Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Lake District 2 minutes ago

19 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 26 View Image Gallery
  • Harbour View - Lake District - 1089257 - photo 1
close

Harbour View

(Ref. 1089257)

Haverigg, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map

4.3

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (11)
  • nice (11)
  • all (8)
  • out (7)
  • great (7)
  • lovely (7)

23 Customer Reviews

  • "The welcoming wine and chocolates were a lovely touch."

    This was a pretty, cosy cottage with extremely effective central heating. Everything was provided, even kitchen foil! We wouldn't hesitate to recommend it and we hope to go back some time in the future.

    Reviewed by Patricia4.7Nov 2023

  • "Great couple of days , everything spot on , will defo be staying again ."

    PS Wine and biccies a nice touch ! thanks again Terry & Jean

    Reviewed by Terry4.7Nov 2023

  • "We had a lovely wkend at this property it was clean comfortable & we had ..."

    We had a lovely wkend at this property it was clean comfortable & we had everything we needed would of loved to have stayed for the wk the area was quiet and friendly the beach was close such a lovely walk beautiful area the decking was a lovely idea we sat out with drinks we would definitely go again

    Reviewed by Janet5.0Sep 2023

  • "Dog friendly, enjoyable stay, hope to return"

    Reviewed by Brian4.4Sep 2023

  • "Lovely place,all clean and tidy when we arrived."

    Everthing you could need is supplied and works.Loved the open plan design,sofas are comfy enough,Internet and smart tvs work well though atmospheric conditions will and did affect tv signal,but didn't come here to sit watching TV all week.Small deck outside is a great afternoon suntrap to just sit and enjoy,hope this area never ends up like the typical Lake District destinations it's just fine as it is

    Reviewed by Adrian5.0Sep 2023

  • "Amazing location and serene stay!"

    We were so glad to fix on this stay and the price was fab for 4 nights! Our stay was from 28th Aug to 1st Sept and enjoyed every bit of it! Would have been nice to have a dishwasher too! Thank you xx!

    Reviewed by Pradeep4.7Aug 2023

  • "Everything was great."

    We knew about the lack of space in the bathroom so we were careful. It hasn’t stopped us from booking for the same week next year already. Sitting outside in the evenings was wonderful. Only having two chairs was a drawback but we took one of the kitchen chairs out for our son to use.

    Reviewed by Catherine3.8Aug 2023

  • "I'm not happy at all because this accommodation was very worst, since I used last 20 years."

    First of all the toilets were extremely tiny and had very limited space to sit and move around. Everytime standing up head hited with the wall cabinet because of space. Also the flushes did not work most of the time. And after a while would eventually work. Second the bedrooms and beds were also extremely small we would not even fit on the beds they were children beds not even single beds. We also tried calling several times while we were staying in this accommodation and not even once picked up the phone or called us back. Furthermore we also went to the front office there but they told us to contact sykescottages as we booked from them. This is the worst cottages and company and do not recommend to book through them. Booking.com is far better.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry the property was not quite what you expected but do feel that it is clearly advertised and the the pictures are accurate. These display the sloped ceilings and the standard size single beds; these are not childrens beds. I am sorry you were not able to get through to us on the phone. We are very busy in peak season but you could have requested a callback, contacted us via our live chat facilty or sent us a web message from your account if you did not have time to wait on the phone. As all properties on site are individually owned, the reception on site would not necessarily have been able to help so would have to refer you to us or the owner. We also take many bookings via Booking.com. This property often receives very good feedback but we are sorry it was not what you expected. We hope you enjoyed your holiday otherwise. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ariba2.2Aug 2023

  • "The cottage was ok very simple but adequate based in a nice part of the village centre near the shop , pub, beach etc some great walks near by."

    We used it as a base to explore the area and had a great holiday visiting Barrow, Coniston, Ravenglass, Muncaster castle, St Bees and more the train station is 10 minutes away with free parking and goes to loads of places Although the cottage appears modern with the trendy grey decor etc It had the Most uncomfortable furniture I have ever sat on and the mattresses are really poor quality The Wi-Fi is none existent Smart tv doesn’t work on any channels only freeview The Lock on kitchen door doesn’t lock securely There’s nowhere in the bedroom to put anything no table or drawers No waste bin bags supplied Loo brush needs binning Parking space needs clarification in instructions as it not near the house it’s actually outside no34 no info in welcoming pack The local pub and fish shop only take cash Most of the things listed above are in the visitors book but not addressed It’s the little things that make the difference.

    Reviewed by Grahame3.4Jul 2023

  • "Everything we needed in a base for the week."

    Good access, parking on site, comfortable to be in and so much on the doorstep. Wonderful, will definitely return!

    Reviewed by Paul4.7Jun 2023

  • "A really great holiday home, inconspicuously nestled away in a row of terraced houses."

    We were really impressed with the house, the ground floor is all open plan and really nicely decorated. The bedrooms are also really nice, we found the beds really comfy, which is a rarity in holiday homes! The landing is tight upstairs, and the adjoining door between the 2 bedrooms was a bit awkward to manoeuvre around, but it was a minor quirk in what was overall a great place to stay. The TV downstairs didn't have any signal, I don't know if it had come disconnected from the aerial, or if this is just an issue with signal for that property. But we mainly used the property as a base and travelled around Cumbria. Unfortunately the village of Haverigg doesn't have a lot going for it. The beach isn't very exciting for kids, not much sand for digging and sandcastles. So I wouldn't expect to stay here with the intention of hanging out in Haverigg for a week, but the property itself was fantastic!

    Reviewed by James4.7May 2023

  • "Loved the cottage and really don’t like leaving negative feedback but for the price, I would of expected much better quality bed linen and quilt quality and the throws looked grubby I’m afraid."

    I would 100% recommend changing it. Also, it should of stated no pend garden as we couldn’t just let the dogs out for the toilet, we had to put them on leads at night etc. Everything else was great, thanks and I would recommend this cottage The wine and chocs were a lovely touch, thank you.

    Reviewed by Alison4.1Mar 2023

  • "We returned back home on the Wednesday as after been around the area there wasent much to do unless you drove ."

    The cottage was ok but the shower mat was dangerous as it was slippy and although dident use the oven did notice the door glass on the inside was also loose .A dressing table would have been nice as there was no where for a lady to do her hair etc. I wouldent recommend this cottage for older or bigger people as the bathroom wouldent be suitable for a bigger person as it was quite chlostraphobic. Unfortunately we wouldent stay here again but the dog had a great time .

    Reviewed by Pauline3.8Mar 2023

  • "The settee’s were very uncomfortable, which someone else had also commented on."

    It was nice to find all the little extras on arrival, tea, coffee, bottle of wine etc. The view from the cottage was not one of the harbour. The slope in the bedroom made me feel claustrophobic. Again as mentioned by a previous guest, the bath is awkward to get in and out of. I also thought that the breakfast bar and stools are inappropriate unless for teenagers.

    Reviewed by Janet3.8Mar 2023

  • "The cottage itself was lovely but definitely needs some finishing touches."

    Looks too bare Sofas were uncomfortable Definitely needed a slip mat in bath I suffer with a bad back and I was sliding all over and had to get out with a struggle. My husband however did slip and cracked his ribs on bath and banged his head on wash basin. He went out to buy a mat for our safety but unfortunately we didnt get to go back in. I spent the whole week in my pyjamas with a bad back and my husband also stuck in for the week just because of no bath mat. Total disaster, worst Christmas we have ever had. I am sorry but we wont be returning to this property. We have stayed in Haverigg twice over the years and really enjoyed our stay there.

    Thank you for your feedback, we will fully decorate for Christmas this year. We have added extra cushions on the Sofa to add more comfort. The bath now has an anti-slip mat and a grab rail to help with anyone with mobility concerns. We do take our feedback very seriously and do all we can to ensure our guests have a lovely time at our property. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gwen3.1Dec 2022

  • "Position good with patio to enjoy afternoon sun."

    Lounge /kitchen spacious but could not find any gloves to take hot dishes out of oven.Bath difficult to get out of for elderly people because there is no handrail and the sloping roof half way down the bath gets in the way.Otherwise the bedrooms and bathroom are fine and the nautical feel with the furnishings is nice.Sunday roast at the Harbour Hotel was first class and the Londis store,fish and chip shop and newsagent are all within easy walking distance.

    Reviewed by William4.1Sep 2022

  • "The pictures of the cottage and surrounding are spot on."

    Enjoyed a coffee outside with nice view each morning. Had a couple of snags but the lovely owner fixed really quickly and happily. Would definitely recommend a stay here, very relaxed and the locals were so nice recommending places to visit. We look forward to our next stay !!

    Reviewed by Liz5.0Jul 2022

  • "Cottage was lovely and comfortable very clean ."

    Modern furniture. Well presented. Plenty of cleaning products available if needed . Lovely views and beach on door step . Also plenty to do half hour drive away. Shop close by . Would recommend it. Nice wine and chocolates on arrival.

    Reviewed by P5.0Jul 2022

  • "Nice modern cottage overlooking the estuary"

    Reviewed by Philip5.0Jun 2022

  • "Cottage was fantastic location perfect the cottage was really clean and ..."

    Cottage was fantastic location perfect the cottage was really clean and comfortable no complaints and 5 star review will definitely be booking the cottage again hopefully this year

    Reviewed by Diane5.0Jun 2022

  • "Good place and beach round the corner ,shop Just down the rd and prices good."

    Good place to relax after walking on the patio with a glass of wine .

    Reviewed by L R4.4May 2022

  • "Very clean and modern and bright good all round stay"

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Mar 2022

  • "This was a nice clean cottage the only2 negatives about it were the beds were shocking two thin!"

    Cheap mattresses, why someone would spend all that money refurbishing a pace to a god standard and spend nothing on a fundamental thing such as beds and bedding is beyond me. The other is the double glazing was either old or poorly fitted, rain came in through the roof and soaked one of the twin beds and downstairs it cam through the DG door!

    Thank you for your feedback. We have taken on board what you have said and have replaced the mattresses and bedding. The roof leaks and double glazing have also been fixed. Thank you very much for bringing it to my attention. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul3.8Feb 2022

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double with Smart TV, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer and washing machine
  • Smart TV, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Highchair and travel cot available on request
  • Designated parking space for 1 car with additional off-road parking
  • Rear decking with furniture
  • One well-behaved pet welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 0.1 miles, beach 0.3 miles
  • Note: There are sloped ceilings on the first floor, please take care
  • Note: The decking is not enclosed

The property

Tucked away in Haverigg, Cumbria is this charming, mid-terrace cottage, Harbour View.

With Haverigg's Blue Flag beach and amenities within easy reach, Harbour View is a perfect dwelling for a family of four hoping to explore the fantastic Cumbrian coast.

There is a designated parking space for one car and additional off-road parking for guests to use, before stepping into the lovely property; drop your muddy boots and coats on the porch before stepping into the pristine, open-plan living space.

You'll find Scandinavian-style furnishings and décor throughout Harbour View, with a kitchen well-equipped for self-catering holidays, plenty of storage space and a large fridge/freezer to stock up, and a smart breakfast bar with seating for five.

Prepare a hot meal after wandering the coast before settling into the sitting area, complete with a large Smart TV for entertainment and two spacious sofas which can also unfold into two single beds, perfect for elderly relatives or teenagers.

Follow the stairs up to Harbour View's snug bedrooms with sloped ceilings and storage space to unpack and make yourself at home; a double bedroom includes a Smart TV for lazy mornings watching your favourite shows, as well as a neighbouring twin room.

The cottage provides hot showers in the compact family bathroom after busy beach days, including a bath for long, relaxing soaks and a shower over.

From the rear decking area, you can enjoy your morning coffee or a glass of wine at the outdoor seating and look across Haverigg's beautiful harbour.

Sitting in the centre of a welcoming, coastal village, and within reach of incredible landscapes, choose Harbour View for a memorable family holiday in Cumbria.

Note: This property can be booked with Ref: 1112074, together sleeping up to twelve guests.

Harbour Holiday Cottages

Harbour Holiday Cottages are a quaint collection of two well-positioned cottages, nestled in the coastal village of Haverigg, Cumbria. The collection boasts a prime location, just a stone’s throw away from the beach and various local amenities, suitable for those who enjoy the seaside, whilst it is in driving distance to the Lake District National Park, which is great for those who prefer the countryside. You’ll find contemporary fixtures, flexible sleeping arrangements, Smart TVs, well-equipped kitchens, and tranquil outdoor areas across the collection, perfect for families and friends alike. If you’d prefer to dine-out in Haverigg, head to the Beach Bar, Harbour Hotel, or the local fish and chip shop, whilst the essentials can be purchased from a nearby convenience store. There is a wealth of nature-filled attractions to enjoy whilst on your travels, including birdwatching opportunities at Duddon Estuary and Hodbarrow Lagoon, whilst the national park is dotted with beauty spots and hidden gems, including Stanley Ghyll Waterfall, Scafell Pike, and Wild Cat Island. Reaching Millom, a neighbouring town, tour Millom Heritage & Arts Centre, take in the local heritage at Millom Castle, or opt for an adventure-filled trail across the Quarry Hike landscape. Enjoy both the coast and country by booking a Harbour Holiday Cottage as your Cumbrian abode.

View on map

About the location

HAVERIGG

Millom 1.8 miles; Broughton-in-Furness 8 miles.

Haverigg, a village on the south-west coast of Cumbria, England, historically part of the county of Cumberland lies at the mouth of the Duddon Estuary, a protected area important for birds and other wildlife. Haverigg has an extensive, quiet Blue Flag beach. There is also access to a seawall with a lighthouse, which protects Hodbarrow Lagoon, part of Hodbarrow RSPB Reserve. The West coast attractions, the Lakes, the Lake District and the 1000ft high fell of Black Combe, are all easily reached from this relaxing resort. The village offers a wide range of accommodation, along with a range of cafes and pubs. Haverigg additionally boasts safe beaches and children’s adventure play features, making it a good place to visit for families with children. Close by, is the attractive town of Millom with its castle and historic attractions, then for more amenities and sightseeing, why not take a trip to Broughton-in-Furness.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas