Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 59 View Image Gallery
  • Bank House - Lincolnshire - 1047326 - photo 1

Bank House

(Ref. 1047326)

Mablethorpe, Lincolnshire Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 18 Guests

  • 8 Bedrooms

  • 9 Bathrooms

  • Pets No


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Games Room
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • house (27)
  • our (25)
  • no (24)
  • location (23)
  • property (19)
  • bed (18)

40 Customer Reviews

  • "Very large cottage brilliantly located close to the beach and boating lake."

    Large lounge area would easily accommodate a large group Kitchen well equipped. Great views from the property. Central to all amenities in Mablethorpe

    Reviewed by Linda4.7Apr 2024

  • "Bank house was absolutely perfect for us as a family getting together for our mother’s 70th birthday party."

    In total there were 16 of us 13 adults/teenagers and 3 children (aged 10, 5 and 4). The accommodation was flexible enough for us to be able to fit comfortably and owner Ganesh was extremely helpful in advising me about space and an extra foldaway bed which helped. There was plenty of communal living, relaxing and dining space to comfortably seat us all together which was excellent. The heating system is quite high tech and once some of the older guests had worked out the digital valves on the radiators it was OK. Couldn’t really tell what times the heating was set to so some periods of the day were a little cooler however the log burner in the lounge soon had us feeling toasty again. Bank house has all other facilities you could wish for including champagne flutes to celebrate Mom’s 70th in style! Bank house’s information folder confirms it is one of the biggest (and maybe oldest) properties in Mablethorpe so there was some evidence of age related history and minimal wear and tear. We noted some slight peeling paint in the front porch however did not use this entrance other than to get our grocery shopping delivered so had no impact upon our stay. That said it is characterful and cosy and we would love to be able to book again in the future to enjoy Bank house in the sunshine!

    Thanks a lot for your feedback. Looking forward to welcoming you again with an improved house and even better house. We try to make things better all the time. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sharon4.7Jan 2024

  • "This property is very well situated, the location is brilliant and suitable for a large group."

    However it is in dire need of a deep clean and updating. It was not clean when we arrived. Never mind Hive, Ring, Alexa etc…. we’d much rather have had a clean kitchen, clean fridges and cooker. Some of the bathrooms have been updated but others need a good scrub. Some bedrooms need a coat of paint and could do with new curtains. The kitchen cookware has seen better days too. None of us are familiar with Hive and we either were too hot at times or too cold. There was no wood for the wood burner either. As a group we often rent houses throughout the UK and this house was a disappointment sadly.

    Reviewed by Viviane1.9Nov 2023

  • "This house is in a superb position, is large and super for large groups getting together as we were."

    There are plenty of rooms and bathrooms, it is also priced well. However, the level of cleanliness was poor, particularly the oven and some of the bathroom drains needed attention. There was conflicting and inaccurate information about kitchen equipment, manuals provided and the welcome pdf information sheet said the ovens were electric, it they were in fact gas. The sink drained extremely poorly and the 2 plungers in the undersink cupboard were put to good use. Whilst there are a number of glass tumblers, there are insufficient wine glasses for a group of 12 let alone a group of 18 The central heating in the top floor rooms was inefficient and the radiators probably need bleeding. There were however additional electric heaters that were used. The flooring in the dining room is badly damaged and urgently needs attention as it is a health and safety trip hazard. This would be extremely problematic if someone with decreased mobility was staying. There is a ground floor room with disabled facilties, however whilst the bathroom has wet room and disabled wc facility, the bedroom itself would not enable ease of access for someone with restricted mobility. There are also steps in and out of and within the property that could also be problematic. The log burner was a lovely focus in the lounge however some fire tools for handling the wood, and a fire proof glove for handling a hot stove would be welcome. Ganesh was prompt to respond to our queries and as said above location is brilliant, but the house is in need of some TLC.

    Reviewed by Lesley2.8Oct 2023

  • "The property was a great location for our large family."

    The kids had a lot of entertainment inside and outside. There was enough space for adults to sit separately too. We really enjoyed our stay and will be returning.

    Reviewed by Poppy4.4Sep 2023

  • "We were very pleased with Bank house."

    It worked very well for our varied age group of 15 people. It was well situated. Was well equipped. We will probably visit again.

    Reviewed by Jean4.7Aug 2023

  • "Yes"

    Reviewed by Lynn2.8Jul 2023

  • "We have just come back from a weekend stay at Banks House."

    The location of this property is fantastic everything is on the doorstep. Our family groups age range was from 4 months - 70+ everyone was catered for and the house had everything that we needed. I have already recommended it to friends and we will be back for a longer stay.

    Reviewed by Sharon4.4Jul 2023

  • "We were a mixed generation group of 12 people and there was plenty of space and rooms for us all."

    We were all comfortable and covered everyones' needs of comfort and entertainment. Ideally situated to keep the children entertained which is turn kept the adults happy too.

    Reviewed by Suzanne3.8Jun 2023

  • "Could not fault the size or location of this property!"

    We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would happily return. Yes there were a few small issues but in a house of this size, rented out regularly in the warm months, there’s going to be. Most importantly though, the owners were great communicators and anything they could do to help was done. Note, no hand towels provided and the starter kit of helpful items is just that-you will need your own basics. Everything else we needed was there-and more!

    Reviewed by Joanna3.8Jun 2023

  • "Bank House is in a fantastic location."

    Close to the beach and the large garden leads out to the Boating Lake in Queen's Park. It is just a short walk into Mablethorpe with all it's amusements. It was ideal for our family group with 8 bedrooms and 9 bathrooms. Be aware that the stairs are very steep up to the top floor bedrooms and there is not a wardrobe in every bedroom. The sitting room was large enough to accommodate us in the evening and was comfortable. The large TV kept the little ones entertained. A lot of the bedrooms had a sink in them with a separate toilet/shower. The kitchen pots and pans are a bit old and rusty but we lined them with foil when cooking in the oven. The grill hadn't got a grill pan that we could find and there was no side slot on the right hand side of the grill to use it anyway. We reported this but got no reply. It was great having a washing machine and tumble dryer, and the dishwasher was a godsend with so many if us. The house could do with some tlc...a lick of paint as some if the walls were grubby and the paint was flaking off in the lounge on the lower walls possibly due to damp. The floor in the dining area was bubbling up and ripped in parts. We enjoyed our stay but it could have been so much better if it was cared for a bit more.

    Reviewed by Jill3.4May 2023

  • "Wow, what can I say."

    For the price of this property, it gave us everything and more. The beach straight to our right and a beautiful park to the right. Plenty of space and all the amenities you need for the holiday. The Indian restraint around the corner is also owned by the owner of this property, lovely food and amazing staff who where very helpful and accomodating to our large group. Finally the house manager Paula was amazing lovely person giving us lots of suggestions on places to eat or go out. This property was worth every penny and a lovely weekend break. Great for anyone who likes sea fishing.

    Reviewed by Michael4.7May 2023

  • "Big house with lots of kitchen equipment close to the beach with large parking area."

    Suited a large family with small children.

    Reviewed by Gill4.4May 2023

  • "The setting was brilliant and so close to the beach, and play area for the children and teenagers."

    It was great we could all eat together and sit together in the evening. However The property was really not clean, we found clothes under beds, old razors in the showers and hair all over the floor. The dishwasher was full Of gunk and we needed to do a full clean of it to use it ( after several goes to get it to work) The mattresses also need replacing, one even had springs pushing through. The dining chairs were broken and unsafe to sit on.

    Reviewed by Holly2.5Apr 2023

  • "There are a lot of positive points to this property; it's in a lovely position between the beach and park/boating lake in Mablethorpe, slightly out of the town centre but close enough to walk to the shops."

    There are TVs in every bedroom and the lounge and the games room have large smart TVs. There is Alexa and a Smart Lock on the front door (which we had a few problems with). The living and dining rooms are spacious and comfortable, there was room for 14 of us to be comfortable without falling over each other. However, there was a lack of attention to detail around the house which was disappointing. The oven was dirty when we arrived (although the owner did send a cleaner to sort this out when we reported it) and a lot of the kitchen equipment needed to be washed before it could be used and the cupboards were poorly organised and untidy. I know this is partly down to previous guests, but it should be checked before new guests arrive. Some of the kitchen equipment was not in good condition (e.g. the large roasting tin was rusty) and there was a shortage of some items, e.g. not enough standard wine glasses. The information we received from the owner 2 days before our arrival was inaccurate or out of date in parts, for example it said the table seated 12, which caused a slight panic as there were 14 of us coming for Christmas! The house sleeps 18 and the table in fact seats 18! The information stated that there were bath and hand towels provided, but in fact they now only provide bath towels and no hand towels (why?), so we had to buy some extra towels. The information mentioned recycling bins when in fact no recycling is collected from the house. It seems that the house might be gradually being renovated as some of the en-suite showers look quite new and fresh, however there are doors that don't close properly, and peeling paint and wallpaper in various places around the house. We had a lovely Christmas together as a family, but we felt that with more attention the house could be so much better!

    The oven was a human error/oversight and was rectified like you have mentioned, the cleaners have a checklist and hopefully this wont happen again. Apologies about the kitchen utensils/appliances, the changeover was indeed quite lengthy before your arrival and we are sorry about the oversight and glad that we could rectify the oven straightaway for you. We have now put information in cupboards so guests can return items to the correct place and we also reset them once every month where necessary to the correct locations. We are updating the house in a phased manner and now all the bathrooms are refreshed and new, we have also added a new ensuite to the sea view room. In the next phase we will do up the bed rooms a few at a time. Please do come again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Teresa2.5Dec 2022

  • "This house was really great value for money."

    It was so nice being right next to the beach too. We went just before Christmas when it was very cold but the owner kept the house lovely and warm. We managed to cook massive Christmas dinner for all of us in the kitchen. The oven could do with maybe a fan to help spread the heat as it was much hotter on the top shelf. Also could do with a blind in the toilet upstairs as visible to the road.

    Thanks for your positive feedback, Please do come again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Josie4.7Dec 2022

  • "We really enjoyed our stay at the bank house as a party of 17 there was enough room for everyone to have their own space."

    The location is fantastic for a nice walk on the beach and the house had everything we needed for a weekend away.

    Thanks for your positive feedback, Please do come again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephanie4.4Dec 2022

  • "A really nice building in a great location for the beach, ideal for young or big family groups."

    House is in need of updating and repair, especially upstairs and in bedrooms. Downstairs, great kitchen and dining area. Front room, nice big TV , Sofas have had it, look very tired and not comfortable to sit on for any length of time. Bedrooms are very dated and need upgrading our room the green room, heating did not work, TV would not work with remote and when turned on manually cannot turn it down or change the channels. We had a seperate toilet and shared shower room, showers were dreadful no power and hardly warm at all, used disabled shower downstairs and same thing very low pressure for power shower and not hot at all. This could be a really nice house, if it is was updated and facilities upgraded.

    Thanks for your feedback, we are slowly upgrading the upstairs, all the bathrooms have been renewed and a couple of bedrooms have had a part makeover. The showers are working fine, possibly there was some issues with the water supply when you were using it. The heating has had a new boiler this week and it's all working fine now. We have replaced all the sofas in the lounge and are all new sofas now. Please do come again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anthony2.2Nov 2022

  • "This is a great house for a large group."

    The location is magnificent, practically right on the beach and the boating lake! The town and shops about a five - ten minute stroll depending on your legs! There is plenty of equipment for all you need in terms of cooking etc. The rooms are spacious and very clean, if a little dated. Quite a few bulbs weren’t working in the lounge and some bedroom lamps but it really wasn’t a problem, I’m sure the owner will get round to changing them. A slight issue with front door meant we could only use the back as we had to keep the front permanently locked in case our 2 year old got out. Again this was not an issue, in fact it suited us better. There is a lovely garden for the kids, although with the beach on the doorstep was hardly used. I would highly recommend this house to anyone, in fact we booked it straight away for next year. If I could change one thing I would put a loo downstairs that wasn’t in a bedroom but again not too much of an issue if the person downstairs doesn’t mind the rest using it. All in all a wonderful holiday, thanks so much.

    Reviewed by Teresa4.4Oct 2022

  • "Bank House was previously a B and B establishment and signs of this are still visible with the heavy doors and locks on bedrooms and narrow stairs to the top floor."

    The downstairs area is very spacious with a range of seating and our party of 12 were all able to sit at the dining table and still have a jigsaw set up at the other end. The kitchen was very well equipt but the ovens were very slow when trying to cook pizza or jacket potatoes. The bedrooms were all nicely set up, some with quirky features to provide space for ensuites some with a chair to sit in. Bedding and towels were nice and clean. As a group with young children we found it safer to use the toilet in the downstairs bedroom during the day rather than have little one's going up and down the stairs. As a family group this wasn't a problem. The selling point for this property is the number of people it accomodates, the parking area which easily accommodated all our cars and the fact it really is so close to the beach and lake. In October many things were closed during the week. The property is old and well worn but the rating and price reflect this. I would recommend Bank House to others.

    Reviewed by Lian3.8Oct 2022

  • "We had a lovely stay at Bank House."

    It was perfect for a large family gathering with the social space working really well to accommodate everyone comfortably. All bedrooms have their own allocated bathroom facilities with the majority being en suite. The position of the house is excellent for a sea view, quick and easy beach access as well as a walk into town. The boating lake is practically in the garden which made the outside space feel big too but it doesn’t feel like you are on view when sat outside on the benches. Parking is fantastic and we managed to get 7 cars on the gravel drive and still close the gates. The house is very well equipped to self cater for a large group and we enjoyed a Sunday roast for 20 people which was cooked with ease in the large kitchen with range cooker. Some of the bathrooms are a little tired but they are all very clean and fully functional. I understand that some updates are taking place over the winter but I hope that isn’t going to make the rental go up too much, as affordability was a major consideration when booking this property. We loved our stay and felt it was good value. We were not expecting a totally modernised house for the price we paid and it would be a shame if the improvements have to increase the price too much. We would recommend this property for a large group to meet up comfortably and to have enough private space, at an affordable price, in a good seaside location.

    Thanks for your feedback. We would love to host you again next year. Please do come again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jacky4.4Oct 2022

  • "The cleaner appeared to have swept everything from previous stays under the carpets, we cleaned those up when we moved things in the lounge."

    It was also a bit short on large cooking pans for 18 people. It had (mostly bar the above) everything we needed and was in a good location, everyone enjoyed their stay.

    Reviewed by Keith4.7Sep 2022

  • "This is a wonderful sized house in a perfect location."

    The kitchen was well supplied, there were 2 fridge freezers and a chest freezer which was perfect for catering for our group of 16. The house was clean and tidy and loads of hot water. The TV room/lounge was perfect for our group. The key arrangements worked well with the app. The owner was helpful when we needed assistance. If you have a large family with young children and don't want a place you have to worry about, then this is ideal.

    Thanks for your positive feedback, Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Keith4.4Sep 2022

  • "Great location but house is grubby and cleaners are not doing a good job."

    Thanks for your feedback. We (the owners) visited the house just after you left and have cleaned the house along with the cleaners and made sure everything is the best it can be. Please be rest assured that you wont have the same issues on your next visit. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Thomas2.5Aug 2022

  • "Whilst the location is fantastic and the property is a wonderful big space the house is not without some issues."

    We had difficulty accessing the property and once in had to request bedding as only the beds were made up. The description is misleading as there are only beds for 18 people 2 of our party had to sleep on a mattress and fold up bed. The house was not very clean with only the barest minimum of cleaning having been done. The house is in desperate need of maintenance the paint is flaking off the walls and the wallpaper is peeling in places. . The patio door is locked there is no key. There is damp throughout the property. The blue room bathroom smells particularly bad. The beds and furniture are old and need replacing as does the bedding and linen. Lots of tvs do not work in the bedrooms. We feel this property was overpriced for the condition and facilities and Sykes need to revise the property rating as it is not good.

    Thank you so much for leaving feedback and we are glad that you had a good time but I was very sorry to read your comments about some of the issues you encountered. Our feedback has for a long time been in the main very good so we will address these issues and also explain any points in the following: The house sleeps 20, but has fixed beds for 18 (7*2 1*4), we will amend the description and make this clear. In relation to the damp you refer to, it is infact due to the salt coming out of the walls. Mablethorpe had a flood in the 1950's and it affected the entire area and so paint flakes off upto about 1mtr high from the floor in some areas of the house. We had painted the walls in July just before the high season began and we are on top of this. The patio door keys not being provided are in connection with health and safety reasons so we apologise but we are not able to provide the keys. We are looking to replace some of the furniture in the near future as we appreciate that this season has seen some very hard use. We do wish that you had made us aware at the time as we would have really wanted to try and rectify any issues for you straight away. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sharon2.5Aug 2022

  • "We returned yesterday from an amazing week in Mablethorpe, our first holiday as a family of 17 (8 adults and 9 kids!"

    ). We stayed at Bank House and here is my honest review. Firstly the pros: The location to the beach cannot be beaten, if you need to return for anything or for the loo etc it’s less than a minute! The garden is brilliant for kids, you can watch the world go by in the park whilst the kids run around and if you close the gates to the car park they are secure. The splash park is 30 seconds away - we enjoyed going later on after tea when it quietened down and we could cool down in it! The size of the house was the only accommodation we could find to sleep 17. The drive can accommodate five cars. However, unfortunately there are quite a few negatives that I feel do need to be pointed out so that others can make an informed choice on booking. Firstly the house is VERY TIRED. It would benefit from a simple lick of paint throughout and maintenance issues need rectifying. For example the plug sockets in the games room are dangerous, the windows need cleaning. We were very disappointed to be told that there is no key to the patio doors out to the garden as this would be the ideal way to use the garden! Instead the children have to go through the kitchen and use the incredibly heavy back door which could not be propped open with anything lighter than a few bricks (which obviously we didn’t have!). The main issues are in the downstairs blue room, there is damp everywhere. See photos for some example - the paint was peeling off onto the beds and the smell was bad. The bathroom smelt particularly awful. The youngest member of our party (3) developed a nasty cough and ended up in the local a&e whilst we were there, whilst we cannot blame the damp it definitely did not help and we ended up having to have a reshuffle in order to fit the family in another room. As the blue room was not habitable. Some of the other bedrooms are pleasant - the brown room and the two in the attic in particular are nice and sunny. We could not get any of the tvs to work in any bedrooms, not that we really wanted them on but the kids would have liked to watch them occasionally. Downstairs - the sofas most definitely need replacing, they are very old and the back cushions aren’t even for the sofa itself! There is more damp in the kitchen on the walls and the kitchen items need an overhaul - barely enough proper mugs for everyone to have a brew and the oven took 45 minutes to cook oven chips which were still anaemic! But the main thing which stood out for us and could have made most of the above a lot more insignificant was the level of cleaning. It was obvious from walking in that the cleanliness was not what we were expecting- all around the front door area hasn’t been swept in forever and contained rubbish and blown in bits. We then entered the living room where there was rubbish poking from under the sofas left by previous occupants and under the cushions on the sofa had not been hoovered in a long time! The bathrooms were the worst - the showers had most definitely not been cleaned thoroughly and had mildew and mold. One of the toilet rooms has curtains which practically dip into the toilet when closed and had some very h hygienic marks on them! The mattresses on every single bed need attention, very uncomfortable, and some seem to not fit the beds properly. We were suspicious that some of the bedding had not been changed as they didn’t smell fresh, however have no evidence of this. In the kitchen - There was food left in the freezer by previous occupants and all of the cups and glasses smelt really musty and had to be re-washed before use. We didn’t want to let any of the above spoil our holiday as we’ve waited over a year for it, you may wonder why we didn’t bring the issues up with the owner on arrival - we decided that there were too many that required more than a simple fix that could be done there and then and as we were incredibly unlikely to find anywhere else to accommodate 17 of us at such short notice we made the most of it instead. It’s a shame as the house could be amazing with a little work and money spent. I had no communication from the owners so texted the day before we were due to arrive and was sent the details in an email, I did text once about the keys to the patio when we arrived and received a short reply.

    I can assure you that there are NO DAMP issues in the house, the house was damp treated last year (just as a precaution even though there was no damp issues), the paint flaking off is due to the SALT coming out of the walls. Mablethorpe had a flood in the 1950's and all the houses in Mablethorpe have this issue that the salt comes out and paint flakes off to about 1mtr high from the floor. We had painted the walls in July just before the high season began and we are on top of this. The whole ground floor was renovated less than a year ago with a new kitchen and we plan to do it up again in October/November when we are a bit quiet. The house sleeps 20, but has fixed beds for 18 (7*2 1*4). We will amend the description and make this clear. In regards to the plug sockets, This has been rectified. in regards to no key for the patio doors, This is how we have been running the place since day one and its for health and safety as well and we stand by our decision. As mentioned above the paint peeling off is because of the salt coming out the walls,we are on top of this and we have started to clad the walls where the issue is more prominent. The blue bathroom has a separate switch for the extractor, this needs to be used. There are no issues with the drainage. We will stick a note on top of the bathroom so guests start using the extractor fan when they use the bathroom. The previous guests did not complain about the TV and so we were not aware, it does not help that guests keep fiddling with the connections and settings and the cleaners cant fix this. Please call us if there are any issues and we will rectify it asap. We are looking at replacing the sofas in October/November when we plan to renovate the lounge again. The cushions are original and its the design. In the kitchen, its not damp and its salt flaking as mentioned above. We will look at the count of kitchenware and the count of mugs/utensils. We had left enough in the house, but we had not been made aware of breakages. We have had a strong word with the cleaners and done a deep clean since and we believe the house is back up to the high standards we have set for ourselves. If the standards go down again we will change the cleaners as we have had a few recent comments. The mattresses are all of good quality and beds are very individual, what is comfortable for one may not be for another person. We can assure that all the bedding is always washed and changed. That's what we pay the cleaners for.The freezer issue was human error by the cleaners, they do normally remove all the stuff and clean it and must have missed it this time. We leave our phone numbers on emails and in the house so guests can call us if they have any issues. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jennifer1.9Aug 2022

  • "Big house house in a perfect location."

    Brilliant for kids and surprisingly very quiet at night. Would definitely recommend. Furnishings etc are a little tired but doesn’t spoil the holiday. Disappointed that there were no recycling bins although glass recycle point nearby. Only real downside was a small step between kitchen and lounge which caused one guest to have a nasty fall. Would like to see some kind of hazard strip in the area before our return visit.

    Reviewed by Carol4.1Jul 2022

  • "Loved our stay there ."

    Would definitely go again

    Thanks for your positive feedback, Looking forward to welcoming you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ida4.7Jul 2022

  • "A spacious and sunny house in a perfect location."

    The accommodation is bright and spacious and served our family well. The kids loved being able to play outside and we all enjoyed lunches at the picnic benches overlooking the boating lake. The property is surrounded by open fencing and the private car park area has large gates that can be drawn across so the kids had boundaries whilst still feeling part of the action all around them. Inside the house isn’t without its quirks but it is clean and well cared for. We had initial issues with keys and access but these were dealt with efficiently and the team on the ground- housekeepers and groundsman- couldn’t have been more helpful. The accommodation is spread over three floors and just as described. We were able to allocate rooms based on age and requirements so everyone had their own space and we avoided any issues with odd and steep stairs. The downstairs space works well. We all spent a lot of time sitting around the dining table. The kids enjoyed watching the large TV in half the lounge while the adults sat in the comfy chairs chatting. We all had a great week and all agreed we would happily return. Thank you for a lovely holiday.

    Thanks for your positive feedback, Looking forward to welcoming you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Patricia3.4Apr 2022

  • "A well positioned property with lots of space, but a bit tired and in need of some TLC."

    TVs are provided in all the bedrooms but despite our best efforts we could not get all to work. Some radiators also wouldn't come on irrespective of the settings, but at least electric heaters were provided. The ensuite facilities in some rooms are quite cramped and awkward to use (especially on the top floor), but functional. The kitchen was very well equipped, although some utensils and cooking equipment was quite dirty; this cleaned up OK, so more a reflection on previous guests. However, despite the niggles, the property was good value and in a great location and we'd consider going back.

    Reviewed by Tom3.8Apr 2022

  • "Lovely property in a great location."

    Would be even better in the summer when everything is open, hoping to return. Plenty of place and everyone enjoyed their stay.

    Reviewed by Bethany4.1Mar 2022

  • "It was a good weekend something different big enough to accommodate all 18 of us."

    We did have some heating issues in a couple of rooms , we reached out and it was rectified

    Reviewed by Rudo Catherine4.1Feb 2022

  • "This is a lovely house in a wonderful position."

    The only faults were the blue family room which could not be used because of the smell of damp or drains and the so called smart lights that would go off half way up the stairs leaving you in darkness.

    Thanks for your feedback and bringing to our attention the issues you faced. We are looking into the blue room bathroom smell. One of the previous guests had tampered with the lighting, its fixed now and does not switch off quickly. Please do come again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sally3.8Dec 2021

  • "Roomy house in a great position near the beach with lots of parking."

    Well equipped kitchen. Bathrooms need updating and new towels required. The hall lighting system was a problem with small children asleep we needed to leave lights on. A table in the kitchen would be a real plus and a chair in the sitting room for those of us who find low sofas difficult. We enjoyed our stay despite the stormy weather and would happily return.

    Reviewed by Gill4.1Nov 2021

  • "Superb location."

    Kitchen and sitting room very spacious, but dining table only seated 12; enough for our party but very tight for the advertised 20 people. Games room was excellent for younger children. Most bedrooms were very comfortable but bottom bunk in Blue Room was most uncomfortable, the double bed being small for two people. We would stay there again.

    Reviewed by Richard4.7Oct 2021

  • "Bank House could not be more ideally situated for both the young and old."

    It accommodated my large family very comfortably. The owners just did a brief check in with us on the 8-10-2021 to make make sure that everything was OK, and to assure us if we needed anything that they were only a phone call away, so that was great. This was home away from home for us, and it had everything we needed. A recommendation or suggestion I would like to share, is as this house is designed for large groups, maybe a bit more cupboard space in the kitchen for food items would have been great, as I stored our food items in the games room cupboards which is no biggie. Also we had a very young toddler with us it would have been great if there was a stairgate, as he kept making a beeline for the stairs, but luckily there was enough eyes to watch him. We all loved this house, so a big thanks to owners Ganesh and Kumar from and games for sharing. We certainly will be looking to renting this property again in the future.

    Reviewed by Corienne5.0Oct 2021

  • "This property is certainly in need of some TLC, its suffering from damp issues in several rooms and does have a strange layout, but there are good points too."

    Bedrooms, clean, bathrooms very dilapidated and in need of updating, both en-suite and house bathrooms Lounge , clean and large and great for families to mix Dining room/Kitchen, Another great space to socialise although the kitchen does need somewhere to store food as it all had to be left on the sides in piles as no spare cupboards, well equipped though with good cooker and fridges etc Location is one of the houses best points as you really cannot fault it, plenty of parking at the end of a cul-de-sac and a 1 minute strill to the beach. Its also equipped with several tv's including a large one in the lounge and another in the playroom All in all as long as you appreciate there are some issues it is a really good place to stay

    Reviewed by Peter3.4Oct 2021

  • "Beds were not double but 3/4, and owner was really rude when we tried ask him anything."

    Complained about not leaving bin exactly were we found them, ignored when asked about a drebeats pill speaker that a guest left. Neighbours and locals were really nice, and the shops and facilities around the area.

    Reviewed by Mohammed2.2Sep 2021

  • "The property could do with some work but it’s a big old house."

    It has everything you need for a fantastic family holiday but is a little tired in places. However if the owners spent money doing this we wouldn’t have got it for such a fantastic price. Highly recommend for a family break. We had an awesome week. Thankyou. Wow ! Perfect location.

    Reviewed by Michelle4.7Sep 2021

  • "The property is spacious and in a good location."

    How ever When we arrived arrived at the property the property had really bad smell. 2 of the room had drainage smell coming from the toilet. Bed sheets were not clean and it seems like the property was not cleaned properly before we arrived. We contacted the owner and he did try to rectify the problems we raised but this is not acceptable. Our holiday was ruined on the first day. Something needs to be done with cleanliness in this property it is unacceptable.

    We try to give a high quality, safe and comfortable house to our guests and we try to help as much as possible, so they can have a great time. - The property was cleaned thoroughly and all sheets changed, however there were a couple of small spots on one bed sheet which somehow missed the cleaner's eyes (human error). We have now changed the cleaner and have also replaced all the linen to new ones. - As for the toilet smell, there was a block in the sewage pipe outside and we called a drain unblocking company straightaway and they resolved the issue in the next couple of hours. The issue is now fully resolved and hopefully will not reoccur. This is the best we could do as this is an unanticipated issue and we managed to resolve it within 3 hours of us becoming aware of the issue. Thank you again for providing your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Koysor2.2Aug 2021

Show more Hide all


  • Eight bedrooms over 3 floors
  • The top floor has 2 double bedrooms,one with views of the boating lake and the other offers a sea view, both with TV and en suite
  • The first floor has a King size room with TV and en suite, 3 double rooms all with TV and en suite and a further twin room
  • The first floor also has two shower rooms and two separate WCs
  • The ground floor has a bedroom with a double bed and bunk beds, a TV plus an en suite wet room with a low-level toilet and sink, as well as convenient grab rails
  • Family friendly property with cot and highchair available with an additional folding bed available on request
  • Large 36 feet spacious Kitchen/diner
  • Gas central heating with adjustable thermostats
  • Range Master cooker with gas hob burners, hot plate, griddle, grill and electric oven
  • Microwave, two fridge/freezers and a chest freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher
  • 30 feet lounge adorned with massive chandeliers and a traditional period fireplace with a wood burning stove and a 60 inch Smart TV
  • Games room with a 40 inch Smart TV and PS3 Playstation console, books etc
  • Speedy WiFi/Broadband and Alexa.Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Ample off-road parking for around 5-6 cars, covered with CCTV cameras
  • Garden with lawn and picnic benches
  • There is also an outdoor shower for when returning from fabulous beach days
  • Shop 0.4 miles, pub 0.1 mile, Beach 0 mile
  • Miles of sandy beach on the doorstep
  • Boating lake behind the house
  • Queens park entertainment complex for family fun

The property

Perfectly positioned a stone's throw away from the coast of the thriving Lincolnshire town of Mablethorpe, rests this remarkable property, Bank House.

This huge home offers spacious accommodation for families and friends who wish to explore the delights of the East coast.

The house is located in the ideal picturesque town of Mablethorpe and away from the town overlooking the Beach but still not too far from it to get to supermarkets or for shopping, the houses are sandwiched between a beautiful sandy beach and a calm and serene boating lake that offer great views on both directions, if you step out, the promenade extends in both directions filled with local cafes and entertainment venues all within walking distance from the house.

As you step over the threshold you're welcomed by a handy porch way, the perfect place to wipe off your sandy toes after a day at the beach, with plenty of storage space to house your belongings before continuing through the hallway to the rest of the house, the property's traditional character can be seen through the incredible design of the sitting room, featuring a striking exposed stone wall homing a rustic wooden fire surround and stove, given prominent position in the room by the natural lighting flooding through the towering bay windows, the spacious room features two relaxing seating areas, so you can choose to gather around the coffee table to discuss your plans for the days ahead or nestle in on the sofa and let the television do the entertaining.

The open-plan kitchen/diner is amply-equipped with everything you could need to fulfil your culinary needs, offering the perfect location to host a dinner party, featuring a grand wooden table, lit up by overhead period pendant lighting, as well as a serving window, where you can perch on a stool at the breakfast bar between the two areas and share a glass of wine with the cook, no need to worry about who's doing the washing up, simply load the dishwasher and head out to the garden to continue the excitement into the late evening, indulging in a glass of fizz as you soak in the sea breeze with a scenic view over the nearby lake, whilst the children entertain themselves in the games room.

Guests with limited mobility will be delighted by the ground-floor bedroom, featuring a double bed as well as a set of bunk beds fit for adults, and benefiting from an open-plan wet room with a low-level toilet and sink, as well as convenient grab rails, up to the first floor you'll find five more bedrooms, three doubles and one twin, each well-presented with a light and airy décor, adorned with its own distinctive colour scheme, and fit with their own television, providing you with a solace escape from the main area of the house, as well as a hand basin in the room to make getting ready for bed even easier, three of the double bedrooms benefit from an en-suite shower room, however the first floor also boasts a cloakroom, a separate WC, a separate shower as well as a shower room, ensuring that everyone can prepare for the day together, continuing up to the second floor you have the choice between two spacious double bedrooms with en-suite shower room, one bedroom offering views of the picturesque boating lake, or the second bedroom, offering stunning sights out across to the sea and the colourful beach huts that line the coast.

Head outside and take the short stroll to the beach front, with miles of beautiful sandy beaches and dunes to explore in the breeze of the fresh sea air, tucking into a tasty portion of locally sourced fish and chips before testing your luck on the penny slots at the amusement arcade, on the other side lies the beautiful lake that offers motor boats and peddle boats for self-drives as well as some family fun entertainment including the kids paddling pool which is free to use at the Queens park entertainment zone, there is also a theme park and a number of mini golf courses that can keep the whole family entertained which are just a stone throw away along the promenade.

Spend a fun-filled day meeting the animals at The Seal Sanctuary Wildlife Centre or take a visit to Russells Circus, home to an exciting performance of aerial displays, jaw-dropping stunts and world-class comedy, thrill-seekers can head to Lincolnshire Aquapark and Watersports to tackle a floating Total Wipeout course, travel along the coast to the popular seaside resort of Skegness, where the fun continues at Pleasure Beach Fair Ground, or if that's not your thing, enjoy a wander through the colourful flowers at the well-kept park of Tower Gardens or discover the local and agricultural history at the open-air museum of The Village Church Farm.

Bank House is a wonderful property to enjoy your next group celebration.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £400.

View on map

About the location


Louth 15 miles; Skegness 17 miles.

Mablethorpe is a small seaside town on the Lincolnshire coast. The town boasts a sandy beach and sand dunes where you can wander and enjoy the sea air. Mablethorpe has a small selection of high street stores and a range of independent shops, bars and restaurants. The town is home to the Mablethorpe Seal Sanctuary where you can meet the seals along with an array of other friendly animals. A few miles down the coast is the traditional seaside resort of Skegness which plays host to a wide range of family-friendly attractions. Alternatively, head inland to the town of Louth with its Georgian streets with Grade II listed buildings, St James Church, a theatre, art deco cinema, museum, golf course, modern leisure centre complex and excellent shopping, including weekly market days and a vast assortment of eateries catering for all tastes. A superb base for discovering the beautiful Lincolnshire countryside and coast.

Please note: Shorts stays should finish by Friday If this isn't followed the booking maybe cancelled.

Please note: the downstairs toilet extra fan is to be kept on at all times.

Please note: The house sleeps 18

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas