Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Lake District 0 minutes ago

1 of 14 View Image Gallery
  • Honeysuckle Cottage - Lake District - 1041753 - photo 1

Honeysuckle Cottage

(Ref. 1041753)

Bowness, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No


  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (15)
  • great (14)
  • location (11)
  • stay (9)
  • parking (9)
  • bed (7)

22 Customer Reviews

  • "Cottage is quaint."

    Car parking is a challenge daily.... reversing into and driving out of allocated space can be tight if cars or vans parked opposite. Steps down to the cottage are slate so can be a little slippery when wet. If you are vertically challenged like me then the steps are quite deep. Once inside the cottage the only 3 things niggled us are that the stair carpet on the inside turn at the top needs tightening up as a little saggy on edges of steps so you need to stick to the wall side or you can slip off the edge of the stair if trod on - the toilet seat still needs attention!!!!! - hubby spent the week holding the seat up as the cistern could be doing with being more narrow and then the seat would lean back enough to stay up on it's own - and finally the mattress in the main double bedroom is starting to dip in the middle of each side where they have been sat on over time - we found we tended to slide/roll to the edge of the mattress. Otherwise the cottage is perfect for a holiday home - we had a great week even if the weather was changeable. The Lake District never fails to supply a great holiday. We will be back- if the niggles are sorted.

    Thank you for your feedback. The steps get coated in anti-slip coating, and also there is an alternative back entrance for guests to use. Further to your comments about the mattress, it was new last year. We will ask our Maintenance Team to look at the toilet seat and carpet. We hope to welcome you back again. The Lakelovers Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Amanda4.4Sep 2023

  • "This cottage is in a great location - so close to all amenities in Bowness."

    Good parking, plenty of soft towels provided and generally very well equipped. The blinds could do with a clean, and the toilet seat requires attention so it stays up (3 males in the family), and this has been mentioned in reviews before, and it’s still an issue, but apart from those items, it was great.

    Thank you for your feedback, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Honeysuckle Cottage. The toilet seat and the blinds will be given immediate attention and I hope to welcome you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Melanie4.1Jul 2023

  • "Fantastic location and very clean ideal for or holiday."

    The property could do with a downstairs loo as the stairs are testing but overall property great .

    Thank you for your kind comments, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Honeysuckle Cottage. We take your suggestion on board. We hope to welcome you again. The Lakelovers Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Duncan4.4Jul 2023

  • "Everything we needed in this lovely little cottage."

    Very clean and tidy. A short walk into town and the bus stop at the end of the road, if you don't fancy driving. Definitely recommend.

    Reviewed by Janet5.0Jun 2023

  • "Good morning The only two slight things were the coffee table was very sticky not sure what it is cleaned with."

    The other was the toilet seat my partner had to hold onto the seat as it would not stand up alone I would advise a soft closing one that stands up. Great for us as a couple but not a lot of storage if 6 people were staying not a lot of room round one of the double bedrooms. Positives lovely cosy cottage very clean lovely large bathroom beds were very comfy and in a perfect position in Bowness.. Everything was provided for cooking. Great position for bus routes.Parking Perfect. We had a wonderful stay. Kind regards Jenny and Tony

    Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We take all comments on board. Thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jennifer5.0May 2023

  • "Lovely cosy cottage, excellent facilities and excellent location for amenities in Bowness."

    The space in the smaller double bedroom was very tight but that was in the information. Only other issue was the very slippy flagstones at the front of the property. We had a great New Year and would like to recommend Rastellis restaurant.

    We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Honeysuckle cottage. Thank you for alerting us to the slippy flagstones these have now been treated. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dawn4.7Dec 2022

  • "Had a lovely stay in September at Honeysuckle cottage."

    Was so convenient in Bowness - on a side street just off the main road with parking. It was such a quiet location and yet within a few steps close to the cafes, restaurants and walk down to the lake. Cottage was lovely and cosy - perfect for our stay.

    Thank you for such lovely feedback, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay and really appreciate your positive comments . We hope to welcome you again sometime at Honeysuckle Cottage Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Sep 2022

  • "Nice cottage in a good location , parking was useful as really busy , bathroom a little dated , the cleaning of the property wasnt great ,lots of spiders webs found , sticky work surfaces and tables but i think was down to the covid cleaning products used , leather look settee was in poor condition but apparently is due to be replaced this week , bedrooms a little small and very little storage in bedrooms ."

    Thank you for your feedback, we hope you had a lovely holiday. The bathroom at Honeysuckle Cottage is being updated in October and as you say, a new sofa is being delivered this week. We are surprised to read you had issues with the cleaning as our cleaner is very good and we have had a lot of high scores for cleanliness. We have however, organised for a deep clean next week. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Wayne2.8Aug 2022

  • "The property was very clean and well equipped."

    It had everything we needed. Having parking was a huge benefit. We loved the two living areas, great if you want to watch different things on the TV. The second double room is very small. A small improvement would be to provide details of a selection of walks and a list of restaurants etc. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, thank you. Ps My son loved the snuggly blankets in the twin room, to wrap himself up in downstairs.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased to read you enjoyed your holiday at Honeysuckle Cottage. The information regarding recommendations of walks, restaurants etc. was removed as a precaution during the height of the Covid pandemic. We will be be putting it back in the cottage soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Suzanne4.4Aug 2022

  • "Firstly the cottage is in a great location right off the main street of Bowness and also benefits from private parking."

    It has everything you would need to make your stay comfortable. There is not much room around the beds but this is mentioned in the description. I think the bathroom needs a little bit of TLC but overall I would return.

    Thank you very much for your comments and for taking the time to let us know your thoughts. Customer feedback is very important to help us continually improve our standards. We are happy you found the cottage comfortable and that it provided everything you needed. The owner has taken on board your feedback and has decided to refurbish the bathroom later on this year after the peak season ends. We hope you enjoyed your stay, and would love to see you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Linda3.8Jun 2022

  • "The front room had very little sunlight therefore dark and cold most the time."

    The dining room/sitting room permanently dark

    We would like to thank you for your feedback. The front room generally is very bright however the weather is very variable in The Lakes. The dining room can be dark but we like to think of this room as being cosy, especially with the log burner in action. The heating has also been on during your stay so we apologise that this temperature was not warm enough for you. We hope to welcome you back to Honeysuckle Cottage again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael3.4Jun 2022

  • "Lovely holiday"

    Reviewed by David5.0Jun 2022

  • "Honeysuckle cottage is a fantastic bolthole for a holiday in the lakes."

    The cottage is cosy, comfortable and well equipped. It was spotless when we arrived and clearly well cared for. It's central location in the town means lots of restaurants, shops and the lakeside is within walking distance. A fantastic base from which to explore the area. The only slight disappointment was that we were advised no travel cot was available at the property when I rang the number provided on the listing. However, on arrival there was a travel cot in situ. This could have saved us some space in the car on the journey up from South Wales.

    Thank you for drawing our attention to this matter, please accept our apologies for this oversight. We will amend details accordingly and are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Honeysuckle Cottage regardless. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lucy4.7May 2022

  • "A great place to come back to and curl up in front of the log fire after a long walk on the fells."

    Very cosy and clean. Great location

    Reviewed by Brian5.0Feb 2022

  • "The only issue we had was the check in and out times, even with the pandemic we feel there should be a little more flexibility, for example there were no bookings the days before and after our stay, so in instances like this there should be the option to a slightly earlier check in and or later check out."

    Other than that Great cottage, great bookings services and great stay!!

    We thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Honeysuckle Cottage. Due to extra cleaning and the limit on cleaning staff we have had to delay the check in time to 5pm to help our cleaner. We have reviewed your comments and will update check out from 11am in light of this going forward. We apologise the option wasn't there but we thank you for your comments and glad to hear you had a great stay regardless. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Clair5.0Dec 2021

  • "Mattress in main bedroom needs re-placing, had trouble all week trying to get a good sleep."

    Thank you for your recent feedback, we are glad to hear you have had a great week. Sorry you found the mattresses uncomfortable, since your stay the owner has replaced all mattresses due to this to ensure future comfort. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Richard5.0Oct 2021

  • "5 star location The cottage had everything you require when holidaying in the ..."

    5 star location The cottage had everything you require when holidaying in the lake district Child friendly - we have a 2 and 3 year old - this cottage has a good setup for children around these ages Co op 1 minute walk away and tesco 5 minute walk at bottom of hill for the standard bits Will be staying here again as ticks all our boxes for a great hub location in the lakes

    Reviewed by David5.0Sep 2021

  • "Lovely house and its closeness to Bowness was brilliant."

    The house is ideally situated for getting around, we only used the car twice in a week. We got the ferry to Ambleside and the bus to Grasmere both from Bowness. We had a brilliant week and would definitely stay here again.

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Sep 2021

  • "Cottage is situated in the middle of Bowness it was great for me and my wife, it's listed as a 6 person sleeping cottage not true, only 1 small wardrobe nothing in bedroom 2 and 3 you can't even get round one of the so called double beds in one of the rooms, you would be very disappointed if you booked 6 adults, not so if you had two small children."

    Great for parking. I would book it again but only for the 2 of us.

    Reviewed by Kevin3.1Jul 2021

  • "Great week at Honeysuckle Cottage."

    Perfect location for access to the local shops, bars and restaurants. Off street parking is very welcome.

    Reviewed by Kenneth5.0Jul 2021

  • "Absolutely loved our stay in Honeysuckle cottage ."

    .great location...very well equipped ..a quality holiday home.Would definately recommend to everyone.We loved it ❤

    Reviewed by Pam5.0Jun 2021

  • "What a super place to stay and so close to the local shops."

    The cottage was beautiful and well will presented with all the facilities we needed. We liked how the heating was timed for in the morning and early evening so we weren't worried about coming back to a cold house after a long day out. The neighbours were also very friendly and quiet. Will definitely stop again!!

    Reviewed by Hazel5.0Apr 2021

Show more

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.


  • Highly Commended for a three star property
  • Three bedrooms: 2 x double bed, 1 x twin bed
  • Property ideal for 4 adults, 2 children
  • Bathroom with bath with shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Sittting room with woodburning stove and dining area
  • Second sitting room/snug
  • Utility
  • Gas central heating with woodburning stove and electric fire in second sitting room
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, travel cot, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, TV, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel Cot available
  • Off road parking for 2 cars
  • Enclosed pation with furniture
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Pub 3 mins walk
  • Shop 5 mins walk
  • Bowness Pier and Lake Windermere 9 mins walk.

The property

This pretty, Bowness cottage is perfectly placed for exploring the village and the Lake.

With private parking and a delightful, enclosed and furnished patio for meals al-fresco, days out and returning to base to relax are well catered for.

Complete with cosy woodburning stove and Lakeland slate hearth, character exposed beams and a shaker-style fitted kitchen, you’ll find this charming bolt hole a delight to return to at the end of the day.

There's even a small second TV snug; ensuring quiet time for parents or breathing space for two couples.

Use the side door through the tiled utility room, with space for your outdoor gear.

A gallery kitchen leads through to the cosy living / dining area with exposed beams, woodburning stove set in Lakeland slate, deep-cushioned furnishings and ample dining space.

The sunny 2nd lounge / TV room has a warming coal effect fire.

Upstairs to 2 double bedrooms, additional twin bedroom and the fully tiled family-size bathroom.

As this is a traditional Lakeland cottage, space is restricted in the bedrooms.

One double bedroom has a wardrobe and chest of drawers, and the other double and twin rooms have limited hanging/storage space.

Outside you'll find a pretty enclosed patio, with furniture.

Bowness is a lively Lake District village revolving around the boating activity of Bowness Bay.

Stroll along the lake shore, take out a hire boat on Lake Windermere or enjoy a cruise on one of the famous steamers.

These Windermere Lake Cruises provide a route to Ambleside and Lakeside without even using your car.

Bowness high street has a contemporary range of shops, supermarkets and cafes, pus and restaurants and a night club, providing everything you need within strolling distance.

For the family, we recommend the World of Beatrix Potter, the Old Laundry Theatre and a cinema.

Of course, walks around here are plentiful – either short strolls with a view, or head into the Lakes on the main A591 and take your pick.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Windermere Train Station 1.5 miles: Ambleside 5 miles; Kendal 7 miles.

The vibrant twin towns of Bowness and Windermere hold enduring appeal for visitors to the Lake District National Park, with each providing a range of nearby attractions, amenities, cinema, shops and restaurants to suit all tastes. A variety of boat trips and boat hire are available from Windermere Lake Cruises in Bowness to Brockhole, Ambleside and Lakeside (at the southern end of the lake where the Lakeside Aquarium and the Lakeside and Haverthwaite Railway are situated). The World of Beatrix Potter Attraction and the Old Laundry Theatre are 1.5 miles away. Orrest Head, where Alfred Wainwright was inspired to write his series of iconic guidebooks, is a 30-minute walk to enjoy the spectacular panorama of far-reaching views over the lake and surrounding fells. Brockhole, which offers high wire tree top experiences, is three miles away, and the historic villages of Grasmere, Ambleside and Troutbeck are a short drive away. There is also a variety of watersports on offer for the more energetic at marine centres along the lake. The area is ideally situated for exploring all that this region has to offer, whether by foot, bike, car, railway or bus; and is within easy reach of attractions such as the spectacular Langdales, Beatrix Potter’s Hill Top House at Far Sawrey, Coniston, Grizedale Forest Park, with its delightful walks and famous outdoor sculptures, mountain biking and 'Go-Ape' adventure park, Ullswater, Kendal, Keswick, stone circles, Roman forts and England's highest mountain, Scafell Pike.

View more holiday cottages in Bowness-on-windermere

Steep steps to the front but flat access at the rear. Limited bedroom space

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Last minute