Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

1 customer booked Buttercup Cottage in the last 24 hours

1 of 24 View Image Gallery
  • Buttercup Cottage - Lake District - 1041560 - photo 1

Buttercup Cottage

(Ref. 1041560)

Troutbeck, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (19)
  • no (14)
  • stay (11)
  • lovely (10)
  • parking (10)
  • space (9)

28 Customer Reviews

  • "I was happy enough because I paid a discounted price when I booked."

    But the rooms are much smaller than it looks in the photos, there are no windows for the nice views (apart from bathroom and stairs). The shower is the main issue, super hard to turn the water on, then some days it was too hot, some days it was just cold, the drainage is not working properly, so if you managed to keep a nice pressure and temperature means that you need to hurry because the shower space just gets flooded so quickly. It would be good having more than one toilet roll as well. Cleaning and the kitchen supplies were good. Bed was very confortable. Parking wasn't the easiest but definetly good to have.

    Reviewed by Kamila3.4Aug 2023

  • "All in all the cottage was fine for what we wanted."

    Just a few minor issues which have been mentioned in other feedbacks but nothing seems to have been addressed. The shower is red hot all the time and you are unable to turn it down, the wheel Barrow is still in the way of the table and the sheet is still on the front of the building. The parking is not for the faint hearted especially when cars park in the entrance and you have to knock on doors to get them to move. Apart from that we had a good stay with two excellent pubs with good food a short stroll away

    Thank you for your comments, we are pleased that you had a good stay. We will take a look into the issues that you have raised. We will ask our Maintenance team to attend to take a look at the shower. Thank you- The Lakelovers Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Barry3.4Jul 2023

  • "The parking was very very tight and difficult to enter and exit."

    When we arrived, the building had a large tarpaulin attached to it which very nearly put us off even entering the building. The shower was unbearably hot and could not be regulated. The instruction manuals bore no resemblance to the equipment available. Tha'ts the negatives. Thankfully the Lakes is a wonderful holiday destination so we enjoyed the holiday, just not the cottage as much as we have other Sykes properties.

    my apologies,The tarpaulin is to cover lime render which is a historic method of repairing historic walls.The parking is tight but with a centuries old building it's the only parking available - except for the road. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mike2.5Jun 2023

  • "Parking horrendous Wheelbarrow at outside table dreadful Builders sheet ..."

    Parking horrendous Wheelbarrow at outside table dreadful Builders sheet flapping on outside wall like a shanty town misleading advertising no view whatsoever aggressive comments from cleaner It was a lot cleaner when we left compared to when we arrived bathroom and bedroom good and there was a tiny view from the landing window

    Thank you for your feedback, the owner sends her apologies and has taken this onboard she is going to address this with the cleaner and builders. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David2.2Jun 2023

  • "The wine cooler doesn’t actually fit bottles so shouldn’t be part of the description."

    The bed is too soft. Bedding though is very good. Apart from that, we really enjoyed the cottage thank you.

    Thank you for your comments, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We will look at the listing to ensure that it is up to date. We do find that bedding is down to personal preference. Thank you. The Lakelovers Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Catherine4.7Apr 2023

  • "Had a lovely stay, great cottage and location, would stay again, thanks"

    Thank you for your comments, we are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. We hope to welcome you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael4.4Jan 2023

  • "Lovely cosy cottage, well appointed with everythst we needed."

    Our first stay in Troutbeck and we would definitely stay there again. The location is so quiet and yet easily accessible for amenities. It was nice to leave the car at the cottage and put our boots on and walk. Some of our walking highlights were Wansfell Pike then dropping into Ambleside then walking back via Robins Lane. Also walked up Troutbeck Tongue then back along the brook and back to the cottage via the Mortal Man!

    Reviewed by Erica5.0Oct 2022

  • "This lovely comfortable cottage had everything we needed."

    We did lots of walks from the door in spite of the wet weather. It's a good cottage for walkers; nice and warm to come back to. The porch was useful for drying wet boots and so on. We would stay here again.

    Reviewed by P5.0Oct 2022

  • "The cottage itself is very cosey and well equipped and ideally situated for all the towns etc."

    No problems at all. Would recommend. The parking however is very difficult for most drivers.

    Reviewed by Robert4.4Sep 2022

  • "We had a lovely stay and felt that the property was very well located for exploring the Lake District with our dog."

    It had all the necessities, and was warm, clean and comfortable, although smaller than the photos imply. The parking was difficult and would have been impossible had the car not had cameras on both the front and back. It had to be reversed down a slope from the road, and turned 45 degrees to then get into the space between two stone walls. The lack of secure outside space was a negative, as we had to walk our dog up the road for bathroom breaks. Sykes customer service was difficult to get hold of, and we were on hold for a long time before someone answered when we got locked out. When we were put in touch with ‘Lake lovers’, who manage the property, they were extremely helpful and quick to respond to our call- beware of the Yale lock!

    Reviewed by Kelly4.7Sep 2022

  • "The cottage was lovely and well provided with all essential appliances."

    The fly in the ointment was the parking space, not so much its size as its accessibility down a slope with unforgiving stone dykes on either side and necessitating a careful manouever round into the space. Thank goodness for the reversing camera without which the manouever would have been nigh impossible. We drove into the space on the first night and reversing out was a nightmare never to be attempted again.

    Reviewed by Charles5.0Sep 2022

  • "It was everything that was described"

    Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alan5.0Jul 2022

  • "Very clean cottage which looked freshly decorated."

    Smart and clean kitchen area which is adequate for self catering. Oven, fridge and dishwasher clean. Ensuite was immaculate and no issues with shower drainage. Nice powerful shower. Bed was so comfortable and we both slept well. Access would be tricky for a large car and reversing into the space would be better. There were a couple of big bushes that you have to squeeze past to get to the door when unloading. They don't seem too big when the car is not there. We brought a dog with us and he enjoyed his stay. In future i would choose a property that has a small bit of garden. Just for him. It was a bit of a chore having to walk him up the road for a toilet visit at 06:00. All in all we had a lovely time. Intermittent mobile phone signal for EE users. WiFi available with code and that worked.

    Reviewed by Karen4.7Jul 2022

  • "It would be nice if the use of the garden was more clearly defined for this cottage as some of the plants were growing across what we thought should have been a pathway but we weren’t sure."

    The parking is tricky but doable, cutting back a couple of the larger bushes would make it easier. It would be very tight parking a large 4X4.

    Reviewed by Elaine4.1Jun 2022

  • "Lovely cottage in a beautiful area."

    very few issues and we had a wonderful stay. The drain on the shower needs attention as very slow to drain away and this has been mentioned before in previous reviews. The sofa and armchair are perhaps a little tired and in need of replacement The car parking space is small with narrow access. We reversed in but found the shrubs to the side a hindrance as they blocked visibility and need cutting back badly. The shrubs at the end of the parking space also need maintenance as they made it difficult to unload our vehicle, especially on wet days

    Reviewed by Christine5.0May 2022

  • "The property was ok, Looked better in the photos."

    The shared utility room was not so good, the guy next door seemd to live in there. My real frustratiuon came when leaving. We were leaving just before the check out time of 10 A.M as were the people in the Cosy Peacock. A mini parked at the top of the drive and just oiff the road. I asked the driver if they would be there long as were about to leave and we would not be able to reverse the car out of the space with the her car parked there, she offered to move it forward a bit. I was trying to guide my wife out up a steep slope in reverese, it is difficult when you have jagged stone walls either side and an expensive car. The car owner suggested that we drive down to the lower car park and turn round, it was at this point I told her that we wouldn't have to if she hadn't parked where she did. We did turn around in the lower car park after a 20 point turn. This confrontation and her reluctance to move her car has meant that we won't return to this cottage again.

    Reviewed by Malcolm2.8Mar 2022

  • "We thought Buttercup Cottage generally a well appointed cottage and a good location within Troutbeck."

    The upstairs space which has the bedroom and lovely bathroom (great shower) was comfortable but downstairs we found cold and if honest a bit foreboding. We appreciate the Lakes largely uses oil burning for warmth but because the timers were pre set and the main radiator in the open plan ground floor area was not working we just could not get warm the whole stay. On arrival we had no provision to start a wood burning fire to attempt to raise the temp and then had to venture out to find wood, kindling at the wrong time of day!! Sadly this means we wouldn’t venture back to this cottage which is a shame but after a day out walking what is needed is basics that is a hot shower (yes) but to be able to relax back comfortably warm. I would urge the owners to rethink their strategy for warmth and also consider a few welcoming touches to ease guests into their stay. It would make ALL the difference and I’m sure they would get more repeat guests.

    Reviewed by Joy4.4Feb 2022

  • "Absolutely disgusting, disgraceful and not fit for purpose."

    We will report this property to the South Lakeland District Council.

    Reviewed by Colin2.2Feb 2022

  • "The property is as advertised in that it is small and reasonably appointed in a beautiful small village."

    It was extremely cold during our stay and the central heating was inadequate to keep the property warm even with the use of the fire. The heating would come on at 5pm, which we felt was late for winter. Also, the shower wasn’t draining properly. Showers had to be taken in a stop start fashion to avoid the tray overflowing. Both these glitches were an irritation, but we didn’t allow them to distract from our week away

    Reviewed by Julie3.4Dec 2021

  • "Heating on a timer Down stairs radiators switched off completely all the time No compensation for no electricity, hot water etc due to storms I appreciate the storm is out of everyone's control, but why should I myself take all the costs, maybe offer a partial refund, or alternative date ?"

    Very disappointed in the attitude regards have to leave early due to no facilities making it impossible to stay, (heat, water etc).

    Reviewed by David1.9Nov 2021

  • "Everything was amazing the view were stunning will certainly came back."

    Reviewed by Diane5.0Sep 2021

  • "Great location in the very pretty village of Troutbeck."

    Cosy comfortable cottage just right for the two of us and our dog. We will definitely consider using Buttercup Cottage again.

    Reviewed by Debbie4.7Sep 2021

  • "Superb little bolt hole in a very beautiful, peaceful area of The Lakes."

    Lots of walks from the doorstep and The Queen’s Head Pub is a 5 minute walk away, which is warm and welcoming with great food. Would definitely recommend Buttercup cottage to friends and family. A lovely holiday, with everything you need. A lovely holiday, thank you.

    Reviewed by Amanda4.1Aug 2021

  • "Highly recommended had a wonderful time beautiful cottage"

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Jul 2021

  • "Great location, lots of walks nearby, no need to use car."

    Plenty of space for the two of us plus dog. All equipment was clean and of good quality.

    Reviewed by Amanda5.0Jun 2021

  • "The area is stunning and Troutbeck a peaceful retreat we very much enjoyed the break, Buttercup Cottage was quaint and a little smaller than we had imagined and had limited outside space but the weather more than compensated."

    Our only negative is that the car parking space provided is extremely small and difficult to get in and out of. Overall a nice break

    Reviewed by Ian3.1May 2021

  • "This is a pretty little cottage in a lovely village."

    The stay could be improved by a starter fire lighting kit as the cottage was quite cold on rainy days during the day and the central heating timer could not be changed. The oil fired central heating also smelled very strong, which spread through the cottage.

    Reviewed by Jo4.4May 2021

  • ""Buttercup Cottage is a delight, right in the heart of Troutbeck Valley which is outstandingly beautiful."

    Numerous walks from the doorstep but also within easy reach of Windermere and other popular destinations. So relaxing, a real tonic! Great to be in pubs and cafes that are dog friendly too."

    Miss J VautrinotNov -0001

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.


  • Over 2 floors
  • 1 x double bedroom with en suite and sitting out spot
  • Open plan lounge / diner / kitchen
  • Shared utility room
  • Private parking
  • Oil central heating
  • Open fire (logs not provided)
  • Payphone
  • Wi-Fi
  • Induction hob and electric oven
  • Microwave
  • Dishwasher
  • Wine cooler
  • Fridge with freezer compartment
  • Washer-dryer
  • Snug sitting out area
  • One parking space
  • Shop 0.75 mile
  • Freeview via satellite TV
  • Utility room shared with Butt Hill cottage
  • Bed linen
  • Towels provided

The property

Buttercup Cottage dates back over 200 years, this delightful and romantic Lake District bolthole is surrounded by the stunning landscapes of Troutbeck Valley.

Inside, features such as oak beams, slate floors and a welcoming open fire give the place character and charm.

Mixing the old with the new, Buttercup Cottage also has plenty of contemporary creature comforts; including a smart rejuvenating shower room and an opulent double bedroom with a private sitting out spot.

Take your morning coffee al fresco whilst admiring the views, trek the Lakeland fells, explore Troutbeck's friendly village culture, stop for refreshments by the fire at the Queen's Head or Mortal Man or drive the short distance to Bowness and the shores of Lake Windermere.

Back inside, a small entrance hall leads to the cosy, but beautifully presented, lounge with exposed beams and a lovely open fire.

Step into the Shaker style kitchen and dining area, both are more than well-equipped for eating in.

A shared utility room is accessed via the kitchen and this reflects how with a little ingenuity and lots of love, Buttercup Cottage is the perfect romantic getaway accommodation.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Windermere 3 miles; Ambleside 4 miles.

The small Lakeland village of Troutbeck can be found between its more famous neighbours Windermere and Ambleside, close by the Kirkstone Pass. A mixture of houses, cottages and farms, the village is scattered along a narrow lane bordered by a drystone wall. Many of these buildings date back to the 17th Century with features such as mullioned windows and heavy cylindrical chimneys and the northern end boasts its own 17th century inn. Close by, the bustling towns of Windermere and Ambleside are popular with visitors, providing a range of amenities to suit all tastes. Lake Windermere offers boat trips, including the lakeside ferry to the Lakeside Aquarium and Grizedale Forest Park. The ‘Windermere Steamboat Museum’ displays a fascinating collection of boats whilst children will enjoy the ‘World of Beatrix Potter’ in Bowness, where technology brings her characters to life. Within easy reach of destinations such as Coniston Water, Kendal, Keswick and the Lakeland Mountains, Troutbeck is ideally situated for exploring all that the region has to offer.

The outdoor space for Buttercup Cottage is only at the front of the property and the small sitting area at the rear.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Last minute