Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only. T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Lake District 0 minutes ago

1 of 30 View Image Gallery
  • Riven Oak - Lake District - 950504 - photo 1

Riven Oak

(Ref. 950504)

Lyth Valley near Levens, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 8 Guests

  • 4 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • bed (11)
  • property (10)
  • stay (10)
  • garden (10)
  • good (9)
  • all (8)

21 Customer Reviews

  • "We had a wonderful stay at Riven Oak - we were concerned before our stay at some of the feedback from previous renters and so contacted the owner before the stay."

    All of the concerns raised were addressed, for which we were very grateful. The property was clean, warm and welcoming. The situation is superb: with 2 dogs, it was a privilege to have an amazing walk to the hills on the doorstep. Thank you so much for making our stay in the lake district so memorable. 2 very very quick (and very small) points: - we could only find one chopping board and no bread board. Given the size of the property, it might be worth investing in another, (or else we missed something obvious) - the freezer might need a bit of a clean! Thank you once again

    Reviewed by Rob4.1Oct 2023

  • "It gives me no pleasure to give such a review, but I feel obligated to warn potential future guests that this property is not what it appears when looking at the photographs provided."

    What no photograph can convey, is the terrible and overpowering smell of damp that hits you the moment you enter this property. Like a musty cave or old damp cellar, the air is thick with damp. Quite frankly, it is a health hazard. I booked for three nights with my family, and everyone was shocked by the state of the place. Apart from the smell, the bedsheets were unchanged, damp to the touch and even had pubic hairs on the base sheet. My room was worst affected by the damp. ( Left of the entrance ) and it was impossible to sleep there. I was forced to sleep upstairs on the couch but that brought it’s own problems as it was full of dog hairs, this being a ‘pet friendly’ establishment. My eldest son, daughter and son in law were forced to leave early as the damp in their rooms were causing them breathing problems. Cobwebs and spiders were everywhere, and the whole place was in desperate need of a deep clean. All surfaces were sticky to the touch and the shower drainage was blocked causing the base to fill with foul water when showering. Nobody should be sleeping there until these problems are fixed. It is a sad state of affairs, because the potential this converted barn has, is clear from the photos they provide. The upstairs is spacious and appealing to the eye, but it is totally spoiled by uncleanliness, neglect and above all, a very serious damp issue. These concerns were raised in private with Sykes cottages who promised to speak to the owner and get back to us but unfortunately after chasing them for a week there has been only silence in return.

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay at our property. We are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience, and we take your feedback very seriously. We understand that you were disappointed with the state of the property, particularly the smell of damp and the uncleanliness. We also apologise that your son, daughter, and son-in-law had to leave early due to breathing problems. We have investigated the matter and taken the following actions: • The cleaner who was responsible for cleaning the property has been dismissed. • We have sent a team of cleaners to the property to deep clean it. • We have unblocked the shower drainage and it is working correctly. • We have taken steps to address the damp problem. We understand that you did not report these issues to us directly, and we regret that we were not made aware of them sooner. However, we appreciate that you accepted our goodwill gesture. We would like to assure you that the property does not suffer from damp. The smell that you may have experienced was likely due to the ambiance of a stone-built property. We have taken steps to address this issue, and we are confident that the property will be clean and free of damp smell when you next stay with us. We see from our interaction that agents have also followed up with you and corresponded with you. We are committed to providing our guests with a high standard of accommodation. We will continue to monitor the property and take any necessary action to ensure that it is in a clean and habitable condition. Thank you again for your feedback. We value your input and will use it to improve the quality of our services. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Eric1.6Aug 2023

  • "Lovely location."

    The accomodation is as described, but let down by a couple of things. Firstly the level of cleanliness. It is basically clean, but could be improved. An example - the sink had been cleaned, but the pedestal was dusty. The same with the toilet, there was dust and hairs on the pedestal. I could write my name in the dust on the telly base. A bit more attention to detail is all that is needed. There were a lot of cobwebs that could have been removed, but I accept it is an old building. The second point I am not sure how you would get around because the ground floor is musty and there is a dampness about it. Probably again it's age, but the first night I could not get the smell out of my nose. The toilet paper felt damp! Saying all of the above we did have a good stay. The kitchen, dining and seating areas were comfortable and well equipped. The showers were hot. The door needs looking at in the twin room by the bathroom. Very stiff like the wood is swollen, probably the dampness.

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We appreciate your honesty and we're sorry to hear that you had some concerns about the cleanliness of your accommodation. We understand that you were happy with the location and the overall description of the property, but we're disappointed that you felt that the cleanliness could have been improved. We take cleanliness very seriously and we'll be sure to address the specific issues that you mentioned. We'll also look into the musty smell on the ground floor and the dampness in the toilet paper. We're not sure what's causing these issues, but we'll do our best to fix them. We're glad that you enjoyed the kitchen, dining, and seating areas, and that the showers were hot. We'll also take a look at the door in the twin room. We appreciate your feedback and we'll use it to improve the quality of our accommodation. We hope that you'll stay with us again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by James3.4Aug 2023

  • "Nice place, plenty big enough for the 8 people, lovely and quiet, did take sometime to find as I thought the directions were sending us down what looked like a private driveway, I had a problem with the oven as it was calor gas so took a while to get use to as it felt like it took longer to cook but that was my issue not the cottages, all in all a nice place to stay."

    Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again. The Lakes Cottage Holidays Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Angela3.8May 2023

  • "This is a nice property in an absolutely beautiful location."

    The upstairs is lovely, open plan living and very comfortable. The kitchen is well stocked with everything you may need to self-cater. The TV is a little small and dated but who wants to watch TV when in the Lakes? Downstairs is less impressive (bedrooms). There is a 'musty' smell in some of the areas and the second double bedroom was unusable. The mattress on the bed was collapsed in the middle and incredibly uncomfortable to lay on. The final issue for dog owners to be aware of is that whilst the garden is completely secure for your four-legged friend, it leads to the drive way with a farmer's gate. The gap underneath is large enough for most sized dogs to slip under. We ended up buying a role of chicken wire to run along the bottom of the gate which worked a treat. We've left it there for future dog owners to use. Overall, would definitely book again - the issues listed were minor in comparison to the overall experience.

    Reviewed by Steve4.7May 2023

  • "We found our bed comfy- room with en-suite."

    However the others found the beds uncomfortable so could do with new ones perhaps. Other feedback, the gate could do with something on the bottom to make it more secure. Pet friendly but dogs can easily gey under the big gap. Minor point but important I think. Otherwise nice property and lovely stay. Neighbours were very friendly.

    Thank you for your comments, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We do find that beds are down to personal preference. We take all comments on board. We hope to welcome you again. The Lakes Cottage Holidays Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Matthew4.4May 2023

  • "We arrived on Friday afternoon to find the cottage warm, clean and well equipped."

    The heating was on all day, which during a cold February, made our stay both warm and comfortable. The beds were comfortable and clean. The Kitchen is well equipped with all modern appliances. The cottage is located to the West of Lake Windermere, so Ideal for exploring the Lake District. There are a few pubs that are local, we would recommend the Hare and Hounds for a great meal. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this cottage as a good place to stay.

    Reviewed by John5.0Mar 2023

  • "Was glad I ignored previous feed back , this is a great dog friendly cottage ..."

    Was glad I ignored previous feed back , this is a great dog friendly cottage but was hard to find in the dark only issues for us was not enough bin bags or washing up liquid as there is no local shop to get them when rang out as we cooked most days for seven we soon used up what was there but had a lovely week away the dogs loved all the walks around the cottage the pub not too far away was great for a meal out too would like to say thanks to sykes for getting in touch with the owner for us as we could of missed out on this cottage

    Reviewed by Jayne5.0Oct 2022

  • "Amazing cottage but could of been cleaner."

    There were numerous beetles on the floor and a wasp nest in the outside wall. A light to the outside garden would be a really good idea. Also an old sack of rubbish was left in the garden.

    Reviewed by Debbie3.4Sep 2022

  • "Filthy Neglected Damp downstairs Beds felt damp Disgusting bathrooms, black ..."

    Filthy Neglected Damp downstairs Beds felt damp Disgusting bathrooms, black mould and filthy floors Kitchen a mish mash of old dirty and broken stuff mixed with new Fixtures and fittings old and need replacing Sofas dirty To be honest you have a cheek renting this place out to unsuspecting holiday makers and should be thoroughly ashamed

    Reviewed by Wendy1.3Aug 2022

  • "This was a last minute deal, I wouldn’t pay full price for this property."

    Although some good points, this cottage needs attention from the owners. Good points: Convenient parking close to front door. Nice well equipped kitchen overall . Good to have a dryer when it’s wet outside. Love the open plan space upstairs. Pleasant enclosed garden. Quiet spot in a pretty village. Beds comfortable Bad points: Sticky kitchen table. Bathrooms grotty, and need an update, new sealant needed on bath and extractor fan not working properly. Smell of damp downstairs. Missing light bulbs and fire alarm needing new battery. Basic maintenance is poor. No pint of milk or tea, which would have been appreciated after a long journey. Information pack was poor, no info on recycling or working the TV. A guest book would be helpful so folks can recommend places to visit. We really enjoyed visiting Ambleside and Blackwell the Arts & Crafts house. Tip: Take some DVDs and games with you, (the games we found were old) Note: Both toilets are downstairs (bedroom level), we have family members who have to take extra time negotiating stairs, so just a heads up! Note: When finding the property the bins were blocking the house name, luckily friendly neighbours helped us find it. Conclusion: A cottage of two halves, living area nice upstairs but downstairs needs an update. Maintenance needed.

    Reviewed by Melissa2.5Aug 2022

  • "Location was great for the Lake District, great walks close by and neighbours all friendly."

    Property was full of equipment needed for any break. Overall the cleanliness was good, given the quick turnarounds that the cleaners need, however property could do with a one off deep clean to less used areas. But the kitchen, bathrooms and bedroom areas were all clean for normal use. Garden is small but beautiful, with the Lake District on your door step the garden is a perfect size. Would definitely recommend and we would stay again at riven oak.

    Reviewed by Claire4.7Aug 2022

  • "This was a real disappointment."

    The description is very misleading. The property smells of damp. It is very badly equipped. The crockery is chipped. The TV appears to be from the 1980’s and took an age to work out how to use. The rooms and furnishings are similarly from the 1980’s. I have tried to liaise with both Sykes and the owners about this, in an attempt to agree a reduced rate but their response has been arrogant and unhelpful. I would advise you not to stay at this property unless you can get at least a 50% discount on the price and ask them to ensure that the smell of damp has been removed.

    Reviewed by Andrew1.6Jul 2022

  • "Generally a great property for a stay with dogs & an enclosed garden."

    The bathrooms could probably do with a ‘refresh’ but beds comfy & clean throughout.

    Reviewed by Ian4.1Jun 2022

  • "The property could have done with a thorough clean as on arrival we found the utensils, pots snd pans all had to cleaned and we had to Hoover approximately 30 dead wasps that was in the upstairs kitchen and room area."

    That said that was really the only thing we can write negative feedback on as once we had cleaned up we enjoyed everything about the cottage and would definitely recommend it.

    Reviewed by Michelle3.1May 2022

  • "Lovely cottage."

    My husband and I and our three dogs loved our stay. Very comfortable. Fantastic living area upstairs. Garden a bit small but ok with us. Secured dog friendly garden. Loved our stay here

    Reviewed by Avril5.0Feb 2022

  • "The Facility was lovely, and we had a really good holiday."

    .. Unfortunately the Pub (1/2 Mile away had closed , and was now an Air BNB. This meant we had to drive to the nearest Pub/Restaurant.

    Reviewed by Neil4.7Sep 2021

  • "Property was ok but needs TLC."

    There was a smell of damp in some of the bedrooms. Lack of emergency number was a bit of a concern. Need more garden furniture as we were lucky to have lovely weather but unable to make the most of it. Most expensive cottage we’ve had from Sykes and though good, it was not top end quality for the price.

    Reviewed by Ken3.1Aug 2021

  • "Generally good."

    Just a few niggles: Neighbours have lots of cars/vans and getting in/out of the drive is awkward. There is absolutely no involvement from owner. It would be nice to have some way of asking questions (e,g, local walks, raising issues etc) The garden is very small with no facilities other than a small bench. Certainly needs a BBQ Bin emptying was a worry (as it didn't happen)

    Reviewed by Chris3.8Jul 2021

  • "Loved the accommodation and our stay."

    There was no problem with cleanliness. The garden is a little small, but we knew this when we booked it, and because we have a dog, it was more important that the garden was enclosed.

    Reviewed by Rachel5.0Jul 2021

  • "The accommodation was comfortable."

    Beds very comfortable. However cleanliness was not of a good standard. Also I do think that better furniture in the garden would have been a plus. We as a family usually holiday abroad. Value for money was not as good as a high end villa abroad. If you are going to charge a high price for your accommodation you expect a high standard of accommodation. Lake District very beautiful.

    Reviewed by Trina2.8Jun 2021

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.


  • Reverse-level accommodation
  • Four ground-floor bedrooms: 1 x king-size with en-suite shower, basin and WC, 1 x king-size, 2 x twin
  • Ground-floor bathroom with bath, walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • First-floor open living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with woodburning stove
  • Range with gas and electric oven and gas hob, microwave, fridge, freezer and dishwasher
  • First-floor utility Washing machine, tumble dryer, Gas central heating with woodburning stove
  • FreeSat TV, DVD player, CD player, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair provided
  • Private parking
  • Large, enclosed lawned garden with outdoor furniture
  • Three well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 4.8 miles, pub 1.8 miles
  • Note: Logs for woodburning stove available locally
  • Note: Check-in from 4pm, check-out by 10am
  • Note: This property does not accept stag/hen parties

The property

Levens 4.4 miles.

Settled in the heart of the Lyth Valley is this beautiful barn conversion, Riven Oak, boasting charm and character throughout in a small hamlet in the Lake District.

Ideal for exploring the wonders of the Lakes, Riven Oak is perfect for family gatherings and special occasions, sleeping eight guests in total.

Following a busy day outdoors, make your way up to the lofty open-plan living space on the first floor, here you can relish quality time amidst your loved ones whether gathering on the plush sofas in front of the TV, perching at the breakfast bar before making a toast to your trip, or enjoying delicious meals around the dining table.

A fabulous kitchen complete with an impressive range cooker comprising an electric oven and gas hob is perfect for whipping up big family dinners, with a door leading to further appliances in the utility area including a washing machine, tumble dryer and extra freezer.

Delight in descending the stairs in the evening to the ground floor to find your lovely sleeping spot, with the master bedroom home to a king-size bed and benefitting from an en-suite shower room.

A further king-size bedroom provides another tranquil setting, along with two twin bedrooms, with more rustic, timber beams on show in each room, as well as pretty bed linens and wall art complementing the interior.

Freshen up in the bathroom on the ground floor where you'll find a charming antique style suite with a bath and a separate shower.

Spend time out in the sunshine in the lawned garden, completely enclosed so great for letting your canine companions stretch their legs, and with outdoor seating to make use of in the summer months.

Discover adventure from your doorstep by embarking on a walk up Whitbarrow Scar, a perfect way to begin exploring and experience stunning views of the surrounding area, with plenty more peaks to be found north of Lake Windermere, as well as Grizedale Forest to the west of the waters.

Pick up any essentials from the local shop in the village of Levens on the edge of the national park, or head into the lively centre of Kendal, with the Lakeland Museum being a great stop for history enthusiasts as well as Abbot Hall and the Quaker Tapestry Museum.

Indulge in afternoon treats in the quaint cafés and tearooms, or organise a delicious meal at one of the many pubs or restaurants, great for any occasions.

For fabulous days out head to the Lakes’ best attractions, with amazing sea creatures to be discovered at the Lakes Aquarium in Lakeside, all of your favourite characters at The World of Beatrix Potter in Bowness and lots of opportunities for sailing and watersports on Lake Windermere.

Enjoy memorable moments with your loved ones in the Lakes at Riven Oak.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location


  • Kendal 5 miles
  • Windermere 16 miles

Levens is a small traditional Cumbrian village set on a high promontory in beautiful countryside and ideally placed for exploring the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales. The village has a lovely old church, general store/newsagent and a pub. With excellent views of the southern fells across the Lyth Valley and the River Kent which flows below the village, Levens consists of a huddle of fine, stone-built traditional houses, cottages and barn conversions surrounded by unspoilt countryside, with varied flora and fauna and a nature reserve providing beautiful walking country. Both Sizergh Castle and Levens Hall, with its superb topiary garden, are nearby, as are limestone escarpments for easy walking, offering thrilling views of the Lakeland Mountains, the Howgills and Morecambe Bay. Nearby Kendal is ideally placed for exploring South Lakeland, the Yorkshire Dales and beyond. With other attractions such as Kendal Museum and the Museum of Lakeland Life, Lake Windermere and the wider National Park within easy reach, Levens provides a superb base for a relaxing break.

Note: Logs for woodburning stove available locally.
Note: Check-in from 4pm, check-out by 10am
Note: This property does not accept stag/hen parties.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute