Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Lake District 21 minutes ago

16 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 35 View Image Gallery
  • Maple - Woodland Cottages - Lake District - 951729 - photo 1
close

Maple - Woodland Cottages

(Ref. 951729)

Bowness-on-Windermere, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map

4.7

Sykes rating

  • 10 Guests

  • 5 Bedrooms

  • 4 Bathrooms

  • Pets No

Features

  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (21)
  • tub (19)
  • hot tub (19)
  • hot (19)
  • location (18)
  • our (17)

50 Customer Reviews

  • "The property is designed well."

    It needed a really good clean. There were giant dead bluebottles all over some of the windowsills and the carpet in a couple of the rooms and an old eyeliner in one of the others. That said, the site manager is just the loveliest chap who was so helpful, sorted out some very noisy ppl in the neighbouring cottage very quickly and was always on hand for anything. He is so responsive and very helpful- a total asset. There are no hand towels in the bathrooms so take your own. Local sheep and ducks wander onto the land and enjoy free rein so look out for that. The hot tub was lovely and maintained daily which is nice. Despite the fences separating the cottage gardens they are overlooked by neighbouring cottages. So if the next cottage is using their fire- the fumes blow over whilst you’re in the hot tub, we had some kids constantly gesturing from the windows etc but best ignored. The site is well kept - the cottages are terraced so bear that in mind- you will be sharing the site with a number of others. There were some lovely local treats left which was very nice. The lake is further away than the description suggests, a good mile or so. The scenery is magnificent and it’s a beautiful part of the world. We frequent cottages in and around the U.K. - and enjoy seeing the landscape. Recommend the boat trip to Ambleside and the ride up on the milk float into the town there. There are also some lovely local shops in bowness and we had a lovely drink in one of the very local pubs on Xmas day. There’s also a cafe on Windermere that’s right next to the lake and do wonderful dipped ice cream cones. Enjoy your stay

    Thank you for your lovely feedback and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the beautiful surrounding areas. We are very sorry if you found some dead bluebottles on some window ledges as we pride ourselves on cleaning to a very high standard to give guests the best holiday experience and we are pleased that you found our maintenance team so helpful. Thank you again for your feedback Property Owner

    Reviewed by Samuel3.8Dec 2023

  • "I want to thank the oaks team for going above and beyond for us over our stay by being so friendly, accomodating and so happy to help."

    We were so impressed with everything, it was all so perfect for us. We loved every minute of it, we couldnt have dreamed for a better house and a better service. It was everything we wanted for our friends holiday and more. We hope you enjoyed having us as guests, we sure would return any day and definitely recommend The Oaks. We wish you much success with your estate in the future. Adele and friends.

    Reviewed by Adele5.0Nov 2023

  • "Enjoyed a four night midweek stay as a group of 6 adults."

    Appreciated the dedicated parking and the ability to drop off aged with mobility issues next to the property entrance. As per other reviews, there were minor blemishes etc in the property, but it is a rental, and did not detract from our stay. Good selection of kitchen items, and we managed well, appreciated the welcome pack of coffee, gingerbread and jam. Didn’t need to use the wood burner, it was July, but appreciated the very effective central heating for later rainy evenings when it got cooler. The hot tub was lovely, especially when the sun shone, with lovely views across manicured lawns to wooded areas. Very enjoyable stay for us, we would stay here again.

    Reviewed by Leslie5.0Jul 2023

  • "Absolutely loved our stay, the beds were so comfortable and lodge was lovely and clean and provided everything we needed."

    Will definitely be coming back to stay here.

    Reviewed by Jasmin5.0Jul 2023

  • "Kichen essentials should be provided, eg tin foil, black bin bags, cling film, more than one tea towel, extra toilet rolls too."

    Reviewed by David4.1May 2023

  • "This was the perfect place to stay for my friends hen party as a space to relax and a great base for all of the activities we had planned for the weekend."

    Thanks Emma for your response and we are glad you had a great time. We don't usually accept Hen parties in our properties, so you must have sneaked in and been exceptionally well behaved Hen's! Thank you! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emma5.0Mar 2023

  • "Really enjoyable stay."

    Cottage was spacious and plenty big enough for 10 people. Well equipped with everything we needed. We needed the maintenance mans help with a small problem we had, he was very polite and helpful sorted the issue quickly. Great location close enough to amenities, 20 mins walk. Lovely view from our cottage. Hope to return one day.

    Reviewed by Joanne5.0Feb 2023

  • "We had a wonderful stay - property was very clean, comfortable and well equipped x beautiful setting … Highly recommend the cottages to my family and friends - Thank you ."

    Reviewed by Ellen5.0Jan 2023

  • "The property is bright and inviting warm enough using the central heating with ..."

    The property is bright and inviting warm enough using the central heating with the plus of the wood burner on the winter evenings ,the hot tub was bliss after a day out the cottage is very clean although showing signs of needing a little tlc ie some of the hardware in bathrooms a little loose and chrome peeling but this didn't stop us enjoying a very nice long weekend with family in really picturesque surroundings

    Reviewed by Robert4.7Dec 2022

  • "Maple cottage was accurately described, but not suitable for me and my party."

    My group consisted of five adults and four young children, there was nothing on site for the children, walking into Bowness was not an option due to very narrow roads with no footpath for about 2/3rds-3/4 of the journey. So going for a walk meant having to travel by car first in order to do so. I holiday in the Lakes at least once a year and will continue to do so but not at this location. We found the cottage warm comfortable and well equipped,although a fire guard for around the wood burner would have been useful. It was the location and lack of on site facilities rather than the cottage that created issues.

    Reviewed by John3.8Nov 2022

  • "Location of the property is good and lots of interesting places to visit locally."

    The Holiday house was nice, comfortable and adequate. generally clean but the corners in the lounge had definitely not been cleaned. Everything else was good.

    Thank you for your review and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in the cleaning of our properties, therefore, we are sorry the lounge corners needed some extra attention and we will address this. If this had been identified during your stay our staff, who are on site everyday, would have done a reclean of the area for you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anne3.4Oct 2022

  • "This is the second time we have stayed at Maple."

    Since our first stay there has been noticeable differences. Maintenance wise there was various patches around the property that required attention, most notably adjacent the door architrave upstairs where plaster has been falling off. Cleanliness, the entire house was suffering with cobwebs and spiders in every corner, clear negligence in cleaning. The hot tub had a ring of scum along the sealed top when the lid had been taken off, and the water didn’t look fresh on our first night. Dining table was not clean and required a further clean before use. The ceiling in the living room was blackened by soot. Bathrooms, handles were flaking and loosing there chrome coating, alongside paintwork peeing and flaking. All this was insult to injury when we had to do 80% of the housekeepers work by stripping the beds into bags and bringing them to door for them. The central heating system was also temperamental with it turning itself on during the night. In all it is unlikely to stay again due to the disappointing upkeep of the property, who knows what it will be like in a further 12/24 months.

    Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us on your second visit to the property. We have been very lucky to have a very busy season and most of the maintenance issues that you have raised we already have in the diary to do over the winter season. The marking on the Hot Tub that you mention is from a reaction between the rubber seal, the glue and the heat from the hot tub and this is something that we have tried everything on the market to remove and is a fault in the manufacturing. The water was most definitely fresh as we pride ourselves in the care we take in doing a full empty and fill for each new guest, as well as the daily testing and recording of chemical levels. With it being your second visit you will know that we have an on-site team who would be more than happy to pop back and reclean anything that you felt wasn't up to our normal standard. The stripping of the bed linen is a request and so you do have a choice in this. We hope that our reassurance in these matters will bring you back to stay in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew3.1Sep 2022

  • "Only down side was we felt en suites were a bit small & wash basins are so small you could barely wash hands."

    This caused water to splash over the sinks onnto floor. Apart from that all fine.

    Thank you for your response and we are glad that overall you had a good stay. Some of the en suites do have a smaller sink in but this was designed so the bedrooms have more circulation space and there is a large main bathroom next to those rooms for all guests to use. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Doreen3.8Sep 2022

  • "Absolutely fantastic cottage."

    Perfect location and setting, worked brilliantly for our family group of 10. Very well equipped for all of us. Will definitely be booking again for next year.

    Thank you, we are so glad you had a memorable stay with us and we look forward to greeting you in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ronald James5.0Apr 2022

  • "We had a fantastic holiday with our grown up children and partners."

    The cottage was beautiful and very spacious, the photos don't do it justice. We spent many happy hours in the hot tub. We walked down the hill to the marina for drinks in the bar which was about a 15 minute walk. Later on after a night out in Bowness, it was a quick taxi ride back to the cottage. We will definitely return, we loved it.

    Reviewed by Rachel5.0Mar 2022

  • "Excellent property with everything you need inside for the perfect family holiday."

    Staff onsite are pleasant and helpful. The hot tub was a hit with our grandson who enjoyed seeing the ducks and sheep walk by every day. Highly recommend for family gatherings.

    Reviewed by Kathryn5.0Feb 2022

  • "Amazing, came with family for my dads 60th birthday."

    Couldn’t of wished for more. The kids loved the hot tub and the log fire was amazing. Very clean and spacious. Will 100% return and be recommending. Thank you. Zoe.

    Reviewed by Zoe5.0Jan 2022

  • "The standard of facilities was expected but basic and clearly been used many times."

    The hot tub was the real bonus for us and possibly the one reason I would recommend The Oaks.

    Reviewed by Angela4.1Oct 2021

  • "Everything was just exactly what we wanted."

    Would definitely recommend and would definitely stay again!

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Sep 2021

  • "Very good position although a little far to walk to Bowness or lake but it did not detract from the holiday."

    Useful to know we could visit the hotel for a drink or afternoon tea if we wanted which is walkable.

    Reviewed by Corinne5.0Sep 2021

  • "It was a lovely peaceful location away from the bustle of bowness and it was so ..."

    It was a lovely peaceful location away from the bustle of bowness and it was so pretty it was a bit of a walk up the hill back but at least it kept us fit There was plenty of open space for the children and they absolutely loved the hot tub

    Reviewed by Sue4.4Aug 2021

  • "Really spacious cottage in generous quiet area and grounds."

    Idea outside space with hot tub and grassy area for the Children to play out safely.

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Jul 2021

  • "The house was perfect for our family holiday."

    It was spacious, the hot tub was very popular, the grounds were lovely and it is situated in a perfect location for children's activities.

    Reviewed by Rosalind5.0Jul 2021

  • "We had an excellent stay at Maple Cottage our only drawback were the neighbours."

    The cottages are in wonderful surroundings, very peaceful and would be happy to return. Our only drawback were the neighbours.

    Reviewed by Karen4.1Jun 2021

  • "We had a fantastic holiday, gorgeous house, lovely grounds."

    My only niggle is that there was no recycling bins or glass bottle bins

    Reviewed by Angela4.7May 2021

  • "We have had a great family break at this comfortable cottage in a great location."

    Our only real problem was the fact that there was only one small freezer to accommodate 10 people. We had ordered a food delivery online to arrive on our first day of stay and struggled to find enough space for freezing. Having said that, we managed to cope. We would recommend this cottage for large groups of people.

    Reviewed by Richard4.7Aug 2020

  • "From the moment of arrival to departure everything ran like clockwork."

    The kids loved the hot tub every night to wind down after exploring the beautiful villages we visited everyday. The facilities exceeded our expectations and the cleanliness was faultless. We will definitely use Sykes again as you seem to know exactly what you are doing to help people choose exactly what they want to suit all tastes and budgets.Thank you so much

    Reviewed by Vanessa5.0Aug 2020

  • "10 of us had a fabulous time in this lovely lodge."

    It was modern, clean and very well stocked with all the facilities and equipment needed. The location was perfect with beautiful scenery and a lovely walk to Bowness. On arrival we were greeted with local home made scones and brownies, such a lovely touch that we weren't expecting! We would definitely recommend and stay here again!

    Reviewed by Kathryn5.0Mar 2020

  • "The house was very clean and spacious, hot tub and log burner were the real highlights."

    We had 5 adults and 3 children (10-14) and there was plenty of space for everyone. Beds were comfy and bathrooms plentiful.

    Reviewed by Erica5.0Dec 2019

  • "Lovely cottage great location."

    However we had problems with the cooker and the dishwasher- the cooker took hours to heat up and forever to cook anything!! and the dishwasher didnt work we had to wash everything by hand.

    Reviewed by Karen4.7Oct 2019

  • "Good accommodation, Good location, Helpful staff, Great holiday."

    Reviewed by Wynne1.3Jul 2019

  • "The holiday was fantastic, the location was brilliant, the cottage was perfect and the staff were lovely."

    We all had a thoroughly enjoyable weekend and are looking at booking again for next year!

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Jun 2019

  • "Fantastic cottage,catered for all our needs ( 10 of us )and larger than it looks!"

    beautiful location, could not fault it, will almost certainly return, had a new year to remember!

    Reviewed by F5.0Dec 2018

  • "Lovely stay!"

    Excellent facilities and loved the hot tub!

    Reviewed by Lucy5.0Nov 2018

  • "Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, so relaxing and peaceful with the added bonus of spectacular views whilst using the hot tub."

    The property was spotlessly clean and well equipped. Just one tiny complaint which was a lack of cooking utensils ie spatula, serving spoons, large chopping board, when cooking for 10 people, otherwise 10 out of 10.

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Nov 2018

  • "Fantastic holiday in the lakes."

    perfect cottage and perfect location. hope to come back

    Reviewed by Stella5.0Sep 2018

  • "The lodge was fantastic and mainly very well equipped to a high standard."

    Bedrooms / bathroom excellent. We really struggled with the cooking facilities to accommodate 8 people, definitely would have benefitted from more than one oven. The equipment however again fantastic, everything we needed. The hot-tub was really lovely but as it was raining would have been fantastic with a canapé. All in all we were very happy with everything, just a couple of minor things that would have been of benefit to my group.

    Reviewed by Nicola4.4Sep 2018

  • "Lovely property to share lovely times with friends and family"

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Aug 2018

  • "The cottage was lovely and in a good location within walking distance of Lake Windermere."

    The cottage had all the things you need for a self catering holiday and little extras such as a starter kit for the log burner and washing up pack, tea, coffee, Kendal Mint cake and fudge. We really enjoyed the use of the hot tub both in the morning and in the evening to relax with a glass of bubbly. If you don’t want to walk back up the hill to the cottage from the village taxis are really reasonably priced ranging from £3.50-£6.00 depending on how many passengers. We did the Brant Fell walk which was on a map in the cottage, it has lovely views and is OK for small children to do to. All in all this was a perfect family holiday and We would definitely book again!!!

    Reviewed by Amelia4.1Aug 2018

  • "Wow!! What a beautiful cottage"

    . The house was equipped with everything we could need and was decorated beautifully. The views were amazing and the location to the town was perfect. We had a great time spend it with friends and would definitely recommend to others as well as booking again for ourselves. Thank you so very much

    Reviewed by Elise5.0Jul 2018

  • "Perfect accommodation for a group of well travelled, retired teachers."

    The owners had thought of everything we could possibly need. A thoroughly enjoyable self-catering experience which we will hope to repeat at a future date.

    Reviewed by Geoff5.0Jun 2018

  • "Our stay at the oaks was just brilliant."

    The cottage was just as described and the outdoor space and hot tub were a great addition. A great weekend and will certainly be back.

    Reviewed by Emily5.0Jun 2018

  • "We had a week here in April, 2018."

    There were 9 adults and 1 baby, and we had an absolutely fabulous time! The hot tub was definitely a winner here! All of the rooms were nicely decorated and clean. The showers in all the bathrooms were fantastic, plenty hot and good flow. Parking for our 3 cars was easy, with two spaces just outside the house and another in an overflow car park only 50m away. Bowness itself was only a 20min walk, although some of the roads did not have a pavement. We had Chinese delivered one night (Monsoons) and another night we went into town to an Italian restaurant (Trattoria) Both were excellent. On another night, after visiting a few of the local hostelries, we got a taxi back for a very reasonable £6 (Pegasus) One small negative, the house was advertised as having a high chair, but we were advised that it didn't, so we took our own. However, on arriving, there was a high chair in the cupboard!

    Reviewed by John4.7Apr 2018

  • "Maple cottage is lovely, spacious and as described in the listing."

    The hot tub was a great addition and enjoyed by all our family. We would definitely love to stay again sometime. A small gripe, the location of the cottage shown on the map on the website is not correct. It is about a 40 minute downhill walk into Bowness. Which was not a problem.

    Reviewed by Eileen4.7Apr 2018

  • "Had a wonderful time at woodland cottages."

    A few small points for maple cottage Doors need oiled downstairs In one of the bedrooms and dining room there were cobwebs at the ceiling. It would have been useful to have a detailed map for walks in the vicinity .

    Reviewed by Joan5.0Apr 2018

  • "Had a fabulous time at this cottage had everything we needed for a weekend away ."

    Spotlessly clean , close enough to Bowness to walk there and cheap in a taxi back from a night out . Only thing I could suggest would be some information on local walks , there’s was some mention of one in the visitors file but no map present or information how to start walk . That aside had a fantastic weekend

    Reviewed by Michelle5.0Mar 2018

  • "Cottage where fab and all instruction clear and concise hopefully visit again in the autumn."

    Thank you

    Reviewed by Jane5.0Mar 2018

  • "The cottage is well furnished and comfortable and is in a good location."

    We had everything we needed to have a special weekend

    Reviewed by Stuart5.0Sep 2017

  • "Absolute amazing lodge, everything was brand new and modern."

    Fantastic location and amazing service. Can't wait to book again!

    Reviewed by Aidan5.0Sep 2017

  • "Jo, Martin and the rest of the team very helpful and friendly."

    If you needed anything they responded straight away. Will be going back.

    Reviewed by Denise5.0Aug 2017

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Five bedrooms: 1 x ground floor king-size double (zip/link, can be twin on request) with en-suite shower, basin and WC, 2 x king-size double with en-suite shower, basin and WC, 2 x king-size double (zip/link can be twin on request)
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Ground floor basin and WC
  • Kitchen with dining area
  • Utility
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove
  • LPG central heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher, Smart TV with soundbar, WiFi
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for stove inc. in rent
  • Additional fuel for stove on collection from on-site store
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair only available on request
  • Allocated off road parking for 2 cars, approx 30 yards away
  • Additional parking available at main car park approx 150 yards away
  • Undercover lockable bike rack
  • Decked area with furniture and hot tub
  • Use of communal on-site open fields and woodlands
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shops 1.3 miles, pub 1 mile
  • Note: Check-in 5pm
  • Note: Community library of books and games available free of charge at site office
  • Note: No stag/hen or similar
  • Note: For Christmas and New Year bookings only, the owner requires a Good Housekeeping bond of £200
  • Private boat available for hire with a skipper on lake Windermere, bookable with the owners at the site for an additional cost
  • Electric Vehicle charging policy; please note that due to the Estate being at electrical capacity, no EV charging can be done at this property currently, but there are EV chargers near by
  • Please note: Saturday and Sunday check in is only allowed with the owner's advance permission, If you would like to check in on these days, please contact Sykes to enquire

The property

This outstanding Lakeland cottage is set amongst beautiful woodlands on a high promontory on the edge of Bowness-on-Windermere.

As you enter this hidden glade, the many delights of this Lakeland retreat will unfold, with mature trees, fir, bracken and glimpses of the local wildlife on display.

A great location in the very heart of the Lake District National Park to enjoy a break with family and friends, simply relax in the hot tub and take in the beautiful surroundings.

This well-equipped and welcoming cottage offers a well thought out layout, featuring a spacious sitting room with picture windows to take advantage of the far-reaching views, a large screen TV and for those cold wintry nights a cosy woodburning stove.

A modern, well-equipped kitchen with open plan dining area and an adjoining utility area provide all you need to enjoy a wonderful meal with family and friends.

The ground floor also contains a bedroom with a king-size luxurious bed and a modern en-suite bathroom, a hallway and useful cloakroom.

Upstairs the cottage boasts a further four bedrooms, two with en-suites and a superb family bathroom with an inviting shower and bath for relaxing in.

From the ground floor living areas there is access to the fabulous decked area housing a luxurious hot tub, an ideal location to watch the sun dip below the trees and enjoy a well-deserved tipple.

Less than a mile away is the wonderful idiosyncratic and charming Windermere Golf Club, a most welcoming club.

A short walk takes guests down to the lake ferry where a short 'cruise' gives access to the far shores of Hawkshead, famous Coniston with the magnificent peaks of Wetherlam and the Old Man of Coniston to name but a few, as well as the magical Tarn Hows area.

All the facilities of Bowness-on-Windermere are a short drive or a longer walk from Maple Cottage and the not to be missed attractions include the hand-made chocolate shop and the wonderful walks along the Bowness promenade where the many cruise ships run down the lake to Ambleside.

Discover picturesque local walks along footpaths bordering the site, including the Dales Way which runs by the golf club and Crook and Staveley and for the more adventurous walks across to Cartmel Fell.

Further afield walk to Brant Fell which provides stunning views over Lake Windermere and its surrounding fells, including the Langdales and Crinkle Crags which are some of the most outstanding challenges in this wonderful area.

A delightful cottage in a beautiful area, ideal for family and friends to share those special moments experienced in this premier holiday destination.

Woodland Cottages

A group of seven cottages refurbished to a high standard and located just a mile away from the lakeside town of Bowness-on-Windermere. Six acres of stunning woodland surround these delightful cottages, creating a little hideaway from the outside world, yet with easy access to the attractions and sights of the Lake District National Park. There are six five bedroom cottages and one four bedroom all offering flexible bedroom arrangements with some of the properties featuring zip/link beds. All the cottages have been thoughtfully refurbished with quality and comfort in mind. Open plan living areas create social hubs for spending time with your loved ones and the woodburning stoves create a homely atmosphere at all times of the year. Not only that but all Woodland Cottages come with a fantastic hot tub allowing you to soak up your surroundings in the most relaxing way! Just a short stroll down the road is the lakeside town of Bowness complete with a variety of bars, restaurants and quaint shops. Take a cruise along Lake Windermere, England’s largest lake and admire the spectacular backdrop of the surrounding mountains. Golfers are in for a treat as the challenging Windermere Golf Club is next door to these cottages where the views are a perfect tonic for the odd wayward shot! The Lake District is of course renowned for walking and hiking and Woodland Cottages is ideally placed for exploring Brant Fell, Scafell Pike and the Crinkle Crags. There are routes to suit all abilities and views that will linger long in the memory. Whether you are up for an adventure or a relaxing getaway, Woodland Cottages is the perfect choice at any time of the year.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location

BOWNESS-ON-WINDERMERE

Windermere Train Station 1.5 miles: Ambleside 5 miles; Kendal 7 miles.

The vibrant twin towns of Bowness and Windermere hold enduring appeal for visitors to the Lake District National Park, with each providing a range of nearby attractions, amenities, shops and restaurants to suit all tastes. A variety of boat trips and boat hire are available from Windermere Lake Cruises in Bowness to Brockhole, Ambleside and Lakeside (at the southern end of the lake where the Lakeside Aquarium and the Lakeside and Haverthwaite Railway are situated). The World of Beatrix Potter attraction and the Old Laundry theatre are 1.5 miles away. Orrest Head, where Alfred Wainwright was inspired to write his series of iconic guidebooks, is a 30-minute walk to enjoy the spectacular panorama of far-reaching views over the lake and surrounding fells. Brockhole, which offers high wire tree top experiences, is less than two miles away, and the historic villages of Grasmere, Ambleside and Troutbeck are a short drive away. There are also a variety of watersports on offer for the more energetic at marine centres along the lake. The area is ideally situated for exploring all that this region has to offer, whether by foot, bike, car, railway or bus; and is within easy reach of attractions such as the spectacular Langdales, Beatrix Potter’s Hill Top House at Far Sawrey, Coniston, Grizedale Forest Park, with its delightful walks and famous outdoor sculptures, mountain biking and “Go-Ape” adventure park, Ullswater, Kendal, Keswick, stone circles, Roman forts and England's highest mountain, Scafell Pike.

View more holiday cottages in Bowness-on-windermere

Cot and highchair only available on request.

Note: Check-in 5pm

Note: No stag/hen or similar

Note: Due to the rural nature of the surroundings and the proximity of the cottages to one another, Woodland Cottages operates a noise policy for the benefit of our visitors. Guests are required to vacate outside areas by 11pm each night and keep internal noise to a minimum in consideration of your neighbours.

Electric Vehicle charging policy; please note that due to the Estate being at electrical capacity, no EV charging can be done at this property currently, but there are EV chargers near by

Please note: Saturday and Sunday check in is only allowed with the owner's advance permission, If you would like to check in on these days, please contact Sykes to enquire

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas