Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Lake District 8 minutes ago

9 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 22 View Image Gallery
  • Fell Cottage - Lake District - 1042238 - photo 1

Fell Cottage

(Ref. 1042238)

Ambleside, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No


  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (16)
  • location (12)
  • parking (10)
  • lovely (10)
  • great (9)
  • ambleside (9)

27 Customer Reviews

  • "Comfortable and clean cottage."

    Great location and well equipped-except it would have been useful to have some tea towels and some basic cleaning materials beyond washing up liquid. Otherwise all good.

    Hello Helen. Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you found the cottage clean and comfortable and appreciated the great central location. Regarding the tea towels these should have been provided as a matter of course so apologies that you did not have these. We will also take on board your feedback about additional cleaning materials. Whilst we don't expect guests to clean the property, we agree it would be helpful if there were some kitchen and bathroom cleaner on hand should they be needed. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen3.8Nov 2023

  • "We stayed here for the second year running as we so enjoyed it last year."

    This year we noted how restrictive the lounge was with two large settees that did not give much flexibility to re-jig to make more cosy. We also feel the leather settee is needing replacement /upgrading as there were a few areas of wear in the leather. The pillows in the main bedroom were very basic and not comfortable.

    Thank you for your feedback and for returning to Fell Cottage for a second stay. We are sorry to hear that you found the pillows uncomfortable. We regularly check the pillows along with the bedding, replacing them on a frequent basis. We will take on board your feedback and check all of them again, replacing any that need to be replaced. The lounge contains two three seater leather sofas to accommodate up to six guests and are in the most optimal position. In the last month we have noticed that some of the leather has started to show wear and as a result we have recently ordered two new replacement sofas which will be in the property early next year. In the meantime we have ordered two throws to cover the sofas until the new ones arrive. We do hope you come back again in future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by A3.1Nov 2023

  • "Lovely, stay in a very appointed and clean cottage, right in the heart of Ambleside and two minutes walk from all the various shops (and bakeries for fresh bread in the morning)!"

    Parking right outside for one car (use the provided permit!) and the property also has a permit to park in the local council car parks (useful for us as we had two cars in our party).

    Hi Ian. Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you had a lovely stay and found the cottage clean and well appointed. We look forward to welcoming you back in future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ian5.0Aug 2023

  • "We had a lovely stay at Fell Cottage."

    Perfect location with fabulous views from the top front bedroom. The bedroom sizes were plenty big enough. Just a few things that were in need of improvement the downstairs toilet seat was not very steady so at times it felt you were going to fall causing my back to be jarred a few times. The flusher on the toilet was also weak could be on its last legs. When it came to cooking in the kitchen there wasnt any baking trays that were appropriate or clean for that matter the cutlery drawer looked like it had spilt herbs on all the spoons the pans werent clean and some had water in the bottom of them when in the drawer. This was quickly fixed with a wash of these items but you would expect clean cooking facilities and utensils on arrival. Despite these gripes we had a lovely stay.

    Hi Kathryn. Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you had a lovely stay at Fell cottage and have commented positively on the location, the views and the good sized bedrooms . We are sorry to hear about the issues you faced with the downstairs toilet and the cooking utensils. We pride ourselves on the facilities at Fell Cottage and the cleanliness so are sorry that on this occasion they have not met our usual high standards which we regularly see reflected in high customer feedback scores. From time to time things do need attention and we strive to rectify these at the earliest opportunity. The toilet and the flush have since been fixed and I am assured by the cleaner that the cutlery and cooking utensils are checked after every booking. Thank you again for your feedback which we always act on to provide the best possible experience for future guests. We also hope that your largely positive experience will encourage you to come back again in future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kathryn3.8Jul 2023

  • "Gorgeous home would definitely come back the village is also really nice"

    Thank you for your lovely review Jasmine. We are glad you had a good time and look forward to welcoming you again in future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jasmine4.7Jul 2023

  • "This was a really lovely cottage, modern and well maintained."

    The views from the top bedrooms are gorgeous and it's location is fantastic for the town.

    Thank you for your lovely review Alex. We are glad you had a good time and look forward to welcoming you again in future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alex5.0Jun 2023

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our short break in Fell Cottage."

    The location in the centre of Ambleside is ideal and the parking is very convenient. We would like to return in the future.

    Reviewed by Christine4.7Jun 2023

  • "We had a very comfortable stay and throughly enjoyed our holiday at Fell Cottage."

    Just a couple of niggles, mainly the inside handle of the main bathroom. It was very stiff and difficult to close/open and the fitting was loose. Also we couldn’t quite get the main bathroom shower to a comfortable temperature, not sure if it was us or the controls? But overall the cottage was perfect being so central in Ambleside and would have no hesitation in returning, thank you.

    Reviewed by Allan4.4Mar 2023

  • "A lovely cottage in terms of its comfort and convenience."

    Everything that you could want - including a cafetiere and a teapot !! Even a potato peeler. All the little things that make a difference when you are staying away from home. Might be a little cramped with 6 adults. Otherwise hard to find fault. Highly recommended.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Fell Cottage. We hope to welcome you back again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Jan 2023

  • "Beautiful ,central location good parking ."

    Idilic for us .well equipped with lovely decor and facilities .comfy bed too

    Thank you for the positive feedback Fiona. We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay at Fell Cottage. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Fiona5.0Oct 2022

  • "Great property."

    Ideal location and car parking permits were great to have. You mentioned that you had some ordinance survey maps of the area but we couldn’t find them.

    Reviewed by Terry5.0Oct 2022

  • "Great cottage in the heart of Ambleside."

    Well equipped kitchen and enormous main bathroom! We were worried about possible noise from being in the heart of town but were pleasantly surprised at how peaceful things were. We were 4 adults and the cottage was perfectly spacious, could be a squeeze with 6.

    Reviewed by Matthew5.0Aug 2022

  • "Great location in the center of Ambleside."

    Smart,clean and comfortable, would definitely re-book.

    Reviewed by Clive5.0Jul 2022

  • "A lovely cottage, tastefully decorated and in the ideal spot in the village for everything, Nice crisp linen and towels which is always appreciated as was the welcome Prosecco."

    One small point, the parking permits were good but we had a lot of difficulty on arrival finding somewhere nearby to unload. There was never a space in the street. An explanation of the situation, use of permits and best car park to use in the arrival instructions would be good. Overall a great property to spend time in Ambleside.

    Reviewed by Stewart5.0Jul 2022

  • "We had a great stay in this cottage."

    It was warm and clean and we were welcomed with a bottle of wine and some chocolate biscuits. The beds were really comfy and the bedrooms had lovely views out to the fells. It was a very quiet part of town despite being so central. Parking was easy as we had permits for the street and a nearby car park.

    Reviewed by Jenny5.0Mar 2022

  • "Beautiful place to stay and super central!"


    Reviewed by Rebecca5.0Mar 2022

  • "Really good holiday house"

    Reviewed by D.5.0Feb 2022

  • "Great location, couldn't be more central in Ambleside."

    Nice, well cleaned and maintained house, though a couple of the door handles do need fixing. Everything you need in the house was provided though knives were pretty blunt (maybe needs a a sharpener in the house) and the peeler was broken and nearly useless. Only two downsides are that parking outside the house is a lottery and you only get 1 parking voucher for the street (not surprising with the number of houses and cars). We only manged to park on the road two nights out of the 14 we were there, but there is free parking (the second car parking space) at the local car parks in Ambleside (and others, e.g. Grasmere) which certainly helps but it can make it tricky to unload and load your car on arrival and departure. The other (minor) thing is there were no logs for the fire when we arrived. We would definitely stay here again.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Fell Cottage and you felt that everything you needed was provided. We are also delighted to hear that you would stay again. We have taken your feedback on board and a knife sharpener is now provided in the property and all the knives have since been sharpened. We have also replaced the peeler and apologise this was broken. Unfortunately parking on Compston Street isn't always possible which is why we provide the second permit for all South Lakeland District Council car parks, the nearest one on King Street being just a 1 minute walk from the front door. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Richard4.7Nov 2021

  • "The cottage itself was lovely and very well decorated and thought out."

    Sadly, the service from lakelovers and a few basic things let this down. It is impossible to reach a real human to talk to at lakelovers. I had an issue over parking and ended up having to try to reach you through social media, only to be told it wasn't your problem and that you couldn't help me. The cottage is supposed to be gold standard. With this in mind I would expect some basic things to be in place - sharp knives would be nice, enough dishwasher tablets to last the week, and an appropriate amount of toilet toll for 4 adults for a week (3 is not enough). I'd also expect that garden rubbish isn't left strewn allover the patio furniture making it unusable. As the agent, its your responsibility to take care of these things and you have let down this beautiful cottage by trying to cut corners and not providing a high level of service. We paid a lot of money for this cottage and expect better.

    Reviewed by Elizabeth3.8Oct 2021

  • "The Cottage was in an ideal situation close to the bus stop, pubs, restaurants and shops etc but in a quiet location."

    Reviewed by Steven5.0Oct 2021

  • "The only issues that we had was that there was no hair drier in the property and no where to put shampoo, soap etc in the shower."

    Everything else was good.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Fell Cottage. Apologies we were unable to provide a hair dryer. Due to Covid restrictions some items were temporarily removed from the property, including hair dryers. These have now been reinstated, with one hair dryer provided in each of the three bedrooms. We have also taken on board your feedback about somewhere to put shampoo and soap, recently putting in a small hanging rack in the main shower cubicle. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alan4.1Sep 2021

  • "The cottage was in a brilliant location for us, quiet but dead central to Ambleside."

    The kitchen and bathrooms were a good spec and the log burner was an added bonus. Would book again without hesitation.

    Reviewed by Lucy5.0Jul 2021

  • "Great location with restaurants and walks from the cottage without using the car everyday."

    Parking difficult as very busy in the whole area so why the location was ideal.

    Reviewed by Paul4.1Jul 2021

  • "There was no parking spaces in Compston Street at any time during the week we stayed."

    I had to park in the adjoining Church Street with the disk supplied by the owners. This led to a parking fine of £50, you should make future guests aware of the difficulty of parking and that parking outside Compston Street will incur a fine.

    Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. Fell Cottage provides both a residential permit for Compston Street and a South Lake District Council permit which is for the local car parks in Ambleside. The nearest being King Street or Rydal Car Park. The permits in the property clearly state where these permits are to be used too so we are sorry to hear you were hit with a fine. These are based on a first come first served basis. The discs in the property are provided for disc zone areas and usually only cover you for 1 hour periods. We otherwise hope you had a lovely week. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John4.4Jun 2021

  • "Couldn’t find a dustpan and brush!"

    Beds are quite hard. Otherwise we really enjoyed our stay.

    Thank you for your feedback. We hope you had a wonderful stay at Fell Cottage. Unfortunately from time to time things are damaged or taken and we had not noticed the dustpan and brush had on this occasion. This has been replaced for future reference. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jenny4.7May 2021

  • "Fell Cottage was in an excellent location."

    It was spotlessly clean when we arrived. The furnishings were a high quality and the beds very comfortable. Lovely views from the bedrooms. Also great to be able to sit outside in the sunshine

    Mrs HastingsMay 2019

  • "We have had a lovely week in Ambleside."

    Fell Cottage is wonderful, home from home. Everything you could wish for!

    Mr SmartNov -0001

Show more

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.


  • Three Bedrooms
  • First floor 1 x king size room, family bathroom with rolltop bath, shower, basin and wc
  • Second floor 1 x twin room, 1 x king size room
  • Groundfloor shower room with basin and wc
  • Sitting room
  • Kitchen/dining room
  • Utility room.
  • Gas central heating via Combi boiler, log burning stove
  • Electric oven with gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washer/dryer, Smart TV, Blu Ray/DVD player
  • WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Two parking permits
  • Patio with furniture
  • Close to pub and shops
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking.

The property

Fell Cottage has been fully refurbished by the owners who have paid great attention to detail to create an excellent property that has been finished to the highest standard.

The cottage is presented with its lounge and kitchen/diner on the ground floor, accompanied by a useful utility room and shower room.

On the first floor is the first of the three bedrooms, a king size, and luxurious family bathroom with feature rolltop bath and walk in shower.

On the second floor there is a choice of another king size bedroom or a twin bedded room and both benefit from the views over the rooftops to the hills beyond. This great quality cottage is ideal for family or friends to relax and enjoy a great holiday whatever the time of year.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Grasmere 4.4 miles; Windermere 4.7 miles; Keswick 16.7 miles.

Lying at the northern tip of Lake Windermere, England’s largest lake, Ambleside makes a superb base for touring the central Lakes, with Grasmere and the Langdale Valley just a short drive away. There is plenty to do here - cruises, boat trips and watersports on Lake Windermere itself and numerous shops, restaurants and pubs in the village to suit all tastes. On the lakeside at Waterhead, the parkland offers lovely views down the lake and a short stretch of beach, whilst a walk in the other direction, following Stock Ghyll through woodland, will bring you to the entrancing waterfall of Stock Ghyll Force. Along with the Lake and the great walking on offer, Ambleside is also famous for its annual rushbearing ceremony and the diminutive 17th century “Bridge House” - one of the most photographed buildings in the Lake District and now the National Trust Information Centre.

View more holiday cottages in Ambleside

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute