Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

7 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 35 View Image Gallery
  • Thrang View - Lake District - 1041456 - photo 1
close

Thrang View

(Ref. 1041456)

Langdale, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map

4.5

Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (20)
  • comfortable (17)
  • great (16)
  • lovely (15)
  • location (12)
  • property (12)

31 Customer Reviews

  • "The cottage was amazing in all aspects."

    Brilliant location and the cottage itself is a dream. Couldn’t have asked for more.

    Reviewed by Liam5.0Jun 2024

  • "We had a wonderful stay at Thrang View."

    The house is very clean and comfortable and the view of the hills is beautiful. It is great to have private parking at the property and the garden is lovely - we topped up the bird-feeder and saw many different garden birds. Early in our stay at the property, a maintenance person attended to fix the drains (this was agreed in advance with Lakelovers). We did not notice any issue with bad smells, so it would seems any previous problems with this have been resolved. Chapel Stile itself is ideally located for walks in and around Langdale, including walks on mostly flat ground to Skelwith Bridge and Dungeon Ghyll. There are good local amenities with a co-op shop/cafe and pub, and the local bus service to Ambleside is reliable and save the stress of where to park when the town is busy.

    Reviewed by Helen5.0May 2024

  • "Lovely comfortable cottage with great walks straight from the door."

    Everything fresh and clean. Garden again looking great. A pleasure to visit here

    Reviewed by Margaret5.0May 2024

  • "Wonderful location with great views from the cottage very comfortable and warm despite the cold weather and sitting out furniture and space very good nice solid chairs."

    Good supplies to use in kitchen and throughout the cottage plenty of drawer and cupboard space Great for dogs thank you Barbara

    Reviewed by Barbara4.7Apr 2024

  • "All terrific."

    Langdale area is amazing. House lovely - very well equipped. 2 minor suggestions: 1. Provide bin bags for each guest. We wouldn't normally bring that as we wouldn't know what size to bring and it seems silly to have to buy a whole new roll of bin bags when we get there. 2. Make clear in initial information on website that wood is not provided (we assumed this so were OK). Also fireplace only takes small sized wood.

    Reviewed by Kerry5.0Mar 2024

  • "Property in lovely location with great views but the trees are getting overgrown and block the view."

    One of the window panes is misted too. Instructions for the TV would be useful. Apart from these comments, it’s a comfortable and cosy cottage which we would use again.

    Thank you for your feedback. The owner will be able to see your comments and can review changes where needed. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Lakelovers Owners Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Vivien3.8Feb 2024

  • "Tired property, In need of a make over in the kitchen & bathroom."

    Reviewed by Simon3.8Dec 2023

  • "A very comfortable property which we have stayed at on 3 previous occasions with a few re-curing problems."

    Sewage smells in the toilet occurred last year were addressed during the week but happened again this year and were improved by leaving the toilet window partly open all week. The Wi-Fi system and television system have recently been changed with very little information available on how to use them. We sorted the Wi-Fi by phone but the television is still not fully functional. A single book containing all operating and maintenance info would be helpful.

    Reviewed by John3.8Nov 2023

  • "Reading previous reviews and the notes at the cottage, I'm sure little of this will come as a surprise: Smell of sewage - this was revolting."

    The cottage has an air admittance valve fitted on an external soil pipe (which is completely unnecessary - why not extend the stack and top it with a vent?) When the valve sticks, water is syphoned out of one of the sink/bath/shower traps and allows the sewers to vent into the cottage. A competent plumber could sort this quickly - why haven't previous complaints about it lead to any rememdial action? Cleanliness was generally very good but clearly some previous guests couldn't be bothered to clean their dishes - we found crockery with food residues and even crumbs still on them - clearly not a dishwasher issue. Despite previous complaints about the dishwasher we found it worked fine. Heating controls were a little basic. You could save a fortune, and earn some green credentials, but sorting out the heating controls and/or replacing the old storage heaters with a more efficient heating system. And silicone seals were in poor condition - the seal around the bath is completely useless - it needs to be redone with a bath full of water so that the seal doesnt immediately break when there is any weight in the tub. In short, the advice of a good heating engineer and half a day's work from a decent plumber could sort a lot of the problems. At this price point I would expect more notice to be taken of complaints from previous guests - we assumed the historical issues mentioned in past reviews would have been dealt with. Superb location though - a great base for walking in Langdale and good eateries nearby - as well as an excellent village shop.

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are sorry that you had a problem with the sewage smell. We can now confirm that during a break in bookings the owner has been able to have works done on the property, including changing the ventilation pipe. This has now resolved the problem. We are glad that you did have a good holiday and enjoyed all that the area has to offer. Lakelovers Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Simon3.8Sep 2023

  • "Property was ideally situated, quiet, well equipped and warm."

    The downside, for us, was a pervasive smell of dogs that the air fresheners could not remove. In addition, on a couple of occasions there was a terrible smell of sewage in the en suite bedroom, which caused us to move rooms. I think the soft furnishings and carpets could really do with a deep clean.

    Reviewed by Michael3.4Sep 2023

  • "A very comfortable cottage in an amazing location and we look forward to returning in the future."

    We had a great time. Comments which hopefully are useful: Fan in the toilet was not working. We reported this to Lake Lovers but nothing was done and no feedback received. Mirror light in ensuite will not turn off, (not reported). There were no cupboards in the kitchen left empty so we could store food for 5 adults for the week. Disapointed there was no washing up liquid supplied.

    Thank you for your comments, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry to hear of the issue that you found with the toilet fan. We will ask our Maintenance team to take a look. We take all comments on board. The Lakelovers Owner Relations Team. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jeremy4.7May 2023

  • "Thrang View was ideal for our family party of six adults and two dogs."

    The views from the beautiful garden were fabulous. The house was very comfortable and well equipped. The parking was more than adequate for our three vehicles. The house is in a lovely position with access to walks and climbing. There is also a nearby shop selling most everything and a pub which allows dogs. We hope to visit this property again.

    Thank you for your kind comments, we are pleased to hear that you and your dogs enjoyed your stay! We hope to welcome you back again. The Lakelovers Owner Relations Team. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Judy5.0May 2023

  • "Lovely comfy cottage."

    Great walks from door. Garden looking fantastic at this time of the year

    Thank you for your kind comments, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you would come and stay again. The Lakelovers Owner Relations Team. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Margaret5.0May 2023

  • "Thrang View is a comfortable cottage with fabulous views."

    A west facing rear garden makes it perfect for a drink at the end of the day.

    Thank you for your kind comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter4.1Apr 2023

  • "Lovely comfortable cottage in a brilliant location for walking from your doorstep."

    Everything you needed supplied to cater for your needs. Beds were very comfy. Provided own wood for open fire which was great to have on in the evening. Warm property and heating can be boosted if required.

    Thank you for your kind feedback. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Thrang View. We hope to welcome you back again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sharon4.7Jan 2023

  • "Wonderful cottage in great location."

    Very well appointed - had everything we needed for a fantastic week. Plenty of scenic low level walks from the front door, and the high fells are only a short drive away. And just a short walk to the nearby pub.

    Reviewed by David5.0Oct 2022

  • "Television stopped working."

    Lakelovers sent out maintenance man quickly and he spent an hour getting it working again. Great service Cosy cottage in wet weather

    Reviewed by Margaret5.0Oct 2022

  • "This cottage is in an ideal position and was lovely apart from the garden being not secure for our dogs."

    The shed according to a previous tenant had rats and was smelly but we never used it! There was no dustpan and brush. We only found the iron in our final day. The TV needed some more notes to help its use.There were no tea cups. Only mugs and there were only a few mismatched ones. As everything else was high quality this seemed odd.No small .dining knives at all only big ones. The bath had no hand rail which we thought a hazard. Otherwise all super

    Reviewed by Yvonne4.4Jul 2022

  • "Lovely property, great views, well maintained garden and ideal location with sunny aspect."

    Kitchen well stocked. Heating/hot water working well. Beds/sofas all comfy. Bathrooms clean. Robust wifi and netflix on the TV! Only niggle for us was the porch entrance space - limited with 4 walkers plus dogs, espec when raining. Note outdoor areas whilst enclosed aren’t fully dog proof so with adjacent road/sheep plus lambs at entrance cattle grid, it meant our dogs needed to be on lead and carefully watched. Bird feeders were a pleasure to fill and watch from the comfy sofas.

    Reviewed by Sue4.7May 2022

  • "A lovely comfortable cottage."

    Great walks from the door. May is such a lovely time to visit Lakes and Thrang view is in such an ideal spot to return to after a days walking.

    Reviewed by Margaret5.0May 2022

  • "Could be updated a little."

    Hall curtains and kitchen blinds need replacing and ironing board cover. Other than that a lovely comfortable cottage.

    Reviewed by Vivien4.4Dec 2021

  • "In addition, our experience of Thrang View this time was disappointing and here are a number of things that need maintenance or attention."

    .. 1. There was a damp smell in the twin bed room which seems to come from damp in the wardrobe that backs on to the en-suite. 2. In the main bedroom there are several damp patches by the window frame. 3. Also in the main bedroom on the en-suite wall there is a damp issue where the plaster is effected and if you brush against the wall you get white dust on you. 4. The en-suite shower shelf is more rust than metal 5. There were cobwebs in the kitchen, lounge and generally everywhere. 6. The flush on the separate toilet is broken. 7. The open fire base is broken. We are disappointed that a property that we have visited many times - as recently as Christmas 2019 - has slipped in standards. Does anyone check on the housekeeping? The Christmas holiday period is not a cheap week and when you spend a long time looking forward to it the last thing you expect is to come away disappointed. We have used Lakelovers many times over the last 25 years and this experience makes us think twice about who we select for a holiday.

    Dear Mr Barnard, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review further to your stay with us at Thrangview; although your comments were disapointing to read. As you have stayed with us for the last 25 years you will be aware of the excellence we strive for and we pride ourselves on the quality of holiday cottages we represent. Had you contacted us during your stay we would have been very happy to attend and investigate and make good what we could for you during your stay. On behalf of Lakelovers who clean and manage the properrty, please accept our sincere apologies for this as on this instance it seems we have fallen short of our usual standard. I have passed your comments to our housekeeping and maintenance team who will investigate and liaise with the owner of the property to ensure that this does not happen again and things are made right. Again, thank you ever so much for taking the time to leave us feedback as it is very valuable for us to continually improve. I do hope this didn'y mar your stay with us too much and we really hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind Regards, Nicola, The Owner Relations Team at Lakelovers Property Owner

    Reviewed by Chris3.1Dec 2021

  • "Very comfortable clean cottage Great for walking from the door."

    Autumn trees looking beautiful. Lovely to come back to cottage after a day’s walking.

    Reviewed by Margaret5.0Oct 2021

  • "Had a great week at thrang view lovely location and nice cottage but only one toilet roll in each toilet Would have rebooked for next year but with ridiculous price increases can now take family on walking holiday abroad including flights ."

    Once all travel restrictions are removed and stacatioers go abroad the Lake District might return to normal

    Reviewed by William4.7Oct 2021

  • "I was very disappointed to see the cost of the property had vastly increased for the same period next year."

    The cottage is comfortable but does not meet enough of my expectations to warrant paying £300 a day for self catering. I was sad to see this property bring priced out of my range. If the cost had remained the same I should have booked again as we love the Langdales. We tried to hoover one day but the stench from the hoover was horrible so we gave up.

    Reviewed by Christine3.1Aug 2021

  • "Had a great holiday, the weather was fantastic."

    Lots of great walks straight from the property. Very well stocked shop near by. The garden was lovely very well cared for.

    Reviewed by Jane5.0Jun 2021

  • "The overall draw of the cottage at Thrang View was it's location and it was a very comfortable property and we very much enjoyed our stay."

    Of all the holiday cottages we have stayed at I must say it felt like the very last penny was being dragged out of us - toilet roll left with one sheet on it in the toilet with only one spare roll for the week, empty soap dispenser in toilet, no sugar or coffee and about 5 tea bags. Don't expect all-inclusive but these are the very basics that we have always found supplied elsewhere. The TV unit was covered in dust and clearly not cleaned for some time and the porch full of cobwebs. The price of the cottage for the same week in 2022 has increased by 70% so £5 for a few basics isn't much to ask - we don't want to shop for soap and toilet rolls when we're on holiday!

    Reviewed by Mike3.1Jun 2021

  • "A lovely cottage in a beautiful location."

    Reviewed by Sarah4.7May 2021

  • "House really clean and welcoming."

    Very comfortable.Excellent walks from the door. A beautiful setting.

    Reviewed by Margaret5.0May 2021

  • "The Cottage looks better than in the pictures especially the well kept lawn in the front with table and chairs."

    We were lucky to have some warm periods to enjoy sitting out and admiring the view.. Front gate is handy for getting out to the street. It has spectacular views from every room which exceeded my expectation; homely and warm. Kitchen is fully equipped for 4-6 people comfortably.. 2 bathrooms/showers are very convenient. Chapel Stile is a very good Centre to Langdale Valley - plenty of walks from your front door. All walks are easily managed along the beautiful streams with field and mountain view. Easy walks to Ellterwater ; its village and 2 pubs serving food. There is bus stop and local shop 5-10 minutes walk from the cottage. Easy drive to Ambleside, Windermere and Grasmere. Wastwater is well worth the visit too after driving through Langdale Valley and Wrynose Pass with a visit to Blea tarn. Thrang View is so central to what we want to do and see in Lake District. The cottage is very comfortable with spectacular view all around. Handy local shop and pubs. Plenty of walks from your own front door or a local bus stop opposite the cottage. We are looking forward to returning again.. Highly recommend Thrang View.

    Reviewed by Johnedwarddouglas4.7May 2021

  • "Great location - very central but quiet, with parking close by."

    Well appointed, everything we needed for a group of 4 adults, nicely furnished, & very comfortable.

    A FellowsNov -0001

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.

Summary

  • Over 1 floor
  • 3 x bedrooms; 1 x double with ensuite, 1 x double, 1 x twin
  • House bathroom
  • Lounge / dining room
  • Kitchen
  • Garden
  • Patio
  • Private parking
  • Spectacular views
  • Open fire
  • Oil central heating
  • Electric cooker & hob
  • Microwave
  • Dishwasher Washer/dryer
  • Fridge/freezer
  • Wi-Fi
  • Enclosed garden with furniture
  • Private parking for 3 vehicles
  • Bed linen and towels provided

The property

A beautiful bungalow built of local slate, Thrang View is a superb holiday home for 6 in the sought-after Great Langdale valley.

Blessed with outstanding views and unstinting comfort, this is a place to retreat to with your favourites and fully unwind.

A fell-walkers fantasy, and a delightful family escape, Thrang View is one of our firm Lakelovers favourites. Your luxurious home-from-home is laid out with every contemporary comfort, and thoughtfully designed to give your party a really restful break.

The sumptuous sofas sprawl about an open fire, with dining space nearby for those leisurely evening meals or pre-hike breakfasts together.

But its when you get outside into the stunning garden surrounded by panoramic views or onto the fells themselves that your choice of retreat really comes into its own. Langdale ranks among the very finest valleys in Lakeland for scenery and tranquility.

The iconic Langdale Pikes, a gloriously individual group of spiky summits, loom superbly at the head of Great Langdale and near its mouth you'll find the higgledy-piggledly former slate-mining village of Chapel Stile and with it Thrang View.

The picture windows of this superb property take in the rugged fell-tops and the patchwork of dry-stone walled fields that characterise this idyllic place. A Langdale breakaway has to be all about the hills, and the walking, climbing and mountain-biking here is seriously as good as it gets.

Besides the Pikes themselves, Crinkle Crags, Bowfell, and even Scafell Pike, are accessible from the valley, and Lingmoor is a slightly lower but exceptionally rewarding summit, sitting so prettily between Great and Little Langdale.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

LANGDALE

Ambleside 5.6 miles; Coniston 7.3 miles; Grasmere 9.7 miles.

Often referred to as Great Langdale, to distinguish it from nearby Little Langdale, Langdale's name comes from the Old Norse for 'long valley'. Langdale is a u-shaped valley formed by glaciers. It encompasses the two villages of Chapel Stile and Elterwater, as well as the hamlet of High Close. Set in the centre of the Lake District, Langdale is probably best known for its mountains, from the Langdale Pikes – a group of mountains on the northern side of the village – to England’s highest mountain, Scafell Pike. Rock climbers will also love Raven Crag, Gimmer Crag and White Ghyll. There Not surprisingly Langdale is also famous for it’s spectacular views, including Dungeon Ghyll Force Waterfall, Harrison Stickle and Pike of Stickle. it is an extremely popular holiday destination and loved by hikers, climbers, fell runners and lovers of the outdoors in general.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas