Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

7 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 29 View Image Gallery
  • Park Cottage - Lake District - 1042533 - photo 1
close

Park Cottage

(Ref. 1042533)

Ambleside, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map

4.2

Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Sky TV
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (20)
  • no (11)
  • shower (11)
  • great (10)
  • garden (8)
  • well (8)

22 Customer Reviews

  • "What an absolute gem ."

    We booked this cottage last minute What can I say , the photos do not do it justice . Spotless , full of character and so comfortable . The scenery and the walks from the cottage are truly amazing . Our dog absolutely loved it as well . I felt so relaxed their and didn’t want to come home . Can’t wait to return

    Reviewed by Janet5.0Dec 2023

  • "Confortable cottage, pretty gardent, wonderful view."

    Reviewed by Annie5.0Jul 2023

  • "We stayed at this cottage from the 9th June for a week and loved it."

    The cottage is quaint, out the way but the views are spectacular. Great walks on the doorstep. You can walk into Ambleside. Well worth staying and would be back again. Only down side is the gate with the name could be bigger.

    Thank you for your comments. We are so pleased that you found the cottage to your liking and that you enjoyed the views! We take your comments on board regarding the gate. We hope to welcome you again. The Heart of the Lakes Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by James5.0Jun 2023

  • "Lovely spot, space and enclosed garden a blessing."

    The only thing was, I couldnt understand how to work the cooker or how to dispose of recycable waste so just brought it home with me to be sure. Definitely recommend though.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We will take your comments on board. We hope to welcome you again soon. The owner relations team - Heart Of The Lakes Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie4.7May 2023

  • "On arrival the cottage was nice and clean, however, the previous occupant had been cooking curry and so we had to wash clean the extractor filters over the cooker as well as the microwave to eliminate the odour which was obvious as soon as the kitchen was entered."

    We felt that this should have been carried out either by the cleaners or the previous occupants. Of the four outside chairs on the patio, three were in a dangerous condition, one of them collapsed when one of the back legs buckled whilst being sat on. It would appear that the previous occupants failed to bring this to your attention. This was initially reported on Tuesday 16th in the morning to Lakelovers and again on Wednesday 17th and we were promised a call back and a visit from maintenance staff. We never received a call back or a visit by the time we left the property (5pm on Thursday 19th May.) We left a note to warn the next occupiers of the precarious condition of the chairs. We also had considerable noise disturbance due to next doors building works as well as when two ready mix concrete lorries were delivering to the next door property.

    Reviewed by Stephen4.4May 2023

  • "A lovely cottage, well presented, good position, we will book again thanks Jon and Sue"

    Thank you for your kind comments, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jonathan5.0May 2023

  • "A well positioned , quaint cottage ."

    Very comfortable . Spacious seating , comfy bed and great powerful and hot shower . Pretty secure gardens with good views over Cumbria Way and plenty of wild birds to watch . Dog enjoyed watching the walkers pass by .Walks from front door in every direction - loved it thank you .

    Thank you for your kind comments, it is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and the views! We hope to welcome you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen4.7Apr 2023

  • "This was our third stay at Park Cottage and once again we were not disappointed."

    The much needed recent improvements made to kitchen appliances, radiators, Wi-Fi and shower are much appreciated and has brought the cottage upto a really good standard. The cottage is in a wonderful, quiet location with the most magnificent views of the river and mountains giving the perfect setting to rest and relax whist watching the large variety of birds in the garden (bring bird food it is definitely worth it). Being centrally located it gives easy access to many many walks either directly from the house or just a short drive away. The Skelwith Bridge hotel & Talbot Bar is only a short 10 minute walk through the wood and past Skelwith Force where they serve great beer and food, I would recommend booking in advance for an evening meal as it is very popular. All in all another fantastic holiday, can’t wait to come back again next year!

    Thank you for your kind comments, we are so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable third stay, and that you enjoyed the views! We hope to welcome you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Richard5.0Apr 2023

  • "Always lovely to come back to Park Cottage and improvements have made for a much more comfortable stay, especially the new pump to the shower so the pressure is much improved."

    Also the new oven is great.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sue4.1Mar 2023

  • "Having read previous comments we found the cottage cosy and all appliances looking quite new although we only used the kettle and toaster."

    The shower worked very well. There is wire across the front gate and fence now and our 6 month old puppy could not escape so both front and back gardens are quite secure and I am sure they are quite pretty in the summer. We would book this cottage again as although isolated it is close to Ambleside and lakes. A note for the owners though, we had torrential rain on Wednesday and came back to the conservatory/utility floor wet and found water comining in from the front bottom wall.

    Reviewed by Margaret4.7Oct 2022

  • "I stayed at Park Cottage back in July and made some comments concerning the shower."

    It is very refreshing to find that these comments have been taken seriously and that action was taken! The shower now is perfect! In fact there is nothing at all I could criticise about the cottage or my stay there. It is a fabulous location and has all the amenities you need for a great vacation. I also noticed that the owner has upgraded the light fittings and the heating system both of which have made a tremendous difference. Everything about this little cottage is wonderful and Benson (my English Springer Spaniel) and I will definitely be returning in the very near future.

    Thank you so much for your great feedback!. The owner has indeed been carrying out updates and it is great you have noticed and it has positively impacted your stay. We look forward to welcoming you and Benson back in the future!. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Reg5.0Sep 2022

  • "The cottage itself was very nice as advertised."

    we enjoyed our 3 nights stay with our little dog. nice views front and back of the cottage.

    We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Park Cottage and appreciate your lovely feedback. We hope to welcome you and your dog back again in the future!. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sonny3.8Aug 2022

  • "Very attractive cottage, in a beautiful hillside location."

    All the facilities (kitchen, beds, shower etc) seemed excellent, and someone even provided a full selection of bird food for the many garden bird feeders. The only minor problem we had was that the freezer door seemed reluctant to shut, so we wedged a chair against it:-)

    Thank you for your fantastic feedback. The facilities have been recently updated and the owners are working hard to update the property whilst keeping its lakeland charm. The wildlife around the cottage is great and fit in great with the amazing location. We appreciate you making us aware of the freezer door and will have this rectified. We hope to welcome you back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Duncan5.0Aug 2022

  • "It was a wonderful cottage with an amazing view."

    We were very confortable in it. The garden is gorgeous. We had a funny experience watching a gang of whimsical cows eating the neighbour's garden ! The sun was with us, we had a marvellous week in Park Cottage. Best regards, Alexandra

    Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. This really is a fantastic property with so much to offer. The owners are currently tweaking the property to make it more updated for guests. We agree the views are amazing and are glad you had such great weather for your stay. We hope you welcome you back for another marvellous week. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alexandra4.4Jul 2022

  • "Great location and lovely quiet cottage."

    Would probably stay there again. Downside, the cottage décor is very tired looking especially the heaters, Very poor shower with the water pressure. Kitchen cupboards are all full of utensils and crockery so there is nowhere to actually store all the food for the week.

    Thank you for your feedback. Myself and my husband have taken over running of Park Cottage, from my parents in law. As of the second week of August, we have fitted a new water tank and pressure system to make the shower much more powerful, and fitted new radiators. We are slowly tweaking our lovely cottage, whilst keeping its charm. We would love you to come back in the future to experience the new shower! Many thanks Charlotte Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gary4.7Jul 2022

  • "Everything was great except for the shower which was very weak, it really needs a pump fitting to make it more powerful."

    Thank you for your feedback. The shower issue has been noted and the owners are making necessary updates to Park Cottage. We are so glad you had a lovely stay and hope to welcome you back again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Reg4.1Jul 2022

  • "We have been using Park Cottage since 2006 most years."

    Always lovely to go back to. However the resent price hike would deter us from booking again unless there is an offer on. The cottage is basic compared to most. We actually like this fact, but it should be reflected in the price. For info shower could do with a pump. There is an intermittent clattering noise in the twin room throughout the day and night ( maybe pipes ) which we haven’t noticed before. Oven door doesn’t close properly and doesn’t get up to temperature well, it was relatively old when we started coming so needs to be replaced.

    Thank you for your feedback. It is lovely to see you have been enjoying this lovely property since 2006!! The price increase is due to the cost of living increases you will see across the whole of the UK but there are offers on every now and then so keep your eyes peeled!. The owners are working on certain aspects of the property and WIFI has now been installed. We appreciate your feedback and this has been taken into consideration. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sue3.8Feb 2022

  • "Nothing in particular was wrong, but in general cottage was not of the standard expected."

    Shower was v poor, mattress not great. The info pack was appallingly out of date - it said there was a shop in elterwater, which there hasn’t been for about 10 years… with no wifi, it made it slightly tricky to find local details. Needs a good deep clean. We come to the lakes a lot and stay in lots of properties, so we know good from bad. having said that the location was amazing!

    Thank you for your feedback. This cottage is a 3 star rated property and is inspected every year in order to keep it's star rating. The cottage is as advertised and the owners are working on updating certain aspects of the property. There is a shop 2.91 miles away which is advertised on our website but we will take a look at the welcome pack - thank you for informing us. Wifi is now available at Park Cottage. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Geraldine1.9Sep 2021

  • "A quirky cottage in a great location with fantastic views."

    The property feels like it could do with a little bit of TLC. It feels like basic maintenance has been missed in recent years, A large number of slates on the edge of the patio were loose which made it dangerous stepping off the patio. The mixer shower lacks pressure, it could do with a pump so that it isn't just a dribble.

    Thank you for your feedback. The owners are working on updating certain aspects of the property without loosing the charm of this quirky cottage. We have taken your feedback and will work on the issues you have raised so thank you for this. Park Cottage is in a fantastic location and we are pleased you got to enjoy it! We hope to welcome you back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andy3.1Aug 2021

  • "The cottage is in a fantastic location but is much need of some updating and I feel that we paid far more for it than it would have been pre Covid - it seems that Heart of the Lakes hiked up their prices to take advantage compared to other companies and for that I will not be using them again especially as I felt the lady on the phone was quite rude when I notified them (very politely) of an issue with the washing machine on our last day that I had just had."

    Unfortunately neither of us slept well as the double bed is extremely uncomfortable and the spare beds, although were slightly better, the intermittent noise from what I believe is the extractor fan from the cottage next door meant that I was woken up at least twice in the night for about 10 to 15 minutes each time. Considering the cost of the cottage for the week wifi should be in the property and more than the basic 5 tv channels .

    Thank you for your feedback. As per everything else in the world, prices are increased due to the cost of living and other factors. After COVID19 a lot of prices went up therefore cottage prices rose - this was a factor across the whole of the UK, not just HOTL. We are sorry to see you have a few issues whilst staying at Park Cottage including the fan next door - we do ask if guests have any issues during their stay to please contact us so we have chance to rectify these issues. We can confirm the cottage is being updated in time and wifi is now available in the property. We agree this cottage is in a fantastic location. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alison1.9Jul 2021

  • "We were disappointed that on returning a second time (our last visit 3 years ago), the garden privacy is no longer there with one frosted window overlooking the patio and also a panoramic window overlooking a large proportion of the garden."

    In addition, while WIFI was advertised on the website where we made the booking, there was none. A staff member came to check this (and confirmed that there was no WIFI) but no effort was made to rectify this and we've not heard yet regarding compensation for this mis-selling. This was of great inconvenience as we were relying on this for my husband to be able to work during our week away. (I see that the website has now been updated, but I have a screenshot from last week which shows the cottage to have WIFI) Very disappointing as we had such a great holiday there before.

    Reviewed by Nicky2.8May 2021

  • "We loved the fact that there were so many walks from the cottage, so we didn't have to use the car too much."

    Mrs StegglesDec 2019

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.

Summary

  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room with electric woodburning stove.
  • Electric heating with electric woodburning stove
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, TV with DVD player
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair available on request
  • Private parking for two cars
  • Secure bike storage
  • Garden with seating
  • One well-behaved dog welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • WIFI now available.

The property

This picturesque cottage rests amid beautiful Lakeland scenery, close to the rural village of Skelwith Bridge.

The property is thought to have once been a byre attached to the very old farm cottage next door and is known to be converted into a dwelling in 1904 - now it retains many original features and offers a cosy and relaxing retreat for a family in any season.

Enter into the beamed and oak panelled dining kitchen, beautifully fitted with hand-built units and worksurfaces, as well as offering modern appliances without detracting from the character of the interior.

Discover the cosy sitting room, complete with a large sofa, electric woodburning stove and TV with DVD player, together providing the perfect space to rest and recuperate following a tiring day of rambling your surroundings.

Upstairs plays host to the bedrooms, including a double and twin bedroom, each complete with calming neutral hues and charming countryside furnishings that are in-keeping with the property.

Completing the interior of Park Cottage is the bathroom with bath, walk-in shower, basin and separate WC.

Head outside to the front of the cottage to find a small garden, while there is a larger space at the rear with garden furniture, providing a pleasant setting to enjoy your morning coffee before setting off for a day of sightseeing.

From the door the scenic Cumbrian Way is not far away, providing excellent walks to Coniston or Elterwater and the riverbank walks beyond, with a pub at either end to reward yourself with a refreshing pint.

Great Langdale beckons the serious fell walkers onto the high peaks and famous ridge walks of Crinkle Crags, Bowfell and the Langdale Pikes.

With a good pub and restaurant at Skelwith Bridge and the Chesters by the River tea room close-by, you will be tempted to eat out without the need to use the car, but if you do, there’s a greater choice of eateries in Ambleside, less than 5 miles from the cottage.

Hop on board the iconic Windermere Lake Steamers, offering a relaxing cruise across the water and providing access to the bustling hubs of Bowness and Lakeside, home to attractions for all tastes and ages.

Further outdoor pursuits can be enjoyed at Coniston, Grasmere and Hawkshead, all within an easy drive of the property.

Park Cottage is a wonderful retreat to a delightful part of the country.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

AMBLESIDE

Grasmere 4.4 miles; Windermere 4.7 miles; Keswick 16.7 miles.

Lying at the northern tip of Lake Windermere, England’s largest lake, Ambleside makes a superb base for touring the central Lakes, with Grasmere and the Langdale Valley just a short drive away. There is plenty to do here - cruises, boat trips and watersports on Lake Windermere itself and numerous shops, restaurants and pubs in the village to suit all tastes. On the lakeside at Waterhead, the parkland offers lovely views down the lake and a short stretch of beach, whilst a walk in the other direction, following Stock Ghyll through woodland, will bring you to the entrancing waterfall of Stock Ghyll Force. Along with the Lake and the great walking on offer, Ambleside is also famous for its annual rushbearing ceremony and the diminutive 17th century “Bridge House” - one of the most photographed buildings in the Lake District and now the National Trust Information Centre.

View more holiday cottages in Ambleside

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute