer/dryer and is also useful for storing bikes Situated at the northernmost point of Lake Windermere, Ambleside is a sophisticated village brimming with hidden treasures.

Interesting shops, lovely boutiques and fabulous restaurants and tea rooms lie around every corner.

Two fabulous cinemas, a famous pizzeria and jazz bar playing live music provide entertainment late into the evening.

Walkers and climbers come from miles around to visit the specialist outdoor shops, and the cosy Lakeland pubs serve the best of local ales.

Waterhead Pier is only a short walk away, with cruises departing regularly to ferry passengers across the lake to Bowness and Lakeside.

There is a huge choice of walks leaving from the doorstep, and the villages of Grasmere and Windermere are only a short drive away.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Grasmere 4.4 miles; Windermere 4.7 miles; Keswick 16.7 miles.

Lying at the northern tip of Lake Windermere, England’s largest lake, Ambleside makes a superb base for touring the central Lakes, with Grasmere and the Langdale Valley just a short drive away. There is plenty to do here - cruises, boat trips and watersports on Lake Windermere itself and numerous shops, restaurants and pubs in the village to suit all tastes. On the lakeside at Waterhead, the parkland offers lovely views down the lake and a short stretch of beach, whilst a walk in the other direction, following Stock Ghyll through woodland, will bring you to the entrancing waterfall of Stock Ghyll Force. Along with the Lake and the great walking on offer, Ambleside is also famous for its annual rushbearing ceremony and the diminutive 17th century “Bridge House” - one of the most photographed buildings in the Lake District and now the National Trust Information Centre.

View more holiday cottages in Ambleside

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas