Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 40 View Image Gallery
  • Job's Cottage - Norfolk - 1066405 - photo 1
close

Job's Cottage

(Ref. 1066405)

Snettisham, Norfolk Show on map

4.7

Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 3 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lovely (11)
  • comfortable (9)
  • welcome (9)
  • well (8)
  • cottage (8)
  • no (7)

17 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely house, spacious, comfortable, great for our party of 6."

    Well equipped Maybe Sykes would like to change exterior publicity picture, it’s a bit misleading. The house does not have such a big gravel front garden as shown. It made it tricky to find house on a dark wet night !

    Reviewed by Sandra4.7Nov 2023

  • "Lovely cottage and would recommend it to anyone looking for accommodation in that area."

    The welcome basket was a real treat and everything was provided to make our stay comfortable.

    Reviewed by Janet4.7Oct 2023

  • "We had a most enjoyable stay in Jobs Cottage ."

    A lovely , comfortable cottage in the beautiful village of Snettisham . We had an issue where we had to contact Sykes & the owner but communication was good & the issue was solved promptly. The cottage is a real home from home, the ducks in the garden were an unexpected but endearing treat & the welcome pack was very much appreciated after a long journey .

    Reviewed by Julie4.1Oct 2023

  • "House was lovely clean nice garden ect Didn’t find the bed in nonsuite room very comfortable But that’s just personnel to us how we felt Some one else might like it."

    Only other thing the coffee filter machine was full of old coffee moldy obviously cleaners not checked be forgotten for awhile these things happen. Definitely would stay again in this lovely house.

    Thank you so much for the kind comments. Sorry to hear that you didn’t find one of the beds comfortable, but you are quite right to say that this a matter of personal preference. Apologies also for the oversight as regards the coffee machine - very few guests seem to make use of it, which is probably why our cleaners didn’t spot it. So glad that you enjoyed your stay at Job’s Cottage. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mark5.0Sep 2023

  • "A lovely house with excellent facilities."

    The welcome pack was great, especially as we had a terrible journey, so it meant that we didn't have to rush out to the shops.The village has all you can need within walking distance - including a chocolate shop! We can certainly recommend the cottage and the location.

    Reviewed by Jill5.0May 2023

  • "Job’s Cottage is situated in a quiet side road in Snettisham."

    It has good off-road parking for two medium sized cars. The place is well decorated and has a well maintained private garden. The wifi is good and suitable for streaming films etc on the nice big TV. The village centre is only a fifteen-minute walk away. There’s a good CoOp that stocks pretty much all you’ll need but, for a bigger shop, there’s a huge Tesco and Sainsbury’s on the A149, just outside Kings Lynn. There’s a bus stop at the end of the road and is just a five-minute walk away. There are two pubs in the village, both very different and they serve food every day. There’s a coffee shop/cafe and a ‘posh’ restaurant! The Granary in Station Rd is well worth a visit. It’s an antique centre plus a great café that serves homemade cakes, cream teas and breakfasts using locally sourced produce. If you like wildlife there are some very good nature reserves nearby: RSPB Snettisham, RSPB Titchwell and NWT Cley Marshes. The facilities at the cottage are good but there are a few things that would help improve the stay. a) In the bathroom a vanity mirror and a shelf in the shower(s) for toiletries would be useful. There is just a large wall mirror over the sink and the toiletries go on the shower floor. b) In the kitchen, or utility room, a bin for the recycling rubbish would be good and a spare black bin liner for household rubbish would be useful. There was also only one tea towel. The coffee machine is a Krupps model, if you want to bring your own capsules, we didn’t as we didn’t know it was there until we arrived and we use Nespresso. There could be a few more hi-ball tumblers and wine glasses especially seeing that this house can sleep six people. There are a lot of sherry glasses! c) A spare front door key would have been good as we only had the one which meant going out independently was a bit of a problem. According to the booklet, there should have been one hanging on the hook in the kitchen but it was missing. A nice feature was the welcome hamper but, as there was nothing in any of the documentation that said there would be one we bought most of the items at Sainsbury’s in Kings Lynn before we arrived. The house is ‘pet friendly’, that we knew, and we don’t have pets but there was an over-powering smell of damp dog downstairs, especially in the lounge. If you’re dog owner then fine but if not you may want to bring a few scented candles will help mask the smell. There were however some real issues and the reason for the lower score: a) There was a very strong smell of fish in the fridge in the kitchen Attempts have been made to resolve this by putting a container full of bicarb in the door but it really needs a ‘shelf out deep clean. b) Some pieces of cookware in the kitchen, mostly metal trays/tins were very dirty and stained and should either be replaced or removed. c) There were no cleaning materials provided for kitchen or bathroom apart from a general purpose cleaner but no cloths, No toilet cleaner or kitchen brush. d) The mixer in the en-suite shower is difficult to adjust to the right temperature, it’s either very hot or freezing cold. The unit needs a proper clean or replacing e) The toilet brushes in the upstairs toilets are dirty and rusty and should be replaced. f) The hot tap in the sink in the bathroom is very wobbly and feels like it’s about to fall off and one of the bulbs has blown It flickers before giving up completely. If it weren’t for the issues this would have been a 9 or maybe even a 10 but given the issues above we can only give it a 7.

    Thank you for taking so much of your time to review your stay in such painstaking detail, albeit your comments are somewhat at odds with the very many good reviews which we have received over the last year or two. We will take time to read through your numerous points so that we can look to address as many of these issues as soon as we reasonably can, as soon as possible. In the meantime, just to pick up on a couple of your points: We were surprised at your feedback regarding the coffee machine. Although you are correct in stating that the manufacturer’s name is Krupps, the machine is specifically made for Nespresso capsules. Most of our previous visitors have been able to work this out as the ‘Nespresso’ name appears on the machine. You are right to say that there is currently only one front door key but we recently had to call an emergency locksmith to replace a faulty lock and this will be rectified shortly with a permanent lock replacement; however, there is of course the external key safe for visitors use if they are going out independently, or access via the back door with the key provided. Finally, if the provision of a welcome pack was enough to prompt a negative comment, it seems that we were never going to win! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Barry3.4Mar 2023

  • "Very well appointed and spotlessly clean accommodation."

    Very generous welcome pack. Ideal location.

    Reviewed by Elizabeth5.0Mar 2023

  • "Had a lovely week in quiet village with good facilities."

    3 cafes 2 pubs and a restaurant also a pharmacy plus a good co op. The cottage was very comfortable and ideal for what we wanted.

    Reviewed by Arthur5.0Mar 2023

  • "An excellent property"

    Reviewed by Richard5.0Feb 2023

  • "Delightful property, with everything throne could wish for."

    A thoughtfully provided welcome pack was great, and saved a schlepp to the shops. Well placed for visiting the coast, Sandringham and numerous other properties round about. Easily recommended.

    Reviewed by Nicholas5.0Oct 2022

  • "Excellent accommodation, nicely furnished and comfortable, fully equipped kitchen."

    Lovely welcome hamper had been left for us which was much appreciated. Certainly will rebook this property in the future.

    Reviewed by Liz5.0Sep 2022

  • "Spotlessly clean and well equipped throughout, perfect location for visiting north and west Norfolk."

    The one downside is the two fold away chairs, we were fortunate that our granddaughters were happy to use them but if you have six adults that may be a problem but understandable due to the position of the Island in the kitchen. Overall an excellent holiday was had in a lovely house

    Thank you so much for your feedback - we're so pleased that you had an excellent holiday. We will give some thought as to what we can do on the kitchen chairs front, although (as your comments suggest) this may need to wait until we undertake a complete remodelling of the kitchen in due course. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Roger4.7Aug 2022

  • "Everything we could possibly need for a “home from home” stay."

    The property was spacious and well thought out, the beds were so comfortable and there was plenty of hot water. Although we ate out we also were able to cook finding the oven easy to use and there are plenty of pots, pans and serving dishes and sharp knives! We enjoyed sitting in the garden in the evening just savouring the peace. Highly recommended from all the party.

    Thank you so much for your kind comments, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Job's Cottage! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sue5.0Jul 2022

  • "Shame that there were only four decent dining table chairs when the property sleeps six."

    The other two were fold up ones which were not very comfortable. This is not in any way a complaint, more a helpful comment next time adjustments are made to furniture) : Found the layout of the lounge a bit difficult to watch TV and also be comfortable, partly due to the angles and the other that the one couch facing the TV didn't adequately support your back / neck / head (you were more in "take-off" position for a moon launch. Overall though, would comment that this was a lovely property, clean, tidy, well equipped and a good choice was made by us in selecting it as our holiday base for 2022.

    Thank you for your helpful feedback - we are always looking for ways to improve things for our guests. It was nice to hear that you were pleased with your choice! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Greg4.4Jul 2022

  • "Lovely cottage, clean, spacious and well-appointed."

    Welcome hamper was a surprise and much appreciated, thank you. However the description and photo are inaccurate and misleading. It is not a detached cottage and the photo is of 2 adjoined houses. Disappointed when we arrived that the grass had clearly not been cut for weeks and we had to clean the patio and patio furniture before we could sit outside. Mentioned this to Sykes and the gardener came on Tuesday and tidied the garden and cut the grass. Great location in a pretty village with useful shop and pub within easy walking distance that serves good food and has a lovely beer garden. The house is within easy driving distance of some lovely sandy beaches and pretty villages, a steam engine museum, Norfolk Lavender and the beautiful Sandringham House and gardens.

    Thank you for your helpful feedback, and Im glad to hear that you liked the cottage. I have asked Sykes to update the property description to show quite clearly that it is semi-detached, so as to avoid any future misunderstandings. We are lucky enough to be visited regularly by a family of ducks, but unfortunately they do leave their mark as far as the patio is concerned, so we will try to keep on top of this. Many thanks, Simon Barber Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan4.4Jun 2022

  • "Felt a little overwhelmed by the amount of furniture in the property and the blankets on the sofas were a bit off putting as we did not take a dog."

    The outside looked unloved and the lawn needed a trim. Having said that cottage was well equipped, comfortable and situated in a lovely village in a lovely part of the country.

    Thank you for your comments, and sincere apologies for the lawn not having been cut - we were let down by our gardener. We were a little perplexed by your comment regarding the amount of furniture - this is the first comment to that effect, but if it becomes a recurring theme we will certainly consider feeding a few chairs and tables to the woodburner. On the matter of the throws on the sofas, we are of course happy for guests to remove them if they have no need for them - apologies if this inconvenienced you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anne3.8Jun 2022

  • "Could do with a bread bin and tea strainer for us that use leaves still!"

    !. good ammount of kitchen tools and DVDs games ect; . grass bit long . the local coop good , welcome hamper appreciated and handy., the bus service is exceptional every 20mins this maybe needs to be stated and time table in with leaflets . this was our first holiday in 3 years and we really loved it. so close to many places to see . did find shower hard to turn on but do have a bit of athrithis . over all a wonderful cottage and holiday. thank you

    Thank you so much for your helpful and kind comments. The lack of a tea strainer was clearly an oversight on our part, given that we had provided a teapot for guests! Apologies that the grass was a bit on the long side, our gardener arrived after overnight rain and decided it would be better to come back next week when it's drier. Good suggestion as regards bus timetables - we will put some information in the guest information folder as soon as we can. We are so pleased that you liked the cottage and had a nice holiday. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lynda5.0Jun 2022

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x king-size, 1 x double with en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with freestanding bath, walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Utility
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove
  • Central heating with woodburning stove
  • Range cooker with electric oven and gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, fridge, washing machine, dishwasher
  • Please note this property accommodates Friday check ins only
  • Smart TV, TV, DVD player, WiFi, selection of books and DVDs
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for woodburning stove inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 2 cars and on-street parking
  • Enclosed rear garden with lawn, patio and furniture
  • One well-behaved pet welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 0.5 miles, beach 2.4 miles

The property

Job's Cottage is a beautiful three-bedroom semi detached cottage resting in the heart of Snettisham, Norfolk.

Within easy reach of amenities, attractions and the fabulous coast, the cottage welcomes a family or group of six for a homely retreat.

Off-road parking for two cars is available for guests, along with extra roadside parking; park up and admire the classic, peaceful street in this traditional Norfolk village.

A pet-friendly cottage, the outside areas are fully enclosed to keep your canine companion safe, including a gated, gravelled side path leading to the handy porch entrance.

Kick off your shoes and head straight into the spacious, well-equipped kitchen/diner with ample storage space, beautiful tiled flooring, dining for six guests, and a range cooker in a rustic alcove where the family chef can cook up a storm.

Next door you'll find a utility room with a washing machine to throw in sandy towels and muddy walking gear, as well as an extra fridge to store your favourite self-catering ingredients.

Start the woodburning stove for extra warmth in the lovely, large sitting room, complete with comfortable sofas, armchairs and a cushioned bay window seat; grab a book off the shelf, watch your favourite film on the Smart TV and catch up with your loved ones.

Completing the ground floor, a cloakroom with basin and WC is perfect to quickly freshen up before dinner!

Follow the carpeted, twisting stairs to the first-floor landing with plenty of light pouring in from a large roof window; unpack your belongings in one of three spacious bedrooms, each with pretty décor, ample storage space and tall ceilings.

A double bedroom boasts a fabulous en-suite shower room for extra privacy, alongside a king-size double and a twin to rest your head ready for the next day's adventures.

Choose a relaxing soak in the freestanding bath or rinse off in the walk-in shower in the sleek, contemporary family bathroom.

Find the perfect, pet-friendly outdoor space, fully enclosed for playing games on the lawn or dining alfresco at the patio with outdoor seating.

From Job's Cottage, there are plenty of public pathways to walk the dog or bring your bikes to cover more ground of the renowned Norfolk coast.

Snettisham is a superb location for a self-catering holiday in Norfolk, with Snettisham beach within easy reach to relax in the sand and soak up the sun, whilst the picturesque village is home to two pubs, a bistro, a convenience store and an antiques and collectables centre.

Pack your towels and binoculars to journey a little further along the coast, by car or via the regular bus service links, to explore nearby RSPB attractions and the stunning beaches of Holme, Holkham and Blakeney.

Spend the day wandering the halls and incredible grounds of Sandringham Estate and St Mary Magdalene Church, with a museum hosting displays of royal life, or venture further afield to find a variety of idyllic villages.

Venture over to Heacham, a large village with a sandy beach to stop for lunch before visiting Norfolk Lavender, a popular attraction with 100 acres of lavender fields, a lavender oil distillery and shops to pick up the perfect souvenir.

Head further north along the coast to Hunstanton, where budding historians can discover the remains of a 1907 fishing boat on a secluded beach, take a picnic along the expansive sandy beach, or test your swing at Hunstanton Golf Club.

Lace up your walking boots to trek along the protected area of Norfolk Coast AONB; plenty of wildlife, historic sites such as the ruins of Creake Abbey, and diverse, spectacular landscapes will take your breath away, along with plenty of seaside towns, such as Wells-next-the-Sea, welcoming guests to stop for lunch.

Gather your loved ones for a stay in the homely, pet-friendly Job's Cottage.

View on map

About the location

SNETTISHAM

Heacham 3 miles; Royal Sandringham 4 miles; Hunstanton 5 miles.

Snettisham is a traditional Norfolk village, with many of its houses built from the local iron-rich carr stone, which has an attractive golden-brown colouring. Due to this, the buildings are known locally as “gingerbread houses”. Village amenities include general stores, a Post Office, 2 inns, a bistro and a regular bus service to the bustling, family-friendly seaside resort of Hunstanton and historic King’s Lynn. The church of St Mary sits alone on top of the hill and is certainly worthy of a look inside at the exquisitely decorated tracery flowers on the west window. There is an RSPB bird sanctuary close to the beach, which is three miles away, and the ancient Peddars Way public footpath runs near to the village. Park Farm is on the edge of the village, and is a working farm with year-round activities for all the family, including a 45-minute “deer safari” and the chance to feed some of the animals. The Royal Estate of Sandringham, whose impressive house, gardens and church are open to the public, is nearby, as are the plant farm, tea rooms and gift shop at Norfolk Lavender, England's premier lavender farm.

Please note this property accommodates Friday check ins only.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas