Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

4 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 15 View Image Gallery
  • Croft Cottage - Yorkshire Dales - 1012429 - photo 1
close

Croft Cottage

(Ref. 1012429)

Arncliffe, Yorkshire Dales - South Show on map

5.0

Sykes rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No

Features

  • Garden / Patio
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (47)
  • lovely (23)
  • location (22)
  • everything (21)
  • village (20)
  • walks (19)

56 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely clean cottage home from home feel everything at hand for relaxing stay with walks from the door."

    Reviewed by Harry5.0Jun 2024

  • "Croft Cottage is a lovely cottage, in a gloriously quiet and unspoilt location."

    It is very comfortable, more spacious than the photographs suggested to us, and is spotlessly clean. It is well organised, everything was where you expected it to be, and the bed wonderfully comfortable. We hope to return.

    Reviewed by John5.0Jun 2024

  • "GREAT STAY AT IMMACULATE CROFT COTTAGE IN PEACEFUL PRETTY VILLAGE - SO COMFORTABLE, SPACIOUS, TASTEFULLY DECORATED/FURNISHED WITH LOVELY VIEWS FRONT & REAR - SUPERKING BED VERY COMFORTABLE."

    STAIRS EASY TO MANAGE BUT ALSO APPRECIATED EXTRA WC DOWNSTAIRS. ALSO NICE TO HAVE ARMCHAIR IN WINDOW OVERLOOKING GREEN AND SEATS IN FRONT OF COTTAGE. VERY CONVENIENT LOCATION FOR PETROL STATION/CONVENIENCE STORE INCL. BUTCHERS ON MAIN ROAD AT THRESHFIELD APPROX 15 MINS - ALSO USEFUL CO- OP IN GRASSINGTON APPROX 20 MINS. ATE 3 NIGHTS AT QUEENS ARMS IN LITTON 10 MINS EASY DRIVE - VERY NICE PIES. (WOULD RECOMMEND ROAD THROUGH LITTON TO REACH STAINFORTH/SETTLE ETC AS GENTLER HILL) . OUR FIRST VISIT TO DALES SO BOUGHT WALKS FOR ALL AGES BOOK IN STRIPEY BADGER BOOKSHOP, GRASSINGTON AND ENJOYED LOVELY EASY WALKS IN UPPER WHARFEDALE (BUCKDEN/CRAY/HUBBERHOLME), MALHAM, STAINFORTH, SETTLE, AYSGARTH FALLS, GRASS WOOD-GRASSINGTON, BURNSALL AND PANORAMA WALK - PATELEY BRIDGE (WONDERFUL SPRING FLOWER DISPLAYS) . BOUGHT WEEKLY PARKING TICKET £17.50 FOR WELL USED VISITOR CENTRE CAR PARKS - SHORT WALK DOWNHILL FROM GRASSINGTON CAR PARK TO LINTON FALLS OR CAN PARK ON LEVEL AT LINTON FALLS C.P. - ENCOUNTERED MANY LAPWINGS, CURLEWS, OYSTER CATCHERS, SKYLARKS ON WALKS EXCEPT SETTLE, OWL IN TREE AT STARBOTTON/2 HARES NEAR HUBBERHOLME WHICH ALONG WITH LOVELY ACCOMMODATION AND GOOD FOOD MADE FOR A VERY MEMORABLE HOLIDAY - OUR GRATEFUL THANKS TO LOVELY OWNER CAROL FOR MAKING IT POSSIBLE.

    Reviewed by Rosemary5.0Mar 2024

  • "Very cosy cottage in a lovely peaceful village location."

    Extremely clean and well equipped with everything you need. A great place to explore the Yorkshire Dales with walks from the doorstep. Friendly hosts too.

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Mar 2024

  • "Great cottage for two in a great little village"

    Reviewed by Martin5.0Mar 2024

  • "Just excellent all round."

    We're going back.

    Reviewed by David5.0Oct 2023

  • "Beautifully presented cottage in a fabulous location with great walks on your doorstep."

    The cottage has everything you need. There is no shop in the village so make sure you take essential food with you. I would highly recommend this cottage.

    Reviewed by Annette5.0Oct 2023

  • "Such a beautiful cottage definitely home from home so comfortable and everything ..."

    Such a beautiful cottage definitely home from home so comfortable and everything you need and with the new edition of the wood burner such a great place

    Reviewed by Amanda5.0Sep 2023

  • "Fantastic cottage in a beautiful location."

    A credit to Michael & Carol. Who are lovely genuine, people.

    Reviewed by Tim5.0Sep 2023

  • "A beautiful location a lovely cottage which was much bigger than your photo made it look."

    It was very clean and tidy and was one of the best we’ve stay in. Thanks. For a lovely week.

    Reviewed by Richard5.0Jul 2023

  • "Beautiful property kept spotlessly clean in a wonderful part of Yorkshire with loads of walks right outside the door."

    The Queens Arms - a short drive down the road - does delicious meals and cold drinks. The whole area is beautiful. Thank you for a perfect stay.

    Reviewed by Joy5.0Jul 2023

  • "Fabulous property in a delightful village in a charming dale."

    Everything was perfect with the property and there were great walks from the village.

    Reviewed by Laurie5.0Jun 2023

  • "A very comfortable and well equipped cottage."

    The surrounding areas are great for walking and exploring.

    Reviewed by Maureen5.0May 2023

  • "Absolutely gorgeous cottage - every facility you could wish for."

    Comfortable, immaculately clean, cosy and wonderful location. Everything in cottage was of a premium quality and we slept soundly in the huge bed! Village location was lovely, plenty of parking and amazing walking country. Would definitely recommend and we would love to return.

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Apr 2023

  • "It was absolutely fabulous."

    The cleanliness, comfort, facilities and maintenance where superb and Carol and Michael couldn't have done more for us. Many thanks to them

    Reviewed by Wendy5.0Mar 2023

  • "A lovely cosy cottage in a beautiful quiet village location."

    We really enjoyed our stay and there are walks aplenty from the doorstep.

    Reviewed by Chris5.0Feb 2023

  • "The owners have gone the extra mile in fitting out this delightful & cosy cottage."

    Every detail seems to have been thought through. They were also very personable & responsive when contacted. I don’t think you could ask for more

    Reviewed by Martin5.0Feb 2023

  • "Such a lovely pretty cottage just feels so warm and welcoming when you arrive ..."

    Such a lovely pretty cottage just feels so warm and welcoming when you arrive just like walking into your own home and feels relaxing straight away Even though the weather was wet it was still a gorgeous place to be to knit read and walk

    Reviewed by Amanda5.0Dec 2022

  • "This is a wonderful place to stay."

    It’s a peaceful and extremely beautiful part of the country. The cottage is gorgeous. Everything we needed was there. The bed is extremely comfortable. The complimentary toiletries were a lovely touch . I would certainly recommend a stay here.

    Reviewed by Wendy5.0Dec 2022

  • "We had an extremely relaxing time at Croft Cottage."

    The location was beautiful and quiet, nicely placed for both walks directly from the cottage or short drives away. The cottage has been expertly renovated and, tastefully decorated and furnished. We found the cottage warm, comfortable and cosy without being too small (all of the rooms were of a good size). Kitchen and utility room were modern and very well equipped; lounge-diner was lovely with a comfy L-shaped settee, good TV etc: the bathroom was excellent with a proper large walk-in shower and the bedroom had a huge (bigger than king size) comfy bed. The owners have clearly gone to great lengths to ensure that everything about the cottage makes their guests feel at home.

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Nov 2022

  • "Our third stay at Croft Cottage and would love to return."

    It’s a beautiful place to stay, comfortable, homely, quiet and peaceful with everything we need to make our stay perfect. We enjoyed yet more walks from the door and were treated to a wealth of bird life as redwings and field fares arrived and 2 barn owls accompanied us on the two mile drive to the next village, Litton, for a delicious pub supper. We saw kestrels and a kite but the kingfishers and dippers stayed in hiding this time. Wonderful views from every window and this warm and cosy cottage made staying in a pleasure on the one wet day we had.

    Reviewed by Carol5.0Oct 2022

  • "Absolutely beautiful cottage in a picture postcard quiet village, surrounded by stunning scenery and walks."

    The owners were very polite and helpful but as we had everything we needed, we didn’t need to bother them. Everything was highest quality from the pillows(heaven!) to the furniture and kitchen devices. Walking poles and even a torch provided. We shall definitely return.

    Reviewed by Caron5.0Aug 2022

  • "An absolutely superb property in a delightful setting."

    Everything we needed was available at the cottage and it was very comfortable. The setting is as good as it gets.

    Reviewed by Stuart5.0Jul 2022

  • "We have visited the Yorkshire Dales four times over the last few years, this was the best cottage we have stayed in."

    The walking was varied, and most importantly straight out of the front door. In the record heat the cottage stayed cool, and the super king sized bed was super comfy. There was plenty of room throughout the cottage which was very well laid out.

    Reviewed by David5.0Jul 2022

  • "Cottage was immaculate, stylish and met all expectations."

    Ideal for a walking holiday or relaxing retreat in the Dales. Roomy for a couple providing bags of space, and wonderfully comfy bed! Stunning scenery. Perfect!

    Reviewed by Jillian5.0Jul 2022

  • "Beautiful cottage, spotlessly clean and in a lovely location."

    Great walks and biking from the door. Everything you need for a relaxing holiday.

    Reviewed by Donald5.0Jul 2022

  • "A very comfortable immaculate cottage."

    Very clean with everything we needed. Beautiful scenery and quiet location. Just a small point that the listing stated induction hob which it wasn't and although it didn't matter perhaps needs rewording. The only other issue,as a matter of safety, that there was no non slip shower mat provided or a rail or handle to hold onto in the shower and we found it very slippery and hazardous . All in all a very enjoyable holiday. Thanks.

    Reviewed by Barbara4.4May 2022

  • "A lovely cottage in perfect condition with all facilities, right on the green in Arncliffe, a beautiful location"

    Reviewed by Kevin5.0May 2022

  • "Beautiful cottage, in a lovely village, walks straight from the door, amazing scenery all around."

    Reviewed by David5.0Feb 2022

  • "Fantastic cottage in a fantastic location."

    We didn’t want to leave!!

    Reviewed by Samantha5.0Feb 2022

  • "We really enjoyed our stay in Croft Cottage."

    Looking forward to coming again

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Oct 2021

  • "Beautifully renovated with style and quality, spotlessly clean, huge comfy bed, very friendly owners and great location for walking and local pub."

    Highly recommended.

    Reviewed by Fiona5.0Oct 2021

  • "Fabulous cottage in a quiet unspoilt location."

    Reviewed by Neil5.0Oct 2021

  • "We agreed this is one of the best cottages we have stayed in."

    It is so nice to have come back to the gorgeous Dales for good walking - and - eating.

    Reviewed by Ralph5.0Oct 2021

  • "A really lovely cottage, exceptionally clean and well-kept with modern appliances and in a great location."

    Bathrooms upstairs and downstairs, outside seating onto the village green and a small rear yard

    Reviewed by Kevin5.0Sep 2021

  • "First class accommodation and facilities of the highest standard."

    Outstanding value for money.. Gardens outside an additional bonus as is the wonderful setting around the delightful village green and surrounding scenery in the 'Heart of the Dales'. Dales scenery is breath-taking and because of the location nowhere is more than a one hour drive away. As well as the wonderful locations we were particularly impressed by the quality of the local restaurants. (Booking early and before you go essential). Owners live next door and could not have been more accommodating. One of the best self catering venues we have been to.

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Sep 2021

  • "This was our second stay this year which speaks for itself."

    Again, we arrived to find a comfortable, clean and fully equipped cottage. We enjoyed long, lazy breakfasts, a selection of interesting walks in every direction, delicious lunches at beautiful village pubs and a superbly comfortable bed to retire to. We enjoyed it so much we’ll just have to go again!

    Reviewed by Carol5.0Aug 2021

  • "Brilliant cottage with stunning walks from the front door and excellent local pubs."

    Glad we paid the upgrade for the sunny weather!

    Reviewed by Neil5.0Aug 2021

  • "We had a great time and loved our stay in Croft Cottage."

    It was clean and comfortable, and had everything we needed. The owners were friendly and helpful. I'd say the photos don't do it justice - it really is a lovely cottage and we would highly recommend it. Only wish we could have stayed longer!

    Reviewed by Lydia4.7Jun 2021

  • "Croft Cottage is a fabulous cottage in an amazing location."

    Arncliffe is a real Yorkshire Dales village and is surrounded by spectacular scenery with both easy riverside and challenging hillside walks. The cottage was perfect and had all the amenities we required. It was sad to leave and we are missing the setting, peacefulness and daily riverside walks.

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Jun 2021

  • "The owners , living next door, were friendly and helpful , taking great pride in the property ."

    Every thing was very clean and all appliances were of high quality and in working order.

    Reviewed by Frances5.0May 2021

  • "Croft Cottage was perfect for our holiday."

    We found it to be beautifully furnished and equipped with all we needed for self catering. Everything was of high quality, fresh and clean and made for the cottage being extremely comfortable. Thank you to the owners who had obviously spent much time and effort getting it exactly right. The location too was special, on the sunny side of the dale, in a proper Dales village with spectacular views all around. We felt there were walks from the door to suit most abilities, from gentle riverside strolls, to more strenuous treks across the fells. Other lovely walks had starting points nearby so we didn’t drive far. We loved it, came home relaxed and revived and have already booked to go again.

    Reviewed by Carol5.0May 2021

  • "Lovely peaceful village and lovely cottage"

    Reviewed by Lesley5.0Apr 2021

  • "Hosts were very welcoming and went out of their way to provide the little ..."

    Hosts were very welcoming and went out of their way to provide the little touches that meant the holiday was absolutely great

    Reviewed by Cherry5.0Apr 2021

  • "The best cottage we've ever stayed in - and we've been doing this for 25 years!"

    Thank you so much.

    Reviewed by David5.0Apr 2021

  • "Croft cottage was perfect."

    Really nicely furnished, really homely feel with everything you could need in the cottage and great location with the Falcon pub just across the green (within eyesight from the cottage!) in Arncliffe. The owners were really friendly and helpful. Genuinely couldn't fault it.

    Reviewed by Benjamin5.0Apr 2021

  • "Croft cottage is the perfect cottage, very clean, cosy, with everything we needed."

    The bedroom is very spacious with a very large comfortable bed. Arncliffe is a lovely village with numerous walks straight from the door with stunning scenery. We had a fabulous week and will definitely return. Thankyou.

    Reviewed by Amanda5.0Oct 2020

  • "Delightful cottage, it would be difficult to beat."

    Perfect situation for us beautiful and peaceful. Owners helpful and kind.

    Reviewed by Brian5.0Sep 2020

  • "The village is very isolated not a problem for us but some may not find it a bit ..."

    The village is very isolated not a problem for us but some may not find it a bit much especially as the lanes are not for the faint hearted The pub across the green is not very good in fact we only ate there once as the menu very limited But the cottage was outstanding

    Reviewed by Kathleen4.7Sep 2020

  • "Croft Cottage is in a lovely hamlet in the Dales, overlooking a village green."

    It was very well equipped and very comfortable.

    Reviewed by Graham5.0Feb 2020

  • "The cottage was warm and had everything we needed."

    Lovely location - quaint pub across the green and another pub which did lovely food 2 miles away in Litton. The owners were welcoming and thoughtful. Locals were very friendly and there were some great walks in the locality

    Reviewed by Cherry5.0Feb 2020

  • "Very well appointed cottage in a quiet picturesque village."

    Excellent walking, running and cycling opportunities in Littondale

    Reviewed by Ian5.0Jan 2020

  • "Croft Cottage was the perfect country hideaway."

    The accommodation is perfectly and luxuriously appointed with great quality fixtures and fittings, which provides everything you need for an amazing stay. The location is ideal for a break away from it all with the cottage situated in the most picturesque of villages with scenic views in all directions. It truly is the perfect retreat for a cosy night in with a fine meal and a good book. If you're feeling slightly more socially-minded, there is a welcoming pub available across the green providing a variety of wonderful food and a range of drinks - including gluten free options. With reasonable closing times, you need not be worried that its customers will disturb your sleep. And, if a good night's sleep is what you're after that is sure to be arranged. Between the superking-sized bed, luxurious Egyptian cotton sheets and the truly dark skies, the only thing that you'll be in danger of achieving is a good lie in! The surrounding area is packed full of a variety of things to do - from outdoor pursuits provided by Malham Cove and its similar counterparts to a gentle potter around the shops of Skipton or Grassington. A truly lovely cottage - book it before someone else does!

    Reviewed by Jen5.0Jan 2020

  • "The cottage is really neatly put together, within reach of some great walks (we never drove the car whilst staying there) and really convenient."

    The kitchen is well kitted-out, the Wi-Fi is almost weirdly fast and the bed is wonderfully massive: best sleep I've had in a while! Thoroughly recommended - hoping to come back soon.

    Reviewed by Ben5.0Dec 2019

  • "I would like to say what a lovely cottage it was."

    It was like home from home, we felt so comfortable there and to be honest we did not want to leave, we are already planning our next visit and hopefully for a longer period of time. The surrounding areas were so peaceful and relaxing, the perfect break.

    Reviewed by J4.7Dec 2019

  • "Luxury luxury Luxury !"

    A beautiful comfortable cottage for a peaceful break we so needed. Everything in this cottage was of high quality. Very clean and obvious consideration to detail. The bed is so comfortable ! Our hosts were available for any support but not intrusive. Would definitely look to return when needing a safe bolt place to relax.

    Reviewed by Angela5.0Oct 2019

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • One super-king-size bed
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Utility
  • Sitting/dining room with flame effect electric fire
  • Wood burning stove with starter pack.
  • Oil central heating and flame effect electric fire
  • Fridge/freezer, electric oven, induction hob, microwave,dishwasher, washing machine, TV and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Ample parking available in village opposite Croft Cottage
  • Bike storage available on request
  • Rear patio area with furniture
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Pub within 0.1 miles, shop within 5.3 miles
  • Note: Check in is 4pm and check out is 10am
  • Note: This property has a private water supply
  • Note: Starter pack of logs are provided, additional can be purchased locally or from the owner

The property

Enjoying a wonderful position within the famous Dales village of Arncliffe with picturesque countryside views of the surrounding National Park is this quaint, stone-built dwelling, Croft Cottage.

This romantic hideaway is ideally positioned within the village made famous by Emmerdale and for exploring the rolling countryside, offering a magnitude of opportunities for walking and cycling.

Step into the characterful sitting room, where the exposed beams frame the plush L-shape sofa and the charming exposed stone fireplace with a flame effect electric fire offering a gentle warmth as you get cosy during a winter’s evening.

Joining this space is a dining area, offering a space for tucking into a home-cooked meal or planning the next day’s hike with a glass of wine in hand.

The contemporary kitchen invites you in to pack up a picnic or rustle up a tasty treat after an action-packed afternoon.

If the weather is on your side, enjoy a spot of alfresco dining within the rear patio garden, whilst admiring the beauty of the surrounding Yorkshire Dales National Park.

Once the sun has set, retire to the plush bedroom, where you will find a super-king-size bed, as well as a dressing table, allowing you to prepare for your day in style.

If you can bring yourself to leave this hideaway, head to the famous Falcon Inn, which doubles up as the original Woolpack in Emmerdale Farm and offers a delicious dining menu for you and your partner to enjoy.

Here, you will be spoilt for choice by the walking and cycling opportunities that await you amidst the stunning scenery of the Yorkshire Dales National Park.

The walks to Malham and Kettlewell are highly recommended, as well as visiting nearby Grassington and the ever popular Skipton to find the ancient charm of the castle and an award-wining high street with shops, pubs and eateries.

Croft Cottage is a wonderful retreat for a getaway with your loved one.

View on map

About the location

ARNCLIFFE

Malham 8.6 miles; Skipton 15.1 miles.

A beautiful, well-known village in the civil parish of Littondale in the Yorkshire Dales National Park. You may recognise this delightful village, especially if you are a TV soaps fan as Arncliffe was the original setting for Emmerdale, with the Falcon Inn pub acting as the Woolpack in the show. The River Skirfare runs through the village and is rife for fishing. As well as having some incredible natural scenery, the area is also a haven for walkers and cyclists with seemingly endless trails right on your doorstep. A fantastic, scenic walk up a narrow, country path takes you to the stunning Malham, where you can explore the fascinating natural sites of Malham Cove, Janet’s Foss and Gordale Scar, followed by a sweet treat at The Old Barn Tea Room. For a wider selection of attractions and amenities, venture further to Skipton, where you will find the remarkable Skipton Castle, Aireville Park, the excellent Skipton Golf Club, boat trips along the Leeds and Liverpool Canal, and the delightful eateries of The Woolly Sheep Inn and Oakley’s Grill.

View more holiday cottages in Arncliffe