Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 22 View Image Gallery
  • Fieldmouse Cottage - Lake District - 1042143 - photo 1
close

Fieldmouse Cottage

(Ref. 1042143)

Coniston, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map

4.7

Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (14)
  • well (12)
  • lovely (11)
  • equipped (8)
  • location (8)
  • no (8)

21 Customer Reviews

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Fieldmouse Cottage which was extremely comfortable."

    It had excellent parking, superb views and a delightful next door neighbour who had lived there all his life. Inside the cottage was well equipped and very cosy and welcoming. It was very clean and well presented. If I had to make one negative comment it would be that the microwave was is the utility room which was outside the main cottage.

    Reviewed by Maggie5.0May 2024

  • "Excellent cottage in fabulous location."

    Very well maintained and great range of kitchen utensils, pots and pans. Views outside are outstanding and walks to the village and local pubs are great especially along the old railway track to the Ship Inn - best sticky toffee pudding anywhere!

    Thank you for the brilliant feedback..so pleased that you enjoyed the cottage, its facilities...and Coniston. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John5.0Oct 2023

  • "An absolutely fantastic cottage in every way!"

    Clean, well equipped, spacious and truly amazing views. Lots of walking from the door, or just wander down the hill into the village for breakfast/lunch in the many eateries (The Green Housekeeper is a must for breakfast!). Excellent in every way, highly recommended.

    Thank you for the fabulous feedback...I'm so pleased that you found it excellent in every way. Coniston is an amazing place! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jon5.0Aug 2023

  • "It would have been good to have some cleaner for the kitchen and bathroom available to keep it clean."

    Lovely accommodation

    Thanks for the great feedback. Your suggestion is a good one .However we have to be really careful leaving anything in the property that could harm a visiting child.Thanks again Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nicola4.7May 2023

  • "Lovely cottage and location."

    The views are amazing. Really well equipped and thank you for the v useful welcome pack. We used the kitchen every day and there was everything we needed and more. Having a couple of parking spaces is a big bonus given how tight the roads are. We were 3 generations (3 adults, one child), so it was great to have 2 bathrooms and the upstairs space is huge.

    Thank you for the fantastic feedback..so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the cottage really well equipped Property Owner

    Reviewed by Geoff4.4Feb 2023

  • "We loved our stay in Fieldmouse Cottage."

    It was so comfortable with a lovely view. We have some specific feedback on facilities: The fridge door doesn't seem to close securely. The wood burner seems to release smoke into the lounge if the house is a similar temperature to outside. When we arrived the thermostat was set to 14 degrees. We started the wood burner and there was no draw, all the smoke emptied into the lounge! This didnt happen for the rest of our stay while the house was warm. Maybe a note to warn future guests? The washing machine doesnt release the tablet as it should. We didnt use the machine for the last few days after two failed attempts. It is also very noisy and not something we wanted to be running while we were using the living space.

    Thank you for the great feedback score, and I’m pleased that you loved your stay and found the cottage so comfortable. Following your feedback I have immediately checked the fridge door and it is closing perfectly normally. I have also run the dishwasher and the tablet dispensed without any problem, and the machine made a normal level of noise during its wash cycle. With regards to the log burner there are clear lighting instructions and we have never had a problem with smoke in the room. When you light the burner you need to ensure the air vents on the front are open, the kindling, (which is provided) ,is alight and warm before loading the fire with a small quantity of dry wood, which is also provided for your first fire. When the burner is fully alight you can close the air vents to adjust the burning and add more wood. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mary4.7Nov 2022

  • "Lovely cottage."

    Well maintained with all the facilities required. The roads to and from the cottage are a bit of a challenge but it's easy walking access into Coniston more than makes up for this. Sykes cottages need to improve their knowledge of what's available at the cottage as we took items we didn't need after contacting them and being told they weren't provided.

    Thank you for your feedback. I’m pleased that you loved the cottage and found its location for the village ideal. Being on the Banks, elevated above Coniston does mean access is via a lane but the delivery vans use it..just be sure to follow our joining instructions as the alternative access is tight.I’m sorry if our agent gave you incorrect information…..I will follow up with them to understand what was incorrect Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christopher4.1Nov 2022

  • "A wonderful location and excellent access to the centre of Coniston."

    Fantastic property. Looking forward to returning. The separate utility room was great for drying out the waterproofs. A slight qwerk is the microwave and freezer are also in the utility room not the main house but was no bother for us. Just a quick note, it’s a good idea to read the directions you receive with the booking :-) as expected the lanes and access road are not very wide and there’s an unofficial one way system the local residents recommend (a lot easier if you aren’t quite sure on the width of your car).

    Thank you for the fantastic feedback, and look forward to seeing you again! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Melanie5.0Oct 2022

  • "The highest compliment Jill and I can provide is ' we felt immediately at home ..."

    The highest compliment Jill and I can provide is ' we felt immediately at home and that remained during the seven day stay'

    Thank you for such fantastic feedback..I’m so pleased that you had a brilliant stay Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Sep 2022

  • "Came away for a quiet time but sadly this did not happen."

    Had workmen banging most of the day from early morning loud music. Everytime we went out they parked 8n our parking space. Nearly everyday we could hear some drama with the what I think were the owners of the cottage the workmen and others staying in the other cottages about the noise Lovely cottage and views but not the stay we had hoped for therefore would not stay again Also be prepared to have your car scratched as hedge not cut road very narrow and very dangerous when meeting another car coming the other way

    Thank you for leaving such positive written feedback about the cottage and view. As you see from the feedback scores and comments guests generally love the cottage.. I'm sorry that there were builders repairing a nearby roof. This is unusual and unfortunately out of my control but if you had either told me,(the owner who you met on arrival), or Lakelovers, I would have asked the builders to turn off any music that was causing a disturbance. I can do nothing if you complain after the event. There are contact numbers in the cottage if there are any issues, and I always respond. When I did go to see the builders they were very courteous, and I am sure that they would have themselves turned any music down if you had asked. The radio wasn't on when I saw them if it had been I would probably have asked them to turn it off to minimise any disturbance. Although your party had confirmed to my wife that their van was not causing an issue where it was parked I asked the builders to move it away from my cottage. I live very locally and drive my car in and out most days. It is not getting scratched, and whilst care has to be taken as it's a single track road, it is not, in my opinion, dangerous. In our joining instructions we strongly recommend which road to use because the other access lane is narrow, a bit awkward and currently has some foliage hanging over the wall. I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay, and I can assure you that I would have done more to help if you had let me know during your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Annmarie3.8Aug 2022

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the cottage is perfectly located above Coniston, making it a perfect base to explore the village and the surrounding area."

    The parking space was perfect. The hill to the cottage is very steep if you come up directly from the main road. A local advised going around the back way (road opposite the garage in Coniston) which makes the driving easy. The house is incredible upstairs with very good sized bedrooms and bathrooms. Downstairs is more constrained but perfectly adequate for four people. Realty great cottage.

    Thank you for the 100% feedback. Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. You’re right about the narrow road! In the joining details we do say that Sat Nav might try and take you up a narrow steep road, and we always advise coming in and going out via the ‘top’ road that goes into the village near the garage. Hope to see you again! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stuart5.0Jul 2022

  • "We were extremely happy with the cottage and very impressed with how clean it was."

    The property is well equipped, the beds are very comfortable and the shower is great. We found the utility was a brilliant extra space. It is perfectly placed for walks out into the fells and down to the lake.

    So pleased that you were happy with your holiday..it’s really important to us. Thank you for the 100% feedback. Our housekeeper does a fantastic job keeping the cottage in great condition. You can’t beat John Lewis pocket sprung mattresses for a compfy bed! Maybe we will see you again! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jessica5.0Jun 2022

  • "We had a lovely week and we found the property to be perfect."

    It was equipped with everything - and more (like torches) and it was beautifully maintained and extremely welcoming and clean. The property is a credit to the owner. We will definitely stay again if we return to The Lakes in the future. The property is in a superb location and we did not really need to use the car all week. Thank you.

    So pleased you had a great week, and found the cottage perfect...we always try our best! Hope to see you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jeremy5.0Mar 2022

  • "Lovely location."

    Well-equipped cottage. Heating/hotwater all worked well. Recommend you use Station Road to access, and ignore smaller 'The Banks' turning which satnav directs you to. Recommended.

    Really pleased that you loved your stay…and thanks for the 100% feedback!….Hopefully we will see you again! Thanks for the road comment ….we recommend not following sat nav up the Banks road in the joining letter Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Mar 2022

  • "Perfect property for the two of us!"

    Loved the cosy fire and the kitchen was very well equipped! The only thing I would say is I think the downstairs area would be cosy if 6 people were staying. Had a lovely sta.

    Thank you for your 100% review and really pleased that you enjoyed your stay..maybe we will see you again. Your comment re the downstairs is spot on…there’s seating for 6 in the lounge and kitchen but we will only accept a maximum of 4 adults and 2 children 12 and under Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emily5.0Mar 2022

  • "Road to cottage very badly explained in regards to its difficulty and terrain, definitely not suitable for a large vehicle."

    The log burner was filthy and not cleaned out of ash from previous occupiers. A first night starter pack of logs and sticks would have been a nice touch especially in late autumn to early spring when you can't take over until 4pm and it's dark, description suggests fuel and power all provided, but it doesn't include fuel for log burner. However it is a lovely cosy comfortable and well equipped holiday property.

    Thank you for the feedback, and we are pleased you had a cosy stay and hope that you will return one day. I'm sorry about the log burner...for some reason both its cleaning and provision of starter logs was missed on your changeover..in winter time we do normally provide a starter pack as you suggest, but do not provide logs for the whole stay. Regarding the road, we do give guidance in the pre- arrival information. However following your feedback we will review that to ensure that its clear. The roads close to the property are lakeland lanes, and whilst the likes of DPD do come down them, you do need to take care as its a single track lane. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alan4.4Nov 2021

  • "The accommodation was well-presented in a convenient location with great views."

    If anything it felt ‘unbalanced’ - the upstairs is very spacious whereas the open plan living area would be somewhat of a squeeze for 6 - especially around the small dining table and kitchen. Larger-sized bath towels (sheets) would be a welcome addition. We passed on a few routine maintenance issues to the agent. We were blessed with great weather and thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Coniston and the surrounding fells.

    Thank you for the feedback, and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The previous owners extended the upstairs of the property, and that's why we clearly state in the particulars that it is best suited to no more than 4 adults and 2 children 12 and under. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Richard3.8Aug 2021

  • "Really well set-up cottage which suited our group of 6 perfectly."

    It had everything we needed. We ate at the table in the garden every evening, enjoying the view down the valley and over the lake. It was so useful to have the utility room for bike storage too.

    Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and the heated utility room is really great for bikes or walking stuff...especially if they have got wet! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kerry5.0Jul 2021

  • "A great location, and easy to walk to the village."

    The cottage was very well-fitted, and had good facilities. The bath-room and shower-room were both very well set up, as was the separate utility room (although the microwave oven would be better positioned in the kitchen!). Comfortable bed! Minor points: the dining table would be 'cosy' for 4 adults; we would have liked blackout blinds in the bedrooms; the ground floor is quite dark (expected for a cottage), so lights needed to be on - but a blind would be useful on the main door for privacy. The separate garden was great - with lovely views of the lake. We would return again!

    Thank you for the feedback, and we are pleased that you enjoyed it and would return again. We constantly debate the right location for the microwave! On balance most guests prefer it in the utility, but some do move it to the kitchen. We know that the kitchen table would be cosy for more than 4 adults which is why we are clear in the description to say only 4 adults and 2 children aged 12 and under. As the bedroom faces east you do get the morning sun, but we will look again at the possibility of a blind. On the door its a bit difficult, but the glazing is obscured to maximise privacy. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew4.4Jul 2021

  • "Lovely Cottage, fab location."

    well equipped. Would come again!

    The PowellsNov 2019

  • "The position of the property was excellent , walks straight from the door ."

    Very comfortable beds , good quality ensuring a good night’s sleep. Visitors should be informed of the narrow access lane to the property and the junction back onto the main road at the bottom of the hill .

    Mr EphraimSep 2019

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.

Summary

  • Highly Commended for a four star property
  • 3 bedrooms: 2 x kings size rooms, 1 x bunk room for children 12 and under only, 1x house bathroom with shower over bath, 1 x shower room
  • Sitting room
  • Kitchen/dining area
  • Utility room
  • Gas central heating throughout
  • Woodburning stove
  • Electric oven with halogen hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, washer, Smart TV with soundbar, DVD, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Starter pack of wood provided for the stove
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Private parking for two cars
  • Sloping lawned garden, with patio and stunning views
  • Patio with furniture
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • For the comfort of guests this property will accommodate a maximum of 4 adults and 2 children aged 12 and under

The property

Five minutes’ stroll from the centre of Coniston, and with sensational views across Coniston Water, this lovely cottage is the perfect place to relax in one of the more peaceful areas of the Lake District.

Sports enthusiasts will find plenty of exciting activities by the lake, while walkers and climbers have an enormous choice of pathways and routes on the doorstep.

Enjoying a wonderful, elevated position and a lawned garden with patio area, Fieldmouse Cottage is also a great place for simply relaxing and taking things easy.

Immediately adjacent to the cottage is private parking for two cars, and from there the entrance reveals a stylish open plan sitting room with lovely leather sofas and wood burning stove.

Nowhere better to snuggle down after a delicious supper prepared in the smart kitchen kitted out with all the appliances and utensils needed to make this a home-from-home.

Up the stairs to three comfortable bedrooms and two bathrooms.

The master bedroom has gorgeous lake views and oodles of storage space, as does the second king size room.

The children’s bunk room is great fun and also has those fantastic lake views.

Fieldmouse Cottage benefits from two bathrooms, the first house bathroom comes with a bath with shower over and the second is a spacious shower room.

There is also a secure utility room with washing machine and freezer, ideal for storing bikes and drying wetsuits, muddy boots and outdoor clothing.

While in the area, a visit to Brantwood is a must.

This grand old residence was once home to John Ruskin and regularly holds talks, concerts, craft workshops and the occasional theatre production.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

CONISTON

Hawkshead 4 miles; Ambleside 8 miles.

Nestling at the head of Coniston Water, the pretty village of Coniston is surrounded by some of the most beautiful scenery in the Lake District National Park, making it a superb base for touring, with Hawkshead, Ambleside, Windermere and Grasmere just a short drive away. Superb walking, mountain biking and climbing are available locally on Coniston Old Man and Wetherlam, and the lovely woodland trails at Grizedale Forest. For watersports enthusiasts, the quiet lake is ideal for dinghy sailing and canoeing, whilst the less active can enjoy a leisure cruise on the beautiful steam yacht 'Gondola’, or visit Brantwood, the former home of John Ruskin. Nearby attractions include the award-winning village of Hawkshead, home of the Beatrix Potter Gallery, Tarn Hows, one of the most visited beauty spots in the country and Esthwaite Water, famous for its fishing. A first class holiday location at any time of the year.

View more holiday cottages in Coniston

Please note the bunk room is only suitable for children

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Christmas