Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

12 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 21 View Image Gallery
  • 3 Station Cottages - Norfolk - 1007819 - photo 1

3 Station Cottages

(Ref. 1007819)

Wymondham, Norfolk Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (31)
  • lovely (18)
  • bed (17)
  • garden (17)
  • location (15)
  • station (15)

45 Customer Reviews

  • "Fabulous cottage."

    Perfect location. Larger than the pictures looked.

    Reviewed by Johanna5.0Dec 2023

  • "This is our second time staying here."

    We love the easy access for trains, main road A11, and just a short walk into Wymondham. The cottage maybe old but has a lovely charm about it, the wood burner in winter is a bonus for cosy nights in.

    Reviewed by Michael4.4Nov 2023

  • "I loved this cottage and I soon felt at home ."

    The location is good in that you have access to trains, north or south, just a few steps away . And Wymondham is a beautiful little Norfolk town .

    Reviewed by Rex5.0Nov 2023

  • "A nice cottage with parking, a nice comfortable lounge/dinning room, kitchen with all the bits req , a nice back garden and patio area."

    Also a double bed to rear and a twin to front. Also a very nice and handy bistro in old station with great breakfast cottage was located 7/8 minutes to walk in to town which was handy to eat and drink in town without driving and lastly very central to drive for all locations in Norfolk yes would recommend

    Reviewed by Steve4.1Oct 2023

  • "It's hard to improve on what other people have said about this cottage, other than it has a charm all of it's own."

    We did find the steep stairs a challenge for the first day or two, but by the end of the week we were bounding up & down them like gazelles !

    Reviewed by Geoff4.7Sep 2023

  • "We had a lovely break in this cottage, which was comfortable, and well-equipped."

    Many thanks for the little extras which we much appreciated. Would recommend! And we'll be back. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Jane4.4Sep 2023

  • "We had a lovely weeks stay in No 3 Station cottage."

    Very clean and comfortable with tasteful decor and furnishings . The pretty little garden is nice to sit out in and being fully enclosed suitable for dog owners to let their dog run around and play. Lots of walks around and the town is a walkable distance with many little shops and cafes. The Railway Hotel only a short distance walk away for meals and Station Bistro also serves food during the day. It is suitable equally for a couple or family. We would definitely like to visit again and would happily recommend a holiday there.

    Reviewed by Brenda Ruth5.0Sep 2023

  • "Cosy cottage a short walk from the town centre of Wymondham."

    We enjoyed our stay very much - everything was well cared for and in good working condition. Nice and sheltered seating in the garden, quiet environment.

    Reviewed by Inga4.7Aug 2023

  • "We have stayed here before, the location is lovely."

    The place is immaculately clean but this time the garden definitely needed a little TLC . The main problem is the same as last year both sofas have collapsed underneath and are v uncomfortable, they also need a new double bed as this one has a definite camber one side, and I wish they had bedside lights in the twin room. The welcome basket is lovely. we would definitely stay there again.

    Reviewed by Julie4.1Jul 2023

  • "A wonderful, cosy property and exactly what we were looking for."

    Yes it's old, but that is part of it's charm........read the property details and look at the pictures and you should know what to expect. There were some previous comments about the sofa's and beds being too soft or hard, but we thought they were fine - as with so many things in life, a matter of personal preference. Similarly, the staircase is narrow and quite steep, so may be not ideal for everyone. It's likely we will be returning to the area from time to time and will have no hesitation in booking again, so hope that says it all, we loved it.

    Reviewed by Anthony5.0Jul 2023

  • "We had a lovely week staying in Wymondham; it's a beautiful fun town with lots to do."

    The cottage is cute, and old! As other people have said, it could possibly be updated, but then it might lose its charm. The garden is lovely - we spent most of the time out the back, watching the wren tending to her nest.

    Reviewed by Christopher3.1Jul 2023

  • "Lovely cottage with good size well maintained garden patio set sitting out for breakfast , cosy quaint interior, very homely and welcoming comfortable bed nice dog friendly place with plenty of walks."

    Station bistro just across way ideal for breakfast Only one little bear bug the two sofas had no support really other than that we would gladly go back and we had a great week

    Reviewed by Dale5.0Jul 2023

  • "I don't usually give feedback."

    However on this occassion I feel I must. I don't expect a period property to be perfect, but I do expect it to be clean and comfortable, but on this occassion this property failed. Too many problems to mention, the bathroom was very dirty and dated. As previously mentioned in other reviews, the two sofas in the living room were extremely uncomfortable because of lack of support. At one point I had to roll off the sofa onto the floor to stand up, in actual fact the floor was more comfortable.

    Reviewed by Trevor2.2Jun 2023

  • "We had a fantastic stay at 3 Station cottage, And will be returning to stay there again in our future trips to Wymondham."

    Reviewed by Robert5.0May 2023

  • "The mattresses are beyond their useful life."

    The double bed mattress has a massive hillock on the center and is squashed at the sides, so it is okay if one person on it in the center, but useless for two people. The single bed mattress is worse than useless. Same with the sofa's, sit in them and you sink to the floor, effectively sitting on the floor within a sofa frame. The kitchen and living rooms are thoughtfully and pleasantly decorated and functional. The location is excellent. The gift pack and milk in the fridge is thoughtful and very welcome. I would book again, but please upgrade the mattresses.

    Reviewed by Chris4.4Nov 2022

  • "Absolutely beautiful cottage, very clean and nicely presented."

    There were a few minor issues that could be easily sorted. The double bed mattress was extremely uncomfortable. My wife had to sleep in a single bed as just to firm and is like sleeping on a plank of wood. The sofas are Ok, but you sink into them and difficult to get off, springs a bit worn. There was a TV upstairs that did not work until we purchased an ariel lead to go into the socket on wall. The WiFi is very very very slow! Some light bulbs need replacing. Please sort out the wasps nest out side the bedroom window, somehow they get in. Had to sort them out every day Watch the gate when reversing out! I damaged my wing mirror and needs to be replaced. Having said all of this please dont let it put you off, the log burner was great, you have everything you need, great location for getting around, warm and very traditional. We would definitely stay again if the bed was changed.

    Reviewed by Tracey3.1Nov 2022

  • "We booked this pre covid and have just had our holiday."

    The location is excellent as is the shower and the garden is really pleasant. We do however have to agree with other comments regarding, bed, stairs, sofas, fuel left for visitors and there wasn’t a BBQ. We could have done with instructions for coffee machine etc. I would also draw attention to the property description as it says towels included. We were provided with one towel each and had to use another towel from spare beds. With a good bit of care and attention this property would be outstanding. A visitors book should also be available.

    Dear Guests. With regards to your queries- a visitors book is available at the property, I am sorry that you did not see it. I am sorry that you were uncertain how to use the nespresso coffee machine, I would have been more than happy to have talked you through how to use it, had you called. There is also a cafetière and coffee for this in the welcome pack, as well as coffee capsules for the machine. I agree that the stairs at the cottage are steep, as they are in most listed period cottages, which is why we have included a picture of the stairs and handrail on the Sykes website, I am sorry that you did not see this. The wooden bed is new (previously it was caste iron and there were complaints that it squeaked so we changed it). I am sorry that the mattress was not of the firmness that you like, unfortunately with this it is very difficult to please all. The two single beds however have special mattresses that can be zipped together to make a double bed, so there are two different double mattress options available if needed. I am sorry that you feel that one towel each is not enough, however as you have stated yourself there are spares available and there is a washing machine at the property. I feel it would not be environmentally friendly to have double the amount of towels washed each week as standard. There is a BBQ available at the property during the summer. During the winter there is enough firelighter, kindling and firewood wood for one fire. We do not provide for people to have a fire every night as there are many places to buy this locally if people wish to use more. I am glad that you enjoyed the new shower, lovely garden and the excellent location of the property. I hope that you had a lovely holiday. Best wishes Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan & William2.2Oct 2022

  • "I always enjoy my holidays in Norfolk."

    The cottage was in the right location near a mainline railway station however I am now 82 and the property was not suitable. The stairs were difficult and I would not attempt to carry my heavy suitcase up them and the bathroom and toilet being downstairs, it made my stay difficult. I slept on the double bed and it seemed to have a structural fault with a distinct ridge in the middle. It felt as if I was sleeping on a slope. The lounge sofas were too soft and even using all 4 available cushions, it was an effort to get up. Obviously younger visitors could cope better than I. The listing should make it clear that the elderly or unfit may not find the property appropriate

    Dear Guest, I agree that the stairs are steep, as they are in most listed period cottages. We have included a picture of the stairs and handrail to draw attention to this. The bathroom is downstairs, I am sorry that your attention was not drawn to this when booking and can only apologise for the inconvenience this caused you. I am uncertain of the defect you are referring to with the bed- it is new, I have removed the mattress to check and nothing appears to be broken, sorry that I cannot shed more light on this. I hope that you enjoyed your holiday Best wishes Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alan1.9Sep 2022

  • "We had a great time, loved the garden."

    The double bed is not v comfortable as it has a camber on it that that tips you out . The sofas are also well used and you disappear down the back of them but are reasonable comfortable. The welcome basket was very nice, thank you. We would definitely stay again.

    Reviewed by Julie4.4Aug 2022

  • "A very nice place exactly as advertised except nothing said about the stair’s which were a little tricky to say the least but apart from that a very enjoyable place to stay."

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Aug 2022

  • "Lovely, quaint cottage - just as described and a perfect base for exploring Norfolk."

    Thank you for the hamper on arrival - a lovely, welcoming touch. Yes, the stairs are very narrow and steep - particularly in the middle of the night if a bathroom visit (downstairs) is required! The settees are very low and not easy to get out of when you're of a certain age. The shower (over the bath) was first class, although the bath itself was very slippery. However, the location was beautifully peaceful and we found a lovely shady haven at the end of the garden which, given this heatwave, was glorious. Having the station on our doorstep, we used the train for a visit to Norwich which as it only took under 15 minutes was perfect and saved the hassle of finding parking once there. We also took in a seal trip at Blakeney and would thoroughly recommend this - suitable for all ages and even well-behaved dogs are welcome. Advised to book in advance. Thank you for sharing your property - it was much appreciated and a welcome break.

    Reviewed by Debbie4.7Aug 2022

  • "This property could be absolutely amazing with a little TLC."

    We had issues with the beginnings of a wasp nest in the bedroom window frame above the front door resulting in wasps coming into the bedroom through the interior sash cord holes, my mum who is allergic to wasps was stung four times requiring urgent medical care. I disposed of the nest with a suitable spray but suspect the wasps will return because the window frame is damaged outside. There’s a few raised floorboard nails upstairs that need tapping down and the double bed mattress needs replacing as I kept rolling out of bed! As mentioned in a previous review the sofas are of good quality but very soft, I think they need restrapping under the seat cushions. A lamp in the lounge and twin bedroom would be great as would a working clock on the mantle piece. A guest book would also be good so guests can leave comments. The setting of the cottage is excellent for exploring Norfolk by car or train and Wymondham has excellent shops, restaurants and supermarkets. Despite these little hiccups we had a wonderful stay at this cottage.

    Reviewed by Hiedi3.4Jul 2022

  • "We’re not teenagers but we found the stairs very difficult!"

    ! Also the two sofas were good quality but very low and uncomfortable to sit on. Nice as this house was, we would not recommend it for older guests.

    Reviewed by Valerie4.1Jun 2022

  • "Really lovely cottage, although it is a bit tired and just needs a little TLC."

    Things like, half end of curtain pole missing, some blind didn’t work, bathroom had a slight damp smell after a shower, mugs were not clean, kettle could really do with a good descaling, bins also. But the really most disappointing thing was there was very little wood left for a fire one or 2 evenings, and I was so disappointed that although a garden BBQ was listed there wasn’t one ?? If we had known, we would have bought our camping one from home. The cottage is really sweet and in a great little location, very peaceful and the garden was lovely.

    Reviewed by Imelda3.1Jun 2022

  • "Lovely cottage, 2nd time we’ve stayed here as it’s so convenient for the station."

    Only gave 4 * as sofas quite uncomfortable and only having a downstairs bathroom quite scary going down steep stairs through the night.

    Reviewed by Joy4.7Jun 2022

  • "The hot water kept going on ,and off and no hot water from the Wednesday and i ..."

    The hot water kept going on ,and off and no hot water from the Wednesday and i phoned the numbers left at the property to no avail it left us very disappointed with the cottage

    Reviewed by Martin2.8May 2022

  • "The property was in a nice position, with its own parking space."

    the garden was good but the outside of the house could have done with a tidy up, getting rid of cobwebs, the parasol was broken and dirty. the kitchen was well equipped, everything you needed. the welcome pack was appreciated. when we stripped the bed at the end of our stay, we found the pillows and the mattress cover to be stained and could do with replacing, but overall we had a good stay.

    Reviewed by Trevor3.4Apr 2022

  • "Cosy, clean, comfortable cottage and surprisingly warm."

    The welcome pack and Christmas tree were appreciated.

    Reviewed by Louise5.0Dec 2021

  • "We had a lovely week at this property and the welcome goodies were a kind touch."

    We were a little bit apprehensive after reading some recent reviews but were pleasantly surprised on arrival. We found the cottage to be as advertised & we were mindful that it is an older property. Despite its age it was very warm and cosy & we enjoyed returning after fun days out. The proximity to the railway station was what appealed to us when we made the booking & we did head out on the train which was more relaxing than using the car every day. The Station Bistro a few steps away was enjoyable for both a breakfast & a lunch stop. One recommendation would be to provide fresh pillows (we bought a couple of new ones for our stay) but overall we enjoyed the cottage & had a much needed break. When any future updates are made to the cottage we feel that focusing on its proximity to the railway would be a great selling point - in terms of theming this quirky & quaint station cottage. Thanks for a super break.

    Reviewed by Nigel4.4Oct 2021

  • "Full of flies in the cottage when we arrived and smelt of wet dogs."

    So before we unpacked we had to go out and buy fabreeze and fly spray and lots of air fresheners. The flies were coming out of the kitchen bins which promptly went outside. Sealant round bath all coming away.Thermostat did not work so spent cold nights in the sitting room after returning from our day out. The location is fantastic and the cottage would be fine if the issues above got sorted

    Reviewed by Tracey2.8Aug 2021

  • "Lovely cottage."

    The facilities were excellent. The stairs were quite narrow and steep, not a problem for us but would possibly cause concern for elderly residents. Very well located next to the Railway Station.

    Reviewed by Duncan5.0Aug 2021

  • "The beds in the cottage are very comfortable & the garden is a lovely sun trap."

    The location is good for the town of Wymondham, trains (obviously), and some lovely walks. The meadows are beautiful. The cottage is however in need of some updating, particularly the kitchen & bathroom. We could not get the water hot enough in the bath. The ornaments and pictures are dated, and the bed linen is in dire need of renewing. It is a sweet property that needs to decorating and decluttered. The cleanliness is not great and we had to buy bathroom cleaning & brush & dishwasher salt & rinse aid. The blinds are literally just hanging on with some looking like the cords would break any minute & the curtains really need replacing.

    Reviewed by Deborah2.8Jul 2021

  • "An ideal cottage with everything you need ,warm and cosy ,good shower ,station handy if you do not fancy driving."

    Reviewed by Howard4.1Oct 2020

  • "Charming young couple who own it and were very helpful."

    Your company were very kind and helpful when booking this cottage. Sadly I no longer have my beloved dogs but will continue to use your cottages and recommend them to friends with and without dogs.

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Sep 2020

  • "The cottage was lovely and quirky."

    Great location with really comfy beds. However, sofa wasnt comfy and the attention that's been paid to the ornaments and pictures could have been paid to cleaning as well. The place was generally clean but spider webs in the corners and boiler cuboard, dust behind the tv was unnecessary. More attention could have been paid to facilities too, eg oven trays, even just a pizza tray, matches for the log burner. Apart from these little complaints we loved the cottage. We didnt mind that it faces the station car park and backs onto a graveyard. There was no noise from the lovely characterful station and no activity (as far as we knew) from the graveyard, which was a really nice graveyard with a beautiful old chapel.

    Reviewed by Jeanette3.4Aug 2020

  • "Lovely garden and spacious patio at the rear of the house."

    Most pleasant place to sit and relax on a warm evening. Good to hear the trains going through the station from time to time. We found it to be a peaceful and pleasant place. Certainly a holiday cottage to revisit.

    Reviewed by John E3.1Aug 2020

  • "The house is lovely, great space inside and great garden."

    The train station is next door (3 Houses away) but that wasn't a problem for us and our train loving toddler. The noise wasn't very loud and the frequency wasn't very often. Having off street parking with a gate was helpful, although a little tight getting an SUV in and out. The town is small but lovely and there are plenty of beautiful beaches within an hours drive. The railway bistro at the station is busy, sadly we didn't get to try it, but may bee worth booking in advance if you want to go. The stairs inside are steep, we had to carry our toddler up and down, but there is a door to the stairs in the lounge so that helped us keep our inquisitive toddler safe. And when we arrived both bins (general waste and recycling) were full, only the general waste was emptied mid-week so sadly the people following us will have a similar problem. But that is only minor. We had a wonderful stay

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Aug 2020

  • "Location of cottage was good for what we wanted."

    Walking distance to the shops and restaurants in Wymondham. Next door to the train station and Station Bistro. We caught the train to Norwich and Cambridge. Station Bistro is nice for coffee etc and we enjoyed a lovely meal there Friday evening, all the better for being just a few steps away. Nicely furnished with comfortable beds. Stairs are narrow and bare wood. Bathroom is compact. Garden is quite private.

    Reviewed by Joy4.1Jul 2020

  • "Lovely well equipped cottage."

    Great garden. We absolutely loved it and can’t wait to go again. Lovely welcome basket. Very thoughtful

    Reviewed by Janice5.0Jul 2020

  • "The only problem was that the stairs are very difficult for anyone who is disabled."

    Other than that it is a beautiful well equipped cottage. We loved everything about it apart from the stairs. There is plenty of crockery and bedding, books and videos. Surroundings are quite interesting with the train station being on the doorstep.

    Reviewed by Elizabeth5.0Mar 2020

  • "The general ambiance was dissapointing."

    A little bit of money spent on furniture, ornaments and pictures would make all the difference.

    Reviewed by James4.1Jan 2020

  • "The hot water in the bath not very hot and therefore could not use spa bath that was advertised"

    Reviewed by David4.1Nov 2019

  • "Great holiday cottage, nice touch of the welcome pack, the dog loved her treat."

    Would stay here again.

    Reviewed by Barry5.0Oct 2019

  • "Bed really comfy!"

    Enjoyed location and having private garden

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Sep 2019

  • "Lovely house, great location"

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Aug 2019

Show more Hide all


  • Over two floors
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double and 1 x twin
  • Ground floor bathroom with bath and shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Utility
  • Living/dining room.
  • Gas central heating, woodburning stove
  • Electric oven and gas hob, microwave, fridge, toaster, kettle, dishwasher, freezer, washing machine
  • TV and a selection of books and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair available on request
  • Off-road parking is available for 2 cars
  • Enclosed lawned garden and patio area with furniture and charcoal barbecue
  • One well-behaved pet welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.7 miles and pub 0.2 miles.

The property

3 Station Cottages is a quintessential English railway cottage on the edge of the market town of Wymondham.

This Grade II listed end-terrace flint cottage was built in 1845 and is perfectly situated for country strolls yet only a short walk to Wymondham historic centre with its breath-taking abbey, weekly market, country pubs and coffee shops.

Inside the owners have created a smart retreat, with a marvellous collection of colourful art, which gives the property an eclectic and charming feel that makes it very memorable and homely.

Spend your evening keeping up to date with all your favourite shows and enjoying quality family time in the spacious open-plan lounge, with the woodburning stove to keep you warm during those chilly evenings.

There is a dining area with seating for up to four people, a wonderful social space for the whole family to dine together.

Furnished to a high-standard, this kitchen will inspire you to dust off those cook books and indulge in all the modern appliances at hand.

Choose from a double and a twin for that much-needed rest at the end of each adventure-packed day.

The ground floor is home to a family bathroom, boasting a delightful bath and shower over.

Relax and have a luxurious soak in the tub, with a good book to wash off the tiring events of the day.

In the summer, take a snack or a refreshing drink out to the enclosed rear garden and simply let the countryside air soak in.

Off-road parking is available for 2 cars.

Why not venture into the town centre, where you will discover a plethora of tourist attractions, including Wymondham Abbey, an Anglican parish church, showcasing a wealth of history as well as plenty of antique shops, independent shops, a number of pubs and restaurants cafes, a public library and a small museum.

A market is held every Friday, and has been running since the 13th century, and a Farmer's Market is held every third Saturday of the month.

Or take a drive towards Morley Old Hall, a Grade I listed manor house, dating back to the 16th century and is situated in stunning landscaped gardens.

Venture into the city centre of Norwich, which is a fine historic Norman site, or visit BeWILDerwood, an adventure park ideal for families looking for thrilling zip wires, treehouses and jungle bridges, not to mention the marsh walks - so much for families to discover, you won't want to leave!

3 Station Cottages is the perfect choice for a relaxing break to the heart of Norfolk.

View on map

About the location


Norwich 9 miles.

The attractive town of Wymondham is ideally situated just 9 miles from Norwich and boasts numerous historic buildings. Wymondham Abbey is one of the finest and most interesting of the historic churches of East Anglia and was built by the chief butler to Henry I as a priory in 1107. The magnificently restored, 19th century railway station features an interesting museum, a fabulous gift shop, scrumptious tea room and a “Brief Encounter” themed restaurant. Peruse the medieval streets to the pretty market square with its cross dating back to 1617, browse the many Tudor shop windows or enjoy fine food at the 15th century Green Dragon Inn. Enjoy the weekly, bustling markets and in the summer months the fine gardens that are available for all to enjoy. The medieval city of Norwich, listed in the top five places to shop in Britain, boasts a wonderful blend of historic buildings and modern architecture and offers a year round programme of festivals and a buzzing nightlife. Plenty to see and do, for all the family.