Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Lake District 6 minutes ago

18 people have recently viewed this property

Waterbird

Lakeview 4, White Cross Bay near Windermere, Cumbria & The Lake District (Ref. 1068862)

4.3

Good

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

Features

  • Icon/Feature/Off-road parking Off road parking
  • Icon/Feature/Garden or Patio Garden / Patio
  • Icon/Feature/Dishwasher Dishwasher
  • Icon/Feature/WiFi Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

40 Customer Reviews

  • "We had a lovely week at Waterbird."

    The location was perfect on the edge of lake Windermere. Accommodation was very comfortable with all the facility's needed for a perfect break. The weather was as expected but with hats and coats on we found some lovely walks, country pubs with views over the lakes. Will we go back to Waterbird? Defiantly

    Thank you for your positive and valued feedback. We were glad to note that you had a lovely week in the Lake District and that you enjoyed many of the walks and places to visit in the English Lakes. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JulianNov 2021

  • "Wow, what an amazing place, I would say the lodge has the best view in White Cross Bay."

    I was a expecting it to be a little tired inside the lodge after reading the previous reviews so took a few cleaning products and air freshener, this was not required, the place was clean, inviting and very cosy on the cold October nights we stayed. I will definitely be booking again and would say to anyone reading these reviews, don’t hesitate, don’t let the previous reviews put you off it’s just perfect.

    Reviewed by StephOct 2021

  • "The Lodge is in a superb position with stunning views across the lake."

    The lodge was lacking in finish for the price of the holiday - with damaged cupboard doors - internal freezer draw missing - on suite toilet seat requiring attention. All in all a relaxing break and these are minor issues but at the top end of the market these should be addressed and not left.

    Thank you for the review Mr Emms. Whilst delighted you enjoyed the location of the lodge and had a relaxing break, we are sorry to hear there were a some minor issues. We apologise for any inconvenience caused and we can tell you that these will be addressed on the next changeover day. Thank you and we hope to welcome you again in the near future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by BryanOct 2021

  • "Beautiful location, disappointed with cleanliness and upkeep of lodge grubby three piece suit, mold on kitchen worktops, thick mold in en -suite shower ,carpets throughout badly marked, windows dirty."

    on arrival musty smell had to purchase febreze air mist to get rid of odour

    Thank you for your feedback, Mr Lee. Waterbird Lodge is in a fantastic location with views that are not to be missed. We are sorry a few things were not quite right for you. We can tell you that the owner is aware of your comments and any issues will be addressed. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention and please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused. On a more positive note, we do hope that you otherwise enjoyed your stay. UPDATE: The Owners would like to say that having stayed at their lodge over the weekend, all issues have been addressed - Including a professional carpet clean and maintenance of decking. The owners take great pride in their lodge and are keen for guests to enjoy it as much as they do. We look forward to welcoming you and many more guests in the near future. Kindest regards, Lake District Lodge Holidays. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ChrisSep 2021

  • "Having stayed in waterbird 2 years ago we were all excited to stay again, this time we took our own sun loungers as we knew this was the one item that was lacking."

    However the lodge itself was disappointing, This isn’t a cheap lodge to rent and in my opinion not one penny is reinvested for the guests, the cream carpet in the living room is so stained and I could smell dog pee throughout, the living room furniture is also very badly stained, the mattresses are desperately needing changed and the middle room again badly smelt of dog pee. We had a spiders nest in the living room which was removed my the cleaner who was lovely, the living room blinds were broken and a girl did come to measure up for new ones one morning which had been pretty arranged. The television broke the first night any took until Thursday to be fixed and with no tv in either of the double bedrooms this was a major issue. The wi-fi is very very poor in the lodge and my son in law actually had to drive round the park to download films to his laptop to watch at night despite four calls for assistance and to get signals checked. The outside railings and glass fronts was filthy on both sides spoiling the view when actually sitting at the waters edge and the outside living room windiws were covered in grease and hand prints. I was so disappointed as we brought family and paid a lot for this lodge, the owners need to reinvest for the guests and not just reap the benefits as the lodge is really tired, the decking is damaged in parts the railings badly need stained and maintained and the metal furniture is rusty and well past it’s day. Very very disappointed and felt let down that we paid a premium at these times and in my opinion not one pillow or cushion looked or felt like it had been upgraded in two years never mind tile grout or carpet. Owners shouldn’t be complacent, yes you have the view but certainly not the facilities. With newer and more modern lodges available in the park, this was so overpriced and lacking basic expectations.

    Thank you for the review and we are so sorry to hear a number of things were not quite right for you. We shall certainly look into all you had said and address any issues accordingly. We are disappointed that your lodge experience was not the same if not better than your last and we will do all we can to make sure something similar is not repeated. Thank you for letting us know of these matters and please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused. On a more positive note, we’d be delighted to welcome you again and we are confident you will have a great time from the moment you arrive. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AudreySep 2021

  • "We have stayed at the Waterbird for the past two years."

    The lodge is in a fantastic location and the views are superb and we love being on the Marina. The park is very family friendly and has great facilities including a lovely restaurant. When we arrived at the lodge we were greeted with a lovely welcome bag of treats, this was a nice addition , The lodge is comfortable and has a large decking area to enjoy the views. Unfortunately inside of the lodge is very tired and needs updating, I reported a list of issues last year and it was similar if not worse this year. It’s nothing major but massively let’s this lodge down, the carpets are dirty and stained as well as the sofa - this was the same as last year. Some of the blinds are broken and discoloured, the kitchen cupboards are coming away around the cooker and the kitchen cupboard doors are different shades after some being replaced . Majority of the curtain hooks were falling out of the wall. Chair covers have been added to cover the old dinning chairs but the covers kept coming off when sitting on them. The sofa and chair are electric recliners, we had to switch them off at the wall to avoid our children being hurt. A coffee machine would be a lovely addition to the kitchen maybe a Tassimo or something similar. The decking and outdoor furniture is tired and could with painting and tidying up. Overall we had a lovely holiday, as we did last year, the location and space is what attracts us to this lodge. We have already booked the Waterbird for next year but unsure if we will return following year if the lodge is still the same condition, we don’t feel we are getting value for money or that luxury feel. The prices for this lodge have increased massively over the past two years, but I can’t see any improvements to this lodge. As a loyal returning customer of Lake District lodges and in particular the Waterbird, we have previously received 10% off our booking, but due to the company merging this has now been stopped, a new loyalty scheme has been introduced but I’m not impressed with it. I hope you find this feedback constructive.

    Thank you for your feedback, it is lovely to hear this is your second visit. Nothing your comments, the owner would like to advise work is being carried out on the lodge from October when we move into the quieter months. Due to lockdown and then back to back bookings, we are limited on how much work can be carried out. However, the owner would like to reassure you that all will be resolved for when you return next year. Thank you once again and please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused. Property Owner

    Reviewed by EmmaAug 2021

  • "Had a great holiday in a superb location and lovely lodge."

    The lodge position was perfect and very comfortable. Everything we needed was provided including a slow cooker which was very useful and the welcome pack was a lovely touch. Only criticism would be stains on carpet and one recliner not working. Would definitely return thank you!

    Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted to hear of how much you enjoyed your stay in the lodge. Thank you for your cleaning and maintenance comments, we can confirm the stains are being looked at today and the reason the recliner wasn't working is due to it not being plugged in. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AngelaAug 2021

  • "What an amazing place to stay."

    Absolutely stunning! We have been coming to White Cross Bay for about 25 years and Waterbird exceeded our expectations. It is a beautiful lodge in a fabulous location with wonderful views. Very spacious and well looked after. It has everything you need. We loved the hamper! Wish we could have stayed longer. We had a brilliant holiday

    Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted to hear of how much you enjoyed the lodge. Waterbird Lodge is truly spectacular with a fantastic view that is not to be missed. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by HazelJul 2021

  • "Great lodge loads of space massive veranda beautiful views could do with a ..."

    Great lodge loads of space massive veranda beautiful views could do with a little updating only 10 minute jobs but overall a really lovely lodge

    Reviewed by MichaelJul 2021

  • "Absolutely stunning holiday home, the view is just perfect, the lodge is spacious and the welcome pack was a lovely thought on arrival."

    I would definitely recommend it to family and friends. The only thing I could suggest would enhance the experience would be the addition of a hot tub on the decking area. Would love to return if prices are not over inflated (which they seem to be for next year sadly). Few small maintenance issues to be looked at as previously mentioned by guests but otherwise this is just perfect and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this beautiful lodge.

    Thank you for your review. We are pleased you had a lovely stay at Waterbird Lodge and we will look in to your comments further. I regret due to the parks infrastructure they are not allowing any new hot tubs to be placed on lodges within the park. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JoanneJun 2021

  • "Wow. What more can be said about the view than this!"

    A beautiful, lodge well set out and a fabulous decking overlooking the Lake. We had a wonderful week and didn't want to come home so we have booked it again to overcome our disappointment at having to leave. It was pretty perfect and the addition of some sun loungers would be the icing on the cake to take advantage of the location of the decking. We had a couple of maintenance issues (the patio door locking mechanism went which meant the lodge could not be secured) but the team arrived quickly out of hours to secure it and returned to fix it for the next guests as we departed. Also the fan oven setting did not work so it took 3 x what it should to cook anything (fan setting alone worked but not with the heat selection on which was bizarre) and maintenance assured me this would be fixed for my next visit. All in all absolutely loved it!

    Thank you for your review, we are so pleased to hear of how much you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry you encountered a few maintenance issues and we thank you for bringing them to our attention so we could resolve them for you. Waterbird is an incredible lodge and one of our most popular lodges with a view that is not to be missed. We look forward to welcoming you again later in the year. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JoanneJun 2021

  • "View was incredible!"

    However, the furniture on the decking area was not. Rusty metal furniture with the paint flaking off. Not great with young kids. Needs replacing. Property although nice, was tired in places. Kitchen cupboards need some attention, shower in en suite only had one setting… hot! Dressing table stool had a leg hanging off. The sofas are recliners, we had to switch them off as my kids wouldn’t stop playing with them. One of the arm chairs is remote control and goes completely up, which although my kids found fun… was not very child friendly with my younger child especially, the mechanics which are on view under the chair. This needs to be considered when hiring lodge out for young families. Also, lack of information… the lodge really was missing an information pack… a welcome… some site info and local info. There was nothing. First lodge we’ve visited where there wasn’t some sort of info left for visitors. Overall, the view saved the day, as it made all of the above bare able and made up for it. We did have a lovely stay and would recommend the lodge because of its positioning. But owners need to look at areas of lodge that need attention.

    Thank you for leaving a review following your recent stay to Waterbird Lodge. We are sorry to hear a few things were not quite right for you and your family. Please accept our apologies. We will check the lodge for any issues and address these accordingly. Whilst we note all you say regarding the sofas, the lodge is advertised as having recliners and for many is an added comfort. We can tell you that due to covid, for safety reasons the information folders were removed from all lodges. These will, in time, be put back in although until then we can only apologise for any inconvenience caused. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention and we do hope that you otherwise had a great stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AnnekaJun 2021

  • "The lodge could do with some TLC there are slates missing off the blinds above the patio doors."

    The living room chair has black like grease marks on from someones head,one of the chairs does not recline as the light is out on the power pack,the rack in the one bathroom and radiator are rusty, there is a sign saying only one vehicle can park at the lodge and when i booked was told two vehicles could park, there is a plinth in the kitchen that sticks out. The grill tripped the main electricts and we had to reset them from outside the lodge. The view from the decking and decking was fantastic.

    Reviewed by KevinJun 2021

  • "The lodge location is unbeatable, the Lodge in the main, is lovely, I did however, leave a note for Maintenance, as there were, a few bits that needed attention."

    That said it didn't spoil our holiday unduly, but it would benefit, from a little T.L.C.. However , on our day of departure, we experienced, a problem with our car,and had to vacate the lodge, and sit in our car, while we waited for RAC to arrive, because it was after the 10am departure time. But when your cleaning staff arrived, they very kindly offered us a cup of tea, and allowed us to use the bathroom, excellent customer service, well done to them, two lovely ladies, many thanks to those concerned, Regards Pat&Brian Taylor. May 2021

    Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Waterbird Lodge, the lodge is in an incredible location with views you cannot miss. We confirm the maintenance issues you have reported have been resolved and we thank you for bringing these to our attention. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to our lodge once again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by PatMay 2021

  • "Loved our stay at Waterbird."

    The cabin was brilliantly positioned on Lake Windermere. The park was accommodating and the location of the park was perfect. We will definitely be visiting again. What did you enjoy most about your stay? Views from the cabin What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Day out to Lake Windermere and the ferry

    Mr Faz RasoolOct 2020

  • "We had the best weekend in this superb lodge."

    The facilities were excellent and the location could not be better. What did you enjoy most about your stay? Lakeside location What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Walking up Troutbeck Tongue

    Mr David MillsOct 2020

  • "Beautiful lodge with stunning views."

    Secure decking area was wonderful for us and our dog. We had a very relaxing stay at Waterbird. The lodge is beautiful and well equipped. We had one issue with the electric oven ,maintenance gave us instructions on what settings to use but It still didn What did you enjoy most about your stay? Great weather and location of lodge What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Walks around While moss rydal and Grasmere

    Mrs Patricia AtkinsonOct 2020

  • "A beautiful & spacious lodge in a magical position overlooking the marina & lake."

    The interior of the lodge is really homely and the bedrooms are spacious and not tight & compact unlike some of the other lodges we have stayed in. The decking area is large open and private and was great for our little dog Daisy to roam about on as it is totally enclosed. Suffice to say we are booking our next stay at this beautiful lodge. Also it was really nice to receive a mini hamper on our arrival which was very much appreciated. The lodge is a credit to the owners. Thank you & see you soon. Martin. What did you enjoy most about your stay? Peace tranquillity and a change of venue What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? No need to go anywhere the lodge views give you a change of scenery. Although we always love a visit to Grasmere.

    Mr Martin HicksonOct 2020

  • "Love it here, the best view on Lake Windermere."

    The lodge is lovely too, can What did you enjoy most about your stay? The view What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? If you can, climb a mountain

    Mr Nick MorrisSep 2020

  • "This is our second stay at Waterbird."

    The location is excellent with great accommodation and stunning views of Lake Windermere. It What did you enjoy most about your stay? The fabulous views across the lake from the decking. What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Brockhole

    Mr John SwainAug 2020

  • "The lodge was in an excellent condition."

    It was clean, bright and airy. Looking out over the lake from the spacious deck was a delight. The location was great for exploring Lake Windermere.The booking process and customer care were excellent. What did you enjoy most about your stay? The view What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Fell Foot

    Mr Chris StanburyAug 2020

  • "Stayed at waterbird Lodge from the 24/07 for a week lovley location but needs a few maintenance issues addressed in the kitchen and the decking areas ."

    All in all nothing that really affected our time there white cross bay is a great park also having stayed at both limefitt and fallbarrow this was my favourite due to location for walks and right in between ambleside and windermer. What did you enjoy most about your stay? Lake view What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Walk into ambleside

    Mr Thomas MurrayAug 2020

  • "Are stay was great the weather played a big factor in that as it was sunny most of the week, the lodge was very clean but a bit run down in places I am assuming it What did you enjoy most about your stay?"

    The Lake District What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Brockhole lots of activities and close enough to walk

    Mrs Collette GreenAug 2020

  • "This lodge is fantastic."

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return! The lodge itself is beautiful and has plenty of space. It sleeps 7 and whilst we had 6 of us and a baby, we didn What did you enjoy most about your stay? Relaxation and views What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Due to the weather we didn?t get to do much so could only recommend a walk into Bowness

    Mrs Christina ParksFeb 2020

  • "What an amazing lodge."

    We had such a lovely Christmas in this lodge. So relaxing & views that cannot be beaten. On arrival easy check in. Large spacious lodge. Very clean. (Have never stayed in an LDLH lodge that isn't. ) Couple of issues that were resolved as soon as the office reopened. A few maintenance issues which we highlighted & will hopefully be rectified in this lodge during shut down. Beds extremely hard but suppose that is personal preference. Visited the onsite bar / restaurant. Nice relaxed atmosphere. Wouldn't hesitate staying here again & have recommended to others. Look forward to my next LDLH break in March. What did you enjoy most about your stay? The views & relaxation What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Visit to Bowness. Abundance of fab bars & restaurants

    Mrs Karan LockeJan 2020

  • "Arrived late teatime on Friday, directions to Lodge were easy to find even in the dark."

    The park had made a tremendous effort to celebrate Halloween with a lot of activities for the children. Our Lodge was in a perfect location to enjoy the stunning views especially in the early morning and early evening. We didn't need to use our cars once there. as we enjoyed walking and hopping on and off the bus (every 20 minutes) to get to other places within the area. I would most certainly recommended this Park, so much in fact that I am returning again at the end of November. What did you enjoy most about your stay? Just being with family and enjoying quality family time, in a location that was perfect What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Brockhole and a fabulous walk from Whitemoss to Ambleside via Rydal Caves

    Mrs Pat SayleNov 2019

  • "We had a terrific week apart from weather, it didn't matter as we couldn't have had a better lodge and the position off it."

    Everything was perfect with it and would recommend it highly. Our wee dog didn't even want to leave. What did you enjoy most about your stay? Lodge and position What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Going into Bowness, plenty shops and restaurants

    Mr Andrew HenryOct 2019

  • "We found The Waterbird to be very comfortable and spacious."

    It has a very large deck area which is totally secure for letting the dog free. The best bit is that the deck is right up to the waters edge. All in all a good base for the lakes, but bring your all weather gear! What did you enjoy most about your stay? The deck What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Grasmere Lake

    Mr Alan SnookSep 2019

  • "What can I say, this property is absolutely beautiful."

    The views of the lake were a dream and my whole week there was fabulous. I will definitely be booking this lodge again. It is spotless What did you enjoy most about your stay? The views What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? The walk to Ambleside

    Mrs Alison CooperSep 2019

  • "Perfect in every way, dream location very comfortable lodge."

    Hopefully we will book again soon. Oscar our little Shih Tzu loved it too. What did you enjoy most about your stay? Location What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Windermere is my fave

    Mrs Sharon LeeJul 2019

  • "We stayed here for four days it was the perfect place to relax."

    I felt the best position too. Very clean and up to date. We had a smoke alarm battery run out one call and a man was there at once just perfect. Would definitely stay here again. What did you enjoy most about your stay? The view What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? We went up to Keswich which was lovely too.

    Mr Keith HudsonJul 2019

  • "On arriving to white cross bay the reception staff were very friendly and gave me a map of the park and position of waterbird lodge , so off we went to find it which was pretty easy ."

    I walked up the lodge steps onto the balcony and already was saying ,"wow " to the views . Inside the lodge is absolutely fantastic , it was beautiful and clean ,very light and furnished tastefully. It had everything we needed (except a tin opener ) but apart from that we had all we needed . The views are stunning , such a lovely place to just chill sit and just be . We took our adorable little dog who loved it just as much as we did . I will certainly go back again , it was at the top end of our budget but my goodness I'm so pleased I booked waterbird. What did you enjoy most about your stay? The views over lake windermere What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Walking up into the hills and looking back down to windermere , it takes your breath away .

    Mrs Mandy GreenJun 2019

  • "An excellent location, arrival info and access spot on."

    Lodge superb! Better than we had hoped for! What did you enjoy most about your stay? The peacefulness. What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Exploring the other lakes!

    Mr Ian KerrJun 2019

  • "Beautiful place and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay."

    Our lodge was very well maintained and perfect setting.Thank you Lake District Holidays. What did you enjoy most about your stay? Beautiful scenery and home from home What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Trips on boats

    Mrs Lisa GleaveJun 2019

  • "Amazing views over lake Windermere , this lodge is in a perfect location."

    It was furnished with everything you needed, very homely. Amazing stay and would definitely recommend . What did you enjoy most about your stay? The views What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Boat ride

    Mr Jonathan CristiniJun 2019

  • "This lodge was amazing, the pictures don What did you enjoy most about your stay?"

    Everything What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? The views

    Mrs Lucinda ClaytonJun 2019

  • "We booked the day we arrived, the location was so surprising, right in the waters edge, the patio area was massive, the lodge itself was lovely and comfortable and immaculately clean."

    Will definitely book it again. What did you enjoy most about your stay? The location of the lodge What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Fab for photos

    Mrs Audrey KiltieMay 2019

  • "We enjoyed our stay at the Waterbird Lodge."

    The staff were very friendly and helpful at the leisure facility. Overall, it was a great value for money and we were very surprised with the beautiful view from the lodge. Would recommend to anyone who would want a relaxing holiday. What did you enjoy most about your stay? The scenary and Great view of the lake What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Great views from our hike and great local activities

    Mr Rommel AbadMay 2019

  • "Beautiful lodge set in the most stunning location."

    ..with an amazing view ...had a fab week ....can't wait to come back. What did you enjoy most about your stay? Location What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? loved walking to low wood bay most days for lunch...

    Mrs Jane AdamApr 2019

  • "Lovely lodge perfectly situated on the edge of Windermere."

    Furnished to an extremely high standard and very comfortable. We will certainly re-book for future Lake District visits. What did you enjoy most about your stay? Views and comfort. What one experience (e.g attraction, walk, day out) would you recommend for our future guests? Rydal waters

    Mrs Maria StimpsonMar 2019

Show more

This property is part of the Lake District Lodge Holidays collection.
From the moment you arrive in the Lake District there is a huge choice of activities and things to see as you take in Britain’s latest World Heritage Site – it’s the only National Park to be recognised for such status.

The property

Waterbird Lodge is a beautiful lodge located in a private sought-after lake front location at White Cross Bay.

Named after a flying boat built at the location during the second world war, Waterbird Lodge has one of the largest outside decks on the park, perfect to take in the stunning views across the lake.

This tastefully decorated lodge is furnished with everything you need for a relaxing stay.

Waterbird Lodge sleeps up to seven guests in three bedrooms with a maximum of five adults at any one time and two children sleeping on the top bunk and trundle bed.

The bright and airy open plan living/dining/kitchen area is perfect for socialising after a day exploring the Lake District.

Waterbird Lodge is right on the waterside where you can head down to the jetties, breathe in the fresh air, and enjoy the views and watch the boats on the marina.

On the Park itself, there is a bar and restaurant with outdoor seating area for dogs, picnic area and children’ play zone.

Note: Some facilities on the park are subject to extra cost such as use of the pool, gym, entertainment, bar and restaurant.

500 yards up the main A591 is Brockhole Lake District Visitor Centre, with a great way to spend a day with gardens, house, café, restaurant, walks, boats, adventure playground and Tree Top Trek: there’s lots to do!

You’re also just two miles from bustling Windermere village with shops, cafes and pubs, and three miles from Bowness boat landings, where the elegant cruisers come in and you can hop on a boat trip.

Three miles in the other direction, head to Ambleside, another bustling town with shops, cafes, pubs and restaurants and of course, fabulous walks in every direction.

Make wonderful memories here at White Cross Bay with your loved ones.

Summary

  • All-ground-floor
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x king-size with En suite with double width walk in shower, hydro massage shower, toilet, hand basin and heated towel rail, 1 x double, 1 x bunk beds with trundle bed
  • Family bathroom with over bath shower, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with electric fire
  • Gas central heating with electric fire, double oven with gas hob, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, microwave
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 1 car behind the lodge
  • Private decking with furniture
  • One dog welcome
  • Sorry no smoking
  • Shop and pub on-site
  • Complimentary WiFi is provided by the park and subject to fair usage guidelines, Quality and reliability of connection will vary based on the number of people using it, prevailing weather conditions and therefore may be limited or slower than you are used to, WiFi is for personal use only and is not intended for high data usage, gaming and/or use for business purposes, This is only suitable for page browsing and sending emails, Bookings cannot be accepted if they are solely reliant on the provision of uninterrupted and unlimited Wi-Fi, We are not held responsible or liable for the WiFi on the park
  • If you encounter any issues with the WiFi, please contact Limefitt Park reception
  • Note: For use of the onsite facilities, a complex pass is required, these can be purchased from reception.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location

WINDERMERE

Ambleside 5 miles; Kendal 8.7 miles.

The twin towns of Bowness and Windermere are both vibrant, fun-filled places set within the splendid scenery of the Lake District. Both towns provide a range of amenities, shops and restaurants to suit all tastes whilst Ambleside offers the additional attraction of a boat ride to Bowness, the Lakeside Aquarium and Beatrix Potter's 'Hill Top House' at Sawrey. Grizedale Forest Park is within easy driving distance and is home to a range of activities including many good walks, mountain biking and the 'Go Ape' adventure park. The region also boasts many National Trust properties as well as a variety of water sports for those who prefer a more adrenaline-fuelled trip. Children will enjoy a trip to the 'World of Beatrix Potter' in Bowness whilst the villages of Grasmere, Coniston Water, Kendal, Keswick and the Lakeland Mountains are all within easy reach.

Region Information

Waterbird Lodge is accessed by 6 steps. The lodge is then all on the same ground floor level.

The third bedroom also has a pull out trundle bed which is suitable for an additional child only – please bring your own bedding for the trundle bed.

A travel cot will fit in the master bedroom by the entrance to the en-suite, it can also be squeezed into the second bedroom or it will also fit in the bunk room. Please bring your own travel cot and highchair as they are not provided.

Complimentary Waterbird Hamper for bookings of 7 nights or more only.

There is only 1 parking space associated with this lodge. Please park any additional cars at the overflow car park near reception or by the marina.

Complimentary WiFi is provided by the park and subject to fair usage guidelines, Quality and reliability of connection will vary based on the number of people using it, prevailing weather conditions and therefore may be limited or slower than you are used to, WiFi is for personal use only and is not intended for high data usage, gaming and/or use for business purposes, This is only suitable for page browsing and sending emails, Bookings cannot be accepted if they are solely reliant on the provision of uninterrupted and unlimited Wi-Fi, We are not held responsible or liable for the WiFi on the park. If you encounter any issues with the WiFi, please contact Limefitt Park reception.

There is a Good Housekeeping Bond of £100 for this property.


Park Rules and Operations – White Cross Bay

White Cross Bay has its own onsite facilities. You will need to purchase a complex pass from reception which includes the use of the pool, gym, entertainment and access to bar and restaurant. The prices are subject to change by park management.

All holiday parks are owned and managed by a separate company to ourselves. Lake District Lodge Holidays has no association with the owners of these parks or responsibility for the provision of services they offer. At certain times of year, there maybe a reduction in those services, which is outside of our control.

Commercial vehicles, caravans, camper vans, Hen or Stag parties are not permitted onsite. Dogs must be kept on leads at all times and are not be left alone in the lodges at any point during your stay.

You will be staying on an operational holiday park, which means work may be undertaken from time to time by the park owners during your stay. Although Lake District Lodge Holidays will always try to inform guests in advance if something may impact on a stay and if we have prior knowledge. We cannot be held responsible or accept any liability for park operations of which are outside of our control and which we have no knowledge of.

Any issues relating to a stay at a privately owned lodge should be reported back through Lake District Lodge Holidays as the park are not responsible for managing the lodge or booking for private sublet guests during their stay.


This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Off-season
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it