Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

1 customer booked Glebe Holme in the last 24 hours

1 of 17 View Image Gallery
  • Glebe Holme - Lake District - 1043154 - photo 1
close

Glebe Holme

(Ref. 1043154)

Bowness, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map

4.6

Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Sky TV
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • location (12)
  • our (11)
  • property (11)
  • stay (10)
  • hot (9)
  • no (9)

23 Customer Reviews

  • "Beautiful property and in an ideal location for lots of walks around Bo'ness."

    Hot tub was super! Open plan kitchen/living area was perfect, with everything you could possibly need for a holiday stay. My only suggestion would be to improve mattresses on single beds. When being used by adults, they were not hugely comfy and one mattress didn't even have a mattress protector so all the indents from mattress could be felt. However, genuinely perfect property!

    Reviewed by Fiona4.7Jul 2024

  • "On returning this year we found the ensuite plug would not stay down so had to have tap running when shaving Again this year the ensuite mirror light wasn't working A few of the doors were catching that needs easing A few stains were on the towels that weren't there last year There was rubbish in 1 of the wheelie bins which was half full when we arrived , so on leaving unfortunately we also ended up leaving about the same which we apologise for but apart from taking it away with us we had no other choice Also a guy turned up on Thursday to trim up the neighbouring bush and filled 1 of the empty bins up with all the cuttings which didn't happen last year In all though a great property where we all said we would return to again."

    .......

    Reviewed by Marc4.4Jul 2024

  • "Myself and Family had a Fabulous week in the holiday property it had everything ..."

    Myself and Family had a Fabulous week in the holiday property it had everything we needed and more situated in an ideal position for day's out Such a Lovely place to stay will definitely come back without any hesitance Fabulous Place

    Reviewed by Linda4.7Jun 2024

  • "We had a very enjoyable week at Glebe Holme."

    Everything was as we had hoped and expected, and also very safe for our dog. We went on plenty of walks and it was ideally situated close to the lake, shops and restaurants but most importantly the ice-cream van! Highly recommended.

    Reviewed by Robert5.0May 2024

  • "Lovely stay at this gorgeous bungalow."

    The photos don’t really do the place justice. The place was spacious and had all we needed for our stay. The location is great too- we stumbled back from the local pubs a few times !

    Reviewed by Sarvdeep4.7Mar 2024

  • "We have just returned from a festive family stay and it's with a very heavy heart that we had a few issues which resulted in us having to write this complaint sadly."

    On first impressions of our property Glebe Holme was absolutely superb and It had everything possible in the pictures shown on the booking page and was perfect for our weeks stay. After settling in it was then that we realised that we couldn’t use the Hot tub as it was very cold water to which we contacted the owner about and he said that the engineer had only just been to clean it. My husband afterwards realised that the thermostat was completely down to below the advised temperature, and we managed to get it working properly in order to use but this really should have been checked by the engineer. The cleanliness of the property was unfortunately poor as Mum had to clean out bedroom drawers due to people's hairs and tissues in there before unpacking and the cutlery, plates and 1 pan still had food on them I’m sorry to say. Hair all in the sinks. We had a few issues with the state-of-the-art cookers as too technical and resulted in manuals every time we cooked but luckily had 2 brainy masterminds with us. Only minor issue but a struggle nonetheless. And the last issue which I’m so sorry to say was the absolute worst was the heating. We’ve virtually had none all week despite contacting the owner again. I'm awfully sorry but I don’t particularly agree with the owner overseeing the property heating from his own home during the property being occupied and we are convinced that he was turning it off all the time that we put it on. The property was honestly freezing at most times of the stay which then led to it being really damp. We contacted Michael about this issue a few times, but he said that he couldn’t see any faults. Even on his timed schedule, 7.30am to 11.30, the heating system either never came on at atall or went off on its own so when we changed it manually over to manual, for some reason it still wouldn’t respond and at times, the boiler system in the utility wasn't even firing up! We had pets and my parents who sadly have health conditions, and they felt the cold terrible all week, especially as we were caught out in the torrential rain showers, we had out exploring the Lakes. We came home to a dithering house. Both bathrooms had puddles in due to condensation and our towels had been wet through or cold to use as no way to dry them. Towel rails stone cold too. It seriously needs addressing and if the radiators need bleeding it should have all been checked beforehand. He said the hive heating was only 6 months old. I honestly don’t think our stay was worth £1876 as it’s been a bit of a joke and stressful at times, especially having to sit around with coats on. We expected heating to be a basic need, especially in December and with the weather we had. We left the property in accordance as requested and left it exactly as we found it. Stripped bedding and discarded our towels in the showers ready for cleaners. No good housekeeping bond of £200 was reimbursed as stated in conditions. We will continue using Sykes but definitely not staying here again.

    We are sorry to hear of your issues you say you have experienced Katrina. We make a huge effort and financial commitment into making sure the property lives up to its five star rating it has always had. Firstly, we have always felt that the Lakelover’s cleaners do a fine job and have never been informed by any guests of all the cleaning issues you have raised. We stay in the house many times ourselves and if we thought the cleaning was not up to the standard we expect for guests we would have brought this to Lakelovers attention. I can only assume this was a one-off. In relation to the heating, I can absolutely guarantee you I was not switching this off via my app at home to save on energy costs. What I think would have caused this is the fact the thermostat for the hive has been fitted in the snug room where the gas fire is. When the gas fire is on the room temperature rises above the thermostat set temperature and automatically switches the heating off in the bedrooms and hallway. I will move the thermostat to the hallway and hopefully this will solve the issue. I’m a little confused with your comment that the house being freezing most of the time and you had virtually no heating all week. I have checked the amount of energy you used during your stay via our Octopus energy app and its reading suggests you used a substantial amount of energy during your stay. Coincidentally we arrived at the house the same day you left and when we entered the house via the large kitchen area, the heat in the house was quite extreme. The thermostat said it was eighty degrees. For the full week we stayed immediately after you left we experienced none of the heating issues you described. Finally, I have had it confirmed by Lakelovers that the £200 bond was never charged to you in the first place so just a misunderstanding of the bond rules between you and the agency. Property Owner Property Owner

    Reviewed by Katrina1.9Dec 2023

  • "Great family kitchen, diner, and seating area that leads out to patio and hot tub, brilliant for families, as is the gated garden and driveway."

    . Utility room well equipped, the water was always hot, showers good, nicely carpeted comfortable sofas. The beds look good in photos, but the properties Achilles heel is the mattresses are well past their best, and need replacing. Otherwise defo one nicer holiday homes.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and the facilities. We take your comments on board. The Lakelovers Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christopher4.1Oct 2023

  • "This is a fantastic property with everything you need provided."

    It has a sky package as well as a hot tub so in relation to other properties the same, it is great value. The location is good, we park 2 large cars easily. We have stayed here 3 times now and rate it our no 1 choice out of many holiday let’s and hope to keep on returning. There are TV’s in every bedroom invaluable with children as is the small snug room . The property is alway immaculately cleaned on arrival and is a total credit to the owners.

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Aug 2023

  • "Absolutely amazing house."

    Bedrooms and bathrooms all clean. Living areas were big and spacious. Out door space was lovely and all enclosed keeping the dog safe. Would highly recommend. I will certainly be looking to book again!

    Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that the property lived up to expectations and that you enjoyed your holiday. Heart of the Lakes Owner Relations Property Owner

    Reviewed by Amy5.0Jun 2023

  • "We enjoyed our stay here, good location spacious inside and the outside area."

    Plenty of space for parking only negative for us was that we all thought the beds were uncomfortable.

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are glad that you found the location and space around the property enjoyable. Thank you for highlighting your issues with the beds, the owners will see this feedback and can action on it where necessary. Owner Relations Expert Property Owner

    Reviewed by John4.7Jun 2023

  • "A fantastic cottage finished to a high standard and well maintained The location is great, a 5 minute walk to Lake Windermere itself along qith its bars, shops and restaurants."

    A Tesco express only a 10 minute stroll into Bownes village itself Our family of 6, and 2 dogs had a great weeks stay over the late May bank holiday and are already looking to book again

    Thank you for your kind comments, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again. The Heart of the Lakes Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Marc4.7May 2023

  • "Excellent accommodation in good location, short walk to town and shoreline, towels for hot tub now provided which was much appreciated."

    Kitchen facilities and outside area very good for family use, have booked again for next year. Very happy with our holiday.

    Thank you for your kind comments, we are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back. The Heart of the Lakes Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by John5.0May 2023

  • "This holiday let is amazing, location is perfect, a very clean house, all on one level, hot tub a lovely added luxury."

    Everything has been thought of. I’m pleased I read previous reviews and knew to take something for when we’d been in the hot tub, we took beach towels for each of us to use, spare towels or robes would be useful, or to state they are definitely not included. The only negative we’d say, is the house is a bit on the cold side, the bathrooms in particular, and although our stay was over Easter it was really difficult to get the bathrooms to dry out, we were using the bath towels to try and dry them but then after going out all day and returning, the walls were still running with water and the floor was very cold. We did turn the heating up a bit, but the bathroom radiators didn’t dry them out. We ate every night in the property, instructions for everything were very clear, every utensil, pot or pan we needed were there! We discovered the Lake District and an added bonus didn’t use the car for a few days! Thank you for a lovely stay

    Thank you for your kind comments, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit. We take all comments on board. We hope to welcome you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alison4.7Apr 2023

  • "Excellent cottage very handily located for Bowness."

    Really well equipped and comfortable accommodation. Would thoroughly recommend and we'll definitely book again.

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Sep 2022

  • "Great location within walking distance of all amenities in Bowness."

    The cottage has been renovated to a lovely standard but a few things let it down; There are no pool/hot tub towels provided so we had to use the bath towels. Not great when you then needed a shower later. Also the outside area had not been cleaned, the table needed a good wipe over and there was dog poo in the garden. Fortunately we have dogs so had our own poo bags but if you are not dog lovers it would have been very unpleasant. Although the main bedroom now has a mirror on the drawers is was useless as its too low and not near a plug for the hairdryer! Lastly, I have never stayed in a property of this standard/cost before where there is no welcome pack (milk, a bottle of wine, local produce etc) provided. Not only that, the tea/coffee/sugar caddies had also been emptied and anything else other guests may have left. The agents, however had left us their own welcome gift pack - a pan scrubber, dishcloth, 2 bin bags, 3 dishwasher tablets (not enough when you are there for a week) and 20ml washing up liquid. How insulting!

    Reviewed by Frank3.8Aug 2022

  • "Lovely bungalow, great location, this is our second visit to Glebe Holme."

    There is everything you could need provided and the addition of sky on 2 TV’s when travelling with small children was a godsend for evenings. The property is comfortable and spotlessly clean with plenty of parking for anyone with large vehicles. This property is a credit to the owners.

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Aug 2022

  • "Super property."

    Well equipped. Excellent storage for coats and shoes. Could do with the washing line going across the grass instead of the patio area for dripping clothes after using the hot tub. Otherwise, pretty near perfect.

    Reviewed by Alison4.7Aug 2022

  • "Coffee machine had not been cleaned for some time so we had to clean out congealed milk."

    Main bathroom drain blocked inside shower resulting in floor needing mopping after every use.

    Reviewed by Adrian4.1Aug 2021

  • "Side door key stuck in lock but later heard this door has ongoing problems."

    On arrival no travel cot which was requested previously and took several calls to sort out so maybe a travel cot in the property would be a good idea. Although both problems sorted I had to make several calls when all I wanted was a return communication that maintenance were on their way. The problems were minor issues as the property itself is a beautiful property and has been well thought out. The sky tv was a bonus with 2 small children and location is second to none. The kitchen is well stocked and the ice dispensing fridge was a godsend in hot weather. We have already booked Glebe Holme for 2022 so need I say more.

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Aug 2021

  • "A fantastic location with amenities in walking distance."

    The property was immaculate. So good that we have booked again for next year!!!!

    Reviewed by Sara5.0Jul 2021

  • "Really nice properly, well positioned with great facilities."

    It exceeded expectations.

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Jul 2021

  • "Fantastic cottage."

    Facilities excellent as was the location. 2nd time to Bowness, would definitely stay here again.

    Reviewed by Sophie5.0Jul 2021

  • "Having the bifold doors was fantastic it really brought the outside in so you felt included wherever you are."

    The snug was lovely for the football sad we lost. We had our dog with us and great the garden was fully secure. Would definitely stay here again.

    Reviewed by Graham4.7Jul 2021

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.

Summary

  • Three bedrooms : 1 x King Size with en-suite, 1 x Double, 1 x twin, bathroom with walk-in shower, Open plan Kitchen/diner, sitting room, patio, hot tub
  • Two pets allowed
  • electric ovens and hob
  • microwave
  • dishwasher
  • fridge/freezer
  • wine cooler
  • washer
  • tumble dryer
  • gas central heating
  • underfloor heating in kitchen/dining area
  • Wi-Fi
  • parking for three cars
  • 0.5 miles to Lake Windermere and Bowness-on-Windermere
  • Smart HD televisions
  • No smoking
  • Travel cot & high chair inc.

The property

Glebe Holme is a detached single storey home that is presented to a high standard to provide an ideal holiday home for 6 guests close to the shores of Lake Windermere. Situated just a few minutes walk from The Glebe which overlooks Bowness Bay where the Windermere Lake Cruises depart to sail up and down the lake taking passengers to Ambleside and Lakeside.

Stepping inside there is a spacious entrance hall which leads to the master bedroom with a king sized double bed with an ensuite wet room, there is a double bedroom and lastly a twin bedroom.

All the bedrooms have TVs.

There is a superb family bathroom with a walk-in shower.

The snug is a perfect room to relax in during the evening whilst enjoying the Sky Q with Sky Cinema.

The open plan kitchen/dining room with its bi-folding doors opening out onto the patio area with hot tub is the place where friends and families will gather to enjoy this contemporary home.

The designer kitchen has everything you need to prepare delicious meals – two ovens, microwave, wine cooler and an induction hob.

At the back of Glebe Holme there is a rear entrance hall leading to a cloakroom and utility room with a washing machine and dryer.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

WINDERMERE

Ambleside 5 miles; Kendal 8.7 miles.

The twin towns of Bowness and Windermere are both vibrant, fun-filled places set within the splendid scenery of the Lake District. Both towns provide a range of amenities, shops and restaurants to suit all tastes whilst Ambleside offers the additional attraction of a boat ride to Bowness, the Lakeside Aquarium and Beatrix Potter's 'Hill Top House' at Sawrey. Grizedale Forest Park is within easy driving distance and is home to a range of activities including many good walks, mountain biking and the 'Go Ape' adventure park. The region also boasts many National Trust properties as well as a variety of water sports for those who prefer a more adrenaline-fuelled trip. Children will enjoy a trip to the 'World of Beatrix Potter' in Bowness whilst the villages of Grasmere, Coniston Water, Kendal, Keswick and the Lakeland Mountains are all within easy reach.

View more holiday cottages in Windermere

There is a £200 Good Housekeeping deposit payable with the final balance which will be refunded subsequent to departure.