Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

1 customer booked Crozier Cottage in the last 24 hours

1 of 27 View Image Gallery
  • Crozier Cottage - Lake District - 1042959 - photo 1

Crozier Cottage

(Ref. 1042959)

Grasmere, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (33)
  • lovely (17)
  • well (16)
  • no (15)
  • location (15)
  • our (14)

40 Customer Reviews

  • "Crozier is a lovely cosy cottage."

    The views of the mountains are beautiful and the area is quiet with just the birds singing. It is very convenient location with a short walk into the village where there are many places to eat. I found the kitchen well equipped and good for cooking meals. The beds were fairly comfy, but the sofa a bit soft. The garden is completely secure and the parking is good. My son has a problem with his mobile data because of the parental control the owner has put on the WiFi. I didn't use the WiFi password on my mobile so I didn't have the same issue. Overall the week at Crozier was enjoyable.

    Reviewed by Jackie4.4Mar 2024

  • "As regular visitors to the Lakes this is one of the best cottages we’ve stayed at."

    Lovely spacious property, very well equipped, with a big kitchen. Property listing doesn’t detail that there is a downstairs toilet.

    Reviewed by Kevin4.7Mar 2024

  • "For us this cottage would have ticked every box had it not been so grubby."

    The bathrooms were clean and kitchen work tops but all doors every where and skirting birds were filthy. We spent a good couple of hours cleaning and hoovering before we were able to relax. Also there was a smashed ornamental mirror in the garden and a smashed lampshade in the hall (full of dead insects) of which had been reported by a previous guest who had also raised the lack of cleanliness. Accordingly I then raised these issues myself prior to our arrival and was notified that all would be sorted but the lampshade was still smashed when we arrived. Sykes response was to send someone out to clean again but I was not happy to waste even more time of my holiday for something that should have already been done prior to our arrival. VERY reluctant to book with Sykes again!

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you did not find the property to standard and have raised this with the housekeeping team. We are always happy to send out support when required. Lakelovers Owner Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rachel2.2Feb 2024

  • "The sofa and chairs are all past their best and very uncomfortable."

    The carpet in lounge is dirty and the glass light in hallway was cracked and could be dangerous it had dead flys and dust

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you did not find this to standard but unfortunately as we were not made aware of the issues we were unable to come and rectify them for you. The owner will be able to see your comments and can review furnishing where necessary. Lakelovers Owner Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sharon3.1Jan 2024

  • "Our 2nd visit to crozier cottage."

    It’s in a great location, with great access to Grasmere. The cottage is warm and comfortable. The kitchen is really well equipped.

    Reviewed by Isabelle4.1Nov 2023

  • "We loved Crozier Cottage and felt very comfortable there."

    The property is so conveniently located and well equipped. Would definitely book again.

    Reviewed by Amanda Louisa5.0Oct 2023

  • "Crozier Cottage is a very nice property in an excellent location with very easily accessible parking."

    The only issue we had was that the property was too cold as we had quite cold and wet weather for the time of year. We followed the instructions to raise the temperature but with no success, As more rain and cold weather was forecast we cut short our stay which was disappointing.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to read of your issues with the heating, unfortunately we were not informed and so could not assist you with some troubleshooting. We are glad that you liked the property and all the area had to offer. Lakelovers Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anne3.4Sep 2023

  • "Excellent cottage absolutely loved it."

    Lovely position for lots of cafes pubs and walks. Would highly recommend hope to return one day to Grasmere this cottage would be my choice to stay.

    Reviewed by Joan4.7Sep 2023

  • "The cottage/property is well equipped and generally as expected."

    We did have some minor niggles: There was no toilet paper in the WC, only in the bathroom. Most of the tumbler glasses in the kitchen had small chips around the rims, which could cut. There was no hand towel in the kitchen. When we came to vacuum clean the floors, we found the cleaner cylinder had been left full of dirt and the brush roller was completely clogged with hair and fibres - we had to clean this all out before we could use the cleaner. Some additional constructive comments: The paintwork on the doors and walls is looking like it needs ‘freshening-up’. Some of the doors were dirty around the handles. The rug in the lounge area is looking dirty and is not very practical; it is probably the reason for a lot of the fibres that were in the vacuum cleaner brushes. We avoided using the cleaner on the rug. The covers on the settees were looking a bit grubby.

    Thank you for your comments. We take all comments on board. Thank you for letting us know your thoughts. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter3.1Apr 2023

  • "Had an absolutely fabulous stay last week!"

    We’ve stayed in a lot of cottages over the years, but this one was superb in terms of layout, comfort, facilities, views, easy access to the village and fell walks. We’ll definitely be booking again!

    Reviewed by Vivien5.0Apr 2023

  • "Lovely cottage with views of mountains well equipped and clean."

    quiet location but just few minutes walk into village with park on way along the river great for dogs and good play area for children stayed in cottage quite few times now would always go back here cannot fault it beautiful

    We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Crozier Cottage. Thank you for your kind comments, and we hope to welcome you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gary5.0Mar 2023

  • "Perfect stay."

    The best location for everything, walks, pubs, etc. We loved the layout of the house and immediately felt at home. Everything we needed was there and if not Co-op in the village has anything you might not have. Best places to eat in the village, Good Sport, a place run by locals so nice to support them too, Tweedies and Jumble Room. The latter has been excellent ever since I first went around 20 years ago and never disappoints. Recommend booking all if you want to go in the evening.

    Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your stay at Crozier. It’s lovely to hear you felt so at home (Owner of cottage) Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robin5.0Feb 2023

  • "We had a great stay at crozier cottage in December short walk into grassmere village will defiantly be back."

    You need to take logs if you want the log burner on. I read the review of someone else about a small patch of damp this wasn’t our experience cottage is lovely and warm heating is very efficient . FYI

    Thank you for your kind feedback. We are glad to read that you had a lovely stay at Crozier Cottage. We hope to welcome you back again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Joanne5.0Dec 2022

  • "This is a comfortable cottage for six as long as you have two people to sleep in bunk beds."

    The location is great for walks from the door and the parking area is generous. It was clean and had all the facilities you need, but was let down by a lack of small things such as toilet paper and kitchen roll. Only the tiniest amount of washing up liquid was provided so that you had to buy those basics. Three or four logs sufficient for one fire would have been appreciated.

    Reviewed by Jenny3.8Dec 2022

  • "Lovely Cottage everything you need Very clean Great location Already booked 2 weeks in March Thanks"

    Reviewed by Gary5.0Nov 2022

  • "We enjoyed our stay at Crozier cottage."

    However we were concerned about several areas of black mould throughout the house. All the bedrooms had mould in ceiling corners and in the bunk room directly above the sleeping area. Noticeable also in the kitchen and front porch. Obviously this could pose a risk to some peoples health and hopefully the problems causing this will be rectified for future visits. It is not something we would expect to see in a premium holiday property.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Crozier Cottage, however we are sorry to hear you found mould at the property. This hasn't been mentioned by previous guests, our maintenance team along with the owner will now investigate further. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, regards HOTL team Thank you too for bringing this to our attention. The damp weather this autumn outside and then the warmth in the property resulted in a circulation problem. We have sorted out all of the areas we could see and are having the double glazing in the property altered to prevent this happening again. Best wishes, Owners of Crozier Cottage. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anne4.1Nov 2022

  • "Had a lovely stay."

    On wet days happy to relax in cottage. Kitchen well equipped so could easily make meals if we wanted to. Cottage was warm and new bathroom clean. Personal touch of pumpkins for Halloween appreciated.

    Reviewed by Joyce4.7Oct 2022

  • "The cottage was lovely!"

    A very well equipped cottage, which was very comfortable and great for relaxing in after a day of walking. We would love to stay here again.

    Reviewed by Isabelle4.7Oct 2022

  • "Lovely comfortable cottage."

    So relaxing

    Reviewed by Rachael5.0Sep 2022

  • "Generally all good with the cottage."

    I would suggest you get rid of the rugs in the living room and in the hallway, they are both light in colour and although im sure they had been hoovered they just look grimy and give that impression. After all, its a cottage that takes dogs so why would you have cream coloured rugs, almost impossible to keep looking good. Also would suggest an air freshener in the living room, as you walk into the living room the dog smell hits you, again expected in a cottage that takes pets but the smells could be combatted with air fresheners. We bought two air fresheners at the start of the holiday and left them in the cottage. Overall pleased with the cottage and location, disappointed with the customer service from heart of the lakes after my stay regarding a set of keys left at the cottage, a lot of emails and calls to eventually get my keys back.

    Reviewed by Andrew3.8Sep 2022

  • "Fab cottage with everything you need."

    However the listing needs to say parking for 3 very small cars and the shed for bikes is NOT secure.

    HI, thanks for your feedback. Just wanted to clarify for others to see, that there is a shed in the back garden for our garden furniture where bikes can be stored. We have locks on both doors, with keys inside the propertywhere others are kept, which can be used for all to access this. And re parking, there is space for two big cars and one small car on the main drive and then as described in our booklet, another space for a normal sized car in front of the window behind the hedge, where we have had slate put down and path section lowered so this can be used for parking too. I'm glad you thought everythging else was positive and hope you had a fabulous time in lovely Grasmere Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mandy4.4Jul 2022

  • "A very comfortable and well equipped cottage."

    This was our second visit to Crozier cottage and we noticed it was cleaner and fresher on arrival. We had brilliant sunny weather for the whole week which was amazing. We were grateful for the excellent central heating system in the evenings and early mornings which all contributed to a great holiday.

    Thank you for leaving lovely feedback further to your stay with us at Crozier Cottage, we're so pleased you had nice weather while you were here; there isn't a better place to be while the sun is shining! We really hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, The Lakelovers Owner Relations Team It is lovely to hear that you have stayed in Crozier for the second time and that everything was clean and as you had hoped on your arrival. Best wishes, Owner of Crozier Cottage. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Mar 2022

  • "Lovely cottage excellent location 2nd time we have stayed A few issues let the ..."

    Lovely cottage excellent location 2nd time we have stayed A few issues let the cottage down The headboard in the front bedroom is badly stained And the cooker hood is not usable as it's a lot of grease around the controls

    Thanks for bringing the headboard to our attention. A new one has been purchased and replacement made. Thank you also for your comments about the cooker hood. Heart of the Lakes and there team do all of the cleaning in our property, and I know that they have addressed this problem. We really appreciate you coming back to Crozier and staying there! Best wishes, the owner of Crozier Cottage. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gary4.7Mar 2022

  • "Lovely cottage with wonderful views from every room."

    Great location for food, walks etc. A couple of minor issues that we fed back on our departure but nothing that detracted from a great week in our favourite place.

    Thank you ever so much for your lovely review further to your stay with us at Crozier Cottage! Thank you also for reporting the minor issues you encountered so that our team could rectify these for future guest enjoyment. We really really hope to welcome you again in the near future! Kind Regards, The Heart of the Lakes owner relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by David4.4Feb 2022

  • "Our second visit to this splendid 'cottage'; enjoyed it just as much on this occasion."

    We burnt logs on the fire this time and it was so cosy after a day out walking. We hope to return again and share the experience with friends. Noted some lovely new 'Circulon' pans which we found on this visit; as we cook fresh food every day, the selection of kitchen equipment is excellent. We would've liked use of a hand-held blender/mixer? We'll bring ours next time! Please, this is not a complaint; the kitchen is great! thank you.

    Thank you for leaving us a review after your stay with us at the splendid Crozier Cottage! We're so pleased that you made use of the cosy fire- a definite plus after a day on the cold and windy fells! We really hope that we get to welcome you again soon. Thanks again, The Heart of the Lakes Owners Team Thank you for your feedback, lovely to hear that you are another returning visitor and that you found Crozier 'splendid.' As far as I know there is a hand held blender in the cupboard above the microwave (though things may have been moved again), I will make sure one is there on our next visit. Best wishes, the owner of Crozier Cottage. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Jan 2022

  • "A lovely cottage and in a perfect position."

    We were impressed from the outset. Facilities were ideal for our stay and really appreciate the new appliances, fittings and decor. Couldn’t fault it. Bed is super comfy. Enclosed garden perfect for our little dog. Would definitely stay again.

    Reviewed by Norman5.0Jan 2022

  • "Lovely cottage."

    Kitchen very well equipped to cook full Xmas dinner! Very disappointed no Xmas tree was put up, we felt it was so lacking, we went and bought one ourselves. When we owned holiday cottages in Lake District , we were told by the agency to decorate them for Xmas and leave small presents for guests! Agree with others that bedding needs updating. However, we had a lovely cosy stay, great walks and the village easily accessible from the door, hardly used our car. Would recommend

    Thank you for your feedback and we are glad to hear you had a great festive period. The owner has since upgraded their bed linen and we hope we can welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards, Heart of The Lakes Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen4.1Dec 2021

  • "Wonderful cottage in a great location!"

    Reviewed by Rachael5.0Dec 2021

  • "It was a great cosy cottage."

    we had a lovely week despite the amber weather warning for the incredible rain. There is damp patches appearing in a couple of rooms which the owners need to be aware of and attend to, probably because of the property's age and that its shut up for long periods. overall great house in a great location. Wanted to re book for next October half term, but it's already gone.

    Reviewed by Toby4.7Oct 2021

  • "As mentioned in previous reviews, the tumble didn’t work and there were very limited facilities to hang clothes to dry."

    The dryer should be repaired or removed and a proper drying rack left in the cupboard. There was A LOT of dog hair on the carpets and blankets on the sofa. Having a toddler and a crawling baby made this particularly noticeable. Other than the above, we had a nice stay at Crozier Cottage.

    Thank you for the comments you left about Crozier. We have been informed about the broken tumble dryer from Heart of the Lakes, and have put a new one in the property. Along with a newer and more powerful hoover for all to use. Best wishes, the owner of Crozier Cottage. Property Owner

    Reviewed by K3.8Oct 2021

  • "The only criticism is that the cottage needs some oven gloves."

    Everything else was really comfortable and well equipped..a lovely stay.

    Reviewed by Rachael5.0Sep 2021

  • "We thought the cottage was in an excellent position within Grasmere and really good to have off road parking."

    Overall the cottage was comfortable, spacious and generally clean. However the living room carpets appeared grubby and stained and would have benefitted from a quick power clean! . The cooking utensils were well past their use by dates and it was disconcerting to find someone’s fried breakfast still stuck to the pan. The weekly rates for the cottage are quite high and all aspects of the cottage should reflect that pricing.

    Reviewed by Peter3.4Sep 2021

  • "Crozier cottage is in a fabulous location, both for views and local amenities."

    It is well equipped and comfortable and well thought out. Not all facilities are listed by Sykes, ie downstairs toilet and use of Netflix not mentioned. Since Sykes took over from Heart of the lakes, standards of cleanliness and customer service have fallen dramatically. Despite the cleanliness of Crozier Cottage being mentioned by previous guests, some of whom were blamed by Sykes for being "irresponsible dog owners" one of the problems was still not addressed. This was due to the hoover being over full with weeks of dirt and dog hairs which blocked it completely and deposited the dirt back on the carpet. It took my husband half an hour to clean it out and get it useable for us. The general cleanliness in the current Covid climate was also lacking, particularly after we received an email telling us that our access time was put back to 6.00 pm because the usual cleaner was isolating and extra cleaners had been brought in. The email was sent after 2.00 pm on our arrival day and was not read until the next day, and strangely when we arrived at 4.05 pm there were no cleaners on site, so we went in. Prior to our holiday i contacted Sykes twice and was promised a call back that I never received. Their Customer Relations who deal with complaints were quite rude to me and the phone call to them achieved nothing. Each time I phoned Sykes I had difficulty hearing the person dealing with me because of the laughing and personal conversations going on in the back ground. Apparently Customer relations seemed to think this was fine! So I feel very sorry for Heart of the Lakes who have always been good and professional when we have used them many times before. I would certainly think very carefully before using Sykes again, we look for smaller companies that care about their customers. The good reviews that Sykes get are generally relating to the ease of the booking system they use, not about their customer care or the actual cottages.

    Reviewed by Sylvia3.8Sep 2021

  • "Literally gutted!"

    The cottage on your website is absolutely stunning. When you get there the outside was gorgeous but as soon as you get in it all went done hill :( the whole place was smelly. It was like wet dog everywhere you went and it was dirty… there was dog hairs in lumps on the carpet. The kitchen was Very untidy and all the cupboards and everything was dirty. Before we could use anything we put them in the dishwasher. Which is something we definitely shouldn’t of had to do. A little disappointed with the quality of the bedding and the towels in a cottage priced at the amount we paid I would’ve thought the cottage would have quite luxury items it really does let the side down. And two toilet rolls for seven nights with five people is definitely ridiculous. We just found ourselves stocking up on things that should’ve already been in the cottage more dishwasher tablets, clothes, toilet rolls and oven gloves are a must which I burnt my arm on the oven. With it been a massive time with Covid and everything you asked us to do beforehand getting to the cottage was just a really big disappointment to see how dirty and smelly it was considering other people would’ve been there and hygiene and cleanliness is a massive thing at the moment. The tumble dryer doesn’t work at all. The Hoover when you hoover the house makes the house smell like wet dog it’s absolutely disgusting the Hoover it definitely needs looking at. The last thing I’d like to mention is The cottage is advertised with a leisure centre or leisure facilities should I say. And when we got there at the leisure facilities they told us that they haven’t been letting anybody from cottages come for the last year so that was something else that was advertised that we couldn’t actually use. Really disappointed with our first holiday with the amount of money we’ve paid as well. I was going to wait till Monday to phone the office but would like some sort of communication as I’m really not happy with the standard and what we got for that weeks holiday that we’ve saved up for.

    Thank you for your feedback in relation to your stay at Crozier Cottage The owners take great care of their property and were very disappointed to hear of the cleanliness issues that you encountered upon arrival. As the owners do not live locally, Heart of the Lakes are responsible for the cleaning and maintenance of the property and we would like to sincerely apologise that certain aspects did not meet expectation. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emily2.2Aug 2021

  • "More toilet rolls and dishwasher tablets required in property Very comfortable ..."

    More toilet rolls and dishwasher tablets required in property Very comfortable cottage with stunning views Lovely outdoor space

    Reviewed by Jane4.4Jul 2021

  • "The cottage is in a wonderful location but the cleanliness was lacking."

    The plans were dirty and well used, we bought our own to use. The carpet was dirty and thick with dust.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that the cleaning was not up to our usual standard. We have addressed these issues with the housekeeping team to ensure this does not happen again. We really appreciate the constructive feedback and we hope to welcome you back again soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by J3.8Jun 2021

  • "Really cosy cottage in a perfect location in Grasmere."

    Beautifully furnished. We loved the log burner especially. Spotless. Have stayed a dee times and hope to return

    Reviewed by K5.0Dec 2020

  • "A very nice cottage, short on glasses and cups would be the only criticism, otherwise a very nice place to stay!"


    Reviewed by Ken4.7Dec 2020

  • "Fabulous! Loved it."

    .. Already planning our next visit!

    Mrs SlaterDec 2019

  • "Very good with a very efficient wood burner."

    Mrs MartinDec 2019

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.


  • Three bedrooms: 1 x king-size, 1 x twin, 1 x children’s bunk
  • Bathroom with bath, walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Living/dining room with multi-fuel stove
  • Gas central heating with multi-fuel stove
  • Electric oven and gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher, TV with Freeview and DVD player, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair available on request
  • Off-road parking for three cars
  • Enclosed garden patio with furniture
  • One well-behaved dog welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Note: This property only accepts one booking per changeover week

The property

Resting on the edge of the picturesque village of Grasmere, in the heart of the Lake District, is this delightful home, Crozier Cottage.

The property has been lovingly restored to provide quality accommodation for families and friends alike, all whilst retaining the many original features that give the interior a true feel of character.

After a long day of hill walking, look forward to unwinding in the sitting room where you can relax on the plush sofa whilst the impressive multi-fuel stove offers a gentle warmth to the room.

The galley style fitted kitchen has all the necessary amenities to keep your party well fed but retains the country living charm prevalent throughout the cottage.

There is a small seating area with an overlook to Helm Crag and a great viewing place for red squirrels and birds, along with a dining table where meals can be enjoyed.

Heading upstairs, we find three cosy bedrooms furnished in a neutral colour scheme, with a king-size, twin and children’s bunk bedroom.

This floor also contains a fully tiled bathroom with bath, walk-in shower, basin and WC.

Outside this lovely cottage is a garden patio with furniture, perfect for a refreshing drink or your morning coffee whilst taking in the tranquil surroundings and planning your days ahead.

There is no need to use the car on a daily basis with shops, restaurants and bars just along the road in the village centre, plus there are a number of scenic walks and high rambles to be explored from the door.

Brush up on your history with a visit to Dove Cottage, where you can to gain a vivid impression of what day-to-day life would have been like for William Wordsworth and his family, as well as providing the opportunity to soak up the unique and creative atmosphere of the cottage.

Unravel the beauty of the area by visiting the stunning Grasmere Lake and Rydal Water, both providing spectacular views with reflections of the hills in the calm waters, as well as the opportunity for boat hire.

With easy access to Ambleside, Bowness and Windermere, Croizer Cottage provides a fabulous base for all sorts of countryside escapes.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Grasmere 4.4 miles; Windermere 4.7 miles; Keswick 16.7 miles.

Lying at the northern tip of Lake Windermere, England’s largest lake, Ambleside makes a superb base for touring the central Lakes, with Grasmere and the Langdale Valley just a short drive away. There is plenty to do here - cruises, boat trips and watersports on Lake Windermere itself and numerous shops, restaurants and pubs in the village to suit all tastes. On the lakeside at Waterhead, the parkland offers lovely views down the lake and a short stretch of beach, whilst a walk in the other direction, following Stock Ghyll through woodland, will bring you to the entrancing waterfall of Stock Ghyll Force. Along with the Lake and the great walking on offer, Ambleside is also famous for its annual rushbearing ceremony and the diminutive 17th century “Bridge House” - one of the most photographed buildings in the Lake District and now the National Trust Information Centre.

View more holiday cottages in Ambleside

Note: This property only accepts one booking per changeover week

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Last minute
  • Christmas