Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Lake District 21 minutes ago

1 of 21 View Image Gallery
  • Mrs Puddleducks - Lake District - 972629 - photo 1
  • Mrs Puddleducks - (Ref. 972629)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.





Mrs Puddleducks

(Ref. 972629)

Windermere, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 3 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • hot (37)
  • hot tub (36)
  • tub (35)
  • location (31)
  • cottage (28)
  • stay (24)

66 Customer Reviews

  • "Beautifully refurbished immaculate cottage."

    Well equipped kitchen and the hot tub a lovely bonus. The stairs may be a problem for the less able. The location is perfect for amenities and 25 mins walk to the lake. Parking outside the property with the permit, and also one space behind property. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay thankyou.

    Thank you for your kind comments. They are much appreciated and very welcome .We do try to provide the best possible environment for our guests and so pleased you enjoyed your stay and do hope to host you again in the future . Kind regards. Property Owner

    Reviewed by PaulaNov 2023

  • "The stairs were heavy for a bunch of over 60’s but nothing you can do about that!"

    Mrs Puddleduck’s is a charming place and the location is amazing. Will rebook next year. Thank you

    Thank you for your feedback, it is much appreciated. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Mrs. Puddle ducks. Unfortunately, regarding the stairs, as you say there is nothing can be done about that. Sykes do advise the property is over 3 floors. I hope it didn't impact too much on your stay and we look forward to hosting you again next year. Kind Regards Property Owner

    Reviewed by KarenOct 2023

  • "House was clean tidy and well equipped, 3 flights of stairs make it unsuitable for less mobile."

    Plenty of on street parking however access to park8ng bay can be difficult due to neighbouring taxi firm who store taxis and repair them on access road.

    Thank you for your feedback. We always advise guests to check in advance if they have mobility issues, especially as this property is listed as being over 3 floors. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Lakelovers Owner Relations Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by RobertOct 2023

  • "The property is in a great location and having parking was really convenient."

    The property is nicely furnished and decorated, and the hot tub was a good addition to use in the evenings. Unfortunately, the property wasn't very clean and is looking quite tired. We understand that the property is booked out quite a bit, but the general maintenance needs to looked at. The tap in the Kitchen dripped constantly, the plinths are falling off, the small fridge isn't fixed in properly so falls forward everytime you open the door, the shower screen in the back double bedroom falls off the runner each time you open it and the back garden is messy and could do with a good clean and tidy up. Also, the cleanliness let the property down. There were cobwebs everywhere, dust on skirting boards, plug sockets, etc and we found a pair of used underwear in the corner of one of the double bedrooms. On arrival, the fridge was not working, which was frustrating as we had stopped at the shops and brought food before turning up at the cottage. Getting hold of anyone from the management company was a nightmare, but they did send someone out that night to fix it. It was evident that the fridge had been off for quite a while, so it made us question if the cleaning team had even opened it when they were there. Some of the Kitchen amenities also need to be improved. A larger frying pan is required (this has been mentioned in numerous reviews so you would think the owners/management would have purchased one by now). Additional plates, bowls, cutlery, etc would also have been useful. For the price we paid, we expected a slightly higher standard so wouldn't choose to stay again.

    Dear Guest. Thank you for your feedback. I was quite surprised, on reading your review, by the standards you encountered, in particular the comments regarding the fridge, plinths and shower door, as our cleaners should check the fridge has been emptied, the shower doors cleaned and any problems are to be reported to myself for action and in this instance, I had not been informed of any problems. I went to the property to check out your feedback and confirm the fridge had been vandalized, to the extent that the fridge needed to be replaced and the plinths had to be refitted and sadly the additional comments regarding the property were pretty accurate. We have discussed cleaning standards previously with our service provider and they don't appear able to meet the required standard and so we have changed supplier. The property has been redecorated, carpets on the stairs and landings have been replaced and we have ordered a new sofa on the ground floor and the property has been thoroughly cleaned. It is very disappointing for us as owners to receive negative feedback, but it is the only way to maintain standards. I am extremely sorry the property was not up to standard at the time of your visit but thank you very much I am very grateful for bringing this matter to our attention in order for us to be able to bring Puddle Ducks back to the standard our guests expect. Property Owner

    Reviewed by CarlySep 2023

  • "Cottage was true to photos and had everything we needed."

    Layout was excellent and loads of storage space. Very clean both on the inside and the back yard. Hot tub man came daily to check it. We had been informed that the jets were not working but that did not bother us. Property is in a fabulous location literally a 2 minute walk to shops, bars and restaurants. Despite the close proximity we never heard any noise. No complaints from us and we would certainly return

    Thank you very much for your kind comments they are very much appreciated. Mrs. Puddle ducks is a very popular and busy property and although our team try their best to ensure the very highest of standards for our guests, inevitable things aren't always as we would like and I am so pleased it was to your liking, I am so please you enjoyed your stay and hope we see you again. Kind Regards David Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sharon LesleySep 2023

  • "Pictures for this cottage were accurate, however when you arrive at the cottage there are massive signs or Wear and tear, cleanliness is well below par, net curtains and bedding could do with being replaced, carpet could do with a deep clean."

    We requested a cot bed and High chair but couldn’t find them on first inspection but eventually found them in the cupboard under the stairs both were very dirty and had to be cleaned before use, would have been nice if they had been set up on arrival and cleaned for us as it’s not a cheap holiday experience. The hot tub needs to be replaced as it’s not fit for use ( missing covers on most jets , no lights and it felt unclean). Would not book this cottage again sorry we paid A lot of money and I don’t feel it reflected that.

    Reviewed by LesleyAug 2023

  • "We had overall lovely stay at Mrs puddleducks the location was brilliant."

    Close to shops bars and restaurants everything you would need. The bus stop is very near for my mother and father who couldn't walk into bowness and Ambleside. Its ideal if you don't want to use the car as the parking in nearby towns can get get busy. A couple of disappointing things one was the jets on the hot tubs aren't working, I can see others have mention this. Also the hoover smelt like wet dog too the point it was over powering and we have a dog and I've never smelt anything like it and the paint work was a little tired. This is purely feedback, we had a great time and we had the best time exploring and it was great base for all our family. Older and younger.

    Thank you for your feedback. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall and note your comments on shortcomings noted during your stay. Regarding the hot tub we know some of the jets require replacing and they are ordered and will be fitted as soon as they arrive. Our cleaners do not use the hoover at our property but obviously it is available for guests to use .I have asked all filters and the hoover is to be cleaned. Mrs. Puddle ducks is a very busily property and maintenance ,such as painting, is carried out in the winter months and whilst we recognise our property should be perfect for guests to stay however painting is something that cannot be done on changeover. Thank you again for your feedback I assure you all items will be addressed and do hope you will stay with us in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by DanielleAug 2023

  • "The property is tired and cleanlinese is poor, The pictures of the property must have been taken when it first opened as it bears no resembelence to the actual property itself it does not look like the description provided."

    The rear garden is untidy and falling to bits, hot tub is not working correctly jets blocked. Front Garden untidy. I understand that it is rented but the condition of internal and external features look to have been deterioating for quite sometime not just over one season. But ha ho you have had your money so I am sure you will throw this honest reflection of our thoughts in the bin, and move on.

    Reviewed by JohnAug 2023

  • "Lovely cottage in a great location."

    Kitchen amenities could improve (e.g., a larger frying pan) and the lack of washer/dryer is an issue - a trip to the laundrette whilst on holiday isn't ideal. Maybe an outhouse if there's no space internally. Otherwise a great little cottage for access to the lakes.

    Reviewed by MatthewJul 2023

  • "The stay here was okay."

    Not great but okay. The positives were that the location was good. However there were quite a few negatives. The beds were not that comfortable, the shower on the second floor didn't work very well. When we arrived, there was hardly anything in the property ( including only half a roll of toilet paper) which is not helpful after a 5 hour journey having to rush out and get everything. We wanted to cook breakfast/dinner a few nights but the kitchen isn't very well stocked with frying pans (only one small one, hard to cook for a group) so this all made it difficult. The jets hardly do anything on the hot tub. I understand that it's a busy area and you don't want them to be loud but they were not great and didn't do much. When we arrived the outside bin was full from the people who stayed before and it smelt so strong you could smell it when being sat in the hot tub, it was disgusting and not relaxing at all. The lights in the hot tub also doesn't work which isn't great for safety reasons when It starts to get darker. Someone also popped by a few times to top up the hot tub with chemicals which is positive. However there was not any form of notice to when they would be arriving (not that we could see) which felt very uncomfortable that someone would just walk into the property while you are there Also the WiFi is very slow. Overall, a very disappointing stay.

    Reviewed by ClaireJul 2023

  • "Generally, a great lace up stay."

    Very close to the main town and in walking distance of amazing bars and restaurants. Some beautiful small shops snd convenient stores - Coop snd Sainsbury’s open late. The place is very well set out. However we couldn’t sit in the upper lounge in the evening as no curtain on the all glass door. Though this was a lovely room. The bedrooms are basic but the bunk room lacks any clothes or any storage of any sort and the 2 double rooms have a small wardrobe - sufficient for a weeks holiday. However barely enough hangers for the use of 6 people let alone 6. I ended up buying some. The upper shower at the bank worked very well and was very powerful. The hot tub, a welcome extra (though paid for in the rental price) was a disappointment as is was powerless even within jets opened to the max, the bubbles were lacking ! Though great to see that the hot tub is regularly checked, it would have been nice to know when he was coming as it was a surprise to see him appear each time. The kitchen, I found to have generally all the facilities snd equipment I needed. Though missing a couple of things - scissors and a bread cutting knife! The fridge was just about big enough for us and we took advantage of putting some items in the wine fridge. Generally the place is quite grubby, especially the lower floor. The floors were dirty, no vacuuming had been done in a long time under the sofa - the fluff and dirt under was awful. I think you need to reconsider your cleaners seriously. The glass tables and mirrors were dreadful as if wiped with a dirty cloth and the skirting boards and other surfaces has clearing not been touched in s long time. The bin was dreadful, the previous guest had clearly had fish and the bin absolutely stunk! I’d actually question whether it is cleaned between guests. Which leads me to another thing, the lack of any cleaning products in the property. I would not have expected to go out snd but cloths, washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets, disinfectant, cleaner sprays and bleach!

    Reviewed by NicolaJun 2023

  • "Came last year found it perfect on returning this year not as much the hot tub was not up to standard only oneside worked at a time a guy came twice we spoke to him about it ge said he would cone back on Friday by then we were leaving so not happy."

    The shower in the main room was hot my brother nearly scalded himself. ONLY one pot towel and no oven gloves should be better

    Reviewed by MarieJun 2023

  • "Having booked ages before, was very disappointed to arrive to an uncleaned spot after a long travel day, 7 hour flight and 2 hour train ride."

    We spent extra to go out for dinner to wait for cleaners. The cleaner had done a fabulous job when we arrived back a few hours later. The place was central, hot tub very relaxing.

    Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry to hear of the issue that you experienced with the cleanliness of the property. We were glad to be able to attend to resolve this. We hope to welcome you again. The Lakes Cottage Holidays Owner Relations Team. Property Owner

    Reviewed by FrancesMay 2023

  • "Nice cottage, great location."

    Clean and tidy. After a five hour drive it was a shame to have to go out to buy toilet rolls. Did not expect a welcome pack but did expect that basic item to be available. The shower in the main bathroom was either boiling or freezing so could not be used, luckily we used the other shower. That needs to be fixed. Otherwise a pleasant stay

    Reviewed by Glenn StephenMay 2023

  • "The kitchen needs to be equipped with more good quality items and should have enough of everything to match in order to feed and provide."

    A nice table setting for the correct amount of guests. Pans were not great as there wasn’t enough, owsmall frying pan only

    Reviewed by MagsApr 2023

  • "The house is lovely, the choice of 2 sitting rooms meant the teenager in the party could escape."

    The location was perfect, the hot-tub was lovely and it was reassuring that it was checked on regularly while we were there. We do think that perhaps a change of towels could be left or dropped off midway through the week, as a week of showering and hot-tub with only 1 bath towel each was tough with no washing machine (days out and Easter opening prevented using the launderette).

    Thank you for your feedback and kind comments . Unfortunately, due to lack of space and that most guests only stay 3 or 4 days , we decided not to install a washing machine, as there is a launderette just around the corner, but I do very much take your point about bank holiday closures. I will speak to our linen providers and discuss your comments and arrange something for future stays. Thanks again for taking the time to pass feedback it is much appreciated, as is your custom and we hope you stay at Mrs. Puddle ducks in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by FrancesApr 2023

  • "The cottage was in a perfect location, easy walking distance to shops, bars and restaurants."

    The cottage was lovely and clean. Also warm. We all enjoyed the hot tub too. Would definitely recommend and hope to return soon.

    Reviewed by NicolaJan 2023

  • "Myself and friends rented the cottage over Christmas this year."

    There were 5 adults and 1 child and overall we have rated the cottage 3/5 stars. The location in the centre of Windermere is the property’s best asset - a 2 minute walk to the shops, cafes and 5 mins to the nearest bar. Windermere itself was charming and the people in shops/ bars very friendly. We were contacted by the company as we were driving to Windermere to let us know that the cleaners would be later than check in time and we were ok with that. However, the cottage was left without some bedding being changed and other bedding left over the bannister for us to make up our own… All the bathrooms were clean and tidy with towels left. Unfortunately, the outside bin was not emptied and was left full to the point that we could not fit in any of our rubbish bags and had to leave them in the garden, which was not ideal. The facilities in the cottage were not as good as we had expected - the kitchen/diner was less spacious than it looked on the photographs and the fridge was small for the number of people it catered for, with only an inbuilt ice box and as we were there over Christmas, we had a lot of food !! There were also only 5 dining chairs provided,so we had to use a chair from the garden. We felt that a washing machine would have been handy, especially if you were staying longer than a few days. There were 2 lounge areas, one at ground level and one on the basement level next to the kitchen. Unfortunately, none of these rooms provided enough seating for 5 adults and a child to sit together and again we ended up using a garden chair / footstool. The 2 double bedrooms benefitted from having en-suite facilities, though the heating was temperamental with one of the radiators not working. The room with the bunk beds was very small with no furniture apart from a small shelf on the wall under the mirror. This room had been described as potentially having one adult on the bottom bunk and a child on top - the room was definitely not big enough for an adult to share with nowhere to store clothes etc. The main bathroom was spacious,but unfortunately the shower was temperamental to the point that we could not use it; it went from scalding hot to cold several times in the course of a shower and no amount of adjusting controls made any difference. The flusher in the main toilet was not efficient and required many flushes to clear even toilet paper. The company were very helpful and friendly any time we had dealings with them and got back to us promptly when needed. In summary, although we enjoyed our stay, we felt that the cottage was too small for a group of 5 adults and a child

    Thank you for your feedback. Mrs. Puddle ducks is a traditional 3-bedroom Lake district cottage and space is at a premium. I'm sorry you found the accommodation tight, but the majority of holiday lets in the town are of similar dimensions. A decision was made not install a washing machine, as most guests only stay for short periods and due to shortage of space, but there is a very good launderette in town. I have discussed your comments regarding the bed linen, the cleaners confirmed that they did call you to explain they would be late, due to staff issues at Christmas, when they got to the property, they dropped some of the bedding on the floor outside and had to go and get new ,when they returned they offered to make the bed but your husband told them that he would see to it, so I'm sorry you were apparently not aware of this ,I have asked the plumber to call to check the shower and the radiator and regarding the bin ,this is emptied by the local authority and they probably didn't empty it over the Christmas period however this is out of our control . Thank you for bringing this to our attention and hope these issues did not detract from enjoying your holiday in Windermere and the fabulous lake district. Property Owner

    Reviewed by FionaDec 2022

  • "Absolutely loved our stay."

    Fabulous cottage. Ideal location. As we are a family of 3 adults with knee problems all the stairs over three floors was abit much but would definitely recommend this cottage it’s lovely. Two sitting rooms which was perfect for my mum who likes to watch all the soaps and we don’t. However the downstairs sitting room was very cold there seemed to be a draft coming from the cupboard near the door. The cottage has everything you need. We really really enjoyed my December birthday week. The Christmas tree was a lovely added touch too x

    Reviewed by KellyDec 2022

  • "The only fault we had is the radiator in the front double room did not work , so was very cold in there."

    We all had a fab time , lovely place ,very picturesque. The hot tub was an added bonus. We would definitely book again.

    Reviewed by JoanneDec 2022

  • "We enjoyed our stay & most elements were as we expected however we found the 2 flights of stairs a bit taxing for us at our ages although we were aware of them before we booked, the bed was very comfortable all in all an enjoyable stay."

    Reviewed by PaulDec 2022

  • "Property in a great location central to everything with a fantastic Italian around the corner(San Pietro) but be warned book well in advance."

    The hot tub was fantastic, clean, hot and private though the canopy cover needs repair/replacement A little more attention to cleaning would be good as banisters were dirty and sticky also a number of cobwebs on walls. A few suggestions to make future guest stays easier, Kitchen- oven gloves, baking and pizza trays/stones Bedrooms- thermostatic radiator valves to regulate temperature in bedrooms, the front bedroom didn’t work not a problem as we like bedrooms cool but guests in coming cold months will need heat En-suite- just a little touch would be some small soaps we brought everything but soaps. Overall I wouldn’t hesitate recommending the cottage would come back anytime and probably will.

    Reviewed by GrahamOct 2022

  • "Good location, close to all local amenities."

    The property is however tired, with things like the back gate, the hot tub cover & the main shower screen all broken. These have all been mentioned in previous reviews but never mended, All fairly cheap & easy fixes, but annoying for occupants. There was also no Prosecco as promised. It was the little touches that let it down. The cottage itself was in the heart of things with everything you needed within walking distance & it was reasonably comfortable. Unfortunately the cons outweigh the pros for us.

    Reviewed by NicholasSep 2022

  • "Fantastic cottage."

    Located next to shops and bus stops so we could move about with ease. At the end of a long day of exploring we could relax in the hot tub. The back gate could be more secure as we had a small dog with us. However if you use the key located in the kitchen it makes it a bit more secure. Remember to unlock it so the maintenance man for the hot tub can get in. Great holiday. Fantastic cottage

    Reviewed by LouiseJul 2022

  • "The property was lovely."

    Only recommendation would be the speed of the internet. We are traveling but working and the internet speed was so weak we could not work in the house.

    Thank your for your review. As a result of your comment, we have contacted our internet provider who has tested the line and confirmed that there was a fault which was reducing the download speed. This has now been rectified. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, it is much appreciated. Otherwise I am really pleased that you have enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by FloJun 2022

  • "First time staying in a cottage we found it excellent it was perfect in every ..."

    First time staying in a cottage we found it excellent it was perfect in every way great that it allowed us two bring our two frenchie with us thanks they loved it would definitely recommend

    Reviewed by MarieMay 2022

  • "Loved the hot tub!"

    It was warm and ready when we arrived and helped us relax after busy days hill walking and wild swimming. Minutes walk from cafes, pubs and restaurants, not to mention beautiful lakes and mountains. If I had to nit-pick, I would change the wicker placemats as they don't clean well. Otherwise a lovely stay, thank you Mrs Puddleduck.

    Reviewed by EmmaMay 2022

  • "Very disappointed with hot tub."

    The cottage was specifically booked as it had a hot tub. We used this for the first, and last time, on Tuesday evening. The sides of the tub felt dirty and clearly had not been cleaned prior to our stay. As we were preparing to leave the property the hot tub service man arrived and I explained our concerns, he told us they are cleaned between each stay. He ran his hand around the inside of the tub, and confirmed it hadn’t been cleaned, apologised, and immediately phoned his manager to advise the tub had not been cleaned prior to our arrival. The cottage itself is in a wonderful location with all amenities, just massively let down with the hot tub.

    Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you didn't contact Lakes Cottage Holidays during your stay as they would have had the hot tub checked. We have been reassured by the servicing company that the hot tub had been cleaned and drained according to their schedule. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JacquiApr 2022

  • "Mrs Puddleducks is the perfect base for an action packed Lake District holiday."

    The off street parking and hot tub were fantastic plus points to the well appointed home from home. We really enjoyed the location being close to shops, walks and transport hubs.

    Reviewed by AlisonApr 2022

  • "Brilliant location."

    Well equipped but some items very worn or "Billy Basic". Lovely comfortablebed.. Cafetiere broken just usable. Ensuite bathrooms very very small Note said enjoy your complementary bottle of prosecco but none was provided!

    Reviewed by AnneMar 2022

  • "We really couldn’t have asked for anything more."

    The location and off road parking was perfect. The house is very well equipped with everything we needed for a relaxing mini break. The beds were comfy and having a hot tub made it extra special. Thank you for making our stay so perfect.

    Reviewed by PaulaFeb 2022

  • "Lovely stay at Mrs Puddleducks."

    Very well situated near the centre of Windermere. It had everything we needed in the kitchen and having a bathroom and bedroom each (3 friends) was really good. A few minor issues, the small bedroom has no storage at all, the door was hanging off the top hinges so wouldnt shut, the shower door was off its bottom rails and some outdoor lights by the hot tub would have been useful as it gets very dark early this time of year. We managed to park at the back but there were no spaces at the front so glad we only had one car.That said these things did not spoil our stay at all and we would definitely stay again

    Reviewed by KarenDec 2021

  • "We stayed as a group of 4 friends and thoroughly enjoyed our stay the 3 bathrooms were a bonus and the cottage had everything we needed and was in a great location."

    Only 15/20 mins stroll into Bowness would definitely stay again

    Reviewed by AndreaOct 2021

  • "Some kitchen utensils need replacing,especially tin opener,and waste of time with TV in basement."

    Otherwise really enjoyed stay.

    Reviewed by PaulSep 2021

  • "We had a fabulous holiday in the Lake District, and Mrs Puddleducks was a perfect location to stay to explore the area."

    Mrs Puddleducks had everything a family needs and was very comfortable throughout. The hot tub at the end of the day was also very much appreciated. Totally recommended property in an amazing location

    Reviewed by RebeccaAug 2021

  • "Fabulous location, excellent facilities in a clean and comfortable home."


    Reviewed by StewartAug 2021

  • "Have just come back from a 4 night stay, property in great location and very clean however very steep stairs, to 1st & top floor, not mentioned in description, Bed was really uncomfortable, mattress protector too small, should mention that extra towels are needed for hot tub, no bath mats in showers, no ice tray, and a laminate saying enjoy your bottle of fizz, on us, no Prosecco in cooler!"

    ! Although according to guest book the occupants before us had there’s!!

    Reviewed by BarbaraJun 2021

  • "The cottage location was great !"

    for the most part the cottage was comfortable except for the bed in one room it had a lump in the middle which made it slope towards the side of the bed therefore struggling to stay in bed so made for not a great nights sleep if a new mattress was in place there would be no negatives at all parking is tight but we do have a large 4x4 so are used to tight spaces the kitchen is well kitted out Hot tub was at 38 degrees it was great after a day out . Only a short walk to all the amenities we used the bus to get to the lake which was easy and only a 2 minute walk to the stop I would advise to book places to eat as area was busy

    Reviewed by LindaJun 2021

  • "The bed in the back bed room was not very comfortable, had a mattress topper on that did not fit."

    Both front and rear doors need to be adjusted, I can only guess at what the neighbours thought every time I had to slam the rear door to close it. Not really a complaint, just something you should know.

    Reviewed by PaulMay 2021

  • "House was clean and comfortable and reasonably well appointed."

    Very good location. Hot tub was good.Small number of issues which could improve. Firstly, we clearly did not read the description closely enough to work out that the cottage is on 3 floors with narrow stairs. We had a 15 month old baby, and were glad of the one stair gate, although two may have been safer. We also did not work out that there is no washing machine and with wet weather, walkers and a baby, that was a distinct disadvantage although the local launderette got a lot of trade from us. Towels were a bit small and the female contingent do like a fluffy towel. Given how clean the cottage was, toilet brushes could do with changing - they were past their best and left more than they removed. Overall, would use it again.

    Reviewed by RobMay 2021

  • "Really great place to stay, central to shops and pubs."

    Super Morden, clean and comfortable. Only criticism is the TVs were not easy to use.

    Reviewed by PhoebeApr 2021

  • "Overall the cottage was as pleasant and as advertised, very clean, well equipped kitchen."

    the only problem we had was the parking. The space at the back of the house was fine, neighbours parked their cars on the road at the back in the evening blocking the exit. This was quite difficult as we have a big car. We also tried to park at the front and there was no chance of this as many other people had parked the cars.

    Reviewed by KellyApr 2021

  • "It's a nice house with good facilities, clean and tidy."

    The hot tub was amazing and as it was raining and windy most of the time we were there it was great to have the canopy and that it was well protected from the wind! We didn't have a car so the location is great for the railway station, buses and the supermarket.

    Reviewed by MichaelDec 2020

  • "Absolutely beautiful little house and spotlessly clean."

    The prosecco in the cooler was a very nice surprise too, thank you! The 3 bedrooms, shower rooms, lounge areas and kitchen were very comfortable and had everything we needed for our stay. Well within walking distance of the lake itself and Bowness too. We had a wonderfully relaxing trip. The only issue we had was upon arrival when we attempted to park round the back of the property (in the advertised “off road parking”) we were unable to do so because of the amount of cars and vans from a nearby business which made it impossible to access the rear parking bay. We managed to get parked at the front and used the parking permit provided at the accommodation, however it is a fairly busy road I think we were lucky to get a space. Just something for the owners, and other guests, to be aware of.

    Reviewed by CharrisOct 2020

  • "Absolutely stunning and immaculately clean."

    The Prosecco in the wine fridge when we arrived was a lovely surprise and very welcomed! Would definitely book again. Hot tub is well maintained and also lovely and clean.

    Reviewed by KatieOct 2020

  • "Well situated cottage in Windermere with everything you need inside, nice little seating area and hot tub out back which gets the afternoon sunshine, all local amenities are just a few minutes walk away with plenty places to dine out “need to book in advance due to covid restrictions” also parking available for 2 cars."

    Reviewed by ColinAug 2020

  • "The Wi-fi could probably do with looking at - the download speed was very poor, which wasn’t great when one of us had to work whilst there."

    Apart from that, everything was great thank you

    Reviewed by CatherineJul 2020

  • "Excellent all round experience"

    Reviewed by CraigJul 2020

  • "Home from home, nice nest to explore the Lake District."

    The hot tub is definitely a bonus. Lots of shops and restaurants just on the doorstep.

    Reviewed by ZsuzsannaJul 2020

  • "Location perfect."

    Shops, bars , restaurants all within a few metres walk. Jacuzzi a bonus at the end of the day . Would highly recommend.

    Reviewed by DonMar 2020

  • "Ease of booking initially."

    SImple App to manage my holiday. GOOD communication at all times. The office staff in Windermere were lovely all greeted us with broad genuine smiles and made the collection of keys etc so simple. The cottage was decorated and had a Xmas tree we thought this was a really nice touch. Comfortable beds with good sized rooms. Hot tub was immaculate and a very nice man came twice to maintain it during our stay.

    Reviewed by MichaelDec 2019

  • "Superb location, though don’t expect real hot tub privacy because of the central location"

    Reviewed by DavidNov 2019

  • "En suites in main bedrooms, modern decor was very impressive, locality to restaurants and shops."

    Reviewed by SylviaJul 2019

  • "Its a little inconvenience not having laundry machine in the house"

    Reviewed by FangJul 2019

  • "Beautifully presented property."

    ,in great location everything u need on your doorstep ,would definitely stay here again ,credit to the owners and all who help towards making the property it is .

    Reviewed by RoyJun 2019

  • "The cottage is lovely, just thing a couple things should be added."

    It would be nice if there there is a curtain across the front door, whilst there we had to but one of the blankets over the door, also all the rooms seem to have TV's with DVD players with the exception of the downstairs living area. Also the ensuite in the front bedroom is very tiny, it's nice that the two top bedrooms have them but the one at the front is tiny and not user friendly. The hot tub is a bonus with this place, however did feel a bit over looked, but that's what you get with a terraced house. The location couldn't be faulted, it was perfect close to town with alot of nice places to eat, drink plus a co-op, sainsburys. The welcome pack was a fantastic touch, we would of liked more details on what's in the area, and even a guest book so that we could of put some recommendations in and see what others would recommend.

    Reviewed by RachelJun 2019

  • "The cottage was beautiful presented and clean on arrival."

    There was a little complimentary surprise on arrival which was lovely and went down with the girl. In general it was a lovely relaxing girly weekend in the beautiful setting of Windermere. The cottage was easy to find, close to the town with everything on your doorstep. Thank you for a lovely stay :)

    Reviewed by EmmaMay 2019

  • "Mrs Puddleduck's was wonderful!"

    We had a fabulous time there, lots of home comforts. Loved the hot tub!!!! The call on Saturday to see if everything was ok was great, other Lakes cottage companies could learn from this!

    Reviewed by KayMay 2019

  • "Gorgeous cottage, close to pubs and shops, loved the layout and the hot tub in the enclosed yard."

    Small detail but it's the first time I've stayed at a self catering cottage and had to go out and buy hand soap for the bathrooms and kitchen. However the cottage was full of charm, we loved the general Beatrix Potter theme and it was a lovely surprise having a bottle of bubbly ready chilled. Would definitely go back.

    Thank you for the great review, we really appreciate your feedback and thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We apologise that the hand soap was not provided on this occasion and we will ensure it continues to be placed inside the property. Property Owner

    Reviewed by KarenApr 2019

  • "On arrival the cottage was had a very welcoming feel."

    We loved the complimentary bottle of prosecco which we thoroughly enjoyed. The cottage was spotlessly clean. All the rooms were very spacious and we loved the on suite bathrooms in the 2 upstairs bedrooms even though they were quite small still very adequate. The 2 living areas were very cosy. All bedrooms and living rooms were supplied with Tvs which were all great only feedback I would say is some of the tvs YouTube didn't work but wasn't a problem it was just to let you know. The hot tub was amazing and we were lucky enough to have amazing weather both in the day time and night lovely added feature. The area is very well situated for walks and for places to eat and drink. Overall would definitely recommend this cottage.

    Reviewed by DawnApr 2019

  • "So so so pleased with customer service I received from Sykes , I queried a few things with them and received prompt and friendly replies."

    Stayed at Mrs Puddleducks Cottage , Windermere, beautiful cottage, comfortable, warm , very clean and the hot tub was fab, had an amazing weekend, THANK YOU

    Reviewed by AnaMar 2019

  • "Really lovely cottage, easy to pick up and drop off keys."

    Main problem is the 10am check out time. A 12pm checkout would be much nicer. It was a bit of a stretch getting out on time and was a bit of a downer on our Sunday morning

    Reviewed by JackNov 2018

  • "Nice cottage with well equipped kitchen and comfortable sofas and more spacious than expected as there were 2 living rooms."

    Bathrooms not particularly clean - toilet & sink ok but shower tray was dusty. Matresses on beds were lumpy and uncomfortable.

    Reviewed by MartinAug 2018

  • "Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mrs Puddleducks, very tastefully decorated and ..."

    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mrs Puddleducks, very tastefully decorated and the location was perfect for us as we didn't have a car, would certainly return x

    Reviewed by IsobelJun 2018

  • "Before I become too negative I would like to say the accommodation was ideally situated , clean and ample room, however there were a few things that could be improved."

    There was a note welcoming us with a bottle of wine in cooler it wasn’t there, not an issue but not a good start. We were very disappointed as the accommodation was over three floors and this wasn’t really apparent from the images, this caused a problem as the stairs were quite steep and subsequently quite tiring, especially as kitchen and living area we used were on lower floor and toilet on different floor. Average age 65. Also the television in bedroom at the back didn’t work. The internet service was terrible so limited to choice especially as they had invested in Now tv and it didn’t work. The bed also in main bedroom needs a new mattress as this was very uncomfortable. These issues won’t stop us using Sykes again I hasten to add.

    Reviewed by ChristineMay 2018

  • "Thanks for the bottle of prosecco, nice touch!"

    Was extremely disappointed that the hot tub wasn’t able to be used on our first evening, despite us not arriving until almost 7.30pm. It was only at 28 degrees as it had been treated and cleaned. We had been really building up the excitement for our children for weeks, telling them as soon as we arrive, we’ll jump straight in. They were devastated to not be able to use it as soon as we got there, having to wait for the next morning when it had heated up. We chose this property due to its location and also the hot tub, so feel we’ve missed out on one night of using then main facility we had booked it for.

    Reviewed by CarlaFeb 2018

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.


  • Over three floors
  • Three bedrooms: 2 x double with en-suite shower, basin and WC, 1 x ground floor bunk bedroom suitable for 2 children or 1 adult & 1 child
  • Ground floor shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Sitting room
  • Lower ground floor kitchen with dining area
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge and dishwasher
  • Gas central heating
  • TV with Freeview
  • WiFi. Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels included
  • Cot and highchair available
  • Off road parking for 1 car, on road parking for 1 vehicle using the Parking Permit
  • Enclosed patio area with garden furniture and hot tub
  • Two well-behaved small dogs allowed
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Note: Max 5 adults - adults to use the bottom bunk only

The property

Mrs Puddleducks is an enchanting traditional Lakeland stone, mid-terrace, three-storey cottage, refurbished to a high standard and situated in the heart of Windermere.

The cottage can sleep five making it ideal for families or groups of friends who want to enjoy a charming and cosy retreat or explore the Lake Districts spectacular sites of natural beauty.

Boasting the feel of a modern holiday home, Mrs Puddleducks features solid wooden floors throughout.

On the lower ground floor is a diner kitchen, equipped with electric cooker and hob, microwave, dishwasher and fridge.

On the ground floor is the living room features a wall mounted plasma TV with Freeview and DVD player.

The ground floor also hosts a bunk bedroom and a shower room with WC.

On the first floor, there are two double bedrooms which both feature TV’s, en-suite shower rooms and WC.

Wi-Fi is available.

At the rear of the property, French doors lead out onto a patio area and hot tub.

The cottage also has private parking for one car and a parking permit for one additional car.

Being in the centre of Windermere, Mrs Puddleducks has local shops, coffee bars and internationally acclaimed restaurants all on the doorstep.

Situated in the Lake District, guests at Mrs Puddleducks are spoilt for choice with nearby natural sights to see.

Orrest Head offers stunning views of Lake Windermere and the surrounding fells.

School Knott and The Dales Way are also accessible, while Lake Windermere is just a mile away.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


  • Ambleside 5 miles
  • Kendal 8.7 miles

The twin towns of Bowness and Windermere are both vibrant, fun-filled places set within the splendid scenery of the Lake District. Both towns provide a range of amenities, shops and restaurants to suit all tastes whilst Ambleside offers the additional attraction of a boat ride to Bowness, the Lakeside Aquarium and Beatrix Potter's 'Hill Top House' at Sawrey. Grizedale Forest Park is within easy driving distance and is home to a range of activities including many good walks, mountain biking and the 'Go Ape' adventure park. The region also boasts many National Trust properties as well as a variety of water sports for those who prefer a more adrenaline-fuelled trip. Children will enjoy a trip to the 'World of Beatrix Potter' in Bowness whilst the villages of Grasmere, Coniston Water, Kendal, Keswick and the Lakeland Mountains are all within easy reach.

View more holiday cottages in Windermere

Please note: A Good Housekeeping Bond of £85 is applied to this property
Property sleeps 6 BUT MAX 5 ADULTS. no adults in top bunk bed

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas