Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Lake District 2 minutes ago

6 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 28 View Image Gallery
  • Fairhaven - Lake District - 1041549 - photo 1


(Ref. 1041549)

Bowness, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No


  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • location (13)
  • house (11)
  • no (10)
  • property (9)
  • clean (9)
  • lovely (9)

26 Customer Reviews

  • "This was our second stay over the New Year period as we love Bowness."

    The property was very comfortable and welcoming with Christmas trees in both reception rooms and a welcome bottle of Fizz. The gas fire in the sitting room was lovely in the evenings after long walks in the rain. It is really conveniently located as it is a short stroll into Bowness where there are ample shops, restaurants and bars. The start of the walk to Brantfell is just at the top of the road and the Bowness Ferry to Far Sawrey is a round a mile from the house which gives access to many different walks. The only drawback was that the fire and carbon monoxide detectors were out of date. The televisions only have access to terrestrial channels, however at this time of the year there was plenty to watch on the evenings we stayed in. We loved the house and location so much, we have already booked again for next year.

    Thank you for staying at our Fairhaven for New Year 12 Months ago and again last month. We look forward to welcoming you again in a years time! We were at Fairhaven 3 days ago to check things over and take down the Christmas decorations and of course removed the out of date detector! Purchased January 2017 the box noted a guaranteed life of 7 years and as I guess expected these days, not a day longer! New one purchased which will shortly be sited. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay - Thanks again! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Elaine4.7Dec 2023

  • "I have stayed at fairhaven more than 24 times over the last 23 years it is a wonderful warm and very comfortable property ideally located for all amenities."

    It has every thing you could possibly need an moor I have never had any problems with the property it is always in excellent condition. I look forward to returning again .

    Thank you so much for your feedback, it is great to hear you have again enjoyed your stay at Fairhaven. We are very pleased that you had everything you needed. These nice comments make it so worthwhile putting a lot of effort into keeping Fairhaven in good shape. Thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Nov 2023

  • "Property is a fantastic holiday home in a brilliant location Credit to its ..."

    Property is a fantastic holiday home in a brilliant location Credit to its owners and has everything needed for a break in a beautiful part of the uk

    Thank you for your kind feedback. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your 3rd week of the year at Fairhaven and have already booked for next year. We went up ourselves last month on a maintenance visit. Having recently renewed all mattresses we have now renewed the 2 Kingsize bases and also attended to several other items including additional smoke alarms to try and keep Fairhaven in good shape. Thank you again, we appreciate your comments. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Graham5.0Oct 2023

  • "The house was well equipped, and in a lovely position ( although I struggled to get up and down the lane ) The only thing was the cleanliness of the property."

    On arriving there was a strong musty smell. I thing they are just dusting and not cleaning. The dressing table in the main bedroom had ground in dirt all round, also the hand rail up the stairs was very sticky and when I wiped it down, it was very dirty. I also had to clean the table mats, and the area in the kitchen where the trays are kept, was dusty and dirty. The table in the lounge ( the bottom shelf was very dusty) The back of the bathroom taps need a good clean, also the corners of the floor. I lot of marks on the walls. After saying that it did not spoil our holiday, but I thought the owners should know.

    We are sorry you had some issues with the cleaning. Looking back at the last 20 guests comments we received 100% for cleanliness on 14 of them, 75% on 4 and 50% on 2, including yours. Our regular visits find Fairhaven exceptionally clean. Obviously something amiss on your visit and we apologise for that although the problems were not serious enough to spoil your holiday, thank goodness. There are 2 different routes to Fairhaven, both apply to walking or by car. Brantfell Road is a fairly steep hill but Langrigge Drive is much easier and still only about 5/6 minutes walk to the centre of Bowness as shown on the notice board and I believe also on the directions given by Lakelovers. We are very pleased that over the last 12 months we have had 45 bookings, mostly full weeks and 15 which were repeat bookings. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Y3.4Aug 2023

  • "We had an issue with the refuse collection on the second week and despite."

    Phoning on at least 4 occasions from Thursday and been told someone would assist by making some room in the bin we ended up leaving the bin overflowing as no body attended

    I am sorry that the refuse collectors did not perform their duties - I am assuming a week was missed, as there should be plenty of room in the wheelie for a week's refuse. Overflowing bins are so unsightly and unhygienic. I would like to know whether it was a missed week or some other issue so I can look into this. Thank You for your feedback and for the high score you have given for everything else. I know you have another week booked in October and trust you will not be inconvenienced in the same way. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Graham4.7Jun 2023

  • "Fabulous house, quiet location but only minutes walk to the centre of Bowness."

    Private parking is a real bonus in a busy town. The house itself had every appliance and facility you could require. The rooms all well furnished and spacious with pleasant views from the windows. The garden was ideal for a quiet drink in the evening sun. Two routes to town, one a bit steep coming back the other much easier and very pleasant short walk. Would definitely book again.

    We are really pleased you enjoyed your week at Fairhaven. We think we have a great and convenient position. Thank You for your lovely comments and hopefully you will return. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robert4.7Jun 2023

  • "We had such a lovely time staying here, the owners had put a lot of effort into even the smallest details and it was hugely appreciated."

    We would definitely come back!

    Well thank You for your kind words. We do our best and visit Fairhaven as much as we can in between bookings and taking the odd blank days where we have a short booking. This is so we can keep our eye on things and make improvements where we can with the help of our House-keeper/Cleaner. We hope to see you again! Thank You. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kate5.0May 2023

  • "4 happy and delighted ladies over pension age had a wonderful weeks holiday in Fairhaven, thanks to the thoughtfulness and kindness of the owners."

    The property is well equipped, good size bedrooms and downstairs accommodation. A very quiet and relaxing garden, equipped with outside dinning table and chairs. Please do feed the birds! 2 showers and 2 toilets and a bath it was ideal. Thank you to the owners for the free bottle of wine. It was the booking company who let us down by not replying to our email for more info on size of freezer and if a hairdryer was supplied. I can now assure future visitors that 2 hairdryers can be located in the bottom drawer of the bedroom with the clock. And the freezer has 4 drawers. For those with plenty of clothes, a cloakroom downstairs by the front door and massive wardrobes upstairs. Suitcases can be hidden away. The short walk up to the property ( which is perfect for the lake, shopping and restaurants) can be a physical challenge for those unsteady on their feet , but another route via Langrigge Drive is less challenging, we only had l person in our group who had a problem with the shorter steeper route. If I had to suggest one thing that would be to have blackout curtains in one of the double bedrooms! We would all love to come back, would not hesitate in rebooking!

    Thank You for your lovely comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Fairhaven and would be delighted if you were to return. We do our best to look after Fairhaven and keep it in good shape for our guests and for our own few visits. We had 19 bookings from guests who had previously stayed including one of over 20 visits which is very pleasing and makes our efforts worthwhile. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Judith4.7May 2023

  • "One of our party was with her husband in the single beds."

    The bed by the window they said was very spongy and uncomfortable ? needs mattress change. One of our party went through the book provided and did not see anything to suggest that recyling should all go in the same bin. In our area we have 3 separate bins! and hence we left bottles, etc on kitchen table. Very enjoyable break in a well stocked property.

    Thank you for staying at Fairhaven and for giving us a 94% overall score. I am sorry that one of the single beds was uncomfortable for you even though they were very expensive and are only 3 years 3 months old. I am not sure which book you are referring to in connection with the refuse, but we have 2 wheelie bins. One is clearly marked "Garden Refuse only" and the other "everything except Garden Refuse". I know there are many different rules around our country with various types of bins and boxes which is why we have made it clear as to what the arrangements are at Fairhaven. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kate4.7Mar 2023

  • "The drawer and cupboard handles in the kitchen were not not clean on the underside."

    The vacuum cleaner hadn’t been emptied and there was some vegetable debris in one of the cupboards. There was a bad smell in the downstairs bathroom after we used the washing machine, although this improved once the shower had been used. The kitchen was very well laid out and well equipped. The upstairs bathroom was lovely and very spacious. We thought the beds were very comfortable and there was loads of space for clothes. We were 4 adults and there was plenty of room. The living room is cosy and the Christmas trees and decorations were fantastic. It would be helpful to make it clear that the Wi-Fi is limited to general usage and not for streaming and a smart tv would enhance the stay. Secure bike storage would also be an advantage The location is amazing, so quiet but within a very short stroll to all the amenities Bowness has to offer and overall we had a lovely holiday so much so that we have booked for next year.

    Thank you for your comments. The kitchen cupboard handles have a rubber finish underneath which may be the reason for them feeling sticky. We are sorry the vacuum cleaner was not emptied and one of the cupboards had some veg' debris left - our regular cleaner was on holiday which may account for that. We don't know why using the washer should cause a smell in the bathroom but glad that using the shower may have solved that. Anyway you seemed pleased with everything else, thank you, including the comfort of the beds, and so much so that you have already re-booked for next New Year. We are so glad that you had a lovely holiday and look forward to you returning. There is secure storage for 2 bikes behind the garage which you may not have seen - It may be possible to lock another bike or two there also. Thank you for staying at Fairhaven. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Elaine3.8Dec 2022

  • "We love Fairhaven as we have been many times."

    Great location which is key for us but the place itself is clean, comfortable and we love that it is decorated for Christmas. We can’t wait to return.

    Thank you so much for your comments. We love it too! We look forward to you coming again. We first purchased Fairhaven in 1997 but had to sell after 5 years due to a few personal problems. We were able to buy it back 4 years later and we love its ideal position a few minutes walk to the village and the lake, but in a quiet elevated hideaway with plenty of parking space. We look after Fairhaven even more than our own home, Fairways, in Cheshire. Thank you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tina5.0Dec 2022

  • "Mattress on the master bed is terrible."

    All the doors and floorboards are very creaky. Some maintenance is required. Location is very good and it was nice to have a dishwasher and washing machine.

    Thank you for taking the time to send your feedback after your recent stay at Fairhaven. We are disappointed to hear about the issues you found at the property. We are sorry the mattress wasn't to your liking, comfort level is personal choice and depends on each individual preference. We haven’t received any comments from previous guests and the next guests who stayed regarding this or the creaky floorboards or doors. This property usually receives consistent high scores, along with excellent feedback from guests and has many repeat bookers, however we take all feedback seriously and have passed your comments onto the owner who has taken on board your concerns. Thank you once again for your feedback, The Lakelovers team .... As the owner I have to say this feedback is very strange, especially as the guests immediately before and after have both given 100% in all categories. The later guests gave Fairhaven a score of 100% but did not leave a comment and so their score is not shown. I slept on the Master Bedroom mattress early in December and still find it very comfortable. We try hard to keep Fairhaven in tip top condition and want all our guests to be very happy. I have emailed the guest and asked for clarification of his comments but he has chosen not to respond. We renewed the mattresses in the twin room earlier this year and have ordered new ones for the 2 Kingsize beds which should be in place in the next few weeks even though we consider they are not yet due for replacement. We were also given a good review by the Tourist Inspector at their recent visit where they stated the beds were of good quality. The 4**** Certificate can be seen on our notice board. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stuart3.4Oct 2022

  • "Great homely accommodation felt relaxed from the minute we walked in Fair ..."

    Great homely accommodation felt relaxed from the minute we walked in Fair haven is a great family friendly accommodation and an absolute credit to the owners see you next year Regards Graham ,Janet ,Matt

    Thank you very much. We are very pleased with your comments especially as you stayed for 2 weeks earlier in the year, indicating you enjoyed your stay enough to return so quickly. We look forward to your next visit. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Graham5.0Oct 2022

  • "We visit the lakes every year, this is the best place we have stayed, a nice house, very clean with a nice little garden with plenty of space in the house and fully equipped, almost like a home from home and right in Bowness, we will be rebooking for another visit."

    There is one minor problem, the mattresses on the double beds are a bit tired and need replacing.

    Thank you so much. We are very pleased you found Fairhaven to be the best place you have stayed. Our Guests who have stayed the longest have just booked their 19th week! We were there a few weeks ago and realise the Kingsize mattresses do have a slight dip and have considered renewing them. The problem we face is many guests are still saying how comfortable they are and I actually sleep better there than anywhere! I know some prefer firm and others soft - these are medium to soft and high quality. However we will probably replace them soon and hope our guests like them at least as much! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Geoffrey4.7Sep 2022

  • "Nice house."

    Less than 5min walk into Bowness good size bedrooms and large bathroom.quiet area where house is.short steep walk back from Bowness but if I can do it most people can.( Cumbria is known for hills and Mountains) Would I stay again..Yes..

    Thank you for your kind comments. Yes there is a steep hill but perhaps you did not find the other route which is not steep and which takes you to the centre of the shopping area. Our notice board has the details. The distance is about the same to the shops and maybe 10 mins walk to the lake. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tony4.1Jul 2022

  • "Great property very clean tidy all you require for a great break in a fantastic ..."

    Great property very clean tidy all you require for a great break in a fantastic part of the world We had an issue with the washer and this was sorted in a timely manor with the owner and the agent keeping us updated 10 star rating for a fantastic property

    Thank you for your feedback that is very kind. We are so glad you enjoyed staying at Fairhaven and look forward to you returning in October later this year. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Graham5.0Jun 2022

  • "I have hired this holiday home over the last 25 years around 16 times it never fails to impress warm comfortable and very quiet in a fantastic location the owners take great pride in keeping the property in tip top condition if you are thinking of visiting the lakes this is great property in an ideal location."

    Thank you for your kind words and I can confirm that you have indeed stayed at Fairhaven about 16 weeks and you always leave it clean and tidy. We do our best to keep Fairhaven in good shape and continuously put much of the income back in so we can do that. We hope you manage to return again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael5.0May 2022

  • "Family friendly accommodation - nice homely feel, interior pictures good representation."

    Suited our 3 generation group. Lots of plus points - clean, spacious bedrooms and bathroom, well maintained, parking for 2 cars. Garden had good outdoor seating, back garden a bit smaller than expected but still lovely.

    Thank You for your kind comments. We hope you enjoyed your week at Fairhaven. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen4.7Apr 2022

  • "Lovely, warm, clean house in fantastic location."

    Many thanks for your positive feedback. I hope you will visit again. Ian Thompson Property Owner

    Reviewed by Martin5.0Dec 2021

  • "The house is 3 mins away from the middle of Bowness an excellent location."

    A large comfortable house with plenty of room for everyone. Everything you could possibly need for a holiday.

    Many thanks for the feedback. We are so pleased you were happy with everything and we do our best to please. We look forward to you hopefully coming again. Ian Thompson Property Owner

    Reviewed by Maddie5.0Aug 2021

  • "Lovely house"

    Reviewed by Richard5.0Jun 2021

  • "The location was brilliant."

    The house was perfectly clean and very well-equipped. So nice to have the garden to sit out in too. A complimentary bottle of wine was a lovely touch. We’d recommend it to other families with small children!

    Reviewed by Sharon5.0Jun 2021

  • "Great place and location not too far out of town and only about 100yards away ..."

    Great place and location not too far out of town and only about 100yards away from one of the walks you can go on would definitely stay again if available

    Reviewed by Shaun5.0Apr 2021

  • "We had a great holiday."

    Fairhaven has plenty of space for our family of five, had everything we needed and is in a great location. We would definitely consider booking it again.

    Ms FarrarOct 2019

  • "The property was a lovely, warm family home."

    The house had everything you required. It had a lovely small garden at the back to sit out on. I would comfortably tell friends and family about it.

    Ms JackOct 2019

  • "The house was clean, well-equipped and in a great location for exploring the Lakes."

    Mrs SykesJun 2019

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.


  • Over 2 floors
  • 3 x bedrooms; 2 x king size, 1 x twin bedroom
  • house bathroom and additional shower room
  • Lounge
  • Kitchen
  • dining room
  • Garden
  • Furnished patio
  • Private parking
  • Gas central heatin
  • Living flame gas fire
  • Seasonal lake glimpses
  • Electric oven & hob
  • Dishwasher & microwave
  • Fridge & freezer
  • Washing machine and tumble dryer
  • Short stroll to village & lake
  • Enclosed garden with furniture
  • Two private parking spaces on drive
  • Bed linen and towels provided
  • Cot and highchair provided (guests need to bring own cot linen)

The property

Fairhaven is a quaint and comfortable holiday cottage located just to the north of Bowness village, in a sleepy spot away from traffic and noise, yet just a short walk from the local pubs, shops, restaurants and the shores of the mighty Lake Windermere.

The property has a number of luxury features including well proportioned rooms and a pretty garden with a furnished patio area.

There’s also a large wide screen TV and Wi-Fi to help keep you entertained, whilst keen cooks will find the kitchen and separate dining room are the perfect combination for intimate family meals or larger lavish dinner parties. Sleeping up to six guests over three bedrooms, this property is ideal for larger families or groups of friends who are looking to spend some quality time together in one of the most sought after spots in the Lake District.

Bowness is a great base for outdoor activities such as walking, cycling and of course fun on the water and so you’ll never be stuck for an adventure.

Alternatively, relax and unwind at Fairhaven or in the vibrant village that lies right on your doorstep.

Travel cot and highchair available at property, guests need to provide own cot linen

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Windermere Train Station 1.5 miles: Ambleside 5 miles; Kendal 7 miles.

The vibrant twin towns of Bowness and Windermere hold enduring appeal for visitors to the Lake District National Park, with each providing a range of nearby attractions, amenities, cinema, shops and restaurants to suit all tastes. A variety of boat trips and boat hire are available from Windermere Lake Cruises in Bowness to Brockhole, Ambleside and Lakeside (at the southern end of the lake where the Lakeside Aquarium and the Lakeside and Haverthwaite Railway are situated). The World of Beatrix Potter Attraction and the Old Laundry Theatre are 1.5 miles away. Orrest Head, where Alfred Wainwright was inspired to write his series of iconic guidebooks, is a 30-minute walk to enjoy the spectacular panorama of far-reaching views over the lake and surrounding fells. Brockhole, which offers high wire tree top experiences, is three miles away, and the historic villages of Grasmere, Ambleside and Troutbeck are a short drive away. There is also a variety of watersports on offer for the more energetic at marine centres along the lake. The area is ideally situated for exploring all that this region has to offer, whether by foot, bike, car, railway or bus; and is within easy reach of attractions such as the spectacular Langdales, Beatrix Potter’s Hill Top House at Far Sawrey, Coniston, Grizedale Forest Park, with its delightful walks and famous outdoor sculptures, mountain biking and 'Go-Ape' adventure park, Ullswater, Kendal, Keswick, stone circles, Roman forts and England's highest mountain, Scafell Pike.

View more holiday cottages in Bowness-on-windermere

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas