Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

8 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 53 View Image Gallery
  • The Stables - Lake District - 1042787 - photo 1

The Stables

(Ref. 1042787)

Ambleside, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 3 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Dishwasher
  • Games Room
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • no (13)
  • our (11)
  • views (10)
  • property (9)
  • house (8)
  • all (8)

25 Customer Reviews

  • "The Stables is a very comfortable and well-presented house in a fabulous location."

    It suited our needs perfectly. Our only gripe is that we had problems with the hot water system that were only resolved five days into our stay. The response time was very quick but the resolution took longer. Other minor niggles were that only one oven was working and both tin openers were broken. Overall we had a lovely stay and would book again.

    Reviewed by Roz4.7Mar 2024

  • "A special place to spend special times !"

    Thank You

    Glad to hear that you love the house as much as we do. Thank you for your comment. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Steve5.0Mar 2024

  • "Nobody can predict weather conditions."

    But nobody when hiring a property wants to feel nobody bothered snow conditions forced a tree in the property to fall on two vehicles one with a lot of damage. we were snowed in the property (which is no fault of owner) we had to clear as much of the tree as possible to try to get vehicles out which we managed leaving the tree in an unsafe position as the property is on a private road my son in law and daughter had to use a plastic shovel and spade to dig tracks top to bottom. Sykes could not have cared less sent out maintenance we can’t do anything we havnt got equipment a gentleman from the building site offered to use his snow plough but was told NO private road. I have phoned Sykes each day never had returned call apart from a Frederick emailing stating case closed see ye Insurers. All the years we have booked through them and lakelovers absolutely shocking treatment. Tree still there for next guests. Nobody would have left the stables and other property if road not sorted by my family. The property inside was really nice but I was not impressed with blood stains on one of the single duvets which I found when stripping beds

    Reviewed by Rosalind4.7Dec 2023

  • "The house was brilliant - amazing views with long picture windows,- totally brilliantly situated and facilities were fabulous, with plentiful good cooking equipment if you want to cook and we found the beds comfy."

    The decor furniture and f&f were comfy and stylish.. Just a few maintenance things need doing which is why four stars on that.,The fan in the sauna/gym that switches on with the light was making loud screeching noises so sauna use was minimal. The double room radiator is not heating still but as it is above the lounge we were not cold. The lower freezer was thick with ice and the drawers almost impossible to use so needs defrosting badly.The single room that leads up from the billiard room was much cooler as it adjoins an outside door but we had hot water bottles. A few starter logs when we arrived and a pint of fresh milk would have been a nice touch. But these are minor issues it is a fabulous house and the owners are lucky people who have not stunted on making the house a great place to stay and make their guests comfortable as they are given free access to it all. .

    Reviewed by L4.7Oct 2023

  • "The view from this property makes up for the very small issues we had ."

    The furniture and decor are comfortable and attractive. The lay out works and six people can holiday easily here . We all appreciated the sauna an excellent addition. Downside not much sound insulation, the shower cubicles upstairs are very dingy ( I used the downstairs one mainly ) . The boiler is very noisy especially for the people sleeping above it . I couldn’t get my radiator on in the middle bedroom The snooker room would have been more utilised by us if there were a couple of easy chairs in there . Housekeeping wise lots of cobwebs around strip lighting over kitchen door .and a mop bucket with 2 mops in by the entrance door ( near boiler ) had a very very offensive smell we had to put it outside. I found the key safe impossible to use luckily other members of my party were able to . I know I’ve listed a few negatives but we all really enjoyed our time here ( despite all the rain) and would not be put off staying again. Thankyou

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are sorry to read that you had some issues with the property, if we had been notified we would have offered to arrange an urgent reclean. The owner will see your feedback and can choose to action on your points where necessary. We are glad that you did enjoy your stay and got us out of the sauna. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Lakelovers Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen4.1Sep 2023

  • "A really lovely house with amazing views and facilities - we loved the pool table."

    Great walks straight from the door and a fabulous base to explore the area from. We'd love to return.

    Reviewed by Lora5.0Jul 2023

  • "A beautiful and spacious house with an amazing garden and views."

    This house has all of the amenities you could possibly need. It is a perfect location for accessing all areas of the Lake District. Will definitely be returning.

    Thank you for your kind comments. We are so pleased to see that you had a lovely stay at The Stables, and the views! We hope to welcome you again. The Heart of the Lakes Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emily5.0Jun 2023

  • "We were booked into another property through Sykes and were let down an hour prior to booking in."

    Sykes identified the Stables as a last minute alternative. As it turned out we loved the Stables - the property was comfortable and the views are spectacular. It helped that we had wonderful weather so spent a lot of time walking the fells from the door or sitting in the garden in the evening sun. The beds were comfortable, however a couple of our party are tall and the bedsteads meant they had to poke their feet through the bars or lie curled up. I would also suggest that the showers could do with a deep clean to remove black mold. However, overall it is a lovely property and we had a wonderful stay.

    Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We take all comments on board. We hope to welcome you again. The Heart of the Lakes Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Wendy4.4May 2023

  • "We think this might have been our 6th stay at the stables."

    We’re appreciative of the re-furb that the owners have carried out, many thanks. We’re looking forward to next time, whenever that is.

    Thank you for your kind comments, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your 6th stay. We hope to welcome you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rob5.0Apr 2023

  • "We have stayed in the Lakes for many years and this must rank as one of the best cottages we have stayed in."

    Fabulous view and plenty of walks from the door in a peaceful location. Pool room and xbox gaming area a big hit with our teenage kids. Having a separate boot room area with heated rail below the pegs was a good thought. For anyone wanting Tesco home deliveries, this is now possible to this property - we had to get Tesco's to register it as a genuine delivery address as it had been listed as a business premise previously.

    Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Stables. We hope to welcome you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Murray5.0Mar 2023

  • "A lovely, lovely house in a great location with amazing views."

    One that we would definitely return to as it was very homely. There were a few small niggles such as the outside light not working and issues with the flushing mechanism of one of the toilets but nothing significant enough to spoil a magic week.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed it and I will get those items looked at. You are the first guests to use the new kitchen so much relief that there were no hiccups. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Colin5.0Dec 2022

  • "Many thanks for the loan of your house for the week ."

    A little taste of heaven. Will definitely be back at some stage in the future . Kind Regards Steve & Michelle Talbot

    Thank you for your lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Steve5.0Jul 2022

  • "Absolute spectacular last minute find as a birthday treat, stayed at many S/C homes in the lakes for over 20 yrs, this ranks amongst one of the best."

    Will definitely try to come back! Just my husband and I so we felt the luxury of space a big plus. Beds were so comfy, didn't want to get up and the views! Spectacular. Just a couple of negatives cleaning especially in kitchen could have been better, had to go out and buy some cleaning products for grease on cooker hood, dirt and grease down sides of cooker, dishwasher, looked like it hadn't been cleaned there for some time! cleanliness is one of the first things we look for in a property, especially with Co-vid. Really would have been good (especially for the money) to have some cleaning products in-situ, every SC we have been in provides these as standard. Also could have done with a hair dryer. Sofa a bit dirty and tired now. But like I say we had a lovely time, attention to these points will make Stables perfect!

    We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and our apologies that the kitchen wasn't as clean as it should be. We will look into what went wrong. There should be a hair dryer in the property, but sometimes they go walkabout, we will get someone to check. There are lots of refurbishments planned for the end of the year, new carpets, windows, kitchen, sofas etc so please visit us again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen3.8Jun 2022

  • "Our second visit to this terrific property."

    It is a special house to visit, in a beautiful setting. Being able to walk from the front door over Loughrigg to Ambleside in an hour and without going near any busy roads is a real treat. A couple of very minor negatives to report. We specifically requested a high chair and cot, and were assured that they would be provided. When we arrived there was a cot in one of the wardrobes, but no high chair. However one was delivered just 30 minutes after we called. We also asked in advance if their was a bbq for guests use, and were assured that there was s gas bbq. In fact there was not a gas one, but there was a traditional charcoal one, which was fine once we found it.

    Reviewed by Richard4.7Jun 2022

  • "We had a brilliant stay in the Bothy, lots of room and well equipment kitchen."

    We all enjoy the snooker table, the available games and the small gym. We found the outside lounger’s and spent most evening watching the sunset over the amazing views. I would book this property again. It does need a bit of updating and decorating. The sofas and carpet are tired and the main light shade in the bedroom with the bath needs a vacuum. By-folding doors onto the patios, maybe

    Reviewed by Cheryl3.8May 2022

  • "This is our ninth time in the Stables over 11 years, and it remains a home-from-home."

    Best holiday cottage ever, and we've rented over sixty in total, across England, Wales, Scotland, France, Italy and the USA. There was a mess-up this time over it not being cleaned, for which we've still not received a refund. We had to blitz the place ourselves when we got there. The cottage is getting a little tired now in places though. Carpets need replacing, and it needs a king-sized bed in the master bedroom, with a proper, modern mattress. The noises from the heating in the morning are also getting worse and worse! But none of this alters the fact that it's an amazingly place, where we can truly relax (and from which we've conquered all 214 Wainwrights!).

    Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry there was a mix up on your arrival however, I do believe this was resolved and you were compensated before you checked out. If you have not received this, please contact us. The living room carpet, windows and sofas are all due to be replaced later this year and the owner will measure up the master bedroom from your suggestion. Congratulations on the completion of all Wainwrights!! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Patrick3.8Jan 2022

  • "Great property - excellent location."

    very nicely kitted out. Log burner really tricky. A few lights weren't working (including the outside light for the door) and there weren't spare bulbs as suggested in the guide

    Reviewed by Richard3.8Dec 2021

  • "Fabulous, homely accommodation."

    It was perfect for our family. Very peaceful and those views, well what can I say.

    Reviewed by Lesley5.0Nov 2021

  • "Sauna does not work."

    Outside light not working, also torch requires new batteries

    Reviewed by Julie3.8Oct 2021

  • "Excellent, well equipped accommodation."

    Will certainly stay again.

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Sep 2021

  • "We had an issue with recycling - when we tried to recycle our plastics and cardboard at Ambleside recycling centre, we were asked if we were staying in a holiday cottage and were told we weren’t allowed to recycle them."

    This meant we had to leave the recycling at the cottage as the refuse collection had been done for the week. We’ve been coming to the Lakes for over 17 years and have never had this happen before.

    Reviewed by Kerry4.7Jul 2021

  • "We loved our stay here."

    The views were outstanding and like having your own little film show through the big lounge windows, - they changed throughout the days and weather. So relaxing! We barely used our car, as there were just wonderful walks ( long and short) right on our doorstep. After a long day walking, it was lovely to use the pool table and games room rather than gather around a TV. Only problem was that we wanted to stay there longer !

    Reviewed by Roz5.0Jul 2021

  • "Wow, that view!"

    I could literally wake up there every day and never tire of the view of Wetherlam. During the weeks it went from snow -topped to impending doom to stunning crystal blue skies. It inspired us to climb it - that’s a tough round! The stables didn’t have the feel of a holiday home but a real home - everything was there and it’s cosy. We LOVED the hidden bar and snooker table for rainy days. The kitchen was well equipped and it would be worth mentioning this in the info - my mums been known to bring her own pots in the eventuality that they aren’t good. No need here! All high quality. The second tele was brilliant - that meant if you wanted to watch the news like my dad does and, avoid depressing everyone, he could take himself off and we could read and admire the view in peace. We walked the dogs in the wood and it was gorgeous, ferns popping up - deer everywhere, magical. The only negatives were; beds, they are quite small even if you’re only 5,8. I would expect minimum king size. Also a need a new tin opener. Thank you so much, absolutely amazing place

    Reviewed by Katie4.7Apr 2021

  • "A beautiful property in a perfect location."

    We have had a wonderful week - thank you so much.

    Sarah & DaveDec 2019

  • "Beautiful house, beautiful views."

    Very homely. Well equipped for all our needs. Great location. We would highly recommend staying here!

    Sofianos FamilyDec 2019

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.


  • Three bedrooms: 1 x double with en-suite bath, basin and WC, 1 x double with en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x twin with en-suite walk-in shower basin and WC
  • Recently fitted traditional style painted Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove
  • Games room with pool table
  • Leisure suite with sauna, wet room and gym
  • Oil central heating with woodburning stove
  • Gas oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, TV with Xbox, WiFi,pay telephone, Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Ample off-road parking for three cars
  • South-facing terraced garden
  • One well-behaved dog welcome
  • Please note the garden is not enclosed
  • No smoking.

The property

This very special detached stone-built residence stands in an elevated hillside setting with scenic views down the Langdale Valley towards Wetherlam.- a joy in any season and perfect for a lakeland holiday at any time of year.The property has a degree of spaciousness and individuality hard to better in a holiday home and makes a comfortable base for relaxing, touring and walking amid some of our finest scenery.

The house was formerly the stables for a grand country house.It stands in its own enclosed gardens with ten acres of adjacent private woodland reached through a separate gate at the end of the terrace.

Accommodation: The usual entrance is through the back door which leads into a most useful boot room with heated boot rack and plenty of hanging space for outdoor gear.Well-equipped recently fitted traditional style painted dining/kitchen with fine picture windows opening onto the terrace outside.

A door leads through to the spacious sitting room which has a wood burning stove (T.V.

with Amazon firebox, DVD, Wi-Fi.

A separate panelled snooker/pool room is fully equipped with cues and set for billiards, pool and snooker with a selection of games, jigsaws etc..

A 'hidden' bar can be accessed behind the panelling-wall mounted optics provided but do bring your own bottles!.

Ground floor facilities are completed by the 'leisure suite' which offers a sauna, wet room,exercise bike and some smaller gym equipment (for use at guests own risk).

The house has two staircases From the snooker room stairs lead to the first bedroom – a double with en-suite shower, basin and wc.The two other bedrooms are accessed via the stairs from the kitchen which lead to a double and twin with their own en-suites too, as well as a galleried landing area with flat screen TV with Amazon firebox and sofa,XBox and games.At the end of the house there is a double en-suite with bath, hand-held shower, basin and wc, whilst to the left there is a further twin room also en-suite with shower, basin and wc.

The twin and it's adjoining room are interlinked by a connecting door.

Furnishings and fittings throughout are stylish and comfortable with fitted carpets and natural woods.

Oil central heating.Outside: Level south facing terraced garden with flower beds and ample space to sit out of doors.

Garden furniture provided.

Gateway to lower level terrace with adjoining ten acre hillside woodland.

Ample parking for 2/3 cars.

Shops etc in Ambleside two and a half miles.

Skelwith Bridge- Chesters Cafe and pub and a restaurant two thirds of a mile.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.00

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Grasmere 4.4 miles; Windermere 4.7 miles; Keswick 16.7 miles.

Lying at the northern tip of Lake Windermere, England’s largest lake, Ambleside makes a superb base for touring the central Lakes, with Grasmere and the Langdale Valley just a short drive away. There is plenty to do here - cruises, boat trips and watersports on Lake Windermere itself and numerous shops, restaurants and pubs in the village to suit all tastes. On the lakeside at Waterhead, the parkland offers lovely views down the lake and a short stretch of beach, whilst a walk in the other direction, following Stock Ghyll through woodland, will bring you to the entrancing waterfall of Stock Ghyll Force. Along with the Lake and the great walking on offer, Ambleside is also famous for its annual rushbearing ceremony and the diminutive 17th century “Bridge House” - one of the most photographed buildings in the Lake District and now the National Trust Information Centre.

View more holiday cottages in Ambleside

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Christmas