Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only. T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Lake District 7 minutes ago

1 of 22 View Image Gallery
  • The Bothy - Lake District - 1068412 - photo 1

The Bothy

(Ref. 1068412)

Lytham St. Annes, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • stay (17)
  • lytham (15)
  • location (15)
  • bothy (14)
  • our (14)
  • cottage (13)

34 Customer Reviews

  • "This is the first time we have done this kind of holiday break."

    We loved it and so did our two dogs. Location location location. Perfectly situated. We will most certainly be back. Thank you

    Reviewed by Barbara5.0Nov 2023

  • "Lovely little cottage for a holiday in Lytham."

    Stones throw from the main high street and only one street back from the promenade. A hidden gem! Potential guests need to be aware that the steps are very steep and awkward for someone with mobility issues. Not a criticism - one can't do anything about that ...

    Reviewed by Steve4.7Nov 2023

  • "Extract from my email to the owner " we arrived at the Bothy and were pleased to find a nice, cosy, quaint and slightly quirky place to stay sadly all spoiled by the lack of cleanliness, viz: Main bedroom, matted cobwebs between the double bed headboard and wall plus cobwebs hanging from the lightshade, the skirting board behind the headboard is thick with dust and grime, looks like it hasn't been cleaned for years."

    Bathroom, again cobwebs and dirt round the back of the bath, the cabinet in this room is dirty and stained, paint flaking from the ceiling. There is a film of grime on most window ledges, window frames, picture frames and skirting boards. Kitchen, dirty oven and roasting trays, refrigerator not cleaned, crumbs and other particles in some kitchen cupboards, pots and pans not properly cleaned. My wife spent some time making the place more habitable which she should not have to do when on holiday. Also the bedding was not ironed, very crumpled which gives it the appearance of being far from fresh. Initially I wasn't going to bring all this to your attention, just write it off to experience, but then it occurred to me you may not be aware just how dusty and dirty the place is. It is in need of a thorough clean top to bottom. You really should inspect your property if you live locally. All a great pity as the Bothy has the makings of first rate holiday accommodation. Disappointed." The owner replied " Thank you for the feedback John - much appreciated, but I am sorry about your experience. I will take action now."

    Reviewed by John2.8Nov 2023

  • "Comfy, cosy cottage in the heart of Lytham."

    Right around the corner from both the local shops & restaurants and the promenade. Really easy access to the bright lights of Blackpool by train & car. Lovely and quiet setting; would recommend.

    Thanks Amanda.Glad you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Amanda5.0Oct 2023

  • "The Bothy is a very comfortable cottage."

    It has a well stocked kitchen, with all the items needed for a self-catering stay. Thank you for the fresh milk, for a much needed cuppa when we arrived! The beds are top quality for comfort and the shower is hot! The Bothy is well positioned for walks on the dog friendly Lytham green, and to Lowther Park for photos opportunities with the Bobby Ball statue. Walk further on for a peaceful sit in the sunken gardens at St Annes, and take photos of the Les Dawson statue! Lytham is just 8 miles from Blackpool, but so peaceful after a hectic day visiting the illuminations. I have family living in Bury, just an hours drive away. I enjoyed staying at The Bothy, and would love to visit again (and again).

    Hi Candice, thank you for the feedback. Glad the team and milk were appreciated! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Candice5.0Oct 2023

  • "Loved our time at The Bothy, it is a lovely property."

    Dawn the housekeeper was very nice and helpful . All in all a great stay

    Thank you Lynn, and I will pass your compliments to Dawn. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lynn5.0Oct 2023

  • "Beautiful cosy home."

    Excellent location and communication. Close to everything but also peaceful. Well appointed with very comfy beds and plenty space for the 4 of us and our dog. Would definitely stay again!

    Thank you for your feedback Lorraine, and glad you enjoyed your stay. Alex Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lorraine4.7Oct 2023

  • "This property is in desperate need of a deep clean and lots of TLC."

    Of two sofa/footstool sets one set was very badly stained. Given that this is a dog friendly property one is left wondering who/ what caused the staining. Also a large stain on the landing carpet. On speaking to the housekeeper she said that the owner was aware of it, if so why had it not been cleaned? The bathroom was in need of attention. The shower doors needed a thorough clean, there being soap and water marks from previous guests and a dirty shower head. Large damp patch and a broken pane of glass over the bathroom entrance door. Copious cobwebs around the property. A posh roll top bath, snazzy coffee machine and double function kitchen tap did nothing to compensate for the general lack of basic necessities. Couldn't find coasters and place mats which seemed to have been a problem for others as the wooden furniture had multiple water stains.Limited pans and burnt oven trays. No complimentaries such as salt and pepper etc. This property was advertised as having two bathrooms. Not the case, one bathroom indoors and an outside toilet and wash basin! I could go on. All in all a disappointing stay although the beds were comfortable and the location lovely

    Thank you for your feedback, Alison, and sorry you found some issues. It is indeed an old cottage, and with 1 to 2 different guests each week, mostly with dogs, it does suffer from more than average wear and tear! Nevertheless, I had thought the housekeeper had addressed the stains and cobwebs from the last inspection, so thank you for pointing these out. A lot of people hate coasters and left over food (especially in a self-catering cottage), so I hope their absence did not spoil your experience too much. I do provide tea, coffee and milk though, which I hope were enjoyed. The bathroom count is an interesting point - lettings sites often count all sanitary facilities (bathrooms, toilets, shower rooms) as "bathrooms" (possibly it is 'international' English!) hence the listing describes exactly what the accommodation comprises. The winter maintenance period approaches, so I will look at the points you have kindly raised. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alison1.6Oct 2023

  • "The Bothy had the best location, literally 5 minutes from a beautiful green and less than ten minutes from the pier."

    But unfortunately, the cottage had a lot of dust/webs, a mouldy shower rest for toiletries, lifting laminate in the conservatory hidden by a mat. A moving toilet seat, batteries low on the remote, it was lots of little things. We actually had to purchase toilet roll for the week (which we have never done on a stay) and less then half a bottle of washing up liquid. There was food left at the property in the freezer and the cupboards which again was disappointing as the booklet states its not allowed. For us the attention to detail was not there and the place hadn't been checked over for a while maybe by the owner. We did communicate our issues with the owner during our stay.

    Dear Eno, Thank you for the useful feedback, some of which you did tell me in the week. I am surprised and sorry to hear about the cobwebs and toilet roll, and have taken this up with the housekeeper. If only you had mentioned it at the time, she could have brought some round straight away! Yours, Alex Property Owner

    Reviewed by Eno2.5Aug 2023

  • "What a beautiful seaside home in lovely leafy lytham, as soon as walking through the beautiful wrought iron gate, you felt welcome and as though you were at home!"

    Beautiful comfy bed, everything clean and all you needed in the property, Dawn the housekeeper very kindly left us a pint of milk in the fridge, a well stocked tea and coffee tray and a nice welcome card! Perfectly situated in town to get to all the fabulous shops and bars, but yet you are able to return to the peaceful charm of the beautiful bothy cottage! We love lytham and will definitely be booking the bothy again, wish we could have stayed longer!

    Thank you for your feedback Peter, and glad you enjoyed your stay. Alex Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Jul 2023

  • "Great location"

    Reviewed by Bridget3.8May 2023

  • "I loved the Bothy, my 85 year old mum found the staircase really difficult as there is no second hand rail for safety."

    She also found the lovely bath difficult to get in and out of, (she cannot stand in the shower). She slept in the twin room and found the bed really narrow and nearly fell out. It all sounds a bit doom and gloom but to summarise, I would have said it's just not really suitable for an older person with some mobility issues. I can see it would be great for a younger couple or a young family. I found it comfortable and I really enjoyed my stay. I would suggest that as a cook, the selection of cooking pans could be better, particularly the frying pans. Mum likes to eat in and it was a challenge to cook dinner with the pots and pans on offer. A mirror over an electric socket for hair drying would have been good. The housekeeper had to come in and re tune the TV on our first night as the previous occupants had disconnected the ariel to move the TV on to the kitchen counter, so thanks go to her for doing that! Lytham is lovely, and I suspect in the summer, amazing. I found the location of the cottage a boon for getting my mum easily in to the town centre and Jimbo (JRT) out for his walkies.

    Dear Keli, Thank you very much for the feedback. There is some really useful detail that I will use to improve The Bothy. Pots and pans easily sorted, and I will update the listing to make it clear it is a quirky cottage with steep stairs. I hope you had a safe journey home, and thanks again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Keli3.8Mar 2023

  • "We are a family of 3 plus small/medium size dog and we loved our stay at the Bothy."

    Really cosy and in a great convenient position in Lytham. Close to shops and the windmill on the front so great for walks. We stayed for a week and could happily of stayed longer. The cottage is well equipped but with so many cafes and restaurants on your doorstep little need to cook. 10/10

    Reviewed by Heather5.0Dec 2022

  • "On arrival at The Bothy it was extemely cold with no heating turned on and we were greeted with the horrendous smell of drains."

    Which lasted every now and then all week long. Not a very good start. Then shock set in as it looked nothing like Christmas not a decoration in sight not even a small Christmas Tree. I contacted the owner Mr Alex Cotterill and his explanation was that he expected people to bring a Christmas Tree and decorate the cottage themselves. At that point I told him that I had been booking holiday cottages for Christmas week for the last eight (8) years and all the properties had been dressed for Christmas and his was the first un-festive cottage i had ever booked for Christmas to which I got no reply. Eberneezer Scrooge is still alive and kicking with people like you around.

    Reviewed by David Anthony2.8Dec 2022

  • "Another wonderful stay at The Bothy, the place has everything you need for a relaxing stay."

    Local amenities are spot on and if you fancy the lights of Blackpool, they are just a stone's throw away. I would certainly book again if visiting the area and the host and housekeeper are wonderful.

    Thank you very much for coming, and glad you enjoyed yourself again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Richard J5.0Oct 2022

  • "We have stayed here before and enjoyed the peaceful location - handy for the shops and restaurants of Lytham and also handy for the promenade along the green and the windmill next to the river Ribble."

    There was a very helpful pint of milk, some tea bags and biscuits to welcome us back, as well a wee card and some chocolates. I don't know if all this was to thank us as returning customers but it was very welcome as we arrived so late. Note to turn the Hot water on you need to press the Booster button by the bathroom for however you want it on for. It's a simple idea and does a bit towards conserving energy. It's in the welcome pack but from comments I've seen it looks like people miss seeing it. It was also lovely to meet Dawn too who helps with the cottage as she popped by to check all was OK.

    Thank you for coming again Pip, and glad you had an enjoyable stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Pip5.0Aug 2022

  • "The Bothy was just as advertised , we know Lytham well so knew what to expect."

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and our Grandson loved Blackpool Circus, Tower and Zoo. Fairhaven lake being so close made it all perfect for him. Thanks Alex

    Reviewed by Christopher5.0Aug 2022

  • "The cottage was very nice."

    Enough space and good garden area. But there was white insect killer powder all over the place when we got there which I think made one of our dogs ill on the first night. Shes fine but we spent a few hours hoovering and cleaning to remove it all the next day when we realised what it was. Struggled with having no combi-boiler as it means no hot water on tap as it were. Area was ok, good variety of shops but no beach - just mud and grassy river estuary.

    Dear Emma, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry the ant powder was still down when you arrived - we had intended to vacuum it up before you arrived - a 5 minute job. The ant powder is pet-friendy (unless you have a pet ant), so should not have harmed your dog. The Bothy has a brand new hot water system, with instructions for the single button operation in the information pack I sent you before your stay, so you would have had as much hot water as you wanted. Lytham is not on the sea, so does not have a beach. The enormous sandy expanses of St Anne's beach are just 3 miles away. Apart from the ant powder, I hope everything was as it should have been. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emma3.1Jul 2022

  • "This really is a lovely cottage."

    Really cosy and welcoming. Great location 5 or 6 minutes level walk from the station, it’s just one street back from the Lytham Green and windmill, and one street down from the main street with loads of dining choices and interesting shops. We had a fantastic stay here, and will definitely come back.

    Thank you, I'm glad you had a lovely stay. The shops are great, and I love the wide vistas over the estuary from the Green. Hope to see you again! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Amanda5.0Jun 2022

  • "Brilliant location for visiting Lytham, tucked away just behind the town centre."

    Property was clean and the information pack provided by the owner was very useful. Nice welcome box in the kitchen containing tea, coffee and biscuits. Would definitely stay again.

    Glad you had a great stay, and thank you for the feedback. I hope you come again soon - it is very cosy in the winter with the log fire. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anthony5.0Jun 2022

  • "Absolutely wonderful cottage in a lovely location, perfect to relax and unwind."

    The host is so accommodating and communication was so easy. No hesitation in recommending this property

    Thank you Kirsty- glad you had a good stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kirsty5.0Apr 2022

  • "The Bothy is set in a perfect location in Lytham."

    Just a few minutes on foot to the bustling local shops, cafes and sea front. We had a great break although it was cold and windy, we travelled to local attractions like Lytham Hall, Fleetwood and St Annes. As The Bothy is

    Reviewed by Sue5.0Apr 2022

  • "Gorgeous little cottage, perfect position in the heart of Lytham."

    Small but enclosed garden with outdoor table and chairs. Excellent information from the owner. We will go back there.

    Thank you Jennifer - I look forward to your return! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jennifer5.0Mar 2022

  • "The Bothy is a good location from which to explore Lytham and its environs."

    The green that extends over a huge section of the promenade is literally 90 seconds walk from the house and Clifton Street with its amazing range of shops is just around the corner. The conservatory is an excellent addition to the property and we used it extensively during our stay. We recommend a visit to Lytham Hall, the most dog friendly establishment we have ever come across!

    Reviewed by David4.7Mar 2022

  • "What a pleasure it was to spend a wonderful three nights in this beautiful accommodation."

    Everything you need to enjoy the delightful area of Lytham. This was our families first visit and would certainly book again, which we intend to in August for a week. Thank you to the informative home owner who could have been more helpful. A wonderful break and couldn't recommend more highly.

    Thank you so much for your kind feedback. I look forward to your return in August. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Richard J5.0Feb 2022

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here!"

    Thank you for your feedback, and glad you enjoyed your winter break here. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Pip5.0Dec 2021

  • "A very nice stay at The Bothy."

    Very handy location but you need private parking somewhere Very nice to have a washing machine but no iron or ironing board? Would stay again

    Thank you Roxana, glad you enjoyed your 4 week stay. I'll get an iron if people want one! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Roxana4.7Dec 2021

  • "Had a lovely time great location reasonably priced."

    Friendly and accommodating owner.

    Thank you for your kind words, and glad you had a lovely time. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Oct 2021

  • "Enjoyed our stay but parking is a major problem"

    Thank you for your feedback. Parking is indeed tricky in an old town centre location. Glad you enjoyed your 3 1/2 week stay! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephen4.4Oct 2021

  • "Tastefully furnished property in an excellent location minutes from promenade & town centre"

    Glad you had a nice time, and thank you for your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Judy5.0Sep 2021

  • "Fun and vibrant place, made to feel very welcome, only one thing parking little ..."

    Fun and vibrant place, made to feel very welcome, only one thing parking little tricky sometimes, other than that fantastic

    Thank you for your feedback, and glad you enjoyed it. Parking can be tricky during the day - the nature of the old town location. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mary5.0Sep 2021

  • "The only thing is could have done with a couple more comfy chairs in the living room ."

    That's all its a beautiful house totally loved it,so quiet round close to the shops.loved the garden if I was rich I would have loved to own it .apart from the seating it's perfect in every way.would easily go back again.

    Thank you for your feedback and useful points. New snuggler armchair and wood burning stove now installed! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael4.7Sep 2021

  • "Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Bothy."

    Perfect locatiion to explore Lytham and surrounding area, visited Silverdale ( Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty) which was only an hours drive. The Bothy is really lovely , it has been thoughtfully set up for a for a cosy getaway. Would n’t hesitate to return at a later date. Thankyou.

    Thank you for your feedback, and glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope you come again next year! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jan5.0Aug 2021

  • "The locality of the property to shops and restaurants was a bonus as well as the quiet surroundings."

    Ideal position and within close proximity of the promenade and green space for walking our dog.

    Reviewed by Eric Stephen4.7Aug 2021

Show more


  • Two bedrooms: 1 x Twin beds which may zip-linked to form a king-size bed, 1 x king
  • Bathroom with roll-top bath, walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • External cloakroom with washing machine, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with woodburning stove
  • External study
  • Electric central heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher
  • WiFi, a selection of books and games
  • Electricity inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Enclosed front garden with patio and seating
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.1 miles, pub 0.1 miles, beach 1.5 miles
  • Note: Check-in from 10am, check-out by 4pm
  • Note: This is an old town location with limited parking
  • Cars can be unloaded outside the property, then moved to on-street parking nearby.

The property

Resting in the charming coastal town of Lytham in Lancashire, is this charming cottage, The Bothy.

Set over two floors and sleeping up to four guests, The Bothy is a delightful dwelling for your next getaway to Lancashire, enjoying a private garden with seating and close proximity to St. Anne’s Beach.

Be welcomed into the spacious open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with woodburning stove, where you can look forward to whipping up delicious home-cooked meals for your guests, before settling down to enjoy at the dining table in the conservatory with lovely views of the garden.

Retire to the sitting room, where you can put your feet up and enjoy a glass of wine in front of the woodburning stove, as your guests set up a board game for the evening entertainment.

As the evening grows darker, climb the stairs to the first floor, where you will find two airy bedrooms, a king-size, and a twin which you can zip-link together to form another king size, ensuring flexible sleeping arrangements for all parties.

Enjoy a hot soak with your favourite book in the marvellous roll-top bath, before treating your guests to an alfresco breakfast out on the patio.

For those who are looking to get a little work done on their trip, you can benefit from the external study with handy cloakroom, perfect for ensuring everything is running smoothly whilst you’re away.

Set out for the day and explore your local surroundings, with an array of activities available right on your doorstep.

Brush up on the town’s history with a visit to the Lytham Heritage Centre, which houses an exhibition and fantastic artwork by local artists.

Explore the remarkable Lytham Hall, a beautiful Georgian Manor which was built in 1764, here you can enjoy the scenic heritage parkland, wander the Italianate Gardens and enjoy a sweet treat at the onsite tearoom.

Budding historians will also love the Lytham Windmill, which houses a local history museum, a gift shop to purchase souvenirs and outstanding sea views.

Grab your trunks, buckets and spades and head to the vast sands of St. Anne’s Beach, where you can paddle the shores, tuck into fresh fish and chips, build sandcastles or soak up the sun.

Take the short drive the nearby hub of Blackpool, famed for its Pleasure Beach, where the family can enjoy thrilling rides, shows, a good selection of attractions for the children and excellent dining.

For more family fun, you can head to Blackpool Zoo which is set in a 32-acre woodland or get up close and personal with marine life at the Sea Life Blackpool.

However, you choose to spend your time in Lytham, be sure to choose The Bothy as your base for an unforgettable trip with loved ones.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location


Blackpool 5.2 miles.

The seaside towns of Lytham and St Annes-on-Sea nestle along a picturesque stretch of coastline lined with pretty parks. For many centuries, the economy of this lovely area was dependent entirely on fishing until the beginning the Industrial Revolution, which resulted in the wealthy creating an affluent area, lasting until the present day. A short stroll from the Lytham seafront brings you to leafy Clifton Street, where you’ll find charming boutiques, restaurants and independent shops. Lytham Green, a strip of grass running between the shore and the main coastal road, is a notable landmark, overlooking the River Ribble towards the Welsh Mountains, and home to the restored Windmill and Old Lytham Lifeboat House museum. Those interested in craft ales can take a tour of the Lytham Brewery, whilst walkers and twitchers will adore the rolling sandy dunes of St Annes-on-Sea and the Ribble Estuary providing a safe haven for more than 250,000 migrating birds that return each winter. The area is internationally renowned for golf with four courses to choose from, the most notable being the Royal Lytham & St Annes Golf Club, one of the host courses for the Open Championship. Traditional seaside pastimes can be enjoyed at St Annes-on-Sea with a pretty pier and charming little beach huts in an array of pastels offering visitors a unique, exciting addition for a day beside the sea. A short walk from the pier brings you to St Annes Square and Wood Street, where you'll find charming coffee shops, tea rooms, restaurants and independent shops. Lovely long strolls, sunny afternoons on the sand or fun-filled frolics in nearby Blackpool, Lytham St Annes is a charming coastal destination with plenty to offer. Boating, cycling, shopping and swimming can all also be enjoyed nearby, along with award-winning restaurants, traditional pubs and wine bars should you fancy celebrating. Whatever you want from your seaside getaway, Lytham St Annes is an ideal choice.

Note: The woodburning stove will only be available for use from 10th November 2021

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas