Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Lake District 4 minutes ago

13 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 21 View Image Gallery
  • Easedale - Lake District - 1043147 - photo 1


(Ref. 1043147)

Grasmere, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lovely (15)
  • no (12)
  • stay (11)
  • views (11)
  • everything (11)
  • grasmere (11)

28 Customer Reviews

  • "Overall a lovely stay."

    Lovely location looking over Grasmere Lake, though a steep drive up to the property. Good facilities. Everything required for the stay. Loved the heater disguised as a painting. Only disappointment was the internet did not work. This was responded to with maintenance attending, however the resolution was that it could not be resolved during our stay.

    Reviewed by Laura3.8Feb 2024

  • "Lovely setting and very comfortable."

    Temperature dropped to below -3 but the apartment stayed warm. I would not hesitate to recommend this accommodation.

    So pleased you enjoyed your stay at Easedale (in, I think, the coldest week of the year so far) and thank you for the lovely review. Property Owner

    Reviewed by May5.0Nov 2023

  • "This is our second visit to Easedale and we really love it here."

    The new kitchen and appliances are good, it is all well equipped,clean and comfortable. The views are stunning with great walks from the door.

    So glad you love coming back and that the kitchen and appliances have made it even better, look forward to welcoming you back Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Oct 2023

  • "The property is perfectly situated within a short walk into Grasmere and is surrounded by beautiful views."

    The living room/bedroom is very comfortable and looks out on to the garden and has a lovely view if the lake. The kitchen is very well equipped and has everything you need. There are plenty of walks on the doorstep and bus stops just a short walk away going into Keswick or Kendal. This is the second time we have stayed at the property and we very much hope to visit again soon. The scenery takes your breath away.

    So glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for such a lovely review. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nancy5.0Sep 2023

  • "Lovely accommodation in a beautiful setting, near to the village of Grasmere but far enough away to feel like you’re in the middle of nowhere - so peaceful."

    Thank you for your review, I must admit we too like being a little bit away from the centre, and think the view makes the walk worthwhile, so glad you enjoyed your stay Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jackie4.7Aug 2023

  • "Lovely location with fantastic views."

    Lots to access in the local area with no need to use your car. The property has is nicely furnished with everything you need. Would highly recommend.

    Always nice to hear when people enjoy their stay, we are similar once we park we rarely take the car out again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lisa4.4Jul 2023

  • "A wonderful property in an amazing area, will be returning and would happily recommend to everyone."

    So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and are coming back again, hope you had good weather and managed to see the red squirrels in the garden Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christopher5.0Jul 2023

  • "This was our second stay at Easedale."

    It really is a little gem of a place with magnificent views over Grasmere Lake. Everything is provided for a proper home from home stay. We look forward to returning in the near future and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this property to friends and family

    Thank you for your kind comments, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kevin5.0Apr 2023

  • "We liked this property very much."

    It was very clean, very comfortable, very fresh. The infra-red heating from a picture on the wall (and a white disc) was new to us. The view from the window was wonderful. Although it is technically in Grasmere, it is in a secluded location away from the madding crowd. It was rather lovely being able to access the path up to Alcock Tarn through a gate in the garden wall.

    Thank you for your kind comments, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and the walks! We hope to welcome you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Francis5.0Mar 2023

  • "Clean. Comfortable."

    Amazing views from the window. Loved the walkability of the apartment - didn't need to use my car while there!

    So great to hear you enjoyed your stay, the view is a real winner and we love being able to park up and leave the car too Property Owner

    Reviewed by Diana5.0Feb 2023

  • "Really enjoyed my stay."

    Easedale was more roomy than expected. Great location and view from window was super - even on rainy days. Could have been a bit warmer though as thermostat set a bit too low and could not work out how to change it. A Smart TV would be nice too.

    We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, we do love that view as well!! The heating controls are explained in the owners handbook, it just requires you to turn the dial clockwise to your preferred temperature. There is also a small portable heater too if needed. We will make sure the handbook is clearer. May thanks Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephen4.1Nov 2022

  • "The property was musty and the smell of dog was overpowering."

    A humidifier had been left on so the bed was damp. It was dusty everywhere. Hairs in the bed and sink. Toilet roll tubes left in the bathroom. The toilet itself was dirty. The freezer was completely frozen over. Requested the travel cot and high chair and neither were left. Didn’t stay for more than one night. We stayed at another property instead. Very disappointing.

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and we are sorry to hear that your stay was not what you had hoped for. We have spoken to both the cleaner and Heart of the Lakes (who manage the day to day running of the property for us) about the points you raised. Whilst this is a property that takes pets 'one small dog is allowed' it is unusual for there to be a strong smell, as the cleaners air this every time they go in. In addition to this we also supply the Shark pet hoover to remove as much pet hair as possible, that said we have asked that the property has a longer airing time, where possible. The property does benefit from a very large 6ft by 4ft sash window as well as a side window to allow a full flow of air. Regarding the damp bed; this again is surprising as fresh bedding was put on that afternoon before your arrival. The ‘humidifier’ you mention is actually a dehumidifier so actively removes any excess moisture from the room, as well as some odours. Regarding the freezer we believe that this may be because previous occupants may have not fully closed the door and as such the small freezer box in the top of the fridge may have frozen. We are installing a new kitchen in October 2022 so hopefully this will remove this issue. In relation to the general cleanliness of the toilet and dust the cleaners do not recall leaving it in this state but we can only apologise if this was the case. Unfortunately, having spoken to Heart of the Lakes it does seem they had not placed the highchair and cot at the property at the point of your arrival, for which we are sorry. Heart of the Lakes did assure us that whilst this was an oversight, if you had called them that day they would have been able to rectify that immediately, as their office is only a few miles away. It seems that unfortunately you did not let Heart of the Lakes know about any of the above issues you mentioned until after you had left, and not during your stay, and unfortunately did not call them to say you were leaving prematurely. Otherwise, I have great confidence all of these issues could have been rectified, as we have found Heart of the Lakes to be very responsive to issues raised by guests. As you can see the vast majority of feedback we receive is extremely positive so we always ensure that we act upon any negative experiences. We do hope this response is helpful and assures you that your experience was an extraordinary experience, for which we are extremely sorry, and that we have taken any action required to remedy any such issues. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rachel1.9Aug 2022

  • "A second great stay at the lovely Easedale."

    Everything we needed was provided and we were very comfortable and happy. No gripes at all, except attention needed to various doors that didn't shut or lock properly.

    So glad to have you back, we are rectifying the doors, at the same time as upgrading the kitchen, and do hope to welcome you back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gill4.4Jul 2022

  • "Third time at this cottage."

    Fantastic.admittedly the bed is where you eat and where you relax but the space is of a really good size..and as I said the third time wevecstayed and are looking out for dates next year.the gardens re fabulous..and what was really helpful for us was we could go straight out early morning and ladst thing at night with the dog.the views are amaxing and the patio beautiful for jyst sitting and enjoying a drink in the overlooks grasmere.brilliant access for walks and grasmere itself just a short walk away.what we like is that we re very close to grasmere but not actually in the midst ofthe traffic and clouds.lovely quiet place.highly recommend a stay!

    So glad you enjoyed your week and great to hear you have been before and will be back, we love the gardens too, and the terrace for a drink after a walk is a real winner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by S5.0Jun 2022

  • "This was a lovely property in a beautiful setting."

    There was everything you could need in the property and we really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back.

    We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen4.7Jun 2022

  • "An out of this world apartment with fantastic views There was lots of wildlife around which made the holiday perfect"

    We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and love it as much as we do, hope you managed to see the red squirrels that are often on the tree by the window Property Owner

    Reviewed by Florence5.0Jun 2022

  • "Lovely apartment with stunning views in a peaceful location with short (but steep return) walk into Grasmere, comfy bed and good shower room."

    Good table/window in bedroom/lounge if you love light for jigsaws!!! Minor irritations: people above a bit heavy-footed and have to walk right past your window to come and go....and the dehumidifier ticks during the night (wasn't sure if we could switch it off, so just left it)...but these were little things and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Easedale.

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback, the dehumidifier is on a timer to come on during the afternoons hopefully while people are out walking, it allows us to keep the property at optimum conditions, that said sometimes it gets turned off at the wall which can impact when it comes on. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Caroline4.4May 2022

  • "A beautiful setting for a walking holiday."

    Stunning views! Very cosy and tranquil. Facilities were perfect. I really had a gorgeous time. The only negative feedback i have is the bins weren't obvious, i didn't know where to throw out the rubbish, and no recycling.

    Thank you so much for that lovely feedback, so glad you enjoyed it as much as we do. We are hoping to agree a new deal with our current waste company to have recycling bins. We will also add a new note in the owners folder highlighting where the bins can be located. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Mar 2022

  • "The apartment was very comfortable and in a really lovely setting with great walks from the door."

    However, it did feel like the owner had not kept up with certain things. The main thing for us was that there was no docking station and we had really banked on being able to play our music via an Ipod each evening. We were told by you that the owner said that the previous people had broken it and one had been ordered but not arrived in time, however, had you let us know we could have brought our own and this would have made our stay a lot more enjoyable (this is because we eat in each night and really enjoy to have music playing whilst cooking and eating}. The dehumidifier (which it requests is left switched on) came on in the middle of the night and woke us - we didn't know what it was and had to get up to see what was happening - it could be that the previous people had turned it off and so the timing changed. The instruction folder said there was freeview TV available on AV but we could not get it to work. The DVD remote had no batteries and there were no DVDs to go with the player anyway. The HOTL response was that we 'could feel free to go out and buy some batteries' but we didn't see why we should do this and only really reported it so they could be bought for the next people staying. There was previous feedback in the reviews that the bathroom sink was blocked and very slow to drain away - they were told it would be fixed but it was still like it when we went. The handle of the freezer compartment in the fridge dropped off as soon as we tried to open it on arrival and had obviously been previously broken and just balanced back on. Apart from the lack of Ipod these were just little niggles but overall felt like a lack of customer care which did detract from our enjoyment. It was a shame because it's a fabulous setting but would put us off returning. Thank you.

    Thank you for your feedback Mrs Smart. We are happy that you found the apartment comfortable and enjoyed its location. We appreciate the time taken to send your observations which we have now discussed with the owner. They have taken on board all the points you have raised and would like to update their findings. Unfortunately, the damaged docking station has been replaced with a Bluetooth speaker that also charges wirelessly. We can only apologise for not informing you before your stay. The dehumidifier is on a timer, some guests do turn it on/off which effects the timer. The TV and remote control are both in full working order. (some properties have replacement batteries/lightbulbs, unfortunately these can go missing) Due to covid guidelines, to keep our guests and cleaners safe re cross contamination all DVD’s, books have been removed from Easedale and we will update the description on the webpage. Due to the location, Grasmere village is on a flat level and some properties drain slower than others if the water table is high. The freezer part has been ordered and we are awaiting the part to be fitted. We have now updated the description re docking station and DVD info. Thank you once again for your feedback and we do hope to see you again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Wendy4.1Jan 2022

  • "Great find."

    Excellent location with access to walks from the top of the garden. The view from the accommodation is fabulous. The apartment itself is very well equipped, heating is great & the whole place was very clean, usually dog friendly places do have a slight “whiff” but this didn’t! We would definitely book again & I’ve already recommended to friends.

    Reviewed by kirstie3.8Jan 2022

  • "Lovely apartment with everything you need for a comfortable stay."

    We had beautiful views looking down over the lake. And lots of wildlife to see in the garden birds, red squirrels, and a badger . It was a short 15 minute walk into Grasmere village with plenty of bar restaurant’s and shops

    Reviewed by Ann5.0Nov 2021

  • "Lovely location with beautiful views of Grasmere from bedroom/lounge."

    Quiet and well away from any traffic. Nice terrace in front to relax in. Visited by red squirrels. Problem with slow draining of washbasin sink in bathroom. Someone came round to fix it but was only partially successful as the problem was further-down the pipe beyond the U-bend. Told it would be fixed after we left.

    Reviewed by Margaret4.1Aug 2021

  • "This is a really lovely apartment with gorgeous view and grounds and in a great location close to Grasmere."

    All needs catered for and visiting red squirrels and birds to watch! Our little dog loved it too : )

    Reviewed by Gill5.0Aug 2021

  • "We thought that the view from the window and patio was amazing and better than it looks from the photo."

    All together a lovely holiday in a great location.

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Jul 2021

  • "What a treat!"

    The location was perfect for us and our dog. And the view was stunning. The actual room was very comfortable with everything you need catered for in terms of wifi, fridge, TV, towels, plates, cups etc and my one and only criticism would be to update the shower as the current one is a bit weak onl power. But we absolutely loved it had 2 nights wasn’t enough!

    Reviewed by Julie4.7Jun 2021

  • "This was a last minute change of accommodation which we are eternally grateful to Heart of the Lakes organising for us."

    We've stayed in a different accommodation (Helm Crag)in this building on 3 occasions so knew of its enviable position overlooking Grasmere Lake. We have to say that Easedale was actually better for us and easily exceeded our expectations. The entrance is a lot closer and easier to reach from the communal parking. Inside the apartment is clean, comfortable and has everything you could need for a really comfortable stay. Having a living room/bedroom really worked for us meaning our dog didn't have first night anxiety when we went to bed. We look forward to returning to this property in the future and would definitely recommend it to family and friends.

    Reviewed by Kevin5.0Jun 2021

  • "This was perfect for us so quiet and tranquil, the position of the property amazing."

    To be be able to lie in bed and look at the lake was priceless. The facilities were spot on . We had everything we needed and being dog friendly made it a fantastic experience.

    Reviewed by Dawn5.0Jun 2021

  • "Everything was as we expected Except for the addition of an amazing view as well."

    We would happily go back again with our dog who was able to get out and run about safely as well. Thanks for a great time

    Reviewed by Katrina5.0May 2021

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.


  • All-ground-floor
  • Studio-style room with double bed and living/dining room
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Infrared thermostatically controlled heating
  • Brand new kitchen with integrated induction hob and electric oven, integrated microwave, fridge, dishwasher, TV with DVD Player, CD Player, bluetooth docking station and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Private parking for one car
  • Paved garden with outdoor furniture and use of shared gardens
  • One well-behaved pet welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking.

The property

Perfectly positioned on a sleepy lane, just a stone’s throw away from the village of Grasmere, is the wonderful dwelling of Easedale.

Set on the ground floor, this charming home-away-from-home provides a fantastic base for couples and their four-legged friend who seek a relaxing romantic getaway within the breath-taking landscapes of the Lake District National Park.

Leave your coats to hang in the quaint hallway before moving your way into the warm and welcoming studio-style living space boasting characterful features such as high-ceilings and period coving, as well as hosting a snug sitting area with plush leather sofas and a sleek TV, an intimate dining space and a spacious double bed.

Across the way, a contemporary kitchen with pretty cream cabinets has been kitted out with all the necessary appliances needed for a stress-free self-catering stay, as well as a bright and airy shower room featuring chic grey tiles and a roomy walk-in shower.

Guests also have access to a communal utility room with coin operated washer/dryers, a handy space to wash off your mud-splattered clothes following some unforgettable fell walking.

Spend your mornings out in the garden as you delight in a warm cup of coffee before wandering the well-manicured communal lawns with your favourite canine companion.

Discover the true delights of the Lake District with days spent hiking along Alcock Tarn, Fairfield and White Moss Walks, spotting incredible wildlife such as exotic birds and elegant deer before stopping off for a bite to eat in one of the many local cafés or restaurants.

Learn of the rich and exciting local history at the ancient remains of Ambleside Roman Fort and the grand 19th century dwelling of Wray Castle, a popular National Trust owned property.

Cross Lake Windermere over to 17th century Farmhouse of Beatrix Potter or discover the captivating museum of Wordsworth Grasmere and Rydal Mount & Gardens, the former homes of English Poet William Wordsworth.

Embark on an enthralling cycle along the Weston Shore of Windermere, or visit the idyllic Faeryland Grasmere where you can indulge in some delicious cake from the Café before hiring one of the adorable rowing boats for a tranquil journey across the River Rothay.

With so much adventure awaiting your arrival, it’s no surprise that Easedale makes an excellent choice for your next holiday to Cumbria.

Please note: due to covid guidelines to keep both guests and our cleaners safe, all DVD's, books etc have been removed from Easedale. Guests are welcome to bring their own, thank you

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Ambleside 5 miles; Windermere 9 miles; Keswick 13 miles.

Situated in the heart of the Lake District National Park is the lovely village of Grasmere, probably best known as the home of William Wordsworth, a place he once described as "The most loveliest spot that man hath found". Any visit to Grasmere needs to include The Grasmere Gingerbread shop, where the Wilson family has been making gingerbread for over 60 years. Also in the village are a number of shops, pubs, a church which dates back to the 13th century, and Grasmere Lake. Grasmere Sports takes place every August, where you can watch participants compete in a variety of sports, including Cumberland wrestling. Just five miles away is the town of Ambleside and Lake Winderemere where you will find shops, pubs, restaurants and the 17th century Bridge House, which is one of the most photographed buildings in the Lake District. Cruises, boat trips and watersports can all be enjoyed on Lake Windermere, and the towns of Windermere and Keswick are also within driving distance. Grasmere is a wonderful base for your Lake District retreat.

View more holiday cottages in Grasmere

Note: Guests have access to a shared utility space with a coin operated washer and dryer

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas