Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in North Wales 2 minutes ago

6 people have recently viewed this property

Glascoed

Edern, North Wales & Snowdonia (Ref. 976993)

3.6

Good

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

37 Customer Reviews

  • "The cottage was so lovely."

    Cosy, clean and warm. The utility area with a works desk was a welcome surprise too. The area is amazing, so many beautiful and empty beaches. It was an idyllic break that meant we went home very relaxed and can’t wait to book again. One tiny point, running hot tap took some time due to low water pressure. For future visitors, would avoid going down stairs with only socks on feet… likely to slip… Would highly recommend this property.

    Reviewed by DeborahMay 2022

  • "Utterly perfect cottage in a beautiful location - could not have asked for better"

    Reviewed by CarolineMar 2022

  • "Lovely cottage only downside is the toilet being so far from the bedroom but this can’t be helped."

    New radiators we’re a bonus as the cottage stayed cosy when the fireplace wasn’t in use.

    Reviewed by BeccaMar 2022

  • "It was a fantastic place to stay, warm and cosy, everything we needed."

    Close to facilities and beaches. The garden has much interest even in March. I would love to see it in the summer time. It was very suitable for families with a dog, like us. Good off road parking and fairly secure perimeters around the garden, all just great!

    Reviewed by AndrewFeb 2022

  • "Edern is a great place to stay with lovely walks and The Ship Inn."

    A butchers shop selling groceries as well. Glascoed wasn’t very welcoming, No milk or goodies left to welcome you! We’ve stayed in holiday cottages all over the UK for years and this is the first cottage not to leave a welcome for the visitors! It’s a nice touch we think! Kitchen well equipped and bathroom nice. Cottage rather on the cold side with old night storage heaters. Warmest place to be is bathroom and utility room outside the bathroom. Log burner not so good.A shovel of coal and compressed logs were left for a fire for one evening! Beds not so comfy and pillows and bed linen could be better. The cottage needs updating with some TLC. Pretty garden. Space to park, but awkward to manoeuvre with neighbours parking their vehicles on the road. Hard to turn round on narrow, busy lane.

    Thank you Elizabeth for taking the time to leave your comments. For the benefit of future guests, hopefully the following information will be useful. A new housekeeping team has been recruited, resulting in a significant improvement in the general cleanliness & presentation of Glascoed. Subsequent reviews have reflected this. A small welcome pack, consisting of tea, coffee, fresh milk & biscuits is now being left for arriving guests. The major property improvement that has taken place since your stay is the installation of a new, modern electrical heating system. I’m sorry that you didn’t get on with the multifuel burner. It is a high quality ‘Morso’ unit which, when used according to the instructions included in Glascoed’s information folder, generates significant (5Kw) heat. Thank you again - David Property Owner

    Reviewed by ElizabethFeb 2022

  • "Lovely cottage nice and peaceful."

    Everything you needed there. Log burner is fab. Near to amenities and bea ch. Will definitely be booking again

    Thank you Amanda for your feedback. The new housekeeping procedures are now in place which, with the ongoing programme of property improvements, will benefit 2022 guests. Thank you for leaving Glascoed so tidy & I hope you'll pay another visit one day. - David Property Owner

    Reviewed by AmandaJan 2022

  • "Could be a nice cottage unfortunately it’s badly let down by poor maintenance and housekeeping."

    Under the present situation with COVID19 we were asked to arrive later to allow deep cleaning, this definitely didn’t happen. In the guests comments book dating back to 2019 out of 43 entries 17 all complained about the hygiene etc. On arrival there were no logs for the fire as also mentioned by the previous guests, no list of emergency numbers, doctors, vets, etc. Only one tea towel provided by previous guests, and luckily we took our own cleaning materials as none were provided. Basically the property is grotty.

    Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback. A new housekeeping and house management regime is in place for 2022 which hopefully others will benefit from. I can only apologise for the issues you experienced. I am unsure why the housekeeper thought that one tea towel would be sufficient for a week's stay. I have raised this and other issues with them. The property's description on the website states that no fire making provisions are provided however, amongst other things, fire making equipment/fuel, sufficient for making an arrival evening fire, is now being left in the hearth and a stock of extra cleaning materials is being left in the utility room cupboard and will be kept stocked up. Re-decoration has taken place during winter 2021-2022 & a new efficient, modern electrical heating system is being installed at Glascoed at the start of 2022. A new property information folder is in place for 2022. Thank you again - David Property Owner

    Reviewed by BarryOct 2021

  • "We arrived to find no way to light the fire after an 8 hr drive, a door frame was hanging off causing us to bang our heads."

    The cooker broke down 3 days from end of holiday which meant we were unable to cook the food we had bought for 3 days. Yes Sykes provided one meal for one evening but not the rest of the food that was wasted due to being for an oven. Apparently the owners could not be contacted and we did not get the oven fixed before we left. No tea towels or basic cleaning materials to assist in cleaning cottage. We bought cloths etc which we left some for other people. The cupboards upstairs smelt damp and the garden is in desperate need for some TLC in fact the whole cottage is. Loved the area but would not be back to the cottage and would think twice about using Sykes again!

    Reviewed by ClaireOct 2021

  • "We have booked breaks with Sykes before and been happy but this was our worst experience yet."

    The cottage failed to meet expectations. It was very dirty throughout with signs of mould, damage and generally poor hygiene. We have taken pictures demonstrating this. The hallway had mould on the wall, the shower further mould around the floor, everywhere was dirty and really made us feel let down. The meat tins in the oven were filthy, the dining table sticky with dirt and the fire and barbecue full of old ash, rusty. The whole place needs a good clean and some new furniture/modernisation. Lots of cobwebs, poor decor and dirty throughout.

    A new housekeeping / house management regime is in place for 2022. Property improvements have taken place / are taking place during winter 2021-2022, including re-decoration & installation of a modern, efficient heating system throughout the property. Thank you - David Property Owner

    Reviewed by KennethSep 2021

  • "On arrival noticed lack of cleanlinless."

    There were white dog hairs all over the carpet, kitchen floor and furniture. This made us feel itchy and uncomfortable. There was also remants of food in the kitchen cuboards. The house needed a deep clean and were not expecting the lack of cleanlinless during covid which made us feel uncomfortable and disatisfied.

    Thank you for your feedback. I was disappointed to read your comments but thank you for submitting them - it's very important that any issues are bought to my attention. Your comments have been forwarded on to Glascoed's changeover/cleaning housekeeper, stressing that its essential that high standards are consistently kept. Thank you again for bringing the issue to our attention. - David Property Owner

    Reviewed by CraigJul 2021

  • "A well appointed cottage with a fantastic garden that’s perfect for a family of four, situated relatively close to Morfa Nefyn, Porthdinllaen and surrounding beaches."

    The position enabled us to eat out locally (The Ship) or cook in the well equipped kitchen, and travel easily to the Llyn’s beaches and historic places. My minor gripes were with poor hot water demand (in the kitchen and bathroom) and cleanliness of the bathroom (which needed some work!). Overall, though, a great stay - thank you to the owners for sharing their lovely home, and thank you, Sykes Cottages, for helping us to find it!

    Reviewed by HeathJul 2021

  • "Fabulous holiday cottage with a beautiful garden and pet friendly and highly secure, apart from the very back part which we sectioned off."

    A true home from home, would live to return and can recommend. Area beautiful, gorgeous beaches and we had glorious weather.

    Reviewed by JoanneJun 2021

  • "We were blessed with sunshine and found the cottage comfortable."

    There was no fire fuel provided and the storage heaters were switched off. This could have been a problem in cooler weather. There were several areas in the garden to relax in and we were not overlooked. Great to have off road parking too. The area is lovely and quiet and friendly neighbours about. We’ve bought a few jars of honey from a local beekeeper. The cottage is a short drive to popular beaches and is a good spot to explore the rest of the peninsula

    Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback. The 'default' setting concerning the storage heaters is that, regardless of the season, they are left on by the housekeeper for all arriving guests to ensure the property is warm & welcoming. Guests are then able to turn them off if they are finding Glascoed too warm. Incidentally, for the benefit of potential future guests, I can state that during the 2021/22 winter period a new modern, efficient electrical heating system will be installed into the property. For your stay, I am sorry that the switching on of the storage heaters was overlooked & the housekeeper has been informed of this occurrence. In addition, fire making equipment, for at least a first evening fire, is now being left in the hearth for all arriving guests. Thank you again - David Property Owner

    Reviewed by CathyJun 2021

  • "Lovely cosy cottage situated at the end of a country lane which leads to the coast path."

    Great location to explore the area. The garden was very private and peaceful if slightly unkempt. However the property was let down by the lack of cleanliness mainly in the kitchen and shower room. On arrival we had to brush and mop the floor which was dirty. The fireplace was also covered in ash and the fire had not been cleaned. There was also no starter fuel left as stated in the details. We also found dirty towels in the laundry bag in the shower room having only been left one bath towel between the two of us. Also there was no toilet paper. Just these simple issues would need to be addressed.

    Thank you for your comments. Needless to say, I was shocked & disappointed  to hear about the condition of the property & the garden upon your arrival. Having investigated the situation, it is obvious that we were badly let down by the housekeeper, who has admitted the ultimate failing of not visiting and preparing the property for your arrival. I feel that you were too kind and tolerant of the situation and wish that you had raised the issue straight away upon your arrival this would have ensured that the housekeeper would have immediately come round & rectified things. Many apologies again, a token in recognition of the inconvenience will be sent to you separately. Thank you, David Property Owner

    Reviewed by PeterMay 2021

  • "Lovely cottage but next doors barking Great Dane spoiled it for us as you couldn't sit in the garden"

    Thank you for your comment Jon. Fortunately or unfortunately, the Great Dane is no longer next door !!! - David Property Owner

    Reviewed by JonApr 2021

  • "Garden was lovley and private, nice quiet area."

    Cosy cottage really enjoyed our stay thank you!

    Reviewed by MattApr 2021

  • "Lovely, cosy little cottage in a great location to explore the amazing coastline and beaches."

    If booked again would need to bring something to black out the windows, the curtains are very light and let all the light through, which might suit some people. Also would remember to bring extra toilet rolls, only the one supplied available, which I’d luckily noticed before it ran out!

    Thank you for your comments Janet. The rear bedroom (twin room) curtains have been replaced with ones with a blackout lining. This is obviously the room that children would sleep in & the new curtains should help 'little ones' settle during the long, light evenings & prevent them from waking too early. The front (master) bedroom curtains are not lined & I will check with future guests if they consider this to be an issue. I apologise that only one toilet roll was in the bathroom - there should always be at least two. I have informed the housekeeper of this oversightight. Thank you again - David Property Owner

    Reviewed by JanetApr 2021

  • "Cleanliness , property condition very poor, food particles left in cupboard."

    Broken furniture and curtain off pole. Decor disgusting I have many photos of the cottage to confirm. It was so discomforting that we left a day early . Very disappointed Sykes as it was our birthday treat and t was ruined Fire ashes was from previous guests which I assume was last year due to COVID restrictions. Garden was very unkempt. It was meant to be a relaxing break after a hard year of working within the NHS and the passing of family members. I came home more stressed

    Reviewed by VictoriaMar 2021

  • "Having read the feedback on this cottage prior to booking and before travelling, I was slightly apprehensive on what we might find on arrival."

    To be honest, the cottage was clean and tidy but some attention to detail was missing, the cottage information pack needs updating to include Wifi codes etc, not everybody will look in the obvious places. The garden is lovely and secure for any canine companions. Glascoed provided a value for money stay.

    Many thanks for your feedback & suggestions. As a result a new property information folder is being prepared. Thank you again - David Property Owner

    Reviewed by AndrewSep 2020

  • "Really great holiday accommodation unfortunately let down by a lack of cleaning."

    This seems especially important at the moment.

    Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Glascoed. Guests should always arrive to a very clean property. I changed the cleaning/changeover agent at the start of the year & since then, as you can see from other's feedback, the standard of cleanliness has been commented on as very good. We do not want these standards to slip. In order to take action, or make further improvements, we have contacted you directly asking for specifics concerning the state of cleanliness upon your arrival that prompted you to leave your comment. Thank you. - David Property Owner

    Reviewed by ChristopherSep 2020

  • "We wasn't expecting anything salubrious as dog friendly usually have a compromise as dogs can malt smell when wet."

    On arrival it was clean but slightly tired especially the sofa and a musty smell. Left for more than a few days I would imagine most cottages would suffer the same in this location. Downstairs bathroom although clean with good shower and facilities was a pain at night if needing the loo. Garden was dog friendly and lovely but not secure parts needed fencing on the road side. A busy farm up the lane be noisy early morning but we are early risers. Nice log burner and in a very good location for discovering this beautiful area. We enjoyed our stay unfortunately because of the bathroom issue Downstairs we would not return.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. Yes, the cottage had been unoccupied for a few days prior to your arrival - but that is no excuse for it not having been warm, fresh & aired for your arrival. I have spoken to & passed your comments onto the housekeeper. Sykes' description of the room layout of the property has been modified to ensure that it is clear to any reader that the bathroom is downstairs. Finally (for the benefit of potential future guests), I can state that the sofa has been replaced by a new one (purchased brand new). Thank you again - David Property Owner

    Reviewed by PhilipAug 2020

  • "The Llyn Peninsula is a lovely part of the world and well worth a visit for sweeping beaches, dramatic scenery and a getting away from it all vibe."

    Glascoed suited us down to the ground for our two night stay - nice garden, good shower room, large bed in the main bedroom and comfortable sitting room/lounge. Some small downsides are the table for eating at is cramped for four people and the oven/hob on their last legs. However there are plenty of good places to eat around - the Cliff at Morfa Nefyn did excellent food, it's well worth a walk around the bay to the Ty Coch Inn for a pint on the beach and Aberdaron is a smashing place.

    Thank you Sam for taking the time to write your comments. I was wondering if you missed the extending leaves of the dining table which, when used, improves your dining experience :). For the benefit of potential future guests, I can state that the a new oven & hob has been fitted in the kitchen. Thank you again - David Property Owner

    Reviewed by SamAug 2020

  • "The cottage was in a great location."

    Loved being able to walk to the coastal path. The garden was lovely, really private and secure. The cottage had everything we needed and was clean and comfortable though the sofa could do with updating.

    Thank you for your positive feedback. For the benefit of future potential guests, I can state that a new (purchased brand new) sofa has replaced the one in the living room that some guests commented as being uncomfortable. Thank you again - David Property Owner

    Reviewed by LynnJul 2020

  • "We visited Glascoed on 17th October 2019 for a week, it’s a very nice end of terrace cottage ideally located for touring the Llyn Peninsula."

    There are some pros and cons when it comes to Glascoed and we were a bit concerned about some of the other reviews we had read. It’s true to say that the decor is a bit dated especially the sofa and chairs, the living room carpet also had a large hole cut in it which was covered by a rug. The property was however clean when we arrived. The large enclosed back garden was ideal for our dogs, or so we thought, however there was a break in the fence adjoining the downstairs bathroom filled with deckchairs and garden debris. On our second day we found out why as a massive aggressive Great Dane and Mixed Breed Mastiff tried to break through and attack our dogs (they appeared to be alone guarding the empty property next door and where allowed out periodically). A couple of days in to our trip I also got a very nasty electric shock off the electric storage heater in the living room (not good considering I have a heart condition), Sykes and the owner quickly got an electrician out to rewire and sort out the problem while we where out at one of our trips to the beach. Another issue is the downstairs toilet and bathroom and some very steep stairs, if you need to pee during the night be prepared for a trek! Despite all the negative issues we still thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Llyn, I wouldn’t return to Glascoed however until it has been updated a little with some new furniture and furnishings.

    Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. As you stated, the damage to the storage heating switch was repaired promptly (same day). We are really sorry for that occurrence. The problem should have been noticed by the management company at the time of 'changeover' before you arrived. For yours & others' information, Glascoed is now being taken care of by a new changeover/cleaning operator. The new operator is based in the village & carries out a more dedicated, personal service, resulting in great improvements in keeping Glascoed consistently clean & ensuring any maintenance issues are noticed & dealt with immediately. The cut in the carpet under the rug is a bit of a mystery(!). However, this living room carpet is about to be replaced by new hard wood flooring * . In the garden, a higher section of fencing has been erected in front of the dry stone wall - this now totally shields the garden from neighbouring dogs. The property description did state that the bathroom is downstairs. However, the wording has been amended to ensure that this is totally clear to future 'readers'. Thank you again. - David (2022 update : LVP (luxury vinyl plank) flooring has now been fitted - please refer to the Glascoed photos) Property Owner

    Reviewed by MarkOct 2019

  • "Had a great week exploring the Llyn peninsula."

    Highly recommend Porthdinllean with the lifeboat station, beach with quaint cottages and pub. Well worth the walk. Portmadoc also worth visiting. Cottage cosy and comfortable but agree with previous guests re: housekeeping. We have holidayed in many Sykes cottages and there are always basic items eg washing up liquid and items left by other guests but I assume totally emptied by property management. Suggest the owner pays an unannounced visit. The dogs were in seventh heaven in the beautiful extensive garden.

    Thank you for your very useful comments. Glascoed is now being taken care of by a new changeover/cleaning operator. The new operator is based in the village & carries out a more dedicated, personal service, resulting in great improvements in keeping Glascoed consistently clean. Small but important changes have been made to the 'changeover' process.. e.g. ensuring there is washing up liquid in the kitchen, soap in the bathroom etc. In addition, a fire is now 'layed' for all arriving guests. Thank you again.- David Property Owner

    Reviewed by ChristinaOct 2019

  • "Glasfryn is a sweet little house, but prospective visitors need to be aware that in the middle of the night the bathroom is a bit of a trek down the wooden flight of stairs and right through the house!"

    The furniture is also in need of replacing, I scratched myself quite badly on a metal strut sticking out of the back of the sofa, so people with small children need to be careful. The pub in village did an excellent Sunday lunch, and the beaches of Morfa Nefyn and Nefyn are just minutes away by car. The garden was secure which is always a plus when one has a dog.

    Thank you for your feedback. The property description did state that the bathroom is downstairs. However, the wording has been amended to ensure that this is totally clear to future 'readers'. Thank you for pointing out the sofa damage - this has been repaired. Thank you again. - David Property Owner

    Reviewed by ElizabethOct 2019

  • "The whole place needed a deep clean."

    Dirty skirting boards. Very dusty lampshades especially over dining table. Oven very dirty and seal around oven loose. Cupboard for own tins etc had to be cleaned before use. Freezer drawer broken and needed cleaning out. Light bulb in smaller bedroom not working. Throws on settee etc need replacing. Perhaps owner should visit and consider finding a different cleaning company. One single bed needs mattress renewed as very uncomfortable and lumpy. Other than that a good holiday and lovely days out.

    Thank you for your comments. Since your stay, the property has being taken care of by a new changeover/cleaning operator. The new operator is based in the village & carries out a more dedicated, personal service, resulting in great improvements in keeping Glascoed consistently clean. A deep clean has taken place & a regular deep clean schedule implemented. Spare light bulbs for all of the lighting in the house are now provided & kept in the living room cupboard. The furniture throws have been replaced (the new cleaner will keep an eye on these as they may need to be replaced regularly due to doggies being welcome) & the broken freezer drawer has been replaced. New, high quality mattresses have been purchased for the single beds. Thank you again for your honesty & very useful comments. Property Owner

    Reviewed by DesireeSep 2019

  • "A beautiful home from home."

    Lovely secure garden the dogs loved it. As in most of the feedback cleanliness massively let it down.on arrival there wasn't even a toilet roll (much needed after a long journey) It says that included in the rent is the means to make a fire,not there? The bathroom wasn't clean and to be honest the whole cottage is in need of a deep clean maybe once in a while,this however doesn't reflect on the owner as it is managed by a company "Peninsula property management" i have emailed them regarding the lack of proper cleaning. we had to wash the cutlery and crockery that we used before we used it.Cobwebs and dust is in the areas obviously getting missed on the turnover clean. All that said it was a brilliant holiday and would stay there again.

    Thank you for your comments. As you correctly pointed out, Glascoed is taken care of by Pensinsula Property Management. Thank you for taking time to email them & I'd like you (& others) to know that I also have been in contact with them. They assure me that the issues of cleanliness, missing toilet rolls & fire making means have been addressed. Thank you also for watering the plants! Here's hoping that the 4 of you will pay another visit to Glascoed one day. Thank you - David Property Owner

    Reviewed by LindaJul 2019

  • "This property could be made so much better with just a few small touches; a new set of kitchen utensils and pans and a proper kitchen bin would be enough."

    The seating in the living room was really uncomfortable and is probably ready for a change. The garden furniture outside also needs some attention - either a really good clean and then the wooden table varnished or just a new set. I don't think any of the outside furniture had been cleaned for weeks. Despite the location of this property being excellent and the garden providing a great outdoor space to relax the whole place just felt a bit tired, especially the downstairs. The bathroom was fine as were the bedrooms though. Maybe our expectations were a bit high but personally, we were disappointed.

    Some new kitchen utensils and a new kitchen bin has been added. Maybe armchair and sofa personal comfort is a subjective thing because others have commented on how comfortable the living room is. As you may have noticed, there were some new garden dining chairs but unfortunately the accompanying new table did not arrive until after your stay. Thank you again for taking time to give your feedback. - David Property Owner

    Reviewed by ClaireJul 2019

  • "A pleasant and comfortable cottage with a large,secure garden, great for dogs."

    The kitchen is well equipped, but really needs a dishwasher. Nice big bed, plenty of hanging space, adequate seating in the lounge and good lighting. We were impressed by the excellent CD collection and some of the artwork on the walls. The only downside is the situation of the bathroom- downstairs, through the lounge, kitchen and utility room. A long trek in the middle of the night. There's not much in the tiny village apart from a convenience store and the pub, which is more of a restaurant. A good base for a short stay to see the Llyn peninsula.

    Reviewed by LynJul 2019

  • "Great place really enjoyed our stay, the oven was not as clean as it could have ..."

    Great place really enjoyed our stay, the oven was not as clean as it could have been the oven trays and some of the oven dishes were a little grubby

    Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay at Glascoed. I will be stressing to the 'change-over/cleaning contractor’ that they must take more care when checking and cleaning all of the kitchenware. Thank you again - David Property Owner

    Reviewed by JohnJul 2019

  • "We very much enjoyed our stay in the cottage."

    It was perfectly located for exploring the Peninsula and the totally secure garden was a delight for our dog. However, we did agree with previous reviews that the kitchen equipment and oven required a thorough clean, but it would not stop us coming back.

    Thank you for your comments. I'd like you (& others to know) that the kitchen/oven issues have been addressed by the company that manage the 'changeovers'. Thank you also for the lovely comments you left in the Glascoed visitors' book. Thank you - David Property Owner

    Reviewed by GillianJun 2019

  • "Cottage was fine ,garden great for dogs & us."

    Very comfy bed . Cleanliness on our arrival could have been better,bathroom floor hadn't been swept ,agree with previous reviews about cutlery, was dirty & tin of ancient coffee on shelf by back door .Would return but cleaning needs improvement.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback & also for the lovely comments left in Glascoed's visitors' book. The cleanliness issues have been addressed by the company that manage the 'changeovers' - thank you for highlighting them. Hopefully you will visit Glascoed again one day. Thank you - David Property Owner

    Reviewed by PaulJun 2019

  • "The cottage and enclosed garden is lovely, and is a short walk from pub, beaches and short drive to local towns etc."

    Also very comfortable bed, and good collection of books and music etc. There are a couple of things that would really improve this cottage. When we arrived it was a lovely afternoon, but turned very cold in the evening. There were only a couple of logs and no sticks newspapers etc to get the log burner going. After a 5 hour drive the last thing you want is to have to go out when you arrive to buy sticks etc. The night storage heaters had been turned off, so we had a very cold first night. Also a few instructions on how the storage heater controls work would be useful. As we came with two dogs it would be nice to be able to wash the floor, especially as the bathroom is downstairs, there is no mop or bucket and the Hoover was next to useless.(think the filters etc need sorting). Also agree with previous guest that kitchen utensils are bit grubby. We left a bag and half of logs sticks newspapers for next guest. Would also be nice for a bit more local information things to do etc in the cottage folder would be useful. We would defiantly stay here again if the above few things were sorted. Wales is a lovely place to visit and this would have been perfect holiday if the few things mentioned had been right.

    Thank you for your very useful comments. Arrangements are now in place to ensure Glascoed is properly warmed prior to guests arriving. Also, materials to light the log burner are now provided. The 'non user friendly' Dyson has been replaced by a new, lighter, user friendly Hoover and a mop and bucket is now in the utility area. Some new kitchen utensils have been added & the 'change-over/cleaning contractor’ informed to take more care when checking & cleaning everything in the kitchen. Thank you again so much for your comments as they have helped improve Glascoed for future guests & for you if you decide to visit again one day. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JoanneApr 2019

  • "Was a great little cottage, however it did take a while for us to get the place warm."

    Some of the kitchen utensils and crockery were best their best, a little dirty and off putting, I'm sure this could be easily rectified, apart from that we loved it.

    Thank you for leaving your feedback. Arrangements have been made to ensure Glascoed is properly warmed prior to guests arriving. Also, some new kitchen utensils have been added and the 'change-over/cleaning contractor' has been informed to take more care when checking and cleaning all the kitchenware. Thank you again and perhaps you'll come to stay at Glascoed again one day. David Property Owner

    Reviewed by MatthewMar 2019

  • "The only negative was the bathroom is very cold as the only heating in there is a heated towel rail which isn’t sufficient."

    Following your feedback, we'd like to let you know that a new heater has been fitted in the bathroom. Thank you for taking the time to comment. - David Property Owner

    Reviewed by MarjorieMar 2019

  • "This is a great little cottage, perfect for our small family."

    The living room is really comfortable (we loved the log burner) and the beds are really good too. Everything was clean and tidy when we arrived, with a well equipped kitchen including some essentials like washing up liquid and cooking oil. The bathroom was lovely and modern, but very cold as it's on the ground floor at the back of the house. The study/storage area between the kitchen and bathroom was really useful for when coming in from the rain and getting wellies and rain coats sorted. We also really loved the hifi in the living room and the CD collection was excellent.

    Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay. We would just like to say that a new heater has been fitted in the bathroom, which will benefit you (if you decide to visit again) and other guests who visit during the colder months. Thanks again - David Property Owner

    Reviewed by JonathanFeb 2019

Show more

Summary

  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x twin
  • Shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Lounge/diner with multi-fuel stove (fuel provided for first day/night)
  • Electric central heating with multi-fuel stove
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine
  • TV with Freeview, WiFi, selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 2 cars
  • Lawned garden and purpose built sitting area with wooden gazebo
  • Two well-behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop, pub/restaurant 0.5 miles
  • Note: Open-tread stairs leading up to first floor
  • Note: Please not that logs are not provided for the multi-fuel stove

The property

This end-terrace cottage is situated in the village of Edern, only one mile away from the beach and resort at Morfa Nefyn.

With its cosy interior, Glascoed promises the perfect romantic holiday for two, equally forming a relaxing haven for a small family to truly get away from it all.

Approached by a beautiful lawned garden, this retreat is a cosy place to return to, commencing with a homely kitchen which comprises of colourful wall tiles, and a neat collection of appliances.

The lounge/diner oozes character throughout, your very own snug set-up for a lovely night in.

Exposed beams oversee the room, and comfy seating gathers before a multi-fuel stove for a warm end to the day.

Charming decor and accessories represent the cottage's intricate charm, and you can all come together at the dining area to really appreciate the unique interior in its entirety.

On this floor you will find the shower room with toilet and wash basin.

Following the open-tread staircase upstairs, two warm and inviting bedrooms are lovingly decorated, leaving you spoilt for choice between the double and twin, each thoughtfully presented for a good night's sleep.

The lawned garden and purpose built seating area the perfect opportunity to start your day in style, perhaps taking a warm drink outdoors and simply relaxing under the morning sun.

The towns of Pwllheli and Abersoch are within driving distance and feature a number of shops, pubs and restaurants.

The Llyn Peninsula is an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, and is renowned for its scenery and varied walking, with coastal paths being a major attraction for the avid walker.

Most of the coastline is owned by the National Trust, where you will discover many remote bays, sandy beaches, cliffs and wildlife havens, plus the region is dotted with castles, sailing and watersport activities for a vibrant afternoon.

A coastal cottage in an assorted location.

View on map

About the location

EDERN

Morfa Nefyn 1 mile; Pwllheli 8 miles; Abersoch 8 miles.

The coastal village of Edern is on the northern coast of the Llyn Peninsula, and offers a butchers/general grocers, pubs and a pub/restaurant. Close by is Morfa Nefyn, which sits on top of sweeping cliffs and features a fine two-mile stretch of sandy beach, popular with families, along with a shop and a golf course. The towns of Pwllheli and Abersoch are within driving distance and boast a number of shops, pubs and restaurants. The Llyn Peninsula is an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, and is renowned for its scenery and varied walking, with coastal paths being a major attraction for the avid walker. Most of the coastline is owned by the National Trust, where you will find many remote bays, sandy beaches, cliffs and wildlife havens, plus the region is dotted with castles, whilst fishing, sailing and watersport activities are available. Also within easy reach are Portmeirion, the Isle of Anglesey and the Snowdonia National Park, with its dramatic scenery and superb walks. With its proximity to such a wide range of destinations, Edern makes a wonderful base for a break in this part of Wales.

Region Information

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it