Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

1 customer booked Greystones in the last 24 hours

1 of 15 View Image Gallery
  • Greystones - Lake District - 1043126 - photo 1


(Ref. 1043126)

Bowness, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No


  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • stay (17)
  • great (15)
  • no (15)
  • location (14)
  • our (13)
  • cottage (13)

27 Customer Reviews

  • "Greystones was exceptionally clean and the beds were very comfortable."

    However, we felt that some extras would have made it perfect e.g. games and dvds for the young in case of bad weather. Some washing up liquid would have been nice and also, some tea/coffee + milk for those that had travelled several hours. Overall, a good house in a good location.

    Reviewed by Jenny3.8Mar 2024

  • "This was our second stay at Greystones."

    The property is beautiful and we had everything we needed for another wonderful stay. Only grumble was the shower didn’t work - not a huge problem but running baths was time consuming (and probably costly!) Thanks.

    Thanks for your very helpful feedback regarding the shower. As a result of your comments the shower was investigated and found to have an intermittent fault. It has now had a full overhaul and is firing on all cylinders again! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alison4.4Feb 2024

  • "We had a lovely stay at Greystones which was clean and beds comfortable."

    There isn't enough crockery for more than two people as only two bowls and smaller plates available. We managed okay because we ate out most of the time. Sofas could do with replacing as uncomfortable to sit in and TV definitely needs updating to a smart TV as not much to watch in bad weather. Only one young board game available so be good to provide a pack of cards and a couple of all ages games to enhance the stay. Parking on road was fine as out of season. Easy access to everything in Bowness on foot. We had a great week and enjoyed our stay. Would recommend and visit again. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Sarah4.1Jan 2024

  • "The property is situated in a great location as its just a short walk away to the shops and restaurants and the lake in Bowness."

    The property is well equipped and was very clean upon arrival, having everything you need for your stay. We did have a bit of trouble parking, we could never get parked outside the house as had to find a park down the road. Their is a garage to the rear of the property but our car would never have got in the garage as its quite tight! Their was also building work taking place next door and a couple of mornings were starting work at 7.30, drilling and banging. Couldn't sit out as felt uncomfortable due to the builders working. But I understand this is short term until the work is complete. Just made our stay a bit unpleasant due to the noise!

    Thank you for your feedback. Thank you for your comments, we will make sure to pass them on. We appreciate you bringing the building work to our attention. We hope to welcome you back to Greystones in the future. The owner relations team - Heart Of The Lakes Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carole4.1Aug 2023

  • "Clean property."

    Absolutely brilliant location. Mattress on double bed was really uncomfortable, barely slept. Cleaners arrived a day early, walking into the property without ringing or knocking on the door just as I got out of the shower. Needless to say we left early.

    Thank you for your recent comments. The bed is new and recommended as a great mattress by Which Best Buy, comfort of mattresses are subjective to choice. We will ask the housekeeper to continue to arrive at 10am on checkout. On behalf of owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Claire3.4Aug 2023

  • "Thank you for a lovely week in the Lakes."

    The cottage was clean, comfortable and conveniently located and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are really glad that you enjoyed the cottage and all the area had to offer. Heart of the Lakes Owner Relations Expert Property Owner

    Reviewed by Debbie5.0May 2023

  • "On arrival there was no travel cot but a quick call to heart of lakes and it was sorted within an hour."

    Excellent service. Location of the cottage is fantastic and the cost was amazing! Love the log burner, the power shower and underfloor heating (although we didnt use that, nice option though). Very happy there. The layout of the main bedroom is terrible. The bed is far too close to the base of the fireplace which meant a tripping and toe stubbing hazard. We covered it with a towel to prevent that. The bed would be better suited on the wall with the wardrobe and dresser. Also an upgrade to a king size or larger bed would finish off the room perfectly. Shower head wasn't clean, it was easy to clean but has just been overlooked. Damp/mould starting to appear on bathroom ceiling probably from people not opening the window or using the extractor fan. There was only one toilet roll on arrival, not even another in the toilet on the top floor. No tea and coffee on arrival but a cleaning pack instead. I'm not sure on the environmental impact of that.. even just a tea and coffee pack to last a day would be nice. Just something to say you're thinking of the guests and wishing them a nice stay rather than the "make sure you leave it clean" message I feel I got. 12pm checkout instead of 10am would be better also.

    Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay, we are in the process of ordering a new mattress and unfortunately we cannot change a checkout time from 10am. We do hope to welcome you back again. On behalf of owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew4.1Aug 2022

  • "We absolutely love this holiday cottage- having stayed there twice previously."

    We booked at the very last minute and the lady on the phone from Heart of the Lakes was extremely helpful. I'm sure we'll be back as we just love this area of the Lake District and the cottage has everything that we require.

    Reviewed by Andrea5.0Aug 2022

  • "Perhaps an extra toilet roll would have been great, but apart from that everything was great!"


    Reviewed by Matthew4.7Aug 2022

  • "Lovely property within walking distance of Bowmere and Windermere."

    A great base for exploring the southern lakes and homely and comfortable to stay. A useful kitchen and comfortable beds and excellent shower. The cottage is in a quiet residential street. We really enjoyed our stay. There was some noise during the day from the builders next door, but this was not intrusive. A great place.

    Reviewed by Jonathan4.7Jul 2022

  • "Great place to stay with one drawback."

    This is a terraced house.On Sunday morning 8.00 am scaffolders arrived to put scaffolding up next door. For the rest of the week we had builders next door starting work at 8.00 am and finishing at at 5.00 pm. Most of the noise was from high speed drills. I wouldn’t have booked had I know. I would think this work will take months to complete.

    We're really sorry to hear you had all that noise from the building work next door. I have contacted the owner and he has asked his site manager to restrict use of power tools at such an early hour and minimise their use generally. He has told me the renovation is reaching its final phase and will now consist mainly of decorating and carpet fitting which should create less noise. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mark3.8Jun 2022

  • "Really enjoyed our stay."

    Super clean, fab little cottage!

    Reviewed by Mel5.0May 2022

  • "We stayed at this property in April for my 50th birthday, love the lake district."

    Wonderful place to stay, very cosy and homely. Had everything we needed. Parked car with no problems and did not move the car much all week. Bus stop close by caught to Ambleside. Sat out on the sun trap terrace for glass of wine and Scrabble. Beautifully decorated and fabulous shower will definitely be staying again soon. Everything you need very close by.

    Reviewed by Angela5.0Apr 2022

  • "A lovely cosy cottage in a good position in Bowness."

    Able to walk from the door down the hill to the shops, restaurants and lake. Very clean with a well equipped kitchen and nice to have the outside seating space. Decent bathroom with a good shower. We would be very happy to stay at Greystones again. (An oilcloth or some mats for the dining table would be appreciated)

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Mar 2022

  • "We really enjoyed staying at Greystones."

    The house had lots of nice features like washing machine/dishwasher/heated airer/underfloor heating in the bathroom and kitchen so it was like a home away from home. The location was also great as it was just a couple of mins walk to Bowness with all of the pubs/restaurants. We didn't get to use the outdoor seating as it was cold but it would be lovely in the summer. The outdoor tap was very good for washing muddy trainers too. We would definitely stay here again! The only thing I would say is that the master bedroom feels much colder than the rest of the rooms in the house but if the door was left open the heat gets through!

    Reviewed by Michelle5.0Jan 2022

  • "This is a lovely cottage in a prime location."

    .. We have stayed in this cottage before and really enjoyed our stay ... I just feel that the seating is now very worn and uncomfortable but apart from that everything is lovely

    I’m sorry to hear you found the sofas in the property uncomfortable. The green sofa in the back room was replaced with a new one in February 2021. In appearance it is almost the same as the one that was there before. I opted for firm cushions on there as the other sofa in the room has feather seat and back cushions and in order for it to be at its best it really needs a good plumping and sometimes this doesn’t get done at the changeover. I suspect that prior to your visit this was the case. I will speak to HOTL Housekeeping about it to try to avoid this happening in future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Chris3.4Dec 2021

  • "The location was great, the cottage was lovely and clean."

    ..however as we were staying over Christmas and Boxing day we were disappointed that the owner had made no effort to put out even a line of tinsel. We ended up having to bring our own Christmas tree. Love Heart of the Lakes, love the location, would not go back to this cottage.

    I am sorry to hear you were disappointed that there were no Christmas decorations in the house for your stay. You enquired around the 15/9/21 as to whether or not the house would have Christmas decorations and you were informed that it would not. An assumption was made that this was acceptable to you as the booking was neither cancelled nor rearranged to alternative accommodation at that time. On reflection perhaps that assumption should not have been made. Thank you for your helpful feedback and in future I will offer the option of Christmas decorations to those who book that week. Property Owner

    Reviewed by R3.8Dec 2021

  • "We had a great stay at Greystones."

    The house was very comfortable and the instructions for the different facilities were clear. The location was good for shops and walks for us, as we didn't have a car and could easily walk to places. The only suggestion we would make is for a curtain behind the front door as when lights were on in the evening there was no privacy for people coming down the stairs (can be seen from the street). Bur this wasn't a big issue. Also many thanks for locating our daughters sheep, that was left behind!

    Reviewed by Yvonne5.0Dec 2021

  • "Brilliant tastefully furnished cottage excellent fitted kitchen with top of the ..."

    Brilliant tastefully furnished cottage excellent fitted kitchen with top of the range appliances bathroom with dual controls for the power shower over bath so you can just walk under shower when correct temperature full central heating log burner in lounge and open coal effect gas fire in dinning room just what you need in the cooler months We will certainly be going back everything you need in a holiday cottage and more Thanks to the owner for providing such outstanding levels of comfort

    Reviewed by Frank5.0Oct 2021

  • "Well appointed cottage, very clean and everything needed to enjoy a self catering holiday."

    Ideally positioned for anyone using public transport as bus stop at the bottom of the road about 100 yards from the property with buses to Bowness pier, Windermere and beyond every 20 minutes. There is an excellent restaurant / pub also at the bottom of the road, although opening times were restricted to Thursday to Sunday due to shortage of staff during our visit. Car parking could be an issue at busy times, but I always managed to find a place if not immediately outside the the front gate. All in all we had a great week's holiday.

    Reviewed by R5.0Sep 2021

  • "Lovely cottage in a great location, would definitely stay here again."

    Everything you needed was in this cottage, lovely kitchen and great shower especially. Within easy walking distance of both Windermere village and Bowness. Really enjoyed our stay here.

    Reviewed by Kate5.0Aug 2021

  • "We really enjoyed our stay at Greystone Cottage."

    The cottage was lovely inside, very well presented with original features, clean with great facilities and a nice seating area outside. The second bathroom was useful and it was in a brilliant location near all the shops, pubs and restaurants. We would stay again thank you.

    Reviewed by Charlotte5.0Jul 2021

  • "Great fully equipped cottage Location was ideal, a little way out of town but within close walking distance to restaurants etc."

    There is a small garage at the back of the property but it was also easy to park on the street outside. Note there is building work in the house next door so some noise but it did not cause us any problems

    Reviewed by Martin4.7Jun 2021

  • "Enjoyed our stay."

    Would benefit from finishing touches. No welcome tea/coffee and only 1 toilet roll for a family.

    We are sorry to hear you only had one toilet roll for your week's stay. Normally there would be one toilet roll per toilet (so two in this case) left in the property by the Heart of the Lakes cleaning service. I have followed this up with them to ensure it doesn't happen again and also, as a safety net, had extras put in the cupboards near the two loos. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Steven4.1May 2021

  • "Great house with a fantastic location and amazing scenery."

    Very comfortable and spacious! Weather was great!

    AnonymousDec 2019

  • "Lovely accommodation."

    We enjoyed the local walks straight from the property. Great location for restaurants and the cinema.

    AnonymousDec 2019

  • "A great stay in this lovely house which had everything we needed."

    Brilliant location and we made the most of not having to drive!

    AnonymousDec 2019

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.


  • Three-storey cottage
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Second-floor cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Dining room
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove
  • Gas central heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric oven and gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, TV with DVD player, WiFi
  • Underfloor heating in kitchen and bathroom
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for one car
  • Secure bike storage
  • Courtyard with seating
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Access to garage via back lane.

The property

Sitting in an ideal location within the tourist hub of Bowness-on-Windermere is this mid-terraced Edwardian property, Greystones.

Resting within walking distance of the excitement of the village, this delightful Lake District cottage is a popular year-round destination for families and couples alike.

A snug sitting room awaits your return after a day of exploring the nearby attractions, complete with a mixture of pretty pastels and neutrals bringing character to the room, plus two sofas and a woodburning stove to take comfort beside.

Wander into the contemporary kitchen to find a stylish space to prepare your meals, equipped with a handy selection of appliances, cooking utensils and crockery to assist you throughout your stay.

Underfloor heating in this room makes for a great homely feel.

Serve your home-cooked meals in the charming dining room with seating for four, offering the perfect opportunity to toast to a magnificent Lake District holiday.

As you look get some rest, upstairs there are two wonderfully presented bedrooms, including a double at the front with brass bedstead and a twin room to be occupied by children.

A spotless family bathroom with underfloor heating, hand basin, WC, P-shaped bath and shower over, is also located on this floor.

The pretty courtyard rests at the rear of the property, perfect for those outdoor lunches before embarking on a scenic walk from the door.

A short stroll will bring you to the shops and a bit further down the hill, The World of Beatrix Potter and the picturesque Bowness Bay with its steamer pier and boat hire.

What better way to explore the Lake District than on board of fabulous steamer, providing opportunity to capture the secluded bays, wooded forests and dramatic fells that make up the Lakelands?

This convenient location of Bowness-on-Windermere makes this a bustling tourist village, offering plenty of choice of pubs and restaurants.

Originally a small fishing village, Bowness has grown to provide visitors with all manner of amenities and sights.

Take yourself further into the National Park and uncover the natural scenery at Kendal, Ullswater and Coniston.

Relish a family escape to Cumbria at Greystones.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Windermere Train Station 1.5 miles: Ambleside 5 miles; Kendal 7 miles.

The vibrant twin towns of Bowness and Windermere hold enduring appeal for visitors to the Lake District National Park, with each providing a range of nearby attractions, amenities, cinema, shops and restaurants to suit all tastes. A variety of boat trips and boat hire are available from Windermere Lake Cruises in Bowness to Brockhole, Ambleside and Lakeside (at the southern end of the lake where the Lakeside Aquarium and the Lakeside and Haverthwaite Railway are situated). The World of Beatrix Potter Attraction and the Old Laundry Theatre are 1.5 miles away. Orrest Head, where Alfred Wainwright was inspired to write his series of iconic guidebooks, is a 30-minute walk to enjoy the spectacular panorama of far-reaching views over the lake and surrounding fells. Brockhole, which offers high wire tree top experiences, is three miles away, and the historic villages of Grasmere, Ambleside and Troutbeck are a short drive away. There is also a variety of watersports on offer for the more energetic at marine centres along the lake. The area is ideally situated for exploring all that this region has to offer, whether by foot, bike, car, railway or bus; and is within easy reach of attractions such as the spectacular Langdales, Beatrix Potter’s Hill Top House at Far Sawrey, Coniston, Grizedale Forest Park, with its delightful walks and famous outdoor sculptures, mountain biking and 'Go-Ape' adventure park, Ullswater, Kendal, Keswick, stone circles, Roman forts and England's highest mountain, Scafell Pike.

View more holiday cottages in Bowness-on-windermere

Note: Only the cloakroom is available on the second floor, the rest of the floor is not open to guests

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas