Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Lake District 6 minutes ago

1 customer booked Low Cartmell Fold in the last 24 hours

1 of 61 View Image Gallery
  • Low Cartmell Fold - Lake District - 1041967 - photo 1

Low Cartmell Fold

(Ref. 1041967)

Crosthwaite, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 8 Guests

  • 4 Bedrooms

  • 3 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Games Room
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • our (15)
  • stay (15)
  • great (14)
  • no (14)
  • property (13)
  • lovely (13)

32 Customer Reviews

  • "Excellent , beautiful property and location."

    Reviewed by Valerie5.0Feb 2024

  • "A fantastic old house, a bit quirky in places, but that's what you expect from a traditional farm house."

    Very clean and comfortable and extremely well equipped with everything we could possibly need. My one small suggestion is to provide a bit more information on some aspects of the stay in the folder. Eg what to do with the linen and fire ashes at the end of the stay, also it took us a while to find the fire lighting box. During our stay we had a burst pipe in one of the bathrooms. Thanks for your swift action in getting it fixed and follow up call to make sure we were all happy.

    We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your feedback. So sorry that you did have a small leak from one of the toilet cisterns and glad that Lakelovers could fix it immediately. Just as a reassurance, although the house is well over 300 years old, it has been completely renovated in recent years, and whilst we hopefully kept all the character, the plumbing and heating are very definitely 21st century! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ian5.0Feb 2024

  • "Beautiful and quirky 300yr old property."

    Very warm and cosy. Well stocked appliances and crockery in kitchen and bedding was exceptional quality and comfortable. Would definately stay again.

    Thank you so much for your feedback and we are so pleased to that you enjoyed your stay. We very much hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Cathy5.0Jan 2024

  • "Beautiful property in a fantastic location, very comfortable, warm, clean and cosy."

    The provisions provided were second to none, I have never stayed in such a well equipped house. I would make a point of what is provided on the website, not a ccmplaint at all but it would help people with their packing, I packed a bit of everything and didn't need to! Would definitely recommend and would definitely return.

    So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and thank you very much for your feedback. We very much hope we do have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Dec 2023

  • "Firstly I should say the property is not bright as the photos suggest ."

    They are misleading . It’s obviously an old property windows are small so natural light is a bit limited . Properly photos always make places seem brighter than they are. The worst thing about our stay was that the bed in the master bedroom was the worst we have ever slept on . There were various items in disrepair at the property which the owner probably didn’t know about so can’t be blamed and were relatively minor . The lighting in the living room needs improving especially if you enjoy reading. The lighting in the dining room could do with improving too . Lighting is so inadequate it was difficult to play board games . I have been using Lakelovers for years but I think since being taken over by Sykes , they have gone completely downhill - expect to wait 30 minutes on the phone for a query to be dealt with . The owner is helpful and I’m sure will fix the bed issue but at Xmas holiday rates - this stay was disappointing Dog Owners beware , there are almost no walks direct from the door and will need a car journey - I spoke to the neighbour who has a dog and she said the same thing . I wound not return and am not sure I would recommend

    How very sad to hear how little you enjoyed your stay at Low Cartmell Fold. I do understand that you began to express your displeasure with the property a couple of weeks before your arrival. Thank you for acknowledging that we did everything that we possibly could to try and make your stay satisfactory. There are some very lovely local walks, and hopefully the dozen or so walking books (including two volumes of Dog Walking in the Lake District) were of some assistance, especially when combined with the full set of OS maps in the house. Very clearly a traditional 17th century, lovingly renovated Cumbrian farmhouse was not for you. Personally, I always feel it is at its most warm and welcoming in the depths of winter, with roaring log fires, a wood burner and a cosy Aga in the kitchen . Obviously being a Grade II listed building, we couldn't do much about your window sizing complaint. All the windows in the house are clearly visible in the photographs. There are also any number of lamps throughout the house, including two moveable angle poise reading lamps in the living room, to provide additional lighting if required in winter. Please be assured that I do stay there myself every few weeks and go over the house in the greatest of detail to ensure that we maintain the high standards of maintenance, comfort and decoration that we ourselves would expect. This most certainly includes providing high quality mattresses and beds, towels and linen and I do have to confess to being baffled by the issues you had with the master bedroom. Our housekeeper is also exceptionally thorough in what she does, including looking for anything at all needing repair on a weekly basis In turn, I do also have to add how shocked and disappointed we all were by the condition that you left the house in. I wish you happier holidays for the future Donna Rawlinson (owner) Property Owner

    Reviewed by Oliver3.4Dec 2023

  • "Beautiful house, beautiful area."

    We loved our stay here, with our family, to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. Unfortunately though, we were snowbound, which actually made our stay even more Christmassy! We had log fires going, games nights and family meals cooked on the Aga! We emailed the owner as we were unable to leave at the requested time & her replies were terrific and couldn’t have been more accommodating. The next thing we knew, the housekeeper arrived with extra logs for the fire and even wine to help us celebrate ! (We were unable to get to the shops). The neighbours, the housekeeper and the owner were all lovely. We will definitely be back as the whole family loved spending time together in such lovely surroundings. 5 star!!

    So glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay. I was so envious when Hayley sent me the pictures of the house - being snowed in there is my idea of heaven! It looked beautiful. So sorry that your anniversary dinner didn't quite go to plan and we were, of course, very glad to be able to help the celebrations along a little. It would be an absolute pleasure to welcome you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Dec 2023

  • "We did enjoy parts of our stay however we had a few issues - the games room is located in the garage and not in the house itself which was not stated in the extra information (to my 7 year olds disappointment) and was absolutely freezing despite a heater on."

    The house itself was tidy and surface cleaned but in desperate need of a ‘deep clean’. We left early due to the dust which I’m extremely sensitive too. Also we kept finding flys in the house, no idea where they were coming from so close to December. The sink en suite in the main bathroom drain was blocked and would leak onto the floor. However despite this we had a nice stay - it’s a great base for exploring the lakes and we had some lovely days out in Windermere & enjoyed a lovely meal in The Punchbowl which is just along the road. The kitchen is well equipped and was fun cooking with the Aga! I will say we didn’t find many walks from the house where we could let our two spaniels off the leash - if there is it would be great to put into the welcome book.

    We are so very deeply saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Low Cartmell Fold. In turn, we were also very disappointed to find it left as it was, and with significant damage. I would like to think that our cleanliness score (over five years) would speak for itself, but I am sorry that you were so dissatisfied with our standard. I understand that you managed to stay for six and a half of your seven days. The house details do explain that the games room is outside over a detached garage, and you were also there on a particularly cold week. It's such a pity that you didn't let myself, my housekeeper or Lakelovers know during your stay that you were unhappy or that there were any problems. We would, of course, have done our absolute best to address them immediately. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rachel3.1Nov 2023

  • "Amazing cottage and location."

    A car is definitely recommended with shops not being within quick walking distance. The local pub was very welcoming and is as described 2 minutes walk from the front door. The games room was very well equipped and was used by all on the days when rain stopped us getting out to enjoy the fresh air. Plenty of seating both inside and out for everyone and the welcome pack was a very generous size and catered for all including our 4 legged friend (though we couldn't use the item left due to our dog being hypoallergenic diet on veterinary advice)

    Reviewed by Benn4.4Aug 2023

  • "Absolutely fantastic property, one of the best we have stayed in."

    Welcome pack was such a welcome nice touch, thanks. Literally less than 5 minutes walk for the pub, and ideally situated as a base for getting out to the lakes. Lovely secure garden for our dog. Great time had by all.

    Reviewed by Steve4.7Jun 2023

  • "Fabulous cottage attention to detail , it had everything we wanted (except serving spoons for our roast dinner there are two but would of liked a couple more) Beautifully presented, clean ,warm ,cosy home from home ."

    Thank you for sharing it with us . It’s such a privilege to stay there . It made our celebrations knowing that it had everything that we wanted Such a lovely cottage .

    Thank you for your lovely comments. I am sorry some of the serving spoons have disappeared - there are usually about 6, so we will top them up right away! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and especially your celebrations there. Steve & Donna Rawlinson Property Owner

    Reviewed by Linda5.0May 2023

  • "Absolutely lovely house with large garden."

    Generous welcome hamper. Very powerful showers! Games room was great fun. We found a couple of pleasant walks from the door. The only thing I could recommend would be a new dart board and darts. Hoping to return again in the future.

    So happy to hear that you enjoyed the house and exploring the area. There are some lovely quiet walks from Crosthwaite. Thank you very much for pointing out that the dartboard needs an update (I must admit that we don't play) - we'll get it changed right away. We very much hope we do have the opportunity to welcome you back! Steve & Donna Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emma5.0Apr 2023

  • "Lovely cottage with great character."

    The owners were fantastic and very helpful

    Thank you for your kind feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Low Cartmell Fold. We hope to welcome you back again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Jan 2023

  • "Low Cartmell Fold is a lovely, characterful, extremely well equipped property and is very clean."

    It is warm and welcoming and was ideal for our Christmas break. Everything at the property is of a very high standard, both soft and hard furnishings. The welcome pack was very generous, even providing treats for our four legged family members which was a very nice touch. The property provides plenty of space and options should you book it to full capacity. There was only two of us so a little extravagant but we booked it based on it's description and photographs and it did not fail to impress. I asked various questions regarding equipment prior to arrival but I needed have bothered, there was not a single thing I needed and couldn't find. The kitchen is extremely well equipped. The bedrooms are very comfortable and the bathrooms are a very good size. The garden was ideal for our needs and the games room is an added bonus. I was able to master the Aga and managed to prepare Christmas lunch without any issues (the book provided was helpful). However, you do not have any other options for cooking other than the microwave. We were surprised to see some of the very silly little things that people mentioned in the guest book which they were disappointed with, which we felt were really unnecessary given everything the property had to offer. The owners really have thought of everything. We stay at a lot of self catering properties so have experienced different offerings. Overall we would highly recommend this property (as would our dogs) and we had a lovely stay there. Thank you to the Owners, Cleaners and Lakelovers.

    We are so very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Low Cartmell Fold over Christmas, and thank you for taking the time to leave such positive feedback - it really does give us all the greatest pleasure to be awarded full marks! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jacqui5.0Dec 2022

  • "This was our second visit to Cartmell fold , the first being last year ."

    Our family love the house and it’s location. The property is full of character and very well equipped, very clean, and cosy. We are already considering a return visit. Many thanks to the owners.

    We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your second stay at Low Cartmell Fold and that everything was to your complete satisfaction. It really always does make our day to receive a 100% score - thank you! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Debra5.0Nov 2022

  • "Beautifully furnished and comfortable cottage."

    Great beds and showers.

    We are so happy that you enjoyed staying at Low Cartmell Fold. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. kind regards Donna Rawlinson Property Owner

    Reviewed by Abi5.0Oct 2022

  • "We had a great time thanks , the house was perfect , best of everything and we felt very relaxed and welcomed."

    That is wonderful to hear! Thank you so much for your lovely comments about the house and we are so happy that you had a great holiday. kind regards Donna Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sue5.0Sep 2022

  • "Absolute great location and accommodation, really enjoyed our stay."

    We brought our dog - all was well. But I would just highlight that the once up in to the upper upper garden this part is not dog friendly, high risk of dog escaping through the black fencing. If this could be updated/corrected then dog secure would be ok. However did not detract from our enjoyment of the accommodation

    Thank you so much for your great feedback and a 100 percent score, which we always treasure! I am sorry that you were concerned about your dog escaping. Just for clarity, the whole garden is enclosed - we have dogs ourselves, and have always found that the black railings up on the top terrace to which you refer, combined with the considerable drop below them, have been more than sufficient to keep our hounds, and many visiting dogs, safely in the garden! Of course, we would always suggest keeping an eye on your dogs in the garden. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and very much hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Aug 2022

  • "We had a fabulous stay and would love to return."

    Super lucky with good weather too. Beds really comfortable and the house was very clean and had everything we needed. The only improvement would be a downstairs cloakroom and a barbecue.

    Hi Clare Thank you so much for such positive feedback, and we are delighted that you had a great holiday and would like to return to Low Cartmell Fold. We do actually have a charcoal bbq in the garage, and I am so sorry that you didn't find it. Next time we will have it outside, ready and waiting! Thank you again for taking the time to give us such a lovely review Donna Rawlinson Property Owner

    Reviewed by Clare4.7Aug 2022

  • "We had a lovely stay at Low Cartmell Fold."

    Beautiful property in a great location. Lovely rooms which had everything you need you’d need for your stay. Would highly recommend to anyone considering staying here and would certainly stay again ourselves if the opportunity arises.

    We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Low Cartmell Fold and thank you so much for taking the time to give us such lovely feedback . Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ian5.0May 2022

  • "We really enjoyed our stay at Low Cartmell Fold."

    It’s a beautiful property with plenty of space for our party of 8. It’s within easy walking distance to The Punch Bowl pub which serves great food and good beer and wine. The bedrooms are spacious and comfortable and the bathrooms have powerful showers with plenty of hot water for everyone. The kitchen is super well equipped and it’s great fun cooking on an Old Aga! We had lots of fun in the games room and it’s not far from some really great walks in the Lakes. Would love to visit again in the near future. Thank you for blue information book too it really helped especially when using the Aga. Best wishes and hope to see you soon.

    Reviewed by Tracey5.0May 2022

  • "A very enjoyable stay."

    Would definitely come back My only criticism was the electric aga which was not that easy to use and was on all the time which made the kitchen very warm

    Reviewed by Kevin5.0May 2022

  • "Lovely house with very well equipped and spacious kitchen."

    Comfy beds and great showers. Good to have the snug as a second quiet sitting room. Beautiful location too.

    So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Low Cartmell Fold and thank you so much for taking the time to give us such positive feedback. We really do appreciate it. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan4.7Mar 2022

  • "First of all I do want to say that this cottage is as beautiful as it looks."

    However, the owners are VERY VERY difficult and will not offer any support or compensation if anything goes wrong and for this reason I highly recommend you book else were if you value your money. DO NOT BOOK! We booked a week here in nov 2021 as a honeymoon with our 2 children. Sadly this was as storm Arwen hit the Lake District now I do want to say I totally understand that this was unforeseen and not the fault of the owner or lakes lovers however please let me explain why I am so upset and frustrated by this we arrived at approx 5pm on Friday the 26th November that evening at around 8 pm the storm hit and all electricity to the property was lost, we went to bed with our 2 children to keep warm and presumed the power would be back quickly unfortunately we woke the next morning with still no electricity or hot water and an evening without power had left the cottage completely freezing cold, we decided to spend Saturday night in a near by hotel hoping again the power would return, Sunday we returned to the property with still no electricity, heating or hot water, at this point we made the decision to return home and informed lakes lovers. On Monday we received a phone call directly from the owner who informed us that the electricity was back and asked if we would be willing to return, we live approx 1 and a half hours away but we decided to return back to try and have the holiday we booked, we were so happy to see the power was back on however that evening the power went again and again left us freezing cold and no hot water, we decided to stay the night again in the cold in hoping this would return, it returned for a couple of hours on Tuesday and then went off again now as explained I have 2 very small children so as you can imagine this really isn’t sustainable and we returned home on Tuesday 30th November. We again informed the owner and lakes lovers. Now let me just say again I know this storm was not the owners or lakes lovers fault and so close to Christmas we didn’t want to be taking money off people through no fault of their own, therefore in my opinion we were not difficult at all we did NOT request compensation for money lost in petrol goIng to and from this property nor did we ask to be reimbursed for the money we spent on a hotels to keep our children warm, all we simply requested was for the owner to provide us with what we paid for which was 1 week in the Lake District with my family, we were willing to negotiate a date and return back in 2022 no money needed to cross hands, however sadly the owner of this property decided to insult us and offered 695, now we had paid over a 1000 to stay in this property so what are we so called paying this money for, the owners response to this was he needed to pay for over heads and cleaning for the next people to stay, now correct me if I’m wrong but given we hadn’t spent more that 24 hours in this property that is not for me to pay, the owner should be claiming this from else were not from a customer that has paid for something she hasn’t received. Sykes cottages who own lakes lovers have actually been very helpful but please be aware any issues like this you will be told by lakes lovers that the decision to refund will be on the owner and as you can see this owner is VERY difficult. I’m very sad that it had to come to this, this could have been resolved very amicably but the owner has other ideas. There are many more cottages on this website with owners that will support you when things go wrong and for that reason I implore you to book a different cottage.

    I am so sorry to hear that your wedding and honeymoon were disrupted by the storm and understand how upsetting and frustrating this must have been. In turn, I am deeply sorry that you feel we have been unfair in our response and saddened to receive such unhappy feedback, for the first time in over three years since we began renting the house. It is of the utmost importance to us that our guests have a wonderful stay, and I would like to think that our usual scores reflect this. My understanding from conversations our housekeeper had with early arrivals was that your whole party of eight would be staying at your wedding venue hotel on Saturday night? I hope that you had a wonderful day and enjoyed your stay. As we live some considerable distance away, Lakelovers manage the property for us. In addition to their customer service and maintenance teams, our guests are also supported by our wonderful housekeeper, who lives close by. I know that Hayley offered you additional logs for the woodburner and fireplace, as well as candles, hot water bottles and even her own portable heater to try and help in the short term. I do therefore feel it is rather unfair to suggest that no assistance was offered. She called to the house to check for storm damage on Monday, and noted that you hadn’t returned, but your personal belongings were still in the house. This is why we contacted you directly to let you know power had been restored. I am sorry that you feel it was unreasonable to retain the cleaning cost but refund the rest of your payment, although we were not required to do so. . I was also totally unaware that you had suggested transferring the booking to another date? I, too, would very much have liked the opportunity to reach an amicable agreement. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Scott1.9Nov 2021

  • "An excellent property in a great location."

    Have booked for next year already !

    Thank you! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Debra5.0Nov 2021

  • "We booked this house to celebrate a special birthday for a member of our family."

    The property did not disappoint us. Plenty of room for 6 adults,2 children and 2 dogs.We loved the wood burner in the lounge and so did the dogs.Every thing was clean and tidy for us.

    Thank you for taking time to give us such lovely feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrea5.0Oct 2021

  • "Wonderful cottage."

    Very homely, cosy and really well equipped. We loved it. Very well placed for exploring the southern lakes and close to the motorway. Thank you so much

    Thank you so much Property Owner

    Reviewed by Victoria5.0Oct 2021

  • "I booked this property to celebrate my big birthday with my family."

    It was a fantastic property, so much character and quirky, and so well equipped. It was very comfortable and cosy although we used the wood for the fires on Saturday and couldn’t find any more for Sunday evening. The kitchen was amazing although we struggled with the Aga but thankfully we didn’t do much cooking over the weekend. The beds were so comfortable and the showers lovely and powerful, big fluffy towels. However strangely no toiletries were supplied. But for all these little moans, it didn’t detract from the wonderful time we had.

    Reviewed by Marion5.0Oct 2021

  • "Beautiful house, full of character, lots of space for all the family."

    The young adults particularly appreciated the games room. The decor and equipment is of an extremely high quality.

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Aug 2021

  • "Thank you for a great visit to the Lake District."

    Everything was perfect, from the booking & pre-planning to the stay itself. The house was lovely - even better in reality than the photos (although these looked great as well). The gardens especially were lovely (and bigger than shown on the photos). Crosthwaite was a great location, being away from the touristy hub spots but close enough to get to these when we wanted to (allow more time than Google Maps states as it takes longer going up the hills and round the small roads!). The only challenge we had was being able to spontaneously book places to eat in the evenings - we had booked restaurants for the weekend but not all week and most places were booked 4-6 weeks in advance (understandably due to Covid but the main problem seemed to be lack of staff). Thank goodness we had a lovely kitchen to cook in and we made good use of the Aga. Thanks again!

    Reviewed by Deborah5.0Jun 2021

  • "What a beautiful cottage and location."

    The gardens were lovely and the games room was great for the children. We thouroughly enjoyed our stay !

    Reviewed by Alexandra5.0May 2021

  • "A lovely quiet area."

    It is very handy for Windermere/Ambleside/Grasmere. Restaurant at Punch Bowl in Crossthwaite village was only 5 minutes walk and was excellent. Great garden for barbecues and our dog loved it. Booths supermarket was good for shopping. We had great weather for walking on the fells.

    Mrs HunterJul 2019

  • "Perfect holiday!"

    Truly relaxing, perfect hto weather! The cottage felt like home as soon as we arrived, love this cottage

    Willimore GroupMay 2019

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.


  • Four bedrooms: Super king double bed with ensuite shower room with walk in shower, basin and WC, king size double with ensuite bathroom with feature bath, shower cubicle, basin and WC, 1 x double, 1 x twin single beds
  • Family shower room with walk in shower, basin and WC
  • Sitting room, dining room, snug, kitchen with additional dining area
  • No fireworks
  • Oil central heating with log burning stove, Smart TV, Netflix, Amazon and BT Sports channels
  • Electric Aga, American style fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, tumble drier
  • Cot and highchair available
  • Cottage garden with two patio areas
  • Private parking for three cars
  • Secure storage for mountain bikes
  • Games room
  • Wifi
  • Three well behaved dogs welcome
  • Five minutes walk to pub, ten minutes drive to shop
  • We respectfully ask that fireworks are never used at the property, it is next to a working farm and will upset livestock if used
  • The garden has a fence surrounding the entire garden, this is enclosed however not entirely dog proofed.

The property

A narrow lane leads the short distance from the pretty village of Crosthwaite to Low Cartmell Fold.

From the slate porch the front door opens to this beautiful traditional and characterful Lakeland farmhouse, with wonderful period features.

The sitting room with its feature oak panel wall is presented with comfortable sofas arranged around the log burning stove and TV.

Across the hallway the dining room includes a stunning feature fireplace and large family dining table.

To the rear of the cottage is the large farmhouse kitchen is equipped to a very high standard and includes a large, social, island unit and breakfast table.

For those wanting to relax with a good book there is a welcoming snug with club room style wing back chairs.

The four bedrooms are located on the first floor, two benefit from ensuite facilities and are complemented by a family shower room. Outside there is private parking for three cars (two on the drive and one in the garage) and the garage also offers secure storage for mountain bikes and outdoor gear.

The pretty garden wraps around the cottages and includes two patios both with outdoor bistro furniture. Set in the rolling countryside of the Lyth Valley, guests can relax in the beautiful surrounding, walk to the nearby gastro pub – The Punchbowl.

The popular villages of Cartmel, Bowness and Windermere are all within easy reach.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Windermere 8 miles.

A historic market town with a fine reputation for shopping, Kendal nestles on the banks of the River Kent and is known as the Southern Gateway to the Lakes. Its old cobbled lanes and byways branch off the attractive main street, and the stone ruins of 12th century Kendal Castle sit perched on a hill with views over the town. Visit The Abbot Hall Art Gallery, its regular collection holding portraits by Kendal born George Romney and works by Turner and Ruskin, with other exhibitions through its links with the Tate. Both Sizergh Castle and Levens Hall with its superb Topiary Garden are nearby, as are limestone escarpments for easy walking, offering thrilling views of the Lakeland Mountains, the Howgills and Morecambe Bay. Kendal itself is ideally placed for exploring South Lakeland, the Yorkshire Dales and beyond. With other attractions such as Kendal Museum and the Museum of Lakeland Life, the fascinating Quaker Tapestry, Lake Windermere and the wider National Park within easy reach, Kendal provides a superb base for a relaxing break.

View more holiday cottages in Kendal

Please note: the garden is enclosed.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Last minute