Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

5 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 16 View Image Gallery
  • A River Runs By - Lake District - 1041398 - photo 1
close

A River Runs By

(Ref. 1041398)

Staveley, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map

4.3

Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 3 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No

Features

  • Garden / Patio
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • parking (17)
  • car (14)
  • lovely (13)
  • cottage (13)
  • no (13)
  • river (10)

25 Customer Reviews

  • "We found the accommodation to be clean, comfortable and well equipped."

    It is in a unique situation next to a tree lined river and has a balcony which was very pleasant to sit out on overlooking the water. Parking was a little tricky in our medium sized car but manageable with care We had a lovely stay.

    Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you liked the cottage and enjoyed the balcony – it’s my favourite spot at the end (and beginning !) of the day ! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Pat3.8May 2024

  • "The cottage was extremely well equipped, and in a lovely location, the only drawback was the parking, but luckily we have only a small car so just about managed."

    Unfortunately on the Tuesday morning the central heating broke down, we were supplied with portable heaters which were just about adequate, but there seemed no urgency to fix the problem.

    I am glad you liked the cottage. I am sorry about the heating and that you felt there was no urgency to fix the situation. I spent a long time on the phone trying to sort it out and get contractors in ( it is still under guarantee which sadly limits my choice of contractors ☹) as soon as possible. I am sorry you weren’t aware of this. Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Margaret5.0Apr 2024

  • "It was a lovely house."

    Perfect for holiday. Warm& peaceful

    Thank you for your feedback and I am glad you like the house and that it was warm. We upgraded the boiler a couple of years back to help keep everyone who stays cosy in winter so it's good to know it's working! I'm glad you found it peaceful; that's what most people report :-). Property Owner

    Reviewed by Xushuo3.8Dec 2023

  • "My wife and I stayed here for four nights at end of October/early November."

    Yes, the parking is a pain for a medium sized car (15 year old Honda Civic 8th gen.) and made worse by the three-seater settee that had been left in the tiny turning area. The property is the least spacious I’ve stayed in for some time and at first it seemed a bit cramped, but we got used to it and, to be fair, it was entirely adequate for our short stay. It seems in pretty good condition although a couple of window frames need attention. I could not fault the standard of cleanliness. We found the double bed comfortable, the downstairs shower very good, the kitchen well equipped, and as a cyclist I appreciated the little bike store. The location by the river is quiet and peaceful. Would recommend the Dales Way walk to Bowness (you can get the bus back if you like) and a meal at the nearby Eagle and Child, which seems to be thriving.

    Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry that one of my neighbours left a sofa in the courtyard. They really should really better and I will remind them that they should show the same courtesy to my guests as they would to me if I were a permanent resident. Normally they are pretty good as some of the previous feedback shows. I'm glad you enjoyed the Dales way walk. We usually stop in Windermere rather than Bowness as that gives the option of a train or a bus back. The walk along the Dales Way from the other end of the village is good, too. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John3.4Oct 2023

  • "Absolutely gorgeous property,the river outside was stunning ,sat out on the balcony everyday even in the rain ."

    Beds were really comfortable. Jonathan the neighbour was very friendly and helpful . Didn't find an issue with parking. The village was also very charming. Only two things that was not great, mop and bucket by the front door was a bit smelly and no recycling information but we had a wonderful chilled out stay and would definitely come back .

    Thank you for your feedback and glad you enjoyed your stay. I'll mention the mop etc to the cleaner again; there isn't really anywhere else to put it but it shouldn't be smelly ! Thanks for the nudge re recycling - the info became out of date and I'll update it for next season. You will be welcome back :-) Property Owner

    Reviewed by Cindy4.1Sep 2023

  • "The place was lovely as expected, and as the listing suggests, easily the best thing was the last hour of sun on the little balcony enjoying a beer after a long day walking."

    The things to note, and that might want being looked into are: -We stayed for 5 nights during a british heatwave (day temps reaching 29) however the house still felt cool/chill, so we can imagine it's cool most of the year round. -the window frames seem in need of repair. We dared not touch the upstairs bathroom window as we could see through holes in the wooden frame to the outside outside. -there seems to be a wasp problem (internally?) as we had to kill and remove about 10 wasps from the bedroom across the week. -the kitchen has million useful utensils (like a toast holder), but no scales or grater (making cooking more complicated) -the downstairs toilet (which has the shower) regularly felt cold and damp, taking most fo the day to dry the condensation inside it - external walls and cold, thought beautiful, tiles getting soaked from the heat of a shower. -the parking is really tight. Getting in isn't that challenging for a normal car, but the 6-point turn in the little courtyard around the other vehicles to leave was a joy each morning. -the table top seems to have broken down and was that constant sticky you can't clean off. Other than that we loved the place and would happily stay again, if walking in that part of the Lakes again - and it had great access to Kendal for any bits we needed to pick up. We also didn't have half enough time to explore the games or books in the flat, but they seemed like they had loads of options.

    Thank you for your helpful feedback and we're glad you had a good holiday. We love evenings on the balcony, too !I was sorry to learn there were no scales or grater - both were there when we last visited. They may just have been put in an odd place. We are waiting to have some outside repair work and decoration done so will add your comments to the list. And I'll look into the table and potential wasp problem, too. But it sounds, thankfully, as though this didn't spoil your enjoyment and we hope you come back and enjoy more of what the area has to offer. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jacob4.7Sep 2023

  • "What a beautiful relaxing little place, it was clean, well equipped, only thing we found was we could do with a fold away clothes horse maybe to help dry clothes as with an active 6yr old who likes getting dirty and in and out of the rivers etc it would be easier to dry the clothes, but it even had a fan which nowhere else ive been has."

    The river was so lovely to watch with the crayfish and the birds and bats. It was too tight to get our car down everyday (range rover evoque) but we managed to do it once to unload and then parked in the mill yard overnight (100yds away) the description does say its tight so we were prepared for that. The neighbour is lovely, friendly and helpful, thank you Jonathan

    Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you had such a wonderful holiday. Lakelovers Owner Relations I am glad you had a good time and that you got to see the crayfish (I still haven't !). There is a clothes airer - people put in in various places but it is usually in the second bedroom or the cupboard by the fridge. Property Owner

    Reviewed by amy5.0Jun 2023

  • "Gorgeous cottage, beautiful location, clean, comfy, and owner is super lovely!"

    Reviewed by Elly5.0Dec 2022

  • "This is my third two week stay in the cottage this year so I obviously find it very suitable."

    I did live in the area for 25 years so am quite familiar with it. The cottage has everything one needs and is cosy and warm. The only slight difficulty is the parking but this can be overcome. I leave my car on the main street without any problems.

    Thank you for your feedback. It's lovely that you find the cottage so convenient and keep coming back ! And glad you find it cosy and warm; we hope to have some winter visitors this year. I'm sorry that the parking was a slight difficulty and will mention it to my neighbour again. We hope very much to welcome you back again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by James5.0Oct 2022

  • "We had a lovely week staying here."

    The cottage is delightful and we loved being able to see the river flowing by. The views from the main bedroom is also delightful Kitchen is well equipped, shower is good and beds very comfortable. As everyone one else has said there is no room for a car, it would be better to suggest parking in the main road. With two cars and a boat already there you can’t even turn your car around and I have a fiesta.

    Thank you so much for your feedback and we're glad you had a lovely week. I am so sorry about the parking. I was up the week (or just before) you and spoke to my neighbour about the parking and the boat and he promised me that there would only be the boat (which doesn't really affect things) and one car by the time you arrived ; which would give ample room. I've reminded him abut this and hopefully things will be easier for everyone from now on. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Wendy4.7Oct 2022

  • "We absolutely loved ' a river runs by" ."

    We walked in and saw the beautiful balcony view . The rivers gentle sounds . We were home. The house had every thing you would want in a home. Never mind a holiday let . The village is so quaint . Walking out of your door beautiful countryside hit you in minutes . We walked for miles through narrow lanes along the river. Also a Cycling paradise. The cafes and pubs on your doorstep were so unique . The bed was so comfortable . Narrow road to get car into area infront of house . But negotiable . We asked next door to move car once . We were so sad to leave this stunning place . To be on the edge of a river was an amazing experience. The place was lovely and clean also . And to have a bath or shower was my dream too. We will be back definitely . Thank you thank you thank you

    Thank you so much for your feedback and comments. I am so glad you had such a wonderful stay and hope it will be the first of many. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carole5.0Jul 2022

  • "Lovely cottage in a very pretty village."

    We loved sleeping with the bedroom window open and listening to the flowing water. No problem with parking as we have a small car, but always places to park in the high street. Everything we needed in the village, but close to most of the amazing Lakes scenery and towns. We would come again

    Thank you. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the cottage. I love listening to the river while I drift off to sleep, too ! Glad you liked the location - the Southern Lakes are sadly underrated by many. Hopefully you'll come again to explore and enjoy some more. Property Owner

    Reviewed by V5.0Jul 2022

  • "This was my second 2 week stay in a River Runs By this year and I was again very comfortable."

    I lived in Kendal for 25 years so know the area. The property suits me perfectly to meet up with old friends and do a lot of the walks again. The cottage has everything I need and has all you require.I know the parking is not ideal but you know this when you book. I did leave my car on the road except the day I arrived and left but there was never a problem. I am sure I will be returning in the future.

    Thank you for your feedback and I am so glad you have another great stay. I’m delighted you hope to return and I look forward to welcoming you again in future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by James5.0Jun 2022

  • "Good property in a very handy location for the South Lakes."

    Not super-smart but perfectly adequate and comfortable accommodation. The parking access is tight, as was shown in the listing, but manageable with a Ford Mondeo and a lot of care! Good walking even from the front door and easy access to Kentmere, Troutbeck, Windermere and beyond.

    Thank you for your feedback and I am glad you had a nice stay and took the opportunity to walk from the front door as well as exploring locally. One of our favourite walks is along the Dales Way to Windermere, coming back by bus or train. Next time we hope to do it the other way round! Thanks for your comments about the parking – you’ll no doubt have seen the comments on it and we do our best to be accurate and our neighbours are always happy to help. As you’ll have seen, I hope to redecorate in the off season to refresh the cottage a bit. I’m glad you found it comfortable. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Martin4.1May 2022

  • "We loved the village of Staveley and found the cottage quite charming and adequate for our needs although a little tired."

    This property however should not be advertised as having private parking. We drove in as the paperwork stated to find that having driven in there was absolutely no room to turn around as the courtyard already had 2 big cars and a boat there and these were there all week. This meant that the next morning we had to back all the way around a very narrow turn and lane to the main road. Needless to say we felt unable to repeat this everyday so we had to park in the roadway wherever we could find space. My husband has spent his life driving for a living and is very good at tight spaces, but trying to back out of there each morning was not worth it. I have since read on other reviews that others have had the same problems. There is parking in the streets around the property but I feel this issue should be stated clearly in the property details.

    Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you liked the cottage and the village. I am planning to redecorate the cottage in the ‘off season’. I am sorry you found the parking situation so difficult. It is unusual for so many vehicles to be there all week and my neighbours are usually very happy to move them to help. I will mention this to them again. Thank you Property Owner

    Reviewed by John3.4May 2022

  • "On arrival the outside of cottage was a little off putting it needs TLC but once inside it’s a neat compact has everything that’s needed."

    The beds are very comfortable.It’s obviously a popular rental as the premises is a little tired. The location is excellent close to rail and bus services and in the train and link on bus to Windermere/Bowness in total takes around 25 minutes . The village has amenities ie Wilfs cafe ,spar, traditional butchers and chemist and chippy and pub and more.. The people are really helpful and welcoming . Plenty to see and experience . The parking outside the premises is very challenging but there are plenty of parking on the main road a short walk from the premises . We had a pleasant stay.

    Thank you for your feedback and I am glad you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed all the village has to offer. I can see what you mean about the cottage perhaps appearing off putting at first – we first visited on an icy December day with the courtyard a mix of slush and impacted ice (!) but once we were inside and saw the views from the balcony and the main bedroom we realised this was a place we could relax and I hope you did, too. As far as needing TLC and being a bit ‘tired’ we have taken that on board and will be getting quotes for it to be redecorated during the low season; thank you for helping us see it with fresh eyes. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Judith E3.8Apr 2022

  • "Great cottage in an ideal location friendly neighbours who were very helpful ..."

    Great cottage in an ideal location friendly neighbours who were very helpful Peaceful in an evening but lovely vibe in village during day

    Thank you. I am glad you enjoyed the cottage and the village. We love sitting on the balcony in the evening (or for breakfast !) and the sense that we are still very much part of this fantastic village. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nigel5.0Mar 2022

  • "This is the fourth time I have stayed at this holiday cottage with my husband and we both love it, hence re-booking."

    The balcony overlooks the river, making it a really special place to stay, including falling asleep to the calming sound of the river at night. It also has 2 bathrooms, with a large downstairs shower and a bath upstairs which is another bonus, as lots of cottages we have stayed in only have a shower, so it is nice to have the option of a bath as well! I was really surprised to see the recent review complaining about the parking and the mattress in the main bedroom. Firstly, the parking is really not a problem - just a slightly tight turn into the area at the front of the property. Besides, it is another bonus to have a parking space directly outside a holiday cottage and there is also plenty of additional parking on the surrounding streets. As for the bed, we have stayed in this cottage both before and after the mattress was changed and we have always found it to be very comfortable and have slept really well. The village of Staveley is a lovely area to stay and there are some beautiful walks from the village; there are also stunning waterfall walks close by which are easily accessible by car, bus or train, with bus stops and the train station just down the road. I highly recommend this holiday cottage.

    Thank you so much for your feedback. It's nice that you visit the cottage often to enjoy the location, the facilities, all the village and the South Lakes have to offer. It is good to know that you've always loved the beds and still like the new ones. Like you, we love going to sleep with the calming sounds of the river close by. We hope you come back soon!  Kindest Regards, The Owners Property Owner

    Reviewed by Vivien4.7Feb 2022

  • "Whilst the property was well provided in the kitchen and bathrooms the 2 bedrooms were an utter disgrace."

    In 50 years of using holiday accommodation we have never experienced such uncomfortable beds as were here. The mattreses were woefully inadequate. The double bed was so bad I left it to use the single bed so we weren't rolling into each other. What a pity the owners have not provided good quality sleeping facilities. Above anything else sleeping comfort is what makes or breaks a holiday accommodation. This failed badly! I see previous visitors have made similar comments but clearly no action has been taken to deal with these complaints. The extreme difficulty of parking access should be advised in your description of the property. The information in the property folder is inaccurate: no phone and incorrect email address of owner.

    Thank you for your feedback Dr Blenkinsop, we appreciate the time taken to send us your comments. The owner response is below: 'I am sorry you found the  beds so uncomfortable. Bed comfort is a matter of personal perception (we really liked the double bed!) but we have noted the increasing comments about the beds and have now replaced both with high quality mattresses sourced by a local firm. We have also replaced some bed linen.I have previously asked LakeLovers to mention that the parking is tight (although we have known people with 4WD use it successfully) and will do so again. Thank you Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter1.9Sep 2021

  • "Spent a great week here, it had absolutely everything we could have wanted and we were particularly impressed with how well the kitchen was equipped compared to some other places we have stayed before, which made things so much easier after a number of long days out on the fells."

    Watching the wildlife from the balcony was great fun at all times of day, and we thought the eclectic DVD collection was inspired! Fantastic location too. We would very happily return again!

    Thank you for your lovely comments. We are really glad you enjoyed the cottage. Since your visit we have replaced the mattresses and some bed linen and hope to welcome you again. The owner Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mark5.0Aug 2021

  • "This was a lovely place to stay, brilliant facilities and a gorgeous balcony with great views."

    Only downside which wasn’t mentioned in the description was how awkward the parking was. We had a small car and still struggled as there was a resident car parked in the same area along with a boat and a large trailer which meant we had to back out of the small lane so we parked away from our place of residence on the road each day which was a shame. If you had a larger car it would be impossible to get in and out of there. Also the cleanliness of the place wasn’t perfect, the surfaces when we arrived were all full of dust and every corner of the place was covered in cobwebs. But apart from those couple of things we would still stay again as it was close to other towns and a lovely village

    Thank you for taking time to offer feedback . I am sorry that you found parking difficult. I have previously asked LakeLovers to mention that the parking is tight (although we have known people with 4WD use it successfully) and will do so again. Sadly there is nothing else we can do about this. I have also mentioned your comments about cleaning to them. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the village (which we love). We hope you will visit again The Owner Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rebecca3.8Jul 2021

  • "Overall Staveley is a great base due to its location."

    There are plenty of local amenities and everyone was really friendly. The cottage was really clean and the perfect size for 2 people. My only niggles were that the parking is not easily accessible in a large car as we found out the hard way and some warning on the website would have been appreciated!! Also the bed is so uncomfortable that we left a day early after a week of very poor sleep. If the mattress was replaced it would be the perfect holiday cottage as we found plenty of on street parking to avoid the difficulty of accessing the private courtyard.

    Thank you for your feedback. The website has been amended to reflect the parking situation and the mattresses have been replaced so we hope you will be back ! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah3.8Jul 2021

  • "Very nice cottage for the two of us."

    It was very clean with all the facilities we needed. Very good shower on the ground floor (with bath upstairs). A small hallway/porch was useful to remove wet shoes & coats. The river was just outside the small balcony. The cottage was quiet and within a short walk of local shops (inc. Wilf's Cafe, Hawkshead Brewery bar and Mr Duffins Coffee). Broadband was fast & reliable. Parking access to the courtyard might be a bit tricky for a big car.

    Thank you for your feedback. We're so glad you liked the cottage and hope you will return. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Leslie5.0May 2021

  • "Very well equipped cottage,every thing we needed and more."

    Lovely and peaceful setting.

    Mrs HooksMar 2018

  • "Love the balcony over the river and the village of Staveley."

    Mr HaslamFeb 2018

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.

Summary

  • 2 bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x single, house bathroom with shower over bath, downstairs shower room and cloakroom
  • Sitting room
  • Kitchen.
  • Gas central heating
  • Double electric oven with halogen hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, TV, DVD, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Secure bike storage
  • Private parking Please note that parking is via a narrow lane and tight turns to a private space in a shared courtyard (parking space more suitable for small/medium car)
  • River balcony with furniture
  • Shared courtyard with bench
  • Pub and shops nearby
  • Lots of local walks from the doorstep
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking.

The property

Set in the lively heart of Staveley, this contemporary riverside property is beautifully furnished and enjoys a charming balcony over the water.

The village itself is a magnet for walkers and cyclists, with popular cafés and locally brewed beer from the famous Hawkshead Brewery.

Windermere and the lakeside at Bowness are only a short drive away, with the market town of Kendal just down the road.

Theatres, cinemas, quirky shops, fabulous walks and breath-taking scenery are all on the doorstep when you stay at ‘A River Runs By’. Private parking for guests in the courtyard (Please note that parking is via a narrow lane and tight turns to a private space in a shared courtyard.

It's tight but do-able for confident drivers of 4WD/larger cars.).

Secure storage for bikes.

The entrance hall with slate flooring, leads to a useful downstairs shower and cloakroom.

The sitting room is comfortable and modern, with large patio doors leading on to the feature balcony.

Natural light floods into this room, and with the added joy of comfortable leather furnishings, it is a wonderful space in which to relax.

The contemporary kitchen has everything needed for the preparation of delicious family feasts to be enjoyed in the adjoining dining area. A staircase runs from the sitting room to the upper floor and bedrooms.

The double room has an impressive vaulted ceiling and fabulous views and shares the house bathroom with a pretty single.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

STAVELEY

Windermere 5 miles; Kendal 5 miles.

The thriving Lakeland village of Staveley is situated on the eastern fringes of the Lake District National Park and offers superb access to the whole region. The beautiful Kentmere Valley is just a short walk away and with the River Kent tumbling its way through the valley to Staveley, it is very popular with mountain bikers and walkers alike. Staveley Mill Yard is a former wood turning mill at the heart of the village, which is now a thriving tourist attraction with cycle hire and outdoor shops, artisan bakery, brewery and the renowned Wilf's Cafe. This complements the excellent range of amenities in the village, which include a variety of shops, two village pubs, craft shops, a children's playground, a regular bus service and a railway station. Close by, the bustling towns of Kendal, Windermere, Bowness and Ambleside are popular with visitors, providing a range of amenities to suit all tastes. Lake Windermere offers boat trips, including a ferry to the Lakeside Aquarium and Grizedale Forest Park. The 'Windermere Steamboat Museum' displays a fascinating collection of boats whilst children will enjoy the 'World of Beatrix Potter' in Bowness, where technology brings her characters to life. Within easy reach of Coniston Water, Kendal, Keswick and the Lakeland Mountains, Staveley is ideally situated for exploring all that the region has to offer.

View more holiday cottages in Staveley

Please note parking is tight for a large 4WD car, suitable for small to medium space

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute