Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Lake District 5 minutes ago

1 customer booked Sethera in the last 24 hours

1 of 34 View Image Gallery
  • Sethera - Lake District - 1034639 - photo 1
close

Sethera

(Ref. 1034639)

Ambleside, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map

4.1

Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • stay (12)
  • views (11)
  • location (11)
  • our (9)
  • bedroom (9)
  • bed (9)

19 Customer Reviews

  • "An otherwise warm and cosy stay in a homely apartment was spoiled by a wasp infestation."

    On arrival we were met by a dozen or so wasps on the lounge area carpet, curtains and windows. We removed them all, but next day we had several more back in the same area, plus in the small hall between the third bedroom and the shower room. We stayed for four nights and had a couple of new wasps every day. We tried blocking up all the holes around cable outlets etc, but they still managed to get in. I understand its difficult to manage wild insects, but the previous tenants had also experienced a problem with the wasps and had mentioned them in the guest book, so we were very disappointed that they hadn’t been dealt with before we arrived. It spoiled what could have been a very relaxing stay. The beds and sofas were excellent and the view is lovely.

    Reviewed by J3.8Sep 2023

  • "Nice property in a nice building with lovely views."

    Well located and easy to find. The property itself was clean and comfortable but the bathroom could do with upgrading….nothing serious just a bit tired.

    Thank you. My wife and I will be staying in the near future. We will have a good look for any upgrades we can do Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alastair3.8Sep 2023

  • "Sethera is a truly stunning place to stay."

    The views, grounds and scenery are excellent. However just bear in mind that it comes with four flights of stairs. So for only the most ambulant of guests in my opinion would be appropriate. Decor is neutral therefore doesn't detract from the beautiful views out of the windows. Sethera has everything you would need for a break away from home. Location is very good. Just a few mins walk into central Ambleside. Also only just a couple of mins to nearest pub which is by the Windermere shoreline. All in all a great place to stay and explore the Lake District further. Very enjoyable break was had by all.

    Thank you so glad you had a great time. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Simon5.0Aug 2023

  • "Lovely location, fantastic views, very relaxing, cosy and comfortable although slight issues with plumbing and fixtures."

    Thank you for your comments will ensure we check out the plumbing Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alison3.4Aug 2023

  • "The entry door was very difficult to open."

    We were not able to get through to anyone to solve this problem so just persisted with the key. Took nearly three quarters of an hour before we managed. Equally trying to open the door the next day proved very difficult. We decided to leave the door open in case we were locked in/out. Shower door only opens on one side. The other side comes off its fixing as one of the runners on the rail is broken. Anyone bigger than a size 10 would not be able to use it. Toilet seat in shower room coming adrift of fixing. Reading other feedback the above appear to be ongoing problems. Apart from that we enjoyed our stay. Very comfortable and clean. Amazing setting and views.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for bringing the lock and shower door to our attention. We will pass your comments on to our maintenance team. We hope to welcome you again soon. The owner relations team - Lakes Cottage Holidays Owner adds. We actually replaced the whole toilet over the winter to avoid the repeated issues with toilet seats. I will be visiting myself on Fri 30th to address the above issues. Thank you for the feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by J.3.8Jun 2023

  • "Great location and super layout."

    Easy to find and loved the views that we got from both sets of windows. The grounds were excellent as well, really helpful with a little one. Would be good to have cot facilities and maybe some crockery for kids too. It was particularly hot in the apartment when we stayed so have no the option of some fans would be a great addition too. However it was an excellent stay and we enjoyed ourselves here.

    Delighted you enjoyed your stay. As a rule we don’t get many bookings from families with small children but I have more than enough equipment so will provide this next time we have a booking with an infant. Thank you for the comment. To avoid clutter we try not to have stuff in the flat that won’t get used so have to confess we’re not equipped for a heatwave. Glad you enjoyed the grounds which were looking great on my recent inspection visit and I hope you saw the deer. Thank you for the comments. Property Owner

    Reviewed by B4.1Aug 2022

  • "We arrived at midnight in the rain and dark (due to delay of the flight)."

    Could not find the entrance from the main road. The sign (very small) was not visible in the dark (only visible for pedestrian). We drove 5 times past it back and fort. Then we could not find the apartment (not clear that the front door is inside and past the outside door). We spent 30 minutes knocking at all neighbours' doors (went up the outside stairs too). They could not help either. We also did not know that we need to turn the iron ring to open the door (not used to it in the continent). The bedrooms are OK except for the small one that has the size of a walking wardrobe. But the sheets are clean and there are good towels too. The water flow in the shower is good. The shower is small (only for skinny people otherwise you cannot go through the shower door). The kitchen is very old and worn out but it works. The stove/furnace is dirty. All and all, everything works but we wanted to feel spoiled when on a holiday but it was not so... never mind...the location is very good though. We can walk to the restaurants and the lakeside, the shops are there, also a good starting point for hiking. So if it is location you need than this property is TOP.

    Thank you for the feedback. I’m sorry you struggled to find and access the property. I will review the instructions to see how we can make it easier for guests particularly in the dark. The oven is cleaned between guests on every occasion and a specialist deep clean carried out periodically which was completed only recently. This is normally sufficient. I will visit the property myself this week to organise specialist cleaning again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Maria3.4Jun 2022

  • "Overall our stay was very good."

    Only problem was a broken toilet seat in the main bathroom (hinges), we reported straight away and was told to leave the keys in the key box and somebody would come next day to sort it. This did not happen and the toilet seat got worse as the days went on. The apartment is in a great location.

    Thank you for the feedback I’m glad you enjoyed the property and it is helpful that you have reported this maintenance issue. I’m sorry that the issue wasn’t resolved whilst you were in Sethera. I have spoken to the local office myself to ensure the repair is done. I will be visiting the property myself this weekend to check for any other maintenance issues. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robert4.7Jun 2022

  • "We had a lovely stay at Sethera."

    The property is in a great location - only a short walk from Ambleside with stunning views of the surrounding hills. Even the grounds surrounding the property are fantastic and were full of wildlife which added to the experience. Inside it looked like there had been some recent redecoration. The main bedrooms were very comfortable and have incredible views. The third room is cosy but still comfortable as a double. Good sized kitchen and living areas too. We were a group of two couples and this was an absolutely perfect place to stay. May be tougher with kids due to the stairs to access. Water pressure was a little low in one of the bathrooms but that was a minor thing. Will definitely be back!

    Thank you. We spent a lot of time and money over the winter responding to previous guest feedback and not just decoration ( new cleaner, new mattresses, replacement windows, new fridge and roof repairs )so I am delighted that you found the flat as you would wish to. Previous guests have commented on the water pressure in the shower room but I thought we had resolved it. I have contacted the plumber who will investigate and resolve. Property Owner

    Reviewed by George4.7Feb 2022

  • "I shall be sending a separrate letter to Sykes regarding this property."

    In short: - on arrival we heard a noise coming from the 3rd bedroom which turned out to be a dehumidifier as one wall was very damp - the freezer compartment of the fridge was broken and jammed with a piece of cardboard. This came open all the time and all of our fresh food ended up almost frozen. - the toilet seat in the shower room moved off it's mounting when the lid was opened - the standard lamp in the living room was on a broken stand and had to be treated with caution

    Reviewed by Kath2.8Dec 2021

  • "Our stay started during the recent storm and unfortunately we were without power for a few days and blocked in because of fallen trees."

    The owner reacted very quickly to the situation and organised to have the trees removed and supplied us with warm drinks and a place to charge our phones. We've stayed a Sethera on a number of occasions and always enjoyed our time in beautiful Ambleside. The apartment is in a perfect location and is equipped with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Would recommend and we will definitely be returning in the New Year

    Reviewed by Chris5.0Nov 2021

  • "So on arrival carpets dirty and not cleaned, cob webs all over the flat and spiders had to Hoover and clean the floors myself and move the sofas to clean under them as food debris under them, with hole in the floor in the living room when standing in front of the window the carpet disappears in a hole in the floorboards."

    No light bulbs in the lamp and dust and dirt. Beds have urine stains on the mattress in both main bedroom and the blue bedroom with tiny window. Shower cubicle door falls off and hits whoever is getting into the shower and have to hold shower head to turn on shower or sprays out the cubicle onto the floor, no water in taps in main bathroom sink taps don’t turn on and when do trickle. En suite bathroom no water pressure and no hot water due to can’t turn off the bathroom tap constantly trickling out into the bath. When you override the hot water still nothing so cold baths during the week. Toilet brushes have seen better days and haven’t been changed in a long time, looks like someone has been using the toilet brush for cleaning themselves and holder full of dirty water with fecal matter in the holders and over the brush, considering we are still in a pandemic not very hygienic. Mattress in en suite bedroom gone home and very uncomfortable no support and bed squeaks when turning over on it, chair in bedroom stained along with cushions, no pillow protectors on the pillows so sweat marks on pillows. Middle bedroom bed held up by 2 by 4 wood cable tied to the bed frame supporting the bed and keeping it up. Wasps nest in the roof outside bedroom windows overlooking the hills and mountains so can’t open the windows without letting in wasps to the flat. Windows cracked in bedrooms Did report using online complaint but no feed back and been home 2 days from holiday so far never stay at this apartment again (Apart from this nice views and great wildlife downstairs with dears and badgers and red squirrels in garden.)

    Reviewed by Chris1.3Sep 2021

  • "Lovely location 15min walk from the Ambleside Town centre."

    Last part is on a hill to get to the flat so a lot of exercise. Views are very calm and relaxing despite being near the main road. We enjoyed our stay however there were quite a few flies and wasps that were attracted to the flat (not noisy, just a bit annoying), and the en-suite bathroom sink in particular was not very clean (when you plug the sink, lots of grime is released).

    Reviewed by Lynh4.1Aug 2021

  • "The accommodation is placed on the side of a hill and the bedroom and lounge windows look out over a superb view."

    We have stayed in central Ambleside in the past but the view afforded from Sethera are fabulous. The accommodation is large and comfortable and easily takes four adults. All you need for a stay is there, bed linen and towels obviously but also washing machine, iron, ironing board (we have stayed in places with an iron but no board). The property is outside the town of Ambleside, just round the corner from Waterhead. However, it is an easy walk into Ambleside (5 - 10 mins depending on pace) where there are lots of places to eat.if you wish to self cater the accommodation has all you need to prepare and eat your meals. Finding the property can be tricky. Don't rely on satnav but follow the instructions sent by Sykes. The entrance is quite narrow and is easiest approached from the direction of Waterhead. It is best if the road is quiet ish if coming from Ambleside. The long driveway is steep and you had better hope no one is coming the other way as there is no passing place. Having said that we did not encounter a problem all week. All in all a brilliant bass from which to explore the lake district.

    Reviewed by Kevin5.0Aug 2020

  • "Sethera is perfectly positioned in beautiful Ambleside, with Lake Windermere and lots of beautiful walks on your doorstep."

    The 3rd floor property has amazing views from every window, mountains at the front, well kept gardens to the rear, sightings of the deer in the grounds on many occasions. It is well equipped with everything you would need for a self catering holiday. Cozy lounge, dining area, kitchen, 2 bathrooms and three good size bedrooms far exceeded our expectations. Lots to do and see in Ambleside, with lovely quaint pubs, restaurants, cafes and shops, all working very hard to keep everyone happy. Only down side was that 1 week wasn't enough!! Will definitely be back. Thank you....

    Reviewed by Selina5.0Aug 2020

  • "We have only booked with Skyes Cottages once before and had issues so it was with reluctance that we booked with them again."

    There was a real fiasco when we arrived as the door box would not open to release the keys to the flat. The only phone number to call is to the call centre in Chester and they asked us to go out to dinner whilst they sorted it - a nice offer but it was already 8pm and we had eaten and just wanted to get in the flat. We were just told that the flat owner couldn't be contacted and no other solution was offered. It was only because pressure was put on the poor call centre operator that eventually someone local came out to bring a spare set of keys. When that lady arrived she couldn't open the key box either. We were told that the door box would be fixed but this did not happen until a phone call was again made on Wednesday to find out what we should do with the spare keys when we left. We were asked to drop the keys off in Windermere!! Needless to say we declined this offer. We were then told that they key box would be replaced the next day. I received a phone call on the Saturday after we arrived (a settling in phone call apparently) which I missed and no message was left and I then received another phone call on Thursday (presumably to say the box was fixed) but again no message was left. I'm not sure why messages cannot be left especially when there have been issues. Due to Covid-19 we were told that we could not access the flat until 4pm to allow for additional cleaning - not a problem during this time as we would rather allow that extra time. It was disappointing to therefore find a complete layer of dust across the boxes of Scrabble and Chess that were on the bottom shelf of the coffee table - these clearly hadn't been touched for some time. The flat itself was great, The location was ideal and the facilities were exactly what we needed. It was just a shame that the fiasco with the key box and the dust yet again coloured our view of Skyes Cottages.

    Reviewed by Keren4.1Aug 2020

  • "Beautiful apartment, spectacular views from every window, we loved every minute of our stay."

    Reviewed by Nicola5.0Jul 2020

  • "A wonderful cosy, calm flat in a great location."

    Just a short stroll into the heart of Ambleside and lots of great walks very close by. The bedrooms were clean, spacious and comfy, the kitchen well stocked with everything you need, and plenty of communal space for relaxing. Real highlight for us was the beautiful views you get from the lounge and the kitchen. Will absolutely be back.

    Reviewed by Ruth5.0Mar 2020

  • "Hello there, The flat was pretty much as expected, but upon arrival there was a wealth of dead flies throughout on all the floors."

    I could see the place had been cleaned, but I think with Christmas, it had been empty for sometime. The bulb in one of the bedside lights in master room had gone, also the the bath drainer was broken upon arrival and worked but kept falling off when in use. But i think the most annoying thing was the sofa, bits of faux leather shed each time we sat on it, so we had to keep cleaning the floor. I think some new ones should be invested in here. The mattress in the second bedroom was also showing signs of human waste on it, which we discovered after striping the beds at the end of our stay, so maybe time for a new one of those or topper at very least. All this said, it was a great location and good size with ample parking. The heating was extremely good and kitchen had everything we needed. I would book again, but only if I knew mattress and sofa had been replaced. Thank you and happy new year.

    Thank you for your feedback and its great to hear you would book again. I can confirm improvements for this property are imminent by the new owner, including updates to the sofas and beds. We apologise for the issues surrounding the flies and bulb, the local office would have rectified this for you. Thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Scott3.8Dec 2019

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.

Summary

  • On third floor
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x king-size with en-suite roll-top bath, hand-held shower, basin and WC, 2 x double bedrooms
  • Shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, washer/dryer, dishwasher, Living room/diner
  • Electric central heating
  • TV with Freeview, music system, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Private parking for one car with visitors spaces too
  • Shared garden and woodlands over 5 acres and seating
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop within 0.6 miles, pub within 0.2 miles
  • Maximum 4 adults

The property

Found in the charming area of Waterhead in Ambleside, a beautiful town in the unspoilt lands of the Lake District, is this third-floor apartment Sethera.

This high-quality accommodation which is set in five acres of woodland and gardens offers a perfect place for a family or group of four to spend their down-time in when not exploring the wonders of the Lakes. Enter the apartment via the shared staircase, and be welcomed into the the open-plan living space, where two leather sofas face the window which offers lovely views out to Loughrigg Fell, you can sit before the TV to enjoy a nice film in the evening to unwind.

Get busy in the pretty kitchen where hues of pale blue and green make for a harmonious décor, where a great range of appliances can assist you with all your self-catering needs.

The master king-size bedroom offers a tranquil spot to rest, make use of your own stunning en-suite bathroom where a roll-top bath takes centre stage, while the other bedroom is a double and benefits from delightful colour scheme and furnishings, with a shower room offering somewhere to freshen up.

Explore the beautiful woodlands which are shared with the rest of the apartments, perfect for long walks and home to wildlife such as deer, birds and badgers.

You don't have to go far to explore the Lakes, with Windermere and its lake cruises right on the doorstep, you can enjoy tea rooms, water sports and lake walks, or take around a ten-minute stroll to Ambleside for bars, shops and restaurants.

Bowness is an easy drive and has more shops, a cinema, bars and other attractions, including the Beatrix Potter Gallery, or take a trip over the Kirkstone Pass to Ullswater for more water sports, adventure centres and the Ullswater Steamer.

Sethera is the perfect place for a quiet, luxury couples break or a family getaway and is ideally placed for exploring the stunning scenery of Ambleside and the Lake District.

View on map

About the location

AMBLESIDE

Grasmere 4.4 miles; Windermere 4.7 miles; Keswick 16.7 miles.

Lying at the northern tip of Lake Windermere, England’s largest lake, Ambleside makes a superb base for touring the central Lakes, with Grasmere and the Langdale Valley just a short drive away. There is plenty to do here - cruises, boat trips and watersports on Lake Windermere itself and numerous shops, restaurants and pubs in the village to suit all tastes. On the lakeside at Waterhead, the parkland offers lovely views down the lake and a short stretch of beach, whilst a walk in the other direction, following Stock Ghyll through woodland, will bring you to the entrancing waterfall of Stock Ghyll Force. Along with the Lake and the great walking on offer, Ambleside is also famous for its annual rushbearing ceremony and the diminutive 17th century “Bridge House” - one of the most photographed buildings in the Lake District and now the National Trust Information Centre.

View more holiday cottages in Ambleside

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas