Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in North Wales 1 minutes ago

1 customer booked Manor Wood in the last 24 hours

1 of 34 View Image Gallery
  • Manor Wood - North Wales - 933486 - photo 1
close

Manor Wood

(Ref. 933486)

Farndon, North Wales & Snowdonia Show on map

4.8

Sykes rating

  • 10 Guests

  • 5 Bedrooms

  • 3 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Swimming pool
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Games Room
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • house (42)
  • our (37)
  • family (33)
  • great (29)
  • lake (25)
  • all (25)

100 Customer Reviews

  • "Just a lot of cobwebs."

    Didn't bother us though. Also shower downstairs needs looking at. It's a trickle of water xxx

    Reviewed by Deborah4.7Feb 2024

  • "We had a wonderful week at Manor Wood."

    Very peaceful and relaxing. There were some beautiful sunsets over the lake. The house is fabulous and did not disappoint, so spacious but also warm and cosy. Back to the real world now with recharged batteries. Sheila Sanders

    Reviewed by Sheila5.0Jan 2024

  • "Gorgeous place, better than expected."

    Really was Home from Home. Would definitely visit again.

    Reviewed by Alma5.0Dec 2023

  • "Manor Wood is the perfect house to host a large group."

    It is spacious and comfortable, with everything you could need. We were there over a very cold weekend; however, we were very cosy in this warm house with the Aga in the kitchen and wood-burning stoves in the sitting room and conservatory. The house is in a lovely quiet spot, overlooking a lake; we could imagine in the summer, the outside space being well used. We were so impressed, we have already booked for next year!

    Reviewed by Kathryn5.0Dec 2023

  • "Brilliant house in a lovely spot for a family gathering."

    Plenty for the kids to do. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Reviewed by Dale4.7Nov 2023

  • "2nd time I have been, such a lovely social space with log burner."

    Short walk to a brilliant pub and £70 return to Chester for an eight seater minibus.

    Reviewed by Simon5.0Nov 2023

  • "A fantastic place for a large family gathering."

    So many positives- the space inside and out, the peace and quiet, the privacy, the cleanliness, comfy beds/sofas/seating areas, log burning fires. Other than small details such as lights requiring bulb replacements, cutlery drawer needs a handle for ease of access & more comprehensive instructions about using the aga, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to come back again.

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Oct 2023

  • "Manor Wood lived up to expectation."

    It was lovely in every respect. Lovely spacious accommodation in beautiful surroundings.

    Reviewed by Carol4.7Oct 2023

  • "Had a great time the house was excellent after we found the cutlery in hidden drawer quite a laugh really."

    Area around and outlook from conservatory over lake to caravan site was excellent house was large enough for all the family to have a good time.

    Reviewed by Jean5.0Oct 2023

  • "A beautiful location view is stunning… there were a few issues the cooker was really slow; the pans for cooking were not great dirty some of them were; and the bring out hob was for conductor pans which the property doesn’t have."

    Weekend was great brilliant for families to get together would definitely go back. Special mention to the caretaker who was brilliant on arrival.

    Reviewed by Kathryn3.8Sep 2023

  • "A fabulous property."

    Great facilities with plenty of space. It is in a great area and close to many interesting places to visit, Chester, Nantwich etc. Several great eateries in the close vicinity. Our only suggestions are that the bathrooms did not have bath mats or non slip mats in the baths and showers, this created slip hazards. Plus there was only a one bin liner in the kitchen bin. This meant we had to go out buy a roll which was not a problem but we felt a couple of extras ones would have been helpful. We have no hesitation in recommending Manor Wood to others and we would certainly be happy to return.

    Reviewed by Richard5.0Sep 2023

  • "A very comfortable well equipped holiday property."

    We had an issue with some of the downstairs lights not working. We contacted the owners who immediately came round to see if they were able to sort the issue for us. Unfortunately it was not a straightforward fix and necessitated an electrician to visit. The electrician was organised quickly and the issues was sorted. Owner Nigel was extremely helpful. Nigel even went out of his way to assist one of our party who had got lost on the way to the property. I will consider booking this holiday property again in the future.

    Reviewed by Marion5.0Sep 2023

  • "Great stay in fabulous location, house amazing with lots of Space and everyone you need, the only small and I say small point is with being in the countryside and having the doors open I feel the house would benefit from a deep clean once a month as a few dead flies around(in the main conservatory) as I say this is a very small issue and didn’t impact how beautiful the house and the location."

    Cafe on site is fantastic food and very welcoming staff, so friendly, as for the reception ladies they were fantastic and took 2 of the girls to the local garage for some supplies. As a group of 8 friends in need of a catch up and laughs n giggles this was perfect for us and we had a fantastic weekend

    Reviewed by Sarah4.7Sep 2023

  • "Lovely Holiday cottage and would be 10s all around if it wasnt for 2 things."

    1. When we went to the manorwood caravan park the woman at reception was incredibly rude to myself and my group purely based off our age (22-25), even though we were didnt break any of the caravan park rules(not students or groups of singles) or the cottage booking rules, this really soured the trip and meant we felt uncomfortable using the caravan park facilities. She even threatened to call sykes if we were too loud before we'd even been there 5 minutes. 2. Due to the weather it was incredibly inside and there was lack of any AC methods(fan etc) in the cottage. I did search all over and couldn't find any fans or anything about, I know it will be the autumn season now, but for the summer a fan in the living room would be good or an air cooling unit of some kind.

    Thank you Callum for taking the time to leave a review of our property. Firstly, I apologise if I came across as being rude to you and your friend on your arrival, it certainly was not intentional but we do like to meet the party leader, if only to explain a couple of points that sometimes are overlooked when a large group of friends get together ! I really appreciated your suggestion for a couple of fans to be provided - and we will certainly take your suggestion on board and provide couple for a future guests. Once again I apologise and would very much like to welcome you all back to Manor wood at some point soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Callum4.1Sep 2023

  • "Great place to stay had a really nice time"

    Reviewed by Steve5.0Sep 2023

  • "We had a great time at Manor Wood House, everything was as said, very clean and comfortable, plenty of space for the 10 of us, including a toddler."

    .. The owners where very responsive as we had a leak in the bathroom which came through to the kitchen... This didn't spoil any of our holiday as these things happen... We tried a bit of fishing with a small degree of success

    Reviewed by John5.0Aug 2023

  • "The holiday itself along with the property has been our favourite so far."

    As a family we liked the conservatory and spent most of our time in here along with the garden. The fishing was excellent. Our only concern we noticed the stairs to the decking could do with either a rail in the middle or some care as very slippery when wet. The floor boards upstairs were very noisy however on the plus side you knew when someone was awake. Overall staff on site were brilliant nothing was too much trouble.

    Reviewed by Debbie4.7Jul 2023

  • "We had the most wonderful time at Manor Wood celebrating mum’s 70th birthday."

    We’re all home with the holiday blues. The cottage is just beautiful, the lake was ideal for the fishermen of the family and our pup loved having so much space to stretch his legs. The children made full use of the pool, play area and games room. It really was the perfect break away and we will absolutely be back. Thank you!

    Reviewed by Alexandra5.0Jul 2023

  • "Had a great time staying in the house, very spacious lots of room for 9 people and a dog."

    The house was lovely and nicely furnished and the conservatory was very relaxing to sit in. The children, 11 and 7, enjoyed playing on the lawn, need to be aware of the danger of the lake if younger children are staying. My 82 year old dad loved fishing from the little jetty, all included in the stay. Facilities on adjacent caravan park were great, especially the heated outdoor pool. We would have liked an outdoor bbq and a few more utensils, particularly knives. Overall a great stay would love to come back.

    Reviewed by Wendy5.0Jun 2023

  • "This house is amazing and set in a fabulous location."

    It is extremely comfortable and well equipped with plenty of room for the 10 of us. I can definitely recommend it and we have already re-booked for May and October 2024.

    Reviewed by Jane5.0May 2023

  • "This place is absolutely lovely, and the beds are so comfortable."

    A little downside was the squeaky floorboards which meant if anyone wanted to walk around it could wake everyone else up. There was also no first aid kit so if you're staying, remember to take your own, as the shop also didn't have any antiseptic wipes but they did have plasters. It would have been nice to see more dietary requirements met at the café as the options were very limited but lovely pub around the corner with lots of options. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it and will be going back. Thanks

    Reviewed by Shema4.7May 2023

  • "Beautiful. Great family house with great views."

    Reviewed by Michelle5.0Apr 2023

  • "We had a brilliant time in Manor Wood."

    Location was great, only 20 mins into Chester and plenty of golf courses on hand. We have actually booked again for November.

    Reviewed by Simon5.0Mar 2023

  • "A very spacious house…."

    We had a fab time! We had it for a birthday celebration and it was good…. A space for everyone to spread out… with there being 9 of us….we all had space to escape! The lake was fab for our son and his to spend time together fishing. The log fire was lovely after a full day out!

    Reviewed by David5.0Feb 2023

  • "Stayed at Manor Wood for a family birthday celebration."

    Lovely accommodation, very spacious, clean and equipped. We were a family of nine, mixed ages with two dogs. Had a lovely time. Staff were all friendly and knowledgeable. Would definitely recommend. Thank you

    Reviewed by Lisa5.0Jan 2023

  • "This was our second stay here and we love the location, size and facilities."

    My father has Parkinson’s so it’s great to have a downstairs bedroom and bathroom. The house is clean, has a well stocked kitchen to cook and the open plan kitchen, dining and sunroom makes it perfect for a family catch up/entertaining.

    Reviewed by Hayley5.0Jan 2023

  • "We were 3 families staying over new year, 5 adults and 3 children."

    The house was absolutely ideal for what we needed. Having two living areas allowed the kids to use one while the adults used the other. The kitchen/diner was the perfect size for us to prepare meals and eat all together. The house was spotlessly clean which makes such a difference. The kids had great fun using the Games Room and we even had lunch in the cafe one day which was really nice. I don’t think the photos on the Sykes website actually do the house justice. You should put more on there of the dining area and twin bedrooms. All in all, we had a fabulous stay, thank you so much.

    Reviewed by Kim4.7Dec 2022

  • "Great place to stay for a family celebration."

    The owners Angela and Nigel were very helpful and sorted a small problem out very quickly for us.

    Reviewed by Judith5.0Nov 2022

  • "Manor Wood is a glorious home, we enjoyed every moment of our stay."

    Everything about this property is splendid, it is spacious and comfortable with beautiful views across the lake. The caravan park on the same site is well maintained and far enough away to maintain our tranquility. It was good to be able to avail ourselves of the sporting facilities and fabulous on site cafe. We heartily recommend Manor Wood.

    Reviewed by Bev5.0Nov 2022

  • "We had an amazing 2 days at Manor Wood, lovely house, very clean,spacious, gorgeous view at lake ."

    We would prefer a outdoor barbecue but we manage without as well

    Reviewed by Natalia4.7Oct 2022

  • "Fabulous house very homely and very well kept , the pictures don’t do it justice ."

    I have taken all my grandkids away for eight years and they say this is the best one ever out of all the houses we have stayed at.

    Reviewed by Janet5.0Aug 2022

  • "Great location and use of the on-site facilities."

    Would recommend to families.

    Reviewed by Rachel3.8Jul 2022

  • "I loved every minute in our fantastic holiday home, staff in shop-canteen were great, loved the tennis court, kids enjoyed the pool, i had a relaxing time fishing."

    i cant say enough good things about our time at manor wood. david hunt.

    Reviewed by David5.0Jul 2022

  • "Manor Wood was an exceptional staycation for our family."

    Fully facilitated and accommodated all our needs, we had an amazing time. The house and it’s surroundings are absolutely beautiful. I definitely recommend and will be booking again! Only a few things didn’t live up to our expectations and that was the games room was very small and we were under the impression we would’ve had our own pool but never the less this wasn’t a deal breaker.

    Reviewed by Sheverlin4.7Jun 2022

  • "Wonderful property for family get togethers, with enough rooms to break out for quit time if needed."

    Fabulous outside areas both to the front and rear of the property. One to watch if you have young children in the property. The taps in the master bedroom read hot and cold, however they are the opposite, with hot running from the cold. We had a really good time and would return.

    Reviewed by Helen4.1Jun 2022

  • "Just returned from a weeks stay in Manor Woods."

    The house is gorgeous and beautifully clean. A huge amount of space with 5 bedrooms and two large sitting rooms. We were met by Kevin who was really helpful and as it was late he kindly let us get some milk from the on-site shop even though it was closed. The house is located on an adjoining caravan site but you wouldn’t even know it was there and there was absolutely no noise from it but we could enjoy all the amenities of it. The lakeside cafe was lovely and we had a delicious breakfast there on two mornings. We also swam in the heated pool each morning. We fished in the lake at the back of the house. The sunroom was spectacular. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

    Reviewed by Helena5.0Jun 2022

  • "Great location."

    ...Brilliant for groups and families.

    Reviewed by John5.0Apr 2022

  • "Require some refurbishment as walking on first floor is bit difficult as floor is not even and but damaged."

    Kitchen - cutters is broken and very very old

    Thank you for your comments, I’m sorry you were disappointed with our property but I can assure you we take all comments seriously, I would be grateful if you could kindly offer a further explanation concerning the first floor uneven surface. The house was refurbed during lock down with new uostairs carpets. We have checked and are unable to establish where the surface is damaged. The ‘cutter’s’ in the kitchen - forgive me for being thick but do you mean scissors ? I hope very much you are able to contact me so as we may discuss your negative review in greater detail. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Prakash3.4Feb 2022

  • "Absolutely amazing, we had a great time, thankyou for all of your help."

    The cottage was lovely! Just a note that you're probably already aware of, as you walk into the kitchen/dining area from the side door side, there are damp patches on the ceiling to the left busy the breakfast bar. We noticed that this got worse when some of our group had showers.

    Reviewed by Justin5.0Jan 2022

  • "Great spacious well equipped property"

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Jan 2022

  • "Manor wood felt as though it wraps the building around you and makes you feel warm happy and content it is a perfect home from home very clean and well equipped with everything you could wish for and more I would highly recommend this beautiful home and will revisit at some point I spent the time with my mum sisters and friends for my birthday loved every minute if any one has a stressful job and needs to just relax and unwind enjoy country walks then this is the place to go and my pet dog was allowed to accompany me which was the icing on the cake ."

    Many thanks to the owners for such care and attention gone into this beautiful home . Miss Patricia Dunne

    Reviewed by Patricia5.0Jan 2022

  • "Such a beautiful, clean home."

    Everything that we wanted it to be. It was just perfect, for celebrating my 50th birthday there with my family

    Reviewed by Joanne5.0Dec 2021

  • "Wonderful comfortable and well equipped house"

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Dec 2021

  • "Two of the king sized beds (en suite and downstairs) require new mattresses."

    The bathrooms have issues, ie new toilet seats required, cracked sink in downstairs shower room, loose taps in upstairs bathroom. Overall excellent venue, amazing space with wonderful outlook, only spoilt by these easily resolved issues. It is well presented with everything one could require for a family holiday.

    Reviewed by Noel4.4Nov 2021

  • "A very spacious house, we loved the modern open feel, very sociable layout and extremely comfortable beds."

    The views across the lake and well kept gardens are such a bonus. We would certainly come again.

    Reviewed by Jill4.7Nov 2021

  • "We loved the cottage and it's surrounding."

    Lots of seating both inside and out,and all the rooms were spacious and comfortable.

    Reviewed by Pamela4.7Oct 2021

  • "There is a myriad of problems with both the house and inside facilities."

    I have been waiting to talk to the owner but she has apologised this is the case but said she could not talk as she had Covid 19. I will be ringing Sykes to explain.

    Reviewed by Kim2.8Aug 2021

  • "The stay in Manor Wood was, as last time, excellent."

    It provides all we need for a family with 2 young children and 6 adults. However, I still have an issues with Sykes Cottages over a booking we had at Manor Wood for the first week of August 2021. As the pandemic rolled on it became obvious that we were not, as a family, living in 3 different parts of the country going to be able to live in the same place for a week. The group from South Wales could not travel more than 5 miles from home, and group from Manchester could not bubble with us. I wonder why you then charged me £770 cancellation fee? Was it not obvious to you that we were in such a position? I am almost sure you re-let the house for the period we were due to go. Did I read this year that you are offering refunds because of the pandemic? If so, what was different last year that you could not do the same? When we told the people who owned the house what you had done last year year, they were horrified.

    Reviewed by Jennifer5.0Jul 2021

  • "Great location."

    Fantastic people. Really well equipped house.

    Reviewed by Michelle4.7Jun 2021

  • "It was the most relaxing holiday that I have had"

    Reviewed by Colin5.0Jun 2021

  • "What a beautiful home!"

    We booked this as a last minute getaway for the family for the half term holidays (October) We are a family of 6, we had an enjoyable relaxed weekend, The views over the lake are lovely. The kids used the games room and enjoyed it. We didn't use the café so I am unable to comment. I am already looking at booking for next year.

    Reviewed by Mandy5.0Oct 2020

  • "The bedrooms were rather disappointing."

    Compared to downstairs rooms, they are a little dated and not of the same standard. Many light fittings were not working mainly in kitchen and sunroom. We did report this to reception on the second day of our stay but this was not sorted. Because the aga was switched off we only had access to 2 cooker rings which is not suitable when cooking for 10 people The property would benefit from more suitable out door furniture such as chairs and table to eat from during summer evenings while enjoying the lovely views of the lake. Both lounges were very comfortable each having smart tv,s

    Reviewed by Colette3.8Jul 2020

  • "Manor Wood was a spacious cottage for our group of 8."

    Plenty of room to relax and enjoy a family get together. It was spotless, extremely comfortable and well appointed. It was warm inside to compensate for the cold outside. The outside space would be brilliant in better weather, even so, we managed a walk around the lake. If there was a negative, it would have to be more bin bags and more toilet rolls. Only one bin bag was provided, so take your own, toilet rolls the same. Overall, we enjoyed our weekend. Would I book it again......most certainly.

    Reviewed by Bob5.0Mar 2020

  • "Excellent house with conservatory overlooking the lake log burner for winter months lots of room to accommodate 10 people."

    Local pub/restaurant a short walk away. Would recommend

    Reviewed by Darren5.0Feb 2020

  • "Location of property excellent."

    Plenty of hot water all the time and very efficient heating throughout the property. Some minor maintenance problems, difficulty in flushing en-suite toilet, 2out of 3 light bulbs in dinning area not working. Overall fantastic accommodation for 10 of us.

    Reviewed by Susan4.7Feb 2020

  • "This was our third visit to Manor Wood."

    It’s become so familiar, family almost thinks of it as ‘their’ holiday cottage.

    Reviewed by Paula4.1Jan 2020

  • "Great place to stay excellent"

    Reviewed by Shane5.0Jan 2020

  • "This house was amazing we went for christmas 2019 the whole family loved it!"

    ! the only downside was that there were not enough hob space to cook but we worked around it. the living spaces were absolutely brilliant if some needed to go have some quiet time the back lounge was perfect for that you couldn't hear a thing from the other rooms!! although most of us spent a lot of the time in the kitchen/dining area. we will 100% be booking our family christmas trip 2021

    Reviewed by Rose4.7Dec 2019

  • "The house is Beautiful, cosy and has everything you need for a perfect family get together."

    The views across the lake are stunning. The pub 10 mins walk away is excellent as well.

    Reviewed by Jocelyn5.0Nov 2019

  • "Please pass on our thanks to the owners of Manor Wood."

    We found it very well equipped, beautifully presented and the perfect venue for our girls weekend. We would certainly recommend it and would stay again in the future. A thoroughly enjoyable weekend was had by all. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Lorna5.0Nov 2019

  • "A fantastic house with great views and all you need."

    Perfect for large families or friends get togethers. Walking distance to Pubs. You feel out in the country but not too far from the city of Chester.

    Reviewed by Ric5.0Oct 2019

  • "The property was great, and we would definitely return."

    I think that some of the description via your website is unclear and you should make it obvious that both the pool and games room are shared facilities within the caravan park, and that the games room needs to paid for when you want to use it.

    Reviewed by Daniel4.4Aug 2019

  • "The cottage was amazing, comfortable and family friendly."

    We chose the cottage for the fishing lake and we weren't disappointed as the whole family got involved with fishing and loved it. Three generations, six adults and four children had a brilliant week at Manor Wood and we would definitely go back.

    Reviewed by Marie5.0Aug 2019

  • "We had an amazing time in this beautiful spacious Cottage and loved everything about it and the view of the lake was absolutely Stunning!"

    Everything was close by including the swimming pool, badminton court and the Cafeteria which was perfect for us and the children. We loved the fireplace it was so Beautiful, the only disappointment would be that there wasn’t any logs in the accommodation which we could have used for our stay. Although they did leave instructions of where we could purchase the logs from it would have been nice to leave some in the cottage and have the option to perhaps use it with an additional charge rather than having none at all, as we were on holiday and felt we didn’t want to go out looking for logs and wasting our time. Also having a sign outside the cottage would be helpful as it was difficult finding the place especially when we were ordering takeaway orders, no one knew where we actually was and would end up going to the caravan Site instead! Cot and high hair was provided which was a bonus. Everything else was perfect And I would highly recommend!

    Reviewed by Nasmah4.4Aug 2019

  • "Great house for a family holiday."

    Beautiful setting, lots of activities to keep children and adults occupied.

    Reviewed by Anne4.7Jul 2019

  • "Beautiful cottage, well furnished and equipped."

    Staff were exceptionally friendly Very happy with our stay!

    Reviewed by Hamza4.7Jul 2019

  • "It is a lovely house, perfect for a large family holiday."

    We brought our children and small grandchildren. Plenty of room, excellent outlook over the lake, and cows in the field at the front. Great to have the option to use the pool, tennis court, recreation area and cafe in the caravan park which we did. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend it as we all loved it.

    Reviewed by Joanne5.0Jun 2019

  • "Brilliant annual fishing holiday."

    Large superb house with garden backing on to a small well stocked lake. Fishing was excellent with wide variety and size of fish. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Very good cafe close to bottom of garden. Excellent local pubs up the road and in Holt. Taxi fares to and from Chester very reasonably priced. Beautiful location and would heartily recommend! Very reasonably priced. Only recommendation would be a readily available yard brush and hose to clean down the fishing peg.

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Jun 2019

  • "We had a lovely relaxing break in the most beautiful surroundings."

    The house was immaculate & very spacious. It was our first visit but we will definitely be returning.Although the weather was mixed it didn’t matter as just sitting in the large conservatory to the back of the house overlooking the lake & watching the wildlife was a wonderful experience. Everybody in the party young & old had a lovely time including the dog.

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Jun 2019

  • "Good sized kitchen bin provided but it would have been helpful if it had been lined with a bin liner."

    Reviewed by Susan5.0May 2019

  • "One or two suggestions."

    We had four children in our party, who were woken early as the daylight came into the bedrooms. Possibly install blackout blinds or thicker curtains. The mattress in the en-suite bedroom was very squeaky. Several creaky floorboards upstairs. Having said all that, we all had a super time, with our family, to celebrate our golden wedding anniversary, and would recommend the house to anyone. The surrounding park is well maintained and the pool area is very good.

    Reviewed by Peter4.7May 2019

  • "Manor Wood was a fabulous property."

    It certainly had the wow factor and really tastefully decorated. We celebrated a 50th birthday here with friends it was a fantastic party space. The views from the property were amazing. It was very warm and cosy and the cleanliness was spot on. It was lovely to be able to sit out on the lovely garden furniture. I think the property would really benefit from a hot tub. Would definitely recommend!

    Reviewed by Sadie5.0Mar 2019

  • "The house and location fantastic"

    Reviewed by Barbara4.7Mar 2019

  • "We enjoyed our holiday."

    The house was spacious and the decor excellent. A great pub nearby but take a good torch.

    Reviewed by Johan4.7Mar 2019

  • "Absolutely fabulous house to stay in."

    The pictures don’t do it justice. Maybe could mentions that swimming pool isn’t availible during winter months.

    Reviewed by Ben4.7Dec 2018

  • "We were very impressed with Manor Wood, its very spacious, lovely and warm and cosy, and had everything we needed for a stay over Christmas with family visiting."

    it was spotlessly clean too. Our children also enjoyed playing pool in the games room. A lovely relaxing stay, thankyou.

    Reviewed by Alison5.0Dec 2018

  • "Absolutely gorgeous warm and homely cottage."

    Beautiful surroundings. Would definitely recommend. Perfect for big families to spend quality time together

    Reviewed by Marcia5.0Nov 2018

  • "The house was excellent."

    We loved the tennis court. The weather was glorious for November and sitting in the conservatory was a pleasure with a wonderful view over the lake. The rooms are huge and we had lots of space to all sit around the table to eat. The aga in the kitchen kept the room lovely and warm. Lots of hot water for all of us to shower. 10 min walk to a lovely pub too. Hope to be back next year.

    Reviewed by Jocelyn5.0Nov 2018

  • "We came for a weekend break for my sister's hen doo and this house was just perfect!"

    ! Highly recommended. My sister cried when she walked into house because it was so nice. There's everything in the house for you. Although it took us ages to find cutlery draw as it's hidden away but very clever haha!! Definitely will be returning again.

    Reviewed by Lisa5.0Oct 2018

  • "We had a wonderful holiday."

    The cottage was spacious,comfortable and easily accommodated our large party. The view across the lake was stunning. Because we holidayed from the first of October we had the added bonus of the Aga cooker which gave a lovely cosy feel to the kitchen as well as providing additional cooking space. Would highly recommend this property and definitely consider going back.

    Reviewed by Shelagh5.0Oct 2018

  • "We have enjoyed a family get together at manor wood and found the cottage very comfortable, big enough to spread out to different rooms (if needed) we also used the games room which was fun."

    Would definitely book again for a get together!!

    Reviewed by Jackie5.0Sep 2018

  • "Very nice property with large rooms in a good area next to camp site where you could get milk and eggs and use the games room and pool, nice pub 5 minutes walk down the road."

    Reviewed by Frank5.0Aug 2018

  • "We can't complain about anything, house was beautiful."

    Only problem we had was the wasps, they maybe a nest near by, we made some wasp catchers but we still couldn't keep doors and windows open when really warm. If we had to nit pick I'd say 2 rings on cooker is not enough when they where 10 people staying, maybe invest in a 4 ring hob instead. We also think a hot tub would be a great investment for the evenings when kids are in bed. But all in all we loved our stay and would recommend minus the wasps of course.

    Reviewed by Danny4.4Aug 2018

  • "Excellent accomodation BUT it came as a surprise that the communal swimming pool was 400 yards away and the games room 200 yards."

    The cooking facilities are NOT sufficient for 10 people (small oven, grill and only TWO hob rings!). The house is in need of renovation (our window in the master suite had vines growing through it making the window unuseable). Overall a pleasant week where we all enjoyed relaxing.

    Reviewed by Frank4.4Aug 2018

  • "The house was amazing."

    It exceeded all expectations. I hope someday we can all come back and re live the amazing memories made at the house. I really have nothing bad to say at all. It was great!!!!!!

    Reviewed by Ryan5.0May 2018

  • "Very disappointed that there was no provision whatsoever for recycling waste in this property despite the local council having plenty!"

    Also no welcome pack on arrival which is so different from other properties we have rented. The property was beautifully maintained indoors but very poor outside. Also the description of the location of the playroom etc was misleading.

    Reviewed by Elizabeth3.8Feb 2018

  • "Manorwood is beautiful property, it had everything we needed for our annual family weekend away."

    Extremely comfortable and so clean.. We would definitely recommend for a large group gathering.

    Reviewed by Debra5.0Jan 2018

  • "This is our second year of booking and we loved it."

    The house is comfortable, very well-equipped, beautifully clean and had everything we needed. We were supplied with ample wood for the fires too! Great house and we’ll definitely be back!

    Reviewed by Paula5.0Jan 2018

  • "This property is the best accommodation I've ever stayed in by a mile."

    10 out of 10 for cleanliness and the space in the living quarters and bedrooms was unbelievable. I would recommend this property to anyone.

    Reviewed by Thomas4.8Nov 2017

  • "Great location, very relaxing , lovely views, great walking straight from the house, lots of room for all the family, very comfortable beds, who recommend this house."

    Reviewed by Caroline4.8Oct 2017

  • "Guests should be aware that nothing is provided so need to bring their own e."

    G. Dishcloth etc, salt and pepper, spare toilet paper etc. Fortunately I had gone prepared.

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Sep 2017

  • "Would benefit from having a private hot tub"

    Reviewed by Joan4.6Aug 2017

  • "Great place for our family to have a break."

    Plenty space inside and out! A great base for north wales and Chester, would definitely consider going back!

    Reviewed by Catherine4.8Jun 2017

  • "Annually we try to get together with our family who are scattered over the uk."

    This house was absolutely spot on. The grounds were fantastic and we were able to occupy the young and old!! Of course the weather was also on our side. Well done.

    Reviewed by Alun5.0Jun 2017

  • "Beautiful and comfy, suited our family well"

    Reviewed by Almi5.0Dec 2016

  • "The house was fabulous and perfect for our large family group."

    We loved it. One of the best! Only a small thing. Would appreciate info about kitchen stuff required like dish washer tablets/washing up liquid/dish cloths/kitchen roll etc as usually in other cottages these are supplied even if just initially. I normally ask when I ring for key instructions but didn't speak to the owner herself and the person didn't seem to know any details! Also needed more kitchen utensils for using with large frying pans!

    Reviewed by Judith5.0Oct 2016

  • "Lovely spacious holiday let."

    Fantastic pub nearby serving delicious food. Wonderful views of the lake. Would like to return in the summer and use the outdoor pool.

    Reviewed by Susan4.8Oct 2016

  • "Fantastic cottage in an excellent location."

    We loved the views of the lake from the conservatory. The cottage is well maintained and done to a high standard, but we found the plumbing to be quite noisy and disturbed some of the family during the night. All in all we had a super weekend and would definitely stay there again

    Reviewed by Faye4.8Oct 2016

  • "A lovely large and comfy home from home."

    Out of season we watched peaceful sunsets across the lake and found it central for a number of places we planned to visit although there was little in the immediate vicinity. Nicely furnished and warm it was perfect for our family gathering.

    Reviewed by Debbie4.8Oct 2016

  • "The property could do with a few things added eg."

    Bbq especially in summer as no aga and only two rings for cooking which are not very big. Also we would recommend is more garden furniture eg table and chairs so that you can sit outside for meals also so umbrellas and sunbeds, The main entrance with a ramp would be useful, and maybe a few blinds in conservatory. But otherwise the property was first class

    Reviewed by Yvonne4.4Aug 2016

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Five bedrooms: 1 x king-size double with en-suite bath, hand-held shower, basin and WC, 1 x king-size double, 1 x ground floor king-size double, 2 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Ground floor shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen with breakfast bar (seats 2) and dining area
  • Utility
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove
  • Sun room.
  • Oil central heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric AGA (available October-April), electric double oven and two-ring hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher, 2 x TV with Freeview, WiFi
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for stove inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent, please bring own pool towels
  • Travel cot and highchair provided
  • Ample off road parking
  • Bike storage on request
  • Lawned garden with furniture and fishing lake
  • Shared use of on-site facilities inc. outdoor heated swimming pool (available May to Sept), children's play area (suitable for children aged 6-14) and tennis court
  • Shared games room with pool table and table tennis
  • two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 2 miles, pub 6 mins walk
  • Note: the garden overlooks a lake with no restrictions/fences to separate the two
  • Open water unfenced lake, pets to be kept away and children to be supervised at all times
  • Note: One internal step on ground floor
  • Note: Balls for tennis and table tennis available to buy at £1 each, racquets available free of charge, and pool table charged at 50p per game
  • Note: Property is situated on the owner’s touring caravan park
  • Note: Electric AGA available October-April
  • Note: Fishing is available free of charge, license and own equipment required.

The property

Farndon 4 miles.

A beautiful, detached cottage located in a delightful lakeside setting, in the scattered hamlet of Coddington between Chester and Wrexham in the beautiful Cheshire countryside.

Set in the grounds of an award-winning caravan park with full access to all the facilities on offer, including a heated outdoor pool, tennis court and games room, and with fishing from the coarse fishing lake in the garden, this luxury cottage will delight you whatever your pastime.

Beautifully-presented throughout, the cottage offers a social kitchen area, with granite worktops and an electric AGA which provides style and warmth in winter.

There is a breakfast bar separating the kitchen area from the delightful dining room, where you can sit and relax with friends and family over a delicious home-cooked meal.

An open arch with a single step leads down to the lovely summer room, with floor to ceiling picture windows overlooking the lake, just welcoming you to step out and enjoy the countryside from the garden.

A formal sitting room invites you to settle in front of the inglenook stove, particularly on a cooler evening, where you can snuggle up and watch a movie.

There are five comfortable bedrooms, one on the ground floor, and four on the first floor, three of which have lake views, whilst the master bedroom also boasts an en-suite bathroom.

There is a good sized utility room, styled to the same level as the kitchen, and ideal for drying boots and coats after an energetic country walk on one of the many local paths or the popular Bishop Bennet Way which is less than 2 miles away.

The owner can provide cycle storage if required allowing you to explore the many cycle routes in the area, or if you prefer staying local, then the caravan site facilities are available free of charge, with the outdoor swimming pool heated to cater for the fussiest swimmer.

There is a children’s climbing frame, a tennis court and an indoor games room with pool table, noughts and crosses and table tennis.

Carden Park is a luxury hotel a short drive away and here you will find excellent facilities including a golf course, spa, a vineyard and a choice of restaurants and bars where you can sample the locally made wine.

This is a superb Cheshire cottage for family and friends to create fantastic memories, any time of year.

View on map

About the location

FARNDON

Chester 10 miles; Llangollen 19 miles.

The village of Farndon nestles quietly near the River Dee, approximately 10 miles south of Chester. The village was an important place historically and has been a site of conflict and cultural exchange since the Angles settled in the area in the 8th century. The border moved numerous times during the following centuries, placing Farndon alternately in Wales and England. Today visitors will find splendid little shops, as well as welcoming pubs, ideal for relaxing in with friends and family. Why not visit the Roman city of Chester with its famous 'Rows', excellent shopping and celebrated zoo? For those who like walking and outdoor activities, Snowdonia National Park is only a couple of hours drive away and is ideal for days out. Farndon is the perfect base from which to enjoy this beautiful and exciting region.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas