Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Lake District 2 minutes ago

1 of 31 View Image Gallery
  • Ben House - Lake District - 1041648 - photo 1

Ben House

(Ref. 1041648)

Grasmere, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 3 Bathrooms

  • Pets No


  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • house (20)
  • location (13)
  • grasmere (12)
  • stay (11)
  • ben (10)
  • lovely (10)

27 Customer Reviews

  • "My family and I had a wonderful stay at Ben House."

    It is an ideal property for families, with a great location that is quiet and peaceful, yet just a short 5-10 minute walk from Grasmere. With three young children under the age of five, we felt very safe and secure thanks to the large enclosed garden and driveway that kept them away from any nearby roads. You just need to be mindful of the small pond in the garden. The utility room and drying room were also very handy in getting wellies, coats and clothes dry for the next day. We would highly recommend this property and we will definately be staying here again.

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed all that the property and area had to offer. Thank you for your recommendation. Lakelovers Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by OliverNov 2023

  • "Lovely house in an excellent, quiet but convenient location 5-10 mins walk outside the centre of Grasmere."

    This was our second stay at Ben House and we enjoyed it as much as our first.

    Thank you for your kind comments, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Ben House. We hope to welcome you back again for a 3rd. The Lakelovers Owner Relations Team. Property Owner

    Reviewed by PhilipAug 2023

  • "Beautiful property, very spacious and comfortable."

    The garden furniture was much appreciated as the weather was hot and sunny. Looking forward to returning again.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay at Ben House. Lakelovers Owner Relations Property Owner

    Reviewed by JuneJun 2023

  • "Lovely house."

    Very comfortable.

    Thank you for your kind comment. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back. The Owner Relations Team. Property Owner

    Reviewed by TonyMay 2023

  • "This property is everything you could want in a holiday house."

    The house is spacious and extremely well equipped and beautifully presented. The living rooms are large with plenty of seating and lighting and great views over the garden and hills beyond. The kitchen is very well kitted out with everything you could need. A great drying room is included. The sofas are all comfortable as are the beds. The bathrooms all large with excellent walk in showers. The heating system is well up to the job of keeping you warm in the winter. Plenty of games are provided and lots of walking books for the Lakes including all the Wainwrights. The location is quiet situated just outside of Grasmere village so away from the steady stream of tourists but close enough to visit the local shops and coffee shops if needed with a 5 minute walk. We shall definitely be returning.

    Thank you for your kind feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Ben House, and that you found it to have everything that you needed. We look forward to welcoming you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by RachelFeb 2023

  • "Ben House was wonderful."

    Superb location with easy access to the hills. The house its self was kitted out beautifully to a high standard. The dehumidifier in the boot room was excellent given the heavy rain we had all week. We’ll be back.

    Reviewed by DavidDec 2022

  • "Beautiful house in a great location."

    It was a lot more spacious than we’d expected from the listing. We loved being able to access public footpaths a few metres from the door and that we were only a few minutes walk from Grasmere; this meant we rarely used the car. Only tiny improvement would be to include some wood for the log burner (and a hot tub would be lovely but, of course, we knew there wasn’t one). We were ready to book for the same week next year; it was only the increase in price on an already expensive house that stopped us booking.

    Many thanks for your kind comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately it's not straightforward for us to provide logs; we have amended the website to make this clear. Logs can be be bought easily in the village however. And we are sorry for the change in prices next year but this is to try to keep up with energy costs . Property Owner

    Reviewed by LisaOct 2022

  • "Fantastic property."

    Clean, spacious and well appointed. Close to Grasmere in between the North and South Lakes. Well equipped kitchen. Will book again.

    Reviewed by CheeOct 2022

  • "Beautiful property in a quiet location with great views, but only a short walk from the centre of Grasmere."

    Well equipped and very comfortable. A better TV would be the only improvement we’d suggest. We’ll very likely be back!

    Thanks for your review; we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. As mentioned already below, we will replace the TV when we get a chance at the end of the year (now done), so we hope we can welcome you back soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by PhilipAug 2022

  • "Love the house beautifully decorated and furnished."

    Visited with elderly mum and we were very disappointed with the tv too small for such a large lounge and very poor picture and sound unless you used Netflix. Needs sky or similar also no TVs in bedrooms so we could not retire to our own room to watch own programme . Mum thankfully brought a radio which she used in her bedroom.Very hot over the weekend no working parasol no ratten garden furniture with cushions or loungers we had to sit on iron chairs all day couldn't relax in the sun and chill very uncomfortable for a long period my mum was particularly sore please consider providing a nice comfy set to relax in as garden is lovely nice place to relax with drinks . Old parasol in garage but no base ? All in all we had a nice relaxing week loved sitting in the bay window in dining room in the morning on the two chairs there lovely spot ! At night you could see straight into the hall as front doors were all clear glass would have liked a blind to close when it was darker . Bathrooms lovely showers were powerful . Great location love grasmere and great place to start from when visiting further afield .

    Thank you for your feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall. We have replaced the TV. All the garden furniture is equipped with cushions which are kept in the utility room (although guests do not always replace them correctly) so we are sorry if these were not easy to locate; the parasol base is the picnic bench but a separate one is now provided. We have also added garden loungers to the outdoor furniture. Property Owner

    Reviewed by MarieAug 2022

  • "A lovely house, with great proportions, and a really top spot to explore Grasmere without being right on top of it."

    It was much bigger than the photos suggested. Might have been nice if there was a bbq but I imagine we don’t get many weeks with weather that good in the Lakes(!), and there might be restrictions on open fires etc. I really can’t fault the house, and when we come back to Grasmere we would definitely look to this house first as a place to stay.

    Many thanks for your feedback and we are glad you had a good stay. We have thought hard about a bbq but after taking advice we have decided against putting one in. We hope we may still welcome you back in future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JonathanJul 2022

  • "Lovely spacious property in an excellent location."

    Thoughtfully and comfortably maintained and presented - it was a delight to stay there and we will be back.

    Reviewed by TonyJun 2022

  • "Ben House is a beautiful property with charm and character."

    All the rooms are spacious, comfortable and well equipped. The dining room is perfect for a large group and has a relaxing seating area that looks onto the garden; perfect for morning coffee. We also bought logs for the wood burning stove in the evening from the local shop. The property is in a perfect location for Grasmere village. Highly recommended property.

    Reviewed by EmmaMar 2022

  • "During our stay the WiFi stopped working twice, on both occasions we received a message stating we had no "data available" and we could purchase additional data for £30."

    On both occasions I called Lakelovers who got the WiFi reinstated. What I could not understand was that one of this cottages listed amenities is "Unlimited WiFi" so why did we have the inconvenience of no WiFi for two evenings???? At 23:00 on Thursday all electrical power was lost to the cottage, as I could not find an out of office number to call Lakelovers I called the power company directly. They had no knowledge of any power failure in our area so were unsure as to whether the issue was in the cottage or external. They talked me through various checks but nothing was found. They then advised that they could issue a work order for engineers to attend the property but if the fault was found to be located inside the cottage I would be liable for cost of the call out!!! As we had no alternative I agreed to the work order being issued and when the engineers arrived and completed their inspection, at 02:00 Friday morning, they advised the issue was located in the sub station but the power would not be restored until sometime during Friday. I advised Lakelovers of the power failure around 09:00 as we were departing, as required, by 10:00. One positive note should be taken from this power failure, this is the two rechargeable torches, which are place at the top and bottom of the stairs came on when the power failed and were still on when we left the cottage. One downside was the doorbell switches, which are plugged in in the dining room and lounge, this went into alarm mode on the power failure and remained in that mode until we had to unplug them to get some sleep. Design fault???

    Thank you for your feedback Mr King. We are sorry about the Wi-fi problems you experienced. These were due to storm damage and over 30 houses locally were affected. Lakelovers maintenance team left a information sheet explaining the situation and installed an emergency system that unfortunately does not allow streaming. We did tell you immediately when the company restored internet to the affected properties. We are also sorry to hear that the ongoing storms caused a power failure, again outside of our house. It is always best to contact Lakelovers in this situation, using the number supplied to you, but at least the problem was resolved. We hope this doesnt deter you from staying again at Ben House. Thank you once again Property Owner

    Reviewed by MalcolmFeb 2022

  • "Ben House is just right."

    Everything you could possibly want in a holiday home in an excellent location.

    Reviewed by EmmaDec 2021

  • "Ben House is a fantastic home in a beautiful location and is decorated to an excellent standard."

    Although the weather including, storm Arwen, was freezing we all had a lovely enjoyable stay. Just a few minor improvements I could suggest; A larger television with a sound-bar and Sky would have been appreciated ( considering the weather ) Also, we were in the garden with our Grand- Daughter when it snowed and the little pond was covered and could not be made out so possibly a small warning sign. Overall a fantastic property and we hope to return in the future

    Reviewed by JohnNov 2021

  • "Wonderful stay."

    Lovely, comfortable cottage with great amenities. Can’t wait to return next year. Would have been helpful to have been clearer in instructions before going that we would need tea towels. Sink in main bathroom could benefit from some Mr Muscle as it is draining very slowly.

    Thank you for your feedback after your departure from Ben House in Grasmere. We are thrilled to hear you had a great week at the cottage and look forward to welcoming you back. We are sorry no tea towels were provided for your stay, there should have been two. If anything is missing in the future please don't hesitate to contact us and we would be happy to provide. Kind Regards, Property Owner

    Reviewed by SarahOct 2021

  • "Our second stay at Ben House and again it met our expectations."

    Set a short walk away from the busy centre of Grasmere, Ben House offers complete peace and quiet amid lovely surroundings, a big garden with no parking issues. We had a problem with the shower draining in the ensuite but this was fixed quickly, with a combination of Lakelovers and the owner. We are heading to another part of the Lakes in summer 2022 (with Lakelovers) but we will be back to Ben House.

    Reviewed by StevenAug 2021

  • "Suggestions for improvements PLEASE RECYCLE Disappointed no recycling facilities at Ben House - or Grasmere - ended up phoning the Council who told us the mixed rubbish bin would not be sorted or recycled - google search ten years out of date stating recycling at The Wordsworth Hotel!"

    Ambleside recycling closed at 6pm - ended up driving to Windermere! Twice! Extra couple of towels would have been helpful

    Thank you for taking the time to feedback after your recent stay at Ben House. We are glad to hear you had a lovely week. We do wish you had contacted the team at Lakelovers regarding the recycling, the property is on a private waste collection called Cumbria Waste Recycling due to them being a business. The bin collects all rubbish waste, paper, cardboard, glass and plastics and is separated at the depot by the company. Again regarding towels, we provide two per guest; a hand towel and a bath towel. If you needed any extra we would have been happy to provide for you to collect from our Ambleside Office. Kind Regards Lakelovers Property Owner

    Reviewed by LesleyAug 2021

  • "This was our second time at Ben House and loved it once again."

    It’s a great location within a short walk of the village centre and yet set in a quiet location. An excellent choice, especially with 3 bedrooms and bathrooms for a mixed household group.Thank you!

    Reviewed by ColinMay 2021

  • "WOW! What a place!"

    Absolutely stunning. We loved staying here for a week. All the rooms were gorgeous and very spacious. The decor is done throughout the house beautifully.

    Da Silva PartyAug 2019

  • "Fantastic week and we absolutely love this house."

    The decor, space, location & garden - can we please live here?

    Pender PartyAug 2019

  • "Wonderful stay."

    The house is fantastic!

    Cormac PartyJul 2019

  • "Fabulous house."

    We had a great stay with 7 days of warm sunshine. The house exceeded all expectations.

    Mr ReikApr 2019

  • "Ben House was very luxurious, spacious and extremely relaxing."

    The recent refurbishment has been sympathetically done to a very high standard retaining the history of the Victorian house. We were very impressed with the beautiful staircase. Ben House is situated in a very quiet private lane.

    Mrs MethvenMar 2019

  • "A fantastic base for a week in Grasmere."

    Spacious and luxurious but really cosy. Every room has a lovely feel to it and made for a really restful stay

    Lisa & JohnMar 2019

  • "Beautiful house."

    Quality of everything fantastic. Warm. Top notch bathrooms!

    Dr. BorgNov -0001

Show more

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.


  • Highly Commended 5 Star property
  • Over 2 floors
  • 3 x bedrooms; 2 x king size with en suite, 1 x super king size zip link (can be a twin on request) family bathroom, large lounge, kitchen, dining room, sunroom, utility room, cloakroom with WC, Travel cot and Highchair, garden, furnished patio and private parking.
  • Elegant Victorian Lakeland House, Recent extensive renovation, Excellent location in a quiet corner of Grasmere, Smart TV, Dining room with south-facing bay window, Contemporary gas fire, Sunroom, Designer kitchen, Gas hob, double oven and microwave, Dishwasher, Fridge / Freezer, Krups Nespresso Machine (please provide your own pods), Utility room, Washing machine, Drier, Drinks fridge, Drying room and downstairs cloakroom with WC, Full gas central heating, Underfloor heating in bathrooms, Unlimited wifi, South facing dining patio, Additional sitting area, Garage for bike storage, Garden with wildlife pond, Walks direct from the front door, Private parking – 3 cars, Sorry no pets, Bed linen and towels provided.

The property

Ben House is an extraordinary early Victorian property with spacious rooms.

Recently renovated to exacting standards, you’ll find the house to be an elegant and comfortable holiday home in a sleepy corner of Grasmere.

Originally built as a gentleman's residence in the 1830s, the house still retains many of its original features, but has seamlessly integrated some contemporary design features and conveniences.

Walking along the beautifully tiled hallway to the modern kitchen, you can’t help but admire the high ceilings, large windows and feature fireplaces.

Other features include bespoke luxury bathrooms with underfloor heating, a large lounge complete with leather sofas and log burner (logs not provided), a spacious dining room and three very well presented bedrooms, sleeping up to six guests.

The heart of Grasmere village is just a short stroll away with cosy tea rooms, handy shops and a range of eateries - from local bistros to traditional village pubs.

Visit Forestside, a Michelin-starred restaurant if you are looking for a real treat.

Walks abound in this central part of the Lake District, from gentle rambles to more adventurous hikes onto Fairfield, Helvellyn and Helm Crag.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


  • Ambleside 5 miles
  • Windermere 9 miles
  • Keswick 13 miles

Situated in the heart of the Lake District National Park is the lovely village of Grasmere, probably best known as the home of William Wordsworth, a place he once described as "The most loveliest spot that man hath found". Any visit to Grasmere needs to include The Grasmere Gingerbread shop, where the Wilson family has been making gingerbread for over 60 years. Also in the village are a number of shops, pubs, a church which dates back to the 13th century, and Grasmere Lake. Grasmere Sports takes place every August, where you can watch participants compete in a variety of sports, including Cumberland wrestling. Just five miles away is the town of Ambleside and Lake Winderemere where you will find shops, pubs, restaurants and the 17th century Bridge House, which is one of the most photographed buildings in the Lake District. Cruises, boat trips and watersports can all be enjoyed on Lake Windermere, and the towns of Windermere and Keswick are also within driving distance. Grasmere is a wonderful base for your Lake District retreat.

View more holiday cottages in Grasmere

Please note this property has a zip link bed. This will be made as a Super King by default. Please contact the call center should you wish it to be a twin.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute