Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Lake District 7 minutes ago

Greenhowes

Graythwaite near Hawkshead, Cumbria & The Lake District (Ref. 914059)

3.4

Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

Features

  • Icon/Feature/Swimming Pool Swimming pool
  • Icon/Feature/Off-road parking Off road parking
  • Icon/Feature/Open fire Open fire
  • Icon/Feature/Garden or Patio Garden / Patio
  • Icon/Feature/Baby-friendly Cot available
  • Icon/Feature/Baby-friendly Highchair available
  • Icon/Feature/Washing machine Washing machine
  • Icon/Feature/Dishwasher Dishwasher
  • Icon/Feature/WiFi Broadband / WiFi

Reviews

24 Customer Reviews

  • "Before booking Greenhowes, we inquired about three other places, with specific questions that needed answering before we could book."

    Sykes did not answer a single enquiry. It's all a very impersonal process, entirely computer generated. As for Greenhowes, it seemed overpriced, but perhaps that's just the Lake District especially in the time of Covid. The property is badly in need of refurbishment. None of the internal doors close properly, especially the toilets. Carpets in the toilets seems unhygienic. The kitchen is not very well stocked. The dishwasher needs replacing, since the two racks do not stay on their runners, with plates crashing everywhere when they are pulled out. Pool and shop were not open as often as claimed. For the price, I expected something better.

    Reviewed by GerardJun 2021

  • "Really relaxing place fabulous surroundings."

    Enjoyed being able to use the pool and having a farm shop on site was very convenient.

    Reviewed by MargaretSep 2020

  • "A really great location in wonderful surroundings."

    The property was a good size however very tired and in need of some work. Freezer didn’t keep food frozen, ruining £20 worth of ice cream. Hob and oven were exceptionally slow to get hot, carpets were stained in many places. One of the beds in the twin room had a wheel broken off meaning one bed couldn’t be kept level.

    Reviewed by PeterJul 2020

  • "A very friendly and peaceful hamlet - just what we wanted after the Christmas festivities."

    Reviewed by KarenDec 2019

  • "Lake District was beautiful especially this time of year with all the colours changing"

    Reviewed by BrendanOct 2019

  • "I have stayed in different cottages and this was by far the best."

    Reviewed by BaerbelSep 2019

  • "The location of the cottage is excellent with access to quiet roads and lakeside walks ."

    Very happy with our choice.

    Reviewed by LynnAug 2019

  • "What a beautiful, secluded spot."

    It certainly exceeded our expectations. Jackie in the shop gave us a lovely warm welcome on arrival, the courtyard set up worked very well with plenty of space for the children to roam and for us to enjoy the peace! Table tennis and swimming pool were daily favourites amongst us all. We would love to return.

    Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can welcome you back to Graythwaite in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by KateJul 2019

  • "We were disappointed that wi fi was clearly offered but we had very occasional wi fi ( 10 mins a day) ."

    With no phone signal communication was poor with the outside world ( including booking activities). A small point was there were no oven gloves for the oven

    We are sorry to hear that you experienced issues during your stay. In regards to the wifi, due to our rural location, BT do not yet offer high-speed, therefore the connection on the estate can be slower than you may be used to. We don’t tend to supply oven gloves, but we do leave thick tea towels on the oven handles to use for hot items. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback we do appreciate it Property Owner

    Reviewed by PhilipJul 2019

  • "Great cottage in a quiet, pretty location."

    We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you visit again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by BeverleyJul 2019

  • "We had a few concerns initially after reading some reviews but our cottage was lovely."

    We celebrated joint birthdays while there with a child and two dogs. Lovely cottage, nice facilities, comfy beds and very clean!

    Thank you for leaving us your lovely review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you return in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by LaurenMar 2019

  • "I feel that the description used to describe this property is inaccurate."

    It cannot be described as luxury and does not justify the price charged. I know that a lot of reviews have said the same thing but you as a company continue to market the property inaccurately. Positives- spacious property, well equipped kitchen, lovely location, good bedding and towels Negatives-very faded (apart from kitchen equipment which had been updated) for example grubby worn carpet, basic bathroom with a shower that need replacing, fireplace in living room is not fit for purpose. I have used smaller companies with properties in Uk before and this was poor in comparison.

    We are very sorry to hear that you experienced issues with our property during your stay. We are improving all of our cottages as part of our rolling plan of maintenance and upgrades, but we’re sorry that we fell below your expectations on this occasion. We have noted your negatives (and positives) and thank you for your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JanetDec 2018

  • "I had a problem with the toilet cover and I phoned the company."

    The next morning they came to changed it. Excellent service !

    We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and very glad we were able to rectify your issue promptly. We hope we can welcome you back to visit us in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by HaraldNov 2018

  • "This was an early Christmas resent for our parents, one of which is terminally ill."

    We were all thrilled with the cottage and it’s facilaties. The location was perfect to allow us to travel to Coniston, Ambleside, Grassmere, Hawkshead and Windermere. We’ll certainly be looking to return again soon.

    Reviewed by TraceyNov 2018

  • "The cottage was very pratical and we had an amazing week."

    The pool onsite was a real positive, it was not clear whether the pool is included in the price or as part of the gym/leisure but we were pleased that the pool is no extra charge. The only feedback points I have that I think iare worth an mention (and I don’t want to come over too negative).. We had a cold snap and the cottage does get cold because the doors and windows are not well insulated. We had a fire each night which kept the living room cosy however the kitchen remained cold but the upstairs was fine. The draw control on the fireplace has nut missing so this needs fixing. The rear garden/seating has no easy access and some games/books would be a nice touch. We loved the area, walking distance to the lake, access to Grizedale and would come back.

    Reviewed by JamesOct 2018

  • "The cottage was beautiful and the setting too."

    We loved pretty much everything apart from the loo seats were a tad old and slid around when you sat down, could have done with a few more kitchen utensils like tongs etc (we found that it's pretty much standard to not have this extent of utensils anywhere). The shower was temperamental and sometimes wouldn't work straightaway and the storage heaters meant that we were sweltering every morning. It sounds like we didn't enjoy our stay but we really did, it was just a shame that there some basic issues. Lastly, not sure what the deal is with the local milkman? 2 pints of milk delivered every 2 days, not ordered by us but sent an invoice for?? Another family asked us what we were going to do, because they had the same delivery and dilemna. We would use it again though due to it's sheer magnificence and heritage.

    Reviewed by RachelOct 2018

  • "A great cottage."

    Loved the pool. A lovely holiday. Only issue was the storage heaters , living room was fine rest of cottage felt cold.

    Reviewed by TonySep 2018

  • "We found Greenhowes cottage to be very comfortable and well equipped but we would not class it as luxury accommodation."

    Attention needs to be paid to regular maintenance of the cottages. The only specific issue we had was with the toilets, both toilets in the cottage had seats that were not well fitted and came unattached. The location is very pretty and plenty to do in the Lake District.

    Reviewed by RoderickMay 2018

  • "Its a great place toyou explore use as a base as everything is on your doorstep."

    Make sure you explore the estate as with wildlife here is amazing.

    Reviewed by ChristopherMay 2018

  • "I only booked this as it said it had a gym and indoor pool."

    When we arrived we had to pay extra for the gym! The pool area was very dirty and poor changing facilities with no hooks etc. The carpet in the cottage needed renewing as it was stained in the bathrooms etc . It would have been nice if there was some kind of welcome treat, like a cream tea or a bottle of wine.

    Reviewed by SarahMay 2018

  • "Lovely spot and cottage!"

    Would have liked a bit more outside seating and easier access to rear garden. But great facilities

    Reviewed by SteveAug 2017

  • "We had an amazing holiday, property was as described the setting was more magical !"

    My daughter who is in a swim club made use of the pool and we loved the mini battles of table tennis ! Everything in the cottage was of good quality and little things like the milk on arrival was fab !! Staff at Sykes were great at getting back to me and I have already booked for next year ! Thank you !

    Reviewed by VictoriaOct 2016

  • "A very clean and well equipped cottage in ideal surroundings."

    The basket of logs for the fire was appreciated. The cottage itself was very warm and cosy.

    Reviewed by KaronOct 2015

  • "Greenhowes is a nice, cosy cottage with open fire and pleasant surroundings."

    Reviewed by Anne MarieMay 2015

Show more

Graythwaite Cottages

Hawkshead 4 miles. Located on a beautiful, 5000-acre private country estate of diverse lake, forest, woodland and meadow landscapes, this charming courtyard of Victorian farm buildings, dating from 1890, sits in a superb central setting for a Lake District getaway to remember. Each of these delightful Lake District cottages has been thoughtfully refurbished and retain much original character, well balanced with modern furnishings and set just one mile from the shores of Lake Windermere. Each has been finished to a high standard, with most offering cosy open fires or wood burners to snuggle beside after a busy day. The nearest Village is Hawkshead, situated 4 miles from the Estate. The nearest train station is Grange-over-sands and the nearest motorway is the M6 (J36). There are some wonderful on-site facilities to take advantage of, which include a fantastic indoor heated swimming pool, table tennis room and children’s play area. This magical estate offers an escape to another world with a 2.5-acre lake, just a 10-minute walk from the courtyard, which is well stocked with rainbow trout and boasts a serene setting for hazy afternoons spent fly fishing. The estate’s grounds provide a wonderland for all ages and offer plenty of places to stop for a picnic or enjoy a quiet stroll or a gentle cycle along the lakeshore. Make the most of the estate by booking activities with the on-site events team Graythwaite Adventure. The extensive list of premium activities and excursions, designed to keep you entertained regardless of the weather, includes but is not limited to; 4X4 Off-roading, Archery, Clay Pigeon Shooting, Paddle boarding, Canoeing, RIB tours, Sailing, Bubble Football, Guided Walks, Bush craft and more! All activities can be completely tailored to suit your needs and requirements to create the perfect activity schedule for you. Moreover, if there is an activity that tickles your fancy however is not listed please do not hesitate to contact the team. No request is too big or small, and they will endeavour to do their best to deliver. Graythwaite customers can also avail of a multitude of benefits for local services and attractions. Enjoy discounted rates for Go Ape, mountain bike hire and meals at the nearby Lakeside Hotel. The on-site shop offers everything from milk to luxury local spirits and delicious welcome packs with succulent, locally-sourced food. Get in touch with the Estate to organise your pre-arrival order today. This group of Lake District properties provides an unforgettable escape and is an excellent destination for a special holiday spent relaxing and enjoying the tranquil setting and fantastic on-site facilities. Booked together, the properties can accommodate 86 people.

The property

A welcoming terraced cottage set in a row of four, occupying a superb position in the central courtyard on the wonderful Graythwaite Estate.

With excellent facilities including an indoor swimming pool, table tennis and play area on the doorstep, this Lake District cottage makes a great family base for spending time together exploring the estate or venturing out to the Lake District beyond.

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x twin, 1 x adult bunks
  • Shower room with shower and basin
  • Separate WC
  • Kitchen with breakfast bar (seats 2) and dining area
  • Sitting room with open fire.
  • Electric central heating with open fire
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, shared use of tumble dryer in table tennis room, dishwasher, TV with Freeview, DVD, WiFi, public phone in courtyard
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for fire inc. in rent
  • Kindling available £4/bag, coal available £8/bag
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair
  • Ample off road parking
  • Shared use of estate grounds and facilities inc. indoor heated swimming pool, table tennis room (please bring your own racquets and balls), children's play area, 2.5-acre trout fishing lake
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shops 4 miles, pubs 2 miles
  • Water from private supply, fed from freshwater lake
  • To avoid disappointment, we recommend booking Graythwaite Adventure in advance
  • Graythwaite fishery is free for all guests and equipment can be hired locally, a small fee is applicable to keep your catch, rod fishing license required
  • Mobile phone signal may be limited due to the location of the property
  • Please Note: This property has a £250 Good Housekeeping Bond
  • Please Note: For your safety and in line with the Covid-19 guidelines, with effect from the 3rd September 2020 access to the swimming pool will be limited to hourly private sessions, advanced booking is recommended and can be done by contacting estate@graythwaite.com
  • Please consider the following information when making your booking; the owner is doing everything possible to keep the facilities open, but there is a possibility that they may be restricted or closed at the time of your stay if the situation or guidance regarding Covid-19 changes

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location

HAWKSHEAD

Ambleside 4 miles; Kendal 24 miles.

The picturesque village of Hawkshead still retains the charm and character that so endeared it to its most famous residents - William Wordsworth and Beatrix Potter. Visitors can wander the wealth of tiny alleyways, thoroughfares, archways and courtyards between the whitewashed 17th century houses. There are many pleasant inns, teashops, guest houses and gift shops in the village, as well as the Beatrix Potter Gallery, which houses an annually changing exhibition of the famous author’s illustrations and stories. The other famous Hawkshead enthusiast, William Wordsworth, attended the Old Grammar School in 1779-87, which still stands today, and you can visit the building where the Lakeland poet developed his love of the form, and even see the desk into which he scratched his name as a small boy! Newby Bridge is ten miles away and offers attractions such as the Aquarium of the Lakes and Windermere Lake Cruises, sailing daily between Ambleside, Bowness and Lakeside. With stunning scenery and numerous attractions within easy touring distance, Hawkshead is in an ideal location at any time of the year.

Region Information

As well as the wide range of activities on-site, The Graythwaite Estate are pleased to offer you the following services to make your stay even more special:

*Maps and recommendations for walks around the estate and surrounding area, along with a list of things to see and do, and the pick of the best local pubs and restaurants

*The arrangement of canoeing, bushcraft, climbing, guided walks and other activities - just let the estate know and they’ll take care of it

*Milk and provisions from Town End Farm can be delivered to your doorstep during your stay

More information about these superb deals and activites can be obtained directly with the Estate once your booking is confirmed.


This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it