Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Norfolk 51 minutes ago

1 of 23 View Image Gallery
  • White Cottage - Norfolk - 945584 - photo 1

White Cottage

(Ref. 945584)

Sheringham, Norfolk Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (19)
  • comfortable (10)
  • well (10)
  • garden (9)
  • clean (8)
  • lovely (7)

23 Customer Reviews

  • "Beautiful cottage well maintained lovely and clean and lovely garden for the dog ."

    I Would highly recommend this property.

    Thank you very much ! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay Property Owner

    Reviewed by Judith5.0Sep 2023

  • "A very spacious cottage centrally placed for the town, sea and North Norfolk Railway."

    The cottage is well equipped and the garden is a spacious added bonus. The front bedroom is very bright at 4.30 when the sunrises and would benefit from blackout blind or heavier curtains (but we were there on the longest days of the year). The street is very quiet even though just a couple of streets away from one of the main shopping areas. Large supermarket and mainline railway station nearby. Take a walk up Sheringham Hill for amazing sunsets.

    Thank you very much for taking the time to give us feedback both on our cottage and on Sheringham which will assist other guests, and suggestions which we will certainly consider Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julia4.4Jun 2023

  • "Excellent house, very well appointed with all the comforts of home."

    Although very close to the High St, the road and surroundings were very quiet. Photos of garden do not do it justice. Would recommend

    Reviewed by John5.0Jun 2023

  • "Nice cottage ,but expected it to be cleaner then it was the floors throughout were very dirty ,and the carpets in hall and stairs we also in need of cleaning or better still replacing,we paid a lot of money to stay there for a week,expecting a better standard,will not return."

    Thank you very much for your comments on our cottage regarding your holiday taken with us over a month ago. We encourage all guests to provide feedback in our communications so that we can ensure we continue to maintain our high standards of housekeeping which are very important to us , and we regularly receive 100% scores. As owners we take a very “hands on” approach, and in your case we spoke with you on the phone a few days into your stay when you requested a barbecue (which is not listed in the cottage facilities) which despite this we provided almost immediately ( which you didn’t bother to clean ) and again happened to meet you on your departure having complimented us on our excellent customer service, and only then did you raise any other concerns. To be clear to future guests there are no carpets downstairs, (a deliberate policy as we are dog friendly) but laminate flooring or tiles , particularly in the hallway is original Edwardian flooring which due to its age may appear scuffed but as with all our flooring thoroughly cleaned between bookings. The carpets upstairs were new when the cottage was refurbished, and cleaned annually out of season. It is just not appropriate or necessary to replace them. You fail to mention any good things about our cottage which many guests tell us they appreciate. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Yvonne2.5Jun 2023

  • "Just can't get over how disgusted I was by our treatment by a housekeeper."

    She knocked loudly on the door at 10am!! We were all ready to leave. The house was spotless. She was then aggressive to us -i honestly was flabbergasted !!! I went back into the lounge to check the owners clock. It was only one minute past ten!!! I have a son was autism who just needs to use the toilet a couple minutes before we go to make sure he is ok for the journey home on the train. I have rented cottages for many years and haven't experienced anything like this. Unfortunately when I phoned Sykes to complain the young lady was really 'not bothered' and said in a very bored voice -well what do you want us to do'?!?!? Sadly it took all the shine off a lovely holiday. We had really enjoyed our stay until that moment.

    I am already aware of this incident which has never occurred before , the guest received my personal apology on the same day. Sykes also contacted me to discuss following the guest complaint to them. Our regular housekeeper did not intend to give offence but it is not unreasonable to knock on the door at 10am ( which is latest time requested to depart) as it is essential for us to gain access promptly on changeover days to ensure we can maintain our high standards as each change takes a minimum of 3 up to 4 hours. Also sometimes it isn’t obvious that guests are still in the cottage. I am very sorry that the guest felt upset. The guest emailed me during her stay that “ the cottage was lovely” and we regularly receive 100% scores from satisfied guests . we take a lot of effort to ensure our cottage delivers a clean environment and comfortable stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen2.5Apr 2023

  • "Have been staying in holiday cottages for over 30 years and White Cottage was one of the nicest that we have stayed in during that period."

    Ideally situated, spotlessly clean, excellent shower , comfortable beds and lounge furniture. The welcome pack was much appreciated. Thank you for a very enjoyable stay

    Thank you both very much for your 100% score ! We are delighted that you enjoyed our cottage and your stay with us - hope to see you again in the future Property Owner

    Reviewed by Richard5.0Mar 2023

  • "The cottage had everything we needed for a couple of nights near the sea."

    Owners were friendly and helpful and communication before our stay was great Thanks

    Reviewed by Rebecca3.8Dec 2022

  • "Comfortable and clean cottage."

    We appreciate the milk, mince pies, cereals, milk, and coffee...thank you. We also appreciate the late checkout which was particularly useful. The cottage lives up to expectations.

    Thank you very much , especially as this is your second visit - we hope to see you again next year ! Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Dec 2022

  • "Perfect place to stay."

    We loved our week at White cottage with our 2 dogs. It was very comfortable and clean and lots of extras were provided which were very much appreciated. The dog safe garden was great and Perfect for sitting in to take in the lovely sunshine. Would definitely recommend this cottage for its comfort and accessibility to many local places to visit and also the shops and cafes pubs and restaurants within easy walking distance.

    Thank you very much for your 100% score ! So pleased you and the dogs enjoyed your stay Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sue5.0Oct 2022

  • "Very comfortable cottage."

    Facilities close by. Welcome pack, coffee, tea, milk and cake! Compliments to the cleaner. Second visit. Highly recommended.

    Reviewed by Susan4.7Jun 2022

  • "White Cottage is in the perfect position to explore and enjoy sheringham and ..."

    White Cottage is in the perfect position to explore and enjoy sheringham and surrounding areas we were made to feel really at home with the thoughtful welcome pack they even left treats for our 2 dogs

    Thank you very much for giving us a 100% score both on our cottage and your stay in Sheringham! We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday Property Owner

    Reviewed by Brian5.0Apr 2022

  • "Great location."

    On street parking usually okay apart from bank holiday - can’t be helped. Cottage well equipped and comfortable, many thoughtful extras provided. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Nick5.0Apr 2022

  • "White cottage is a fabulous property, situated in the heart of Sheringham, close to shops, steam train and of course the beach!"

    Lovely to receive a welcome pack to start you off and beyond. Our dogs enjoyed the lovely garden as did we when the sun was shining! We had prompt response from the owners when we called regarding a situation completely out of their control, and it was dealt with efficiently. Many thanks Max and Anne for letting us stay at your wonderful cottage, we will most definitely be returning. We couldn’t rate this little gem enough !

    Reviewed by Alison5.0Mar 2022

  • "A lovely comfortable cottage, a good size, and very clean."

    Very well located.

    Reviewed by Claire4.7Feb 2022

  • "Clean and comfortable accommodation."

    Description matched experience

    Reviewed by David5.0Dec 2021

  • "A fantastic stay in the heart of Sherringham."

    A lovely, well maintained cottage great for the doggies. A wonderful surprise was the amazing welcome gifts of milk in the fridge, chocolate cake on the side and coffee and tea provided, an exceptionally nice touch.

    Reviewed by Alex5.0Oct 2021

  • "The cottage was really comfortable, clean to a very high standard."

    Garden beautiful. Main shops within a few minutes walk including a big Tesco and of course the beach. Will probably go again.

    Reviewed by Susan4.7Jun 2021

  • "The cottage is really well situated, being just a short walk (a few minutes) to Sheringham shops, food outlets, Tesco, the train station and steam train and the beach."

    The cottage was spotless and very well equipped. Great garden for the dog. Owners were very helpful to respond on a query about turning the heating on (for the first time after summer) and resolved the problem very quickly. Couldn't be happier with the gorgeous cottage and its fab location.

    Reviewed by Marion5.0Sep 2020

  • "White cottage was a home from home."

    It had lots of little extra touches which we hadn’t expected. The kitchen had everything and the addition of a gate kept our dog in his own space. We all thought how quiet it was even though we were in the middle of Sheringham. The garden was delightful and dog friendly. We enjoyed eating outdoors on the private patio.The beds were comfy and the bathroom was spacious. Furnishings were to a high standard. We all enjoyed our holiday, dog was content. Sheringham is an ideal base to explore North Norfolk. We purchased a weekly car park pass for the main car park next to the railway, it’s a 5 minute walk away.

    Reviewed by Beris5.0Sep 2020

  • "Lovely extra touches and the cottage was beautifully decorated with a homely feel"

    Reviewed by Emily5.0Aug 2020

  • "We were informed at 2pm that the cottage was ready for us, when originally we were told that we wouldn't have access until 4pm to enable extra cleaning of the property due to Covid19."

    We arrived in the early evening and were very alarmed to find the cottage hardly cleaned at all, as follows: -the fridge had not been cleaned, it had remains of food and hair in it. I had to take out all of the shelves and thoroughly clean them. -the fridge door and freezer door had finger marks and stains on it - we cleaned them off -the light switch in the kitchen had dirty finger prints on it - we had to wipe all of the light switches with sanitiser. -the table in the dining room had food stains on it - we cleaned it -the table in the garden was filthy - we cleaned it -the bedside tables had cup marks and the bedside lights were dusty and had obviously never been cleaned - the mirrors still had splats on them prom previous guests -the top bunk sheet had black hairs in it -the sides of the bunks were sticky and had marks all over them -the bath had stains on it -the floor throughout the whole of the downstairs was filthy and had grubby corners and edges - the skirting boards were absolutely disgusting and looked like they had never been cleaned -the walls in the dining room had dog slobber marks on them -some of the cutlery in the cutlery draw still had food on them As you can imagine we were hugely disappointed with the state of the property; these issues would be bad enough under old normal circumstances, but are outrageous during a pandemic. We did not contact the owner as we had already cleaned the majority of the places/items that required cleaning. Also our luggage was now in the house and as there is a pandemic did not want somebody else entering the property to come in whilst we were there. As we had had spent hours cleaning on arrival we also did not want our holiday disrupted any further.

    We have been providing holiday accommodation in Sheringham since 2009. Hundreds of guests have stayed with us, and we have a record of many glowing reviews , with many guests returning to us year on year. Our housekeeper is very reliable and has been with us for some time. We encourage and welcome constructive guest feedback , however despite their damning criticism these guests did not make any attempt to contact either myself (they had my email, and personal mobile number on their phone ) or Sykes at any time during their stay. So we had no opportunity to either view or address their concerns. Citing “the pandemic “ is not an acceptable excuse. We will refrain from commenting on the condition they left the cottage and garden upon departure. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael2.8Jul 2020

  • "Cosy and very comfortable cottage, well equipped with everything you need."

    Close to shops and beach, a real gem!

    Reviewed by Hina5.0Jul 2020

  • "Excellent location."

    Great accommodation. Well equipped. Comfortable beds.

    Reviewed by Paul4.7Mar 2020

Show more Hide all


  • Three bedrooms: 2 x double and 1 x bunk
  • Bathroom with roll top bath, hand-held shower, separate shower and basin
  • Separate WC
  • Cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Utility
  • Dining room with electric fire
  • Sitting room
  • Gas central heating and electric fire
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washing/dryer, TV, DVD player, CD player and WiFi
  • Highchair and stair gate available
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Roadside parking available
  • Patio with furniture and enclosed garden
  • Three well-behaved dogs welcome, please be aware that pets are not permitted upstairs
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub within 0.1 miles

The property

White Cottage can be found settled in the heart of the popular tourist town of Sheringham.

In easy reach of many of the area's coastal delights, this cottage is a wonderful base for your family retreat to Norfolk.

Step inside this white washed cottage to uncover a homely aura, with the sitting room offering a snug spot to gather with your loved ones amidst to enjoy some relaxing time together, or choose to get together in the spacious dining room, here you can make a plan for your fun-filled day, or simply enjoy a home-cooked meal prepared in the well-equipped kitchen.

In the well equipped kitchen you can find a good range of appliances settled around traditional units and an adjoining utility room has washer/dryer and separate WC; here you can take pleasure in rustling up a fresh dish using seafood bought along the coast.

On the first floor you will be delighted to find three bright and airy bedrooms, a spacious family bathroom with separate WC, and two doubles (one with TV) and a bunk room, this layout is perfect for a family to catch up on their rest encompassed by a warm and welcome interior of natural hues.

Outside you can find your own private patio area, making a great spot for your canine companions to play freely in the secure garden while you dine alfresco.

The central location of this cottage means that you'll find an abundance of fun on your doorstep with easy walking access to shops and beach, sample seafood at one of the coastal restaurants, or enjoy traditional fish and chips on the promenade.

Home to amusements, a museum, golf, gardens and an all-important beach ideal for both sandcastle building and leisurely strolls at any time of the year, Sheringham is sure to offer something for every taste.

Explore the nature of Norfolk in the Norfolk Coast AONB, with its spectacular scenery and natural delights, it's well-worth a visit.

In easy reach of the popular coastal areas of Mundesley and Cromer, White Cottage makes a wonderful base for your coastal retreat to Norfolk.

View on map

About the location


Cromer 4.8 miles.

Sheringham was originally a small fishing village on the North Norfolk coast, but with the arrival of the railways in 1887 it prospered and grew into a popular holiday town. Sheringham has been awarded ten consecutive European Blue Flags for cleanliness for its beach, along with awards from Britain in Bloom, Anglia in Bloom, and Best Coastal Resort. Enjoy walking along the East or West promenades, offering sea views with blue skies and red sunsets, a beach with a silver-pebbled shoreline leading to golden sands with rock pools and streams next to ochre cliffs, local fishing boats and a RLNI lifeboat station with museum. This attractive traditional seaside town also has the 'Little Theatre', open all year round, seaside gardens with seating, a model boating lake, independent shops, tea rooms, steam railway, golfing, amusement arcades, and fish & chip shops selling locally-caught fish.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas