Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Lake District 11 minutes ago

1 of 22 View Image Gallery
  • Meadow Cottage - Lake District - 1126995 - photo 1

Meadow Cottage

(Ref. 1126995)

Staveley, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • no (10)
  • cottage (7)
  • all (6)
  • property (6)
  • wifi (6)
  • bath (5)

13 Customer Reviews

  • "A very clean, very comfortable cottage in an excellent location."

    Staveley is a vibrant village with lots of amenities, all in walking distance from the front door. The only reason for giving four stars rather than 5 were because of the parking - the cottage is on a bend, so you have to park away from it down the road hoping you can find a space. Also, it is listed as having a real fire, but that wasn't an option, no fuel etc. I can understand the owners not wanting to risk an open fire but then it shouldn't be listed as a feature. And finally you can't access the small communal garden from the property (no back door) it is at the end of the row of cottages.

    Reviewed by Susan4.7Oct 2023

  • "Bath had scum line palpable but not visible Microwave did not work Lights in alcoves buzzing Smoke alarm battery failing upstairs Otherwise heating good when worked out how it functioned."

    Some clear instructions would help Wi-Fi brilliant Enjoyed location buses cafes and local pub Walking good from village

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. Unfortunately, as we were not aware of the issues you encountered we were unable to resolve these during your stay or direct you to the instructions in the guest manual. We are glad that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and all that the area has to offer. Lakelovers Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul3.4Sep 2023

  • "This is an amazing place to stay, we had a lovely and very relaxing week."

    You really have thought of everything and this cottage is very close to lovely villages. We thank you for our stay and for the welcome. Thanks

    Reviewed by Mario3.8Aug 2023

  • "August 23 Firstly as mentioned in previous reviews the WiFi doesn’t work!"

    Please don’t advertise a property having WiFi when it clearly doesn’t! Unfortunately my network provider doesn’t have good service in the lakes and I booked the property knowing I could still keep in touch with my poorly relative because of the property having WiFi. And a broken dining table had been left underneath the stairs, clearly this must have been sorted as there’s a new dining table, but then why leave the broken one? Especially with the compact size in the living room. That said the property is lovely and very welcoming. A really good area with fantastic walks from all directions and the Hawkshead Brewery is extremely welcoming and very accommodating for dogs. And Eagle and Child great traditional lakes pub with a good selection of beers/largers/ciders on tap. I have used Lakelovers for many many years and i always find them extremely professional and flexible when looking and booking properties. Thanks Paul

    Thank you for providing us some feedback. We are sorry about the lack of Wi-Fi, however, as we were not aware of this affecting your stay we were unable to assist you with an alternative option. Unfortunately, the owner has been let down on numerous occasions by BT who have failed to attend the property. They do now have a contract with a different provider who is going to connect it. We are glad that you did enjoy the property and all that the area had to provide. Lakes Cottage Holidays Owner Relations Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul3.1Aug 2023

  • "The property felt very damp, the one small dehumidifier is clearly not enough."

    The shower is small due to how the curtain has been set, and the curtain doesn’t really stop the water either, so the the bathroom is always wet and never really dried. Mainly as it has no window, the towel rail only comes on if the heating is on (electric one would be way better and make more sense) and the extractor fan doesn’t really do much no matter how long you leave it on for, it really needs a window. Overall decor is nice but it’s starting to look a little dating in places. The kitchen would also benefit from different crockery as the plates feel plastic and glasses are child’s sized beakers. Also, the WI-FI doesn’t work as it’s not been setup.

    Reviewed by Karl2.8Aug 2023

  • "First of all there is no internet at the property!"

    The cottage is decorated nice and was quite clean,( at eye level) It s worth speaking with cleaning staff at least once a month or so to hoover the sofas,and underneath the sofas pillows, I was dissapointed to find lint,dust and crumbs when searching for my kids toys Also,we found quite a lot of spiders în the cottage,and this should be adresed I bought 2 Raid sprays and I killed them all

    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you found the property to be well decorated. We will make the housekeeping team aware of your comments. The Lakes Cottage Holidays Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ana Lacramioara3.1Aug 2023

  • "Fantastic location, comfy, shame about wifi lucky we were busy out!"

    Enjoyed our stay

    Reviewed by Nick3.4Jul 2023

  • "We really enjoyed our stay, the cottage had everything we needed the main bedroom is a brilliant size and the bathroom has an excellent power shower, the one thing I would say is if you like a lay in the traffic noise starts early."

    The cottage is in one of our favourite villages in the lakes, Staveley has everything you could possibly need all within a short walk.

    Reviewed by Ian4.7Jul 2023

  • "Couldn’t access internet."

    Reviewed by Martin4.7Jul 2023

  • "The property was falsely advertised."

    Photos made the appearance of the property spacious, however, dangerously cluttered with furniture making it very difficult to move around. The WiFi did not work and no card for the sky box. There were food bits and chewed gum on the floor and couches. Surfaces very dusty. The photos showed outdoor space with garden. There were lawn chairs in the house and no place to set them.outside. The mattresses were extremely hard and uncomfortable. There was a pair of boy's underwear under the duvet of the twin bed and stains on the duvet. I talked with a representative on Friday who told me to respond via email. This is my second complaint and I have had no response from Sykes. I have rented via your company many times, I am very disappointed that there has been no follow-up on your behalf, poor business practice in my opinion and very hesitant to further rent a property listed with Sykes. I await your feedback and some resolution to the absence of advertised amenities.

    Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback following your stay at Meadow Cottage, I am sorry to hear that you had issues with the Wifi and see from the record that you have been compensated for this. Unfortunately we were not aware that you had further issues with the property had this information been forthcoming during your stay we would have investigated and rectified the issues. Please be assured that we have taken on board your comments and will be taking action to rectify anything which needs attention. Kind Regards Lakes Cottage Holidays Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen1.9Jun 2023

  • "We had a lovely stay at Meadow Cottage."

    It is a comfortable, light and homely cottage which is tastefully furnished. It is a good size, perfect for the two of us and our Border Terrier, although there is also a second bedroom which we didn’t use. The cottage is well equipped- there is sufficient of all the essentials, and everywhere was spotlessly clean. There is a front garden but no outdoor space at the back. This was fine for us as we always took our dog out on his lead. We enjoyed our stay so much we have just booked again!

    Thank you for your feedback for Meadow Cottage, it is lovely to see that you and your dog enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again. The Lakes Cottage Holidays Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie5.0May 2023

  • "Cottage is in a fantastic spot with a view over the meadow and up Retson Scar and with a bus stop right on the door step for easy access to either Kendal or Windermere/Ambleside you have the Lakes within reach."

    Also Staveley train station is less than a 10 minute walk with trains for Windermere and Kendal fairly frequent.Place wasn't very clean, quite dusty all over especially bathroom and front room. Kettle in kitchen is in my opinion unusable due to amount of limescale around lid and inside. I did take pictures and emailed then on but didn't get a response. The beds were comfortable enough. Shower curtain would be better if it was full length of bath rather than the square shape it is currently.

    Thank you very much for your feedback, we are glad to see you enjoyed your holiday. With regards to the kettle, thank you for letting us know, we have arranged for a new one to be delivered. Please accept our apologies regarding the cleaning, this is a property we manage & we will remind the cleaner of the standards we and our owners expect for our properties. Thank you. Lakes Cottage Holidays Property Owner

    Reviewed by Iain2.2Apr 2023

  • "Firstly the cottage has not been cleaned on arrival."

    With two children and after a 4 hour drive we had to them sit in a local pub for 2 hours whilst it was cleaned. (Sykes did give us some compensation however 6 days later have still not received). On arrival back at the cottage it was still not cleaned to a suitable standard. There was hair stuck to the carpets upstairs and fat splatted at the back of the cooker. The hob has residue left on it and the bathroom has marks on the floor. The parking situation outside of the cottage caused havoc. The advert stated roadside parking opposite the cottage. This is not true. There are double white lines painted therefor you cannot park opposite them, which when we were loading and unloading we were told by numerous ‘locals’ who would go out of their way to tell us we can’t park. There is also a parking warden issuing £35 fines. To find somewhere to park in a village of this size with no parking available was an absolute nightmare. I was baffled on arrival at the front patio which is actually the door step… you would also never want to sit out there on a main road through the village? To watch tv we tried using the sky box which asked us to insert our viewing card. Firstly it’s 2023, who still has these type of devices and secondly, if we did, why would we bring the viewing card on holiday?? Wifi is chargeable, we had to buy this daily at quite a significant cost. There are no instructions for the cottage left out we had to search cupboards but this was minimal. As there is no garden, there was also no access to an outside bin so the kitchen bin became very full and we had to start taking rubbish out with us to find a bin? The welcome we received was the most unwelcome I have had in any cottage I have stayed in over the years. There wasn’t as much as half a toilet roll in the bathroom… The whole experience left us baffled, frustrated and put off from ever staying with Sykes again. It was an inaccurate listing of a property. That said, the village itself had 2 nice pubs with very friendly staff.

    Reviewed by Deena1.6Apr 2023

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.


  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher
  • Living/dining room with seating for 4 with open fire
  • Small sitting area in the front and access to a shared, river bank garden.
  • Gas central heating
  • TV with freeview
  • Power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • 1 well-behaved dog welcome
  • Roadside parking
  • Note: This property benefits from a shared garden at the end of the row of cottages
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 0.2 miles.

The property

Meadow Cottage is a character, end-of-terrace cottage nestled in the heart of the thriving Lakeland village of Staveley, on the eastern fringes of the Lake District National Park.

Presented to a pretty standard with original features, this quaint hideaway is perfect for a family of four looking to spend some time in the Lakelands.

Spend your down time in the lounge, relaxing by the fire and flicking through the Smart TV for something to watch.

Step into the kitchen, amply-equipped with an electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer and even a dishwasher, so washing up will be no trouble!

Take the stairs up to the first-floor, home to a lovely double and twin bedroom, each with vibrant linen and drawer and wardrobe space.

Start the morning in the bathroom, choosing between a bath or shower over, before heading out the door and exploring the town’s facilities.

Staveley is a real Lakeland community; here you can browse delights such as the Hawkshead Brewery and beer hall, Artisan bakery and Wilf’s Café, all within a short walk.

Hop in the car and head to Windermere village, home to a high class Booths supermarket, stocking quality Lakeland produce and many other independent shops. Lace up your walking boots and tackle the Kentmere Horseshoe, with the starting point not far from the cottage, take off to Lake Windermere and catch the cruises that run daily or visit Bowness where you can explore the ‘World of Beatrix Potter’, a must for those literary enthusiasts.

Break away to Meadow Cottage for a fabulous Lakeland holiday.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location


Windermere 5 miles; Kendal 5 miles.

The thriving Lakeland village of Staveley is situated on the eastern fringes of the Lake District National Park and offers superb access to the whole region. The beautiful Kentmere Valley is just a short walk away and with the River Kent tumbling its way through the valley to Staveley, it is very popular with mountain bikers and walkers alike. Staveley Mill Yard is a former wood turning mill at the heart of the village, which is now a thriving tourist attraction with cycle hire and outdoor shops, artisan bakery, brewery and the renowned Wilf's Cafe. This complements the excellent range of amenities in the village, which include a variety of shops, two village pubs, craft shops, a children's playground, a regular bus service and a railway station. Close by, the bustling towns of Kendal, Windermere, Bowness and Ambleside are popular with visitors, providing a range of amenities to suit all tastes. Lake Windermere offers boat trips, including a ferry to the Lakeside Aquarium and Grizedale Forest Park. The 'Windermere Steamboat Museum' displays a fascinating collection of boats whilst children will enjoy the 'World of Beatrix Potter' in Bowness, where technology brings her characters to life. Within easy reach of Coniston Water, Kendal, Keswick and the Lakeland Mountains, Staveley is ideally situated for exploring all that the region has to offer.

View more holiday cottages in Staveley

NOTE: The railway station is a very short walk from the cottage and runs regularly to Windermere and Oxenholme, where you can change to west coast mainline.
The bus stop (555) is practically outside the cottage and goes to Kendal, Windermere, Ambleside etc.

NOTE: Fire starter pack not provided

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas