Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

3 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 17 View Image Gallery
  • Rothay Holme Cottage - Lake District - 1041957 - photo 1

Rothay Holme Cottage

(Ref. 1041957)

Ambleside, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • no (23)
  • cottage (18)
  • location (15)
  • stay (14)
  • bed (14)
  • bathroom (13)

32 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely cottage in excellent position."

    Plenty of room for 4 people. Didn’t really use back garden but front garden was a sun trap. Only comments I would make is that it needs a light bulb on landing as we had to rely on torch to get upstairs at night and kitchen could do with a pair of scissors providing. Was also surprised that there weren’t a few basics such as t.bags and coffee available on arrival (there was milk). Would also have expected a few spare bin bags. Enjoyed our stay and would go back.

    Reviewed by Jane4.4Mar 2024

  • "The location is outstanding, especially with parking."

    The downstairs is good, there were a few small cleaning points cobwebs and cupboard doors with dirt around the handles but other that that ok. The cottage was equipped with everything although would have expected a few logs and kindling to get us started. Other cottages do and arriving late you need to know where to go to get these things. Beds and bathrooms were great, the cottage was nice and warm and no issue with heating. A few small maintenance issues. Bulb in landing light has gone which made ascending the stairs interesting at night. No toothbrush mugs in any bathroom so you had to balance your brushes on the metal holder. Because lampshades in second bedroom were torn. Also first aid kit in the kitchen wasn’t complete. Overall comfortable and had everything we needed. An important note on the layout which should be on the listing. The first bedroom with en suite and separate bathroom are all on the first floor. The second bedroom is on the 2nd floor/attic space. There is a very steep staircase/ladder almost to that room. If you happen to get up to go to the loo in the night then it can be dicey! Overall enjoyed our short stay and the festive decs were a nice touch.

    Reviewed by Natasha3.8Dec 2023

  • "Lovely cottage in an excellent location close to the park for dogs and the town for humans."

    Maybe a bit chilly but I didn’t mind that and was happy to dress accordingly, however, expect a lot of people would. Lovely large bathrooms- don’t know if we were using the toaster wrong but it only worked if you held the levers down. Plenty of lovely walks available from the doorstep, would definitely return to stay here again

    Reviewed by Jayne5.0Dec 2023

  • "Few cups etc but then found them in the dishwasher!"

    ! Stuff in the washing machine - clean or dirty??!! Headboard in 1st floor bedroom filthy - I wrote clean me in the dust! Touch lamps in 1st floor bedroom also dirty Ensuite window - so dirty, there are "old" cobwebs on the inside! Not nice :(( Other than the above, it is a beautiful cottage in a fantastic location and the views are amazing :))

    Reviewed by Steven3.4Sep 2023

  • "The cottage location is fantastic but the property itself was disappointing."

    It is tired generally and needs attention. The woodwork throughout was badly chipped and needed a good clean. The shower in the en-suite had a significant amount of mould around the base and up the tiles. The bed linen was well worn. As mentioned by previous customers the outdoor areas could be lovely but are very overgrown making it almost unusable. The windows were really dirty and it was a shame seeing as there were beautiful views on both aspects. The Wi-Fi didn’t work when we got there and although we did report this we never had any the whole time we were at the cottage. Having been holiday cottage owners ourselves in the past we don’t expect things to be perfect as not everyone looks after your property but this cottage needs some investment.

    Thank you very much for your comments and for taking the time to let us know your thoughts. We are sorry that you had some problems with the Wi-Fi during your stay, but I can see from the files that you reported it resolved. The owner will see your review and can take action where necessary. We are glad that you had enjoyed the location of your stay. Lakelovers Owner Relations Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rachel3.1Aug 2023

  • "Another great stay at Rothay Holme we will be back"

    Reviewed by Rachael5.0Jul 2023

  • "On arrival path over grown & entrance in need of decoration No recycling or ..."

    On arrival path over grown & entrance in need of decoration No recycling or glass boxes Stair carpet unclean En-suite bathroom window won’t stay open and glass cracked Shower floor hazardous -no anti slip mat & shower wall plate loose , shower won’t turn off fully - water waste Soap rack in shower broken nothing stays on it No mugs for toothbrushes No soap rack over bath Kitchen chairs too low for table- all 4 adults needed two cushions to eat comfortably Guttering outside kitchen door full of debris so rain gushing over steps Dish washer was without Finish & salt Insufficient cutlery and dinner plates so impractical to use dish washer once a day Inadequate information about the cottage and nothing about local walks or visitors book Generally disappointed in lack of care & maintenance of what could be a lovely cottage

    Reviewed by Philip2.2Jun 2023

  • "We have stayed in this cottage four or five times now."

    We love the position in Ambleside. Although overall we love it, we have a few comments this time. 1. The front garden is now completely overgrown and even the path to the front door required pushing through shrubs. 2. The rear steps down to the back garden were covered in debris and can’t have been swept anytime recently. Once you get into the garden it is untidy and needs pruning/ tidying. 3. We are now post covid so it is time that the cottage was returned to its former condition. There was a dvd player for example. 4. The lake lovers brochure is out of date. No instructions on the washing machine or recycling for example.

    Thank for your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We take all comments on board, and we will look at the Lakelovers information to ensure that it is up to date. We hope to welcome you again. The Lakelovers Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by David3.1Jun 2023

  • "Fantastic location, easy parking, well-equipped kitchen, comfy bed."

    Thank you for your kind comments, we are pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay. We hope to welcome you back. The Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Richard4.7Apr 2023

  • "1. We had problems with the heating - it went off early on the Saturday evening that we rarrived, and was still off the next morning."

    The fault was reported 9.30 am and finally dealt with at 5.30pm. 2. There was plenty of drawer space but nowhere to hang any clothes in the second floor bedroom, not even a hook on the wall. 3. There was no shower in the first floor bathroom, just a stylish but totally impractical free-standing bath. In such a large room there would be plenty of space for a shower as well. 4. For four adults, one armchair and one sofa is a bit of a squeeze. A second armchair would be welcome. Other than these niggles, the cottage was lovely, well situated for the town, spacious and well equipped.

    thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that there was a problem with the heating on arrival but please that you were still able to enjoy your stay and all the area has to offer. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ray4.1Mar 2023

  • "The cottage was very cold when we arrived at 4pm."

    Despite switching the boiler to “on all the time” it was still cold in downstairs living space next day, although bathrooms and bedroom were warm. Rang Sykes. Maintenance man called at cottage and said owners had set max temp on hive to 18/19 degrees - which isn’t warm enough for us when it’s so cold outside. He left us an electric panel heater which helped. There is a log burner but no logs or instructions. Everything else worked well. A tumble drier would have been a bonus. Outside spaces (front and back) are much in need of TLC. Cottage suited us well. There were only 2 of us so we didn’t need to negotiate very steep steps to 2nd floor bedroom.

    Thank you for your feedback, we have made a note with your comments. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kathleen3.8Mar 2023

  • "The cottage is a lovely, comfy, tranquil place to stay, we loved our stay here."

    A few problems with no WiFi all week, boiler problems, no heating or hot water for a few hours one day, seems this is an ongoing issue with the boiler, but we didn't let this spoil our time here in beautiful Ambleside. Lake Lovers maintenance were on hand straight away to sort the boiler out. A bit disappointed that there wasn't a welcoming pack, milk, biscuits, bottle of wine, tea, coffee or chocs, or a card to welcome us to the cottage. We've always had a welcome pack from other owners when booking a cottage in the Lakes. The lane got flooded most days/nights which was a pain to paddle through each day/night, and not well lit to see where you were going. We enjoyed putting the log burner to use most days /nights as it was raining every day bar one.. A most enjoyable and relaxing/(recuperating time for my partner) was had in Ambleside.

    Reviewed by Sheila5.0Dec 2022

  • "Very good."

    Reviewed by Stuart5.0Nov 2022

  • "Hi, What a lovely place, beautifully decorated and very spacious."

    However, there was a leak under the kitchen sink, which we mended by screwing the pipes a bit tighter. It would be even better with a modern radiator in the porch to dry our wet outdoor clothes, but we had a lovely stay and would definitely return.

    Reviewed by Wendy4.4Oct 2022

  • "We loved this cottage, it’s perfectly placed right in Ambleside whilst always being quiet."

    The open plan layout downstairs makes the space feel much bigger, the front hall means there’s somewhere for muddy boots and wet coats (this is The Lake District) and we liked the heater under the shoe rack to help dry everything after a day out. Both bedrooms, the main bathroom, and the en suite are very spacious with lots of storage. We would have no hesitation recommending this to friends and family (even the picky ones) and hope to stay here again. For the location, and size, it’s a bargain

    Reviewed by Angela4.7Oct 2022

  • "Lovely, comfortable and spacious cottage."

    We thought there were a couple of things that could be improved though - the shower pressure was very low, making showering quite difficult, there was no recycling facility (or we couldn't find any) and we couldn't operate the washing machine - some instructions would be useful, or possibly a check to ensure it is actually working! Other than that we enjoyed our stay in a lovely location.

    Reviewed by Sam4.1Sep 2022

  • "The cottage is ideally situated and we had a wonderful stay and would return."

    The cottage was clean, fresh and comfortable. There are elements of the cottage that were quirky (the really steep stairs to the upper bedroom for example) but that adds to its character. We were sometimes worried about opening the windows as they are obviously the original sash windows and one we could not shut (front bathroom) but it did not hinder us. The decor was lovely and we had everything that we would have needed for our stay. The back garden area was nice but felt a little too enclosed for us to eat out there but that did not spoil anything as we had Ambleside on our door step and there were lots of places to eat out and have a drink outside. One point to note is that we had to use the car park space at the back of the property as the one at the front was a little tight for our vehicle and we found on a few occasions that someone else had parked there. Generally, the location was perfect and we could leave the car most days to explore Ambleside and wider which was amazing. I am giving 4 out of 5 purely for the windows and the outside space.

    Reviewed by Karen4.4Aug 2022

  • "All in all a lovely property and a pleasant stay."

    Couple of things we noted were the seating wasn’t enough for a family of four with two gangly teenagers. Had we come in winter and spent more time in the cottage this would have been more of a problem. The main bathroom toilet had a strong smell but this was rectified with a bottle of bleach. Also a washing line or tumble dryer are a must for a stay in the lakes at anytime of the year. Despite these few points it is a great cottage in a lovely quiet location.

    Reviewed by Rachael3.8Jul 2022

  • "We had seem some concerning reviews regarding the cleanliness so were a little worried."

    We had no need to be, we understand that nowhere is perfect and if you want to find issues or faults then you can do. We found the property very clean, we loved the place and really enjoyed staying there and would be more than happy to do so again. Great size rooms, great facilities and location. We couldn't of asked for more at all. Fully enjoyable stay

    Reviewed by Steve5.0Jul 2022

  • "We have an on going investigation at the moment as the property had not been cleaned on our arrival ."

    The gardens need a general tidy up especially the front one. The property internal paint work could do with a refresh.

    The property has been let for many years and we are proud of our cleaning service, we are still unsure why this booking did not trigger a clean and we apologise the property was not at its usual standard on your arrival. We responded as quickly as possible with the help of Lakelovers house keeping service. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Angela2.8Jul 2022

  • "The property is starting to look a bit 'tired'."

    The cushions and throws in the lounge needed washing and fresh new bedding would be an improvement. Even at the reduced rate we paid we think the weekly rent was expensive. I seem to think that it was advertised with two parking places and although this wasn't a problem to us it needs pointing out for your benefit. All in all a nice property well placed for Ambleside but in need of some attention.

    There are two parking spaces availabe, one at the front of the house and one at the rear in the shared area by the garages. Soft furnishings were removed with Covid restictions, these were recently put back, we will review these in light of your comments. We replace the bedding regularly. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anne3.8Jun 2022

  • "Excellent location and the cottage had everything we needed as a family of 4."

    Bedrooms and bathrooms were a lovely size and plenty of storage. All issues previously mentioned had been sorted. We had a lovely, relaxing stay.

    Reviewed by Laura5.0Feb 2022

  • "We are a repeat visitors and really like the property and location."

    The chairs would benefit from the cushions being returned as shown in the photos and pre-pandemic. The only problem is the availability of the car park space at the front which was only occasionally available, as it appears to be used by locals and the garage next door.

    We are pleased to confirm the main sofa and chairs have been refurbished with new cushions, and we are now permitted to return the occasional cushions and throws. This includes cushions for the dining chairs if required. The parking is reserved and the garage propriator has been advised concerns have been raised. We have arrange for new signage and the space to be remarked. We hope you will consider staying again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David3.4Jan 2022

  • "This cottage was idealy situated close to all amenities nice and cosy the log fire was nice as it was a really cold week when we stayed ."

    But we do agree with previous comments. The dining chairs to low this could be solved by sawing 6 inches off table legs quite a simple job .if you are an older person and not very tall it's a problem sitting on the sofa we had to find some blocks of wood to put under the legs to bring it to a sensible hight . By no means am I a qeriatric I am a fit women but do have back problems as lots of older people do.. also the bed was very low and to soft again problems for my spine . The top bedroom needs to come with a warning as the stairs are very very steep and dark . So don't be put off if you are young or don't spend a lot of time sitting in it will be ok having a shed for bikes is a good point. Parking was good apart from locals using the front space .. and garden could do to be tidied it obviously had not been done all year properly ..

    Reviewed by David4.1Nov 2021

  • "Shower had thick black mould, not properly cleaned."

    Fridge shelves not cleaned. Dining room table too high for dining chairs, sofa not supportive (depth too large) so couldn’t use, awful stench in main bathroom from drains meant we couldn’t use this room for three days .

    Reviewed by Claire2.2Sep 2021

  • "There is no question that this property is situated in a perfect location and the off street parking for 2 cars certainly is a well appreciated bonus."

    The property description refers to it as being 'a classy bolthole'. Well, sadly, it has lost its classiness and is feeling tired. It has always had a few issues, but we would have hoped that, over time, these would have been resolved. As others have described in their reviews, far from enjoying the 'sumptuous leather furnishings' (Lakelovers description), the reality is more coping with saggy leather seating which has lost any support and comfort and needs to be replaced. Also, the dining chairs are not high enough to make eating at the table comfortable/practical. Whilst the bathroom suites are modern, the 'sparkling' ensuite is found lacking but could be improved by deep cleaning to remove the mould and mildew that has built up on the tiles over time. The shower head is positioned a little too close to the wall making it difficult to stand completely underneath. The towel holder is also no longer fit for purpose. The front and back gardens have each sadly turned into a bit of a jungle and the garden furniture would have required a good clean to remove all the 'green' mould to make sitting on them a pleasant affair. A hair dryer, toiletries, and washing up liquid were missing from the cottage. We presume this was due to Covid precautions, but a heads up would have been appreciated.

    Reviewed by Anthony2.8Sep 2021

  • "When we arrived the oven did not work, although this was resolved on the following day."

    Flush on en-suite toilet was broken and again resolved the following day. The kick board below the fridge freezer was not attached and the towels had seen better days - not resolved. There was no bath mat in the en-suite - not resolved. The information folder was a mess with no information which would have been useful and leaflets on appliances no longer in the house. The fridge had not been cleaned properly as there was obvious dirt on the shelves.

    Reviewed by Mike2.8Sep 2021

  • "We liked the house."

    However, the details are misleading about the location of the bathroom allocated to the loft bedroom. The bathroom is actually on the floor below the bedroom, this means a steep staircase to get to and fro from the bathroom!

    Reviewed by Angela4.4Aug 2021

  • "The sofa and the chair in this property are not fit for purpose."

    Four adults stayed in the property and two had to sit on the dining chairs. The sofa is so bad it sags in the middle. We also had to cut back plants in the garden as they had grown over the paths at the entrance and the rear. The rear was worse you couldn’t get through for overgrown shrubs.

    Reviewed by Neil3.8Jul 2021

  • "The cottage is absolutely brilliant and bike storage a huge bonus!"

    It could be even better with minor improvements which would make a big difference- Cut back greenery into house both entrances (when it rains you get soaked each time you go in as you can’t do it without brushing past bushes!) , Spare loo rolls and soap for the bathrooms and a Couple of washing machine tablets would save shopping during a short holiday . Many thanks. We would definitely stay here again .

    Reviewed by Becky5.0Jul 2021

  • "The property is well located and in general met our needs."

    However, we would like to bring to your attention the poor quality of the settee and of the dining chairs which we needed a cushion to bring us high enough to eat at the table. The settee is past it's best being uncomfortable and unsupportive. The table is too high for the dining chairs and the dining chairs upholstery is well worn. The TV signal is erratic and the living room tv suddenly turns itself off from time to time. The remote worked intemittentlly. the TV in the first bedroom was unusable. The picture pixelated all the time and the sound crackled in and out. Could this be an aerial problem? We reported a blocked rainwater drain by the front door. Access to the vacuum cleaner was impossible unless one wanted to lift this heavy item over the top of a worktop. Access to the ironing board was also difficult. Suggestion - put a cupboard on the landing instead of the sideboard to house these items. The steps and outdoor space below the back door need some attention. There was long standing evidence of bird nesting material on the steps and the garden was rather overgrown making access to both the back and the front door a bit of an issue. the gravelled area was very weedy. However, overall we liked the property, the location was excellent for transport links and access to Ambleside. The parking to the rear was excellent and a real bonus. The parking to the front was sometimes used by those trying to park near Ambleside town, the signage was not clear enough. Having a garden was a benefit. Cushions for the metal garden chairs would be an useful addition. In gener

    Reviewed by Christine3.1Jun 2021

  • "Very good position"

    Reviewed by David3.8Jun 2021

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.


  • Property set over 3 floors
  • 2 x bedrooms; 1 x king size with en suite facilities, 1 x double (attic) bedroom, En-suite luxury shower room with designer double power shower cubicle, contemporary open plan living space, dining area, fitted kitchen, garden with furnishings and private parking for 2 cars.
  • Gas central heating, wood burning stove, luxurious bathroom with designer double ended sphere bath, en suite luxury shower room with designer double power shower cubicle, electric oven & hob, dishwasher / microwave, fridge & freezer, washing machine, Wi-Fi, superb view, gardens with garden furniture, 2 minute walk to village, private parking for 2, secure mountain bike storage, bed linen and towels provided.

The property

Rothay Holme Cottage is a classy bolt hole is situated on the outskirts of Ambleside; close a park, and the River Rothay, but still only a minute's stroll from the centre of the village.

The shores of Lake Windermere are just a little further.

Laidback sophistication is the theme of the Rothay Holme Cottage interior; snuggle up together in front of the wood burning stove, gaze out onto the fells through cute cottage windows and enjoy the impeccable interior design with a finish fit for any glossy magazine.

There's plenty of space for family meals or dinner parties, alternatively you are only a minute's stroll from the bustling nightlife that Ambleside has to offer.

Each bedroom has a lavish bathroom facility, so even two couples can pamper themselves in their own space.

Plus, the contemporary, open plan living space makes for a great place to wind down and relax.

Please note due to the age of the property, there is no handrail available on the enclosed staircase going up to the first floor of the property. Access to the third floor bedroom, is via a second steep staircase.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Grasmere 4.4 miles; Windermere 4.7 miles; Keswick 16.7 miles.

Lying at the northern tip of Lake Windermere, England’s largest lake, Ambleside makes a superb base for touring the central Lakes, with Grasmere and the Langdale Valley just a short drive away. There is plenty to do here - cruises, boat trips and watersports on Lake Windermere itself and numerous shops, restaurants and pubs in the village to suit all tastes. On the lakeside at Waterhead, the parkland offers lovely views down the lake and a short stretch of beach, whilst a walk in the other direction, following Stock Ghyll through woodland, will bring you to the entrancing waterfall of Stock Ghyll Force. Along with the Lake and the great walking on offer, Ambleside is also famous for its annual rushbearing ceremony and the diminutive 17th century “Bridge House” - one of the most photographed buildings in the Lake District and now the National Trust Information Centre.

View more holiday cottages in Ambleside

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas