Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 29 View Image Gallery
  • Penrallt - Anglesey - 1108292 - photo 1


(Ref. 1108292)

Cemaes Bay, Anglesey Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 8 Guests

  • 4 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lovely (15)
  • hamper (12)
  • welcome (12)
  • bed (10)
  • holiday (8)
  • great (8)

21 Customer Reviews

  • "This is a lovely, large holiday cottage with a great outside space and is very comfortable and well equipped throughout."

    Ideally placed to get into the village and local areas, especially the beautiful Anglesey coastal path. Free parking around the corner is easy to find and access. The welcome hamper was a nice touch.

    Hi Darren, Thank you very much for your very kind feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Penrallt and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Cheryl & Mike Property Owner

    Reviewed by Darren4.7Jul 2024

  • "A great not so little home in an ideal position on Cemaes Bay High Street."

    5 minute walk to the beach. Bigger than it looks from outside and had everything we could need. Spotlessly clean. Well equipped. Very comfortable beds. Lovely decking area. Really loved the welcome basket, very thoughtful- thank you. Out of 10 Id give Penrallt and the owners 12 !!!

    Hi Paul, thank you very much for your very kind feedback. We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the cottage. Cemaes Bay is such a beautiful place and the people are lovely. We hope to see you again in the future. Kindest regards. Cheryl & Mike. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Jun 2024

  • "The cottage is absolutely beautiful,floorboards a bit creaky,but understandable in a cottage,didn't realise the twin bed had no proper window,different,it felt a little claustrophobic,but it didn't spoil the holiday,the garden was really nice,but the weather wasn't brilliant,so only managed a few days in it,but still gorgeous."

    We had some lovely times there,thank you to the owners for the beautiful basket of produce you left for us,absolutely have a beautiful cottage,thank you for sharing it with us.mrs maureen kirkham and family.xx

    Hi Maureen, thank you for your kind feedback. We glad that you enjoyed your stay at Penrallt, and we hope to see you again in the future. Cheryl & Mike Property Owner

    Reviewed by Maureen4.4May 2024

  • "We had the most amazing holiday, perfect house with great facilities, warm and cosy, amazing hamper on arrival and very comfy beds."

    perfect location great chippy, local pub and great restaurant. Amazing beach and coastal walks and great local shop. Tried to book again for New year but all ready booked. Will definately return again. There was a small drip in the cabin bedroom but we did have a lot of rain and and clothes airer wound be a handy addition. Kids loved the buckets etc for the beach. Couldn’t have asked for a better house in the most beautiful setting.

    Hi Katie, thank you for your very kind response. We are delighted that you all enjoyed your stay. With regard to the leak in the bedroom, we are waiting for a roofer to come and inspect and fix the leak. This should be done in the next few days. We have bought a clothes airer (as you requested). It’s great to hear that your children enjoyed using the fishing nets, buckets etc. If you would still like to book for next New Year, please contact Sykes. Wr are really looking forward to seeing you all again . Cheryl & Mike Property Owner

    Reviewed by Katie5.0Dec 2023

  • "We had to cut our our holiday two days earlier than planned due to the weather and the roof leaking in two places, at the top of the stairs were it meets the landing and the skylight in the cabin bedroom."

    also had to be careful when using the family bathroom upstairs, as the door would not shut, which wasn.t easy with six people staying

    Hi Paul, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you had to cut your holiday short, due to the excessive bad weather. We were unaware that the ceiling on the landing was leaking and the skylight in one of the bedrooms. We have asked a roofer to inspect the roof and fix the leaks. We do hope that you enjoyed the hamper and Christmas decorations. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Cheryl & Mike Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul4.1Dec 2023

  • "Had a lovely time, perfect location, the house had everything, was very cosy and clean, will definitely be returning next year."

    Lovely hamper set out for us, what a lovely gesture - was perfect. Highly recommend- only thing I would add (and was possibly there but we couldn’t find them) was egg cups. Thank you for letting us stay in your lovely home

    Hi Cindy, thank you for your very kind feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We like to make everyone feel as comfortable as possible and we welcome all feedback. We have now purchased 8 egg cups, for your next stay. We very much look forward to you staying with us again. Kindest regards, Cheryl & Mike Property Owner

    Reviewed by Cindy5.0Nov 2023

  • "If there are no instructions for the washing machine / dishwashing machine, please leave some basic instructions in the folder."

    My first couple of washes took 2 hours until we worked out a shorter cycle. The dishwashing machine was difficult to start (dodgy door connection we think) then a fault on the third to last day. I did call Sykes to report this. Overall , the property was great … lots of room. The hamper was great. The deck area is spot on. Plenty of towels. I have to say, I was nervous with only having one door key. I think there should be at least 2. If for whatever reason we lost that key we would be screwed !!!

    Hi thanks for your feedback. Yes we will leave instructions for the washing machine and dish washer. We have changed the dishwasher since your visit as it was problematic. We think the best idea is to always leave the key in the key safe at the door when you go out. We do have several back up plans should a guest loose a key. We believe in this event you just contact Sykes anyway and we would happily provide another key. We’re so pleased you enjoyed the property. We hope to see you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Joanne4.1Sep 2023

  • "Let’s start with the positives: The location of the house is perfect."

    Cemaes Bay beach is the best beach we’ve ever been to in the UK. The bed in the master bedroom is very comfortable, the downstairs shower has very good power and there was milk in the fridge and a lovely welcome hamper for us when we arrived. Unfortunately there were a number of issues while we were at this house that tainted our stay a little. The biggest issues were the cleanliness of the house which left a lot to be desired (mainly animal hair but also other aspects); the fact that the upstairs shower is rendered basically unusable because the shower head does not fit in the holster (in a house that sleeps 8 people this - along with only 2 bathroom hand towels - is an issue when you are there for a whole week); and the general clutter of niknaks, and inside the kitchen cupboards which meant there was little room to put our own items. These issues, combined with the fact that there is an extension plugged into another extension (which is a fire hazard); the upstairs taps are incorrectly labelled hot and cold; the dishwasher on/start button is incredibly difficult to press and there was only one person who could manage to press it, meant there were a many moments of frustration. The step down into the games room/ kitchen is also a trip hazard as it’s not affixed properly (though we tightened it as much as we could with a knife). In addition, there was no hoover (which apart from needing for animal hairs we also needed to hoover up minute shards of a glass wine bottle that we accidentally broke while there), no oven gloves, no laundry basket, no clean dishcloth (only one that had previously been used), no laundry detergent, no bin in the downstairs bathroom or the master bedroom, no instructions for the washing machine or dishwasher, the large plates provided are not microwaveable as they have metal rims, the games controllers and headphones were temperamental, and we found dog poo bags in the washing machine when we took our first load of washing out of the machine. These last few issues are minor ones, but added to the need to clean the place when we arrived and waiting two days to get a not very good hoover, you can understand why we were somewhat disappointed with our experience of the house compared to our expectations from the description and photographs. Lastly, I called to check prior to arriving whether or not there was a cafetiere and was told there wasn’t, so I wrapped up our own and traveled 5 hours with it hoping it wouldn’t break on the journey, only to find one at the location - a minor point but one that added to many others means we might think twice about booking with Sykes Cottages again. This property has the potential to be a really great holiday home as the fundamentals of the house are there and most of the niggles are really easily solvable - it would take very little time and effort to completely change the experience into an excellent one and we hope that by giving this feedback future holidaymakers can benefit from the owners having this insight.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear of the issues you have now reported following your stay at the property. Had we have known of these problems, we would have done all we could to ensure you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay during your time with us. We do try to include as much as we can in the property, however as it is self-catering accommodation we do advise to bring any necessary items which are not listed in the description to reduce any kind of disappointment upon arrival. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, and it may be that pet-free properties could be best for you going forward. We have noted your comments, and we will ensure that all aspects are reviewed further. Thank you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Keira2.2Aug 2023

  • "Absolutely wonderful house, so spacious, my daughter loved the ps4 she was kept very occupied."

    Such a comfortable house, the beds were the most comfortable and we have never slept so well. My daughter loved the room with the port hole. There were so many lovely touches.The welcome basket was also amazing it had so much in it and so very thoughtful. The weather wasn't great but it didn't matter as the place was so wonderful. The amenities were so close and parking was no problem at all. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay as a family and it was the break we needed. We cannot rate the house highly enough.

    Hi Sharon, we are absolutely delighted that you all enjoyed your stay in Penrallt. We have tried to make it as comfortable and homely as possible. It was great to hear that your daughter played with the PS4 and that she particularly liked the bedroom with the porthole. We always like to leave a nice hamper of food as it’s a nice start to your holiday. Thank you for your very kind feedback, we really appreciate it. Cemaes Bay is such a beautiful place, we love it. We hope to see you again in the near future. Cheryl & Mike Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sharon5.0Jul 2023

  • "Fantastic property just what we needed, spacious, clean and very homely."

    Loved it. Couple of small things, think the upstairs shower is leaking and could do with better locks on the bathroom doors. Apart from that was made to feel very welcome so was able to settle quickly and relax.

    Hi Andy, Thank you for your kind feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Penrallt. We recognise the opportunities to improve which you have pointed out and they will be addressed as soon as possible. We hope to see you again. Kind regards Cheryl and Mike. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andy4.7Jul 2023

  • "Great location and not having its own parking space was not a problem at all as loads of nearby parking."

    Lovely comfortable beds. Downstairs bathroom had a good shower and facilities. The upstairs bathroom could do with upgrading. PlayStation was a great bonus with 2 teenage boys. The Stag Pub was really friendly and the restaurant and bar at Galdys was fantastic. Good value. Great location.

    Hi Sarah, thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you all enjoyed your stay. We recognise that the upstairs bathroom is looking a little tired. We are planning to refurbish it, during the winter months. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah4.4Jul 2023

  • "Lovely clean property right in the heart of the village."

    Amazing welcome hamper ! There was loads of information about things to do in the area and the property had everything we needed for our stay, great to have all the basics there like washing up liquid, washing detergent, toilet rolls etc. I want to say a massive thank you to the owners who went out of their way to help after we left a really important item at the property. Exceptional service .

    Hi William, thank you for the lovely feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and glad that we were able to re-unite you with your item. We hope to see you again. Cheryl & Mike Property Owner

    Reviewed by William5.0Jul 2023

  • "This is a lovely cottage, spacious, near to the beach and lots of lovely touches by the owners to make you feel welcome."

    Amazing welcome hamper with food, toys, crabbing nets etc. I went with my family including my granddaughter and there were lots of toys for her. Would definitely recommend this cottage if you want a relaxing holiday in a beautiful part of the world.

    Hi Kay, Thank you for your very kind feedback. We always try our best to make everyone’s stay at our cottage, as enjoyable as possible, by leaving a nice hamper and toys for the children. We are delighted that you all enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again. Cheryl and Mike Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kay5.0Jun 2023

  • "What a lovely cottage!"

    So spacious, very well equipped and in an ideal location close to the village amenities, shops and harbour; it perfectly suited our needs and we immediately felt at home. A special mention to the beds - which were extremely comfortable - and the lovely decked area in the back garden. It was a real sun trap and a fabulous place to relax. The welcome hamper was a lovely touch and really set us up with the basics - as well a few treats! Nobody wanted to go home, which is surely a fantastic compliment! Thank you for a wonderful week. It was a real trip down memory lane for my sister and I as we holidayed in Cemaes Bay as children and were keen to introduce the village to our children. The cottage provided us with the perfect base and our trip was everything we hoped it would be. We would definitely recommend 56 High Street and hope to return in the future!

    Hi Sarah, Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. We are delighted that you all enjoyed your stay. It’s always great to hear the reasons that people give, for choosing Cemaes Bay as their holiday destination. It’s also lovely to hear that your grandparents lived just a few doors away from our house. What a lovely trip down memory lane for you and your sister. I have been visiting Anglesey since I was a small child and I can honestly say, it’s one of the most beautiful places, especially for families. We only found Cemaes Bay 8 years ago, whilst my husband was on a sportive around the island. We fell in love with Cemaes Bay and finally managed to buy 56 High St last year. Thanks again for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon. Cheryl & Mike Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0May 2023

  • "Fantastic place highly reccomend to anyone with dogs or not lovely welcome pack ..."

    Fantastic place highly reccomend to anyone with dogs or not lovely welcome pack comfy beds with lovely spacious bedrooms lovely garden with decking and grassed area for dogs we will definetley be booking for next year thankyou for a lovely holiday

    Hi Alison, Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. We are delighted that you both enjoyed your stay (and the dogs). We always like to leave a hamper and some dog treats. It’s always nice to arrive and have a little treat. We hope to see you again next year. Thanks again. Cheryl & Mike Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alison5.0May 2023

  • "We really enjoyed our stay at 56 High Street, Cemaes Bay."

    The house is absolutely first class and the owners have thought of everything to make your stay comfortable. The welcome pack was lovely and even included Easter eggs for the kids and treats for the dogs. We have already recommended it to our friends and family. Thanks very much for a lovely week in Cemaes Bay.

    Hi William, Thank you very much for your very kind feedback. We are absolutely delighted that you all enjoyed your stay at our cottage (including your dogs). We always like to leave little treats, as it’s nice to arrive to a friendly welcome. Thank you for recommending us to your friends and family. We look forward to seeing you again, in the near future. Thank you. Cheryl & Mike Property Owner

    Reviewed by William5.0Apr 2023

  • "This is a lovely house with a cosy atmosphere and everything you could want during your stay in Cemaes."

    We were delighted with the welcome hamper on our arrival which was an added bonus. Our two dogs loved the outside space at the back of the property and the location is superb right in the village centre and only 5 minutes to beautiful beaches and coastal paths. Would recommend the Stag Inn and the Bell cafe, both of which are dog friendly and very welcoming. Will definately be back!

    Hi Carol, Thank you very much for your kind words. We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon. Cheryl & Mike. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carol5.0Mar 2023

  • "A lovely, dog friendly cottage in the heart of the village and just a short walk to the shops, pubs, beach, river and woods."

    The cottage was very clean and so welcoming. There were many thoughtful touches, like the twinkly lights all around the downstairs rooms, which our daughter loved and the wonderful hamper that was waiting for us on our arrival. The decking had been put up and added a second dimension to the big garden. Thanks you so much for letting us stay in your lovely cottage. We will definitely be back. Helen, Andy, Isla and Minnie (our dog).

    Hi Helen, Andy, Isla and Minnie, We are so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay! We love hearing what people think of our cottage. We are delighted that Isla liked all the fairy lights. Cemaes Bay is such a beautiful place. There’s lots to do for kids, parents and dogs . We hope to see you again soon. Cheryl & Mike. Xx Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andy5.0Mar 2023

  • "We where in Cemaes to attend a family gathering, the cottage was ideal for us."

    We will definitely return there. When the garden decking is finished, the property will be superb, we also had a little play with the telescope, (full moon), and we saw a red squirrel Thank you

    Hi Rob, Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay. It was also great to hear that you have used the telescope and that you saw a red squirrel. The decking should be complete very soon. When it’s finished we will put some pictures on the website. We hope to see you again. Cheryl & Mike Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rob5.0Feb 2023

  • "This is a wonderful property in a lovely little village."

    If all you need are beautiful walks and a few local friendly pubs this is the place for you. We arrived at the property to a well stocked welcome hamper which was a nice surprise, the owner clearly want to make an impression. And it worked as I never usually leave reviews unless the stay was very good or very bad. The only reason I haven’t given it 5 stars was because there are a few minor maintenance issues that let the property down a little bit, once these are rectified this would be a 5 star property (if I could give it 4.5 stars I would). So basically, would I stay again? Yes. Would I recommend? Yes.

    Hi Adam, Thank you very much for your lovely feedback, it was much appreciated. We are delighted that you and your family, all enjoyed your stay. Yes, we did have a few maintenance issues, which have now been resolved. We very much look forward to having you all stay again. Cheryl & Mike Property Owner

    Reviewed by Adam4.7Dec 2022

  • "56 high street has everything you could possibly want and more."

    On arrival we received a huge Christmas hamper with all the essentials, tea, coffee, milk, eggs, cheese, bread, wine, chocolates and other goodies. The games console at the house kept the teenage boys entertained for the full holiday. The beds were so comfy and so were all the sofas. The village of Cemaes was peaceful and the beach was beautiful, there is a local shop which provides all essentials and a choice of 2 pubs. Will definitely be returning in the summer months

    Hi Andrew thank you for your feedback. We were so pleased you we enjoyed your stay. You were amazing guests and you are always welcome to come back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew4.7Dec 2022

Show more Hide all


  • Four bedrooms: 1 x king-size, 1 x double, 1 x twin, 1 x single with pull-out bed
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Downstairs bathroom with shower with basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner with TV
  • Sitting room with electric fire
  • Snug
  • Conservatory
  • Air source heat pump
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, dishwasher, washing machine
  • Smart TV, 2 x TV with Freeview, PS4 with games, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Roadside parking available or off-road parking in free nearby car park
  • Rear garden with lawn
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 0.1 miles, beach 0.2 miles
  • Note: This property is next to a road so some road noise may be heard
  • Note: Parking is available for free on a car park around the corner from the property
  • Property is in close proximity to Bullbay Golf Course

The property

Tucked away in the seaside village of Cemaes Bay, Anglesey, is this wonderful mid-terrace house, Penrallt.

Enjoying a fantastic location within an AONB along the stunning Anglesey Heritage Coast, and just paces away from the beach, 56 High Street is a fabulous dog-friendly choice for a group or family of eight.

The property benefits from the option of a free car park nearby, and a rear garden with lawn.

Step inside to discover an inviting sitting room with plush seating, an electric fire, and a Smart TV, perfect for enjoying relaxing movie nights with loved ones, a snug with TV with Freeview and PS4, ideal for the little ones to escape to, a well-equipped kitchen for conjuring up your best dishes ready to enjoy at the dining table over a bottle of wine, a conservatory for savouring the last of the day’s sunshine, and a cloakroom for your convenience.

Follow the stairs up to the first floor, where you can wash away the day’s adventures in the well-appointed shower room, before retiring to one of four beautifully presented bedrooms, a king-size, a double, a twin, and a single with pull-out bed.

Explore the village where you can treat your loved ones to a well-deserved meal at the Stag Inn, grab a light bite at Caffi Bach, enjoy leisurely strolls along the picturesque harbour, or spend a day on the golden sands of the Little and Big Beaches, where you can bathe and paddle the shores.

Next stop is Amlwch and Amlwch Port, where you can dine at Blueberries and The Liverpool Arms, visit The Amlwch Port Windmill, or delve into history at the Copper Kingdom Centre.

On the outskirts of the town, you will find the historic site of Mynydd Parys and Parys Mountain Windmill.

Further afield, you can explore the delights of Holyhead, where you can picnic an enjoy walks through the Breakwater Country Park, tour the Holyhead Maritime Museum, embark on a hike along the scenic Isle of Anglesey Coastal Path, or for a memorable day trip, why not hop aboard a ferry to Dublin?

All this and more awaits at 56 High Street.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £400.

View on map

About the location


Amlwch 5 miles; Holyhead 17 miles.

Situated in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty on the beautiful North Anglesey Heritage Coast, the pretty seaside village of Cemaes Bay is home to three pubs, shops, an award-winning chip shop, a cafe and Visitor Centre, a natural sheltered harbour and a sandy beach edged by grassy cliffs, ideal for safe bathing and family fun. The Isle of Anglesey is renowned for its miles of stunning and varied coastline offering wonderful walking and cycling, renowned birdwatching, excellent watersports, fishing and many quality golf courses. The well-known Sea Zoo and a variety of National Trust properties and gardens are all within reach on this beautiful island. A great location offering something for all the family, including even a day trip to Dublin from nearby Holyhead.

View more holiday cottages in Cemaes Bay

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas