Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

4 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 14 View Image Gallery
  • Old Codgers Cottage - Lake District - 986630 - photo 1

Old Codgers Cottage

(Ref. 986630)

Windermere, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (20)
  • location (12)
  • stay (10)
  • bed (10)
  • great (9)
  • our (9)

32 Customer Reviews

  • "Had a great time in the lakes and the accommodation was spot on home from home Will definitely stay again well recommended."

    Reviewed by Andrew3.8Jun 2024

  • "Slightly dissappointed with very very small garden ."

    Reviewed by Bruce4.4May 2024

  • "Central location, easy parking with resident permit."

    Clean cottage, good well equipped kitchen although needs more glasses for red wine. Outside yard looks tired and dull. Bathroom worked well, powerful shower but toilet seat is wonky and needs replacement. Sliding wardrobe doors in larger bedroom don’t work properly and are exasperating. Comfortable bed. Enjoyed our stay, thank you

    Reviewed by Celia4.4May 2024

  • "Lovely traditional lake district cottage in the heart of Windermere."

    Clean and comfortable with two double bedrooms and a shared bathroom. Best thing about this property is its location on a quiet side road with no through traffic but a two minute walk to all the amenities on the quaint High Street of Windermere itself. Some really good independent restaurants with my favourite being Francines to an award winning fish and chip shop directly opposite the cottage and two good Chinese take aways minutes away. Good walking including a four mile circular walk taking in Bowness that I did with the dogs. We also took my Mum who has mobility issues so was delighted that there is a bus to Bowness and the boats running at least every half an hour. The boat trip to Ambleside made her holiday. The only down side is that there is a parking permit for one car only due to restricted parking outside although we didn't struggle to get parked after our trips out. May be different in High season.

    Reviewed by David5.0Apr 2024

  • "We really enjoyed our stay, the cottage was warm and cosy, good layout, full of character and in a great location."

    There were a few minor maintenance issues needing attention for future guests - batteries in the TV remote need replacing, blind in the living room won’t go fully up, external light at the back doesn’t work, wardrobe door off runners, bathroom extractor fan doesn’t work, fridge wobbles, soap dispensers empty on check in, parking outside property not always possible. Still happy with our stay though, we think the ‘niggles’ were reflected in the price

    Reviewed by Sue3.1Mar 2024

  • "Very comfortable cottage - ideally placed."

    Always managed to get parking on the street. Good Chinese take away and chippy yards away.

    Reviewed by Vivian4.7Nov 2023

  • "A lovely cosy cottage in the centre of Windermere."

    Where everything is on hand within a few steps but cosy and peaceful when you return. The back yard is enclosed so was suitable for my dog. It is very clean and tidy and well equipped. It has been upgraded since photos taken with new carpets, curtains and settee. If you want a central location this cottage is excellent.

    Reviewed by Janine5.0Aug 2023

  • "Cottage was nice and comfortable, however there was no valid parking permit and despite contacting Sykes several times (couldn't contact the owner as the phone number provided was incorrect), it was not rectified."

    Poor customer service as Sykes didn't get back to us, we had to keep contacting them to find out what was happening.

    Thanks for your feedback, we had contacted the council several times regarding the parking permit and have just received it this week , im sorry it didn’t arrive in time for your stay , we are glad you had a comfortable stay , we have just replaced the mattresses on the beds and are getting a new washing machine which have been mentioned in previous reviews Kind regards Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sandra4.1Jun 2023

  • "The location was lovely and the cottage contained everything needed, however it had awful mattresses with springs visible on the surface which meant that we couldn’t sleep and left a day early."

    The wardrobes were falling apart and the sliding door off its runners and dangerous. The smoke alarm was flashing red which indicated it was not working…not acceptable or safe. I noticed years ago the same comments were made so I assumed the faults would have been fixed. The parking permit was out of date too. It could be a fabulous little place. Clearly not loved enough.

    Reviewed by Pauline2.5May 2023

  • "The toilet did not flush but a."

    Plumer did a temporary fix, Recommend turning heating down so not as.long on during day or reduce temp Recommend a few baking tray or flat roasting tins to make oven better to use

    Reviewed by Rachael4.4Apr 2023

  • "Great cottage in the centre of Windermere"

    Reviewed by Katey5.0Mar 2023

  • "A great location , very close to the train station."

    Amenities close by. The cottage is very cosy , clean , good value for money. The only fault is the washing machine leaks. When we booked this was a concern of a customer but it still hasn’t been resolved . Thank you .

    Reviewed by Cheryl4.7Mar 2023

  • "Thel main problem was the checking time of 6pm and check out time of 9am we have ..."

    Thel main problem was the checking time of 6pm and check out time of 9am we have to travel by train and I did not know at the time of booking We did have a problem with the electrics that was sorted by the owner contacting me after reporting on the Sat morning it was late in the evening before we managed to sort it

    Reviewed by Patricia Marie3.8Aug 2022

  • "Hi. There are a couple of issues I think you should know about."

    I used the washing machine and it leaked everywhere. Someone tried to get in as it isn't secure at the back. Luckily the dogs scared them off. Also could fo with a light outside the back patio. The lightbulb in the back bedroom isn't working. There seems to be a bit of wet around the bottom of the toilet area. The dryer is out of order. Other than that everything else is great.

    Reviewed by Debbie3.8Aug 2022

  • "A great cottage right in the heart of Windermere village."

    Very quaint.

    Reviewed by Rachel5.0Jul 2022

  • "We used this property as a base so didn't cook or sit out in the garden."

    Location is fabulous. The 599 tourist bus goes all the way up to Keswick from in front of the Mexican restaurant and there are enough restaurants around the vicinity of the cottage to keep you going. Sainsburys and Co op are seconds away and Booths is a couple of mins wall behind the cottage at the train station. Property comes with towels and sheets but the mattresses are AWFUL. The metal bed squeaks loudly at any slight touch. Beds definitely need replacing.

    Reviewed by Sheena3.1Jul 2022

  • "Washing machine leaking when used, tumble dryer broken from 2021, black hairs on bed covers pans had grease on them , wardrobe door fell off on top off wife could have been a child back off house could do with a bit off Tlc sending work men round 3 days early in morning says in terms and conditions reasonable time 9 o'clock in morning is not and sending emails at 9."

    30 saying gas engineer comming at 10.30/11.30 is also not ecceptable either, go away for a break not to work around trades men comming in the morning electrician didn't even turn up on the wednesday so you book him in for the Thursday 9 o'clock went out before he came come back for dinner and he arrives as we're having dinner as going away for a break this didn't really happen stayed there week before pandemic hit had to cut short holiday thought it was nice came back never again to this place wardrobe door we're loose then needs sorting as some one is going to get hurt how would you like your break away being dictated by work men paid good money to stay here find some were who put there customers first. You have from 9/ 6 on a Friday to do these jobswhen it's empty joke

    Reviewed by Philip2.5Jun 2022

  • "House well situated."

    Very central. I would suggest maybe fixing the entrance at the front door as you could easily trip on the step.

    Reviewed by Margaret5.0May 2022

  • "The house is lovely, very central to the town A few little things could improve guests stays."

    The house was very warm, no instructions on the heating, the kitchen valve on the radiator is broken so no way of turning it down. The bigger of the bedrooms the bed is very noisy it creaks with every moment & mattress isn’t very comfortable. The toilet doesn’t flush very well I think this was mentioned in a few reviews but doesn’t seem to be fixed The house was clean but in the wardrobes there was tags from clothes & we found socks under the couch so in the current situation the cleaners could be doing a more thorough clean But overall the house was good & we would stay again

    Reviewed by Lynne3.8Apr 2022

  • "The only downside was check in 6pm and checkout 9am on a Sunday morning."

    But beautiful cottage and would stay again if the times were different.

    Reviewed by Liam5.0Apr 2022

  • "Great property and really enjoyed our stay."

    Garden was secure for the two dogs. The only thing missing would be an outside light on the yard. Other than that a great little cottage, great location. We'll definitely be staying again !!

    Reviewed by Jason5.0Feb 2022

  • "Great property and really enjoyed our stay the only thing that let it down was the toilet was dirty (not flushed) when we arrived and there was a pair of underpants in the wardrobe, plus the bed linen didn’t smell freshly laundered."

    Other than that great little cottage, great location no other faults. Could of provided some Christmas decorations tho !!

    Reviewed by Richard3.8Dec 2021

  • "Enjoyed are break at Old Codgers Cottage, weather was not too good, but where able to relax and unwind in the cottage"

    Reviewed by Kenneth4.1Nov 2021

  • "Location to the small town of Windermere is excellent, hence the 1 star."

    The beds were very uncomfortable & we couldn't get any quality rest! The dinner plates were child sized and not large enough for adult portions. Plates, cups & cutlery were dirty! There weren't enough pans to cook a meal with and a black cooking pot was extremely rusty and unhygienic inside! The Frying Pan was badly scratched with ingrained stains and dirt that we couldn't remove. The garden furniture was ancient with half the green paint flaking off and it was filthy with ingrained dirt! The toilet brush holder was leaking filth! No hooks to hang coats on. Even with a parking permit it was next to impossible to park on the same street as the cottage! We were left instructions to strip the beds and bag up all the sheets with towells etc, wash the pots and clean & hoover to 'leave the cottage as we found it before departure! We don't necessarily object, but to be told that we must do this we thought was quite rude, especially as we were also told that we must vacate by 9am after effectively doing the cleaners job! Sykes cottages needs to pay attention to guests comments as you will lose repeat bookings if this is the standard of cottages on your books! I'm still waiting for a response to the complaint I sent???

    Reviewed by Maria1.6Sep 2021

  • "We have enjoyed our stay but would like to make a few comments - both mattresses need replacing front bedroom bed you can feel the springs through the covering, the stairs could do with a rail on both sides not just the one, the garden furniture could do with replacing or being painted and sliding doors on wardrobe need ensuring they are on their runners as two couldnt be opened as they had come off their rails and too heavy to lift back on to runners."

    Reviewed by Aileen3.4Aug 2021

  • "Lovely cottage , ideally located."

    Very comfortable and clean . Parking permit very handy and we were able to get a space each time we returned to cottage but have seen previous reviews where others have struggled. Dog owners there is a courtyard but if you have fussy pooch like us who needs grass under feet , park only a few hundred yards down the hill. Need some additional crockery, cereal bowls and wine glasses and toilet seat needs attention. Just little niggles to make it perfect ! There is no ‘before you leave info’ which is due to covid so apologies if we didn’t do any necessary stuff re bins, bedding or towels.Loved our stay in Old Codgers Cottage and would definitely recommend to both humans and fur babies.

    Reviewed by Lynn4.7Aug 2021

  • "The only downfall is the resident parking."

    we stayed 3 nights 4 days, but we only used the parking in front of the property on the day of our arrival. most days it's packed and we had to park somewhere else.

    Reviewed by Mrs Minerva4.7Jul 2021

  • "We booked Friday 'til Friday but we left the cottage on Tuesday and that should tell you something."

    I don't know if we expected too much from Windermere area but it was so overcrowded and in these days of social distancing well that didn't happen. The cottage location was ok but inside I'm afraid was a bit of a let down. In the kitchen the oven was in such a state it wasn't in our eyes fit to use - it was filthy, the kitchen itself was dark maybe due to the overcast weather but also the vegetation growing over the window outside. The toilet seat was very loose in the bathroom. It rained every day while we were there but there was nowhere to hang wet clothes when we got back to the cottage and with having a dog didn't help matters. Overall thinking of how things were I feel as though the cottage had not been looked over since the lockdown bearing in mind the windows had not been cleaned for months. If this is the standard of the cottages you let I'm afraid we will not be using Sykes Cottages again !!!

    Reviewed by Terry2.8Sep 2020

  • "It is a lovely cottage in a great location."

    Reviewed by Deborah5.0Aug 2020

  • "No everything you need in a beautiful part of the country beautiful walks ..."

    No everything you need in a beautiful part of the country beautiful walks stunning land scapes and frendily people recommend to any one

    Reviewed by Philip5.0Mar 2020

  • "A hair dryer would be nice to have in the future."

    Reviewed by Shubhdeep4.7Aug 2019

  • "Lovely little cottage in ideal spot fir enjoying Windermere."

    Reviewed by Steve3.8Jul 2019

Show more Hide all


  • Over two floors
  • 2 x doubles
  • Shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room with coal effect gas fire
  • Gas central heating with coal effect gas fire
  • Electric oven, gas hob, washing machine, tumble dryer, microwave, fridge/freezer, Smart TV, DVD player, WiFi, DVDs, music system, CDs
  • Fuel and power inc in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc in rent
  • Highchair and travel cot available
  • Visitor permit parking to the front of the property on a first come, first served basis and visitor permit supplied for one car
  • Patio area with garden furniture
  • Two well-behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shops, pubs and cafes 1-minute walk.

The property

Old Codger’s Cottage is a characterful, Victorian terrace in the heart of the bustling town of Windermere.

Originally built to house the workers on the Windermere railway line, the property is one of the oldest houses in the village.

Just a few strides away from all of the town attractions, this cottage makes a perfect, cosy hideaway for a visit to the Lakes.

The comfortable sitting room centres around the fireplace, which creates a lovely ambience, the ideal place to relax with the family, after a day on the hills or even the shops!

A selection of DVDs, CDs, a Smart TV and a music system complete this delightful room, offering a whole evening of entertainment.

A well-equipped kitchen/diner boasts a lovely space to cook and eat, giving you access to the private yard with chairs and a table to relax with your morning tea or evening tipple.

Upstairs, there are two peaceful double bedrooms and a modern shower room finished to a good standard of quality.

With being in such a handy location, the delights of the Lake District are on your door step.

Whether it’s the Bridge House in Ambleside or the Gingerbread shop in Grasmere, you are sure to find something to tickle your fancy.

While visiting, why not hop on one of the many pleasure cruises on the Lake or enjoy an hour of pitch and put in Bowness all while soaking in the magnificent views and panoramas.

You also have access to many National Trust properties, as well as woodland and countryside walking trails.

Old Codgers Cottage offers a revitalising break to the Lake District.

View on map

About the location


Ambleside 5 miles; Kendal 8.7 miles.

The twin towns of Bowness and Windermere are both vibrant, fun-filled places set within the splendid scenery of the Lake District. Both towns provide a range of amenities, shops and restaurants to suit all tastes whilst Ambleside offers the additional attraction of a boat ride to Bowness, the Lakeside Aquarium and Beatrix Potter's 'Hill Top House' at Sawrey. Grizedale Forest Park is within easy driving distance and is home to a range of activities including many good walks, mountain biking and the 'Go Ape' adventure park. The region also boasts many National Trust properties as well as a variety of water sports for those who prefer a more adrenaline-fuelled trip. Children will enjoy a trip to the 'World of Beatrix Potter' in Bowness whilst the villages of Grasmere, Coniston Water, Kendal, Keswick and the Lakeland Mountains are all within easy reach.

View more holiday cottages in Windermere

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas