Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

3 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 33 View Image Gallery
  • Greenbank Cottage - Lake District - 1083500 - photo 1

Greenbank Cottage

(Ref. 1083500)

Winster near Bowness-On-Windermere, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (20)
  • garden (18)
  • comfortable (14)
  • location (14)
  • lovely (14)
  • bed (14)

37 Customer Reviews

  • "Comfortable cottage with great garden and access to woods, dog loved it."

    A short walk to a welcoming pub and great walks all around. Don't use the postcode it takes you off the main road to the wrong property, use What3words

    Thank you for taking time to leave feedback. We are glad you had a good time staying at Greenbank Cottage. We are very fortunate to have such great pubs doing lovely food in the area, one within walking distance and the others only a short drive away. We are also lucky that the network of local footpaths, through some beautiful South Lakeland countryside, can be explored often without seeing another person and yet we are only 10 minutes drive from the centre of Bowness! We hope to see you again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John4.7Mar 2024

  • "The property was fantastic, great location, handy for several pubs (the brown horse was excellent) and close to Bowness for takeaway."

    The garden and the woods were fantastic and really handy for an evening run with the dog.

    NeilDec 2023

  • "We found the kitchen and bathroom to be well appointed and the beds were very comfortable."

    The house was clean and tidy. Access to the woods was great, the dog absolutely loved her walks there. It was lovely to see the birds feasting through the lounge and kitchen windows. It was a great location for sightseeing. The only downside was when we arrived at the property. Unfortunately the house was freezing cold which was not a warm welcome at all. The storage heaters didn’t come on until the following day and the house only became warm on the day we left. The storage heaters in the downstairs bedroom did not work until the last day so we spent two very cold nights there and had to find an additional quilt to stay warm.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear about all the issues you encountered at the property, unfortunately we weren't aware of any of the issues you had as we could have resolved them to make your stay more comfortable. We are glad that you were still able to enjoy the property and all that the area has to offer. Lakelovers Owner Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Theresa3.4Nov 2023

  • "Invasive and rude owners entered the garden and peered through the windows at us, without even introducing themselves, no way to treat paying guests."

    We left early as we felt unsafe with this intrusion.

    Thank you for providing this feedback. We understand that the owner approached you to request you stop charging your car off their electricity. This property is not suitable for EV charging and has not been risk assessed for this purpose. Unfortunately, as you did not contact us about this during your stay we were unable to assist to make your holiday more comfortable. Lakelovers Owner Relations Team We are sorry you felt that we intruded but we had made several attempts to speak to you to ask you to refrain from charging your car through the front window which you had left open, but you refused to answer the door leaving us with no option than to attract your attention by calling round the back. We were neither rude or invasive at any point. We are also surprised at your review scores as the comment you left in the visitors book said you enjoyed your stay and found the property to be "warm and comfortable" with "great countryside for fantastic walks". We can only assume that you have deliberately scored the cottage low in every capacity as retaliation for asking you to stop charging your car - yet the terms and conditions regarding electric car charging are clearly set out on the booking agent website. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Callum1.6Nov 2023

  • "A long treck through two rooms to toilet/shower room from downstairs bedroom."

    The shower room is cold and the towel rail does not work all of the time. Shower is difficult to control scalding/cold when bolt is engaged no means of opening door from outside. With toddlers constant concern as outside doors cannot be secured from inside and there is direct access to main road from front door this could easily be remedied by fitting Chubb locks at a raised height coffee machine/iron and board/clothes airer would have been welcome chairs too low/large to eat comfortably at table does not seat 6 adults comfortably. For the price had much better value at other properties ideal location for dogs/walking. On holiday a dishwasher is a big miss. Found downstairs bedroom to be damp. Windows running with condensation and black mold along glass edges. We have come away with coughs/cold. Owners were helpful with spare key and step ladders when needed. No supply of rubbish bags provided or info on rubbish/recycling. If the lounge/kitche/dining had been incorporated into the downstairs bedroom and then the bedroom moved to rear with en suit and separate loo would have a better flow. It is a lovely spot just no where to walk with push chair

    Thanks for the feedback. May we take the opportunity to address some of the points you have raised; The shower room heater is on a timer which can be altered. The shower works perfectly when operated correctly and we have tested today. The front door locks are in compliance with fire safety regulations and must be operated internally by a key less mechanism so that escape in the event of a fire is possible without hindrance. Young children should of course be supervised. All information about recycling and operation of the downstairs shower is in the house guide book provided and we make contact to make sure everything is fine, at which point you did not mention any concerns. As you know, we were very happy to supply you with everything you required e.g. step ladders, and could have helped with the ironing board / airier if requested. The dining chairs and table are of a standard size / height. Sadly, on your departure we found all the chairs to be stained and filthy and one broken such that they will have to be replaced. We would also appreciate being told about breakages such as glasses etc so that replacements can be made for the following guests. Unfortunately the countryside is not known for having pavements for push chairs. It is disappointing to hear so many failings when we consistently receive very positive comments from people who appreciate everything Greenbank has to offer. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Barbara3.8Nov 2023

  • "Greenbank cottage is fantastic for your dogs as the garden is truly enclosed and secure."

    We enjoyed leaving the kitchen door open for them to come and go. Our only concern was the cream carpet in the lounge but we'd brought waterproof throws that covered it to prevent any inadvertent paw marks. The downstairs shower room is luxurious with plenty of room and storage. The cottage was warm and kitchen had everything we needed for cooking. Its quite remote so definitely need a car. The only down side to the area is the lack of pavements for taking the dogs for a walk before bed. They made up by having more daytime walks and using the garden at night. Over all a great stay.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are very happy that you and the dogs enjoyed the cottage and the garden and had a lovely stay. You are right about the need for a car as there is limited public transport to the cottage even though we are on the main Lyth Valley road. On the positive side there are plenty of footpaths immediately from the back gate giving miles of walking usually without seeing another person! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ann3.8Sep 2023

  • "We had a lovely stay at the property and really enjoyed the garden and the woods."

    We were able to have some lovely off leash dog walks in the private woodland. It's a peaceful spot and an excellent base for visiting various places in the area. Whilst the property and grounds were very good, there are a few matters that could be addressed: The ceiling light in the lounge doesn't work and the table lamps do not give adequate lighting to the room. The downstairs toilet seat needs fixing. The shower in the downstairs bathroom is very temperamental. The heating in the property was on minimum, which for us was OK. However, we were surprised at the level of condensation on the inside of windows especially in the bedroom and lounge.

    Thanks for the feedback and letting us know about the items which need attention. We will address them as soon as possible. We are pleased you enjoyed the woods with your dog and the local area. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lynne3.8Sep 2023

  • "This really is a lovely holiday cottage just a five minute drive from the shores of lake Windermere."

    Very clean and spacious accommodation with everything we needed for a restful and peaceful holiday. The enclosed garden is absolutely enclosed and safe for our two small dogs to run around freely and safely, the private woodland is also completely enclosed, again for the dogs to run on their own. If you are looking for holiday accommodation in the Lakes that is hard to better then "Greenbank Cottage" should be the place of choice. We had a wonderful holiday and hope that others will too. Many thanks to the owners for making it available

    Thank you very much for the feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Greenbank and were able to make the most of the grounds and the location for a relaxing holiday. We look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ivan5.0Sep 2023

  • "Very enjoyable thanks!"

    Great walking. Great garden for dogs enjoyed seeing birds feeding. Motor museum very worth a visit. Brown horse is best for food!

    Jean And AndrewAug 2023

  • "A wonderful relaxing week in the beautiful Lake District, the walk to Hellevlyn was the highlight, with wonderful views."

    Enjoyed the garden and watching the birds from the window. Would love to return next year.

    Suzanne, Patrick, Joseph And OliverAug 2023

  • "An absolute gem of a cottage that gave us the most comfortable relaxing stay."

    Thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely feedback. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Greenbank in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Neal5.0Jul 2023

  • "Clean, cosy, well equipped and beautiful accommodation."

    Some lovely personal touches, bird feeders stocked, fire prepped, flowers biscuits and Prosecco ready for our enjoyment. Fantastic location with enclosed well maintained gardens and our own woodland, what’s not to love about Greenbank Cottage. Hot water, clean bedding and towels at the plenty. Good Wi-Fi and smart TV, everyone was happy, adults, teens and fur babies.

    Thanks for you lovely comments So glad you enjoyed your holiday here and we look forward to welcoming you again next year Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gemma5.0Jul 2023

  • "The setting and location of the cottage was brilliant seeing all types of wildlife including the local woodpecker."

    Being so close to Lake Windermere was a huge benefit. On arrival we were informed the hoover had broken however the replacement didn't arrive until the second to last day. The kitchen was lovely however we did find it lacked decent sized saucepan and frying pans considering the cottage sleeps 6. Unless you sit outside the dinning table was also on the snug side for us 4 let alone having a larger party. The bathroom down stairs had recently been refitted and the shower was a great addition. The bedrooms were comfortable and relaxing. Thank you for a lovely stays in the lakes.

    Thank you for your feedback. Our apologies for the delayed delivery of the hoover. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the local wildlife and had a relaxing stay at the property. Lakelovers Owner Relations Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew3.8Jun 2023

  • "This is a beautiful cottage with beautifully appointed rooms and grounds."

    The kitchen is beautiful and has everything you need. The forest at the back of cottage is ideal for dogs and kids the garden is very safe too. Our only gripe would be that the gorgeous down stairs bathroom was too cold to use, the towel heater did not warm such a large space . We had a wonderful week visiting other places in the lakes and the cottage location was well positioned for exploring . We loved our stay .

    Thank you for taking the time to post feedback. We are sorry to hear that you found the bathroom too cold to use. We would have been happy to provide an additional heater if you had mentioned it. We are glad that didn't spoil your stay though and that you had a lovely time exploring the area. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Deborah4.4Apr 2023

  • "Had a fantastic time at Greenbank Cottage."

    Owners, and their beautiful border collie, extremely helpful and friendly from start to finish of our holiday. The cottage is a real home from home and has everything you could possibly need and a lovely log fire! Beautifully furnished throughout. Our 2 dogs thought they were in Heaven with the garden and woods to run around in. Would definitely recommend and really look forward to staying there again.

    Thanks Laura for your kind feedback We look forward to welcoming you all again Property Owner

    Reviewed by Laura5.0Mar 2023

  • "Great location for the South Lakes area: good road connections yet very quiet and peaceful spot."

    The garden and private woodland are a real bonus: lots of birdlife. The windows are placed to maximise light and views. The house was very comfortable for our party of 3 adults and 2 small dogs. Comfortable beds in spacious bedrooms; small but well equipped kitchen; very good wood burner phone n living room, which was very welcome on chilly March nights. Downstairs shower room nicely done out although would benefit from additional heating (there’s a heated towel rail).

    Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Greenbank cottage Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sheila4.7Mar 2023

  • "A lovely, comfortable house."

    Spacious bedrooms, a cosy lounge with a log burning fire. Very clean throughout. Lovely views of the woods. Large, enclosed garden. The bird feeders kept us entertained and we enjoyed the visits from the Woodpecker. There was plenty of parking at the house, which was in a good location for both Bowness and Kendal. Good pubs nearby, serving lovely food.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback and I hope you all got home OK. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at Greenbank Cottage and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lindsey5.0Feb 2023

  • "A great cottage with excellent garden and woodland."

    I would recommend for a family spring holiday.

    Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback, it is much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your time here and look forward to seeing you again sometime. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul4.7Jan 2023

  • "Greenbank is a lovely cottage in a fantastic location."

    The garden and woodland are perfect and a lot of thought and consideration has gone into this. Would definitely recommend anyone to stay here.

    Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such lovely feedback. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at Greenbank and all it has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Joanna5.0Jan 2023

  • "We had a lovely week at Greenbank Cottage, 5 adults, a baby and a dog."

    The cottage had everything we needed for a really comfortable stay. The setting is perfect, quiet and relaxing but close to everything the Lake District has to offer and the dog loved the woodland walk behind the cottage.

    Thank you very much for taking time to leave feedback, it's much appreciated. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and all the cottage and surrounding area has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back should you wish to return at some time in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jane5.0Oct 2022

  • "This was our second stay at this beautiful property."

    Would recommend

    Hi, thank you for coming back to Greenbank Cottage and taking time to leave feedback, it’s much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gregory5.0Sep 2022

  • "Disappointed normally have a fantastic place through Sykes this was ok!"

    Should really be a 4/5 person the dining table is far to small to seat 5 people comfortably! and the zip link upstairs felt like two singles pushed together with a sheet on top. We found the place cold and the water pressure terrible it was very hard to shower but if you wanted a bath it was a long wait for the water to heat up. The beds were comfortable. We found it hard with one available small cupboard to put our food away . The welcome pack on arrival was a nice touch but found it very odd that the owner didn’t welcome us or check everything was ok when they were walking past our cottage. The location was lovely but we will be looking for somewhere else in the lakes next year.

    Thanks for your feedback and we would just like to address the points that you felt could have been better. The cottage has been independently assessed by both Sykes and Visit England which resulted in our 4-star award. Most guests really enjoy their time at the cottage and appreciate the peace and tranquillity of the location but being less than 10 minutes from Lake Windermere. They also enjoy the 6-acre secluded private woodland that we make freely availably to allow a completely relaxing get away from it all break. You mention a couple of points such as the water pressure. Like many cottages in the countryside, water is either fed from natural springs or bore holes. We have recently installed additional storage and water is supplied at the same pressure as mains water pressure which is perfectly adequate. We also provide guidance as to how to get the best from the shower by the correct setting of controls. As to the beds, you mention they were comfortable but criticise the zip and link feature. Again, this is clearly mentioned to guests, and we give an option for two of the bedrooms to be either twin or king configuration, depending on guest preference. They are the same beds used in good quality hotels and many of our guests appreciate the flexibility. It's odd that you found the property cold, as you had the heating on full blast and also an open log fire, in the middle of what can be described as very good summer weather for the lake district! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Laura3.1Aug 2022

  • "Great cottage in quiet area but close to attractions."

    Lovely and clean with lots of garden and woods to walk through.

    Hi, so glad you enjoyed the cottage and all the surrounding area has to offer. We hope to welcome back to Greenbank again at some point in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Colin5.0Aug 2022

  • "The cottage setting is lovely."

    The house itself overall was great. We were a family of 6, my children are adult sizes (20, 18, 15 and 15). The table for eating was far too small for 6 adults. I feel that the owners may have compromised the facilities by putting the third bedroom downstairs. More living space downstairs with the lounge being in the front bedroom and dining room at the back by the kitchen would make the property so much more comfortable but I appreciated this would make it a 2 bedroom rental not three. A dishwasher would have been great and clothes airer to dry clothes on a wet day would have been really helpful. The washer drier machines never work efficiently (in my opinion) and with the price of electricity now an airer or two would be a godsend to families. The showers we not great, trying to get a comfortable setting was a daily challenge - surprisingly for the downstairs one as the bathroom looks fairly new. You were either burning yourself or having a cold shower. Kitchen had all we needed, cooker worked well. Henry the Hoover needs a good clean out as it left a very musky smell after use. Great garden for the dog, great outside seating area, lovely wood to walk around.

    Reviewed by Natalie3.4Aug 2022

  • "We had another delightful fortnight at the cottage."

    It is such a cosy place to stay with everything you need to make your stay comfortable and spotlessly clean. The wood is an added delight and watching the birds feed just outside the sitting room kitchen window could keep you entertained all day. We would thoroughly recommend this cottage.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback We are so glad you enjoyed your second visit to the cottage and the area Hopefully see you again very soon Property Owner

    Reviewed by Angela5.0Jun 2022

  • "An Outstanding Property - by far the best we have ever stayed in."

    No more hotels or Airbnb ever again - this was so much better in every way. The house was immaculate, beautifully furnished and very well equipped - oh and the beds were so comfortable. It was a real home from home and that should say everything. Our dog, Charlie, loved the woodland walk outside the back door and so did we - very much. Go a bit further and you’re connected to some beautiful Moorland walks too. The location is perfect - just far away from the crowds but so secluded and peaceful. The access and parking is a real bonus too - and very important. The nearby pubs were also excellent for drinks and especially food. We needed a quiet relaxing holiday - and wow Greenbank and it’s owners certainly delivered that. Can’t ever thank you enough for all the special memories you gave us - it meant soo much and we will definitely come back if it’s not always fully booked now.. Thankyou can never be enough.

    Thank you for taking the time to write such lovely feedback. We find all feedback useful in helping us create a welcoming and comfortable environment but it's especially gratifying when we hear how much it is appreciated by guests. We look forward to seeing you again sometime! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Roger5.0May 2022

  • "An excellent house in an excellent location; Ruth, Craig and Bella (the dog), all very friendly and helpful."

    Great walks and cycle rides, on and off road, available right on your doorstep; at least three pubs within walking distance, and the wood was great for Paddy (our dog). Great to sit in the lounge or at kitchen sink and watch the birds visiting the feeders; Blue Tit, Great Tit, Coal Tit, Robin, Nuthatch, Wood Pecker, Chaffinch and House Martins nesting in the eaves. We all had a great time and I sure we'll be back!

    Reviewed by Ronald5.0Apr 2022

  • "Charming cottage outside village of Winster, has woodland to explore at the rear and access to public footpaths."

    Tranquil setting ideal for bird lovers. Cottage is cosy and functional and as a party of 6 with 3 generations it suited to have ground floor bedroom but note amazing downstairs bathroom is not ensuite and is a walk through the kitchen. Excellent furnishings and warm welcome from owners made this a super choice for a base to explore the Lakes.

    Thanks for your kind feedback and we are very glad you were comfortable in the cottage and enjoyed your visit to the area. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Apr 2022

  • "Gorgeous cottage with everything we could need."

    Brilliant location providing the very best of the lake district. Fun for small children and those with 4 paws!

    Thank you very much for taking the time to leave feedback. We are so pleased you all enjoyed your holiday exploring all the area has to offer. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gemma4.7Mar 2022

  • "Green Bank Cottage is in a lovely situation, we enjoyed the surrounding area and the many different birds we spotted in the garden."

    I think the property would be more suitable for four. The bedroom downstairs being made into a lounge and using the existing lounge dining area for a dining room only. So giving guest comfortable room around the dining table. The water pressure was poor, I appreciate the house was spring fed but think there are ways of improving the pressure. The downstairs bathroom was cold and the heating here could not be adjusted. The elderly couple in our party took the downstairs room only to endure the cold bathroom.

    Thank you for taking the time to post feedback. We would have been happy to help with adjusting the bathroom heating or providing an alternative solution if you had mentioned this was an issue when I enquired after your comfort with members of your party. We find many guests appreciate the downstairs bedroom from an accessibility point of view as it enables less mobile visitors to stay and enjoy the area. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mary3.8Feb 2022

  • "Fantastic holiday!"

    Home from home. Excellent facilities and great location, perfect private garden and woodland area for the dogs. Would highly recommend.

    Thank you for your feedback and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Derrick5.0Dec 2021

  • "Good size bedrooms and plenty of storage Duvets on some of the beds too thin ..."

    Good size bedrooms and plenty of storage Duvets on some of the beds too thin for this time of year House was quite cold Shower in accessible bathroom didn’t work properly some times and only cold water came out Kitchen well equipped but a more modern hob would have been welcome Dining facilities would have been very tight for 6 people and there was only 4 chairs Loved the access to private woods and the views from the property were stunning The fizz and biscuits were a nice touch

    Thank you for the feedback. We are sorry you found the house to be cold as the storage heaters do work very effectively and there are additional throws available for extra warmth. There are additional chairs for the dining table located in the bedrooms which can be moved to provide sufficient seating for 6. Our water supply is from a spring so pressure can be variable although any interruption to flow is very short lived. Any other issues should be reported to Lakelovers so that we can investigate any faults that occur as soon as possible. We will take your comments on board and appreciate you taking the time to make them. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sheila3.4Nov 2021

  • "A beautiful house tucked away Surrounded by beautiful gardens and forest ..."

    A beautiful house tucked away Surrounded by beautiful gardens and forest Spotlessly clean Comfortable and everything you could possibly want it was a little gem definitely recommend for a perfect stay in the Lake District

    Reviewed by Wesley5.0Nov 2021

  • "We hadn't realised there was no gate from the drive to the main road and the dogs ran out."

    Thank you for your feedback. Although the garden and woods are completely dog secure the drive does open on to the road to allow ease of access for guests vehicles. Although we are fortunate that the road isn't very busy, the installation of gates is something we are considering as a potential improvement for the future. We are sorry to hear that your dogs ran out but pleased that you enjoyed your stay otherwise. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sheila5.0Oct 2021

  • "Fantastic property with endless walks literally on your doorstep."

    The owners were fantastic with local pubs serving amazing food within 5 minutes of the property.

    Thank you for your feedback and being such great guests through the terrible weather we had that week! We hope to see you again and that the sun will shine a bit more next time. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Oct 2021

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Greenbank Cottage, it was heavenly."

    The accommodation was clean, everything we needed was available, plus an enclosed wood to walk our dog and birds feeding from the feeders to watch from the window. Within five days of arriving we booked to come again next year (in case every visitor had the same idea)! We would highly recommend this property.

    Reviewed by Angela5.0Oct 2021

  • "Had a wonderful few days in Greenbank Cottage 11-09/ 15-09-2021."

    It was a real home from home with everything you would need available. We had an issue when we first arrived connecting to the internet but was immediately sorted out with one quick phone call and a visit from the daughter next door who was very patient with us as we had 5 items to connect. The internet codes provided in book of instructions had two mistakes but soon sorted. Other than that no issues what so ever and we all found the cottage really comfortable in an idyllic spot, very picturesque and the private woods at the rear of the cottage was a bonus our dog loved his rambles through there. We would highly recommend this cottage.

    Reviewed by Roslyn5.0Sep 2021

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.


  • Three bedrooms: 1 x ground-floor king-size (zip/link, can be twin on request), 1 x king-size (zip/link, can be twin on request), 1 x king-size
  • Ground-floor shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Living/dining room with woodburning stove
  • Electrical storage heaters throughout
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer and washer/dryer
  • TV and WiFi
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 3 cars
  • Private enclosed lawn
  • Woodland is for the exclusive use of cottage guests and the residents of the house next door Enclosed rear patio with furniture
  • Two well behaved pets welcome
  • No smoking
  • Shop 3.6 miles, pub 0.8 miles
  • Please note no stag or hen parties.

The property

Bowness-on-Windermere 3.7 miles.

Enjoying a secluded location and spectacular views of a valley in Winster near Bowness-on-Windermere is this excellent semi-detached house, Greenbank Cottage.

This charming abode boasts ample access to the delights of the Lake District National Park, from its outdoor activities to its picturesque towns, making for a great rural escape for a family of six.

A generous amount of off-road parking greets you on arrival, before you head into this quaint property.

Kick off your shoes and unwind in the spacious living/dining room, where you can cosy up to the toasty woodburning stove and TV with your loved ones.

After enjoying a movie night, continue to the kitchen, a contemporary space fitted with the all the essentials the designated chef needs to fix up a fantastic dinner.

After savouring dinner with your loved ones and planning the days ahead, you can find a magnificent zip/link king-size on the ground-floor; the room showcases views over rolling hills with sheep dotted throughout, creating a great space to relax in.

A contemporary shower room with sleek, wooden finishes can also be found on this floor, for your convenience.

Head upstairs to discover two more well-appointed bedrooms, one being a king-size, again zip/linked to coincide with your sleeping arrangements and boasting dual aspect windows over the fields and woodland below.

Further down the corridor is a king-size featuring refined, black furnishings, so you can enjoy a well-deserved rest in style.

The first floor also hosts a bathroom where you can soak up in its spacious bath after a day packed with watersports or walking.

Greenbank Cottage benefits from a selection of garden areas, including an enclosed rear patio where you can relish a spot of alfresco dining; the patio leads to a private lawn area where ball games can be enjoyed.

Seven acres of woodland that back the property are waiting to be explored, where you can enjoy birdwatching as you trek through its enchanting greenery.

Make your way to Winster to find The Brown Horse Inn, a pub providing gorgeous food and friendly service; the village additionally makes for a great starting point for ample walking trails, including the Winster and Surrounds route.

Bowness-on-Windermere is home to the rest of your amenities, along with abundant attractions for all the family; why not board the town's ferry and sail across the waters to the Claife Viewing Station and Tanner Brow?

The town additionally boasts ample watersports opportunities, from wakesurfing to sailing, as well as The World of Beatrix Potter Attraction and the stunning Brant Fell Viewpoint.

Continue to Windermere where you can spend an afternoon viewing the interesting exhibits in the Windermere Jetty Museum, stroll around Queen's Park and explore Queen Adelaide's Hill with its elevated views over Windermere Lake.

Why not spend the day in Kendal and learn of the town's history at Kendal Museum, try your hand at golfing with its array of club or hike the hill to the ruins of the once-glorious Kendal Castle.

The remainder of the Lake District National Park remains to be discovered, including the vast woodlands of Grizedale and it's close-by coastline where the seaside villages of St. Bees and Seascale can be explored.

For a memorable trip to the Lake District, choose Greenbank Cottage.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Windermere Train Station 1.5 miles: Ambleside 5 miles; Kendal 7 miles.

The vibrant twin towns of Bowness and Windermere hold enduring appeal for visitors to the Lake District National Park, with each providing a range of nearby attractions, amenities, cinema, shops and restaurants to suit all tastes. A variety of boat trips and boat hire are available from Windermere Lake Cruises in Bowness to Brockhole, Ambleside and Lakeside (at the southern end of the lake where the Lakeside Aquarium and the Lakeside and Haverthwaite Railway are situated). The World of Beatrix Potter Attraction and the Old Laundry Theatre are 1.5 miles away. Orrest Head, where Alfred Wainwright was inspired to write his series of iconic guidebooks, is a 30-minute walk to enjoy the spectacular panorama of far-reaching views over the lake and surrounding fells. Brockhole, which offers high wire tree top experiences, is three miles away, and the historic villages of Grasmere, Ambleside and Troutbeck are a short drive away. There is also a variety of watersports on offer for the more energetic at marine centres along the lake. The area is ideally situated for exploring all that this region has to offer, whether by foot, bike, car, railway or bus; and is within easy reach of attractions such as the spectacular Langdales, Beatrix Potter’s Hill Top House at Far Sawrey, Coniston, Grizedale Forest Park, with its delightful walks and famous outdoor sculptures, mountain biking and 'Go-Ape' adventure park, Ullswater, Kendal, Keswick, stone circles, Roman forts and England's highest mountain, Scafell Pike.

View more holiday cottages in Bowness-on-windermere

Please note: the garden is enclosed on 3 sides with the 4th side opening onto the patio. The patio itself is enclosed with a gate onto the driveway. Guests are responsible for their own dogs and supervising them when out in the garden.