Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

18 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 14 View Image Gallery
  • Waterside - Lake District - 1042969 - photo 1


(Ref. 1042969)

Ambleside, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 3 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • location (15)
  • comfortable (12)
  • bed (12)
  • apartment (12)
  • stay (11)
  • no (10)

33 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely flat in a wonderful location with views across the lake and a 5-10 minute walk from the centre of Ambleside."

    Extremely comfortable with good facilities. Needs a little TLC in some areas and the sofa and couch could definitely do with upgrading but other than that it was perfect. Will definitely be returning. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Anne4.4Nov 2023

  • "2nd visit in year."

    lovely view from window. would recommend.

    Reviewed by Susan4.7Nov 2023

  • "It’s all about location, that’s why we stay here."

    Excluding the dining table and chairs, everything else was comfortable enough, the water was hot and the heating worked well. A great base.

    Thank you for your feedback. We take all comments on board. The Lakelovers Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christopher4.4Sep 2023

  • "The floor and rug in the lounge could have been cleaner, our socks were a little grubby and fluffy from walking around in the apartment from arrival."

    Floorboards were also quite creaky which was disturbing in the night for others when going to the loo, but otherwise a great apartment in a fab location and amazing views.

    Reviewed by Michelle4.4Sep 2023

  • "A lovely apartment, with good facilities."

    Comfortable beds etc. If we could make some constructive comments, the general maintenance to outside patio area was poor. Railings need painting, and a power wash of the outside area was overdue. The carpet in the living area and chairs need some attention. But overall we had a pleasant experience.

    Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that that you enjoyed your stay. We take all comments on board. Thank you- The Lakelovers Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alan2.5Sep 2023

  • "We loved our stay and will book here again."

    Being able to open the front windows would improve ventilation as it was a bit hot at times. But overall one of the best and nicest places we have stayed.

    Reviewed by Jo4.7Aug 2023

  • "Thought this was an accessible apartment but had steps to the front door & quite a small shower for someone with mobility needs to move around in safely."

    However, this could have been an error in searching & overlooked by us. Lovely apartment, suited us well & the view from the front room window…well indescribable! Very comfortable, had everything that we needed…thought the sofa was ok, could do with a broom/dustpan & brush but other than that - brilliant!

    Reviewed by Marie R4.7Aug 2023

  • "Very comfortable accommodation and perfect situation overlooking lake."

    Roof light in main bedroom not working. Teapot had no lid. No bedside lamp in spare bedroom. Shower not easy to work and retain heat. Otherwise we were happy with our stay and will return.

    Reviewed by Tom3.4Jul 2023

  • "Amazing place and location."

    Would stay here again. The sofa was uncomfortable and small could do with a seating that’s supports head too as none of the seating had this. Main bed mattress not very supportive. Overall fantastic

    Thank you for your kind comments, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We do find that sofas and bedding are down to personal preference. We hope to welcome you back. The Heart of the Lakes Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gurdev4.4May 2023

  • "Absolutely lovely property, very nicely furnished, comfortable bed, good quality towels and bedding."

    The most amazing views from the front windows, lovely place to sit with a coffee and look at the lake. We did forget an item of our belongings, which they sent to us.

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Apr 2023

  • "Recommend this beautiful apartment which is in a perfect location and base for the lakes."

    The view from the apartment is so picturesque. Will definitely return. The property would benefit from a more comfortable sofa in the lounge area, maybe a corner shape sofa, especially after all the walking and exploring in the lakes, comfort is a necessity. Apart from that, fabulous!!

    Thank you for your kind comments, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and the views! We take all comments on board. We hope to welcome you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mandy4.4Apr 2023

  • "Unable to connect to WiFi Shower control was stiff to operate and couldn't ..."

    Unable to connect to WiFi Shower control was stiff to operate and couldn't control water pressure Apart from these couple of issues the apartment was fantastic

    Thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We take all comments on board. We hope to welcome you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Wayne3.8Mar 2023

  • "Stunning location - couldn’t fault anything about it from start to finish."

    Will return. Thank you for a wonderful stay. Exactly what we wanted.

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Feb 2023

  • "After arriving we didn't step into the car again until we left 4 days later- perfect location close to Ambleside but off the beaten track - and plenty to see from the lounge windows - spent hours looking at the changing view from the bay."

    Thoroughly recommend it. Thank you for providing such an excellently done holiday flat. We will likely book agian.

    Reviewed by Jenny5.0Dec 2022

  • "Third time visiting and loved every minute."

    Only thing that would improve it is a more comfortable sofa and chair. The ones at the moment are really not that great. Sorry! Otherwise all perfect. Thank you

    Reviewed by Anne4.7Nov 2022

  • "Complicated heating system."

    Cold in some rooms until realised about timing system. Only lounge heaters available on demand. Needs TV in back bedroom. Needs more comfortable settee. Apartment info booklet needs leaving out in view. Only found in a drawer on last day. Beautiful location. Good access to ferry’s. Lots of nearby walks.

    Reviewed by Anthony4.4Sep 2022

  • "The shower was extremely small and mouldy."

    Also I felt that the towels should have been refreshed at least twice during the week but they weren't at all. I felt by the wording on the emails I received that I should clean the apartment before we left or I would have £200 taken from my account. I paid over £800 for a weeks stay so I don't feel I have to clean up for the next guests , I was on holiday!!

    Reviewed by Susan2.2Sep 2022

  • "Positive - Lovely clean flat in an idyllic location."

    Very well equipped, and very comfortable beds. We often used the YHS restaurant next door, which was very nice, and also the local chip shop which was delicious. Negative - We did request a high chair for the baby, which was acknowledged, but unfortunately wasn’t in place, and made some mealtimes very difficult. I also struggled with the Sykes website which isn’t the best. The ‘contact us’ sends you in circles.

    Reviewed by Gaynor4.7Aug 2022

  • "Beautiful property in beautiful surroundings."

    It had everything you would possibly need throughout your stay. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and so did our fur baby Roxy ( mini schnauzer), will definitely book to stay again.

    Reviewed by Jon5.0Aug 2022

  • "Excellent place to stay."

    Great picturesque location.

    Reviewed by Ian5.0Jun 2022

  • "A really comfortable and spacious apartment with an amazing view from the front windows."

    Ideally situated for the cruisers on Lake Windermere, local restaurants, cafes etc. The accommodation is well equipped with everything you need for a great stay. We were so impressed that, even before we checked out, we had re-booked for another week later in the year! Highly recommended and ideal also for any four-legged friends!

    Reviewed by Janice5.0Jun 2022

  • "The property was tired, particularly the outside."

    Our allocated parking space had rubbish littered there, a large old TV, a gallon oil can, a box with at least 30 glass bottles, lids and other general paper and waste. It was still there when we left and hadn’t been cleaned up. The windows were full of fly nests making it impossible to open them. The poorly maintained exterior let’s the property down. I have photographs to support my dissatisfaction.

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate the time taken to send your observations. If you had contacted us during your stay then we would have been more than happy to attend the property to rectify these issues. We have now discussed the issues you have described with the owner. They have taken on board all the points you have raised and will action as soon as possible. We hope you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Angela3.1May 2022

  • "Superb location right by the lake and ferry stop."

    Facilities and pubs on hand are excellent. Only a short walk into Ambleside. The apartment is lovely; well furnished and stocked with everything that we needed. Highly recommended.

    Reviewed by Stephen4.4May 2022

  • "Great property, great views"

    Reviewed by Joanne5.0Feb 2022

  • "Super clean apartment."

    More homely with curtains etc. Bedroom ones great. Could do with a table lamp or two so one doesn't have to have main light on. We must like the place having been there 4 times in one year

    Reviewed by Patricia4.7Jan 2022

  • "We strongly recommend that the owner stays a few days in the apartment - as if a guest."

    They would pick up things like: - the wifi code in the book is wrong, and so are the two that Sykes people have - there is no shaver socket in the bathroom or light over the mirror (the mirror has a power supply, but used only for a heater) - the shower does not drain properly, so the tray fills up - there is a drain smell in the bathroom, that can be fixed for a day, but then returns - the bedroom curtains need to be thicker to keep out the street light outside - the lounge blind doesn't work - the bedroom door doesn't latch - the tv has been changed but the manual has not - the microwave instructions given could easily be much better for basic operation - the kitchen could do with a towel rail - a long handle brush would be useful for daily sweeping without having to get the vacuum out - simple tiebacks on the lounge curtains would significantly improve lovely the view - the lounge chairs are quite uncomfortable. Hope this helps - the views from the bay are excellent and really make this apartment! We preferred dealing with HoL before they were Sykes.

    Reviewed by Wendy2.5Oct 2021

  • "Location superb Some white paintwork could do with refreshing (flaking on ..."

    Location superb Some white paintwork could do with refreshing (flaking on bottom of frame in bay window) Shower cubical / screen too small - rather than sliding screen consider shower curtain to allow easier access

    Reviewed by Stephen4.7Sep 2021

  • "I booked this property due to not feeling 100% confident in travelling abroad yet due to Covid etc."

    My husband and myself had never travelled to The Lakes so thought this made perfect sense. I have a Cocker Spaniel so a dog friendly property was a must. I read a few of the reviews of the property prior to travelling and was a little concerns regarding the issues previous visitors had had. However, I decided to go into it with an open mind. The directions to the property were easy to follow, and although we missed the turn into the harbour parking area first time, we quickly realised our error and found our way. The designated parking space looked a bit hairy to access, but luckily The Husband is better at manoeuvres than me! Previous visitors commented on the social area with sofa. The sofa now in place is different to that that’s in the promo photos, and there is also an armchair. Plus the two armchairs which have pride of place in the bay window for people watching. I think this arrangement was perfect for what we wanted, albeit there was only two of us; the property slept four (a double bed is now in the second bedroom) so it would definitely be a bit cramped if four were using it. Everything was good for our use, my only criticism would be the curtains in the main bedroom, which I think has been mentioned before. Darker curtains or an additional blackout blind would be nice, the white ones currently in place look good, but they’re sadly not very effective. That’s it though, my only criticism / observation of the whole place. The property is close enough to Ambleside to be able to walk into town, in fact, we arrived on the Saturday afternoon and didn’t use the car again until Thursday! Lots of friendly pubs and restaurants close by too. All in all, we had a good stay.

    Reviewed by Jo4.1Aug 2021

  • "Brilliant location and views, excellent shower albeit on the small side, well equipped kitchen, comfy chairs and sofa, good smart tv."

    Negatives:- shabby chic dining table and chairs, more shabby than chic, the chairs are grim. The bed is poor, uncomfortable and too soft. Unfortunately that’s where you spend 8 hours.

    Reviewed by Chris3.1Jul 2021

  • "Very convenient location, great views of lake and mountains."

    Ambleside town centre is easily accessible. Decent flat car parking space was a bonus. Property is close to Ambleside pier and to A591 which meant easy get away to all other local destinations. Well furnished and tastefully decorated apartment.

    Reviewed by Guggari5.0Jun 2021

  • "There are three things that would massively improve this accommodation - 1) Blackout curtains in the bedroom - for such a huge window, white curtains provide no darkness at all and the whole room is lit up at 4."

    30am which seriously affected my sleep. 2) Replace sofa and armchair - both are uncomfortable and don’t provide the relaxing seating they should to appreciate the amazing views, 3) Replace rickety dining table - squeaks and moves with every knife and fork movement - it really isn’t pleasant to eat at! Be wary of the limited hot water without pressing the boost function. We got caught out after taking morning showers and finding there wasn’t enough hot water for an evening shower after a long day walking - not enough time to boost before our dinner reservation so forced to have cold showers! Those things aside, this is a great holiday let and we would return, this is intended as constructive feedback to the owner as addressing the above really would make this an outstanding place to stay.

    Reviewed by Lindsey4.4Jun 2021

  • "Sofa is not comfortable and not fit for purpose for a 2 bedroom property Poor ..."

    Sofa is not comfortable and not fit for purpose for a 2 bedroom property Poor heating system, cold property even in May Second bedroom reminded me of a youth hostel Overall not what I expected Good location and views from property

    Reviewed by Ross2.8May 2021

  • "An excellent holiday."

    Mr RawlingsDec 2019

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.


  • All-ground-floor
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x king-size, 1 x single
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Living/dining room
  • Electric central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, TV with DVD player and Bluetooth speaker, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • No cot or highchair available at this property
  • Allocated parking space for one car
  • Patio area with furniture
  • One well-behaved pet welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking

The property

Positioned within arm’s reach of the ripples of Lake Windermere is this contemporary ground-floor apartment, Waterside.

Set in arguably one of the best locations for views over Lake Windermere and the surrounding hills and mountains, Waterside has everything you could hope for from a Lake District holiday.

Right on the shores of England’s largest lake you can sit on the banks of Waterhead or relax in the comfort of your own lounge and watch the Windermere cruiser loading and unloading daily before setting sail.

Enter the apartment through a share entrance and be welcomed into the spacious lounge/diner where a sofa and two armchairs face the window and offers lovely views over the lake, you can sit before the TV to enjoy a nice film in the evening to unwind.

Get busy in the kitchen where hues of pale blue make for a fine décor and a great range of appliances can assist you with all your self-catering needs.

The master king-size bedroom offers a tranquil spot to catch up on your rest, while the other bedroom is a single and benefits from a neutral colour scheme to complement the relaxing ambiance while blending into the beautiful external scenery.

To the front of the property is a patio area with furniture where you can sit and people watch, or head over to the Lakeside Bar and restaurant to relax with a fine meal and drink with your loved ones.

You don’t have to go far to enjoy the Lakes, with Windermere and its lake cruises right on the doorstep, you can enjoy water sports, lake walks or take around a ten minute stroll into Ambleside and discover all that is on offer, from unique gift shops to outdoor clothing retailers, supermarkets and farm shops for tasty local produce, as well as a plethora of pubs, restaurants and cafés to enjoy.

Bowness is an easy drive away and has more shops, a cinema, bars and other attractions including the Beatrix Potter Gallery, or take a trip over the Kirkstone Pass to Ullswater for more water sports, adventure centres and the Ullswater Steamer.

This fine retreat awaits your arrival, to a stunning part of Cumbria.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Grasmere 4.4 miles; Windermere 4.7 miles; Keswick 16.7 miles.

Lying at the northern tip of Lake Windermere, England’s largest lake, Ambleside makes a superb base for touring the central Lakes, with Grasmere and the Langdale Valley just a short drive away. There is plenty to do here - cruises, boat trips and watersports on Lake Windermere itself and numerous shops, restaurants and pubs in the village to suit all tastes. On the lakeside at Waterhead, the parkland offers lovely views down the lake and a short stretch of beach, whilst a walk in the other direction, following Stock Ghyll through woodland, will bring you to the entrancing waterfall of Stock Ghyll Force. Along with the Lake and the great walking on offer, Ambleside is also famous for its annual rushbearing ceremony and the diminutive 17th century “Bridge House” - one of the most photographed buildings in the Lake District and now the National Trust Information Centre.

View more holiday cottages in Ambleside

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas