Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Lake District 1 minutes ago

9 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 21 View Image Gallery
  • Simcas House - Lake District - 1054951 - photo 1

Simcas House

(Ref. 1054951)

Stainton, Cumbria, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • no (11)
  • bed (8)
  • property (8)
  • stay (7)
  • kitchen (6)
  • location (6)

12 Customer Reviews

  • "Beautiful house in a tranquil location, perfect for visiting the Lake District."

    Beds were very comfortable and showers were powerful. I'd definitely return in the summer to make use of the outdoor space. The only problem we encounted was the WIFI did not work. I needed it to do some work. We spent most of our first night trying to sort this, we even rang two numbers out of the book and left a voicemail but nobody got back to us - very dissapointed by the lack of communication. Luckily there was a dog friendly pub down the road which I could walk to. The only improvements I would say, is two small gates on either side of the property would be useful to make it an enclosed garden for dogs.

    Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you encountered problems with the Wifi and contacting someone I will look into the matter. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rebekah4.7Sep 2023

  • "With a few tweaks and attention to detail, this could be a lovely holiday let."

    The house is well-positioned, spacious and well-furnished with a lovely lounge and outside seating/eating area. Beds were comfortable. Crockery and cooking utensils could do with an overhaul. Overall, we had a great stay and loved the village location with pub and restaurant minutes away by foot. We were disappointed that the information about the free use of the hotel pool was not more prominent when we booked. A lot of the information in the welcome pack is very generic and not relevant.

    Reviewed by Rita3.4Jun 2023

  • "The spave in the property is very good, much bigger than the pictures suggested."

    The kitchen was very ill equipped, with no sharp knives, only one chopping board, no sieve etc. Bedrooms are very good size with the shower in the ensuite a comfortable size as well. The water pressure is excellent making for a pleasant shower. The mattress is rock hard and the pillows thin leading to an uncomfortable night's sleep.

    Reviewed by Johnathon3.8Dec 2022

  • "Property was lovely & unusual."

    It did lack an extractor fan in the kitchen even though there are plenty windows the smoke alarms activated whilst cooking a couple of times. Loads of cupboard space was a bonus along with 2 freezers! The extractor fan in the ensuite bathroom also did not work. There were a few cobwebs around the windowsills inside which is unavoidable if no-one has been in there for a while, and the bedroom light fittings looked a bit dusty. This did not detract from the fact we had an Extremely comfy & very relaxing stay - thank you!

    Reviewed by Lesley3.1Nov 2022

  • "The property itself is nice and generally well appointed however there were some areas which would benefit from improvement: Kitchen facilities - lack of oven trays/ chopping boards/ SHARP kitchen knives Downstairs toilet has no sink for hand washing which means you have to wash your hands in the kitchen."

    This is fine however there was no hand towel provided in the kitchen for this purpose We found dog dirt on the artificial grass area Lack of storage in the twin room. The wardrobe is very small and there is insufficient drawer space We had problems with the main TV which worked inconsistently. We tried to log into our own internet TV providers (Netflix/ Amazon Prime) but because the remote control was temperamental and we weren’t able to do so We assume that the information regarding waste collections was out of date as we couldn’t find any blue bags. Couldn’t get a response from anyone regarding whether we needed to put anything out. Spoke to a neighbour in the end but no idea if the information they gave us was right or not!

    Reviewed by Kirsty2.8Aug 2022

  • "Absolutely loved our stay The house is lovely and extremely well equipped - very nicely furnished, with everything you need."

    Thank you also for the nice choccies. Beds were pretty comfortable. Setting is very nice and quiet with an excellent pub/restaurant 1 minutes walk. local villagers were friendly. Heating was a minor problem first day, as it was too hot, but quickly sorted after a telephone call. Easy access to Northern Lake District without the cost ! Highly recommended and will definitely come back and stay again with you (if welcome)

    Reviewed by Russell5.0Jun 2022

  • "Had a wonderful break, great place to stay would highly recommend."

    Location was perfect, spent a lovely day at the Ullswater and finished it off at the local pub just 2 minutes walk from the house. The place was beautiful and clean, enjoyed the complimentary wine and chocs whilst sitting on the veranda overlooking the beautiful scenery at the back, whilst kids were entertained with board games provided by the house, which was a nice extra touch. We will definitely be returning.

    Cathy PrinnApr 2022

  • "11-2-22. We have just had a wonderful, relaxing stay at this property which was a party of six adults and a small dog."

    Having read previous reviews of the property before we booked it, I can say when we arrived last week that the property was spotless. It is obvious that previous cleaning issues have now been fully resolved. On arrival, we found a “welcome pack” which consisted of tea, coffee, sugar, milk, biscuits and also chocolates and a bottle of Prosecco which we thought was a nice gesture from the owners. The property was fully equipped with everything required for our stay. On entering the hallway, we found the cloaks cupboard very handy for all our coats to be hung out of the way and the shoe/boot rack for wet shoes. Even outside the front door under the entrance walkway were two wellie boots’ stands. The furniture is comfortable and the rooms are a good size with a large lounge, kitchen and very pleasant conservatory with open views for dining in. The lounge, in particular, was very cosy on an evening with the log burner lit, which itself became a focal point. All areas and rooms were warmed throughout from the central heating and hot water was not a problem any time of day or night. The bedrooms were comfortable and spacious with excellent TV’s and reception. It was in a very nice, peaceful location with excellent links to all areas by road and buses, although we did not use the buses. The kitchen was fully equipped with all good quality appliances in full working order, as was all the crockery and cutlery, and very modern and clean too. Outside were nice garden areas which I am sure are wonderful in warmer times to relax outside. About 150 yards away is the King’s Arms pub where a good variety of meals can be had. Our party ate there twice during our stay and all the meals are excellent, as was the hospitality and friendliness of the staff. We will certainly be returning here in the future and can highly recommend it to others. On the whole, although we were not looking for any, we could not fault this accommodation. Very enjoyable and a credit to the owner.

    Reviewed by Andrews4.7Feb 2022

  • "Had to stay in this location because I needed to be near family - this was the only house available and I was a bit nervous after reading previous reviews but wow - were we not just happily surprised but ecstatic- we had the most amazing holiday stay in this house - owners must have found new cleaners for the place was immaculate- bed linen crisp and professionally laundered, floors sparkling, - house very clean, kitchen fully loaded with all kitchen equipment I would need, nice touch with family games too - couldn't have asked for more - kept kids entertained!"

    Layout of house brilliant - small veranda off the dining room to enjoy the stunning views outside, cosy log wood burner with ample seating and large screen which made for beautiful cosy evenings. Will definitely be returning- a real gem of a house - home away from home with every amenity and home comfort I would want! I would highly recommend this property with everything you'd need and in an amazing location!

    Mrs Yvonne WellsJan 2022

  • "Property was dusty, cobwebs throughout and kitchen floor was dirty."

    All exterior windows needed cleaning. Dishwasher was empty of salt and no supplies of rinse aid or tablets. Other issues with the quality of appliances e.g. vacuum lacked suction (impossible when cleaning up after dog hair). Main bathroom shower poor water pressure made showering difficult and the waste appeared blocked. Beds were uncomfortable and only one bathing towel per person meant that they required laundry during our stay. Bathrooms and cloakroom pipe work thick with dust and leaking rusty residue. Toilet seat loose and rusty. IKEA type furniture lacked comfort (especially as elderly visitors). Outside furniture and space inconvenient for eating outside due to property layout. BIGGEST PROBLEM FLIES

    Thank you for taking the time to feedback after your stay regarding your week at Simcas House. We are extremely sorry the cleanliness was very poor. We have been struggling to find a new cleaning management company in the area to take over the property cleaning and management and we have now successfully managed this. It has been a real struggle in the area due to the high amount of tourists and staff shortages. We understand you paid a premium and sorry that you did not receive this. We are sorry that you had to experience this and we hope that you still had a great week. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Yvonne2.5Jul 2021

  • "Couple of things."

    Cleaning needs to be better, it let the property down. Heating was an issue, on Friday one of the hottest days of the year, all radiators were on at 6am and the stat is remotely controlled via an app. The heating came on everyday last week and we could do nothing about it.

    Thank you for taking the time to feedback after your stay regarding your week at Simcas House. We are extremely sorry the cleanliness was poor and you had issues with the heating. We have been struggling to find a new cleaning management company in the area to take over the property cleaning and management and we have now successfully managed this. It has been a real struggle in the area due to the high amount of tourists and staff shortages. We are sorry that you had to experience this and we hope that you still had a great week. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew3.4Jul 2021

  • "Cottage was great good location our biggest complaint was that on arrival we were told our key would be in the shed which found at the bottom of of a flight of stone steps we are all in our 70 's but manage but after looking in dirty cobwebby shed found no key and started to get worried and were lucky to notice key box on a pillar near the front door so easy if some one had thought to tell us key place had changed."

    Reviewed by Linda3.8Jun 2021

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.


  • Bedroom accommodation to the lower floor
  • Three bedrooms: 2 x king-size (one with en-suite shower room with basin and WC), 1 x super king-size (zip/link can be split into 2 x twins on request)
  • Bathroom with bath, separate shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen with breakfast bar seating for 2
  • Sitting room
  • Conservatory dining room
  • Cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Complimentary leisure club membership.
  • Gas Central heating with wood burning stove
  • Electric oven and hob, fridge/freezer, additional freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher, TV, TVs in all bedrooms, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair available
  • Patio with garden furniture
  • Balcony with furniture
  • Off road parking for 3 cars
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Pub 1 min walk
  • Shop 1 mile
  • Pooley Bridge and Ullswater 4.2 miles
  • Note: Complimentary leisure club membership is provided

The property

Simcas House is a modern, Lakeland home, with a real wow factor.

It was built into the hillside as an upside-down house with the living space on the upper floor and the bedrooms on the lower floor ensuring spacious living accommodation and three equally sized bedrooms.

Stepping through the front door the hallway provides plenty of space for boots, outdoor gear.

The spacious living room is bright and airy with big picture windows allowing the light to flood in.

Patio doors open to a small patio area and at the other end glazed doors open to the large dining conservatory.

Comfortable sofas and a feature fireplace with welcoming log burning stove and, a large screen Smart TV.

The conservatory dining room takes an elevated position overlooking the garden and the patio - great room to relax in over a social family dinner.

From here doors open onto a balcony where guests can sit and relax over drinks in an evening, right next to a babbling brook passing by below.

The stylish kitchen features a breakfast bar and all you will need for your stay.

Leading off the hallway is a cloakroom WC with washing machine and tumble drier and additional storage for outdoor gear in the adjacent storeroom.

Stairs lead down to the 3 bedrooms on the lower level of the house.

The master bedroom is presented with a comfortable king-size bed and en-suite shower room.

Two further bedrooms, one king-size bed and one with a choice of super king or twin beds (please specify when booking).

Both are complemented by the family bathroom with bath, shower cubicle, basin and WC.

All three bedrooms feature their own Smart TV too.

Head outside to a spacious patio with outdoor dining furniture and a sloping lawned garden.

Parents should be aware that there is a small stream that runs behind the wall at the side of the patio.

Stainton is a small hamlet close to popular village of Pooley Bridge at the northernmost tip of Ullswater.

The village has a selection of village pubs, cafes and shops for the visitors and is popular all year round.

The area has a huge selection of footpaths and bridleways and there are walks for all and is a popular area for mountain biking.

Travelling from the central Lakes over the stunning Kirkstone Pass you will drop down into the beautiful glacial carved landscapes surrounding the Lake itself, with many quaint villages along its shoreline.

The areas around the lake provide the perfect place for a restful and relaxed self-catering holiday, with plenty of opportunity for walking, exploring and getting out on the Lake.

At the southern end of the Lake you will find Glenridding, a popular little village and an excellent base to explore plentiful challenging peaks but especially Helvellyn and Striding Edge.

View on map

About the location


Penrith 3.3 miles; Pooley Bridge 3.8 miles; Keswick 14.7 miles.

The small village of Stainton rests on the north-eastern fringes of the Lake District National Park in Cumbria. Just a few miles from the market town of Penrith, Stainton is a quiet village home to two pubs, a village store and Post Office, an Alpaca Centre and a primary school. Visitors can go to the Alpaca Centre to meet the friendly, furry creatures for free and browse the wonderful array of garments made from their soft, strong fibres. The village is near to attractions including Dalemain Mansion & Historic Gardens, Lowther Castle & Gardens, Ullswater lake, Aira Force Waterfall and Greystoke Castle. The Lake District National Park has plenty to offer, whether seeking some climbing and hiking challenges on the peaks and fells, wanting to enjoy relaxed rambles around quaint villages and towns, or simply enjoy the array of attractions like The World of Beatrix Potter and Lakes Aquarium, there's something for everyone.

Parents should be aware that there is a small stream that runs behind the wall at the side of the patio

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas