Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Mid Wales 8 minutes ago

4 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 14 View Image Gallery
  • Marches Way - Mid Wales - 1036995 - photo 1

Marches Way

(Ref. 1036995)

Rhayader, Mid Wales & Cardigan Bay Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • hot (14)
  • tub (13)
  • hot tub (13)
  • views (10)
  • our (9)
  • stay (8)

20 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely shepherds hut with a decking and large grassed area for our dog."

    The private hot tub was a welcome addition. The hut was spotless, bright and romantic. It had everything we needed for our few days away. The views from the site are amazing. We are hoping to return.

    Reviewed by Carolyn4.7Aug 2023

  • "Really enjoyed my stay at marches way."

    Very secure garden for the dogs and in a perfect location with elan valley only 10 mins away and with the town being only 5 mins away. The views are immaculate and the lodge was so cosy and comfortable. Will definitely return

    Reviewed by Kate5.0May 2023

  • "Originally when booking via sykes it did not state anywhere it was part of a holiday park, it gave me the wrong post code which added an unessasary 10-15 min onto the drive."

    So we had to call the numbers provided in emails. The guys were very helpful, not only for directions but also for helping get the key back

    Reviewed by Hajira4.4Feb 2023

  • "Brilliant setting helpful staff very clean site would I go back yes next year"

    Reviewed by Christopher5.0Oct 2022

  • "Lovely surroundings and peaceful place - lots of development going on but was not an issue at all - cottage was smaller than anticipated but that could have been down to our expectations being wrong."

    Had a lovely week and lots of things to do around the area - would recommend to others - we had a very hot week but a great week.

    Reviewed by Becky3.4Aug 2022

  • "Nice clean and compact property."

    Stunning views and helpful owners, Hot tub amazing and cleaned, checked regularly.

    Reviewed by Gary4.4Jun 2022

  • "We had a lovely time at Marches Way."

    The views were incredible. The garden was perfect for the dogs. We would definitely book again.

    Reviewed by Kate5.0Apr 2022

  • "Had a great stay, absolutely loved the site and accomodation."

    only improvements would be to get rid of the wooden twig chair that's falling apart outside and more lighting around the hot tub would be helpful as its very dark at night.

    Reviewed by Joe4.7Dec 2021

  • "We had a lovely stay and enjoyed the hot tub very much, although."

    instructions of how to use combi-oven would have been useful. We would have also liked some information on the surrounding area as we had never visited before and wasted a lot of time finding our way around. Otherwise a lovely place to stay ,fabulous views across the valley, great fully enclosed garden for the dog and very peaceful. Would happily book to visit again.

    Reviewed by Lynne5.0Nov 2021

  • "Having visited earlier in the year I was really disappointed to see how much this property has deteriorated in such a short space of time."

    The weather was appalling on the first night but regardless, I think it’s reasonable to expect the property to withstand such conditions. However, water leaked through the vent attached to the wall cupboard spoiling food and causing quite the inconvenience. Many of the kitchen appliances were not as clean as I would have expected, I suspect previous stayers did a poor job of cleaning them and this wasn’t checked before we arrived, between that and the empty hand sanitising station attached to the property I feel the efforts to meet Covid regulations were poor. Whilst ensuring that I picked up the waste of my own dog I found multiple piles of waste from other dogs from previous stays. Like the kitchen appliances, I would expect the cleaners to be checking this rather than relying on previous stayers to clean up their own mess because the sad reality is that they don’t. The rope detail surrounding the property was broken and covered in fungus which wasn’t just an eye sort but it meant that I had to constantly keep an eye on my dog to make sure she wasn’t eating them which was just an unnecessary burden. The hot tub lid was faulty which I appreciate is probably an expensive fix but others negligence should not be at the cost of the comfort of those staying in future. Getting the lid on and off was an awkward two man job and in cold weather is less than ideal. All of these niggles added up and made what was meant to be a short and restful break a week full of annoyances. Hours before check-out the cleaners began lurking about which natural made us feel like we had to leave as quickly as possible which was ironic given how neglected the property was. I was keen to come back after having such a lovely stay earlier in the year but it very much has that “maximum profit for as little input” feel to it and we won’t be returning. It’s a massive shame because it’s such a beautiful location but having stayed in many places that are comparable, I am certain that I can receive better value/experience for the same cost.

    Thank you for your feedback. It is a real shame that you did not contact us during your stay as we pride ourselves on providing the best holiday experience that we can for our guests. We are always on hand to assist during a guest's stay and the issues that you have raised in your feedback will be checked. Thank you again for your feedback Property Owner

    Reviewed by Hannah2.5Oct 2021

  • "Wonderful stay!"

    Relaxing, quiet but not in the middle of no where, town with all amenities just 5 min drive away, dog friendly! We will be back with our dog :D clean, with equipment needed for stay…one adjustment needs new frying pans. Other than that wouldn’t change a thing!

    Reviewed by Talya4.7Sep 2021

  • "The view was amazing had everything we needed, contact was easier if there were ..."

    The view was amazing had everything we needed, contact was easier if there were any problems friendly town great places to visit relaxing with outstanding views and a jacuzzi for that extra special stay

    Reviewed by Janine5.0Jun 2021

  • "Had an amazing 2 days everything was clean and tidy!"

    Everything you could think about was there the hot tub wa amazing went during rain but the hot tub made it enjoyable

    Reviewed by Sophie5.0May 2021

  • "The stay was perfect!"

    The only recommendation would be to put a welcome pack in place so people know where to put the bins etc. Also the frying pan could do with replacing everything was sticking to it. Overall the hut was beautiful, views were incredible and the hot tub really made it! We even got engaged on our first night! Such a special place for us now, we would 100% return

    Reviewed by Aimee4.7May 2021

  • "Amazing location and great base for exploring this beautiful part of Wales."

    The hot tub was fantastic for relaxing and taking in the views and tranquil surroundings. The site is beautifully laid out and extremely well thought out to give you privacy and space. The hut was warm and comfortable, bed extremely comfy and nice to arrive and find tea, coffee, milk and washing up stuff provided. My only suggestion is a user guide for the hob and where to put bins as we didn't realise there was recycling so would have taken it daily to support eco friendliness. Must do attractions are Devils Bridge Waterfalls, Red Kite feeding. Went to Aberystwyth and the mountain road back was the most stunning drive we have ever done and brings you back through and Elan Valley, where my partner proposed on this trip!! We will most definatly be back as this place now holds such special memories for us and is a stunning location

    Reviewed by Charlotte5.0May 2021

  • "The “get directions” feature did not get us to this property."

    Even the “what three words” did not get us where we needed to be which is absolutely daft as that’s meant to take you to within a square meter of a location. The written directions were also no good as they relied on you arriving from a specific direction and at the point we referred to them, we’d already been sent all over the place by the “get directions” and “what three words”. Fortunately the chap who lived at the property the directions were taking us to was kind enough to come out and provide directions. I would advise putting St Harmon Road, Rhayader into your maps - you’ll find this road is a hill and you want to be going up it. After a mile or so there’s a left turn to Gellilas - this is where the park is. It’s not signposted until you take the turn so is easy to miss. They are currently building more properties on site and whilst the disruption didn’t last long, I was woken up early by it one of the mornings - I’m not sure how long this will be going on for. The sheep were belting very loudly from early hours too so it’s not one for light sleepers who want a lie in! A fridge isn’t listed in the facilities etc but there is one. I would advise taking a wok as there are only pans and a frying pan for the hob and the frying pan isn’t great. Otherwise, the location and view from this property is incredible - we spent most of our time in the hut tub, toasting marshmallows on the fire pit and playing games at the dining table. We ventured out to Elan Valley one of the days which is well worth the visit and on a separate day, Devils Bridge Falls followed by Aberystwyth and Borth which are a reasonable distance for a day trip. I have visited many properties similar to this one and would definitely visit again because of the view and because it’s dog friendly. I would have benefited from some kind of instruction booklet - this would have been useful to capture how to turn the hobs on as I’d never used anything like it and it was a real trial and error job getting it on and also where to put bin bags when full. I would also advise taking a spare towel for the hot tub and a dressing gown to get you to and from it. It’s a short journey but a very cold one at night!

    Reviewed by Hannah4.4Apr 2021

  • "Absolutely loved our little trip here - cooking facilities better than expected."

    Comfortable bed and lovely surroundings. However, the hot tub was a bit of a let down. I believe there was too many chemicals in the hot tub, it has tarnished expensive jewellery, taken the colour out of our swimwear and caused rashes on our skins.

    Reviewed by Romy5.0Apr 2021

  • "Beautiful little break away."

    Stunning views and the hot tub was the highlight for us. Very clean, tidy, warm and cozy. Bed was comfortable and it had what we needed to cook. Parked right outside and had our own garden. We would love to stay here again or in the new hobbit huts further down.

    Reviewed by Kate4.7Oct 2020

  • "The only complaint we had was lack of information about the on site building works /construction of road ,An email was sent by Sykes one week before our departure which we didn't see until the day before we were due ro arrive , the owners had said that Sykes had been informed months before but this information was not passed on to us , Iit idid spoil the iidyllic quietness of the location as it was like a new motorway was being built , however the weather, the hut and hot tub made up somewhat for that ."

    We would (and have) recommend this holiday to anyone

    Reviewed by Sharon5.0Sep 2020

  • "Great personalised experience, wonderful views- the hot tub makes it!"

    Reviewed by Catie4.7Jul 2020

Show more Hide all


  • All-ground-floor studio layout
  • One double bedroom
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area
  • Electric central heating
  • Electric two-ring hob, microwave, TV and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking
  • Two well-behaved pets welcome
  • Decking with furniture and hot tub
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub within 1.7 miles
  • Note:This property has a Good Housekeeping Bond of £250
  • No infants allowed

The property

The perfect escape for a romantic retreat in Wales, Marches Way offers a unique way to spend your holiday.

A welcoming hut with all the essential amenities you could need for a getaway with a loved one, you can find this dwelling situated on the outskirts of Rhayader, offering countryside views and exceptional scenery.

Take the few steps up to enter into your all-ground-floor abode, where you will find all you need for a week-long stay.

Settle down your belongings and pour a warming cup of tea from the kettle, taking your beverage outside to make the most of your surroundings.

The kitchen hosts a hob, microwave and a fridge, so you'll have no trouble in preparing a romantic meal for two when you're not indulging in one of the nearby eateries.

Sit together at the dining table to immerse in some quality time, before taking comfort in the double bed tucked away to the side of the room.

Outside, you can find your own private hot tub, providing the perfect place to soak in your surroundings beneath the sunshine or the clear night's sky; this property is a true marvel at any time of year.

Explore the local town of Rhayader, boasting a wide selection of eateries to choose from, boutiques shops, as well as the River Wye running through it, being ideal for a leisurely stroll.

Further afield you can find Llandrindod Wells, great for shopping as well as being home to a host of history.

With access to the coast and the beauty of the Shropshire Hills, Marches Way is a brilliant base for your escape for two.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location


Llandrindod Wells 10 miles; Aberystwyth 34 miles.

Rhayader is a small Welsh market town with a selection of tea rooms, pubs, restaurants, amenities and unique little boutiques, including local antiques. An added bonus of a leisure centre with a large swimming pool and a weekly livestock market. The Red Kite Feeding Station, on the outskirts of the town is a great attraction not to be missed. Rhayader is the first town on the River Wye and is home to the spectacular dams and reservoirs of the Elan and Claerwen Valleys. The Elan Valley offers a variety of walks and cycle trails (cycle hire is available in Rhayader), as well as a visitor’s centre with café and children's play area. This area is known as the Wildlife Centre of Wales, with its amazing variety of nature reserves open for visitors to enjoy. There is also pony trekking available in the area. Visit Builth Wells, where the Spring Festival, Royal Welsh Agricultural Show and Winter Fair are all held annually. Alternatively, a scenic drive will take you to the Welsh coast 34 miles away.

No infants allowed

Please note: The owner is developing the land to add further properties to this location, please note that construction work may take place in the vicinity during your stay.

Note:This property has a Good Housekeeping Bond of £250

Arrival days are Monday, Wednesday and Friday only. Any bookings made for any other day may be cancelled.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas