Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 44 View Image Gallery
  • Troon Cottage - Norfolk - 1061237 - photo 1

Troon Cottage

(Ref. 1061237)

Hunstanton, Norfolk Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 8 Guests

  • 4 Bedrooms

  • 4 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • no (15)
  • house (12)
  • cottage (11)
  • lovely (11)
  • our (10)
  • stay (9)

23 Customer Reviews

  • "This was overall, a wonderful stay and we thoroughly enjoyed the house, the location was perfect!"

    Just a few things to improve it: - The slim oven has an issue with the fan - sounded like it was catching on metal might be worth looking at. - the mattress in the first floor bedroom to the left of the stairs is very hard, the springs were also quite loud when turning over in the night. - This same room could also use a full length mirror in it.

    Reviewed by Hannah4.4Dec 2023

  • "Very big and spacious accommodation, just looked tired in places and in need of some maintenance."

    Cleaned between stays but not maintained, some of the televisions in bedrooms had no signal, taps in one en-suite were broken. Garden/ courtyard was a bit messy and uninviting. Nice location for both Hunstanton and Old Hunstanton.

    Dear Stewart Thank you for the feedback. I wish you had contacted me during your stay so we could address the issues you had raised. We are now aware of the broken tap and our maintenance team will fix. Obviously holiday lets do get maintenance issues and we have provided a telephone number for guests to call. The garden has overgrown, and with the recent weather it has been difficult for our gardener to address this issue. We are aware and it is on the list to complete. Kind Regards Jason Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stewart3.8Oct 2023

  • "We really enjoyed our stay at Troon Cottage, perfectly sized for 4 adults, 2 seven year olds and a toddler."

    The adults slept on the middle floor with kids in the top floor bedrooms. I was a bit worried the property would be a bit too grey from the pictures online but it’s tastefully done and feels cosy yet spacious at the same time, like a home. The kitchen was well equipped we found, plenty of cupboard and fridge space for all our food, and the cooker and dishwasher worked well. We found that the stair-gate needs to be replaced downstairs, it’s a bit fiddly and comes off at the hinges when you go to lift it, it’s not secure and would have been a problem if our toddler was one of those who likes to stress-test everything in the house! There was also a stair-gate missing on the top floor despite what it says on the listing - not an issue for us but might be for others. We had requested a highchair and cot; the high hair we managed to find in the store room located in the cosy, but the cot was not set up (I had called Sykes to make sure and didn’t just rely on my online request). Luckily we had ours with us as we were heading elsewhere after our stay, not sure what we would have done otherwise, and our toddler sleeping with us was not an option. The heating was tricky to control - we had set the timer for specific times. I suspect the radiators need bleeding, just to be sure that it’s not a bigger problem. We managed with sweaters but it would have been nice to have that option. It would be really handy to have better instructions for the electric heaters too (what all the options mean) , might have been us but even so, better to have than not. When we stripped the beds we found the mattress covers and duvets to be stained (at least in our room) which wasn’t great if I’m honest. A bit of bicarbonate of soda and strong stain remover in a hot wash would do the trick, leaving everything nice and white. An extra set of keys would have been great - as much as there is a key lock, having an extra set takes away the pressure of having to coordinate timings.m and provide a bit of flex. It’s something we noticed was commented on in the guest book. For all the above reasons I’ve given the property four stars across all aspects. We would however stay here again, it’s a lovely property, close to town and an easy drive to other parts of Norfolk that we wanted to explore. We’ve already recommended it to our families and friends. Book it if it’s available!

    Reviewed by Hasina3.8Aug 2023

  • "This being our 2nd stay at troon cottage we had a couple of problems which when made known to all parties involved was rectified quite quickly."

    however i still feel that the lge gas oven does not work as stated in the welcome book and does not regulate to cook with. the welcome pack was a lovely touch and much appreciated. the welcome book could do with updating as the caretaker number is no longer valid. all this said we had a good week despite the british weather and troon cottage is a nice place to house a large group including the 4 legged kind with no difficulty. the house has all the equipment required to cook for a large group, is loacated 5 minute walk to town 10 min to old hunstanton beachand in a lovely quite street so all in all i would definetly recommend the cottage

    Dear Michael Thank you for the very kind review and it is always nice to have returning guests to Troon Cottage. It is such a shame the weather has been awful this summer, as it restricts your options for things to do in Norfolk. In relation to the oven, I am not sure what else I can do as the electrician and gas fitter have both checked the oven and stated nothing is wrong. You also have the option to use the electric oven too, which is my preference. I have made the maintenance team aware of the welcome pack, as this was mentioned in a previous review. I hope you will return to Troon Cottage and if so the weather is better for you. I have purchased new garden furniture for my guests to enjoy before the summer season, but I guess no one has had the chance due to the poor weather. Kind Regards Jason Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael4.4Jul 2023

  • "Lovely house but only issue we had was that top hinge of fridge was Badly worn and weren’t aware of this at first and unable to close fridge properly so food wasn’t being kept at right temperatures once we realised the problem we were able to lift and push door to to seal this could have been health and safety issue ?"

    We did contact caretaker re number in info booklet only only to get a very rude reply saying he didn’t care as weekend then he sent another message saying he wasn’t responsible for this property anymore this needs to be amended in book .

    Dear Sue Thank you for the kind review I am glad you enjoyed Troon Cottage. I have asked my maintenance team to review the fridge door, as this is something we were unaware of and I have used the house on a number of occasions. There should have been a leaflet with our cleaning and maintenance team details within the Welcome Pack. I have asked the house keeper to check the Welcome Pack and ensure any old details are removed. I hope you will return to Troon Cottage. Kind Regards Jason Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sue4.7Jul 2023

  • "Cottage did not appear to have been lived in recently therefore needed spiders removed."

    The patio was not inviting as it had so many weeds. A second key would have been useful.

    Dear Gillian Thank you for the feedback. The house has been lived in, we are fully booked I would assume the bad weather has sent the spiders indoors, as I am experiencing the same at home. Likewise the gardener has been unable to access the garden due to the weather, however you forgot to mention the new garden furniture we have provided for guests. The front door lock has recently been changed, as it was abit awkward. We have not managed to get additional keys cut, however you should have had access to the back door key? Kind Regards Jason Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gillian4.1Jul 2023

  • "We had a good week at Troon cottage."

    The rooms are really comfortable and spacious and the beds very comfortable. It is all furnished and equipped to a very good standard. We had four cars and parking was never a problem on the street. A couple of minor frustrations on arrival the internet wasn't working and the cot that we requested hadn't been left for us. The housekeeping team delivered the cot which turned out to be a travel cot and sorted the internet out. The water is far too hot. We were eight adults and a baby, so could manage it but it is dangerously hot for young children. The fridge door is difficult to shut and it isn't really big enough for accommodating food and cold drinks for eight people in the summer months.

    Dear DIane Thank you for the feedback and I am pleased you had a good week in Troon Cottage. I have a cot, but appreciate the housekeeping team forgot to put it up and provided a travel cot (as they did not have the key for the laundry room to hand). I rely heavily on the cleaners and maintenance to maintain high standards and I have fed your comments to them. In relation to the hot water, it can be turned down via the boiler in the kitchen, or generally cold water added in the shower via the heat control? I have used the property on many occasions and I have never experienced any issue with hot water, however I ask the maintenance team to review. The internet works, however sometimes (like all internet hubs) the hub may need re-booting, turned off and then back on. This is impossible to manage as we can not forecast when the internet drops. Kind Regards Jason Property Owner

    Reviewed by Diane3.4Jun 2023

  • "Lively cottage with character, space and location are great, we were a group of 4 adults, 4 kids and one dog, and were very comfortable."

    Maintenance was prompt so was the communication with the owner. Would come back again!

    Dear Ksenia Thank you so much for the feedback and I am pleased to see that you would come back again. I am always trying to maintain high standards and respond to guest feedback both positive and negative. Future bookings rely on reviews and your comments were very positive (thank you) however the ratings are lower than 100% so please can you confirm what was not accurate with the listing, how the cottage can improved comfort, cleanliness and maintenance issues. As you stated we reacted quickly to any maintenance concerns? Thank you in advance. Jason Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ksenia3.8May 2023

  • "Lovely house."

    Finished to a high standard. Very welcoming and comfortable. Seaside vibes without going over the top! We are already planning our next visit! Thank you

    Dear Catherine Thank you so much for the positive feedback and I am so happy you enjoyed your stay at Troon Cottage. I look forward to hosting you again in the future and will continue to keep the high standards for your comfort. Kind Regards Jason Property Owner

    Reviewed by Catherine5.0Mar 2023

  • "Troon cottage gives the impression of a luxury house in Hunstanton."

    Don’t let the pictures fool you though. The house has not been improved for years. Downstairs bathroom had a leak and the floor was constantly wet. Electric oven fan had clearly been broken for a while and was unusable due to a loud metallic grating from the fan. Ack garden gate was not accessible due to pile of old doors being left - even though you were supposed to use it to access house with dogs. First time the bath was used the hot tap came out of its mounting. The dishwasher broke whilst we were there and remained unfixed When this was pointed out the owner then claimed damage to the house…. Broken cafetière… this was cracked when we first got there and the first time we used it the whole thing broke… it was replaced at our cost but they claims breakage. They also claim broken blind… the blinds were never used! Don’t use this house!

    Firstly, the property has been painted throughout less then one year ago (apart from kitchen walls which are due this year, as kitchen floor was painted). The super king size beds, mattress, the oven, TV in the lounge and Turkish carpets are less than 2 years old...? You state there is no maintenance yet complain about the OLD doors blocking the garden gate. If you had made Sykes aware of this issue I am sure the maintenance team could and would have removed the doors. The new doors were installed to meet fire regulations and enhance guest safety. You have also omitted to mention that the loud noise on the electric oven stops after the oven has warmed up (20 seconds) but also that there is also a larger gas oven which can be used instead of the electric oven? Obviously now I am aware of the noise on the oven which is less than 2 years old, I will review my guarantee. Lastly Sykes did call me about the dishwasher, which you reported on 3rd Jan (6 days into your stay) and I suggested you try to complete the cycle of the dishwasher so that it can drain. Sykes inform me that they tried to call you and left a message. Since your stay my team and myself have used the dishwasher with no problems, as we allow it to complete it's circle. The broken cafetiere was reported by the cleaning team, however I have noticed that you have replaced it. I have receipts, invoices and video's to back up all the information and purchases stated above! Property Owner

    Reviewed by David2.5Dec 2022

  • "Terrible smell of urine in top floor twin bedroom."

    Top floor double very bad sholwer leek which was clearly known about as a folded towel had been left at the bottom the drip was so bad our daughter had to move to a downstairs bedroom away from her small children. TV in front bedroom would not turn in at all.

    Hi Susan I was made aware of the shower too late and this has now been fixed. I have also changed cleaners recently to avoid any further issues. Apart from these teething issues I hope you enjoyed the property and I appreciate feedback. I will also ask the maintenance to check the TV, I believe the sat box in the top bedroom may have been switched off.. Kind Regards Jason Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan3.8Aug 2022

  • "Had a great family holiday in what was a tardis so much room inside was brilliant."

    very well appointed for a large group possibly larger toaster would have helped but we used grill , very near to the beach and town center. only downside was tv in front bedroom no signal and back lounge would'nt connect to streaming know this not major but when you want peace is issue lol. the road is lovely and peaceful not much traffic so as a light sleeper even with windows open was brilliant would highly recommenend

    Thank you for the feed back Michael. I will investigate the TV issue which seems to be recurring. I hope to welcome you back to Troon Cottage. Kind Regards Jason Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael4.4Jul 2022

  • "The house and location was great."

    Impressed by the facilities and comfort of the rooms - however the flooring is brutal and cannot be walked on in bare feet, as this is throughout the house it was a problem. Cleanliness was another problem - showers were so bunged up with limescale they did not work and drainage was so poor one bathroom flooded, so we had to clean shower heads and unclog the drains, which was grim. That we were charged a cleaning surplus was rather insulting as we left the property cleaner than we found it. This was compounded by the fact we had to strip beds and empty bins, I don't see how you can charge for cleaning and then expect immaculate houses with all chores complete!!! Last issue was the rubbish bins were full and information provided about collection was wrong! It would have been a wonderful holiday and although I would not dirty a rental property, I do not expect to be cleaning it!!! I come on holiday to get away from that.

    Reviewed by Rosalyn2.8Jun 2022

  • "Troon Cottage is lovely and being very conveniently located in Hunstanton we did ..."

    Troon Cottage is lovely and being very conveniently located in Hunstanton we did not use the car at all during our stay It is a spacious holiday home with plenty of room for us all to enjoy our own space My only criticisms are that the kitchen is not very well equipped for accommodating 8 people For example: A 4-slice toaster would be more convenient The microwave is very small Only one saucepan lid provided and that fitted just the smaller pan Few cooking utensils/serving dishes Otherwise we enjoyed a great week together in this lovely home Thank you

    Reviewed by Judith4.4Apr 2022

  • "Lovely cottage, good location, nicely furnished,."

    Very comfortable house. Unfortunately, altho it appeared clean, it was actually full of dog hair which was a little off putting. Thank you for the welcome hamper. This was a very nice touch and much appreciated

    Reviewed by Deborah4.1Mar 2022

  • "A beautiful house in a fabulous location."

    Thank you Katherine I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, we have recently painted the Hall, Stairs and Landing to keep the property looking in top shape. Hopefully you will return in the future. Kind Regards Jason Property Owner

    Reviewed by Katherine5.0Mar 2022

  • "A beautiful property in a great location."

    A lovely luxurious break. Very close to many of the beautiful Norfolk beaches - just perfect.

    Hi Julia I am so pleased you enjoyed the property and hopefully you will return in the future. Kind Regards Jason Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julia5.0Feb 2022

  • "We had a great stay and the property had lots of space and lots of positive points."

    However WiFi needs improving if my son wanted to use his Xbox it kicked the rest of us off the WiFi. Also some areas had not been cleaned well. For example dog chews still left in Sofa and cobwebs hanging from ceiling.

    Reviewed by Jayne3.8Oct 2021

  • "The house was even better than we imagined."

    Spacious, comfortable, very well equipped. n excellent location, 5 minutes walk to the sea and the cliff walks and the town, and a local shop just one minute away.. Old Hunstanton a reasonable walk or a very short drive. Lots of other places to visit easily (such as Sandringham, Brancaster). Highly recommend!!

    Reviewed by Penny4.7Sep 2021

  • "The property was lovely."

    This was a family get together and one of the reasons that we booked Troon Cottage was the different living areas, so that there was space for everyone. The main living room was bright and spacious with room for everyone, but there were other nice spaces to use. The whole house was roomy with, large bedrooms and en suites, and had a really welcoming feel. The kitchen was well equipped with plenty of room for us to all eat together. The beach and town centre was close by; unusually, we didn't use cars at all during our stay. The only reason that I marked cleanliness down slightly was that a couple of the shower heads could do with de-scaling and one shower was slow draining. This was not a big deal and the property was certainly clean enough to feel safe in the current pandemic. This is the first time we have used Sykes but would not hesitate to use them again and would visit this property again. As an aside; the fact that your website opens a new tab when viewing a property makes it much easier to use than other companies; it is easier to view multiple options and to keep the main search open

    Reviewed by Jackie4.7Aug 2021

  • "What a fabulous property."

    Comfy clean and well managed. Walking distance from the beach and high street. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return. Thank you

    Reviewed by Debbie5.0Jul 2021

  • "Troon Cottage is just beautiful and so much more than we expected."

    We have just returned home from a last-minute stay of 2 nights and we all wish we could have stayed a lot longer. There were 2 families in our party (4 adults, 4 children) and it had everything we needed and more. A lovely welcome basket on arrival and spotless throughout the cottage. The kitchen is fully equipped and the bifold doors on a hot summers day are a real treat. The children loved having their own lounge, as did the adults! The bedrooms are incredibly spacious and all have en-suite facilities. On the day of departure we asked if we could keep our luggage in the cottage and the owners kindly let us do so. We won't hesitate to book again. Thank you, again, for letting us stay in your lovely cottage!

    Reviewed by Christina5.0Jun 2021

  • "Lovely spacious cottage A real home from home and a very generous welcome pack."

    So much so we have booked again for the end of August. A few tiny adjustments would make it perfect such as On hot days it is lovely to open the Bi-fold doors in the kitchen however these are badly in need of servicing as are extremely difficult to open in their current condition. It would be great if the owners could supply larger towels as the ones supplied were very small also there were no flannels for face washing. A washing machine was supplied however there was no washing powder, tablets etc We were a bit puzzled why we did not have access to the smaller sitting room with the leather sofas as they are in the pictures on the website but the door says private on it. The bins for no.4 were overflowing with someone else's rubbish so we did our best to seal bin bags by the side of the bin and make sure they were sealed. Overall we had a lovely stay and your average family would be delighted with the house, facilities and general decor I only mention the above as these things are easy to rectify and every future guest will benefit. We will be back

    Reviewed by Mark3.8May 2021

Show more Hide all


  • Over three floors
  • Four bedrooms: 2 x super king-size with TV and en-suite bath, hand-held shower, walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x second-floor king-size with Smart TV, double sofa bed and en-suite walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC, 1 x second-floor twin with en-suite basin and WC
  • Cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner with woodburning stove
  • First-floor utility/laundry room
  • Sitting room
  • Snug
  • Gas central heating with woodburning stove
  • Gas range cooker and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, 7 x Smart TV and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and Highchair available on request
  • Roadside parking
  • Enclosed courtyard with furniture
  • Three well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.1 miles, pub 0.4 miles, beach 0.4 miles
  • Note: Dogs to be kept downstairs
  • Note: Garden is not accessible via the ack gate

The property

Situated just a short walk from Hunstanton town centre and beach, lies this grand, Victorian carrstone property set over three floors.

The property’s location and size, together with sea views from the second floor, make it an exceptional base for families and groups of friends wishing to explore Norfolk and its glorious coastline.

Troon Cottage offers a spacious interior complemented by high quality fixtures and artwork, with four bedrooms all benefitting from en-suites facilities.

Enter the property via a side entrance into the hallway where you can store your buckets, spades and towels after a day on the beach.

To the left is the charming sitting room where you can settle down on the sofa, flicking through the Smart TV to catch up on your favourite shows or browsing Netflix for a movie night.

Move into the large kitchen/diner and keep the chef of the group company whilst they get to terms with all the mods and cons, including a Range cooker, microwave, fridge/freezer and dishwasher, while there is also a woodburning stove which offers a gentle warmth during mealtimes.

When the weather is in your favour, throw open the bi-fold doors to bring the outside in, allowing seamless access to the enclosed courtyard from which drinks can be enjoyed in the sunshine.

Completing the ground floor is a snug room with TV, perfect if you are looking for some quiet time away from the group, along with a cloakroom.

The first floor offers two super king-size bedrooms, tastefully furnished in a boutique-style with ample storage and Smart TVs, as well as benefitting from en-suite bathrooms with choice of bath and walk-in shower, so you can decide how best to prepare for the day.

Continue to the second floor where sea views can be admired, offering a king-size bedroom with double sofa bed and en-suite shower, while across the hall is a twin with en-suite basin and WC.

If you do not feel like cooking one evening, stroll into the town centre to find a vast array of restaurants, pubs and takeaways, whilst there are also plenty of shops ranging from clothing and fashion retailers to newsagents and supermarkets, handy for picking up any essentials.

Hunstanton also has a wealth of traditional attractions to enjoy, including award-winning sandy beaches, wide promenades, watersports, pitch-and-putt golf and the tranquil Esplanade Gardens, offering something for everyone.

Venture along Hunstanton’s unique striped cliffs and watch the beautiful sunset, made special by its position as the only west-facing resort of the East coast.

Other attractions in the area include Norfolk Lavender, England’s Premier Lavender Farm with over 100 acres of lavender fields, the RSPB Titchwell Marsh, which is a real haven for birdwatching, as well as the 18th-century Holkham Hall located adjacent to the village of Holkham.

Whatever your plans, return each evening to the comfort of Troon Cottage.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £450.

View on map

About the location


King's Lynn 16.5 miles.

The award-winning coastal town of Hunstanton, locally known as Sunny Hunny, is located on the Western side of the East Norfolk Coastline, renowned for its beautiful sunsets over the sea. Hunstanton is a great family-friendly holiday destination. The seafront with promenade offers rock and candyfloss stalls, funfair rides, a sealife sanctuary, bowls, golfing, a leisure centre, pitch-and-putt, Esplanade gardens, theatre, clean sandy beaches, donkey rides and sea tours in an amphibious craft. On Sunday afternoons a band often plays in the bandstand on the green overlooking the beach, serenading sunbathers and day-trippers, while throughout the year additional events are held within the town. Walking along the beach towards Old Hunstanton you find the richly-coloured cliff faces with intriguing rock pools. The beach at Old Hunstanton is popular with sunbathers, and also with wind and kite surfers. Within a 20-mile radius there is a large number of places of interest including NT properties, market towns and flint villages, offering something for all family members.

View more holiday cottages in Hunstanton

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas