Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

6 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 35 View Image Gallery
  • 3 Penllan Cottages - North Wales - 1077543 - photo 1

3 Penllan Cottages

(Ref. 1077543)

Trelawnyd, North Wales & Snowdonia Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (11)
  • beautiful (6)
  • views (6)
  • definitely (5)
  • our (5)
  • eco (5)

13 Customer Reviews

  • "Property was excellent and fully met our needs."

    The heating from the air source heat pump was a bit hit and miss. Upstairs got really warm but the lounge was quite cold we had to light wood burner most evenings.

    Reviewed by Philip4.1Mar 2024

  • "We really enjoyed our stay here, the accommodation was beautiful and very comfy, felt very relaxed here."

    The only downside was the cleaning seemed very minimal. Clumps of dog hair could be seen on the stairs and the landing this was easily fixed by using the Hoover which was provided in the property. Also dog toys was located from previous people was located under the chair in the living room. The welcome pack was really informative and the recommended local attractions was really helpful. Highly recommend the local farm for fresh milkshakes and pizza van. Would highly recommend and would certainly book again.

    Reviewed by Kerry4.4Oct 2023

  • "A Beautiful quaint cottage,in a peacefull setting with idyllic views."

    What more could you possibly want. We will definitely be back.Thankyou very much to the owner.

    Thank you so much for your kind words, we are so glad you enjoyed staying at our cottage. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Deborah5.0Oct 2023

  • "Unfortunately some of the details given on the website are innaccurate."

    It states there is a washer/dryer, there isn't, it is just a washine machine. There are no instructions on how to switch on the heating, you have to guess. There is no decent bread knife, there were very few decent towels, two I think. There were no instructions as to what to do with the bedding so we just stripped the beds. Some of the distances quoted were way off, Talacre was quoted as over 45 miles when in fact it's more like 4.5 miles. The cottage was excellent though, well positioned with great views, with nice comfortable beds.

    Thanks for your feedback. You are right about Talacre, its actually more like 3.4 miles according to google. We will get that and the washing machine description changed. You didnt need to do anything to the beds, we have cleaners due as soon as you check out. Ive asked them to leave a few more towels. Also the heating is on at a constant temperature so nothing to do. We will put up some more signs so this is clear to new holiday makers in future. Thanks again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Clive3.1Sep 2023

  • "The cottage was very comfortable, well looked after with plenty of space(5 adults, 2 dogs) & had everything we needed."

    The location was quiet & had fantastic views. The garden to the side was perfect for our 2 dogs. Lots of places to visit close by. Would definitely stay here again.

    Sorry for the slow response but be assured we do value your kind words. Very much appreciated. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tamara4.4Aug 2023

  • "Would highly recommend the cottage to anyone looking for a relaxing break in an idyllic part of Wales."

    The cottage is furnished to a lovely standard and had everything we needed for our short stay. Especially loved the outdoor garden area! We will definitely be back!!

    Reviewed by Joanne5.0Jul 2023

  • "Beautifully presented cottage with many thoughtful touches perfect for the 2 of us with 2 dogs."

    Well equipped with all the basics (including towels, bath mats, tea towels and sponge/jay cloth which all appeared new). Great water pressure for showers. Small issue on arrival sorted within couple of hours - owner very helpful and easily contactable. Small enclosed garden at front with raised pond. Main larger garden is across shared driveway to side - lovely place to sit - dogs loved it especially when they spied the horses next door! Sea views to die for.

    Reviewed by Kerry4.4Jul 2023

  • "Unfortunately our stay at Penllan Cottages proved to be disappointing as we encountered a number of issues."

    This is such a shame as the cottage has such potential. Positives: Sea views are amazing. Bedrooms are beautifully decorated with a sea view from your bed from both front bedrooms. Lovely modern bathrooms. Everyone said how comfy the beds were. Negatives (and unfortunately there are a fair few): Finding it - Sat Nav sent us to a totally different place and the directions from Sykes were so vague that we spent 45 mins driving around Axton before we stumbled on the cottage. People who know how 'What Three Words' works may not have the same problem. Cleanliness - Fridge, although not awful, had jam marks around the door and bits of dried veg under the paper towels in the vegetable drawers. Table cloth had bits of goodness knows what, dried and stuck firmly on. A lot of the drinks glasses and a fair few pieces of cutlery needed rewashing. One of the pans was just filthy and looked like it had merely been shown some soapy water. The two handtowels provided had stains on them (looked like make-up). There were opened packets of food in a drawer clearly from previous holiday makers. General facilities - Toilet seat in downstairs bathroom broken and not useable. No bath towels, bath mat or tea towels provided. (although it clearly says towels provided in Sykes' description).The cleaning sponges provided in kitchen were not new and clearly been used a few times. Toaster did not work. One of bulbs in kitchen not working. Tin opener useless. No soap in upstairs bathroom. Heating - The cottage was cold when we got there. Lovely, large vintage style radiators falsely promised that we would soon be warm and cosy - not to be, as trying to work out the heating controls was like an episode of the Krypton Factor. Absolutely NO instructions were available to help us. Neither could we use the fire as kindling and logs had not been provided. Most places (and we have stayed in many, many different cottages) at least provide a starter set. My husband had to set out at 9pm to get some logs. Luckily we have family who live 5 mins away so we could borrow tea towels and towels from them We had to buy cleaning supplies ourselves. We later found the cottage tea towels soaking wet in the washing machine, along with a used mop cover, looking like they had all been washed together. (That little discovery actually made me grateful that we had had to source our own!). Admittedly, we did not contact the owner about these issues during our stay. We did not want to be disturbed on our long awaited holiday. We could cope with the broken toilet by using the upstairs one, we washed everything that needed it, bought or borrowed what we needed and lit a fire most evenings. We did, however, contact Sykes once we returned home and informed them of our issues, along with photo evidence. They have made the owner aware and also chased for a response and, to date, none has been forthcoming. I think we have been fair and given enough time for the owner to respond (we are not unreasonable people and wanted to give them opportunity to explain as we understand that there could be a very genuine reason that some of these issues arose). Penllan has the potential to be a totally outstanding holiday cottage but really let itself down due to above points. At just over 1k for the week we expected a much higher standard. Needless to say, we shan't be staying again. Just for information, the road outside the cottage is quite busy for a rural road and we were surprised by the speed of the cars going past. We had to be extra careful that the dogs did not get out. The gardens are secure but the driveway is not. Just something to be mindful of. Also, at the time of our stay, we could see no safety catches on the windows, and they are big windows that open wide, so just another thing to be mindful of.

    Reviewed by Donna2.5May 2023

  • "Beautiful cottage in a fantastic setting."

    Would certainly recommend.

    Reviewed by Jonathan5.0May 2023

  • "Lovely location and the cottage is beautiful."

    Reviewed by Kayleigh5.0Apr 2023

  • "Renovated to a very high standard with excellent quality fittings throughout."

    Beautiful location and very good value. The only downside was the over complicated heating system and digital towel rail and despite reading the instructions, it was impossible for four of us (albeit we weren't brought up in the digital era) to understand. The very helpful and friendly owner had to come out twice to resolve the heating problem. There are a few other teething problems such as the downstairs shower which will soak the floor unless the run off from the end of the bath is resolved. Some visitors may not be as concerned as we were about mopping up the excess water. It would be a pity to spoil the floor. A bit more detailed information in the welcome pack would be helpful, especially with regards to the boiler thermostat. We would definitely recommend the property to others. Thank you for sharing your cottage with us.

    Reviewed by Raymond4.7Mar 2023

  • "We stayed here for my Wife’s 40th birthday, she didn’t want to leave…."

    .ever! We had 3 children and 2 dogs, the cottage was plenty big enough very comfortable and lovely views! We will definitely be going back there!

    Reviewed by Andy5.0Mar 2023

  • "Cozy, comfortable and beautiful cottage."

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Dec 2022

Show more Hide all


  • Three bedrooms: 2 x double, 1 x adult-bunk
  • Ground-floor bathroom with bath, shower over, double basins, and WC
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin, and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove
  • Air sourced heat pump
  • Electric double oven, induction hob, fridge/freezer, washing machine, and dishwasher
  • TV, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • A highchair, travel cot and stairgate are all available on request
  • Off-road parking for 2 cars next to outhouses
  • Enclosed front garden with patio and furniture, enclosed side garden with lawn and bench
  • Two well-behaved pets allowed
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.8 miles, pub 1.1 miles
  • Note: The parking is located on a shared driveway, please use the space provided as to not block in the neighbours
  • Note: There are some low ceilings and doorways, please take care

The property

Trelawnyd 1.2 miles.

Perched in the peaceful town of Axton near Trelawnyd, Flintshire is this stylish three-bedroom cottage, 3 Penllan Cottages.

Enjoying a splendid location with easy access to the local amenities and a beach, 3 Penllan Cottages is a fabulous pet-friendly choice for families or groups of friends to bask in the serenity of the Welsh countryside.

Upon entering your new home-from-home, discover a well-equipped kitchen/diner where you can rustle up tasty delicacies using a range of high-quality appliances, ready to savour at the dining table over a bottle of bubbly, or alfresco in the enclosed garden on balmy evenings while your pooches run and play.

Retreat to a homely sitting room, sink into the plush sofa and relish a movie night with your loved ones; completing the ground-floor is a spacious bathroom where you can indulge a long soak, ahead of retiring to either of two well-adorned doubles, or an adult-bunk room to drift off into a deep sleep.

Begin your morning with a stroll up Gop Hill Cairn, a prehistoric mound showcasing stunning views of the surrounding landscape, ahead of treating your family to a hearty meal and cold beverage in one of several pubs here.

Travelling towards Rhyl, stop of at Rhaeadr Dyserth Waterfall before earning some relaxation on the sandy trails of Rhyl Beach; uncover a vast array of marine life at SeaQuarium Rhyl and catch a show in the Pavilion Theatre to complete the perfect day out.

Further afield, the city of Chester is also readily accessible by car, where you can admire the magnificent Chester Cathedral and Eastgate Clock, embark on a relaxing stroll along the River Dee or choose from a fine selection of restaurants to wine and dine your other half in.

Your Noth Wales adventure begins with 3 Penllan Cottages.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £350.

View on map

About the location


Prestatyn 4 miles; Llandudno 18 miles; Chester 25 miles.

Trelawnyd is a small village nestled at the base of Gop Hill topped by the second highest man-made mound in Britain. It is close to the lovely North Wales coast, four miles from the seaside town of Prestatyn. There is easy access to local walks including Gop Hill, the North Wales Pilgrim’s Way, Offa’s Dyke, the Clwydian Way and Allt Y Craig. From these trails you can enjoy the fantastic scenery and vistas of the local area. The nearby village of Dyserth, 2.5 miles away was mentioned in the Domesday book of 1086. The parish church of St Bridget, with its interesting stained glass windows, is close to a famous waterfall with tea rooms next to it. The village also has two pubs serving food. Prestatyn, whose Blue Flag beach provides miles of golden sand, is ideal for bathing, water sports and sea fishing. Trelawnyd is the perfect base for touring the beautiful Snowdonia National Park, the Clwydian Hill Range, Victorian Llandudno, the Welsh Mountain Zoo or historic Chester with its wonderful shops and architecture. A fantastic area from which to explore the local countryside and amenities on offer along this North Wales coastline.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas