Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Lake District 8 minutes ago

1 customer booked Wainwright Cottage in the last 24 hours

1 of 25 View Image Gallery
  • Wainwright Cottage - Lake District - 1042155 - photo 1

Wainwright Cottage

(Ref. 1042155)

Ambleside, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (18)
  • bed (11)
  • location (10)
  • shower (9)
  • well (9)
  • small (8)

28 Customer Reviews

  • "We visited Wainwrights Cottage at Xmas, & only problem was hob ignition not working & had to be lit manually."

    We have just visited again in October & hob still not mended also upon arrival found a pan & bowl under Boiler catching leaking water. We thought this must have been reported as cleaners must have seen this, so we expected someone to come & repair it. 3 days later it was still the same, awhich stopped us having shower as the water pressure wasn't reaching second floor due to problem with Boiler & water was cold in shower aswell as shower head full of limescale and blocked. We tried to have bath which was on first floor, but the plug for bath was too small, which meant water just escaped & it wasn't until day 4 when we were leaving that we found a larger plug on floor under bath! Not happy with our visit as feel it's expensive for what we experienced, so will not book Wainwrights Cottage again.

    Thank you for your feedback. The owners are currently refurbishing the cottage and are excited to share updated photos online in February 2024. Property Owner. Lakelovers apologise as they had not been made aware of the boiler leak prior to your stay but they have now rectified this issue. The shower and bath plug have both been tested and are working normally. The Lakelovers Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Keith2.8Oct 2023

  • "A beautiful cottage & wonderfully convenient for the town centre & park yet so very quiet."

    Although it was wonderful weather we were unable to use the balcony as it was water logged. The first floor bathroom is beautiful but a shower would have been appreciated as the second floor shower is so small and not very efficient. However, having said this we would certainly rebook the cottage without thought and would recommend to others.

    Dear Amanda, thank you for your kind comments and recommendation of Wainwright Cottage to others. We are glad that you enjoyed the convenience of the cottage and the interior decor, which we are currently improving further. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Property Owner Property Owner

    Reviewed by Amanda4.7Aug 2023

  • "The house was clean and tidy but the outside (the terrace and the tiny yard off the kitchen) was dirty and full of fallen leaves."

    I rang Lakelovers straight away and was told that the it was outside the cleaners' remit to clean the furniture outside and that the maintenance team cleaned these areas every few weeks. When I asked how this could be when we had paid nearly £1000 to have a week's holiday in somewhere that had undergone a deep clean, I again was told that the cleaners didn't clean outside even though they were there on the property and could see it was dirty and that the maintenance had to come and do it. They arrived on Tuesday (I was told next day) and did a good job, but I had to clean the chairs and table on the terrace before they came as, obviously, we wanted to sit outside overlooking the fells. This was posted on the website in May “The small outside area outside the back door needs some maintenance, it hasn't been swept forever, there's dried leaves everywhere and weeds, also the upstairs outside terrace is the same, I had to clean the table and chairs myself to sit on, they were covered in bird poo and filthy!” This in July 22 “Stylish” Roof terrace could do with a spruce up/weed. The leather sitting room furniture was in a shocking state and partly been covered by a throw to hide the scratches and wrinkles. This was posted in April Overall the cottage inside is tired and would benefit from some comfortable chairs/sofas. SO NOTHING HAD BEEN DONE TO ENSURE A CLEAN OUTSIDE AREA FOR EVERY INCOMING VISITOR AND THE OLD FURNITURE HAD NOT BEN UPGRADED. The over-mirror light in the shower room and one of the under-cupboard lights in the kitchen were not working.

    Dear Maggy thank you for your feedback. We are sorry the outdoor space did not meet your expectations. Lakelovers Maintenance team undertake regular leaf clearing and cleaning of the outside space. We are refurbishing the lounge, have fixed the lights and look forward to welcoming you back. Property Owner Property Owner

    Reviewed by Maggy3.8Jun 2023

  • "The small outside area outside the back door needs some maintenance, it hasn't been swept forever, there's dried leaves everywhere and weeds, also the upstairs outside terrace is the same, I had to clean the table and chairs myself to sit on, they were covered in bird poo and filthy!"

    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We take your comments on board, and have asked our Maintenance team to look into the outside area. Thank you- The Lakelovers Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Diane4.1May 2023

  • "The location was excellent however, the cottage itself had one or two surprises such as: 1) difficult staircase particularly to the 2nd floor bedroom lots of banging heads."

    As we are active senior citizens we felt we should have been made aware. 2) Ensiute shower room was very very small with sloping ceiling more banging of heads.Shaver/light didn't work. Overall the cottage inside is tired and would benefit from some comfortable chairs/sofas.

    Thank you for your comments. We take all comments on board. Thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew2.8Apr 2023

  • "The cottage is ideally located within a short walk of Ambleside town centre."

    There is one parking space. The cottage is warm and the beds are comfortable. The view from the bedroom on the top floor is beautiful. The kitchen is well equipped with everything you need for a short stay. We enjoyed using the wood burning stove in the evenings.

    Thank you for your kind feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Wainwright Cottage. We hope to welcome you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan3.8Apr 2023

  • "After a stressful year we were looking forward to a quiet, chilled Xmas break & we were not disappointed."

    The cottage is in a great location & is really cosy, making it a home from home. We were only sorry our stay was not longer! Will definitely return in the future.

    Dear Keith, we are delighted you enjoyed a relaxing stay and made Wainwright Cottage a home from home for the week. Thank you for taking the time to leave fantastic feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Property Owner Property Owner

    Reviewed by Keith5.0Dec 2022

  • "Stayed there in the spring and its very well situated, also has a very good heating system, Stayed at many previous cottages in the lakes and none as war."

    Dear Diane, we are delighted you found a warm welcome at Wainwright Cottage and returned after previously staying in the Spring. We look forward to welcoming you again. Property Owner Property Owner

    Reviewed by Diane5.0Nov 2022

  • "We had a very comfortable stay at Wainwright Cottage and would definitely book again when in the area."

    The only negative for us was the leaves outside. They had not been swept ,were very slippery and would be dangerous for anyone using mobility aids.

    Reviewed by Amanda3.4Nov 2022

  • "Prime location for Cottage, the cottage is lovely , would I go back?"

    possibly just not through Lake lovers. raised my concerns a few months in advance about the previous comments I had seen on this cottage -all about how clean the place was or wasn't in this case, I was reassured that Lake Lovers had a new cleaning company and this place would be spotless (deep cleaned) if you listen to the call, well if that's what a 'cleaning company' call a Deep clean I really do not know how they are still running, I wanted to swap/change cottages because of this and a past booking I had also with Lake Lovers but they would not allow it and promised me it would be deep cleaned for me, in my response I stated should it not be deep cleaned for every new customer? Ill not be using this company again......

    Reviewed by Ashleigh3.4Oct 2022

  • "This is the second time we have stayed at this property."

    It’s a lovely cottage and ideal for a small family. The cottage was cleaned to a very high standard and very comfortable. We wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again. We did report that the flat roof on the front porch had some water leaking through the light fitting (following some very heavy rain). The maintenance team did come out and clear the leaves off the roof but it was still leaking when we left.

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Oct 2022

  • "Bathroom and shower lovely."

    Space to take boots/shoes off great. Location and the 2 parking options brilliant. The kitchen seemed fine but we didn’t use it a lot. Overall good, not sure its 4 star at the moment, but could be. Space is great. But the cottage feels like it needs a deep clean and an update as lots of dust, dirty marks and tired looking furniture. No batteries in tv remotes, some lights out, blinds in front room not the best, stains on curtains, outside areas full of weeds etc. Sofa not the comfiest. But it could be great.

    Thank you for taking the time to feedback after your recent stay. We are glad to hear you had a great week. We are sorry you found aspects below average and we will ensure to discuss the cleanliness with the housekeeping team and the lights, batteries and outside area with our maintenance team. Thanks again for sharing your comments and we hope to welcome you back again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Louisa2.8Jul 2022

  • "House advertised with wii - no batteries, only one working game- other 2 were scratched."

    Boiler turned off, so no hot water.. and no instructions provided. Nice new washing machine - but no instructions. No welcome pack - not even a pint of milk for cup of tea on arrival. Shower wouldn’t stop dripping. “Stylish” Roof terrace could do with a spruce up/weed. On the positive side, bed lovely and comfortable, bathroom lovely.

    Thank you for your feedback. We have passed on your comments to the owner. There is an orange information booklet in the kitchen with all instructions in for the property - we will make this more prominent in future. Not all properties provide welcome packs and this is not stated in the listing. We are pleased to see you liked the bathroom and bedroom and hope you had a lovely stay in the beautiful Lake District. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tony2.2Jul 2022

  • "Our experience was good and we enjoyed our holiday however I also rely on honest feedback and would like to share my thoughts."

    The 1st floor bedroom and outdoor sitting area was dirty, lots of old bird droppings on the balcony area, the carpets and curtains were stained and one of the wooden bed slats was broken under the bed. The main TV is very dated and would occasionally show NO SIGNAL, to fix this we would turn off the TV and turn it back on several times and the fault would disappear. In this modern day, a Smart TV can be purchased for less than £200. Overall, the value for money experience is 7/10. By no means a bad experience, just room for improvements.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry the cottage was not as clean as you wished and are reviewing this with the Housekeeping Team. The Maintenance Team attend the cottage monthly to clean the terrace and it may be that your stay coincided with the period before they attended after a number of weeks. There is are mature trees along one side of the terrace which attract wildlife. The owners have reviewed your feedback and plan to replace the curtain and TVs during their next stay at the end of August, and pass on their thanks for flagging this issue. We hope you enjoyed exploring Ambleside and the surrounding area. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Murray3.1Jul 2022

  • "The cottage was exactly as described and ideally placed for all amenities."

    The roof terrace garden was an added bonus. The roll top bath was described as excellent by my partner. We would not hesitate to book the property again.

    Thank you for taking time to provide feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Steven5.0Apr 2022

  • "Overall the place was nice."

    Well equipped, clean (ish) throughout The only thing it lacked for us was the comfort and little touches. I.e. the sofa was the cheapest and most uncomfortable one going. When you go away for the weekend you want to relax, and with a little one we stayed in most evenings. The sofa just wasn’t one you could comfortably relax on. The other thing was the fire. Normally there is a small wood store (even if it’s just a single use bag of logs) but we were a little disappointed that we would have had to go out and buy some if we were to use it. You spend a small fortune staying at these places and it just lacked the small personal touches that made us want to go again

    Thank you for your feedback. Not all properties provide welcome packs and this is not stated in the listing. However, the owners supply logs following their visits and encourage guests to replenish the stock for the next guests. Kiln dry logs are readily available in the village and the BP garage. We hope you had a lovely stay in the beautiful Lake District. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tim3.4Apr 2022

  • "Could do with a good clean."

    Front porch very shabby and back porch too. Outdoor terrace off 1st bedroom needs artificial grass replacing. Position of property perfect

    Reviewed by Petra3.1Apr 2022

  • "Found the location to be excellent, close to the ambleside town as well as just a short walk to lake windermere."

    Found the cottage to be just a short drive to the other parts of the lake district. Cottage was clean and spacious with good views.

    Thank you for taking time to leave feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed the views from Wainwright Cottage, and made full use of its central location to explore Ambleside and the beautiful Lake District. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alfie5.0Feb 2022

  • "No issues. Nice place and excellent location."

    Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed staying at Wainwright Cottage, tucked away in the centre of Ambleside. We hope you had a lovely stay exploring the beautiful Lake District. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John4.4Dec 2021

  • "I realise the sofa may be a practical solution to dogs and irresponsible owners but it is plasticky and uncomfortable - looks naff."

    Kitchen without a can opener. Top bedroom restricted headroom in some areas weeny bathroom and no wardrobe. Hit my head several times in ceiling and roof beam and I’m only 5’5”

    Thank you for your feedback while staying in this cottage. The wardrobe for the top-bedroom is on the landing and to the right of the long-mirror. We have replaced the can opener and hope you had a lovely stay in the beautiful Lake District. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mo3.1Nov 2021

  • "The location of the cottage in the centre of Ambleside was excellent."

    The private off street courtyard parking was a huge bonus. A rarity in Ambleside. The cottage was well equipped and warm. The beds were comfortable. The top floor shower roon was, perhaps, a little snug and not suitable for everyone but that didn't spoil our enjoyment. Best of friendly! Best wishes , Barbara and Jackson the dog.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, and highlighting the rare benefit offered by this cottage of private off-street parking. We are glad all three of you enjoyed your stay! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Barbara4.4Oct 2021

  • "Great location & size of cottage."

    We also really enjoyed the views from the balcony. Unfortunately it was pretty dirty - lots of dog hair, dirt & dust everywhere. Even the washing machine was full of dirt (& a dirty cloth).

    Thank you for your feedback Mrs Hale. Please accept our apologies, Lakelovers look after the cleaning for Wainwright Cottage and this matter has been reported to the Housekeeping Manager, as this falls well below our expected standards. We will be monitoring this going forward. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and hope to see you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carrie2.8Aug 2021

  • "The cottage was lovely and spacious however, it felt damp."

    Biscuits in the cupboards were soft after one day. Towels never dried once they had been used. We were able to wash clothes in the cottage but then had to visit the launderette to dry them. The sun terrace never saw the sun. It was in the shade the whole week. The location was excellent and when we had a concern about the front door lock it was attended to promptly. We were disappointed that the cottage didn’t have WiFi and the T.V. in one of the bedrooms didn’t work.

    Thank you for your feedback Mrs Brown We appreciate the time taken to send your observations which we have now discussed with the owner. As the damp issue hasn't been reported before the owner is going to investigate further. In response to your comment re wifi, the owners has now installed WiFi (over the August Bank Holiday). Thank you once again for your feedback and we do hope to see you again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Adele3.8Aug 2021

  • "Positives: Great location Great to have a parking space Comfortable beds Negatives: Entrance area needs a clean up No welcome pack - not even a pint of milk in the fridge Welcome pack a mess Parking permit expired last October Cleaning not up to standard - some dirty plates/pans."

    If walking around barefoot then feet were black! Missing blind in lounge Tap in kitchen leaks and is loose. Old pans need replacing/mismatched lids Items left in dishwasher Toilet flush loose in main bathroom En-suite shower tiny - if you are above 5ft 5 forget it Shaving light not working Attention to detail in general really lacking Outside spaces a mess - autumn leaves still left to rot. Outside furniture dirty Blackout curtains needed in both bedrooms In general it shows that there is no care by owners or Lakelovers- for the amount they charge it is not on really. We wouldn’t come back.

    Thank you very much for your comments Mrs Moran and for taking the time to let us know your thoughts. Customer feedback is very important to help us continually improve our standards. We are sorry to hear about all the issues you encountered at the cottage, I understand Lakelovers maintenance attended as per your request regarding the TV, unfortunately we weren't aware of any other issues you had as we could have resolved them at the same time. I have passed your comments onto the Lakelovers housekeeping team to look into your concerns regarding cleanliness etc. once again we would have returned to help with your concerns. As the cottage hadn't been in use earlier this year due to lockdown this may have caused the issues you encountered to the outside area, the owner will address this moving forward. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jo2.5Jul 2021

  • "The cottage has plenty of space with bedrooms that have good views."

    The kitchen is well equipped. The cottage is well situated for the town centre of Ambleside, which is only a short walk away. It benefits from its own parking space. It is disappointing that there is no wifi, this I feel should be mentioned on the listing. The shower room in the bedroom is very small and could be difficult to access. The entry to the cottage could be improved to enhance its overall appearance without too much effort

    Thank you very much for your comments and for taking the time to let us know your thoughts. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Wainwright Cottage and the owner has taken on board all your comments. Regarding the wifi, the owners have now installed WiFi (over the August Bank Holiday) Thank you for your comments once again and we hope it doesn't deter you from booking with us next time. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Martin3.8Jun 2021

  • "There were 3 problems on arrival at Wainwright Cottage on 12 April: The boiler was not working and the house was freezing."

    It took well over an hour to get through to the appropriate person on the phone. The property did not have WiFi. On the basis of these issues I made a decision to book a different property and am very grateful for the kindness of Leah in Customer Service who assisted me to do this. It seemed to me the only way to ensure a good quality break for my son and I. Clearly this has resulted in an extremely expensive holiday. I understand that the heating in Wainwright Cottage was repaired later that evening. I still consider that for such a short break, the length of time spent on hold before getting through, and the delay in having any heating would have significantly affected the quality of our stay. The increased customer demand due to change in travel rules, and potential for problems in properties which had previously been empty, should have been anticipated and additional staff made available. Regarding the lack of WiFi, I understand that this was an error on our part that we did not recognise this on booking. However, in the context of a pandemic, with no public WiFi options (eg local cafe), and for a town property (which was not cheap), where it is clear that an off grid rural retreat is not being sought, I firmly believe that it would have been more reasonable to explicitly mention in the property details that WiFi was not provided. If this is standard practice for the holiday cottage industry in 2021, I feel it is lagging behind modern life, where WiFi has become a virtually essential utility, particularly in a pandemic. I am sure we are not the only customers to have made such an error, and will be interested to seek the views of consumer organisations. I fully understand that the second property was booked in the knowledge that there would be no refund for the first. However there seemed no other reasonable option after an 8 hr journey. As a busy NHS worker, holiday time is precious, and it was vital to salvage a good holiday experience with my teenage son. As a loyal Lakelovers customer of many years, who has previously written only positive reviews, I am extremely disappointed with this overall experience and hope it is not representative of the move to Sykes. I would appreciate further consideration of the issues raised. See also response to COR-205969-CF sent 14/04/21 and review of 2 Rothay Holme Cottages.

    Reviewed by Helen3.1Apr 2021

  • "It was a lovely break in Ambleside, if not a little strange in current restrictions."

    Wainwright cottage was very lovely and cozy and we loved Ambleside. Plenty of pubs, bars and restaurants and shopping too within walking distance. Great walks on your doorstep, no need to use the car! Little feedback for the owner, a few logs to get us started and a little welcome pack would have gone down well, a little touch goes a long way! Plus it’s Dec, we saw the Christmas tree in the cupboard, get it up and spread a little Christmas cheer in these strange times!!! Overall we loved the cottage, always great service from Lake Lovers abs would definitely recommend.

    Reviewed by Jill4.4Dec 2020

  • "Lovely, spacious downstairs living space with cosy feel - perfect for the dog."

    Porch very useful for walking gear. Lovely and warm. Main bathroom beautiful.

    B RichardsonNov -0001

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.


  • Two bedrooms with TV, black-out curtain linings and hairdryers: 1 x first floor king with en-suite bathroom, 1 x second floor king with en-suite shower room
  • Open plan sitting room with kitchen and dining areas
  • Gas central heating
  • Wood burning stove (wood not provided)
  • Electric oven with gas hob, microwave, coffee machine, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, washer/dryer , 3 x Smart TV, DVD, WiFi, Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Private parking for 1 car, Garden roof terrace with furniture
  • Enclosed rear yard
  • One well-behaved dog welcome
  • Shop 0.2 miles, pub 0.2 miles, river 0.2 miles
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250

The property

Enjoying a peaceful location, tucked away in the heart of bustling Ambleside, stone-built Wainwright Cottage offers couples and families a fabulous getaway to the Lake District.

Generous living space with an open-plan kitchen, two splendid bedrooms both with private bathing facilities, and a roof-terrace with a view makes Wainwright Cottage a very special base from which to explore the central Lake District and beyond.

Once you have parked in the courtyard outside the property, enter through the charming porch with its practical slate floor offering plenty of space for walking boots and outdoor gear.

The porch leads into the spacious sitting room where you can sit back in front of the welcoming wood burning stove.

Relax while watching TV, reading a good book or playing games and chatting, perfect for cosy nights in. The large-cottage kitchen/diner is slightly elevated from the sitting room by a stone step up and separated with a dividing pillar.

The classically styled kitchen with modern appliances is the perfect setting to cook delicious meals and share treats with family and friends around the lime-washed dining table.

A door from the kitchen leads to a enclosed rear yard, perfect for a cheeky glass of wine when taking a break from the cooking. A cottage-staircase leads from the sitting room up to the first of the fabulous king size bedrooms.

This one has a lovely iron bed, luxury bathroom with free-standing, double-ended bath as well as access to the west-facing roof terrace from which to enjoy sunsets over Loughrigg Fell.

A second flight of cottage-stairs takes guests to the remaining king size bedroom with ensuite shower room and views towards Fairfield Peak.

Both bedrooms have black-out curtain linings, so guests can enjoy undisturbed mornings to fully re-charge. There is a lockable store in the courtyard for several bikes, shared with one other holiday cottage. Ambleside is home to a stunning choice of eateries, cosy pubs and independent cinemas.

Explore the vibrant streets of the town, visit the Armitt Museum and Library, take a trip to the picturesque Bridge House, or browse the specialist, independent shops and expert outdoor centres stocked with the very best equipment for outdoor enthusiasts.

Enjoy leisurely strolls from Wainwright Cottage to Rothay Park with a picnic by Scandale Beck or stop in the children's play park.

If you are feeling more adventurous, one option is to continue through the park to Todd Crag where you will experience wonderful views down the length of Lake Windermere.

Experience the great outdoors with a walk or cycle ride from the cottage, or easily explore further afield as Ambleside is nestled centrally in the heart of the Lake District affording easy access to the surrounding countryside.

For those wishing to enjoy the water, head to one of the nearby lakes, the closest of which is Lake Windermere.

Embark on a boat trip, either using the ferry service or hire a boat, to enjoy the spectacular views and reflections afforded by the surrounding mountains while exploring the lake.

Alternatively, try paddle boarding, kayaking or a host of other water sports that are on offer.

Delve into the past, with visits to the many historic castles, abbeys and churches, for a unique insight into the history of the area, or take a drive to the Ullswater Valley and explore the stunning scenery.

With so much to see and do, even a rainy Lake District day can’t dampen the fun, and a warm welcome always awaits at Wainwright Cottage.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location


Grasmere 4.4 miles; Windermere 4.7 miles; Keswick 16.7 miles.

Lying at the northern tip of Lake Windermere, England’s largest lake, Ambleside makes a superb base for touring the central Lakes, with Grasmere and the Langdale Valley just a short drive away. There is plenty to do here - cruises, boat trips and watersports on Lake Windermere itself and numerous shops, restaurants and pubs in the village to suit all tastes. On the lakeside at Waterhead, the parkland offers lovely views down the lake and a short stretch of beach, whilst a walk in the other direction, following Stock Ghyll through woodland, will bring you to the entrancing waterfall of Stock Ghyll Force. Along with the Lake and the great walking on offer, Ambleside is also famous for its annual rushbearing ceremony and the diminutive 17th century “Bridge House” - one of the most photographed buildings in the Lake District and now the National Trust Information Centre.

View more holiday cottages in Ambleside

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas